Skip to main content

Full text of "A century and a half of Pittsburg and her people"

See other formats


b 


0 


IS^M^UX^ 


ALLEN  COUNTY  PUBLIC  LIBRAR  ' 


3  1833  02246  6970 

Igc    974-802    P6B7bQ    v.  4 
Boucher 

A    century    and    a    half    o^^ 
Pittsburg    8<    her    people 


^^r^^^' 


^ 

^- 

<>vk   J 

-^^n-. 


A  CENTURY  AND  A  HALF 


OF 


PITTSBURG   AND 
HER  PEOPLE 


GENEALOGICAL  MEMOIRS  OF  THE   LEADING   FAMHJES 
OF  PITTSBURG  AND  VICINITY,  COMPILED 
UNDER  THE  EDITORIAL  SUPER- 
VISION   OF 

JOHN    W.    JORDAN,    LL.D. 

OF  THE  mSTORICAL  SOCIRTY  OF  PENNSYLVANIA 


ILLUSTR AT  E  D 


VOLUME   IV 


THE  LEWIS  PUBLISHING  COMPANY 

1908 


Copyright,   1908, 

BY 
LEWIS     PUBLISHING    COMPANY. 


liJOIiJOB 


p 


PITTSBURG  AND  HER  PEOPLE 


GEORGE  E.  REYNOLDS,  who  holds  an  (.-nviablc  reputation  anioni,^  the 
members  of  the  legal  profession,  being  considered  one  of  the  ablest  attorneys 
now  practicing  at  the  bar  in  the  city  of  Pittsburg,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, owes  his  entire  success  to  his  own  unaided  efforts  and  the  ambition 
which  dominated  him.  He  is  a  member  of  an  honored  family  of  the  state  of 
Pennsylvania,  but  having  had  the  misfortune  to  lose  his  father  when  he  was 
but  one  month  old  he  was  early  obliged  to  take  an  active  part  in  the  struggle  for 
existence,  and  is  in  the  fullest  sense  of  the  word  a  self-made  man. 

George  P.  Reynolds,  father  of  George  E.  Reynolds,  was  a  resident  of 
Northumberland  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  after  his  marriage  settled  upon  a 
farm  and  was  actively  engaged  in  agriculture.  He  was  also  engaged  in  thresh- 
ing for  the  neighboring  farmers,  and  w^as  considered  a  wide-awake  business 
man.  At  the  time  of  the  building  of  the  Philadelphia  &  Reading  railroad  he 
became  one  of  the  contractors  to  furnish  the  ties  necessary  for  the  building  of 
the  road  in  that  section  of  the  country.  He  was  in  the  midst  of  these  contract- 
ing obligations  when  he  was  killed,  in  March,  1876.  The  settling  of  these 
unfinished  contracts  left  his  widow  and  children  in  financiallv  embarrassed 
circumstances,  and  they  were  all  obliged  to  commence  the  battle  of  life  at  an 
early  age.  George  P.  Reynolds  married  Rebecca  Dreisbach,  daughter  of  a 
farmer  near  Turlx)tville,  Northumberland  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  they  had 
children:  Daniel  H.,  a  hardware  merchant  in  Milton,  Pennsylvania;  Elizabeth, 
married  Charles  Moser,  a  merchant  of  Watsontown,  Pennsylvania;  William  N., 
a  hardware  merchant  in  Turbotville,  Pennsylvania ;  Augustus,  retired  merchant 
of  the  same  place,  and  George  E.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

George  E.  Reynolds,  fourth  son  and  fifth  and  youngest  child  of  George 
P.  and  Rebecca  (Dreisbach)  Reynolds,  was  born  in  Turbotville,  Northumber- 
land county,  Pennsylvania,  Eebruary  28,  1876.  He  was  but  a  few  weeks  of  age 
when  his  father  met  his  death,  and  was  compelled  to  assist  to  the  extent  of  his 
childish  ability  in  the  support  of  the  household  almost  from  his  infancy.  At 
the  age  of  nine  years  he  was  placed  with  his  uncle,  Daniel  Dreisbach,  a  neigh- 
boring farmer,  to  assist  in  the  work  of  the  farm,  remaining  with  him  for  two 
years,  during  w'hich  time  he  received  as  payment  his  board  and  clothes.  During 
the  following  year  he  worked  for  a  man  named  Christopher  Koons,  from  whom 
he  received  two  dollars  and  fifty  cents  per  month  for  a  part  of  the  year,  and  five 
dollars  per  month  for  the  remainder.  He  next  worked  one  year  for  William 
Seaman,  and  while  there  was  offered  a  home  by  I.  D.  Gresh,  a  merchant  of 

iv— 1 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Milton,  Pennsylvania,  with  whom  he  subsequently  resided.  During  the  first 
two  years  of  his  residence  with  Mr.  Gresh  he  received  his  clothes  and  schooling 
as  an  equivalent  for  the  services  he  rendered,  and  during  the  following  years 
fifteen  dollars  per  month  during  the  summer  months  until  he  was  graduated 
from  the  high  school  in  Milton,  Pennsylvania.  Young  Reynolds  was  naturally 
thrifty  and  a  good  manager,  and  while  residing  with  Mr.  Gresh  had  saved  the 
sum  of  one  hundred  dollars,  which  seemed  a  munificent  one  to  him  in  those 
days.  Mr.  Gresh  advised  and  encouraged  him  greatly,  and  it  was  in  compliance 
with  the  wishes  of  that  gentleman  that  Mr.  Reynolds  commenced  a  course  of 
study  in  Ursinas  College,  in  Collegeville,  Montgomery  county,  Pennsylvania. 
During  the  summer  following  this  course  in  college  he  went  to  Atlantic  City, 
having  obtained  a  position  there  as  clerk  in  a  hotel,  and  in  the  fall  of  the  same 
year  he  went  to  Milton,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  obtained  employment  as  a 
traveling  salesman  for  Bear  &  Company,  cigar  manufacturers,  his  compensation 
being  sixty-five  dollars  per  month  and  all  his  expenses.  He  was  very  desirous 
of  completing  his  collegiate  education,  but  finding  that  his  means  would  not 
permit  this  indulgence  he  determined  to  take  a  more  hurried  and  necessarily 
shorter  literary  course  in  order  the  sooner  to  be  able  to  engage  in  what  he 
purposed  at  the  time  should  be  his  life  work,  the  profession  of  teaching.  He 
accordingly  entered  the  State  Normal  School  at  Lock  Haven,  Pennsylvania,  and 
at  the  end  of  one  year  of  hard  work  was  graduated  with  honor  at  the  head  of 
his  class.  The  reputation  gained  for  thoroughness  and  ability  during  his  time 
of  study  was  of  service  to  him  in  securing  his  appointment  as  principal  of  the 
high  school  at  Plill's  Grove,  Sullivan  county,  Pennsylvania.  He  was  engaged  in 
educational  work  during  the  next  seven  years,  each  year  witnessing  a  rise  to 
a  more  important  position  or  increased  salary.  While  engaged  in  teaching 
during  his  second  year  in  Derry  Station,  Pennsylvania,  the  election  for  the 
principalship  of  the  school  was  hotly  contested,  and. Mr.  Reynolds  resigned  in 
order  to  accept  a  better  position.  It  was  at  this  time  that  he  decided  to  with- 
draw from  educational  work  and  take  up  the  study  of  law.  He  immediately 
entered  into  a  business  arrangement  with  C.  G.  Voris,  of  Milton,  Pennsylvania, 
who  became  his  preceptor,  and  he  registered  as  a  student  of  law  in  Sunbury, 
Northumberland  county,  Pennsylvania.  He  also  studied  in  the  office  of  Mr. 
Voris  during  the  evenings,  on  Saturdays,  and  during  the  vacation  time.  While 
engaged  in  his  legal  studies  he  continued  his  occupation  of  teaching,  the  money 
earned  in  this  way  furnishing  the  means  necessary  to  enable  him  to  pursue  his 
studies.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  Northumberland  county  in  September, 
1902,  but  continued  to  teach  until  June  of  the  following  year.  He  was  then 
admitted  to  the  Allegheny  county  bar  and  to  the  supreme  and  superior  court  of 
the  United  States  in  the  western  district  of  Pennsylvania.  He  opened  a  law 
office  in  the  Frick  building.  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  August  i,  1903,  which  is 
elegantly  and  commodiously  furnished,  and  in  which  he  employs  six  people. 
He  ranks  high  among  the  attorneys  of  the  city,  and  his  success  has  been  a 
pronounced  one.  He  is  a  ready,  eloquent  speaker,  with  an  easy  flow  of  lan- 
guage, and  his  arguments  are  presented  in  a  forceful,  convincing  manner. 
Politically  his  support  is  given  to  the  Republican  party,  but  he  has  never  sought 
political  preferment.  He  has  many  friends  in  the  social  as  well  as  the  legal 
and  educational  circles  of  his  city,  and  he  is  a  member  of  Jeannette  Lodge,  No. 
436,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  Duquesne  Lodge,  Masonic 
order,  and  the  Pittsburgh  Country  Club.    Mr.  Reynolds  is  unmarried. 


PITTSBURG    AXD    UF.R    PEOPLE 


FRANCE  OPAWSKI,  proprietor  of  Hotel  Ross,  Duqucsne,  Pennsylvania, 
and  a  man  of  skill  and  intellect.  Iieinj^  the  inventor  of  many  valnable  and  useful 
devices,  is  a  native  of  Austria.  Schleseii.  born  September  17.  i8()4,  a  son  of 
Carl  and  Caroline  (Herman)  L)pa\vski. 

Carl  Opawski  ( father  )  was  born  in  \\'af|;stat,  Austria,  Schlesen,  about  the 
year  1834.  and  died  in  1898.  ajjed  sixty-four  years.  He  was  the  s<:)n  of  France 
Opawski.  who  attained  the  remarkable  aije  of  one  hundred  an<l  five  years,  and 
who  during  all  these  years  had  never  had  a  tooth  extracted,  which  is  indeed  a 
remarkable  fact.  Carl  C)pawski  was  a  waj4:()n  maker  by  trade,  and  for  many 
years  conducted  a  wagon  making  establishment  in  addition  with  the  lumber 
business.  He  was  successful  in  his  undertakings,  ami  accjuired  a  com[)etence 
for  his  declining  years.  Pie  married  Caroline  Herman,  of  Wagstat.  .\ustria, 
Schlesen.  who  bore  him  four  children:  Carl,  b'rance.  of  whoui  later;  Albert 
and  Amiel.  They  had  a  step-sister  named  Marie.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Opawski 
were  members  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church. 

France  Opawski  emigrated  to  the  United  States  in  the  year  1882,  landing 
in  Pittsburg.  Pennsylvania.  ?klay  7,  1882.  He  worked  in  his  father's  shop  in 
his  native  land,  and  his  first  employment  in  this  country  was  in  the  wood  work 
department  at  K.  Lang's  shop  in  Pittsburg.  His  next  employment  was  in  the 
shops  of  the  Pittsburg  &  Fort  Wayne  Railroad  Company,  where  he  was  em- 
ployed in  the  coach  department  for  eleven  years.  The  following  four  years 
and  one  month  were  spent  in  the  employ  of  the  Pleasant  Valley  Electric  road, 
after  which  he  moved  to  McKeesport.  Pennsylvania,  where  he  conducted  a 
wagon  making  shop  for  eight  years.  He  then  purchased  the  Hotel  Ross,  at 
Duquesne,  Pennsylvania,  of  which  he  is  now  the  proprietor  and  which  enjoys 
the  patronage  of  many  people,  being  in  all  respects  first-class.  In  addition  to 
this  line  of  work  he  is  the  inventor  of  the  automatic  signal  switch,  the  Spoke 
Tennant  machine,  an  electric  heater  and  several  other  articles  not  completed, 
from  which  he  derives  an  income.  ^Ir.  Opawski  is  independent  in  politics, 
casting  his  vote  for  the  man  best  qualified  for  ofiice.  irrespective  of  party 
affiliation.  He  has  been  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
for  the  past  twenty-three  years. 

Mr.  Opawski  married,  June  9,  1887,  Elizabeth  Leofiler.  born  in  Werten- 
berg,  Oberand  Heidenheimer.  She  came  to  the  United  States  in  1880,  at  the 
age  of  thirteen  years,  and  located  in  Allegheny  City,  Pennsylvania.  Twelve 
children  were  born  of  this  marriage,  nine  of  whom  survive,  as  follows :  Charles, 
Katharine,  Flora,  Frank.  Jr.,  Margaret,  Marie.  Helen,  Eleanor  and  Herman. 


AXDREW  JOSEPH  PIRHALLA.  one  of  the  leading  real  estate  and 
insurance  men  of  Duquesne.  Pennsylvania,  was  born  .September  2^.  1865,  in 
Austria  liungary,  the  son  of  George  and  Julia  (Reisteter)  Pirhalla.  George 
Pirhalla  was  born  in  Austria.  Hungary,  where  he  lived  all  of  his  life  and  fol- 
lowed farming  for  his  livelihood.  He  died  in  1899.  He  was  married  to  Miss 
Julia  Reisteter,  born  in  Bohemia,  but  was  of  German  parentage.  She  died  in 
1898.  The  issue  by  this  marriage  was  nine  children,  as  follows:  i.  .Andrew, 
who  died  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years.  2.  Mary  L.,  who  lives  in  Rome.  Italy. 
3.  John,  who  met  his  death  on  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  at  liraddock,  Penn- 
sylvania. 4.  Stephen,  lives  at  Oliphant.  Pennsylvania,  where  he  follows  coal 
mining.     The  next  four  children  died  young.    9.  Andrew  Joseph,  the  subject. 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OP 


Andrew  Joseph  Pirhalla  attended  the  pubHc  schools  of  his  native  country 
at  Hethars,  Hungary,  and  came  to  America  February  lo,  1886,  first  stopping 
at  Cresson,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  visited  a  brother,  John  Pirhalla.  From 
there  he  went  to  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  where  he  worked  at  the  trade  of  a  cabinet 
maker,  which  he  mastered  in  the  old  country.  He  next  went  to  Bakersville. 
Kentucky,  where  he  secured  a  position  as  time-keeper  on  a  new  railroad  then 
being  constructed  through  that  section  of  the  south.  He  next  went  to  Morgan- 
town,  West  Virginia,  remained  but  a  short  time,  and  returned  to  Pennsyl- 
vania, locating  at  Port  Royal,  where  he  worked  in  the  mines  until  he  met  with 
an  accident,  caused  by  an  explosion  in  the  mines  of  gas  and  fire-damps,  when 
he  was  badly  injured."  He  was  confined  in  the  Homeopathic  Hospital  at  Pitts- 
burg for  eight  months  as  a  result,  and  when  able  to  be  employed  was  given  a 
position  as  an  elevator  man  and  clerk  in  the  hospital,  where  he  remained  five 
years,  never  being  absent  'a  day  in  all  that  time.  After  this  he  paid  his  native 
country  a  visit  to  see  his  parents,  and  remained  there  five  weeks,  but  having 
once  seen  the  advantages  of  a  free  country  like  America  he  returned  here, 
locating  in  Pittsburg,  where  he  secured  employment  with  Dr.  Blair,  at  No. 
406  Penn  avenue,  as  clerk  and  office  man.  He  continued  at  that  work  for  two 
years,  after  which  he  came  to  Duquesne  and  started  a  billiard  parlor,  which 
he  conducted  two  years.  He  then  became  general  agent  and  manager  for 
Ross  &  Stiner,  wholesalers  of  Duquesne.  With  them  he  remained  for  five 
years  or  up  to  1900,  when  he  purchased  the  lease  and  fixtures  of  the  Hasiba 
Hotel,  which  he  conducted  five  years.  In  1905  he  built  the  Hotel  Comfort  in 
Duquesne,  and  conducted  that  until  1907,  when  he  sold  his  interest  and  opened 
a  real  estate  office  at  No.  11,  North  First  street,  Duquesne,  where  he  now  does 
a  successful  real  estate  and  insurance  business. 

On  October  28,  1894,  he  married  Catherine  Brindza,  daughter  of  Andrew 
and  Catherine  Brindza,  of  Austria-Hungary.  His  wife  came  to  America  in 
1891.  By  this  union  were  born  five  children:  i.  Julia  Mary,  born  June  15, 
1897.  2'  Josephine.  3.  George.  4.  Frank.  5.  Andrew  M.,  born  April  2, 
1904.  The  subject  and  his  family  belong  to  Holy  Trinity  church  of  Duquesne. 
On  Mav  20,  1906,  he  was  elected  supreme  president  of  the  Slavook  Catholic 
Union  of  America  at  their  convention  held  in  McKeesport,  Pennsylvania,  on 
that  date. 


JAMES  KANE,  of  the  blast  furnace  department  of  the  Carnegie  Steel 
Company  at  Duquesne,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  January  24,  1867,  in  Ren- 
frewshire, Scotland,  at  a  place  called  Inkerman,  named  after  the  battle  of 
Inkerman.  He  is  the  son  of  Edward  and  Margaret  (Dolan)  Kane.  The 
father,  Edward  Kane,  was  born  in  March,  1841,  in  county  Armagh,  Ireland. 
He  is  a  miner  by  occupation,  which  work  he  still  follows,  although  sixty-six 
years  of  age.  He  married  Margaret  Dolan,  daughter  of  John  and  Mary 
bolan.  of  county  Mayo,  Ireland,  and  to  them  were  born  thirteen  children, 
as  follows:  i.  Ann.  '2.  Mary.  3.  James.  4.  John.  5.  Patrick.  6  and  7. 
Died  in  their  infancy.  8.  Teresa.  9.  Eddie.  10,  11  and  12.  Died  in 
their  infancy.  13.  Thomas.  The  family  are  all  of  the  Roman  Catholic  faith. 
John  Dolan,  the  father  of  Mrs.  Kane,  was  a  soldier  in  the  Crimean  war, 
where  he  was  severely  wounded,  and  died  shortly  after  his  return  home. 

James  Kane,  the  subject  of  this  notice,  attended  the  St.  Margaret  School 


FITTSIWKC    .1X1)    ni-.K    riiO/'Lli 


in  Airdrie,  Lanarkshire,  and  went  to  work  in  the  mines  before  lie  reaehed  his 
twelfth  year,  continuing:  at  this  kind  of  eniploNiiient  until  1H93,  when  he  came 
to  America,  first  locating-  in  Turtle  Creek.  Allej^heny  county.  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  secured  employment  with  the  New  York  and  Cleveland  Cias  and  Coal 
Company.  Duriiifj  the  ijreat  labor  strike  in  1894  he  was  engaged  with  the 
Edgar  Thomson  Steel  Works,  of  the  Carnegie  system,  as  fireman  of  boilers 
at  the  blast  furnaces,  where  he  was  engaged  t»iie  year  and  the  following  three 
years  worked  as  pipe  titter's  liel])er.  serving  under  John  L.  Lewis,  who  at  that 
time  was  a  master-mechanic.  James  Kane  came  to  l)u(|uesne  in  iS(;S.  and  has 
since  that  date  been  employed  at  the  blast  furnace  department  of  the  Duciuesnc 
works  of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company. 

Mr.  Kane  is  a  Republican  in  politics,  and  has  served  as  school  director 
of  the  Third  ward  of  Duquesne  Iwrough.  being  elected  in  I'ebruary.  njo6. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Order  of  Hibernians  and  belongs  to  the  Holy 
Name  Catholic  church  of  Duquesne.  Rev.  Father  David  Shannon,  jiastor. 

He  was  united  in  marriage,  December  31,  1888.  to  Miss  Mary,  daughter 
of  John  and  Margaret  ( Tobin )  Norton,  of  liro.xborn.  Scotland.  Mrs.  Kane 
was  born  in  April,  1866.  P,y  this  union  were  born  the  following  children: 
I.  Edward,  born  May  23,  1890.  died  August  13.  1890.  2.  John,  born  I'eb- 
ruary  17.  1892.  3.  ]Margaret.  born  July  21.  1894.  4.  Edward-  Patrick,  born 
June  20,  1896.  5.  Mary,  born  ]May  10,  1899.  6.  Teresa,  born  August  ii, 
1901.  7.  Ellen,  born  September  i,  1903.  8.  James,  Jr.,  born  September  5, 
1906. 

HENRY  FREDERICK  CROFF,  of  Swissvale,  foreman  for  the  L'nited 
States  Steel  Company,  was  born  July  4,  1849,  "^  Hanover,  Germany,  a  son 
•of  Henry  and  W'ilhelmina  Cropp. 

Henry  Frederick  Cropp  came  in  1868  to  the  United  States  and  settled  in 
Pittsburg,  where  for  nineteen  years  he  followed  the  calling  of  a  teamster. 
He  then  entered  the  service  of  the  Carrie  T^irnace  Company,  now  the  l'nited 
States  Steel  Company,  with  whom  for  the  long  period  of  twenty  years  he  has 
held  the  responsible  position  of  foreman,  the  long  duration  of  his  service 
testifying  to  his  efficiency  and  fidelity.  He  belongs  to  the  Royal  Arcanum  and 
in  the  sphere  of  politics  affiliates  with  the  Republican  party,  lie  is  a  member 
of  the  Presbyterian  church  of  Swissvale. 

Mr.  Cropp  married.  March  17,  1874,  Ida  Permilla  Perkins,  and  they 
have  been  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  I'>ederick  William,  born 
April  16.  1876;  Elizabeth,  born  March  i,  1877,  wife  of  Dr.  Charles  C.  Rinard. 
of  Homestead;  Elmer  A.,  born  April  28.  1879:  Paul  X'incent.  Ix^rn  June 
15.  1 88 1,  machinist,  married.  September  12.  1905.  Oindarah.  daughter  of  John 
and  Eugenia  Flickinger.  of  Braddock.  Pennsylvania ;  and  Carrie.  lx)rn  Sep- 
tember 5.  1886,  died  March  12.  1895.  aged  eight  years  and  six  months.  Fred- 
erick William  Cropp,  the  eldest  of  the  family,  is  paymaster  for  the  United 
States  Steel  Company  at  Mingo  Junction.  He  married  December  19.  1900. 
Allabella.  daughter  of  Albert  F^rice.  of  Irwin,  Pennsylvania,  and  they  have  two 
children.  Frederick  and  Albert.  Paul  Vincent  Cropp  has  one  child.  Elizabeth 
R..  born  September  17.  1907.  Elmer  A.  Cropj)  married  September  12.  1(^7. 
Ella  Watkins,  of  Swissvale,   Pennsylvania. 

Mrs.  Cropp  is  a  daughter  of  Aflam  A.  and  Lucinda  (  Paker  )  Perkins,  of 
\\'ebster.  Westmoreland  countv.  Pennsvlvania.     Mr.  Perkins,  who  is  bv  trade 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


a  miller,  owns  a  large  grist  mill  at  Webster,  which  he  has  successfully  operated 
for  the  last  forty-two  years. 


CARL  WILHELM  LITTLER,  one  of  the  machinists  and  inventors  con- 
nected with  the  Edgar  Thomson  Works  of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Corporation, 
is  a  native  of  Switzerland,  born  December  ii,  1879,  at  Zurich.  His  parents 
were  natives  of  Switzerland.  The  father  was  John  Littler,  born  in  1858,  and 
is  a  shoe  manufacturer  in  Zurich.  He  married  Amelia,  daughter  of  George 
and  Katherine  Kamerer,  of  Switzerland,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  three 
children:  i.  Carl  Wilhelm,  born  December  11,  1879.  2.  Heldwig,  born 
April  16,  1884.     3.  Lillie,  born  January  29,  1902. 

Carl  Wilhelm  Littler,  the  subject,  attended  the  public  school  and  the 
University  of  Zurich,  Switzerland,  graduating  from  that  most  excellent  insti- 
tution as  a  mechanical  engineer.  He  then  came  to  America  in  1892,  and  spent 
a  short  time  with  an  uncle  residing  at  Morgantown,  West  Virginia,  before 
coming  to  Pittsburg.  He  is  the  inventor  of  a  useful  caliper  employed  by 
machinists  in  measuring  their  work;  it  is  a  combination  tool  and  of  great 
utility.  At  first  he  was  employed  by  Brown,  Bowerie  &  Company,  of  Baden, 
Switzerland,  and  then  for  the  Oerlikon  Machine  Company  of  the  same  city. 
He  was  next  engaged  by  the  Westinghouse  Electric  Manufacturing  Company, 
the  National  Tube  Company,  of  McKeesport,  Pennsylvania,  and  is  now 
with  the  Edgar  Thomson  Company.  He  is  the  owner  of  several  valuable 
properties  in  Pittsburg  and  Swissvale.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Technical 
Society  of  Switzerland,  and  the  German  Benevolent  Union,  of  Swissvale.  In 
his  political  belief  he  is  a  firm  supporter  of  the  Republican  party.  Both  he  and 
his  wife  are  members  of  the  Reformed  church  at  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania. 

Concerning  his  domestic  relations  it  may  be  stated  that  Mr.  Littler  on 
October  18,  1904,  married  Margie  Blossom,  daughter  of  William  J.  and 
Nellie  (Show)  Britner,  of  Swissvale,  Pennsylvania.  Mrs.  Littler's  father  is 
a  prominent  contractor  and  builder.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Littler  were  born  the 
following  children:  i.  Thelma  Von,  born  August  7,  1905.  2.  Charlotte 
Gertrude,  born  April  11,  1907. 

Mrs.  Littler's  father,  William  J.  Britner,  is  a  member  of  the  Reformed 
church  at  Wilkinsburg,  and  politically  is  a  Democrat.  The  children  born  to 
William  J.  and  Nellie  (Show)  Britner  are:  i.  Margie,  born  July  26,  1886, 
wife  of  the  subject.  2.  Hortense,  born  October  13,  1893.  3.  Jack,  born 
October  i,  1896. 


CHARLES  GEHLERT,  proprietor  of  the  Hotel  Gehlert,  of  Duquesne, 
Pennsylvania,  was  born  July  4,  1867,  in  Bavaria,  Germany,  where  he  attended 
the  public  schools  of  Aschaffenburg.  He  is  the  son  of  Adam  and  Eva  (Hegg) 
Gehlert.  The  father  was  born  in  Aschaffenburg,  Bavaria,  and  was  the  father 
of  fourteen  children:  i.  Baldasar.  2.  Margaret,  deceased.  3.  George.  4. 
Adam,  who  died  at  his  home  in  McKeesport,  Pennsylvania.  5.  August,  de- 
ceased. 6.  Charles,  of  this  sketch.  7.  Katie.  8.  Anna.  The  remaining 
children  all  died  in  infancy.  The  father,  Adam  Gehlert,  served  as  a  body 
guard  to  King  Maxamillian.  He  died  in  November,  1900,  his  wife  dying  in 
1869. 


PlTTSinKC    AM)    lll:l<    I'liOriJ: 


Charles  Gchlcrt,  of  this  notice,  came  to  America  in  1883,  locating  in 
McKeesport,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  secured  employment  in  the  bar  depart- 
ment of  Wood's  mills,  and  worked  there  constantly  for  fourteen  years,  and  at 
the  National  Tube  Works  two  years,  and  then  came  to  Duquesne  in  September, 
1899,  to  engage  in  the  hotel  business,  where  he  has  been  engaged  for  the  last 
eight  years.  He  was  married  September  9,  1888,  to  Mina,  daughter  of  Carl 
Osterwase  and  wife,  of  Saxony.  Germany.  She  came  to  the  United  States  in 
1885,  and  made  her  home  at  McKeesport  until  married.  By  this  union  was 
born  seven  children:  i.  Eva,  born  in  1889.  died  in  1891,  aged  two  years.  2. 
George  A.,  born  April  22.  189 1.  3.  Katie  Sadie,  born  Sci)tembcr  20,  1892.  4. 
Charles  George,  born  December  23,  1894.  5.  John  Charles,  born  Decemljer 
13,  1896.  6.  Harry,  born  November  21,  1901.  7.  Maxamillian  Carl,  born 
November  21,  1904. 

Charles  Gehlcrt  is  a  member  of  the  Elks'  lodge,  No.  75,  of  Duquesne,  and 
of  Lodge  No.  1087.  of  the  Eagles,  of  Duquesne.  He  was  for  three  years  vice- 
president  of  the  Turners'  German  Beneficial  Union ;  belongs  to  St.  Mary's 
Lodge ;  to  the  St.  Joseph's  Catholic  church,  and  in  politics  votes  the  Repub- 
lican ticket. 


JOHN  BIESEL,  a  wholesaler  in  Duquesne,  Pennsylvania,  was  born 
January  24,  1863,  in  Rhem.  Prussia,  where  he  attended  the  public  schools 
and  came  to  America  in  1881,  locating  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  After 
coming  to  this  country  he  attended  the  Indiana  State  Normal  School.  Mr. 
Biesel  has  been  engaged  in  the  wholesale  liquor  trade  at  Duquesne  since  1902. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  Duquesne  lodge  of  Eagles,  No.  1087:  belongs  to  the 
Roman  Catholic  church,  and  votes  the  Democratic  ticket,  except  in  local 
offices,  when  he  votes  independent  of  party  lines. 

He  was  united  in  marriage,  May  8,  1893.  to  Martha  Luetke.  of  Posen, 
Prussia.  She  died  ]\larch  2;^,  1907,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  three  chil- 
dren: I.  Seigford  Joseph,  born  January  31,  1894.  2.  Barthold  Hieronimus, 
born  October  6,  1895.     3.  ]^Iargaret  Catherine,  born  July  5,  1899. 

Concerning  the  parentage  of  ^Ir.  Biesel  it  may  be  said  that  his  father. 
Jacob  Biesel,  Sr.,  was  born  in  1829  in  Germany,  and  followed  farming  and 
stock-raising.  He  served  four  years  in  the  German  army  and  died  in  1892, 
aged  sixty-three  years.  He  married  Catherine  Teil,  of  Germany,  and  she  was 
the  mother  of  five  children,  as  follows:  i.  John,  who  died  in  infancy.  2. 
Mathias,  who  died  in  infancy.  3.  John,  of  whom  an  account  has  been  given 
above.    4.  Jacob,  Jr.,  of  Germany.    5.  Annie,  wife  of  Mr.  Steffen,  of  (iermany. 

Mrs.  Catherine  (Teil)  Biesel.  was  born  October  22,  1822,  and  died  in 
1905?  aged  eighty-three  years.  The  son,  Jacob  Biesel,  Jr.,  served  three  years 
in  the  German  army  and  is  still  counted  a  soldier  if  called  upon  for  service. 


ANDREW  SHEPHARD,  JR..  who  resides  at  No.  2420  Woodstock 
avenue,  Swissvale,  Allegheny  county.  I'ennsylvania,  has  been  in  the  employ 
of  the  Rankin  W^ire  Mill  for  the  past  seven  years,  and  is  a  representative  of 
the  third  generation  of  his  family  in  this  country,  they  tracing  their  ancestry 
to  France. 

Joseph  Shephard,  grandfather  of  Andrew  .Shephard,  Jr..  was  a  native  of 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


France,  and  emigrated  to  the  United  States  about  the  year  1820.  He  located 
in  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  made  his  home  for  some  years, 
removing  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  1843.  He  was  a  stone  cutter  by 
trade.  He  died  in  1849.  He  and  his  entire  family  were  members  of  the 
Catholic  church.  He  married  Mary  Ann  Dice,  born  in  Alsace,  Germany,  and 
died  March  12,  1888,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  children:  i.  Joseph,  who 
was  in  active  service  during  the  Civil  war,  having  been  confined  in  Libby 
prison  for  two  weeks  and  in  Belle  Isle  six  months,  and  he  now  (1907)  resides 
in  Ohio.  2.  John,  who  lives  in  retirement  in  Allegheny  City.  3.  Andrew,  see 
forward.  4.  Michael,  a  brick  manufacturer  of  Canonsburg,  Pennsylvania. 
He  also  was  a  soldier  in  the  Civil  war.  5.  Katherine,  who  died  June  20, 
1906,  was  the  wife  of  Peter  Dressier,  a  county  detective  for  many  years.  6. 
Charles,  a  farmer  and  stock  raiser  in  Ohio.  7.  Mary,  who  died  at  sea  at  the 
age  of  two  and  a  half  years. 

Andrew  Shephard,  third  son  and  child  of  Joseph  and  Mary  Ann  (Dice) 
Shephard,  was  born  in  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  December  21,  1834. 
He  came  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  with  his  parents  in  1843,  where  he 
worked  in  brick  yards  and  coal  mines  from  his  earliest  years.  By  industry, 
thrift  and  energy  he  rose  step  by  step  until  he  was  the  proprietor  of  a  brick 
yard  of  his  own,  and  amassed  a  considerable  fortune.  He  and  his  family  are 
members  of  the  Christian  church  of  Wilkinsburg.  He  is  a  man  of  very  inde-' 
pendent  views  as  far  as  politics  are  concerned,  and  invariably  votes  for 
whomever  he  thinks  the  man  best  fitted  for  the  office  in  question,  irrespective 
of  party  considerations. 

He  married,  April  29,  1862,  Sarah  Jane  Oyler,  daughter  of  Michael  and 
Catherine  (Walnut)  Oyler,  of  Braddock,  Pennsylvania,  and  they  have  had 
children:  i.  Mary,  born  March  28,  1863,  died  in  infancy.  2.  David,  born 
September  19,  1864,  is  a  member  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  3.  George, 
born  December  21,  1865,  married  Pauline  Day,  of  Boston,  Massachusetts.  4. 
John,  born  February  17,  1867,  served  three  years  in  the  Philippines  during 
the  Spanish- American  war.  5.  Joseph,  born  December  21,  1870,  died  August 
27,  1896.  He  married  Ada  Keller,  of  Swissvale,  and  had  children":  Harry, 
Samuel  and  Joseph.  6.  Michael,  born  September  29,  1872,  died  December  29, 
1902,  from  injuries  received  in  the  Homewood  yards.  7.  Andrew,  Jr.,  see 
forward.  8.  Susan,  born  March  i,  1876.  9.  Harry,  died  in  infancy.  10. 
Peter,  born  May  5,  1885,  is  a  member  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

Andrew  Shephard,  Jr.,  sixth  son  and  seventh  child  of  Andrew  and  Sarah 
Jane  (Oyler)  Shephard,  was  born  April  29,  1873.  He  acquired  his  education 
in  the  public  schools  of  North  Braddock,  Pennsylvania,  and  those  of  Swiss- 
vale,  and  later  commenced  his  business  life  in  the  brick  yard  of  his  father, 
where  he  was  employed  for  a  period  of  eighteen  years.  He  then  accepted  a 
position  in  the  Rankin  Wire  Mill,  in  which  he  has  now  been  employed  for 
seven  years.     He  is  a  member  of. the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

WILLIAM  MONROE  BENHAM,  an  attorney  of  Pittsburg,  was  born 
in  Auburn,  New  York,  on  April  8,  1866,  a  son  of  DeWitt  C.  and  Cynthia 
(Arne)  Benham,  both  natives  of  New  York  state.  His  forefathers  were  early 
settlers  in  this  continent,  his  ancestor,  John  Benham.  coming  to  America  from 
England  in  1630  on  the  ship  "Mary  and  John,"  and  making  his  home  in  New 


Oi>^^^^:<-^^  yrv^^£^,zJL>^. 


PITTSBi'RC:    AM)    UliK    I'liOl'Ll:  9 

Eng^laiul.  The  parents  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch  removed  fntni  Xcw  ^^>^k 
to  Beaver  county.  Pennsylvania,  about  1871.  where  the  father  became  a  coal 
operator,  or^e^anizint^  and  bein^  president  of  the  Auburn  Coal  Company.  He 
died  in  1892.  leavin^^:  to  survive  him  his  wife  and  the  followiui;  three  children, 
all  of  whom  are  still  living;:  1.  Rev.  DeWitt  M..  who  was  pastor  of  the  Toint 
Breeze  and  Tabernacle  Presbyterian  churches  of  this  city,  in  1898  he  received 
an  uri^ent  call  to  become  the  i)astor  of  the  Central  Presbyterian  church  of  lialti- 
more.  Maryland,  where  he  is  now  located.  2.  Mary  A.,  wife  of  |.  Duncan 
Dithridge.  who  descends  from  an  early  Pitt.sburg;  family,  but  at  the  present  time 
they  are  residing^  in  Xew  York  city.     3.  William  M. 

William  M.  Benham.  third  child  of  DeWitt  C.  and  Cynthia  (Ariie)  Ken- 
ham,  received  his  preliminary  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Xew  Brigditon, 
Beaver  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  g;ra(luated  from  Geneva  Collega-.  Penn- 
sylvania, in  the  class  of  1887.  beings  awarded  the  g^eneral  excellency  prize  for 
tiie  highest  grade  of  the  year,  and  having  pursued  the  classical  course  the  de- 
gree of  Bachelor  of  Arts  was  conferred  upon  him.  In  the  autumn  of  i88<;  he 
entered  the  law  department  of  Columbia  University,  Xew  York  citv.  where 
he  remained  during  the  prescribed  time  of  three  years,  being  graduated  there- 
from in  June,  1892,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor'of  Laws  ami  hindc.  .At  the 
commencement  exercises  the  Committee  on  Awards  presented  him  with  the 
first  prize  of  two  hundred  and  fifty  dollars  for  the  greatest  knowledge  and 
highest  attainments  in  his  law  studies.  During  his  first  year  at  Columl)ia  he 
was  elected  president  of  his  class,  consisting  of  two  hundred  and  fifty  members, 
and  upon  the  resignation  of  Dr.  Theodore  Dwight  as  warden  of  the  law  de- 
partment in  June,  1891,  he  was  selected  by  his  classmates  to  present  to  Dr. 
Dwight  a  liandsomely  embossed  memorial. 

While  at  Columbia  Mr.  Benham  read  law  in  the  office  of  Messrs.  Carter, 
Hughes  &  Kellogg,  of  Xew  York  city,  the  Mr.  Hughes  of  this  firm  being  now 
governor  of  the  state  of  Xew  York.  At  a  general  term  of  the  supreme  court 
of  the  state  of  Xew  York,  held  in  the  city  of  Xew  York,  he  was  admitted  on 
December  7,  1891,  to  practice  in  the  several  courts  of  that  state.  Mr.  Benham. 
after  receiving  his  diploma  from  Columbia  in  June.  1892.  returned  to  I'itts- 
burg,  where  he  took  the  prescribed  examination,  and  on  September  17,  1892, 
was  admitted  to  the  Allegheny  county  bar.  He  at  once  commenced  the  prac- 
tice of  law  in  Pittsburg,  and  in  due  time  was  admitted  to  the  suj)reme  and  su- 
perior courts  of  Pennsylvania,  and  the  United  States  circuit  and  district  courts. 
He  has  been  highly  successful  in  his  profession,  and  has  established  a  large  and 
remunerative  practice.  Mr.  Benham  enjoys  the  trial  of  cases,  and  before  the 
jury  is  a  forcible  and  effective  speaker. 

He  is  unmarried.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Ma^onic  I'raternity.  during  1(^)7 
being  worshipful  master  of  Fort  Pitt  Lodge.  Xo.  634,  Free  and  .Accepted 
Masons,  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Pennsylvania  Consistory,  making  him  a 
thirty-second  degree  Mason.  He  is  exalted  ruler  of  Pittsburg  Lodge,  Xo.  11. 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  having  been  elected  to  that  office  for 
two  successive  terms,  this  being  unusual,  as  the  lodge  during  the  thirty  years 
of  its  existence  has  only  re-elected  to  that  office  two  of  Mr.  l>enham's  prede- 
cessors. He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Colonial  Republican  Club  of 
Pittsburg,  and  has  been  on  its  board  of  trustees  since  its  formation.  The  first 
two  years  of  the  club's  existence  he  was  vice  president,  and  then  was  chosen 
president,  in  which  capacity  he  served  during  1907.     He  is  a  member  of  the 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Allegheny  County  Bar  Association,  acting  upon  the  committee  on  narrative 
during  the  years  of  1896  and  1897,  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  University  Club 
and  the  Pittsburg  Board  of  Trade.  In  the  year  of  1901  he  was  supreme  sena- 
tor of  the  Knights  of  the  Ancient  Essenic  Order,  the  highest  office  in  the  coun- 
try. 

Politically  Mr.  Benham  is  a  Republican.  In  the  Blaine  campaign  of  1884 
he  was  corresponding  secretary  of  the  Young  Men's  Republican  Club  of  Beaver 
Falls,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  president  of  the  same  organization  in  the  Harri- 
son campaign  of  1888.  He  has  been  president  of  his  district  organization, 
county  committeeman,  ward  committeeman,  city  committeeman,  and  in  the 
years  of  1905  and  1906  was  first  vice  chairman  of  the  Republican  city  executive 
committee  of  Pittsburg.  He  has  been  a  delegate  to  various  state  and  county 
conventions. 


JACOB  STRAUB,  who  is  an  expert  blacksmith  and  scientific  horse  shoer, 
residing  in  the  borough  of  Duquesne,  Pennsylvania,  is  the  son  of  John  and 
Elizabeth  (Routh)  Straub.  The  father  was  born  in  Elzasse,  Germany,  where 
he  served  as  game  warden  for  a  period  of  thirty-two  years  at  one  place. 
Elizabeth  Routh,  whom  he  married,  was  of  Kosswieler,  Germany,  and  died 
in  1905.  John  Straub  and  wife  were  both  members  of  the  German  Lutheran 
church.  Their  children  are:  i.  John,  Jr.  The  next  four  children  died  in 
infancy.  6.  Sophia.  7.  Caroline.  8.  Charley.  9.  Emily.  10.  Alice.  11. 
Louise.  12.  Jacob,  subject,  of  whom  later.  Of  this  family  Alice  is  the  wife 
of  Joseph  Shirley,  of  Duquesne.  Pennsylvania ;  Caroline  married  Cliarles  Buck, 
a  farmer  of  Davenport,  Washington ;  Emily  was  first  the  wife  of  Valentine 
Blatter,  born  in  Hasslen,  Germany,  and  came  to  America  in  1898,  and  was 
married  the  same  year  of  his  arrival.  They  resided  in  Dravosburg,  Pennsyl- 
vania, where  he  died,  and  later  the  widow  married  Louis  Muller,  of  Strausburg, 
Germany. 

Jacob  Straub  (subject),  the  twelfth  and  youngest  of  his  parents'  children, 
was  born  July  17,  1876,  in  Kasswieler,  Germany,  and  attended  the  public 
schools  at  Kosswieler.  Coming  to  America  in  1890,  he  first  locating  in 
McKeesport,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  was  employed  by  the  National  Tube 
Company  for  about  six  months,  and  then  came  to  Duquesne,  Allegheny  county, 
where  he  mined  coal  for  six  months,  after  which  he  resumed  work  at  the 
National  Tube  Works  at  Duquesne,  remaining  for  the  same  period  of  time. 
He  then  had  become  thoroughly  convinced  that  a  man  nowadays  was  more 
independent  if  he  was  master  of  a  good  trade,  hence  he  apprenticed  himself 
to  A.  Inblume,  of  West  Grant  street,  Duquesne,  where  he  learned  the  trade 
of  a  blacksmith  and  up-to-date  horseshoer.  After  he  served  for  three  years 
he  went  with  John  Kerr,  of  Homestead,  where  he  was  employed  a  year,  then 
went  to  Butler,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  conducted  a  shop  of  his  own  for  six 
months,  but  sold  it,  and  the  following  day  went  to  work  for  Wilson  Brothers, 
on  Rebecca  street,  Allegheny  City,  where  he  remained  two  years,  and  then 
returned  to  Duquesne,  where  he  was  employed  in  the  shop  of  Fred  W.  Pirl 
for  one  year.  His  next  position  was  with  Thomas  Minford,  of  California. 
Pennsylvania,  with  whom  he  continued  a  year  and  until  the  breaking  out  of 
the  Spanish-American  war,  when  he  enlisted  in  Company  I,  Fourteenth  Penn- 
sylvania   Regiment    of    Infantry,    under    Captain    Hamilton,    of    Elizabeth, 


PlTTSBl'RG    AM)    II UK    PJiOriJ: 


Pennsylvania,  and  served  two  years,  bcinj^  lionorably  discliar^ed  at  SDnier- 
ville.  South  Carolina.  He  then  returned  to  Duquesnc,  where  he  resumed  his 
trade  aj^^ain,  this  time  eno;a^injj:  with  I'Ved  W.  I'irl,  for  whom  he  had 
previously  worked.  He  continued  there  a  year,  then  opened  a  shop  for  himself 
at  Clarin.ijton.  Pennsylvania,  which  he  ran  a  year  and  S(jld  mit  and  was  em- 
ployed next  with  the  firm  of  Pirl.  Krunj^n-r  &  Company,  with  whom  he  re- 
mained a  year,  and  then  started  a  shop  at  IMum  Alley,  Duquesne,  which  he  con- 
tinued for  another  year,  and  then  moved  to  the  old  stand  of  I'Vcd  W.  Pirl,  where 
he  is  at  present. 

Mr.  Straub  married,  July  31,  1901,  Mary  P.  Snyder,  daughter  of  John 
and  Elizabeth  (Heilman)  Snyder,  of  Duquesne.  They  have  three  children: 
I.  John  William,  horn  March  ii,  1902.  2.  Mary  f^lizabeth,  lx>rn  July  3. 
1904.     3.  Melvin  Guss,  lx)rn  November  16,   190^). 

Mr.  Straub  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Malta,  the  Maccabees  and  the 
Home  Guards,  and  in  church  relations  is  a  member  of  the  Evangelical 
Lutheran  church  at  Duquesne.  I'oliticallv  he  has  alwavs  cast  a  Rei)ul)lican 
ballot. 

JAMES  LAWRENCE  WALSH,  a  prominent  steel  wcjrker  and  the 
owner  of  a  valuable  business  block  at  the  corner  of  West  Grant  and  Xorth 
Second  street,  Duquesne,  is  the  son  of  Lawrence  Walsh  and  wife,  Margaret 
(O'Dea)  Walsh,  of  county  Galway,  Ireland,  where  the  subject  was  born  in 
1854.  He  attended  the  National  School  of  Tullokyne,  Ireland.  After  gaining 
his  education  he  spent  three  years  in  his  native  land  engaged  in  the  grocerv 
and  liquor  trade.  In  June,  1874,  he  came  to  America,  landing  at  Boston 
harbor,  and  in  that  neighborhood  worked  on  a  farm  for  one  year,  and  in  the 
following  August  came  to  Port  Perry,  Pennsylvania.  He  followed  lalx)r  with 
the  Edgar  Thomson  Iron  Works,  then  in  course  of  construction.  After 
working  two  years  at  this  he  with  about  twenty  other  workmen  were  laid  off. 
and  during  the  years  of  1875  and  1877  Mr.  Walsh  traveled  through  the  states 
of  West  Virginia  and  Ohio,  working  at  odd  occupations  at  numerous  places. 
In  ]VIarch,  1877,  he  returned  to  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company,  where  he  was 
employed  constantly  in  various  capacities  for  twenty-five  years,  with  the 
single  exception  of  a  short  time  he  was  in  Bellaire.  ( )hio.  He  is  at  this  time 
wdiat  he  has  been  for  several  years,  a  tried  and  trusty  steel  pourer  or  "ladle 
man."  where  only  skilled  men  can  fill  the  position. 

Politically  Mr.  \\'alsh  is  an  indejK'ndent  voter.  lie  with  the  family  are 
members  of  Holy  Name  Catholic  church,  l""ather  David  Shannahan.  pastor. 
He  was  married  May  22.  1879,  to  Adelia  Conley.  of  Brinton.  Pennsylvania, 
daughter  of  Lawrence  and  Mary  (Cosgrove)  Conley.  The  ten  children  by 
this  union  were  as  follows:  i.  Margaret,  deceased.  2.  Lawrence,  born  Sep- 
tember 23,  1 88 1,  a  graduate  of  ihe  Pennsylvania  State  College  and  St. 
Vincent's  College :  he  is  a  civil  engineer  and  employed  with  the  Devoe  Com- 
pany. 3.  Mary,  born  September  30.  1883,  attended  the  jniblic  schools  of 
Duquesne  and  Grove  City  College ;  she  is  now  a  teacher  in  the  schools  of 
\'ersailles  township,  Allegheny  county,  Temisylvania.  4.  Jane  Piernadette, 
born  October  23,  1885,  deceased.  5.  Margaret,  born  December  26.  1887.  at- 
tended the  public  schools  of  Duquesne  and  graduated  from  the  Duquesne  high 
schools,  and  is  now  an  instructor  in  the  Duquesne  public  schools.  6.  Lenora 
E.,  born  April  ii,  1890,  died  in  infancy.     7.  James,  Jr.,  born   Se|)tember  11. 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


1 89 1,  now  attending  St.  Francis  College  at  Loretto,  Pennsylvania.  8.  Walter 
Michael,  born  September  17,  1893,  attending  the  same  school  as  the  last 
named.  9.  Thomas  Francis,  born  January  31,  1899,  died  in  infancy.  10, 
Bertille  Antony,  born  September  17,  1900. 

Mr.  Walsh's  parents  were  blessed  with  the  following  six  children :  Mark, 
Margaret,  Adelia,  Jane,  Hanorah  and  James  Lawrence,  the  subject. 


THOMAS  EDGAR  VENTRESS,  who  holds  the  responsible  position  of 
foreman  in  the  United  States  Steel  Corporation  at  Swissvale,  Pennsylvania, 
was  born  September  7,  1850,  in  Elizabeth,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  a 
son  of  Michael  and  Isabella  (Garrett)  Ventress.  His  father  was  born  on 
"the  ninth  day  of  the  ninth  month  of  the  ninth  year  of  the  nineteenth  cen- 
tury"— September  9,  1809,  near  Whitley  and  Scarboro,  England.  He  came 
to  America  in  1835,  locating  at  Elizabeth,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  followed  ship  building.  He  served  as  captain  of  the  State  Militia, 
but  when  the  Civil  war  broke  out  he  was  too  aged  to  enter  the  service  of  his 
country.  He  belonged  to  the  West  Elizabeth  Presbyterian  church  and  was 
a  Democrat  in  political  views  until  Lincoln's  second  election,  when  he  cast  a 
Republican  ballot  and  did  so  ever  afterwards.  His  death  occurred  in  August, 
1894.  He  married  Isabella  Garrett,  near  Frederick,  Washington  county, 
Pennsylvania,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  eight  children  as  follows,:  i. 
Anna.  2.  Mary.  3.  Adaline.  4.  George.  5.  Hannah  Jane,  6.  Michael, 
who  died  in  infancy.  7.  Thomas  Edgar,  of  this  notice.  8.  Adelia.  Anna, 
the  eldest  child,  married  James  Elliott,  of  Elizabeth,  Pennsylvania ;  Mary 
married  Andrew  McKinley,  of  the  same  township;  and  Adaline,  married  John 
F.  Blair^  of  Jefferson  township. 

Thomas  Edgar  Ventress,  the  seventh  in  order  of  birth  in  the  family  of 
Michael  and  Isabella  (Garrett)  Ventress,  was  educated  in  the  Elizabeth  public 
schools,  in  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  from  the  autumn  of  1863  to 
the  spring  of  1866  he  was  employed  as  an  errand  boy  by  Joseph  Home  & 
Company,  the  dry  goods  merchant  of  Pittsburg  fame.  He  was  but  thirteen 
years  of  age  at  the  date  of  his  leaving  this  mercantile  establishment,  and  at 
once  went  onto  the  People's  line  of  packet-boats,  which  ran  from  Pittsburg 
to  Morganstown,  continuing  from  1866  to  1869.  when  he  abandoned  the  life 
of  a  boatman,  for  a  short  time  engaging  in  the  feed  business  in  Elizabeth, 
which  enterprise  he  sold  out  and  again  sought  his  fortune  on  the  river,  work- 
ing on  the  packet  boat  "Elizabeth,"  plying  between  Elizabeth  and  Pittsburg, 
from  1869  to  1873,  at  the  termination  of  which  time  he  engaged  with  the 
Jones  Brothers'  Coal  Works  as  weighmaster ;  here  he  served  from  1873  until 
1879.  and  then  came  to  Swissvale,  near  Pittsburg  proper,  and  there  embarked 
in  the  grocery  business,  conducting  the  same  until  1884,  when  he  sold  his 
store  and  in  1885  was  employed  as  tax-collector's  clerk  in  the  county  treas- 
urer's office  of  Allegheny  county.  After  one  year's  service  in  that  position 
and  in  1886  he  was  employed  in  the  rail  mills  of  the  Homestead  Steel  Works 
for  a  short  time,  but  during  the  same  year  went  with  the  United  States  Steel 
Corporation,  where  he  has  been  constantly  employed  as  a  foreman  at 
Swissvale. 

Mr.  Ventress  was  married  September  3,  1874,  to  Florilla  Appelgate, 
daughter  of  James  and  Elizabeth   (Biggere)   Appelgate,  of  Elizabeth,  where 


piTrsHiJ^L:  .i\n  nr.R  rr.orij-.  13 

James  Appclij^atc  carried  on  ship-buiUlino.  TIk-  children  Ixini  to  Thomas 
Edgar  aiul  Morilla  (  A])pe]!;ate )  \eiUres>.  three  in  iuiml)er,  were  named  as 
follows:  I.  Adlie  Charlotte,  bom  July  28,  1875.  2.  lilizabeth.  born  August 
30.  1877.  3.  Frank  Iul.t;ar.  born  May  20.  1884.  The  last  named  is  now  with 
the  Allegheny  Light  Company. 

Mr.  \'entress  is  a.  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  the  I'.lue  lodgt' ; 
is  a  member  of  the  Swissvale  I'resbyterian  church,  and  in  |)oIitics  is  an 
independent  Republican. 


ROBERT  PARK  DICKSOX.  (I)  The  first  of  this  Dickson  family  to 
settle  in  this  country  was  Thomas  Dickson  and  family,  who  emigrated  from 
the  parish  of  Tamlet.  county  Tyrone.  Ireland,  in  April.  1832.  and  located  in 
the  Webster  avenue  district  of  Pittsburg.  Pennsylvania,  where  he  became  a 
coal  operator. 

(II)  John  Dickson,  son  of  Thomas  Dickson,  the  emigrant,  was  born 
March  21,  181 1.  in  the  parish  of  Tamlet,  county  Tyrone.  Ireland.  He  accom- 
panied his  parents  to  this  country  and  attended  the  public  schools,  and  after 
finishing  his  schooling  he  engaged  in  the  coal  business  with  his  father.  Tiieir 
mines  were  located  at  Oak  Hill.  Swissvale.  Ireland  Station  (now  Wildwood  ), 
on  the  Allegheny  X'alley  Railroad.  John  Dickson  shipi)ed  the  first  car  of  coal 
ever  shipped  to  Pittsburg  over  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad.  He  married.  May 
23.  ^^53'  Mary  Ann  Hopkins,  widow  of  James  Iloi)kins.  and  the  daughter  of 
John  and  Mary  (Kelly)  McConnell,  of.  Donegal.  Ireland.  Mrs.  McConnell 
was  born  in  1807  and  died  in  1839.  in  Scotland.  John  McConnell  emigrated 
to  the  United  States  in  1866,  locating  at  Swissvale,  where  he  foUowed  garden- 
ing for  a  livelihood.  He  died  March  17,  1884.  John  and  Mary  (Kelly) 
■McConnell  were  the  parents  of  five  children  as  follows:  i.  Mary  Ann.  l)()rn 
September  29.  1828,  in  Lanarkshire,  Scotland.  2.  John  McConnell,  Jr.,  born 
November  22*,  1830,  at  the  same  place,  died  July  30.  1844.  3-  Patrick,  born 
September  22,  1832,  served  in  the  Civil  war,  where  he  was  last  heard  of.  4. 
William,  born  August  4.  1834,  met  his  death  in  a  railroad  accident  in  .Aus- 
tralia. 5.  Katherine,  born  September  4,  1836.  died  from  the  effects  of  a  fall 
in  1848  in  Scotland. 

John  Dickson  was  a  large  property  owner  in  Allegheny  county.  In 
politics  he  was  a  Republican  and  in  church  relations  was  identified  with  the 
Swissvale  Presbyterian  church.  He  died  June  4.  1880.  The  children  born 
to  John  Dickson  and  wife  were  as  follows:  i.  Margaret  Carson,  born  I'^eb- 
ruary  28,  1854.  2.  Eliza  Jane,  born  June  13.  1855.  3.  John  Xcgley,  born 
April  24,  1857.  4.  William  Wallace,  born  December  12,  1858.  5.  Rachel 
Blair,  born  August  23.  1861.  6.  Robert  Park,  Ixirn  September  19.  1863,  and 
of  whom  later.  7.  W'illiam  Brown,  born  November  6,  1865,  now  vice- 
president  of  the  United  States  Steel  Corj)oration.  8.  Annie  Crant.  born 
August  13,  1867.  9.  Catherine,  born  July  2T„  1869.  10.  Joseph  Henderson, 
born  January  25.  1871.     11.  David  S..  born  Jime  20.  1874. 

(III)  Robert  Park  Dickson,  sixth  child  of  John  Dickson  (ID  and  wife, 
was  born  September  19,  1863,  at  what  w\as  then  known  as  Ireland  Station, 
but  now  Wildwood,  on  the  Allegheny  X'ailey  Railroad,  in  .Allegheny  county, 
Pennsylvania.  He  attended  the  public  .schools  at  Swissvale  and  Duff's  Mer- 
cantile College.     When  thirteen  years  of  age  he  was  employed  by  Dr.  Dwyer 


14  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


of  Penn  avenue,  Pittsburg,  as  an  office  boy.  Later  he  was  engaged  with  the 
C,  D.  &  P.  Telephone  Company  as  an  operator,  but  in  1880  he  went  with  the 
Edgar  Thomson  Steel  Works  as  a  pupit  boy.  In  1881  he  engaged  with  the 
Homestead  Mills,  and  worked  continuously  there  as  stock  clerk  and  assistant 
superintendent  of  transportation  until  1903,  when  he  resigned  his  position 
there  to  engage  in  the  newspaper  business  in  Swissvale,  with  John  E.  Lee, 
under  the  firm  name  of  Lee  &  Dickson;  this  continued  from  September,  1903, 
to  October,  1904,  when  he  went  with  the  Duquesne  Steel  Works  of  the  Car- 
negie Steel  Company,  where  he  is  now  serving  in  the  capacity  of  stock 
clerk,  etc. 

He  was  united  in  marriage  October  27,  1886,  to  Miss  Jennie  Dunn  Long- 
more,  daughter  of  James  and  Isabella  (Nelson)  Longmore,  of  Allegheny 
City.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dickson  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  i. 
Robert  Evans  Reno,  born  October  2,  1887.     2.  Frank  Oilman,  born  November 

9,  1888.  3.  Thomas  Hopkins,  born  January  28,  1891.  4.  James  Neglie,  born 
April  I,  1893.  5.  Isabella  Ramsey,  born  May  3,  1895.  6.  Mary  McConnell, 
born  March  10,  1899.  7.  Henry  Fulton,  born  September  6,  1900.  8.  Charles 
Loomis,  born  June  i,  1903. 

Mr.  Dickson  was  elected  a  member  of  the  council  at  Swissvale,  being 
elected  for  the  three-year  term,  but  resigned  after  serving  one  year.  He  is 
a  Republican  in  politics,  but  aims  to  vote  for  the  best  man  regardless  of  party 
lines.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  First  United  Presbyterian  church 
of  Swissvale  and  are  highly  respected  citizens. 

(Ill)  Eliza  Jane  Dickson,  second  child  of  John  and  Mary  Ann  Dickson, 
married,  June  16,  1881,  Charles  May  Loomis.     Mr.  Loomis  was  born  October 

10,  1847,  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  attended  the  Old  South  School.  He 
is  now  employed  in  the  time  department  of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company's 
plant  at  Homestead.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church  at  Swissvale, 
belongs  to  the  Royal  Arcanum  and  in  politics  is  a  supporter  of  the  Republican 
party.  The  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Charles  M.  Loomis  are  as  follows: 
I.  Margerie  Dickson,  born  March  26,  1882.  2.  John  Neglie,  bom  February 
12,  1883.  died  April  27,  1886.  3.  Annie  Grant,  born  November  27,  1885.  4. 
Elizabeth,  born  February  8,  1889.  5.  Charles  Lindeman,  born  March  14, 
1893.    6.  Mary  Louise,  born  March  7,  1895. 

Mr.  Loomis'  father  was  Luke  Loomis,  born  January  8,  1794,  at  East 
Windsor,  Connecticut.  He  was  a  book  merchant  and  came  to  Pittsburg. 
He  was  first  married  December  10,  1818,  but  his  wife  died  May  29,  1830,  and 
February  1,1831,  he  married  Louise  Lee.  By  his  first  marriage  was  born: 
Sarah  Frances,  June  20,  1820,  died  March  4,  1822;  Henry  Hudson,  born 
August  6,  1824,  died  January  10,  1827.  By  the  second  marriage  were  born 
the  following  children:  i.  Elizabeth,  born  November  11,  1831.  2.  Robert 
Augustus,  born  January  13,  1834.  3.  Samuel  Thompson,  born  April  12, 
1836.  4.  Luke,  Jr.,  born  April  17,  1838,  married  Ella  Fowler,  August  26, 
1861.  5.  Sii-rteon  Rosseter,  born  January  28,  1841,  married  Mary  L.  Alter, 
February  15,  1866.  6.  Reuben  Neil,  born  December  18,  1843.  7-  Charles 
May,  born  October  10,  1846,  married  Eliza  Jane  Dickson,  June  16,  1881. 


WILLIAM  HENRY  FERGUSON,  department  foreman  at  the  Home- 
stead Mills  of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company,  was  born  February  19,  1867,  at 


piTTsiuiu:  .1X1)  ni:i<  rnoriJi 


Moiiroevillc.  Alletjhcny  county,  a  son  of  Jolin  IVrj^u^on.  wlio  \va>  Ix.rn  in 
Indiana  county,  Pennsylvania. 

John  Ferguson  attended  the  puhHc  sehiM»ls  of  his  district  and  learned  the 
blacksmith's  trade,  which  he  made  the  occupation  of  his  life.  He  serveil  as  a 
soldier  in  the  Civil  war.  He  married,  in  1865.  IClizaheth,  dauj^diter  of  James 
and  Mart;:aret  Jordan,  of  I'atton  township,  Allegheny  county,  the  former  a 
farmer  and  a  veteran  of  the  Mexican  war.  Mr.  and  Airs.  Fe'rj^nison  were  the 
parents  of  four  children:  William  Henry,  of  whom  later;  Thomas  lioyd ; 
Mamie,  deceased;  and  jean,  wife  of  l-:ili(')tt  lashdollar.  The  death  of  .\lr. 
]'\TiiUSon  occurred  in  1S73.  He  and  his  family  were  members  of  the 
Tresbyterian  church. 

William  Henry  I'ery;ust)n.  son  of  John  and  IClizabeth  (Jordan)  I'"ergus(jn, 
received  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  Patton  township  and  in 
Jackson's  school  in  Plumb  township.  In  I-'ebruary,  1X87,  he  entered  the  serv- 
ice of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company,  by  whom  he  has  been  employed  ever 
since,  his  present  {xxsition  being  that  of  foreman  of  a*  department  in  the 
Homestead  Mills.  For  four  years  he  was  school  director  of  Swissvale.  and 
he  is  now  serving  a  three-years'  term  as  borough  councilman.  He  belongs  to 
Braddock's  Field  Lodge.  Xo.  510,  Y.  and  A.  M..  and  in  politics  has  always 
affiliated  with  the  Republicans.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church 
of  Swissvale. 

Mr.  Ferguson  married,  August  11,  1893.  Susan,  daughter  of  Michael  and 
Xancy  (Soles)  Zimmerman,  of  Xew  Texas.  Allegheny  county,  the  former  a 
l)utcher  and  farmer.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ferguson  have  been  the  parents  of  four 
children:  Richard  Lee,  born  May  8,  1895;  Elizabeth,  born  August  6,  1896. 
died  Decemfcer  14,  1896;  Nancy,  born  September  22.  1897;  and  Michael 
Zimmerman,  born  December  21,  1899. 

Mr.  Ferguson  is  quite  a  six)rtsman,  and  during  one  of  his  hunting  e.\i)edi- 
tions.  September  26,  1907.  killed  an  exxeedingly  fine  moose,  of  more  than 
ordinary  size,  tlie  head  of  which  now  decorates  his  home.  The  moose  was 
killed  on  the  north  fork  of  the  .southwestern  part  of  the  Miramichi  river,  Xew 
l,>runswick. 

OTTO  HARSCH,  one  of  the  later  German  citizens  of  I'ittsburg.  and 
one  of  the  stalwart  workmen  in  the  great  Westinghouse  Electric  Manufac- 
turing Plant  at  East  Pittsburg,  was  born  October  5.  1872,  in  Wurtemberg, 
Germany,  a  son  of  Anthony  and  Teresa  (Stehle)  Iljirsch.  His  father  was  a 
plasterer  in  Germany  and  was  the  father  of  ten  children,  as  follows:  i. 
Ilernard.  2.  Waldberg.  3.  Joseph.  4.  Wilhelmena.  5.  Agnes.  (\.  Karl. 
7.  Alax.     8.  Otto,  of  wdiom  later.     9.  Caroline.      10.  Teresa. 

On  June  28,  1888,  Otto  Harsch  landed  in  America,  at  the  age  of  fifteen 
years,  and  located  at  Pittsburg,  where  he  worked  in  a  barber  shop  on  Grant 
street  for  two  and  a  half  years,  and  then  joined  his  brother.  Max,  who  then 
had  a  bakery  in  Sharpsburg.  He  remained  with  his  brother  two  years,  and 
was  employed  then  with  J.  R.  McKee,  who  operated  a  bakery  business  at 
Etna,  where  he  worked  one  year,  and  then  shifted  to  the  bakery  of  H.  R. 
Gilfus,  of  Pittsburg,  where  he  remained  three  years.  His  next  experience  in 
this  line  was  with  I'Vanklin  Wentzel  of  P)raddock,  where  he  remained  three 
years  more.  He  then  sought  out  other  emj)loyment  than  baking,  and  was 
employed  in  the  foundry  of  Mc\'ey  &  Walker  at   Piraddock,  remaining  there 


i6  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


one  year,  when  he  was  employed  by  the  Westinghouse  Electric  Manufacturing 
Company  at  East  Pittsburg,  where  he  has  continued  for  the  past  seven  years. 

Mr.  Harsch  married,  June  20,  1901,  Miss  Lena  Probst,  daughter  of 
William  and  Annie  (Langwetz)  Probst,  of  Braddock.  Her  parents  came  from 
Germany  in  1867  in  a  sailing  ship  and  settled  in  Braddock,  where  Mr.  Probst 
conducted  a  merchant  tailoring  shop.  He  died  March  31,  1893.  They  were 
the  parents  of  the  following  children:  i.  Dora.  2.  Louisa.  3.  Margaret. 
4.  Charles.  5.  Annie.  6,  Anna.  7.  William.  8.  Mamie.  The  last  fottr 
named  died  in  infancy. 

To  Mr.  Harsch  and  his  wife  has  been  born  one  child,  Lillian  Emma,  bom 
March  23,  1902.  The  parents  are  members  of  the  First  German  Protestant 
Presbyterian  church  of  Braddock.  He  belongs  to  the  Foresters  and  the  German 
Benevolent  Union,  District  No.  33,  of  Braddock. 


FREDERICK  GUSTAVUS  SCHEIBLER,  JR.,  an  architect  of  more 
than  common  ability,  residing  at  Swissvale,  was  born  May  12,  1872,  in  Oak- 
land, Pittsburg,  a  son  of  William  Augustus  Scheibler.  The  father,  a  retired 
merchant  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  and  married  Eleanor  Amelia 
Seidel,  daughter  of  Frederick  William  (Neil)  Seidel,  of  Pittsburg,  by  whom 
were  born  four  children:  i.  Eleanor  Amelia.  2.  Frederick  Gustavus,  Jr.,  of 
whom  later.  3.  Anna  Vera.  4.  William  Edward,  who  is  connected  with  the 
Diamond  National  Bank  of  Pittsburg.  The  family  are  members  of  the  Pres- 
byterian church,  and  in  politics  Mr.  Scheibler  is  a  supporter  of  the  Democratic 
party. 

Frederick  G.  Scheibler  attended  the  public  schools  of  Bellfield  and  the 
academic  department  of  the  high  schools.  He  then  took  architecture  for  a 
profession  and  has  succeeded  remarkably  well,  and  has  drawn  the  plans  and 
specifications  for  many  important  structures  in  western  Pennsylvania.  His 
office  is  in  Wilkinsburg,  in  the  Carl  building,  on  the  corner  of  Ross  and  Wood 
streets. 

He  was  united  in  marriage,  June  29,  1898,  to  Miss  Antonie  Oehmler, 
daughter  of  Rudolph  and  Eliza  (Foerster)  Oehmler,  of  Craig  street,  Pitts- 
burg. They  are  the  parents  of  two  children:  .1.  Harold  Edward,  born  April 
17,  1899.  2.  Mildred  Martha,  born  February  20,  1901.  In  politics  Mr. 
Scheibler  reserves  the  right  to  vote  an  independent  ticket.  He  belongs  to  the 
Swissvale  Presbyterian  church  and  is  connected  with  the  Knights  of  Malta, 
the  Architects'  Club,  the  Automobile  Club,  the  Architectural  League  of 
America,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Pittsburg  Board  of  Trade. 


EDGAR  MARCELLUS  BOYER,  of  Swissvale,  chemist  in  the  laboratory 
department  of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company  at  Braddock,  was  born  October 
27,  1869,  in  Johnstown,  Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Emmanuel  Boyer  and  grandson 
of  Henry  Boyer,  wh^  was  born  in  1796,  in  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  and 
operated  a  saw  mill  in  connection  with  farming.  He  married  Margaret  Hellen, 
also  of  Cambria  county,  and  their  children  were:  John,  Henry,  George,  Eva, 
Hettie,  Martin,  Barney,  Joseph,  Mary,  Reuben,  Emmanuel,  of  whom  later ; 
and  two  others  who  died  in  infancy  unnamed.  Martin  and  Barney  served 
during  the  Civil  war.     Henry  Boyer,  the  father,  died  February  25,  1878. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


Emmanuel  Boyer,  son  of  Henry  and  Margaret  (Ilcllen)  Beyer,  was  born 
near  Johnstown,  and  attemled  the  neighboring  country  schools.  For  several 
years  he  was  employed  at  the  rolls  by  the  Cambria  Steel  Company,  and  in 
1880  came  to  Braddock,  where  he  accepted  a  similar  iK)sition  at  the  Edgar 
Thomson  Steel  Works.  He  is  now  in  the  service  of  the  Union  Switch  & 
Signal  Company  at  Swissvale.  He  belongs  to  the  Junior  Order  of  I'nited 
American  Mechanics  and  the  Royal  Arcanum,  and  in  jxditics  affiliates  with  the 
Republicans.  ?le  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Disciple  church  of  Johns- 
town. 

Emmanuel  Boyer  married,  in  May.  1868,  Sarah  Jane,  daughter  of  John 
Roberts,  whose  grandfather  Roberts  served  in  the  war  of  the  Revolution.  John 
Roberts  lived  near  Johnstown  and  served  one  term  as  sheriff  of  Cambria 
county.  In  politics  he  was  a  Republican.  He  and  his  wife  were  members  of 
the  I'nited  Brethren  church. 

John  Roberts  married  Susan  Singer,  and  the  following  were  their  chil- 
dren :  Robert,  who  served  in  the  Civil  war,  married  Jennie  Riddle ;  Lucinda. 
who  died  in  infancy;  Jacob,  who  died  in  March,  1900,  married  Sarah  Drum- 
field;  Oliver;  Sarah  Jane,  wife  of  Emmanuel  B.oyer ;  Emma,  wife  of  John 
Helbig,  of  Johnstown;  Elizabeth,  who  died  January  23,  1889;  Augusta,  wife 
of  Isaac  Foust,  of  Johnstown;  Lee;  and  Jessie,  wife  of  the  Rev.  John  Gourley. 
Mrs,  Roberts,  the  mother  of  the  family,  died  in  1873,  and  the  death  of  Mr. 
Roberts  occurred  January  23,  1906. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Boyer  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  Edgar 
Marcellus,  of  whom  later;  Minerva,  born  November  20,  1871  ;  Percy,  Imrn 
July  3,  187;^;  Cameron,  born  February  25,  1878;  George,  born  May  18.  1879; 
James,  born  October  19,  1881  ;  Jessie,  born  October  23,  1883;  and  P'rancis, 
born  March  26,  1885. 

Edgar  Marcellus  I'oyer,  son  of  Emmanuel  and  Sarah  Jane  (Roberts) 
Boyer,  received  his  primary  education  in  the  Fourth  ward  school  of  liis  native 
city,  and  in  the  autumn  of  1880.  being  then  eleven  years  old,  was  brought  by 
his  parents  to  Swissvale.  He  attended  the  public  schools  of  that  borough, 
and  afterward  completed  his  education  by  taking  a  course  in  the  Scranton 
Correspondence  School.  He  is  now,  as  has  been  stated,  employed  in  the 
laboratory  department  of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company  at  Braddock.  having 
made  chemistry  his  profession. 

He  belongs  to  the  Junior  Order  of  United  American  Mechanics  and  the 
I.  O.  G.  T.  of  Braddock.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  Republican 
party.     He  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  Swissvale. 


THOMAS  DAXTSOX  TURXER.  deceased,  for  a  (|uarter  of  a  century 
the  leading  funeral  director  of  Wilkinsburg,  was  born  in  that  lK)rough  June  21, 
185 1,  on  the  corner  of  Penn  avenue  and  Center  street,  and  lived  in  that  house 
until  his  death,  which  occurred  January  25,  1905.  His  grandfather.  .Adam 
Turner,  who  died  in  181 5.  was  one  of  the  pioneers  in  the  vicinity  of  Wilkins- 
burg. He  married  May  Quigley,  and  they  had  three  children  :  Hugh  :  Rebecca, 
wife  of  Thomas  Davison,  of  East  End;  and  another  son,  William,  unmarried. 

Hugh  Turner,  born  in  1809,  eldest  of  the  family  of  .Adam  Turner,  was  a 
resident  all  his  life  of  Wilkinsburg.  He  married  Catherine  Dufif,  and  they  had 
the  following  children  :    i.  Rev.  James,  who  married  Rebecca  Murdock,  and  the 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


issue  b}'  that  union  was :  Genevieve,  a  practicing  physician ;  Minnie,  Howard, 
Laura,  George  and  Harry.  2.  Mary,  unmarried.  3.  WilHam,  married  Mary 
Swank,  of  Johnstown,  Pennsylvania,  by  whom  the  issue  was :  George  Quigley, 
Genevieve,  WilHam,  Howard  and  Catherine.  4.  Isabel,  unmarried.  5.  Hugh, 
a  soldier  in  the  Civil  war,  who  died  shortly  after  that  conflict.  6.  John,  who 
married  Martha  Duff,  and  had  children:  Charles,  Kate,  Liberty  (deceased), 
Hugh,  Martha  (deceased),  Alice  and  Alma  (deceased).  7.  George,  died  in 
infancy.  8.  Thomas  D.  (subject),  who  married  Eliza  Beatty,  daughter  of 
Richard  and  Eliza  (Wilson)  Beatty.  Their  children  are  as  follows:  Mary  E., 
Laura  B.  and  Thomas  D.,  Jr.     Mary  and  Isabel  still  live  in  the  old  homestead. 

Thomas  Davison  Turner,  born,  reared  and  died  on  the  same  lot  in  the 
borough  of  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
his  native  place  and  early  in  life  engaged  in  the  grocery  business,  continuing 
until  1880,  wdien  he  embarked  in  the  undertaking  business.  He  was  one  of 
the  best  known  funeral  directors  in  Western  Pennsylvania,  his  place  of  busi- 
ness being  at  Nos.  720  and  722  Penn  avenue,  Wilkinsburg.  His  whole  life  was 
identified  with  Wilkinsburg,  where,  in  1877,  he  erected  for  himself  and  family 
the  fine  mansion  at  1015  Center  avenue  in  which  his  widow  now  resides.  From 
its  organization  he  was  connected  with  the  First  United  Presbyterian  church, 
of  which  Dr.  M.  M.  Patterson  was  pastor.  From  the  beginning  he  was  a  mem- 
ber of  the  session.  He  was  the  first  and  with  the  single  exception  of  one  year 
was  the  only  superintendent  of  the  Sabbath-school  of  that  church.  Although 
that  congregation  has  been  exceptionally  favored  in  the  interest  taken  in  its 
work  by  men  of  affairs  in  its  early  history,  Mr.  Turner  was  helpful  and  con- 
stant in  his  devotion  and  was  accorded  preeminence.  He  was  in  the  early 
eighties  a  justice  of  the  peace,  which  was  the  only  public  office  he  ever  held. 
In  his  political  views,  though  reared  under  Democratic  influences,  he  became 
an  ardent  Prohibitionist.  He  was  the  first  vice-president  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Wilkinsburg,  and  served  as  vice-president  and  director  up  to  the  time 
of  his  death.  At  the  time  of  his  death  the  board  of  directors  of  the  bank  and 
the  Wilkinsburg  Real  Estate  and  Trust  Company  adopted  the  following  reso- 
lutions : 

"In  His  wisdom  God  has  removed  from  the  directorate  of  the  First  Na- 
tional Bank  of  Wilkinsburg  and  of  the  Wilkinsburg  Real  Estate  and  Trust 
Company  our  beloved  vice-president,  Thomas  Davison  Turner. 

"Death  for  the  first  time  has  entered  our  boards  and  broken  the  social 
and  business  ties  formed  and  cemented  by  years  of  intercourse  around  the  di- 
rectors' table. 

"As  a  trusted  friend,  a  wise  counsellor  and  honored  citizen  and  Christian 
gentleman  our  departed  fellow  director  brought  strength  and  stability  to  our 
institutions,  helping  to  form  and  rear  them  on  the  confidence  and  good  will  of 
our  community. 

"His  chair  at  our  council  board  will  be  vacant,  but  his  mature  wisdom  and 
character  have  been  built  into  the  structure,  in  the  erection  of  which  he  has 
taken  such  an  honorable  part.  As  a  board  we  desire  to  enter  this  minute  testi- 
fying of  our  appreciation  of  his  unswerving  integrity,  his  fidelity  to  the  best 
interests  of  our  institutions  and  the  profound  personal  esteem  in  which  he  was 
held  by  each  one  of  us." 

The  high  esteem  in  which  he  was  held  in  the  borough  was  shown  by  the 
closing  of  places  of  business  during  the  hours  of  his  funeral.     He  was  an  un- 


PITTSBURG    .1X1)    Ill-.R    riiorLE  19 


assuniinix.  rctiriiii^  s:ontk-nian.  but  of  exceptionally  allractive  and  confidencc- 
imposing  face  and  manner.  He  was  a  man  holding  strong  convictions  and 
consistent  behavior  as  a  true  Christian.  P>y  his  goodness  and  integrity  he  had 
won  a  place  in  the  esteem  of  the  entire  community  that  is  given  to  few  men  to 
enjoy.  His  sterling  uprightness  and  warm-heartedness  endeared  him  to  an  un- 
usually wide  circle  of  friends  who  deeply  mourned  his  demise. 


THE  DEXISTOX  E.\^HEV.  The  fir.st  of  this  family  to  settle  in  the 
vicinity  of  Pittsburg  was  Samuel  Deniston,  who  was  born  in  1798,  at  Green- 
castle.  Franklin  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  died  September  13.  1856.  He  came 
to  Pittsburg  when  yet  a  young  man  and  married  Letetia  Sturgeon,  daughter 
of  Jeremiah  and (Kuhn)  Sturgeon,  of  Pittsburg,  who  owned  consider- 
able property  on  Wood  street,  between  Fifth  and  Diamond  streets.  They  were 
the  parents  of  eleven  children,  as  follows:  i.  Jereiuiah.  born  March  17,  1817, 
died  ]\Iay  10,  1838.  2.  Mary  Ann,  who  was  tirst  the  wife  of  Hugh  P>oyd  and 
after  his  death  she  married  Joseph  Hunter,  who  was  a  minister  in  the  Cov- 
enanters' church,  and  he  died  in  1887.  They  were  the  parents  of  two  children. 
Letetia  and  Elizabeth,  the  latter  is  the  wife  of  Alexander  S.  Hunter.  3.  Agnes, 
who  died  in  1852,  the  wife  of  Jacob  Goehring.  and  they  were  the  parents  of 
three  daughters  and  one  son.  4.  Susan,  was  the  wife  of  Samuel  Shaimon,  and 
both  have  been  deceased  many  years.  Their  issue  was  three  children.  John, 
Mary  and  Samuel,  Jr.  5.  Robert  Berlin,  of  wdiom  later  mention  will  be  made. 
6.  Elizabetn,  who  was  the  wife  of  Andy  Goehring ;  their  children  were :  Lete- 
tia, Laura.  Ella,  and  Andrew  J.  7.  James  R..  born  March  17.  1834.  on  Squirrel 
Hill,  attended  the  Rankin  and  Wilkinsburg  schools,  and  now  resides  on  a  part 
of  the  old  homestead  with  his  brother  Ilenry.  8.  Amanda,  was  the  wife  of 
Henry  Washington  Harbaugh,  and  their  child  was  Deniston.  who  lives  in 
Salt  Lake  City.' Utah.  9.  Ellen,  was  the  wife  of  Captain  Peter  Donaldson,  an 
old  steamboat  captain.  10.  Henry,  born  April  10,  1839.  11.  Letetia,  born  in 
1842. 

Samuel  Deniston,  the  father  of  this  family,  was  the  owner  of  two  hundred 
and  thirty  acres  of  land  where  X'orth  Homestead  and  Swissvale  now  stand. 
He  conducted  a  hotel  at  Petersburg,  now  Addison.  Somerset  county.  Penn- 
sylvania, in  an  early  day,  and  had  teams  hauling  goods  from  Pittsburg  and 
\\'heeling.  West  Virginia,  to  Baltimore.  Maryland.  His  eldest  son,  Jeremiah 
Deniston,  was  an  elder  in  the  P'irst  Presbyterian  church  on  Wood  street, 
.Pittsburg. 

Robert  Berlin  Deniston,  fifth  child  of  Samuel  and  Letetia  (Sturgeon) 
Deniston,  was  born  in  1827  on  the  old  farm  where  Swissvale  now  stands,  and 
died  August  i,  1893,  aged  sixty-six  years.  He  followed  truck-gardening  for 
his  occupation.  He  married,  March  16,  1868,  Miss  Laura  Levina  Funk,  daugh- 
ter of  Jacob  and  Mary  (Myers)  Funk,  of  Franklin.  Pennsylvania.  She  was 
born  at  Franklin,  Pennsylvania,  October  21,  1851,  and  was  educated  in  the 
public  schools  of  Franklin.  Her  parents  were  born  and  reared  in  ILarrisburg, 
Pennsylvania,  and  were  the  parents  of  the  following  thirteen  children :  Eliza- 
beth. Martha,  August,  Moses.  James,  Lydia,  William,  Laura  Levina,  of  whom 
later;  Sarah  and  four  who  died  in  infancy,  unnamed. 

I\Ir.  Robert  Berlin  Deniston  and  wife,  Laura  Levina  (Funk)  Deniston, 
were  the  parents  of  the  following  children:     i.  Levina,  deceased.     2.  Robert, 


20  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


deceased.  3.  Harry,  deceased.  4.  Mary,  who  married  James  Flemming.  5. 
Jeremiah.  6.  James,  who  died  aged  twenty-five  years.  7.  Letitia.  8.  India, 
who  died  aged  eight  years.  9.  Samuel.  10.  John.  11.  AHce.  12.  Laura  L. 
One  of  the  youngest  died  in  infancy  unnamed.  Of  this  family  of  sons  and 
daughters,  Letitia  became  the  wife  of  James  McNulty,  of  Swissvale,  who  died 
May  10,  1906,  leaving  one  child,  Laura  May,  born  December  12,  1903.  August 
and  Moses  Deniston  were  veterans  in  the  Civil  war. 


ROBERT  McKIM,  JR.,  a  son  of  Alexander  and  Jane  (McKinney) 
McKim,  was  born  October  13,  1872,  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  attended 
the  public  schools  at  Duquesne  Heights,  and  also  the  schools  of  Swissvale, 
after  which  he  went  to  work  with  his  father  in  the  Twin  City  Forge,  later 
going  to  Rankin.  At  present  (1907)  he  is  employed  as  hammerman  with  the 
Union  Switch  &  Signal  Company  of  Swissvale.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Knights 
of  Malta  of  Braddock;  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  of  Pittsburg, 
and  is  a  member  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church  of  Braddock.  Politically 
Mr.  McKim  is  a  Republican. 

He  was  united  in  marriage,  September  26,  1891,  to  Miss  Hattie  Virginia 
Welsh,  daughter  of  Alexander  Welsh  (a  cooper  by  trade),  and  wife,  Patience 
Virginia  (Hammond)  Welsh,  of  Wheeling,  West  Virginia.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Robert  McKim  are  the  parents  of  the  foUowing  children:  i.  Jennie,  born 
August  5,  1902.  2.  Patience  Virginia,  born  May  9,  1904,  died  July  6,  1904. 
3.  James  Alexander,  born  February  7,  1906. 

Alexander  McKim,  the  father  of  Robert  McKim,  was  born  in  1843,  in 
Donegal,  Ireland,  of  Scotch  extraction,  and  came  to  America  in  1859,  locating 
in  Pittsburg,  where  he  worked  for  the  Miller  Forge  as  a  hammerman.  Aside 
from  two  years  he  resided  in  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  he  has  lived  continually  in 
Pittsburg.  He  was  married  first  to  Jane  McKinney,  of  New  York  City.  She 
was  born  in  Donegal,  Ireland,  and  was  the  daughter  of  Mathew  McKinney. 
Alexander  McKim  and  Jane,  his  wife,  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: I.  Robert,  Jr.,  born  October  13,  1872,  the  subject  above  mentioned.  2. 
Mathew.    3.  Samuel  John.    4.  James  Henry.     5.  Mary  Jane.    6.  Elizabeth. 

Mathew  McKim  is  a  machinist  and  married  Sarah  Paisley,  daughter  of 
Joseph  and  Lillian  (McQuatters)  Paisley.  Joseph  Paisley  died  March  31, 
1884.  Lillian  Paisley  was  born  in  Ayrshire,  town  of  Kilwining,  Scotland;  her 
father's  name  was  Thomas  M.  McQuatters,  and  her  mother's  maiden  name  v/as 
Anna  Greenshield.  Mathew  and  Sarah  (Paisley)  McKim  are  the  parents  of 
two  children,  Alexander  Paisley  and  Mathew. 

Samuel  John  McKim,  third  son  of  Alexander  McKim,  is  a  member  of  the 
Pittsburg  bar.  His  brother,  James  Henry,  is  the  manager  of  a  large  store  at 
Union  Hill,  New  Jersey. 

The  mother,  Mrs.  Jane  McKim,  died  July  30,  1886,  and  Alexander 
McKim,  her  husband,  married  April  16,  1889,  Mrs.  Lillian  (McQuatters) 
Paislev,  widow  of  Joseph  Paisley.  By  her  former  marriage  the  issue  was:  i. 
Margaret,  wife  of  Charles  E.  Hill,  of  Swissvale,  and  their  child  is  named  Lil- 
lias.  2.  Sarah,  wife  of  Mathew  McKim,  and  their  children  are:  Alexander 
Paisley  and  Mathew  McKinney.  3.  Elizabeth  McQuatters.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
McKim  are  members  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church  of  Braddock,  and  in 
politics  he  is  a  staunch  Republican. 


PITTSHL'RG    AND    IIHR    I'liOPLE 


FRANCIS  iMACVEY  CRAIG,  better  known  as  Frank  Craig,  of  the 
firm  of  J.  H.  Van  Meter  &  Company,  ji^eneral  contractors  at  Swissvale.  Penn- 
sylvania, was  born  June  21.  1876.  in  Preston  county.  West  N'irj^Muia.  a  son  of 
Charles  Christian  and  l-Ilizabeth  I-'.  (Castle)  Crai^^ 

Charles  Christian  Crait^  was  a  farmer  and  auctioneer,  witii  a  considerable 
knowledge  of  the  law.  He  resides  in  Preston  county,  West  X'irginia.  He 
married  and  reared  a  family  of  thirteen  children.  Politically  he  was  a  Repub- 
lican, and  in  religious  faith  a  Methodist  Episcopal.  He  married  Miss  Elizabeth 
E.  Castle,  and  their  children  were  as  follows :  i.  John  William.  2.  James  L. 
3.  Mary  Alice.  4.  Charles  .Arnold.  5.  Thomas  D.  6.  Sarah  Florence.  7. 
Amanda  Ellen.  8.  Richard  Edward.  9.  Francis  Mac\'ey,  of  whom  further 
mention.     10.  Arzansa  Maud.     11.   Hertha  May.     12.  Lulu.     13.  Xora  Jarnsia. 

yivs.  Craig,  the  mother  of  this  family,  was  the  daughter  of  John  Castle 
and  wife,  and  the  date  of  her  birth  was  September  15,  1843.  She  was  a  native 
of  Alaryland.  Before  the  Civil  war  her  father  was  a  large  slave  owner. 
Charles  Christian  Craig,  the  subject's  father,  was  a  wagon-master  in  the  I'nion 
army  in  the  Civil  war. 

Francis  MacX'ey  Craig  attended  the  jniblic  schools  of  Preston  county. 
West  Virginia,  and  followed  farm  life  and  teaming  until  he  came  to  Pittsburg 
in  1906,  when  he.  with  his  brother-in-law,  John  H.  \'an  Meter,  formed  a 
partnership  which  is  known  as  J.  H.  \'an  Meter  &  Company.  Mr.  Craig  was 
united  in  marriage  June  27,  1906,  to  Elizabeth,  daughter  of  Peter  and  Cath- 
erine (Breslaham)  McElwee.  of  Swissvale,  Pennsylvania.  Mr.  Craig  affiliates 
with  the  I^idependent  political  party  and  in  church  relations  he  and  his  wife 
are  member.^  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church  at  Swissvale. 


RALPH  WARREX  HAMBLIX.  of  Swissvale,  foreman  of  a  department 
of  the  Westinghouse  Electric  &  Manufacturing  Company,  was  Ixirn  July  6, 
1876.  in  Greenville.  Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Samuel  Hamblin,  who  was  lx)rn  in 
fiercer  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  is  a  machinist,  residing  in  Cireenville.  He 
belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  both  of  Greenville,  and  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  the  same 
borough. 

Samuel  Hamblin  married  Elizabeth  Kile,  daughter  of  John  Kile,  a  farmer 
and  stock-raiser  of  Mercer  county,  and  their  children  were :  Mary  Catharine, 
James  Garfield,  who  is  a  merchant  of  Turtle  Creek;  Maud,  wife  of  Dr.  D.  S. 
Cossitt.  of  Conneaut,  Ohio ;  and  Ralph  Warren,  of  whom  later. 

Ralph  Warren  Hamblin,  son  of  Samuel  and  Elizabeth  (Kile)  Hamblin, 
received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  LTnionville,  and  after  leaving 
school  learned  the  machinist's  trade  at  Greenville.  In  the  autumn  of  1897 
he  came  to  Pittsburg  and  secured  employment  with  the  Westinghouse  Electric 
&  ^Manufacturing  Company,  with  whom  he  now  holds  the  position  of  head  of 
a  department. 

His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  principles  indorsed  by  the  Repub- 
lican party.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Christian  Science  church  of 
Pittsburg.' 

Mr.  Hamblin  married,  August  24.  1899,  Madeline,  daughter  of  J.  H.  and 
Julia  Elizabeth  (Kutrufif)   Banser,  of  Greenville,  and  they  are  the  parents  of 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


three  children :     WiUiam  Kenneth,  born  July   5,   1902 ;   Henry   Banser,  born 
January  20,  1905,  and  Ralph  Paul,  born  August  14,  1907. 


JOHN  C.  REILLY.  The  late  John  C.  Reilly,  president  of  the  Washing- 
ton National  Bank  of  Pittsburg,  and  of  the  Freehold  Real  Estate  Company  of 
Fourth  avenue,  was  born  in  1845,  i"  Pittsburg,  a  son  of  Owen  Reilly,  then 
engaged  in  the  grocery  business  in  that  city. 

John  C.  Reilly  received  his  education  in  the  Roman  Catholic  parochial 
schools  of  his  native  city,  which  he  attended  until  his  fifteenth  year,  and  then 
secured  employment  as  a  messenger  boy  in  the  auction  store  of  J.  McCartney. 
He  subsequently  entered  the  service  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company, 
remaining  eight  years,  during  which  time  he  worked  in  the  different  depart- 
ments, thus  gaining  the  knowledge  which  proved  of  great  advantage  to  him  in 
after  years.  His  next  venture  was  as  partner  in  the  livery  and  undertaking 
firm  of  O'Neill  &  Reilly,  which  some  years  later  became  Burns,  O'Neill  & 
Reilly.  Four  years  later  Mr.  O'Neill  retired,  the  firm  then  becoming  Burns  & 
Reilly,  with  headquarters  in  Grant  street.  While  in  the  livery  and  undertaking 
business  Mr.  Reilly  became  interested  in  the  traction  business,  and  with  the 
foresight  which  was  always  characteristic  of  him,  saw  the  great  future  prom- 
ised for  Pittsburg  and  the  large  population  which  that  city  was  to  have  in  a 
few  years,  knowing  that  it  must  spread  over  the  unoccupied  lands  toward  the 
eastern  section  and  over  the  western  portion  bordering  on  the  Ohio  river. 
The  firm  first  started  a  line  of  omnibuses,  which  ran  from  Second  avenue  to 
Glenwood,  near  the  present  site  of  the  Pittsburg  Gas  Works,  to  accommodate 
the  people  who  had  begun  to  populate  that  section  of  the  city.  Later  the  line 
was  extended  to  Hazelwood,  and  the  firm  also  established  a  line  of  omnibuses 
to  run  from  Pittsburg  to  the  West  End.  As  these  districts  became  more  settled 
the  omnibuses  were  converted  into  horse  car  lines,  which  were  the  beginning 
of  the  Second  avenue  traction  line  and  the  old  Southern  Railways  Company, 
better  known  as  the  West  End  line.  In  this  enterprise  James  D.  Gallery  and 
the  late  Thomas  M.  Bigelow  joined  with  Mr.  Reilly,  in  association  with  whom 
they  built  the  new  horse  car  lines  and  for  many  years  controlled  them.  When 
electric  traction  lines  were  introduced  the  Second  avenue  and  West  End  lines 
were  converted  into  electric  lines,  and  later  when  traction  companies  in  that 
city  consolidated  the  Second  avenue  and  West  End  lines  were  taken  into  the 
United  Traction  Company,  thus  assuring  the  fortunes  of  Mr.  Reilly  and  his 
partners.  The  West  End  line  proved  to  be  one  of  the  greatest  investments  in 
this  city  for  the  men  who  had  built  it  up  from  an  omnibus  line  to  the  modern 
traction  road  which  opened  a  wide  stretch  of  territory  and  gave  the  people  a 
quick  mode  of  travel  to  the  West  End  and  the  country  districts  beyond.  Mr. 
Reilly  was  made  a  director  of  the  Pittsburg  Railways  Company,  retaining  the 
position  to  the  time  of  his  death. 

When  the  Washington  National  Bank  was  organized,  in  1903,  Mr.  Reilly, 
who  was  one  of  the  founders  and  one  of  the  original  stockholders,  as  well  as 
one  of  the  first  directors,  was  elected  president,  and  held  that  position  until  the 
close  of  his  life.  He  was  also  president  of  the  City  Insurance  Company,  and  a 
director  in  the  Colonial  Trust  Company,  being  likewise  connected  with  several 
other  financial  concerns  a»d  industrial  enterprises  in  his  native  city,  in  which 
his  whole  life  was  passed. 


PJTTSBLRa    AM)    llliK    I'JiOriJi 


For  one  term  Mr.  Reilly  served  as  alderman  of  the  Fifth  ward.  He 
belonged  to  the  Duquesne  and  Union  Clubs  of  Pittsburg.  Bishop  J.  S.  Regis 
Canevin,  recognizing  his  zeal  for  the  welfare  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church,  as 
a  member  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral,  placed  him  on  the  building  committee  of  the 
new  edifice,  and  his  business  acumen  was  of  great  assistance  in  the  erection  ai 
the  present  structure. 

Mr.  Reilly  married  in  I'Y-bruary.  1872,  Ursula,  daughter  of  David  O'Con- 
nor,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  the  following  children,  all  of  whom  survive 
their  father:  luigene  S.,  Phillip  J 5.,  Cilbert.  Joanna  M..  wife  of  John  J.  Hart. 
of  New  York;  Bertha,  and  Ursula.  All  the  sons,  as  well  as  the  daughters, 
Bertha  and  Ursula,  reside  in  Pittsburg. 

In  November,  1906,  Air.  Reilly  was  seized  with  cardiac  trouble,  and  was 
unable  to  attend  to  his  business  afifairs.  though  not  confined  to  his  home.  (Jn 
February  i,  1906,  he  went  to  Camlen,  South  Carolina,  to  recuperate,  and  for 
a  time  seemed  benefited  by  the  change.  Soon,  however,  he  became  worse,  his 
death  occurring  March  20,  1907.  His  remains  were  taken  to  Pittsburg,  where 
funeral  services  were  held  at  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  Mr.  Reilly  is  survived  not 
only  by  his  children,  but  by  his  wife.  Airs.  Ursula  Reilly,  and  also  bv  a  brttther, 
P.  B.  Reilly,  alderman  of  the  Fifth  ward,  as  well  as  by  two  sisters.  Misses 
Elizabeth  and  Theresa  Reilly,  of  Pittsburg.  He  was  a  brother-in-law  of  Mrs. 
Eugene  Reilly,  also  of  that  city.  Air.  Reilly 's  death  caused  deep  and  wide- 
spread sorrow  throughout  the  city,  being  mourned  as  that  of  a  good  man,  a 
public-spirited  citizen,  and  a  benefactor  to  the  communitv. 


EDWIX  KEITH  CALLAHAN,  a  prominent  and  successful  business  man 
of  Pittsburg,  who  enjoys  the  acquaintance  of  a  large  circle  of  people,  by  whom 
he  is  highly  esteemed  for  his  many  excellent  characteristics,  is  a  native  of 
Salem.  Ohio,  born  Alay  19,  1864.  He  is  a  son  of  John  Callahan,  who  was 
a  prominent  shoe  merchant  of  Salem,  Ohio,  a  man  of  considerable  jjrominence, 
and  an  active  member  of  the  Alethodist  Episcopal  church.  His  death  occurred 
at  the  age  of  sixty-six  years. 

Edwin  K.  Callahan  obtained  his  early  education  in  the  ])ul)lic  schools  of 
his  native  town,  and  this  was  supplemented  by  attendance  at  the  Iron  City 
Business  College.  He  began  his  business  career  in  the  express  business  at 
Salem,  which  he  followed  with  considerable  success  for  a  number  of  years. 
Later  he  embarked  in  the  shoe  business,  conducting  a  shoe  store  in  Salem, 
which  proved  a  highly  remunerative  enterprise.  He  subsequently  disposed  of 
this  business  and  turned  his  attention  to  clerical  work,  serving  in  the  capacitv 
of  bookkeeper  for  a  number  of  years  in  his  native  city.  In  K)oo  he  removed 
to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  secured  empk)yment  as  bookkeeper  in 
the  office  of  the  AIcKinney  Alanufacturing  Company,  and  later  he  filled  a 
similar  position  with  another  corporation.  Deciding  to  once  more  engage  in 
business  on  his  own  account  Air.  Callahan  on  Alay  i,  1907,  opened  a  wholesale 
liquor  store  on  Penn  avenue,  Pittsburg,  which  he  is  profitably  conducting  at 
the  present  time.  He  casts  his  vote  for  the  candidates  of  the  Republican  partv, 
the  principles  of  which  he  believes  to  be  for  the  best  form  of  government.  He 
is  a  member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  Lodge  No.  11, 
of  Pittsburg,  and  of  the  Heptasophs. 

Air.  Callahan  married  Adelaide  Tescher,  of  Salem,  Ohio,  daughter  of  John 


24  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


Tescher,  and  three  children  were  born  to  them.  Mrs.  Callahan  died  in  January 
1900,  aged  thirty-two  years. 


WILLIAM  JACKSON  GRIFFITH,  founder  and  sole  owner  of  the  firm 
of  W.  J.  Griffith,  dealer  in  wholesale  and  retail  household  specialties,  Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania,  with  branch  stores  in  all  the  principal  cities  in  Ohio,  West  Vir- 
ginia and  Pennsylvania,  also  president  of  the  Land  Trust  Company,  Pittsburg, 
was  born  in  Missouri  township,  Howard  county,  Missouri,  February  2,  1869, 
a  son  of  Fleming  E.  and  Mary  A.  (Via)  Griffith,  and  grandson  of  Samuel 
Griffith,  a  native  of  Virginia,  a  farmer  by  occupation,  a  Democrat  in  politics, 
and  a  Baptist  in  religion. 

Fleming  E.  Griffith  (father)  was  born  in  Patrick  county,  Virginia,  on  a 
farm.  He  followed  the  occupation  of  farming  until  the  Civil  war  broke  out, 
when  he  enlisted  under  Stonewall  Jackson  in  1861,  and  was  a  captain  under 
him  when  Jackson  was  killed.  He  was  wounded  twice  during  the  war,  but 
reentered  the  service  when  recovered,  and  was  in  Lee's  army  at  its  surrender 
at  Gettysburg.  He  then  returned  to  Virginia,  was  married  at  Stuart,  Virginia, 
in  1867,  to  Mary  A.  Via,  a  native  of  Stuart  county,  Virginia,  after  which  he 
went  to  Missouri,  cleared  land  and  built  a  log  cabin,  where  all  the  children 
were  born.  He  followed  tobacco  and  stock-raising  until  his  death  in  1879. 
He  was  a  Christian  and  a  Democrat.  His  children  were :  William  Jackson, 
born  February  2,  1869,  see  forward.  Charles  L.,  born  October  21,  1871. 
Arthur  T.,  born  March  14,  1874. 

William  J.  Griffith  attended  the  county  schools  until  ten  years  of  age,  and 
then  the  Salisbury  public  school  until  thirteen  years  of  age,  and  afterwards  was 
a  graduate  of  the  Salisbury  (Missouri)  Academy.  At  the  age  of  ten  years 
he  entered  a  drug  store,  where  he  was  employed  until  eighteen  years  of  age, 
and  from  that  to  twenty-one  years  of  age  was  a  collector  for  an  installment 
house  at  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  He  went  to  Rochester,  New  York,  in  1892,  and 
was  manager  for  the  American  Wringer  Company,  serving  until  1895.  He 
then  came  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  as  manager  for  the  same  company,  and 
in  1898  bought  out  their  business  and  now  has  eleven  stores,  as  follows: 
Wheeling,  West  Virginia;  McKeesport,  Washington,  Altoona,  Johnstown, 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania ;  Cleveland,  Lorain,  Akron,  Canton,  Elyria,  Ohio.  His 
general  offices  are  at  418  Third  avenue,  Pittsburg.  All  the  stores  are  under 
his  own  personal  control  and  ownership.  He  is  an  energetic,  alert,  business 
man,  and  aside  from  his  large  private  business  is  actively  connected  with  many 
financial  and  business  institutions.  He  is  president  of  the  Land  Trust  Company 
of  Pittsburg,  office,  315  Fourth  avenue;  vice-president  of  the  Mutual  Trading 
Company  of  New  York;  and  a  stockholder  in  several  Pittsburg  banks  and 
industries.  Mr.  Griffith  is  a  member  of  the  Duquesne  Club;  the  Masonic 
Country  Club;  McKinley  Lodge  No.  318,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Alle- 
gheny Chapter  No.  217,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Mt.  Moriah  Council  No.  2,  Royal 
and  Select  Masters;  Pittsburg  Commandery  No.  i,  Knight  Templars;  Syria 
Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine ;  and  a  thirty- 
second  degree  Mason  of  Pennsylvania  Consistory,  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish 
Rite.  He  is  either  an  officer  or  past  officer  in  all  bodies  of  the  Masonic 
order.  Mr.  Griffith  is  a  Democrat  in  politics,  but  has  held  no  office,  pre- 
ferring to  devote  his  time  to  business. 


PITTSBL-RC    AXD    lll-R    riiOl'LLi  25 


Mr.  Griffith  married,  in  l'\'l)ruar\ ,  iSSS.  at  I  luntsvilk'.  .Mi»(iuri.  Ollie 
B.  lUirton,  born  October  14,  i8()8.  (laui;htcr  <>f  James  M.  and  Annie  li. 
Burton,  the  former  of  whom  was  a  farmer  and  stock  raiser,  was  in  the  Rebel 
army  during  Civil  war,  and  served  as  sheriff  and  assessor  of  Randolph  county, 
Missouri.  The  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Burton  were:  ( )llie  B.,  Fanny, 
Thomas  J.,  Quantrel  A.,  John  .\..  Annie  E..  IClla  W.  and  Mary  E.  The 
children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  (iriffith  were:  iCdith  May.  born  December  14, 
1889.  a  student  at  Washington  Seminary;  William  J.,  jr..  born  .September 
23.  i8q7:  Mildred  E..  born  ( )ctol)er  25.  i8()().  .Mr.  ( Iriffith's  family  are 
memliers  of  the   rresb\tcrian   church. 


THE  BRADFORD  FAMllA'.  John  J.  !;radf..rd.  <leceasc-d.  who  was 
a  worthy  representative  of  the  Bradford  family,  members  of  which  arc  promi- 
nently identified  with  the  history  of  Crafton  borough  and  other  ])arts  of 
Greater  Pittsburg,  was  a  native  of  Belfast.  Ireland,  born  December  25.  1830, 
and  died  April  4,  1883. 

He  was  educated  in  his  native  land,  and  when  a  youth  of  about  fifteen 
or  sixteen  years  of  age  came  with  his  uncle,  a  brother  of  his  mother,  to  the 
United  States.  John  J.  located  in  Hampton  township,  Allegheny  county, 
Pennsylvania,  where  he  worked  among  the  farmers.  He  subsequently  pur- 
chased a  farm  of  sixty-five  acres  in  Hampton  township  and  erected  a  house, 
one  of  the  old  type,  with  the  large  fireplace  built  on  the  outside,  which  stood 
until  1904,  when  it  was  torn  down.  He  brought  the  land  up  to  a  high  state 
of  cultivation,  and  derived  therefrom  a  comfortable  livelihood.  Ten  years 
prior  to  his  death  he  moved  to  Sharpsburg,  where  he  led  a  retired  life, 
enjoying  to  the  full  the  consciousness  of  years  well  spent.  He  was  the  owner 
of  valuable  property  in  the  borough  of  Crafton.  He  was  a  man  of  strict 
integrity,  of  a  kind  and  loving  disposition,  and  his  aim  in  life  was  to  make 
others  happy.  He  was  a  regular  attendant  of  the  Sharpsburg  Presbyterian 
church  and  contributed  liberally  to  its  support,  and  also  to  outside  charitable 
appeals.  He  cast  his  vote  for  the  candidates  of  the  Republican  party,  but 
never  sought  or  desired  public  office,  preferring  to  devote  his  time  to  his  hoiue 
and  family.  The  mother  of  John  J.  Bradford,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Price,  died  about  the  year  1883,  aged  eighty-one  years.  She  was  the  mother 
of  several  other  children,  namely:  David,  a  resident  of  Belfast.  Ireland,  who 
paid  a  visit  to  his  brother,  John  J.,  many  years  ago;  Mrs.  Burnside,  Mrs. 
Bovd  and  Margaret  Bradford,  unmarried.  Tradition  says  that  the  father  of 
John  J.  Bradford  was  a  merchant  in  Belfast,  and  the  family  were  of  the  old 
Presbyterian  stock. 

John  J.  Bradford  married,  in'Chartiers  township,  now  Crafton,  September 
16,  1857,  Nancy  Dinsmore,  born  in  Crafton,  in  the  old  log  house,  which  is 
still  standing,  the  oldest  in  the  place,  December  28,  1840,  and  died  May  21, 
1907.  She  was  a  daughter  of  Henry  and  Margaret  (Crum)  Dinsmore.  Mrs. 
Bradford  was  a  devoted  Christian  woman  and  was  a  member  of  the  Haw- 
thorne Avenue  church  of  Crafton,  having  been  identified  with  the  Presbyterian 
church  from  earlv  life.  She  was  a  very  liberal  contributor  to  the  church, 
and,  with  a  sister,  Mrs.  William  Creighton,  and  a  niece.  Miss  Ida  McMunn. 
donated  the  organ  to  the  Hawthorne  Avenue  church.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  J. 
Bradford  were  the  parents  of  nine  children:      i.    Margaret,  married   Henrv 


26  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

Sutter,  a  blacksmith,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  five  children:  Nelson,  Ethel, 
Anna/lennie  and  Olive.  The  family  resides  at  Allison  Park,  Pennsylvania. 
2.  John  C,  died  unmarried,  aged  thirty-four;  he  is  buried  in  Greenwood 
cemetery,  at  Sharpsburg,  beside  his  parents;  he  was  by  occupation  a  steel 
melter,  and  was  in  the  employ  of  the  Carbon  Steel  Works.  3.  Elizabeth, 
married  John  C.  A.  Stein  and  has  three  children :  Clarence,  John  and  Norman ; 
the  family  resides  at  Sharpsburg,  Pennsylvania.  4.  David,  died  at  the  age 
of  thirty.  He  was  a  foreman  of  the  Marshall  Foundry;  married  Anna  Sheriff 
and  had  three  children:  Lillian,  Irene  and  Marion;  the  family  reside  at 
Lawrenceville.  5.  Jennie,  wife  of  Joseph  A.  Saint.  Children:  Lawrence, 
James,  Hazel,  Lucy,  Harold.  6.  William  Dinsmore  (see  forward).  7.  Anna, 
died  in  infancy.  8.  Anna,  a  resident  of  Crafton.  9.  Rachel,  who  with  her 
sister  Anna  resides  on  Creighton  avenue.  Crafton,  having  lived  there  since 
their  removal  from  Pittsburg,  May  3,  1896. 

William  Dinsmore  Bradford,  son  of  John  J.  and  Nancy  (Dinsmore) 
Bradford,  was  born  in  the  old  home  in  Hampton  township,  Allegheny  county, 
Pennsylvania  (as  were  all  his  brothers  and  sisters),  October  28,  1869.  He 
received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  the  township  and  Sharpsburg. 
His  first  beginning  in  earning  a  livelihood  was  as  an  office  boy  in  the  Wilcock 
Foundry  and  Machine  Company  at  Sharpsburg;  his  next  position  was  that  of 
threading  pipe  in  the  plant  of  Spang,  Chalfont  &  Company,  at  Etna,  Penn- 
sylvania, where  he  remained  for  two  years.  In  November,  1888,  at  the  age 
of  nineteen,  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Carbon  Steel  Works,  beginning  as 
stoker  on  the  furnaces ;  he  was  afterward  promoted  to  helper,  subsequently 
to  melter,  and  after  gaining  a  thorough  knowledge  of  the  various  branches  of 
the  work  was  made  foreman  on  July  10,  1894.  The  duties  of  this  onerous 
position  were  discharged  in  so  satisfactory  a  manner  that  in  1905  he  was 
appointed  superintendent  of  the  open  hearth  department  of  this  works.  In 
addition  to  the  confidence  reposed  in  him  by  the  company  Mr.  Bradford  has 
the  esteem  and  good  will  of  the  men  under  his  supervision,  to  whom  he  is 
ever  considerate  and  helpful.  He  is  interested  in  the  Pittsburgh  Axle  Com- 
pany at  Beaver  Falls,  Pennsylvania,  one  of  the  important  industries  of  that 
place.  Mr.  Bradford  has  been  a  resident  of  Crafton  since  1896,  and  his  resi- 
dence, purchased  at  that  time,  is  on  the  old  Dinsmore  estate,  one  of  the  fine 
locations  in  Crafton.  He  is  a  prominent  member  of  the  First  Methodist 
Episcopal  church  of  Crafton  and  a  member  of  the  official  board.  He  is  a 
member  of  Crafton  Lodge  No.  653,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  is  a 
Republican  in  politics. 

Mr.  Bradford  married,  September  19,  1893,  Tillie  Ida  Thomas,  born  in 
Hampton  township,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  October  19,  1868,  a 
daughter  of  Christopher  and  Jeannette  (Scott)  Thomas.  The  ceremony  was 
performed  by  the  Rev.  N.  M.  Crow,  pastor  of  the  Presbyterian  church.  The 
children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bradford  are :  John  Christopher,  born  in  Crafton 
April  8,  1903;  Jeannette  Dinsmore,  born  in  Crafton  April  23,  1906. 


HENRY  GRAFF  HUGUS  and  EDWARD  REED  HUGUS,  two  well- 
known  residents  of  Greater  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  are  among  the  most  enter- 
prising men  of  that  city,  and  have  done  much  to  further  the  commercial  inter- 


PITTSHUKC    .-L\I)    lUiR    riiOI'lJi 


27 


csts  of  the  same.  The  name  Hugus  was  <)ri,q;iiially  lluj^o.  and  the  family  are 
kin  to  \  ictor  Hugo,  the  late  author. 

Paul  Hugus.  granilfather  of  the  two  men  mentioned  ahove,  married  Susan 
Margaret  Swartz.  and  had  children  :  William  ;  John  ;  Paul,  see  forward  :  Jacob; 
Henry  and  Daniel,  twins;  Maria  anil  Sarah. 

Paul  Hugus.  son  of  Paul  and  Susan  (Swartz)  Hugus.  was  lx)rn  in  West- 
moreland county.  Pennsylvania,  and  at  an  early  age  came  to  Pittsburg  for  the 
jnirpose  of  engaging  in  business.  He  accepted  a  position  with  David  Lloyd,  a 
dry  goods  merchant,  with  whom  he  remained  for  a  number  of  years.  He  then, 
in  association  with  his  brother  William,  bought  out  the  business  in  which  he 
had  so  long  been  employed,  and  they  carried  on  successfully  for  forty  years 
what  was  at  that  time  one  of  the  most  important  dry  goods  establishments  in 
the  city  of  i'ittsburg.  Mr.  Hugus  finally  sold  out  his  interest  to  his  brother 
Daniel  and  Paul  Hacke.  and  established  a  stove  manufactory  under  the  firm 
name  of  Graff,  Hugus  &  Company,  the  enterprise  being  also  known  as  The 
Western  Stove  Company.  During  the  remainder  of  his  life  Mr.  Hugus  was 
actively  identified  with  this,  being  a  typical  business  man  of  the  old  school. 
He  held  several  important  offices  in  the  community,  among  them  being  that 
of  head  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  German  National  Bank.  He  married, 
May  II,  1846,  Pristilla  Sophia  Graff,  and  they  were  the  parents  of:  Henry 
Graft",  see  forward;  Edward  Reed,  see  forward;  John  C,  died  at  the  age  of 
five  years;  and  Anna  ^I.,  who  married  R.  Heberton  Xegley,  and  has  chiUlren  : 
Paul  H.  and  Edward  C.  Jr.,  who  married  Sarah  Margaret  Gerst,  Eebruary  1  i, 
1904,  and  has  two  daughters,  Anna  Priscilla,  born  April  23,  1905.  and  luigenie 
Elizabeth,  born  October  27,  igo6. 

Henry  Graff  Hugus,  eldest  child  of  Paul  and  Priscilla  Sophia  (Ciraff) 
Hugus,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  April  3.  1847.  His  preparatory 
education  was  received  in  Oberlin,  Ohio,  and  he  then  attended  Oberlin  Col- 
lege, afterward  becoming  a  student  at  the  Western  University.  He  is  also  a 
graduate  of  Eastman's  National  Business  College,  Poughkeepsie,  New  York. 
Shortly  after  the  completion  of  his  collegiate  course  he  sought  employment 
with  the  firm  of  Graff  &  Company,  manufacturers  of  stoves,  ranges,  etc.,  as  a 
collector.  He  advanced  rapidly  and  soon  had  charge  of  the  sales  department. 
.\bout  this  time  his  father  became  a  member  of  the  firm,  and  the  name  was 
changed  to  that  of  Graft",  Hugus  &  Company.  Henry  G.  Hugus  left  this  firm 
in  1881  and  established  a  retail  store  in  Smithfield  street  under  his  own  name. 
At  this  time  he  was  the  sole  agent  for  the  John  \"an  range  for  Allegheny 
county.  With  this  range  was  introduced  the  first  broiler  by  which  natural  gas 
could  be  utilized.  He  carried  on  this  business  very  successfully  for  a  period  of 
four  years  and  then  sold  it.  In  the  same  year  he  and  his  brother  Edward  Reed 
commenced  the  manufacture  of  steel  hollow  ware,  organizing  the  firm  known 
as  The  Hugus  Wrought  Steel  Hollow  Ware  Company,  with  their  works  at 
Chiswick.  Pennsylvania.  They  were  very  successful  in  this  undertaking  and 
soon  controlled  the  patents  for  the  manufacture  of  hollow  ware  throughout  the 
United  States,  they  being  the  first  to  manufacture  this  ware  in  this  country. 
They  were  afterward  known  as  The  Pittsburg  Gong  Works,  being  the  first 
successful  manufacturers  of  steel  gongs  in  this  country.  The  gtnigs  were  noth- 
ing more  than  the  Hugus  skillet,  nickel  plated,  and  mounted  without  the  handle. 
After  a  time  Mr.  Hugus  and  his  brother  sold  their  interests  in  this  enterprise 
and  established  a  cold  and  dry  storage  business  at  No.    1235   Liberty  street. 


28  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OP 


known  as  The  Hugus  Central  Storage  House.  Mr.  Hugus  sold  his  interest  m 
this  in  1895,  retiring  from  active  business  at  the  time,  and  devoting  nis  tirt!** 
and  attention  to  the  management  of  his  estate.  He  has  never  taken  an  active 
part  in  politics  or  public  enterprises  of  any  description  with  the  exception  of 
being  a  life  member  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  Pittsburg  Hospital,  in 
which  institution  he  takes  a  great  interest.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Grace 
Reformed  church,  with  which  various  members  of  his  family  are  connected.  He 
has  been  a  member  for  thirty  years  of  Hailman  Lodge,  No.  321,  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons ;  he  is  also  a  member  of  the  Pittsburg  Country  Club,  Pittsburg 
Board  of  Trade,  Gentlemen's  Driving  Club  of  Pittsburg  and  Allegheny,  and 
the  Schenley  Matinee  Club.  Mr.  Hugus  is  a  man  devoted  to  his  family  and 
home  life.  He  is  liberal  minded  in  his  opinions  and  entertains  most  original 
ideas. 

He  married,  December  29,  1880,  Sarah  Ann  Harrison,  daughter  of  James 
and  Ann  (Seager)  Harrison,  the  former  of  Scotch-Irish  descent,  and  the  lat- 
ter of  English  birth.  James  Harrison  was  the  largest  general  contractor  on 
this  side  of  the  Allegheny  mountains.  He  built  the  Allegheny  arsenal  wall, 
the  Kittaning  jail  and  courthouse  and  had  contracts  for  many  of  the  court- 
houses of  the  state.  Among  other  contracts  was  the  construction  of  the  old 
Allegheny  Valley  Railroad.  He  also  did  a  great  deal  of  cemetery  work,  being 
the  originator  of  the  stone  burial  cases.  Both  he  and  his  wife  were  ardent 
workers  in  the  interests  of  religion,  the  Thirty-third  Street  Presbyterian  church 
being  organized  in  the  library  of  their  old  home  in  Thirty-third  street.  Among 
the  maternal  ancestors  of  Mrs.  Hugus  were  many  sea  captains,  one  of  whom 
fitted  out  one  of  the  first  fleets  for  the  Russian  government,  at  which  time  he 
was  presented  with  a  jeweled  snufif  box  with  the  Russian  coat  of  arms  by  the 
emperor.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hugus  have  had  children:  i.  James  Harrison,  born 
in  Pittsburg,  August  i,  1883.  His  early  education  was  acquired  in  the  schools 
of  Mercer,  Pennsylvania,  and  in  1900  he  entered  the  East  Liberty  College  for  a 
preparatory  course ;  he  then  attended  Dufif's  Mercantile  College,  and  after  a 
thorough  course  in  this  institution  engaged  in  business  for  himself  in  the  coal 
and  coke  brokerage  line.  Two  years  ago  he  established  himself  in  the  real 
estate  and  fire  insurance  business,  with  offices  at  Penn  and  South  Negley  ave- 
nues. East  End,  Pittsburg.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Pittsburg  Country  Club  and 
the  Pittsburg  Board  of  Trade.  2.  Priscilla,  died  in  infancy.  3.  Mary  Appleby, 
born  in  Pittsburg,  June  2,  1890.  She  is  a  student  at  the  Ogontz  School  for 
Young  Ladies,  at  Elkins  Park,  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania. 

Edward  Reed  Hugus,  second  son  and  child  of  Paul  and  Priscilla  Sophia 
(Graff)  Hugus,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  August  22,  1848.  He 
received  his  primary  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Pittsburg,  later  becom- 
ing a  student  in  a  private  institute  in  West  Chester,  Chester  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  finally  taking  a  business  course  at  the  Western  University  of  Penn- 
sylvania. He  began  his  business  career  in  the  factory  of  his  father,  remaining 
with  him  for  a  period  of  twelve  years,  and  then  went  into  business  for  himself, 
buying  out  the  Atlas  Works,  a  foundry  and  machine  business,  from  William 
Coleman,  at  that  time  the  leading  spirit  among  the  iron  and  steel  men  of  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania.  He  conducted  this  business  successfully  for  fifteen  years, 
eventually  selling  out  and  taking  up  the  business  of  real  estate,  with  which  he 
is  still  identified.  During  his  connection  with  the  machine  and  foundry  busi- 
ness he  constructed  the  rolling  mills  for  some  of  the  large  steel  owners,  among 


PITTSBi'Ka    AM)    HER    riiOPLh  29 


them  beiiiy-  such  tirms  as  Edgar  Thomson.  Millvalc,  and  (IrafF  &  Bennett,  tho 
latter  hrni  being-  the  j)ioneers  of  the  iron  and  steel  industry  of  I'ittshurg.  Mr. 
Hugiis  is  a  life  member  of  the  Pittsburg  Country  Club,  the  (  )akmont  L'lub  and 
the  Pittsburg-  Board  of  Trade. 

He  married,  February  11,  1890.  Xancy  C.  Doak.  daughter  of  William  D. 
and  Emily  (Trovilla)  Doak,  and  they  have  one  daughter:  Emily  Trovilla,  b;)rn 
in  Pittsbijrg,  April  i,  1891. 


\\TLLL\:\I  HEXRV  BROOKS,  a  trusted  employe  of  the  I'nion  Switch 
&  Signal  Company  of  Swissvale,  was  born  July  2>^.  iSr)i,  in  Baltiiuore.  Mary- 
land, a  son  of  John  Brooks,  who  was  born  in  liath.  h'ngland.  and  about  1856 
came  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  Philadelphia,  where  he  worked  as  a 
gardener  and  florist.  He  belonged  to  the  John  B.  Nicholas  Lodge,  I.  O.  O.  P., 
and  in  politics  was  a  staunch  Democrat.  He  and  his  wife  were  members  of 
Calvary   Protestant  Episcopal  church.   East  End,   Pittsburg. 

John  Brooks  married  Elizabeth  Bowen,  of  Swansea,  Wales,  and  their 
children  were:  Alary,  who  died  at  the  age  of  one  year;  William  Henry,  of 
whom  later;  John  Hart;  Thomas  James,  who  died  January  28,  1895;  Robert; 
Edward,  who  died  in  October,  1899,  aged  twenty-nine;  and  Martha.  Mrs. 
Brooks  died  April  22,  1883,  and  the  death  of  Mr.  Brooks  occurred  March  6, 
1886. 

William  Henry  Brooks,  son  of  John  and  Elizabeth  (Bowen)  Brooks,  was 
brought  to  Pittsburg  by  his  parents  in  1870,  and  attended  the  Deniston  avenue, 
the  Lincoln  and  the  Oakland  i)ublic  schools.  After  leaving  school  he  was 
employed  for  a  time  as  a  landscape  gardener  by  Colonel  John  B.  Guthrie, 
father  of  ]\Iayor  Guthrie.  He  then  learned  the  moulder's  trade  with  S.  Jarvis 
Adams  &  Company,  by  whom  he  was  employed  for  fifteen  years,  during  which 
time  he  built  up  an  enduring  reputation  for  faithfulness  and  ability.  He  has 
now  been  for  seven  years  in  the  service  of  the  Union  Switch  &  Signal  Com- 
pany of  Swissvale. 

He  belongs  to  the  Junior  Order  of  L'nited  American  Mechanics  and  the 
Knights  of  the  Mystic  Chain.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  He  is  a  member 
of  Calvary  Protestant  Episcopal  church. 

Mr.  Brooks  married,  June  15.  1886,  Emma  Coral,  daughter  of  Daniel 
Webster  and  Elizabeth  (Stoops)  Putt,  of  Wellsville,  Ohio,  and  they  have  been 
the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Alice  Emeline,  born  May  19,  1887; 
Cora  Elizabeth,  born  August  16,  1888,  died  ALirch  12,  1893;  Marie  Antoinette, 
born  April  10,  1890,  died  May  ii,  1893;  Daniel  \\'ebster,  born  July  30,  1891 ; 
William  Henry,  born  May  29,  1894;  Robert  Marshall,  born  June  6,  1897; 
Allen  Lee,  born  April  5,  1899;  Charles  Edwin,  born  February  5,  1901  ;  Boyd 
Vincent,  born  January  6,  1905  ;  and  George  Wells,  born  August  24,  1907. 


OTIS  A.  GILL,  one  of  the  enterprising  wholesale  leaf  tobacco  dealers  of 
Pittsburg,  is  a  native  of  Mercer  county,  Pennsylvania,  born  ]\Iarch  7,  1868, 
and  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  at  Duff's  College,  Pittsburg.  In 
1894  he  engaged  in  tiie  wholesale  tobacco  trade,  in  which  he  has  been  highly 
successful  in  his  operations.  He  is  an  honored  member  of  Duquesne  Lodge 
No.  546  and  Pittsburg  chapter- in  the  Masonic  fraternity.     He  married  Minnie, 


30  A    CEXTCRV   AXD    A    HALF    OF 

daughter  of  Cyrus  E.  and  Sophia  Dumm,  of  Indiana  county,  Pennsylvania, 
and  tliey  are  the  parents  of:  Sarah,  born  September  21.  1894,  and  died  Sep- 
tember 22.  1895 :  Emma  M..  born  November  7,  1896. 

Mr.  Gill's  father,  John  A.  Gill,  was  bom  in  Butler  county.  Pennsylvania. 
April  21,  1822,  and  was  a  farmer.  He  took  much  interest  in  public  affairs 
and  was  a  justice  of  the  peace  for  forty-eight  consecutive  years  in  Wo\i 
Creek,  Mercer  county.  Pennsylvania.  He  married  Sarah  E.  Russell,  and  they 
were  the  parents  of  children  as  follows :  Otis  A,  Samuel  S.,  Hugh  R..  William 
J..  Xeade  G..  Xewton  C.  Ira  H.  and  Harry  L.     The  father  died  ^^lay  28.  1906. 

Cyrus  E.  Dumm,  ^Irs.  Gill's  father,  was  born  in  Indiana  count}-,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  was  by  trade  a  carpenter.  He  married  Sophia  Rose  and  had 
children — ^linnie.  Sadie.  ^Nlaesrie,  Xellie.  Alice.  Wallace  and  Leo. 


CHARLES  STROUD.  The  late  Charles  Stroud,  for  thirty-five  years  a 
respected  citizen  of  Pittsburg,  was  bom  in  1849.  in  Readi^ig.  Pennsylvania, 
and  received  his  education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  city.  After  leaving 
school  he  entered  the  service  of  the  Pittsburg,  \'andalia  &  Cincinnati  Railroad 
Company,  and  for  twenty-five  years  held  the  position  of  conductor.  In  1868 
he  became  a  resident  of  Pittsburg. 

Mr.  Stroud  m.arried,  in  1872.  Clementine  Dillon,  and  the  following  are 
their  children:  Charles  E.,  born  in  1874.  died  in  1903;  Garber  D.,  born  in 
1875:  William  S.,  bom  in  1877:  Alfred  L..  bom  in  1880:  John  R..  of  whom 
later:  and  Stewart,  born  in  1889. 

Mr.  Stroud  died  May  21,  1903,  passing  away  in  the  prime  of  life,  to  the 
sincere  sorrow  of  his  family  and  friends  and  of  all  who  had  been  in  any  way 
associated  with  him. 

Mrs.  Stroud  is  a  daughter  of  John  Dillon,  who  was  born  in  1813.  in  Ire- 
land, and  was  brought  to  the  L'nited  States  as  a  boy.  receiving  his  education 
in  the  public  scliools  of  Boston.  In  1844  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  was 
employed  as  an  iron  worker.  He  married  Esther  \'illa  Linday  and  the  fol- 
lowing children  were  bom  to  them:  August;  ;Mar\-  C. ;  William  J.,  killed 
in  the  battle  of  Fredericksburg:  Garber  C. :  Anna  E.,  married  William  Carr : 
Clementine,  \vidow  of  Charles  Stroud :  Hester,  married  J.  S.  Scott,  Pittsburg : 
John  R. :  Alfred  L. ;  and  Marilla.  married  E.  E.  Franke,  Pittsburg.  Mrs. 
Dillon,  the  mother  of  these  children,  passed  away  in  1893.  and  the  death  of 
Mr.  Dillon  occurred  in  1899. 

John  R.  Stroud,  son  of  Charles  and  Clementine  (Dillon)  Stroud,  was 
bom  in  1882.  He  married  Xora  Gaddis  and  their  children  are  Barton  and 
Charles  ^^"ilham. 


HEX'RY  GESTIEHR.  who  has  been  for  nearly  half  a  century-  numbered 
among  the  esteemed  German-American  citizens  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  X'o- 
vember  20,  1833,  in  Sanwendel,  Prussia,  a  son  of  Joseph  Gestiehr.  who  was  a 
tailor  and  all  his  life  followed  his  trade.  Joseph  Gestiehr  was  twice  married, 
and  by  his  first  wife  was  the  father  of  the  following  children:  Elizabeth. 
Man,-,  Barbara  and  Magdalena.  All  these  are  deceased  with  the  exception  of 
Magdalena,  who  lives  in  Germany.  The  second  wife  of  Joseph  Gestiehr  was 
Elizabeth  Sheerer,  who  bore  him  one  son  and  two  daughters :  Henry,  of 
whom  later:  Katrina.  who  died  in  Germany,  wife  of  Ludwig  Winterblower ; 


PITTSBLRG    AXD    HER    PEOFUi  31 


Marijarita.  living  in  Germany,  widow  of  Henry  llolir.  The  mother  of  these 
chiUlren  died  at  the  age  of  fifty-one,  and  the  death  of  Joseph  Ciestiehr.  the 
father,  occurred  in  his  native  place  when  he  was  ninety-two  years  old. 

Henry  Gestiehr.  son  of  Joseph  and  Elizabeth  ( Sheorer)  Gestiehr.  attended 
the  schools  of  his  native  place  from  the  age  of  six  to  that  of  thirteen,  and 
then  learned  glass-blowing  in  the  factories  of  the  same  town.  In  1854.  Ix-ing 
then  twenty-one  years  old.  he  left  home  and  traveled  somewhat  extensively, 
visiting  Mentz-on-Rhine  and  Dresden,  as  well  as  different  part>  of  Westphalia. 
Switzerland  and  I'avaria.  and  in  all  these  places  maintaining  himself  by  working 
at  his  trade.  In  1863.  accompanied  by  his  wife  and  children,  he  embarked  at 
Havre  on  a  sailing  vessel,  landing  in  Xew  York,  whence  he  proceeded  to 
Pittsburg.  His  first  home  >vas  at  Frankstown.  where  he  lived  ten  years,  work- 
ing as  a  glass-blower.  In  1873  he  moved  to  the  Twenty-fifth  ward  and  entered 
the  glass  factory  of  the  D.  O.  Comeger  Company,  remaining  until  1884. 
when  he  opened  a  saloon  on  the  comer  of  Twenty-eighth  and  South  streets, 
retiring  in  1899.  He  has  not  since  been  engaged  in  business,  and  for  forty 
years  has  resided  in  the  neighborhood  of  Twenty-eighth  and  South  streets. 

Mr.  Gestiehr  married  (first)  April  10.  1857.  in  Mentz-on-Rhine,  Mary 
Kourt.  and  the  following  children  were  born  to  them:  i.  Magdalena,  wife 
of  Christian  Classon,  of  Bonair.  2.  Mary,  widow  of  Joseph  Duchene.  3.  Au- 
gust, of  Milwaukee,  married  (first)  Emma  Frederick,  (second  1  Katharine, 
widow  of  Henry  Snyder.  4.  Kate,  wife  of  Joseph  Sharkey,  of  Pittsburg. 
5.  Minnie,  deceased.  6.  Joseph,  deceased.  7.  Henry,  born  September  26. 
1867.  in  Frankstown,  attended  St.  Peter's  parochial  school,  married  Elizabeth 
Aubele :  children :  William.  Marie.  Henr>-  and  Alfred.  8.  Philip,  deceased. 
9.  Jacob,  of  Carrick,  married  ]\Iary  A.  McKenna.  10.  Joseph,  machinist, 
died  unmarried  in  1906.  aged  thirty-two.  Mrs.  Gestiehr.  the  mother  of  this 
family,  died  April  16.  1887.  at  the  age  of  fifty-one.  She  was  a  loving  mother 
and  a  devout  member  of  St.  Peter's  Roman  Catholic  church.  She  is  buried  in 
St.  Peter's  cemetery. 

Mr.  Gestiehr  married  (second).  August  6.  1893.  Caroline,  widow  of 
Robert  Cunningham  and  daughter  of  Conreid  Matthew,  who  was  bom  in 
Gestweiler.  Germany,  and  was  a  coal  miner  by  occupation.  In  1848  he  came 
to  the  United  States  and  was  employed  in  the  coal  mines  in  the  vicinity  of 
Pittsburg  until  1865,  when  he  opened  a  saloon  on  Carson  street.  He  married 
Margarita  Holzer,  sister  of  Mrs.  Charles  Melling.  of  Pittsburg,  and  their 
daughter  Caroline  was  born  December  16.  1851.  on  Third  avenue  in  that  city. 
In  1876  she  married  Robert  Cunningham,  a  glass-blower,  who  died  May  22. 
1892.  and  she  afterward  became  the  wife  of  Henry  Gestiehr.  as  stated  above. 
Mr.  Matthew  died  in  January.  1876.  and  is  still  survived  by  his  widow,  who  ha? 
attained  to  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-two. 


HUGH  R.  McKEL\'EY.  former  merchant  and  machinist  of  Pittsburg, 
was  born  in  Pittsburg.  Pennsylvania.  May  18.  1846,  son  of  Colonel  Samuel  and 
Anna  B.  (Pride)  McKelvey.  and  grandson  of  Hugh  and  Xancy  (McGowan) 
McKelvey.  Hugh  McKelvey  (grandfather)  was  a  brick  maker  by  trade:  his 
wife  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-four  years.  They  were  the  parents  of  two 
children.  Samuel  and  Jane.  Hugh  McKelvey  located  and  owned  a  farm  at 
Sixteenth  street,  Pittsburg. 


32  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

Colonel  Samuel  McKelvey  (father)  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
in  1814,  and  died,  suddenly,  March  24,  1889.  He  succeeded  his  father  in 
business,  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  steel  industry  in  the  place  of  his 
nativity,  and  was  also  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  pig  iron  in  Western 
Virginia.  He  established  the  McKelvey  &  Blair  Cast  Steel  and  File  Manufac- 
ture of  Pittsburg  and  was  largely  interested  in  other  business  enterprises. 
In  1855  he  possessed  a  tract  of  land  consistmg  of  thirteen  thousand  acres  in 
western  Virginia,  on  which  he  had  three  blast  furnaces,  two  in  operation. 
When  the  Civil  war  broke  out  he  abandoned  his  business  and  volunteered  as 
a  soldier.  He  was  early  connected  with  the  Duquesne  Greys,  of  which  organi- 
zation he  was  for  a  time  captain.  Later  he  was  commissioned  and  appointed 
to  the  commissary  department,  and  was  chief  of  the  commissary  of  the  Third 
Army  Corps  on  the  stafif  of  General  Heintzelman.  After  the  second  battle  of 
Bull  Run  he  was  placed  in  command  of  convalescent  camp  near  Washington, 
D.  C,  where  he  did  duty  until  the  war  was  nearly  over,  when  he  was  appointed 
chief  of  the  commissary  of  cavalry  under  General  Sheridan.  He  resigned, 
but  Edwin  M.  Stanton',  secretary  of  war,  would  not  accept  it.  He  was  a 
pronounced  Democrat,  active  in  politics,  took  part  in  conventions,  and  was  at 
one  time  chairman  of  the  Democratic  county  committee.  He  served  three 
years  as  United  States  marshal  for  the  western  Pennsylvania  district.  He 
was  also  president  of  the  city  council. 

Colonel  McKelvey  married  Anna  B.  Pride,  who  died  in  1889,  the  same 
year  as  her  husband.  Their  children  were:  Marian  Pride,  Hugh  R.  (see 
forward)  ;  Samuel,  Jr.,  who  died  in  1881  ;  Juha ;  James  P.;  Anna  P.,  who  died 
in  1890;  David  P.;  Dr.  William  A.,  and  William  H.  S. 

Hugh  R.  McKelvey  was  educated  at  Pittsburg  up  to  the  time  he  was 
about  fifteen  years  of  age,  when  he  accompanied  his  father  as  his  clerk  in  the 
commissary  department  of  the  United  States  army  in  front  of  Washington 
in  1865.  After  the  war  had  ended  he  returned  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  learned 
the  machinist  trade,  which  he  followed  for  quite  a  number  of  years.  For  four 
years  he  was  engaged  with  his  brother  Samuel  in  the  manufacture  of  McKelvey 
Stomach  Bitters,  and  later  was  engaged  in  the  tobacco  trade.  He  married, 
in  1868,  Josephine,  daughter  of  Colonel  Patrick  Kerr  and  wife.  Children: 
Samuel  A.,  born  in  1872;  William  R.,  born  in  1874. 


THE  McKELVY  FAMILY,  with  which  the  Pittsburg  McKelvys  are 
connected,  was  founded  in  America  by  James  McKelvy  (sometimes  spelled  Mc- 
Kalvey),  who  was  born  in  county  Down,  Ireland,  and  with  his  wife  Elizabeth 
emigrated  to  America  in  1802,  settling  in  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania. 
At  first  they  rented  a  farm,  now  owned  and  occupied  by  John  S.  McKelvy,  the 
grandson.  They  remained  on  this  farm  but  a  short  time  when  they  purchased 
a  place  adjoining,  consisting  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres,  which  at  that 
date  was  mostly  wooded  heavily,  but  by  dint  of  industry  known  to  the  Penn- 
sylvania pioneer  he  succeeded  in  clearing  up  a  good  farm  from  out  the  dense 
forest,  and  there  spent  the  remainder  of  his  days,  dying  aged  about  sixty-six 
years.  His  wife  died  in  1818.  They  were  members  of  the  Protestant  church. 
Their  family  consisted  of  the  following  children:  i.  James.  2.  WilHam, 
late  of  Pittsburg.     3.   Hugh,  late  of  Pittsburg,  and  an  oil  merchant.     4.   John, 


PITTSBL'RC    .1X1)    lIliR    riiOI'Lli  33 


a  farmer.  5.  Elizal)cth,  deccasecl,  wlu)  was  the  witc  di  John  r.owors. 
6.    Sarali,  wife  of  Adam  Walters.     7.    Mary  A.,  wife  of  Daniel  .\rm.stronj;. 

(II)  James  McKelvv.  son  of  the  emit;rant,  was  about  two  years  of  atje 
when  his  ])arents  came  to  this  country.  He  remained  at  hduie  until  he  was 
married,  and  three  years  later  purchased  the  farm  on  which  John  S.  McKelvey 
now  resides.  The  first  habitation  on  these  premises  was  an  old-fashioned  Iojj: 
cabin.  Through  his  energy  and  jiersistence  he  brought  this  place  to  a  high 
state  of  cultivation,  and  was  noted  far  and  near  for  the  excellent  quality  of 
stock  which  he  there  raised,  including  heavy  draft  horses,  short-horned  cattle 
and  sheep.  In  1839  ^^  built  one  of  the  best  brick  houses  in  the  entire  county, 
and  so  well  was  it  constructed  that  with  some  repairs  and  remodeling  it  still 
serves  well  the  purpose  of  a  good  farm  house.  lie  also  erected  a  spacious 
barn  and  made  many  substantial  improvements.  In  his  political  belief  Mr. 
McKelvy  was  an  old  line  Whig  and  later  joined  the  ranks  of  the  Republican 
party  which  succeeded  it  in  power.  In  local  affairs  he  was  ever  foremost  in 
his  township.  He  was  of  strict  integrity,  and  in  church  faith  a  follower  of 
Methodism,  and  aided  in  the  erection  of  the  first  Methodist  Episcopal  church 
in  Wilkinsburg,  where  he  took  much  interest  in  church  work. 

In  1824  he  married  Rosanna  Swisshelm,  who  was  born  on  the  old  Swiss- 
helm  homestead,  near  Swissvale  Station,  daughter  of  John  and  Elizabeth 
( W'onderly )  Swisshelm.  Her  father  fought  in  the  Revolutionary  struggle; 
he  had  a  brother  in  the  same  war,  who  was  killed ;  John  then  took  up  his  arms 
and  joined  the  ranks,  remaining  until  the  war  ended.  He  was  a  native  of 
Dauphin  county,  Pennsylvania,  where  his  people  resided  at  the  time.  Their 
house  was  one  of  that  peculiar  type  known  in  those  days,  and  possessed  the 
numerous  look-out  holes  as  a  precaution  against  Indian  invasions.  Mrs.  Eliza- 
beth McKelvy  lived  to  a  ripe  old  age,  being  ninety-four  years  old  when  she 
died  in  1874.  It  was  her  good  pleasure  to  relate  the  interesting  early-day 
stories  to  four  generations ;  she  was  a  wonderfully  kind  old  lady.  James  and 
Rosanna  (Swisshelm)  McKelvy  were  the  parents  of  nine  children:  The  first 
three  children  died  young.  4.  John  S.,  spoken  of  hereinafter.  5.  Dr.  William 
H.,  of  Pittsburg.  6.  Wilbur  T.,  of  Pittsburg.  7.  Martha  J.,  wife  of  Henry 
Wintersmith,  of  Lowville.  Kentucky.  8.  Hon.  James  M.,  deceased,  late  judge 
of  Stearns  county.  Minnesota.    9.  Elizabeth,  deceased,  wife  of  John  W.  Hagen. 

(HI)  John  S.  McKelvy,  son  of  James  and  Rosanna  (Swisshelm)  Mc- 
Kelvy, was  born  on  the  homestead  where  he  still  resides.  April  22,  1841.  He 
was  educated  in  the  public  schools,  at  Wilkinsburg  Academy  and  Allegheny 
College.  He  always  has  had  a  liking  for  the  freedom  and  real  independence 
of  rural  and  agricultural  life  and  still  maintains  his  home  part  of  the  year  on 
the  farm,  hardby  the  sprightly  borough  of  Wilkinsburg,  in  which  place  he 
owns  a  handsome  residence  property  at  Xo.  iioo  Wood  street.  He  has  in- 
vested much  money  and  built  several  fine  paying  business  blocks  in  the  place. 
He  is  a  firm  believer  in  the  public  school  system,  and  has  served  on  the  Wil- 
kinsburg school  board  for  eighteen  years  and  more.  His  -chief  aim  in  life 
seems  to  have  been  to  give  each  of  his  children  a  college  education,  which  he 
has  accomplished.  The  members  of  this  family  are  much  devoted  to  one  an- 
other, and  seldom  does  a  Sabbath  go  by  without  they  all  meet  at  the  old  home 
and  take  Sunday  dinner  together.  In  political  tendencies  he  is  a  Republican, 
and  among  other  local  offices  held  by  him  may  be  named  that  of  borough 
councilman  in  Wilkinsburg.     He  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  con- 

iv— .-! 


34  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


tributing  largely  of  both  time  and  means  in  building  and  afterward  supporting 
the  churches  of  the  place  in  which  he  lives.  He  is  identified  with  the  Masonic 
order,  belonging  to  Braddock  Lodge,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons. 

He  was  married,  September  i6,  1863,  to  Eleanor  Horner,  born  in  Wilkins- 
burg,  Pennsylvania,  December  6,  1840,  daughter  of  John  and  Mary  (Davis) 
Horner.  (See  sketch  of  James  Horner.)  Mr.  and  Mrs.  McKelvy  are  the 
parents  of  seven  children:  i.  Rose,  wife  of  Marshall  D.  McWhinney,  and 
their  issue  is  Eleanor  H.,  Clifford  D.  and  Raymond  S. ;  this  family  reside  at 
Edgewood.  2.  A  son  who  died  in  infancy.  3.  James  P.,  of  whom  later. 
4.  Mary  H.,  deceased  wife  of  Louis  A.  Raisig.  5.  Elizabeth  H.,  wife  of  Dr. 
W.  A.  Sanderson,  of  Wilkinsburg,  and  their  issue  is  Eleanor  M.  6.  Eleanor 
G.,  wife  of  H.  W.  Mcintosh,  of  Wilkinsburg,  whose  sketch  appears  elsewhere 
in  this  work.     7.   John  Semple,  of  whom  later. 

(IV)  James  P.  McKelvy,  M.  D.,  son  of  John  S.  McKelvy,  a  prominent 
member  of  the  medical  profession,  was  born  December  i,  1869,  on  the  well 
known  old  homestead  of  his  ancestry,  near  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and 
attended  the  public  schools  of  that  place  and  also  the  Pittsburg  high  schools 
three  years,  after  which  he  took  up  chemistry  and  attended  Columbia  College. 
For  three  years  he  followed  his  profession  as  a  chemist  and  was  in  the  employ 
of  Mclntire  &  Hemphill.  Subsequently  he  took  up  medicine  and  graduated 
from  the  medical  department  of  Columbia  College  in  1901.  He  then  spent 
two  years  in  the  Roosevelt  Hospital,  New  York  city.  In  1904  he  opened  an 
office  in  Pittsburg,  on  North  Highland  avenue,  among  the  wealthy  class,  and 
has  built  up  a  large  practice.  His  office  apartments  are  among  the  best  to  be 
found  in  the  East  End. 

Dr.  McKelvy  was  married  in  December,  1894,  to  Sarah  McKinney,  born 
at  Bessemer,  Pennsylvania,  daughter  of  Robert  and  Catherine  McKinney. 
The  issue  by  this  marriage  is  one  son,  William  M.,  born  May  10,  1896. 

(IV)  John  S.  McKelvy,  Jr.,  son  of  John  S.  McKelvy,  was  born  on  the 
old  homestead  near  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania.  He  attended  the  common 
schools  and  in  the  autumn  of  1898  entered  Yale  College,  where  he  pursued  a 
four-year  course,  graduating  from  that  excellent  institution  in  1902,  after 
which  he  took  up  the  study  of  law,  taking  a  regular  course  in  the  law  depart- 
ment of  the  Western  Pennsylvania  University,  from  which  he  was  duly  gradu- 
ated and  admitted  to  the  bar  of  Allegheny  county  in  1906.  He  entered  the 
law  office  of  Langfith  &  Alclntosh,  with  which  firm  he  still  continues.  Mr. 
McKelvy's  home  is  at  Wilkinsburg ;  he  is  a  member  of  the  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons  of  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and  in 
church  relations  is  a  member  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Wilkinsburg. 


FREDERICK  BRETCH.  The  late  Frederick  Bretch.  for  eighteen  years 
general  manager  of  the  shops  of  the  Pittsburg  &  Lake  Erie  Railway  Com- 
pany, and  during  the  latter  years  of  his  life  a  resident  of  Sheridan,  was  born 
November  12,  1850,  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Lawrence  and  Melvina 
(Sprung)  Bretch,  both  natives  of  Germany. 

Mr.  Bretch  was  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Sheridan,  coming  hither  in 
1887  and  making  his  home  here  during  the  remainder  of  his  life.  In  the 
sphere  of  politics  he  assisted  with  his  vote  and  influence  the  Republican  party. 
He  was  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  35 

12912G6 

Mr.  Bretch  married,  September  12,  1871,  the  Reverend  Father  Donahue 
officiating-,  Elizabeth  D.  Schafer,  and  the  following  children  were  born  to 
them:  i.  Lillian.  2.  Gertrude  A.  3.  Harry  L.,  who  died,  aged  twenty  years, 
December  31,  1896.  4.  Edwin,  in  Pennsylvania  Railroad  office,  married 
Edith  Mays;  children,  Virginia  and  John.  5.  Blanch,  born  in  1881  ;  married, 
in  1903,  John  Dillon,  a  produce  dealer  of  Pittsburg,  and  died  in  June,  1907. 
6.  Benjamin,  employed  by  Lake  Erie  Railroad  Company.  7.  James,  born 
March  24,  1892,  died  in  May,  1907.  8.  Alma,  born  in  1896,  deceased. 
9.  Frederick,  born  in  1898,  died  July  9,  1899.  10.  Walter  Earl,  born  in  1901, 
deceased.  The  death  of  Mr.  Bretch  occurred  September  21,  1901.  He  was 
an  affectionate  husband  and  father,  an  upright  business  man  and  in  all  respects 
a  worthy  citizen. 

Mrs.  Bretch  is  a  daughter  of  Benjamin  Franklin  Schafer,  who  was  born 
in  1840,  and  resided  in  Allegheny  county.  He  is  a  Republican  and  his  sons 
also  belong  to  that  party.  The  family  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  and 
Methodist  Episcopal  churches. 

Mr.  Schafer  married  Elizabeth,  born  1833,  daughter  of  George  Drake, 
of  Pittsburg,  and  their  children  were :  Sarah,  wife  of  Andrew  Young,  of 
Pittsburg ;  Henry,  married  Mary  Bradley,  of  this  city ;  Susan,  wife  of  John 
McConnell,  of  Pittsburg;  John,  died  unmarried;  George;  and  Elizabeth  D., 
born  August  24,  i860,  in  West  End,  Pittsburg,  is  the  widow  of  Frederick 
Bretch. 

PAUL  S.  RANDOLPH,  of  the  firm  of  Randolph  &  McClements,  and 
one  of  Pittsburg's  most  enterprising  and  successful  business  men,  was  born 
October  2,  1850,  at  McKeesport,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  son  of  Na- 
thaniel Randolph  and  grandson  of  Ichabod  Randolph,  who  was  a  native  of 
Virginia,  whence  he  migrated  to  Allegheny  county  and  engaged  in  farming  -at 
Tarentum.  He  served  in  the  war  of  1812,  losing  one  leg  and  receiving  other 
serious  injuries. 

Ichabod  Randolph  married  a  Miss  Legget,  who  bore  his  fourteen  children, 
four  sons  and  ten  daughters.  The  sons  were :  John,  Paul  S.,  Joseph  and 
Nathaniel,  of  whom  later.  Of  these  sons,  Joseph  served  in  the  Civil  war 
with  the  rank  of  captain  and  was  severely  wounded.  He  had  three  sons 
in  his  own  company,  all  of  whom  gave  their  lives  for  their  country.  Ichabod 
Randolph,  the  father,  died  at  an  advanced  age.  He  was  a  man  who  com- 
manded the  respect  of  the  entire  community. 

Nathaniel  Randolph,  son  of  Ichabod  Randolph,  conducted  a  general 
store  at  Fort  Perry,  Pennsylvania.  He  married  Elizabeth  Kier,  and  the 
following  children  were  born  to  them :  Cornelia,  widow  of  Leslie  Beaty, 
two  sons,  Harold  and  Vernon ;  Margaret,  died  at  the  ag-e  of  fourteen ;  Paul 
S.,  of  whom  later;  Ella,  wife  of  Chester  A.  Robie ;  children,  Frederick, 
George,  Elizabeth  and  Sarah;  and  Elijah  N.,  of  Pittsburg,  chief  clerk  in  the 
county  comptroller's  office.  These  children  were  deprived  of  their  father 
while  the  latter  was  still  a  young  man,  his  death  occurring  when  he  was  about 
thirty-six  years  old. 

Paul  S.  Randolph,  son  of  Nathaniel  and  Elizabeth  (Kier)  Randolph, 
received  a  very  limited  education  in  the  public  schools,  and  at  the  early  age 
of  eleven,  having  lost  his  father,  left  home  and  began  to  earn  his  livelihood. 
At  fourteen  he  besran  to  learn  the  business  of  a  florist  in  the  establishment 


36  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

of  John  R.  &  A.  Murdock,  with  whom  he  served  nine  years,  at  the  end  of 
that  time  becoming  superintendent  of  the  business  of  Highland  &  King  in 
Allegheny.  After  holding  this  position  three  years  he  entered  the  service 
of  E.  H.  Bachman,  of  Turtle  Creek,  by  whom  he  was  employed  two  years  at 
the  Knox  fruit  farm.  In  1878  he  embarked  in  business  for  himself,  leasing 
a  greenhouse  on  the  Charles  Armstrong  place  and  having  an  office  on  Penn 
avenue.  East  Liberty.  The  enterprise  prospered,  and  for  about  eight  years 
he  conducted  a  successful  business.  He  then  purchased  the  business  of  R. 
C.  Patterson  on  Ellsworth  avenue,  and  after  conducting  it  ten  years  bought 
out  his  first  employers,  John  R.  &  A.  Murdock,  on  Forbes  street,  carrying 
on  the  business  successfully  for  twelve  years.  He  next  became  the  owner  of 
the  business  of  Charles  Seibert,  from  whose  estate  he  purchased  it.  Mr. 
Randolph's  plant,  which  is  one  of  the  largest  in  western  Pennsylvania,  is  situ- 
ated on  Stanton  avenue,  in  the  Eighteenth  ward  of  the  city.  He  has  over 
one  hundred  and  fifty  thousand  square  feet  of  glass  and  is  in  every  way 
equipping  and  using  his  plant  to  meet  the  demands  of  his  trade.  He  has  sev- 
eral stores  in  the  city,  his  main  place  of  business  being  at  the  corner  of  Baum 
and  Beaty  streets.  He  gives  employment  in  all  to  eighty  men  and  has  eighteen 
wagons  on  the  road. 

He  is  interested  in  several  other  enterprises,  including  the  Crown  laundry, 
and  has  found  the  buying  and  selling  of  real  estate  extremely  profitable.  He 
is  a  stockholder  in  the  East  End  Savings  &  Trust  Company.  Bfis  present 
residence,  the  building  of  which  was  recently  completed,  is  on  the  corner  of 
Stanton  avenue  and  McKee  street.  In  politics  he  is  a  Republican,  but 
takes  no  active  part  in  public  affairs,  his  extensive  business  interests  demand- 
ing his  entire  time  and  attention.  He  was  brought  up  in  the  Presbyterian 
faith.  Every  cause  having  for  its  object  the  advancement  of  the  welfare  of 
the  community  finds  in  him  a  liberal  supporter. 

Mr.  Randolph  married,  in  August,  1891,  Anna,  daughter  of  Frederick 
and  Louisa  (Hartman)  Ortman.  Mrs.  Randolph  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  but 
both  her  parents  are  natives  of  Germany.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Randolph  are  the 
parents  of  two  sons :  Paul  S.,  Jr.,  born  July  28,  1892,  and  Stewart  N.,  born 
May  12,  1895. 


McMUNN  FAMILY.  The  pioneer  ancestor  of  this  family  came  to  this 
country  at  an  early  date,  and  was  actively  and  prominently  identified  with  the 
agricultural  interests  of  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  settling  near  Turtle 
Creek,  where  he  owned  and  conducted  a  large  farm.  He  married  and  reared 
a  family  of  five  children,  three  sons,  George,  David  and  John,  and  two  daugh- 
ters. 

John  McMunn,  son  of  the  pioneer,  was  born  near  Turtle  Creek,  Pennsyl- 
vania, March  12,  1825,  died  at  Crafton,  same  state,  September  16,  1883.  He 
received  a  good  education  for  those  days,  and  chose  for  his  life  work  the  occu- 
pation of  farming.  His  boyhood  was  spent  on  the  farm  of  his  uncle,  and  the 
greater  part  of  his  manhood  was  spent  in  the  vicinity  of  Crafton.  Being  a 
man  of  the  strictest  integrity,  kind  and  amiable  in  disposition,  he  won  and 
retained  the  esteem  of  all  with  whom  he  was  brought  in  contact.  He  was  a 
devout  Christian,  a  member  of  the  Mt.  Pisgah  Presbyterian  church,  to  which 


MRS.  JANE  McMUNN. 


JOHN  McMUNN. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  37 

he  contributed  liberally  both  of  time  and  money.  After  his  marriage  he  set- 
tled on  a  part  of  the  old  Dinsmore  farm,  and  erected  a  house  which  is  standing 
at  the  present  time  ( 1908).  His  portion  of  the  estate  consisted  of  about  twenty 
acres,  which  he  brought  under  a  high  state  of  cultivation,  and  it  is  now  a  part 
of  Crafton  Borough  and  contains  many  buildings. 

John  McMunn  married,  J\Iarch  22,  1855,  Jane  Dinsmore,  born  December 
I,  1834,  and  died  January  3.  1899,  daughter  of  Henry  and  Margaret  (Crum) 
Dinsmore.  Mrs.  McMunn  was  an  earnest  church  worker,  and  contributed  gen- 
erously to  all  appeals  for  the  aid  of  the  sick  and  suffering.  She  was  for  many 
years  a  member  of  Alt.  Pisgah  Presbyterian  church,  but  after  the  death  of  her 
husband  united  with  the  Hawthorne  Avenue  Presbyterian  church.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  McMunn  are  buried  in  Chartiers  cemetery.  Their  children  were:  i. 
Margaret,  wife  of  John  Limbaugh,  children:  John,  George,  William,  Fred, 
Charles,  Mary  and  Irvin ;  the  family  reside  in  Crafton,  in  the  old  home  of  John 
McMunn.  2.  Nancy  Elizabeth,  resides  at  her  home  in  Crafton,  where  she  has 
built  two  fine  residences.  She  is  an  active  working  member  of  the  Hawthorne 
Avenue  Presbyterian  church.  3.  Harry  Dinsmore,  see  forward.  4.  Ida  S.  J., 
educated  in  the  schools  of  Crafton,  Pittsburg,  and  Curry's  Institute,  and  after- 
wards taught  six  years  in  the  school  of  Crafton ;  she  has  built  a  fine  residence 
in  Crafton  at  66  Dinsmore  avenue,  where  she  resides.  She  is  a  member  of  the 
Hawthorne  Avenue  Presbyterian  church,  and  takes  an  active  interest  in  the 
Sunday-school  work  of  the  church,  where  she  is  a  teacher.  5.  Mary,  died  in 
infancy,  as  did  an  infant  unnamed.  6.  John  D.,  born  October  30,  1868,  died 
October  13,  1892,  buried  in  the  family  lot  in  Chartiers  cemetery.  He  attended 
Duff's  College,  and  at  the  time  of  his  demise  was  a  clerk  in  the  office  of  the 
Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company.  He  was  unmarried  and  resided  at  home  with 
his  mother.  He  was  an  earnest  Christian,  member  of  the  First  Presbyterian 
church  of  Crafton,  and  active  in  the  affairs  of  the  Sunday-school,  of  which  he 
was  treasurer.  7.  David,  born  March  31,  1871,  died  November  11,  1878,  buried 
in  the  family  lot  in  Chartiers  cemetery. 

Harry  Dinsmore  McMunn,  eldest  son  of  John  and  Jane  (Dinsmore) 
McMunn,  was  born  in  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  May  9,  i860.  He 
attended  the  public  schools  and  completed  his  studies  at  Duff's  College.  At 
the  age  of  sixteen  he  engaged  in  trucking  on  his  own  account,  continuing  the 
same  until  he  attained  his  majority.  He  then  learned  the  trade  of  polisher 
with  the  Idlewood  Novelty  Works,  at  Idlewood,  Pennsylvania,  and  after 
serving  for  a  period  of  six  years  relinquished  the  same  and  turned  his  attention 
to  truck  farming,  which  he  followed  with  success  for  seven  years.  He  then 
engaged  in  the  business  of  contracting  and  hauling,  which  has  proved  exceed- 
ingly profitable.  He  has  served  as  a  street  commissioner  and  as  assessor  five 
years  for  the  borough  of  Crafton,  having  been  elected  on  the  Republican 
ticket.  He  is  a  member  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church,  to  the  building  of 
which  edifice  he  was  a  liberal  contributor.  He  is  a  member  of  Crafton  Lodge, 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  of  the  Heptasophs. 

Harry  D.  McMunn  married,  October  28,  1885,  Mary  Blanche  Brackney, 
daughter  of  Benjamin  S.  and  Jane  (Phillips)  Brackney.  Children:  Margaret 
Blanche,  Clarence  Edward,  deceased ;  Harry  Dinsmore,  Jr.,  Jane  D.  The 
family  resides  at  No.  12  Johnson  street,  Crafton,  in  a  residence  built  by  Mr. 
McMunn  in  1893.     He  has  other  real  estate  interests  in  Crafton. 


38  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

WILLIAM  C.  HEINS,  one  of  the  largest  property  owners  and  real 
estate  dealers  in  the  Pittsburg  suburb  known  as  Homewood,  was  born  in 
East  Liberty,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  February  29,  1864,  the  son 
of  Conrad  and  Margaret  (Rapp)  Heins.  The  father  was  a  native  of  Ger- 
many, born  February  20,  1801.  He  came  to  America  in  1856,  from  Darm- 
stadt, Germany,  and  was  among  the  pioneers  to  settle  at  East  Liberty,  Penn- 
sylvania. He  followed  farming,  and  later  was  employed  by  the  railroad  com- 
pany. He  died  July  2,  1874.  He  married  Miss  Margaret  Rapp,  born  August 
7,  1825,  and  they  were  the  parents  of:  Theodore,  born  September  19,  1856; 
Philip,  born  March  24,  1859;  Margaret,  born  June  6,  1861 ;  and  the  subject, 
William  C.  Heins,  born  February  29,  1864.  Mrs.  Conrad  Heins  died  July 
17,  1907. 

William  C.  Heins  received  his  education  at  the  public  schools  of  the 
Twentieth  ward  of  the  city  of  Pittsburg,  after  which  he  entered  the  employ 
of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Works  and  continued  there  for  twenty-seven  years. 
In  1887  he  moved  to  Homewood,  where  he  is  now  doing  an  extensive  real 
estate  business  and  owns  many  pieces  of  valuable  property. 

Politically  Mr.  Heins  is  a  supporter  of  the  Republican  party  and  in  re- 
ligious faith  is  a  Lutheran.  He  belongs  to  Lodge  No.  11  of  the  order  of 
Elks,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Homewood  Board  of  Trade.  He  has  been 
prominent  in  the  building  and  financial  circles  of  Pittsburg  and  has  been  active 
in  advancing  any  measure  which  tended  to  the  improvement  of  the  city ; 
notably  in  the  building  up  of  Homewood,  where  he  erected  one  of  the  finest 
business  blocks  in  that  part  of  the  city. 


WILLIAM  BEGGS  DESHON,  prominent  in  the  building  and  financial 
circles  of  Pittsburg,  has  been  active  in  advancing  any  measure  which  tended 
to  the  improvement  of  the  city.  He  resides  at  No.  7218  Race  street,  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania,  and  is  also  closely  identified  with  the  hotel  life  of  that 
city,  associated  with  his  father  in  the  conduct  of  a  hotel. 

Charles  B.  Deshon,  father  of  William  Beggs  Deshon,  was  born  in  Calais, 
Maine,  January  2,  1830.  His  education  was  acquired  in  the  public  schools, 
but  he  was  only  able  to  attend  the  winter  sessions.  He  was,  however,  am- 
bitious and  determined  and  made  the  most  of  his  opportunities.  He  removed 
to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  1858,  where  he  established  himself  in  the  iron 
business,  with  which  he  was  connected  for  three  years,  at  the  end  of  which 
time  he  received  a  government  appointment.  Since  the  close  of  the  Civil 
war  he  has  been  identified  with  the  hotel  business  and  is  at  present  proprietor 
of  the  Hotel  Kenmawr.  He  married  Ellen  J.  Beggs  and  has  had  children: 
William  Beggs,  of  whom  see  forward;  Charles  B.,  born  July  26,  1875;  Ellen 
R.,  born  April  29,  1871 ;  Rachel;  and  Sarah  J.,  born  April  10,  1877.  Mrs. 
Deshon  died  April  27,  1899. 

William  Beggs  Deshon,  son  of  Charles  B.  and  Ellen  J.  (Beggs)  Deshon, 
was  born  in  Chicago,  Illinois,  June  6,  1863.  He  acquired  a  good  education 
in  the  public  schools  of  that  city,  and  the  first  step  in  his  business  career  was 
the  acceptance  of  a  position  with  the  Phoenix  Glass  Company,  with  whom  he 
remained  for  some  time.  Later  he  became  associated  with  his  father  in  the 
hotel  business,  and  is  still  associated  with  him  in  the  management  of  the  Hotel 
Kenmawr.     His  enterprise  and  progress  have  displayed  themselves  in  other 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  39 


fields  as  well — notably  in  the  building  up  of  Belmar,  where  he  erected  seven- 
teen houses  at  a  cost  of  one  hundred  and  twenty  thousand  dollars,  and  the 
first  business  block  in  that  section,  at  a  cost  of  sixty-five  thousand  dollars. 
He  married  Seba  Revolt,  daughter  of  John  and  Caroline  Revolt,  of  Piqua, 
Ohio. 

JOSEPH  B.  KEARNEY,  the  present  teller  in  the  Mellon  &  Son's  bank- 
ing institution  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  in  Hempfield  township, 
Westmoreland  county,  near  Greensburg,  Pennsylvania.  He  is  the  son  of 
Daniel  Francis  and  Sabilla  (Smith)  Kearney. 

(I)  John  Kearney  (grandfather)  was  born  in  1818,  in  county  Tyrone, 
Ireland.  He  came  to  America  in  1840  with  his  wife,  whom  he  had  married 
in  England.  They  settled  near  Salem,  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania, 
where  they  were  industrious  and  well-to-do  farmers.  John  Kearney  died  in 
August,  1901.  He  was  a  Democrat  in  politics  and  both  were  Catholic  in 
their  religious  faith.  Their  children  were :  Michael,  Daniel  Francis,  John 
Peter,  James,  Annie  and  Bridget. 

(H)  Daniel  Francis  Kearney,  the  subject's  father,  was  born  May  17, 
1844,  in  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  received  his  education  at 
the  old,  well  known  "Huckleberry  school  house,"  in  Unity  township  in  his 
native  county.  He  is  a  farmer  and  in  politics  a  Democrat.  He  has  served 
as  one  of  the  road  supervisors  in  Hempfield  township,  Westmoreland  county, 
for  a  term  of  four  years.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic  church  at  Greens- 
burg, Pennsylvania. 

He  married,  October  26,  1867,  Miss  Sabilla,  daughter  of  Jacob  and  Mary 
(Rugh)  Smith,  who  were  well-to-do  farmers  of  Hempfield  township,  West- 
moreland county,  Pennsylvania.  The  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Daniel 
F.  Carney  are  as  follows:  i.  Emma.  2.  John.  3.  Charles.  4.  Mary. 
5.  Joseph  B.,  the  subject.  6.  Daniel  Francis,  Jr.  7.  Regis  Canevin.  8.  Lu- 
cien  Doty. 

(HI)  Joseph  B.  Kearney,  fifth  child  of  Daniel  F.  and  Sabilla  (Smith) 
Kearney,  was  educated  at  the  public  schools  of  Greensburg,  Pennsylvania,  and 
at  that  most  excellent  institution,  St.  Vincent's  Monastery,  of  Westmoreland 
county,  Pennsylvania.  He  became  the  teller  at  the  Mellon  bank  in  Pittsburg, 
which  place  he  still  holds  with  much  credit  to  himself  and  the  management  of 
this  banking  house,  so  well  known  in  western  Pennsylvania.  • 

Air.  Kearney  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic  church  at  Greensburg,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  in  politics  is  a  Democrat. 


CAPTAIN  JOHN  P.  SUTER  was  born  February  25,  1837,  in  Hagers- 
town,  Maryland,  and  died  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  on  Easter  Sunday,  April 
10,  1887.  His  father  was  Peter  Suter,  born  in  same  place  July  17,  1806,  and 
died  in  Cumberland,  Maryland,  June  8,  1897.  He  was  a  tailor  and  a  member 
of  the  German  Lutheran  church.  He  was  of  German  parentage.  His  mother 
was  Amelia  Renner,  a  daughter  of  Jacob  and  Mary  Creager  Renner.  She 
died  in  Cumberland,  Maryland,  November  7,  1895.  Her  great-grandfather 
was  a  soldier  in  the  American  army  during  the  Revolutionary  war,  said  to  be 
in  a  German  regiment.  Her  marriage  took  place  May  9,  1833.  Peter  Suter 
was  the  great-grandfather  of  Captain  Suter  and  was  born  in  Germany.     He 


40  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

also  became  a  soldier  in  the  Continental  army.  He  married  Catherine  Irvin. 
The  brothers  and  sisters  of  Captain  Suter  were:  Amelia,  born  March  4, 
1834;  Mary  Anne,  September  3,  1835;  Caroline,  September  29,  1838;  Marie, 
January  5,  1840;  Emma,  July  24,  1841,  died  October  15,  1842;  Jacob  A., 
April  9,  1843;  Adline,  October  10,  1844;  Sarah,  April  13,  1846,  and  Emma 
Suter,  July  17,  1848. 

Captain  Suter  was  married  to  Emma  Augusta  Vickroy  August  30,  1864, 
at  Ferndale,  near  Johnstown,  Pennsylvania,  by  the  Rev.  B.  L.  Agnew,  while 
on  a  few  days  leave  of  absence  from  the  Army  of  the  Shenandoah,  under 
Major  General  P.  H.  Sheridan.  Mrs.  Suter  was  the  seventh  daughter  of 
Edwin  Augustus  Vickroy  and  Cornelia  Harlan  Vickroy,  and  granddaughter 
of  Thomas  Vickroy,  who  served  as  an  ofificer  under  General  George  Clark  in 
Kentucky  and  the  west  in  the  Revolutionary  war.  The  father  and  grand- 
father were  by  occupation  land  surveyors.  Their  children  were:  i.  PhiHp, 
born  August  27,  1865,  at  Ferndale,  married  Ida  May  Oliver,  March  11,  1896, 
at  Braddock,  Pennsylvania,  and  now  resides  in  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania. 
2.  Eugene,  who  died  in  his  infancy,  in  1868.  3.  Cornelia  Vickroy,  born  in 
Pittsburg,  February  11,  1870,  died  there  May  17,  1889.  4.  Frederic  John, 
born  in  Pittsburg,  November  19,  1871,  died  there  May  21,  1896.  5.  Rufus 
Orlanda,  born  in  Pittsburg,  January  25,  1875,  there  married  Mary  Clarine 
Beatty,  January  4,  1904,  and  now  resides  in  Pittsburg.  6.  Francis  Leon, 
born  in  Pittsburg,  January  9,  1877,  there  married  Mary  Metcalf  Barr,  October 
21,  1903;  resides  there.  7.  Herman  Alexander,  born  in  Pittsburg,  November 
25,  1880,  married  Anna  Smart,  July  14,  1903,  at  same  place,  and  resides  there. 
8.    Jean  Augusta,  born  in  Pittsburg,  April  7,  1884,  died  there  April  6,  1888. 

Captain  Suter  was  engaged  prior  to  the  Civil  war  as  a  telegraph  operator. 
He  was  first  lieutenant  in  Captain  John  M.  Power's  company,  known  as  the 
Johnstown  Zouaves,  when  the  war  began.  His  company  was  tendered  and 
accepted  by  Governor  A.  G.  Curtin,  and  left  Johnstown  for  Harrisburg  on 
April  17,  1861,  within  forty-eight  hours  after  President  Lincoln's  call  was 
made  known.  His  company  and  that  of  Captain  Lapsley  were  the  first  to 
enter  Camp  Curtin,  On  April  20  it  was  mustered  in  as  Company  K,  Third 
Regiment  of  the  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  under  the  command  of  Colonel 
Francis  P.  Minier,  for  three  months'  service.  At  that  time  Captain  Power 
was  elected  lieutenant  colonel,  and  Lieutenant  Suter  was  made  captain.  His 
company  served  in  Maryland,  Virginia,  and  on  the  border  of  Pennsylvania 
for  the  term,  and  was  mustered  out  July  30,  1861.  He  immediately  raised 
another  company  in  Johnstown,  which  became  Company  A  in  the  Fifty-fourth 
Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Infantry,  under  the  command  of  Colonel  J.  M.  Camp- 
bell. He  was  mustered  in  at  Harrisburg  August  6,  1861.  On  February  27, 
1862,  his  regiment  was  taken  to  Washington  city  for  the  defence  of  the  capital 
and  entered  camp  near  Bladensburg.  On  March  29  it  was  ordered  to  Harper's 
Ferry,  Virginia,  and  his  company  was  located  at  the  South  Branch  bridge,  on 
the  Baltimore  and  Ohio  Railroad,  to  guard  that  great  military  highway.  It 
continued  along  this  line  until  January  5,  1864,  when  it  was  taken  to  the  de- 
fense of  Cumberland,  Maryland,  where  it  remained  in  that  vicinitv  until  May 
2,  1864. 

On  that  day,  in  pursuance  of  the  broad  and  energetic  plan  of  General 
Grant  for  a  movement  of  all  the  armies  all  along  the  line  for  the  campaign  of 
1864,  his  regiment  being  in  the  Third  Brigade,  Third  Division  of  the  Depart- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  41 


ment  of  West  Virginia,  under  the  command  of  Major  General  Franz  Sigel, 
entered  the  Shenandoah  Valley.  He  was  succeeded  by  Major  General  David 
Hunter,  who  was  also  succeeded  by  Major  General  George  Crook,  when  his 
regiment  was  transferred  to  the  Third  Brigade  of  the  Second  Division. 

Captain  Suter  participated  in  all  the  engagements  of  his  company  and 
regiment  while  in  the  service,  as  follows,  all  in  Virginia :  Battle  Creek,  Sep- 
tember II,  1862;  North  Mountain,  September  12,  1862;  Back  Creek  Bridge, 
September  21,  1862;  Purgitsville,  April  4,  1863;  New  Market,  May  15,  1864; 
New  Market,  IMay  26,  1864;  Piedmont,  June  5,  1864;  Lexington,  June  ii, 
1864;  Lynchburg,  June  17  and  18,  1864;  and  the  terrible  retreat  across  the 
mountains  to  Camp  Piatt;  Snicker's  Gap,  July  18,  1864;  near  Winchester, 
July  19,  1864;  Kernstown,  or  Island  Ford,  July  23,  1864;  Winchester,  July 
24,  1864;  Martinsburg,  July  2'5,  1864;  Berryville,  September  3,  1864;  Opequon 
Creek.  September  19,  1864;  Cedar  Creek,  or  Winchester,  October  19,  1864; 
and  Fisher's  Hill,  October  19,  1864,  in  Sheridan's  brilliant  victory. 

Owing  to  the  casualties  at  and  in  the  vicinity  of  Winchester,  July  23-25, 
he  was  the  senior  officer  and  commanded  the  Third  Brigade  in  the  Third 
Division.  He  also  commanded  the  Fifty-fourth  Regiment  at  the  battles  of 
Cedar  Creek  and  Fisher's  Hill,  under  Major  General  Sheridan. 

Captain  Suter  was  a  gallant  officer  and  a  superb  tactician,  and  for  these 
and  other  gentlemanly  qualities  Major  General  George  Crook,  under  whom 
he  served,  gave  him  this  document : 

Headquarters  Department  West  Virginia. 

Cumberland,  Md.,  Feb.  3,   1865. 

His  Excellency  A.  G.  Curtin,  Governor  of  Pennsylvania. 

Governor :  I  take  pleasure  in  recommending  to  your  consideration  John 
Suter,  late  captain  Company  A,  Fifty-fourth  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  who 
served  under  my  command  through  the  entire  campaign  in  the  Shenandoah — 
commanding  his  regiment  at  the  battle  of  Opequon — Fisher's  Hill  and  Cedar 
Creek. 

He  is  a  worthy  and  a  gallant  officer.  I  commend  him  to  your  Excellency 
— any  position  you  may  see  fit  to  give  will  be  worthily  bestowed. 

I  am,  Governor,  very  respectfully,  your  obedient  servant, 

George  Crook, 
Major  General  Commanding. 

Captain  Suter  was  honorably  discharged  on  the  expiration  of  his  enlist- 
ment on  December  15,  1864,  and  at  the  solicitation  of  Andrew  Carnegie,  who 
was  then  superintendent  of  the  Pittsburg  Division  of  the  Pennsylvania  Rail- 
road, he  entered  the  train  master's  office  in  February,  1865,  and  in  October 
following  he  was  appointed  chief  operator  of  the  telegraph  department  of  that 
division,  where  he  served  until  his  death. 

He  was  connected  with  the  New  Jerusalem  church  of  Allegheny  City, 
Pennsylvania,  and  a  member  of  McPherson  Post  No.  117,  Grand  Army  of  the 
Republic,  at  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania. 

In  his  view  of  fidelity  to  his  country  and  the  railroad  company,  he  as- 
sumed a  prominent  part  in  the  suppression  of  the  revolution  in  Pittsburg, 
known  as  the  railroad  riots,  in  July,  1877,  which  was  the  most  trying  incident 


42  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


of  his  life.     The  horrible  acts  and  scenes  which  he  saw  and  passed  through 
produced  a  partial  collapse  of  his  mind,  which  caused  his  death. 

For  further  military  particulars,  see  the  history  of  the  Fifty-fourth  Regi- 
ment and  other  military  organizations  from  Cambria  county,  and  the  graphic 
war  letters  of  Captain  Suter  in  another  volume  of  this  work.  Also  in  the 
Century  edition  of  the  "Battles  and  Leaders  of  the  Civil  War,"  volume  4, 
pages  489  and  531,  and  elsewhere  therein. 


EDWIN  TOBIAS  McGOUGH,  recently  appointed  captain  of  the  city 
detective  force  in  Pittsburg,  was  born  at  Chest  Springs,  Cambria  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, July  8,  1869,  a  son  of  Silas  A.  and  Mary  R.  (Wharton)  McGough. 
The  first  of  this  family  to  come  to  America  on  the  paternal  side  was  Arthur 
McGough,  a  native  of  Ireland,  who  came  about  1790.  He  was  a  merchant  in 
Philadelphia,  later  came  to  Westmoreland  county,  and  thence  to  Cambria 
county.     His  wife  was  a  native  of  Scotland. 

(II)  James  McGough  was  born  in  1796  and  died  November  25,  1870.  He 
was  a  son  of  the  founder  of  the  family  in  this  country ;  settled  in  Clearfield 
township,  near  Loretto,  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  was  one  of 
the  early  pioneers ;  was  well  known  as  a  hardworking,  honest  man,  greatly 
respected,  and  was  a  man  of  means.  His  elder  brother,  John  McGough,  was 
the  first  sheriff  of  Cambria  county,  and  was  a  member  of  the  first  board  of 
school  directors  of  that  county.  James  McGough  married,  November  1,  1822, 
Margaret  Glass,  to  whom  were  born  ten  children:  i.  Ellen  (Mrs.  Mathew 
Ivory).  2.  George  Chrysostom.  3.  Susan  (Mrs.  Joseph  Dodson).  4.  Charles. 
5.  Ann.  6.  James  Edward.  7.  Silas  Augustine,  subject's  father.  8.  An- 
drew Tobias.  9.  Demetrius  Augustine.  10.  Margaret  (Mrs.  Jacob  Buck). 
Charles  was  a  soldier  in  the  Civil  war,  serving  in  the  One  Hundred  and  Twenty- 
fifth  and  Eighty-second  Pennsylvania  Regiments  of  Volunteers.  Andrew  T. 
was  a  second  lieutenant  in  the  same  company  with  his  brother. 

Margaret  Glass,  the  mother  of  this  family,  was  the  daughter  of  George 
and  Susan  (Daugherty)  Glass,  and  was  born  near  Munster,  Cambria  county, 
Pennsylvania,  in  1801.  Her  father,  George  Glass,  was  born  April  i,  1770, 
and  died  January  18,  1821.  Susan  Daugherty  was  born  January  14,  1781, 
and  died  May  10,  1863.  She  was  probably  born  in  New  Jersey  and  has  many 
prominent  relatives  living  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  descendants  of  her 
brother.  George  Glass  and  Susan  Daugherty  were  married  by  the  Prince 
Priest  of  Loretto,  Demetrius  A.  Gallitzin,  and  their  children  were  baptized 
by  him. 

(III)  Silas  Augustine  McGough,  son  of  James  and  Margaret   (Glass) 

, McGough,  was  born  at  the  old  McGough  homestead,  Clearfield  township,  near 
Loretto,  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  July  25,  1836.  By  profession  he  was 
ii  civil  engineer,  but  on  account  of  injuries  received  in  the  Civil  war,  in  which 
he  was  a  soldier,  he  could  not  follow  it  longer.  For  many  years  he  was  a 
hotel  keeper.  He  also  served  two  terms  as  chief  of  police  at  Altoona,  Penn- 
sylvania, the  first  time  under  Mayor  Breth  (Democratic)  and  the  second  term 
■under  Colonel  Burchfield  (Republican).  He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
of  his  home  neighborhood,  was  politically  a  Democrat  and  in  religious  faith  a 
Roman  Catholic.  He  married  Miss  Mary  Rosalia  Wharton,  eldest  daughter 
of  Joseph  and  Catherine  (Bender)  Wharton.     She  was  born  near  St.  Angus- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  43 


tine,  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  April  14,  1849.  She  is  a  descendant  of 
the  old  English  family  of  Whartons  which  dates  back  to  the  fifteenth  century. 
Her  father  was  a  farmer.  His  ancestors  came  to  this  country  before  the 
Revolutionary  war,  but  the  papers  containing  the  family  record  were  destroyed 
by  fire  at  the  home  of  Miss  Alice  Wharton,  sister  of  Joseph  Wharton,  several 
years  ago. 

Joseph  Wharton  was  a  son  of  Stanislaus  Wharton  and  wife  Mary  Mc- 
Connell,  and  was  born  in  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania  about  1818.  Stanislaus 
Wharton's  mother  was  Ann  Knopp,  and  is  said  to  have  been  the  daughter  of 
a  prime  minister  of  England  to  Poland.  Mary  McConnell  was  a  native  of 
Ireland,  and  was  brought  to  this  country  by  her  parents  when  a  few  months 
old,  probably  about  1793. 

Catherine  Bender  was  the  daughter  of  Americus  "Emmerick"  Bender  and 
Mary  Magdalene  Yost,  and  was  born  in  Carrolltown,  Cambria  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, November  12,  1821.  .When  about  eighteen  years  of  age  she  married 
Joseph  Wharton.  Five  children  were  born  to  them:  i.  James,  who  was  a 
soldier  in  the  Civil  war,  a  veteran,  and  was  a  prisoner  at  Libby  prison,  Rich- 
mond, Virginia,  for  nearly  one  year.  2.  Charles.  3.  Mary  R.  4.  Alice. 
5.  Ellie.  Shortly  after  the  youngest  child  was  born,  Joseph  Wharton  was 
kicked  by  a  horse,  which  caused  his  death,  and  Catherine  (Bender)  Wharton 
then  married  in  about  three  years  Thomas  Wilt,  by  whom  three  children  were 
born.  She  died  February  20,  1904,  at  Ashville,  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania, 
and  was  buried  at  St.  Augustine,  Cambria  county,  having  been  all  her  life  a 
faithful  member  of  St.  Augustine  Catholic  church. 

Americus  Bender  was  the  son  of  John  Jacob  Bender,  a  poor  gunsmith  of 
Westphalia  in  Holland.  The  latter  longed  to  come  to  this  country  to  better 
his  condition  and  that  of  his  family,  but  being  so  poor  he  could  not  come 
unless  he  sold  himself  and  family  as  slaves,  as  was  customary  in  those  days 
for  immigrants  to  sell  themselves  on  landing  in  this  country  in  order  to  pay 
their  fare.  In  the  year  1795  he  set  sail  with  his  wife  and  four  children  for 
Philadelphia,  and  on  their  arrival  there  each  one  was  sold  for  their  individual 
fare  and  were  purchased  by  different  masters,  the  Quakers  being  the  buyers. 
After  the  parents  had  served  their  time  they  came  to  Cambria  county  and 
settled  between  Buck's  Mills  and  Loretto,  where  they  lived  until  the  death  of 
Mr.  Bender  in  1829,  he  then  being  eighty-nine  years  of  age.  He  made  a  clock 
which  served  as  a  timepiece  for  the  family  until  his  death.  This  was  no  doubt 
blie  first  clock  made  west  of  the  Allegheny  mountains.  Mrs.  Bender,  notwith- 
standing all  the  hardships  which  the  early  pioneers  were  subject  to,  lived  to 
the  ripe  old  age  of  one  hundred  years.  As  the  children  served  out  their  time, 
which  was  when  they  reached  twenty-one  years  of  age,  they  followed  their 
parents  to  Cambria  county,  with  the  exception  of  William,  who  settled  in 
Maryland.  Americus,  or  "Emmerick,"  the  oldest  of  the  children  who  came  to 
this  country,  was  set  free  by  his  master  at  the  funeral  of  George  Washington, 
whither  he  had  taken  him.  His  master  was  Colonel  Caleb  Davis,  of  Philadel- 
phia. The  same  year,  1799,  he  came  to  Cambria  county,  and  in  1808  married 
Mary  Magdalene  Yost  and  settled  on  the  farm  known  as  the  Henry  Bender 
farm.  In  1810  Americus  walked  to  Philadelphia  to  get  his  sister,  Mary  Ann, 
whose  time  had  expired.     The  next  year  she  was  married  to  John  Byrne. 

When  the  war  of  1812-14  broke  out  Americus  formed  a  party  of  hardy 
mountaineers  and  was  chosen  lieutenant.     They  marched  through  the  forest  to 


44  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

Lake  Erie,  where  they  assisted  in  freeing  the  American  soil,  from  British  sol- 
diers. He  later  became  known  as  "Old  Squire  Bender."  He  was  one  of  the 
commissioners  at  the  erection  of  the  old  court  house ;  served  as  a  juryman  at 
the  first  court  held  in  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  also  served  as  county 
auditor,  and  in  1827  as  county  commissioner. 

John  Jacob  Bender  was  born  January  31,  1740,  and  died  December  6, 
1829.  Americus  Bender  was  born  November  13,  1784,  and  died  January  26, 
1868. 

(IV)  Edwin  Tobias  McGough,  son  of  Silas  A.  and  Mary  R.  (Wharton) 
McGough,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  at  the  parochial  schools  of 
Altoona,  Pennsylvania.  He  entered  the  detective  force  for  the  city  of  Pitts- 
burg April  6,  1903,  and  was  appointed  captain  of  detectives  June.i,  1907. 
Politically  Captain  McGough  is  independent  and  in  the  church  faith  he  is  a 
Roman  Catholic,  holding  membership  with  the  Holy  Rosary  Catholic  church 
at  Homewood.     He  belongs  to  the  Brotherhood  of  Elks. 

Pie  was  united  in  marriage,  June  20,  1896,  to  Anna  Elizabeth  Haggerty, 
of  Bay  City,  Michigan.  Mr.  Haggerty  was  born  in  Vermont  and  Mrs.  Hag- 
gerty in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania.  The  former  was  a  steamboat  captain. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  McGough  are  the  parents  of  two  children — Charles  Wharton, 
born  at  Altoona,  Pennsylvania,  July  4,  1898;  Thomas  Francis,  born  in  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania,  December  4,  1906. 


ROBERT  J.  MACRORY,  one  of  the  younger  generation  of  Pittsburg 
business  men,  was  born  October  4,  1863,  in  county  Down,  Ireland,  a  son  of 
Rev.  David  Macrory  and  grandson  of  David  Macrory,  a  prosperous  farmer 
and  land  owner  of  that  county. 

David  Macrory,  Jr.,  son  of  David  Macrory,  Sr.,  was  born  in  1820,  in 
county  Down,  and  worked  on  the  farm  until  attaining  his  majority,  when 
he  entered  Belfast  University  and  prepared  for  the  ministry.  After  his  ordina- 
tion Mr.  Macrory  was  assigned  to  the  Baptist  congregation  at  Derryneil, 
where  he  remained  two  years.  This  was  a  small  charge,  and  during  his 
pastorate  a  new  church  was  built,  the  first  in  that  vicinity.  For  two  months  of 
each  year  Mr.  Macrory  traveled  through  England,  Ireland,  Scotland  and 
Wales,  preaching  the  gospel  and  interpreting  the  particular  faith  of  the  Baptist 
church.  In  this  missionary  work  he  was  specially  gifted  and  very  successful, 
being  an  unusually  pleasing  and  eloquent  speaker.  In  1878  he  was  assigned 
to  the  church  at  Coleraine,  county  Antrim,  where  he  remained  until  1880,  coming 
in  that  year  to  the  United  States  and  proceeding  directly  to  Pittsburg.  After  .a 
trial  sermon  before  the  Baptist  church  of  Mount  Washington  he  was  elected 
its  pastor  and  served  most  acceptably  until  the  close  of  his  life.  He  had 
received  some  time  before  coming  to  this  country  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Laws 
from  the  University  of  Belfast.  He  frequently  appeared  on  the  lecture  plat- 
form, generally  speaking  in  behalf  of  the  cause  of  temperance.  He  supported 
with  his  vote  the  candidates  of  the  Republican  party. 

Dr.  Macrory  married  many  years  before  coming  to  the  United  States. 
Adjoining  the  farm  of  his  father  was  that  of  another  prosperous  Irish  farmer. 
Robert  Jones,  and  it  was  his  daughter  Susan  who  became  the  wife  of  David 
Macrory.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Macrory  were  the  parents  of  seven  daughters  and 
two  sons :     James  Boyd,  principal  of  a  Presbyterian  educational  institute  at 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  45 


Belfast;  Susan,  wife  of  James  Gibson,  of  Minnesota;  Eliza,  wife  of  Dr.  J.  B. 
Ritchie,  of  California ;  Ellen,  Avife  of  David  McBride,  of  Chicago ;  Jennie,  wife 
of  James  J.  Wallace,  of  Bridgeville,  Pennsylvania;  Margaret,  wife  of  Robert 
H.  Kearns,  of  Alount  Washington ;  Anna  B.,  widow  of  Hugh  White,  of  Mount 
Washington  ;  Sarah  W.,  wife  of  William  J.  Love,  of  Mount  Washington  ;  and 
Robert  J.,  of  whom  later. 

Dr.  Macrory  died  in  1887.  He  was  a  wonderfully  forceful  and  magnetic 
orator,  convincing  and  charming  all  hearers.  His  discourses  were  carefully 
prepared,  but  always  delivered  without  notes.  As  an  extemporaneous  speaker 
he  had  few  equals,  and  as  a  pastor  he  was  greatly  endeared  to  his  people,  by 
whom  he  is  still  held  in  loving  remembrance. 

Robert  J.  Macrory,  second  son  and  youngest  child  of  David  and  Susan 
(Jones)  Aiacrory,  was  educated  in  the  Model  and  high  schools  of  Coleraine. 
and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  obtained  a  position  in  the  office  of  Alexander  Gribbon, 
one  of  Belfast's  largest  manufacturers  of  the  famous  Irish  linen.  In  this 
office  he  remained  until  1880,  when  the  family  came  to  the  United  States.  In 
Pittsburg  he  entered  the  service  of  the  Joseph  Home  Company  as  bookkeeper, 
remaining  twelve  years.  In  1892  he  embarked  in  business  for  himself,  estab- 
lishing a  produce  commission  line  on  Liberty  street.  At  the  end  of  two  years 
he  became  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Alexander  Beggs  &  Son  Company, 
makers  of  granite  and  marble  monuments,  mantels  and  similar  articles.  In 
1903  Mr.  Macrory  established  his  present  real  estate  and  fire  insurance  business 
on  Shiloh  street.  Mount  Washington,  which  he  has  since  conducted  very 
successfully.  In  April,  1906,  the  firm  of  Macrory  &  Macrory  was  established, 
Mr.  Macrory  admitting  his  son,  Harry  B.,  to  partnership  with  him. 

R.  J.  Macrory  is  a  notary  public,  having  been  appointed  by  Governor 
Samuel  Pennypacker,  and  is  secretary  of  the  Mount  Washington  and  Duquesne 
Heights  Board  of  Trade,  and  of  the  Prospect  Building  and  Loan  Association. 
He  belongs  to  the  Royal  Arcanum  and  the  Order  of  the  Iroquois.  Politically 
he  is  a  Republican.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Fourth  Avenue  Baptist  church, 
which  he  has  served  both  as  clerk  and  deacon. 

Mr.  Macrory  married,  in  1881,  Mary  R.,  daughter  of  Samuel  and  Sarah 
M.  (Howe)  Williams,  the  former  a  merchant  tailor  of  Pittsburg.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Macrory  have  two  children :  Llarry  B.  and  Vida  Jeannette.  Mrs. 
Macrory  received  a  musical  education,  and  is  a  pleasing  concert  singer  and  a 
merhber  of  the  Alozart  Club. 


DANIEL  HILF,  for  a  quarter  of  a  century  prominently  identified  with 
the  business  life  of  Mount  Washington,  was  born  April  i,  1861,  in  Bavaria,  a 
son  of  Leonard  Hilf,  also  a  native  of  that  country,  where  he  was  a  successful 
contractor  and  builder.  In  July,  1880,  he  came  to  the  United  States,  settling, 
at  the  suggestion  of  his  son  Daniel,  who  had  preceded  him  by  some  months, 
on  Mount  Washington,  where  he  passed  his  remaining  years  in  retirement. 

Leonard  Hilf  married,  in  his  native  land,  Barbara  Brummer,  also  born  in 
Bavaria,  and  their  children  were :  Elizabeth,  widow  of  Jacob  Liebolt,  of 
Mount  Washington  ;  Andrew,  died  in  1890,  leaving  a  widow,  Barbara,  and 
familv ;  Cora,  widow  of  Frederick  Foster,  resides  in  West  Liberty ;  Margaret, 
wife  of  George  Wimmer.  of  Mount  Washington;  Barbetta,  widow  of  John 
Geib ;  Barbara,  wife  of  George  Spies,   living  in  the  west ;  one  who  died  in 


40  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


infancy ;  John,  of  Pittsburg ;  and  Daniel.  Leonard  Hilf,  the  father  of  the 
family',  died  in  1884,  at  the  age  of  seventy-two. 

Daniel  Hilf,  a  son  of  Leonard  and  Barbara  (Brummer)  Hilf,  was  educated 
in  German  schools,  attending  until  his  fourteenth  year,  when  he  began  working 
at  the  carpenter's  trade  with  his  father,  becoming  an  expert  mechanic  and  also 
a  draughtsman  of  considerable  skill.  In  March,  1880,  he  emigrated  to  the 
UnitedStates,  and  in  the  ensuing  July  was  followed,  as  mentioned  above,  by 
the  remainder  of  the  family.  For  two  months  he  worked  in  the  mills  and 
mines,  being  unable  to  obtain  employment  at  his  trade.  During  the  ensuing  two 
years  he  worked  as  a  journeyman  carpenter,  and  then  began  contracting  in 
his  own  name.  For  twenty-five  years  he  was  one  of  the  leading  contractors 
and  builders  of  Mount  "VVashington,  acquiring  an  enviable  reputation  for 
honesty  and  fair  dealing  and  a  considerable  share  of  this  world's  goods.  In 
connection  with  his  other  business  he  operated  a  planing  mill,  getting  out  his 
own  mill  work.  He  has  now  retired,  the  business  being  conducted  by  his  son 
Philip,  a  most  worthy  successor. 

In  1889  Mr.  Hilf  erected  his  present  brick  residence  on  Norton  street. 
Mount  Washington.  In  addition  to  his  building  operations  he  has  promoted 
and  carried  to  success  other  business  enterprises  of  Mount  Washington.  He 
was  the  organizer  and  first  president  of  the  Mount  Washington  Savings  and 
Trust  Company,  and  he  is  now  president  of  the  Mount  Washington  German 
Building  and  Loan  Association  and  of  the  Hilf  &  Richardson  Construction 
Company.  He  is  also  president  of  the  Acre  Land  Company,  in  which,  as  far 
as  possible,  his  interest  has  been  closed  and  turned  over  to  others.  He  is  a 
Republican  and  a  member  of  the  German  Lutheran  church. 

Mr.  Hilf  married,  June  18,  1882,  Katrina  Vork,  of  Allegheny,  and  the 
following  children  have  been  born  to  them :  Leonard,  who  died  when  three 
years  old ;  Philip,  Mary,  Fritz,  Albert  and  Clara.  All  these  are  at  school  with 
the  exception  of  the  eldest,  Philip,  who  received  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  and  at  the  Pittsburg  Academy.  He  learned  the  carpenter's  trade  and 
succeeded  to  the  business  established  by  his  father.  He  married  Grace  Reet, 
and  they  have  one  child,  Grace. 


JAMES  ALLEN,  a  well-known  contractor  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in 
1843,  11"^  county  Armagh,  Ireland,  a  son  of  Thomas  Allen,  a  native  of  the  same 
country,  who  passed  his  life  as  a  tiller  of  the  soil.  He  married  Ann  Murray, 
who  bore  him  the  following  children :  Mary  Jane,  Sarah,  Lucinda,  Eliza, 
James,  of  whom  later;  Margaret,  William,  John,  Matilda  and  David.  Mrs. 
Allen  died  in  1881,  and  Mr.  Allen  survived  her  but  two  years,  passing  away  in 
1883. 

James  Allen,  son  of  Thomas  and  Ann  (Murray)  Allen,  received  his 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  place,  and  at  the  age  of  seventeen 
went  to  England,  remaining  eleven  years.  In  1871  he  emigrated  to  the  LInited 
States  and  settled  in  Pittsburg,  where  he  has  since  conducted  a  successful 
business  as  a  contractor.  In  the  sphere  of  politics  he  has  always  adhered 
staunchly  to  the  doctrines  and  principles  of  the  Republican  party.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church  of  Homewood. 

Mr.  Allen  married,  in  1871,  Jane  Berry,  and  they  became  the  parents  of 
the  following  children :     David  Alexander,  born  October  16,   1878,  the  only 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  47 


one  now  living;  and  two  older  sons,  both  of  whom  died  in  early  childhood. 
These  were:  William  J.,  who  was  born  in  1873,  and  died  September  6,  1879; 
and  Thomas  J.,  who  was  born  in  1875,  and  died  October  18,  1879. 


THE  BAUR  BROTHERS.  Among  the  branches  of  industry  in  Greater 
Pittsburg  which  furnish  one  of  the  daily  used  commodities  of  the  household 
and  a  necessity  of  life  is  the  wholesale  baking  establishment  known  as  the 
Baur  Brothers  Company  (incorporated),  which  plant  is  situated  in  the  East 
End,  Pittsburg.  The  members  of  this  company  are  the  brothers,  August, 
John  and  Fred  Baur,  and  Henry  Stocke.  The  three  first  named  gentlemen 
are  natives  of  Wurtemberg,  Germany,  who  came  to  America  in  1881,  and  are 
now  recognized  as  leaders  in  their  trade,  which  extends  throughout  Allegheny 
county  and  beyond.  This  business  was  originally  established  in  1885  by 
August  Baur,  on  Grant  street,  and  in  1886  the  brothers,  John  and  Fred,  were 
taken  into  the  firm,  which  was  styled  Baur  Brothers  until  January  i,  1896, 
when  it  was  consolidated  with  that  of  Henry  Stocke,  who  at  the  time  was 
operating  a  bakery  in  the  East  End.  Under  the  name  of  Baur  Brothers  & 
Company  the  business  was  continued  until  January  i,  1905,  at  which  date  it 
was  incorporated  under  the  state  laws  of  Pennsylvania  as  the  "Baur  Brothers 
Company,"  with  the  following  officers :  August  Baur,  president ;  John  Baur, 
vice-president ;  Fred  Baur,  treasurer ;  Henry  Stocke,  secretary ;  S.  S.  Watters, 
assistant  secretary.  The  present  plant  was  built  in  1894-95,  but  on  account  of 
the  growth  of  the  business  the  company  has  been  compelled  to  build  more 
extensive  buildings,  now  about  completed,  at  Nos.  6452  to  6464  Penn  avenue. 
The  new  building  consists  of  a  four-story,  re-inforced  concrete  bakery,  cov- 
ering a  ground  space  of  one  hundred  and  seventy  by  one  hundred  and  eighty- 
five  feet,  with  a  re-inforced  concrete  barn  on  Aurelia  street  covering  a  ground 
space  of  sixty-five  by  one  hundred  and  ten  feet.  This  plant,  like  the  present 
one,  will  be  operated  by  electricity,  and  fully  equipped  with  the  most  improved 
modern  ovens  and  other  bakery  appliances.  No  expense  is  being  spared  to 
make  it  second  to  none  in  the  country,  both  as  to  capacity  and  sanitary  regula- 
tions. No  other  bread-making  place  in  this  community  will  outrank  it  for 
capacity,  for  bread  alone ;  and  besides  the  bread  department,  where  the  favorite 
loaf,  "Aunt  Hannah's"  brand  of  bread,  which  is  known  far  and  near,  is  baked 
daily  in  immense  quantities,  there  is  the  pie  and  cake  department.  These 
excellent  goods  are  consumed  year  in  and  year  out  by  private  families  and  the 
hotels  and  better  grades  of  restaurants  in  Allegheny  county. 

The  present  place  of  business  (1907)  is  at  Nos.  5711-13-15  Penn  avenue, 
Pittsburg,  where  their  name  has  long  been  established  for  honest  made  bakery 
goods. 


LAFAYETTE  WINEBIDDLE  MENOLD,  who  for  many  years  was  an 
active  business  factor  in  Pittsburg  but  now  leading  a  retired  life,  was  born  De- 
cember 14,  1845,  in  East  Liberty,  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  his  grandfather's 
house  near  the  present  railroad  bridge  on  Pennsylvania  avenue.  His  grand- 
father, George  Menold,  emigrated  from  either  Germany  or  France  (near  the 
line)  in  the  last  years  of  the  eighteenth  century  and  settled  in  Lancaster 
county,  Pennsylvania.     Among  his  children  were :     Rose,  who  married  a  Mr. 


48       .  ■  .       A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Caldwell  and  still  resides  in  Illinois ;  George,  deceased ;  Andrew,  deceased, 
and  Henry,  deceased. 

Henry  Menold,  the  last  named  child  of  Georo-e  Menold,  and  the  father 
of  Lafavette  W.,  was  born  in  Lancaster  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1812',  and 
died  October  30,  1887.  He  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native  county  and 
there  learned  the  carpenter's  trade.  Subsequently  he  came  to  Pittsburg  and 
settled  in  the  East  End,  where  he  engaged  in  the  contracting  business,  taking 
a  contract  for  grading  the  Pennsylvania  railroad,  then  in  course  of  construction. 
During  the  Mexican  war  he  made  military  wagons  for  the  United  States 
government.  Later  he  embarked  in  the  manufacture  of  sash  and  doors,  his 
location  being  at  the  corner  of  Penn  avenue  and  Whitfield  street,  which 
business  he  continued  until  1875,  when  he  sold  to  his  son  and  retired  from 
active  labors.  In  his  political  affiliations  he  was  a  Democrat  and  he  served 
as  a  member  of  the  state  legislature  from  1858  to  i860.  He  married,  Novem- 
ber 18,  i860,  Mary  Ann  Winebiddle,  born  April  11.  1814,  and  by  her  had 
three  children  :  Susanna  M.,  born  in  June,  1839,  married  Henry  C.  Teeters, 
now  deceased ;  Lafayette  Winebiddle,  and  Rachel  M.,  born  in  1849.  married 
Charles  A.  Warmcastle,  and  their  issue  was  Mary  M.,  wife  of  C.  P.  Thompson ; 
Grace  W.,  Laura  W.,  Frances  F.  and  Jennie  N. 

Lafayette  W.  Menold  was  reared  in  the  East  End  and  educated  in  the 
local  schools  and  at  the  old  academy  which  formerly  stood  at  the  corner  of 
Penn  avenue  and  Highland.  His  first  work  in  a  business  way  was  as  a  clerk 
in  a  grocery  store  at  the  corner  of  Penn  avenue  and  Sixteenth  street.  Later 
he  learned  the  carpenter's  trade  and  went  to  Illinois  and  as  far  west  as  Kansas. 
He'  soon  after  returned  to  East  Liberty  and  carried  on  his  trade  with  a  shop  at 
the  corner  of  Penn  avenue  and  Whitfield  street.  In  1875  he  purchased  his 
father's  business,  and  two  years  later  engaged  in  the  coal  business  on  Penn- 
sylvania avenue,  near  the  Allegheny  cemetery.  He  continued  in  the  business 
six  or  seven  years,  and  then  retired  from  active  life  and  removed  to  Wilkins- 
burg,  purchasing  the  property  where  he  now  resides. 

Mr.  Menold  was  reared  in  the  Presbyterian  faith  and  in  politics  is  a 
supporter  of  the  Democratic  party.  He  belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows  and  the  Brotherhood  of  Elks.  He  was  united  in  marriage  first 
to  Mattie  Covert,  daughter  of  Allison  Covert,  of  New  Orleans,  by  whom  he 
had  three  children:  Aline,  Harry  and  Lafayette.  His  second  wife  was  Emma 
Thompson,  of  New  Castle,  Pennsylvania. 

For  Mr.  Menold's  descent  on  the  maternal  side  the  reader  is  referred  to 
the  Winebiddle  sketch,  found  elsewhere  in  this  work. 


HERMAN  H.  ADAM,  one  of  Pittsburg's  enterprising  business  men,  was 
born  in  1862, rin  Hanover,  Germany,  a  son  of  Herman  H.  Adam,  a  native  of 
the  same  country,  where  he  was  born  in  December,  1828.  He  was  a  farmer 
of  some  means  and  gave  his  children  the  advantages  of  a  hberal  education. 
He  was  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church.  Herman  H.  Adam  married  Ade- 
laide Schwarberg,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Caroline,  deceased,  married  Frederick  Schliiter,  and  resided  in  Germany : 
Charlotte,  wife  of  Rudolph  Quebbeman,  of  Allegheny  county ;  two  who  died 
in  childhood ;  and  Herman  H.,  of  whom  later.  The  father  of  the  family  died 
in  1885,  and  the  death  of  the  mother  occurred  in  1877. 


PITTSBURG    AXD    HER    PEOPLE  .    49" 

Herman  H.  Adam,  son  of  Herman  H.  and  Adelaide  ( Schwarberg )  Adam, 
learned  the  cabinet  maker's  trade,  and  in  September,  1884,  emigrated  to  the 
United  States.  He  settled  in  Pittsburg,  where  for  eleven  years  he  held  the 
position  of  clerk  in  the  grocery  store  of  which  his  uncle  was  the  proprietor. 
In  June,  1895,  he  purchased  a  store  and  dwelling  in  Dithridge  street  where  he 
now  resides  and  carries  on  a  thriving  grocery  business.  He  is  a  member  of 
the  Lutheran  church,  in  which  he  serves  as  deacon,  having  been  elected  in 
1902. 

Mr.  Adam  married,  in  1895,  Alollie  Bergerding,  and  they  have  been  the 
parents  of  the  following  children :  IMollie  A.,  born  November  6,  1895  ;  Herman 
W.  R.,  born  April  16,  1897;  and  Bertha  C,  born  June  7,  1898,  died  Alarch  2. 
1899.  Mrs.  Adam  is  a  daughter  of  William  and  Mollie  (Kuhlman)  Bergerd- 
ing, natives  of  Germany  residing  in  Pittsburg.  They  were  the  parents  of  two 
daughters:  Louisa,  born  September  15,  1862,  wife' of  F.  H.  Kreimeier ;  and 
Alollie,  boru  December  8,  1863,  wife  of  Herman  H.  Adam,  as  mentioned  above. 


BENJAMIN  B.  WOOD,  M.  D.,  one  of  the  well-known  of  the  younger 
generation  of  physicians  and  surgeons  in  the  city  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
has  his  finely  equipped  offices  at  No.  21 18  Fifth  avenue,  in  that  city,  where  he 
is  in  the  enjoyment  of  a  lucrative  and  constantly  increasing  practice.  He  is 
a  descendant  of  families  which  were  among  the  early  settlers  of  this  country. 

John  Wood,  grandfather  of  Dr.  Benjamin  B.  Wood,  was  born  in  Fayette 
county,  Pennsylvania,  about  the  year  18 10.  He  was  a  farmer  by  occupation, 
and  he  raised  his  family  in  Fayette  county.  He  married  Mrs.  Shank,  nee 
Dills,  and  they  had  children:  John  K.,  of  whom  more  hereinafter:  William, 
who  was  a  soldier  during  the  Civil  war ;  Philip,  who  was  killed  while  serving 
in  that  conflict ;  Jane,  married  George  Everhart ;  Ella,  married  Miner  Provance ; 
and  Rebecca,  married  Perry  O'Neil. 

John  K.  Wood,  son  of  John  Wood,  was  born  in  Fayette  countv  in  1844. 
His  first  step  in  his  business  career  was  to  enter  the  grocery  business  at  Port 
Perry,  and  in  this  he  was  engaged  for  a  period  of  twenty-five  years.  He  then 
sold  out  his  interest  and  removed  to  McKeesport,  where  he  established  himself 
in  the  newspaper  business,  with  which  he  has  been  occupied  for  the  past  thir- 
teen years.  Since  the  death  of  his  wife  in  1899  he  has  made  his  home  with  his 
son  John.  His  political  affiliations  are  with  the  Democratic  party,  and  he 
served  as  postmaster  of  Port  Perry  from  1885  to  1889.  ,  He  is  a  member  of 
the  Presbyterian  church.  He  married  Martha  Black,  who  died  in  1899,  daugh- 
ter of  P.  F.  and  Elizabeth  (Reitz)  Black.  The  Black  family  came  from 
^Virginia  and  settled  in  Fayette  county,  Pennsylvania,  about  1800.  The  children 
of  John  K.  and  Martha  (Black)  Wood  were:  i.  Frank,  born  in  1864,  married 
Mary  Bearer  and  has  three  children  :  Martha,  Margaret  and  Catherine.  2. 
William,  born  in  1871,  married  Jennie  Menges,  and  has  children :  Eliza, 
William  and  Jessie.  3.  John  H..  born  in  1873,  married  Zora  Hay,  and  has 
children:     Paul  and  Marian.    4.  Benjamin  B.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

Benjamin  B.  Wood,  M.  D.,  youngest  child  of  John  K.  and  Martha  (Black) 
Wood,  was  born  in  Port  Perry,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  June  9,  1877. 
He  was  reared  in  Port  Perry  and  he  attended  the  public  schools  of  that  town. 
This  was  supplemented  by  a  course  of  study  in  the  Park  Institute,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  in   1895.     He  matriculated  at  the  Western  University  of 


50  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

Pennsylvania  the  same  year,  and  was  graduated  from  this  institution  with 
honor  in  1899.  He  then  entered  the  South  Side  Hospital,  where  he  was 
appointed  resident  physician  and  served  in  this  position  for  one  year.  The 
year  following  he  opened  an  office  for  the  practice  of  his  profession  at  No. 
21 18  Fifth  avenue,  Pittsburg,  where  he  is  still  located,  and  he  enjoys  a  large 
and  lucrative  practice,  having  the  confidence  and  respect  of  his  patients  as  well 
as  of  the  medical  profession.  He  is  a  member  of  Alpha  Kappa  Phi,  and  also 
of  the  medical  staff  of  St.  Joseph's  Hospital.  His  religious  affiliations  are  with 
the  Catholic  church,  and  he  is  an  adherent  of  the  Democratic  party. 

Dr.  Wood  married  Mary  Sullivan,  daughter  of  Jeremiah  and  Prudence 
(Fitzsimmons)  Sullivan,  and  they  have  children:  Francis  B.,  born  April  25, 
1903,  and  Eugene,  born  April  29,  1906. 


JOSEPH  BIALAS,  one  of  Pittsburg's  rising  young  lawyers,  was  born  in 
that  city  September  10,  1879,  a  son  of  R.  F.  Bialas,  who  was  born  January 
13,  1850,  in  Germany,  and  left  his  native  land  at  the  age  of  twelve  years.  On 
arriving  in  this  country  he  settled  in  Pittsburg,  where  he  received  his  education 
in  the  school  of  experience.  For  some  years  he  was  employed  in  the  florist's 
establishment  of  William  and  James  Murdock,  and  subsequently  engaged  in 
the  flour  and  feed  business,  conducting  a  flourishing  trade  until  1896.  At  the 
same  time  he  speculated  largely  in  real  estate,  being  the  first  man  to  introduce 
the  building  of  flats  in  Pittsburg.  His  transactions  as  a  builder  were  exten- 
sive, and  by  steady  industry  and  thrift  he  accumulated  the  fortune  which  he 
now  enjoys  at  leisure,  having  retired  from  business  in  1896.  He  is  a  Democrat 
and  a  member  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church. 

Mr.  Bialas  married  Magdalena,  daughter  of  Henry  and  Margaret  (Heyl) 
Schnelbach,  both  of  German  extraction,  and  three  children  were  born  to  them : 
Joseph,  May  A.  and  Albert. 

Joseph  Bialas,  son  of  R.  F.  and  Magdalena  (Schnelbach)  Bialas,  received 
his  preparatory  education  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Pittsburg.  In 
1901  he  entered  the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania,  graduating  in  1904 
from  the  law  school  of  that  institution.  On  January  2  of  the  same  year  he 
entered  upon  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  his  native  city,  where  he  has 
already  won  for  himself  an  honorable  position.  With  his  vote  and  influence 
he  aids  and  supports  the  men  and  measures  advocated  by  the  Republican 
party.     He  is  a  member  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church. 

Mr.  Bialas  married,  April  30,  1906,  Adele,  daughter  of  Julian  and  Kate 
D.  (Skeen)  Bixby,  and  granddaughter  of  William  and  Katherine  Skeen  and 
of  Brooks  Earl  and  Lucv  Ann  Bixbv. 


CHARLES  C.  KELSO,  principal  of  Sharpsburg  public  school,  was  born 
February  5,  1870,  in  Lawrence  county,  Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  William  P. 
Kelso,  grandson  of  James  Kelso,  and  great  great-grandson  of  George  Kelso,  a 
native  of  Allegheny  county,  whither  his  father  migrated  from  either  Bucks  or 
Berks  county. 

James  Kelso,  son  of  George  Kelso,  was  born  about  1810,  in  Lawrence 
county,  where  he  led  the  life  of  a  farmer.  He  was  a  Democrat  and  a  member 
of  the  L'nited  Presbvterian  church.     James  Kelso  married  Nancv  Patterson, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  51 

and  their  children  were :  George,  deceased ;  John,  also  deceased ;  Alexander 
G.,  commissioner  of  Lawrence  county ;  Mary,  Jane,  William  P.,  of  whom  later ; 
and  Josephine.  James  Kelso  died  in  1874,  and  his  widow  survived  him  twenty 
years,  passing  away  in  1894. 

William  P.  Kelso,  son  of  James  and  Nancy  (Patterson)  Kelso,  was  born 
in  1844,  in  Lawrence  (then  Beaver)  county,  where  he  is  now  living  as  a  farmer 
on  the  homestead,  and  is  known  as  a  very  progressive  man,  both  in  theory  and 
practice.  In  1862  he  enlisted  in  Company  A,  One  Hundred  and  Thirty-fourth 
Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  in  which  he  served  nine  months.  In  1863 
he  reenlisted'in  the  One  Hundred  and  Eighty-eighth  Regiment,  Pennsylvania 
Volunteers,  and  was  subsequently  transferred  to  the  Pennsylvania  Heavy 
Artillery,  stationed  at  Fortress  Monroe,  where  he  remained  until  the  close  of 
the  war.    He  is  a  Democrat  and  a  member  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church. 

Mr.  Kelso  married  Nancy  J.,  daughter  of  Robert  and  Eliza  (Wilson) 
FuUerton,  and  aunt  of  Judge  Fullerton  of  Beaver  county.  The  following  chil- 
dren were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kelso :  Charlts  C.,  of  whom  later ;  Mary, 
born  1874;  Robert  M.,  born  1878,  manager  of  the  Vulcan  Steel  Company, 
Aliquippa,  Pennsylvania,  married  Rachel,  daughter  of  David  and  Catharine 
Gilmore,  children,  Rachel  and  William;  and  James,  born  1882,  married  Iva, 
daughter  of  William  and  Mary  Kyle. 

Charles  C.  Kelso,  a  son  of  William  P.  and  Nancy  J.  (Fullerton)  Kelso, 
received  his  preparatory  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Lawrence  county, 
and  in  1896  graduated  at  Geneva  College.  For  five  years  before  entering 
college  he  had  been  engaged  in  teaching,  and  ever  since  his  graduation  has 
practised  that  profession.  In  1896  he  was  elected  principal  of  the  Turtle  Creek 
school,  and  in  1897  was  chosen  to  fill  that  ofifice  in  the  Tarentum  high  school, 
serving  one  year.  He  then  served  two  years  as  principal  of  the  common  school, 
and  in  April,  1900,  was  elected  principal  of  the  Sharpsburg  public  school,  a 
position  which  he  still  retains. 

Mr.  Kelso  married  Margaret  J.,  daughter  of  Alexander  S.  and  Elizabeth 
(Houston)  McKinley,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Charles  S.,  born  August  7,  1888;  Willis  A.,  born  October  15,  1891 ;  George 
W.,  born  June  2,  1902  ;  and  Daniel  M.,  born  January  36,  1906. 


ANDREW  YERKINS,  late  of  Sharpsburg,  was  born  in  that  borough 
November  24,  1848,  and  there  passed  his  entire  life,  identifying  himself 
prominently  with  the  commercial,  social  and  religious  interests  of  his  native 
place.     His  father  and  grandfather  both  bore  the  name  of  Andrew. 

Andrew  Yerkins,  the  elder,  was  by  birth  a  Frenchman,  and  about  1800 
emigrated  to  the  United  States,  settling  on  land  where  the  city  of  Reading 
now  stands.  In  181 1  he  moved  to  Allegheny  City,  becoming  one  of  the  pioneers 
of  that  place,  where  he  opened  the  first  inn  and  owned  and  operated  the  first 
ferry-boat  plying  between  Allegheny  and  Pittsburg.  He  also  owned  and  con- 
ducted the  first  market  ever  established  in  the  place,  and  to  this  the.  farmers- 
for  miles  around  resorted  to  sell  their  produce.  The  building  stood  on  what  is 
now  River  avenue,  near  the  railroad  bridge.  This  business  Mr.  Yerkins 
conducted  until  his  death.    He  was  a  member  of  the  Roman  Catholic  church. 

Andrew  Yerkins  married  Nancy  Springer,  a  native  of  Switzerland.  The 
marriage  was  opposed  by  the  Springer  family,  and  in  order  to  avoid  bloodshed 


52  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

Andrew  emigrated  to  this  country.  His  betrothed  fohowed,  and  on  her 
arrival  they  \vere  married.  Their  children  were :  Elizabeth,  wife  of  George 
Farmerie ;  Fanny,  wife  of  James  Farmerie ;  Nancy,  wife  of  Nicholas  Farmerie ; 
and  Andrew,  of  whom  later.     Andrew  Yerkins,  the  father,  died  in  1852. 

Andrew  Yerkins,  son  of  Andrew  and  Nancy  (Springer)  Yerkins,  was 
born  in  1826,  in  Allegheny  City,  and  learned  the  cabinet  maker's  trade  under 
the  instruction  of  his  father,  afterward  following  it  in  connection  with  the 
cooper's  trade.  He  was  subsequently  employed  for  a  number  of  years  by  the  . 
McCormicks  as  superintendent  of  their  mill,  called  the  Hope  Cotton  Mill,  at 
Allegheny  City,  and  later  held  a  similar  position  in  the  rolling  mill  of  Lewis, 
Bailey,  Dalzel  &  Company,  of  Sharpsburg,  with  whom  he  remained  twenty- 
four  years.  In  1883  he  retired  from  business  and  passed  the  remainder  of  his 
life  on  a  small  farm  near  Sharpsburg.  He  was  a  Republican  and  a  member 
of  the  First  Baptist  church  of  Sharpsburg,  in  which  he  served  as  deacon  for 
twenty  years. 

Mr.  Yerkins  married  Caroline,  daughter  of  and  Sarah   (Snyder) 

Clark,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  three  children :  Andrew,  of  whom  later ; 
Stephen,  born  in  May,  1850,  married  Mattie  Tyler,  children,  Hettie,  George. 
Henry,  Leon  and  Irene  ;  and  Mary  E.,  born  March  5,  1852,  widow  of  John  A. 
Weichel,  children,  May,  Homer,  Carrie,  Richard,  Bessie  "and  Frank.  Mrs. 
Yerkins  died  in  April,  1852,  and  Mr.  Yerkins  married  in  1854,  Hetty,  daughter 
of  Arunah  Bassett,  of  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania.  By  this  union  he 
became  the  father  of  four  children :  Henry,  Arthur,  died  at  the  age  of  twenty- 
two,  unmarried ;  Carrie,  deceased,  wife  of  William  J.  Dickey,  of  Glenshaw, 
Pennsylvania,  and  mother  of  six  children ;  and  Lydia,  who  died  at  twenty-two, 
unmarried.  The  death  of  Mr.  Yerkins  occurred  in  1885.  He  was  a  genial, 
kind-hearted  man,  and  his  many  friends  still  hold  in  grateful  remembrance  his 
acts  of  benevolence  and  words  of- encouragement. 

Andrew  Yerkins,  son  of  Andrew  and  Caroline  (Clark)  Yerkins,  learned 
the  cooper's  trade,  which  he  followed  for  eighteen  years.  In  1876  he  pur- 
chased two  mills  in  Sharpsburg  and  established  a  lumber  business  in  partner- 
ship with  George  L.  Walters,  but  in  1881  sold  his  interest  to  him  and  James 
R.  Darraugh.  He  then  established  a  coal  and  feed  business  which  he  conducted 
until  1885,  when  he  sold  out  to  the  LTnion  Feed  &  Coal  Company.  He  after- 
ward opened  a  real  estate  and  fire  insurance  office,  where  he  afterward  carried 
on  a  prosperous  business.  In  1897  he  was  elected  a  justice  of  the  peace,  and 
served  one  term.  He  has  held  the  office  of  councilman  for  three  terms,  served 
one  term  as  school  director  and  the 'same  length  of  time  as  assessor.  He  was 
one  of  the  two  surviving  original  members  of  the  Sharpsburg  Fire  Company. 

From  1870  he  was  a  member  of  Lodge  No.  752,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  of  Sharps- 
burg, and  also  belonged  to  the  P.  McGee  Encampment,  now  called  the  Arsenal. 
He  was  a  Republican  in  politics  and  a  Protestant  in  religious  belief. 

Mr.  Yerkins  was  twice  married.  His  first  wife  was  Sarah  A.,  daughter 
of  John  and  Jane  (Saint)  Terrell,  and  the  following  were  their  children: 
Charles  W.,  born  in  1870,  a  contractor  and  builder,  married  Minnie  Phillips, 
children.  Alary,  deceased;  Myrtle  and  John;  Myrtle,  born  1874,  died  at  the 
age  of  eighteen  :  Walter,  born  in  1876,  a  painter,  married  Nellie  Patterson,  one 
child,  Roy;  Harry  J.,  born  in  1878,  assistant  superintendent  of  the  Crescent 
Steel  Works,  married  Bessie  Yahres,  children,  Florence  and  Paul ;  Albert  G.. 
born  in  1880;  and  William  N.,  born  in  1883,  a  painter  and  paper  hanger  of 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


53 


Sharpsburg.  The  mother  of  these  children  died  in  1900.  and  in  1905  Mr. 
Yerkins  married  Mrs.  E.  M.  Seaman,  of  Reading,  Pennsylvania.  Mr.  Yerkins 
died  July  14,  1907. 


CHARLES  W.  YERKINS,  one  of  Sharpsburg's  prominent  contractors 
and  builders,  was  born  in  that  borough  June  14,  1870,  a  son  of  Andrew  and 
Sarah  (Terrell)  Yerkins.  Mrs.  Yerkins  was  a  daughter  of  John  and  Jane 
(Saint)  Terrell.  The  Terrells  came  from  Somersetshire,  England,  in  1831, 
and  after  spending  a  short  time  in  Baltimore  went  to  Pottsville,  later  removing 
to  Sharpsburg. 

Charles  W.  Yerkins  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Sharpsburg,  and 
after  leaving  school  secured  his  first  employment  in  the  plate  mill  department 
of  Morehead's  Iron  Mills.  He  learned  the  carpenter's  trade  and  also  worked 
as  a  millwright.  Since  1898  he  has  carried  on  a  successful  business  as  a 
contractor  and  builder. 

He  belongs  to  the  Junior  Order  of  United  American  Mechanics,  Vesuvius 
Council,  No.  116,  of  Sharpsburg,  and  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees,  Wash- 
ington Tent,  'No.  57.  His  political  principles  coincide  with  those  of  the 
Republican  party. 

Mr.  Yerkins  married  Minnie  J.,  daughter  of  Samuel  and  Lydia  (Alford) 
Phillips,  and  they  have  been  the  parents  of  three  children :  Myrtle  G.,  born 
May  28,  1897;  John  C,  born  February  3,  1899;  and  Mary  E.,  born  November 
5,  1903,  died  November  i,  1905.  Mr.  Yerkins  takes  great  interest  in  memorials 
of  the  past,  and  is  the  owner  of  a  very  fine  collection  of  relics. 


ROBERT  McFARLAND  LAMONT,  an  enterprising  contractor  of  Pitts- 
burg, was  born  at  Clarksburg,  Indiana  county,  Pennsylvania,  July  2;^,  1846, 
a  son  of  Robert  and  Elizabeth  (Anderson)  Lamont. 

(I)  The  first  known  American  ancestor  of  this  family  was  Archibald 
Lamont,  of  Scottish  birth.  It  appears  that  he  landed  first  at  New  Orleans, 
and  was  a  ship  captain  by  occupation.  The  first  direct  information  of  him  is 
contained  in  a  letter  which  he  wrote  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  January  3, 
1794,  written  to  his  brother,  and  in  which  he  gives  a  very  pathetic  account  of 
having  lost  his  wife  and  youngest  son,  a  sister  and  a  friend  whom  he  calls 
"Robert."  All  died  within  a  few  hours  of  each  other,  October  17,  1793.  He 
adds:  'T  cannot  give  you  a  description  of  my  situation  on  that  morning  when 
I  had  three  corpses  in  my  home  and  not  one  mortal  to  give  assistance."  He 
further  stated  that  the  plague  had  carried  off  five  thousand  of  the  best  people. 
It  is  believed  from  this  communication  that  he  was  a  consistent  Christian  man. 
Nothing  is  known  of  his  wife.  It  is  known  that  they  had  five  children  who 
reached  manhood  and  womanhood,  as  follows :  i.  Nancy  McMillin.  2.  Mary 
McDonald,  who  married  and  had  children  :  Thomas,  Josiah.  Willson.  John, 
James  and  Calvin.  This  James  McDonald  was  the  father  of  three  children: 
David,  Miller  and  Boston.  David  McDonald  had  one  son,  Lamont  McDonald. 
3.  Jane  Irwin,  wife  of  Dr.  Irwin,  of  Allegheny  City — no  issue.  4.  Archibald, 
of  whom  later.  5.  Robert,  father  of  the  subject  of  this  notice,  of  whom  see 
later. 

(II)  Archibald  Lamont,  son  of  the  progenitor  in  this  country,  was  born 


54  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  March  13,  1788,  and  died  in  Allegheny  City, 
Pennsylvania,  November  20,  1852.  By  occupation  he  was  an  edge  tool  manu- 
facturer and  conducted  a  business  for  a  number  of  years  on  the  corner  of  Craig 
and  Lacock  streets,  Allegheny  City.  He  was  the  inventor  of  the  vise  commonly 
used  by  blacksmiths  and  other  mechanics,  but  never  secured  a  letters  patent 
on  his'  invention.  He  took  much  interest  in  educational  affairs  and  was  a 
director  in  the  First  ward  of  Allegheny  City  for  many  years.  He  gave  his 
children  a  good  education.  His  daughter,  Hannah  Hay,  taught  in  his  district 
for  ten  years,  and  his  daughter  Agnes  devoted  most  of  her  life  to  the  cause  of 
education;  she  was  principal  of  the  ward  schools  in  which  her  father  was  a 
director  for  twenty  years.    He  was  the  father  of  the  following  seven  children : 

1.  Susan  Knox.  2.  Jane  Gray.  3.  Lydia,  died  in  infancy.  4.  Catherine 
Warnock,  whose  husband  was  mayor  of  New  Castle  one  term.  5.  John.  6. 
Hannah  Hay.  7.  Agnes,  remained  unmarried.  Hannah  Hay  resides  with  her 
son  at  New  Brighton,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  is  a  popular  United  Presbyterian 
minister. 

(H)  Robert  Lament,  son  of  Archibald  (I),  was  born  in  Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania,  January  25,  1792.  He  was  by  trade  a  tailor.  The  date  of  his 
first  coming  to  Pittsburg  is  not  clearly  known,  but  the  second  time  was  in  the 
spring  of  1855.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812,  in  the  United  States 
army.    He  made  his  home  in  Pittsburg  until  his  death,  which  occurred  January 

2,  1861.  He  married  about  1822  Miss  Elizabeth  Anderson,  of  Pennsylvania 
Dutch  extraction,  and  who  was  a  woman  of  great  firmness  of  character. 
Through  her  persistent  efforts  and  good  example  finally  saw  her  husband 
converted  to  the  religious  faith  to  which  he  ever  afterwards  lived  in  a  con- 
sistent manner.  They  were  members  of  the  Wesleyan  Methodist  church.  Mrs. 
Elizabeth  (Anderson)  Lamon't  father's  family  consisted  of  the  following: 
Michael,  Isaac,  David,  Joseph,  Susan  (Wyatt)  and  Mary  Anderson,  who  in 
marriage  did  not  change  her  name.  Mr.  Wyatt  was  engaged  in  the  salt 
business  at  Saltsburg,  Pennsylvania.  His  son,  Aaron  B.,  was  an  officer  in  the 
Civil  war  and  was  killed  in  battle.  Joseph  Anderson  kept  a  public  house  at 
Saltsburg.  "Granny"  Anderson,  as  she  was  called,  was  credited  with  the 
discovery  of  coal  while  washing  clothes  along  a  stream  at  some  point  in 
Pennsylvania.  It  is  related  that  she  observed  what  she  supposed  to  be  a  black 
stone,  on  which  her  kettle  was  placed,  on  fire,  and  it  led  to  the  discovery  of 
coal,  which  was  found  in  abundance  in  the  hillside  near  by.  Robert  Lamont 
and  wife  were  the  parents  of  eight  children,  as  follows:  i.  Mary,  wife  of  John 
Zigler,  a  stonecutter  by  trade,  who  helped  to  construct  the  locks  in  the  Monon- 
gahela  river.  2.  Jane,  married  James  Tuthil,  of  Warren,  Pennsylvania,  by 
whom  she  had  five  children :  Elizabeth,  Jannet,  Eliza,  Synthia,  James.  James 
served  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil  war;  is  a  member  of  the  Grand 
Army  of  the  Republic,  and  is  postmaster  at  Warren,  Pennsylvania.  3.  Eliza 
Anderson,  wife  of  Thomas  Anderson,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  thirteen 
children,  with  numerous  grandchildren.  At  the  death  of  the  husband  a  few 
years  since,  there  were  seventy-two  children  and  grandchildren.  It  was  the 
first  death  in  the  family  for  over  fifty  years.  4.  Susan,  married  William 
Campbell,  of  Saltsburg,  Pennsylvania,  by  whom  she  had  five  children :  Mary, 
Eva,  Albert,  Charles  and  Sue.  5.  Ann,  married  John  Laughlin,  by  whom  she 
had  two  children.  After  his  death  she  married  William  R.  Akeright,  by  whom 
she  had  three  children,  Margarett,  Ella  and  Ann.     The  last  husband  was  a 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


55 


locomotive  engineer,  first  for  the  Fort  Wayne  Railroad,  then  on  the  Nashville 
&  Chattanooga.  During  the  Civil  war  he  was  employed  by  the  Pennsylvania 
Railroad  Company,  and  lastly  on  the  Hannibal  &  St.  Joseph  road.  He  was  a 
member  of  the  Odd  Fellows'  order,  and  also  a  Mason.  6.  Sarah,  married 
David  Campbell,  by  whom  she  had  children :  Robert,  Mary,  Laura  and  William. 
Mr.  Campbell  enlisted  during  the  Civil  war  in  the  Union  cause ;  was  in  Colonel 
Black's  regiment  and  was  discharged  before  the  end  of  the  war  for  disability. 
After  recovering  his  health  he  was  employed  by  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad 
Company  for  a  period  of  forty-two  years.  He  never  met  with  an  accident 
during  the  whole  time,  and  was  pensioned  by  the  company ;  at  that  time  he  was 
the  oldest  employe  of  the  road.  7.  Thomas,  was  born  in  Indiana  county, 
Pennsylvania,  July  5,  1838.  He  was  engaged  in  the  sand  business,  and  at  the 
breaking  out  of  the  Civil  war,  on  August  ii,  1862,  enlisted  in  Company  D, 
Fourteenth  Pennsylvania  Cavalry  Regiment,  in  which  he  served  until  May  28, 
1865,  receiving  an  honorable  discharge.  He  took  part  in  some  forty  engage- 
ments, was  with  Sheridan  at  Winchester,  Virginia,  and  was  wounded  at 
Sulphur  Springs.  In  1874  he  removed  to  Kansas,  and  now  resides  at  Law- 
rence. He  has  always  been  a  Republican  in  politics.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  He  married  j\Iary  Shade,  who  bore  him  three 
children.  Ida,  Edwin  and  Effie.  All  reside  in  different  sections  of  Kansas.  8. 
Robert  McFarland  Lamont,  the  subject,  was  born  at  Clarksburg,  Indiana 
county,  Pennsylvania,  July  23,  1846. 

(Ill)  Robert  McFarland  Lamont,  son  of  Robert  Lamont  (H),  married 
Emma  Rosborough,  born  at  Clarksburg,  Indiana  county,  Pennsylvania,  January 
9,  1853.  After  ^  period  of  twenty-six  years  they  met  in  Pittsburg  and  were 
united  in  marriage  May  2,  1871.  To  them  have  been  born  the  following  eleven 
children :  Three  died  in  infancy,  the  two  eldest  at  the  age  of  twenty  years. 
Bertha,  the  eldest  at  the  time  of  her  death,  was  a  student  at  the  Pittsburg  High 
School.  Laura,  the  second  at  the  time  of  her  death,  was  a  student  at  the  Pitts- 
burg Conservatory  of  Music.  ^lilton,  after  attending  the  public  schools,  was 
set  to  learn  the  carpenter's  trade,  and  worked  as  a  journeyman  some  ten  years, 
and  in  1904  commenced  the  business  of  contracting  and  building  with  his 
father.  The  business  is  now  incorporated  as  R.  Lamont  &  Sons  Company. 
They  carry  on  a  lumber  and  manufacturing  business  at  No.  3109  Penn  avenue, 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  Homer,  the  fourth  child,  died  in  infancy.  Archibald, 
the  fifth,  was  educated  at  the  Lincoln  public  schools  of  Pittsburg,  Adrian  Col- 
lege, Michigan,  and  is  now  a  student  at  the  Carnegie  Technical  Institute,  in  the 
architectural  department.  Edgar,  the  sixth  child,  was  educated  at  the  Lincoln 
school  and  Call's  Commercial  College,  Pittsburg,  and  is  the  present  secretary 
of  R.  Lamont  &  Sons  Company.  Frederick,  who  was  the  seventh  child,  died  in 
infancy.  Emma  Mae,  the  eighth  in  the  order  of  birth,  is  now  a  student  at 
Adrian  College,  Michigan.  Lillian  is  a  student  at  the  same  place.  Blanche 
Alda  died  in  infancy,  and  Marie,  the  eleventh  child,  is  now  attending  the 
Lemington  public  school  in  East  End,  Pittsburg. 

The  subjoined  is  relative  to  Mrs.  Lamont's  people:  Her  great-grand- 
father, Alexander  Rosborough,  married  Mary  Denny ;  they  were  both  of  Irish 
extraction,  and  their  home  was  near  Elder  Ridge,  Indiana  county,  Pennsylvania. 
Their  children  were:  Charles,  Nellie,  Elizabeth,  James  and  A.  Alexander. 
It  is  thought  the  father,  Alexander,  Sr.,  returned  to  Ireland,  taking  his  eldest 
son,  Charles,  with  him,  but  he  was  never  heard  of  afterwards.     Nellie,  the 


56  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

second  child,  married  William  Miller,  by  whom  were  born :  Robert  and  William 
Miller.  Elizabeth  never  married.  James,  the  subject's  wife's  grandfather, 
was  a  mason  by  occupation,  also  a  model  farmer.  He  owned  one  of  the  most 
finely  improved  farms  in  Indiana  county,  Pennsylvania,  at  Elder  Ridge,  where 
he  and  his  family  resided.  He  enjoyed  the  confidence  and  esteem  of  his  neigh- 
bors and  was  a  justice  of  the  peace  for  some  twenty  years.  His  wife's  maiden 
name  was  Mary  Deamer,  and  to  them  were  born  fifteen  children.  The  first 
^nd  second,  Alexander  and  Rebecca,  died  in  early  childhood;  afterward  they 
named  two  of  their  later  children  after  them ;  Charles,  John,  Frederick,  Lydia, 
Isabell,  Maria,  James,  Alexander,  Rebecca,  Elizabeth,  Thomas,  Violet,  Julia, 
were  the  names  of  the  other  children.  James  and  Thomas  served  in  the  Civil 
war.  Alexander  remained  a  bachelor,  was  a  member  of  the  Grand  Army  of 
the  Republic,  and  died  in  Omaha,  Nebraska,  at  the  Soldiers'  Home.  He  was 
there  buried  from  his  nephew's  home.  James  Rosborough,  after  serving  his 
term  in  the  army  and  being  honorably  discharged,  returned  home  and  was 
killed  in  a  coal  mine  on  his  father's  farm  while  mining  coal  for  the  use  of  the 
family.  Thomas  and  his  youngest  sister,  Julia,  lived  on  the  old  farm  at  Elder's 
Ridge  for  a  number  of  years  after  their  father's  and  mother's  death,  and  then 
sold  the  homestead  to  a  coal  company  and  purchased  a  small  farm  in  the 
suburbs  of  Indiana,  Pennsylvania,  where  they  still  reside.  The  entire  family 
subscribed  to  the  Westminster  confession  of  faith.  The  male  members  of  this 
family,  with  one  exception,  were  Democrats.  Frederick  Rosborough,  who  is 
the  father-in-law  of  the  subject,  is  a  Republican,  and  at  the  age  of  eighty- 
two  years  enjoys  good  health.     He  has  never  used  intoxicating  liquors. 


JOHN  JACOB  FETZER,  who  has  been  for  nearly  forty  years  a  resident 
of  Pittsburg,  was  born  February  24,  1836,  in  Wurtemberg,  Germany,  a  son 
of  John  Jacob  Fetzer,  also  a  native  of  the  fatherland,  where  he  was  born  in 
1 80 1.  He  was  engaged  in  mercantile  business,  and  in  1847  emigrated  to  the 
United  States,  making  his  way  to  Butler  county,  Pennsylvania,  by  the  canal. 
Scarcely,  however,  had  he  and  his  wife  become  settled  in  their  new  home  when 
death  removed  them  from  their  children,  the  mother  dying  October  8,  1847, 
and  the  father  November  3  of  the  same  year. 

John  Jacob  Fetzer  married  Mary  B.  Reiber,  and  the  following  were  their 
children,  all  of  whom  were  born  in  Germany:  Mary  B.,  born  in  1832,  died  in 
1874,  wife  of  H.  L.  Westerman;  Katharine  M.,  born  in  1834,  wife  of  J.  G. 
Myers;  John  Jacob;  Gottlieb  F..  born  in  1838;  Andrew  M.,  born  in  1840; 
Charles  F.  G.,  born  in  1843  ;  and  Dora,  born  in  1844,  wife  of  H.  L.  Westerman. 

John  Jacob  Fetzer,  son  of  John  Jacob  and  Mary  B.  (Reiber)  Fetzer,  was 
eleven  years  old  when  brought  by  his  parents  to  this  country,  and  he  received 
his  education  in  the  public  schools  o'f  Butler  county.  After  leaving  school  he 
worked  on  a  farm  for  a  number  of  years,  and  in  1869  came  to  Pittsburg,  where 
he  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  in  Butler  street,  in  the  Seventeenth  ward. 
He  continued  the  business  for  twenty-five  years,  and  in*  1894  retired,  having 
since  resided  on  his  farm.     He  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church. 

Mr.  Fetzer  married  Elizabeth  Kiefer  and  they  have  been  the  parents  of  the 
following  children:  Edmund  B.,  born  April  8,  1885;  John  Jacob,  born  Sep- 
tember 26,  1886;  Herbert  C,  born  July  5,  1888;  Leah  Berta,  born  December 


ci^cAhS^c.^^^, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  57 

30,  1890;  Gustave  Frederick,  born  August  3,   1895,  died  July  12,   1896;  and 
Alice  Elizabeth,  born  June  13,  1898. 


ISAAC  NEWTON  BUNTON.  The  late  Isaac  Newton  Bunton,  one  of 
Pittsburg's  best-known  river  captains  and  coal  operators,  was  born  in  that 
city  June  28,  1841,  son  of  James  F.  and  Elizabeth  (Speer)  Bunton,  the  family 
having  been  for  about  three-quarters  of  a  century  resident  in  Pittsburg. 

Isaac  Newton  Bunton  was  educated  in  the  old  Duquesne  school  and  at  the 
high  school.  At  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war.  with  others  of  the  high  school 
boys,  he  enlisted,  serving  throughout  the  greater  part  of  the  conflict.  He  was 
a  member  of  a  regiment  called  the  Friend  Rifles,  which  was  fully  recruited 
in  Pittsburg,  but  the  Pennsylvania  quota  being  full,  was  credited  to  New 
York.  All  through  the  war  he  kept  a  full  daily  diary  of  events  that  is  still  pre- 
served by  Airs.  Bunton.  At  the  close  of  the  war  he  returned  to  his  native  citv 
and  entered  the  service  of  Joseph  Walton,  coal  miner  and  river  shipper.  Thence- 
forth, until  Mr.  Walton's  death,  Mr.  Bunton  was  associated  with  him  in  the 
coal  business,  succeeding  in  course  of  time  to  the  position  of  head  of  the  firm. 

When  the  Monongahela  River  Consolidated  Coal  &  Coke  Company  was 
formed  Captain  Bunton  (as  he  was  generally  called)  sold  out  to  the  new- 
company,  assuming  the  position  of  superintendent  of  its  land  department, 
which  he  held  during  the  remainder  of  his  life.  A  large  towboat  bearing  his 
name  and  now  operating  on  the  local  rivers  was  owned  by  him  before  the 
consolidation.  He  was  Jioted  for  untiring  energy  and  industry,  and  for  many 
years  prior  to  his  death  held  a  foremost  rank  in  river  affairs.  He  was  active 
in  forming  the  Citizens'  party  and  was  one  of  the  early  fighters  in  the  reform 
movement.  He  was  a  member  of  the  G.  A.  R.  and  the  Union  Veteran  Legion, 
taking  a  leading  part  in  the  work  of  both  organizations.  Among  other 
admirable  traits  of  character  Mr.  Bunten  was  noted  for  his  strict  habit  of  total 
abstinence  from  all  intoxicating  liquor. 

Captain  Bunton  married,  October  11,  1866,  Jennie  Hendrickson,  and  of 
their  children  the  following  survive:  i.  R.  W^alton,  assistant  in  the  auditor's 
ofiice  of  the  Monongahela  Coal  Company,  married  Grace  Rambler.  2.  Charles 
C,  superintendent  of  the  local  business  of  the  Monongahela  Coal  Company, 
married  Miss  Morton  Riddell  and  has  two  children,  Berryman  and  Nan 
Henderson  Bunton.  3.  Elizabeth,  married  H.  G.  Henderson.  4.  Harry  R., 
graduate  of  Princeton  College,  class  1901,  of  the  Harvard  Law  School,  1904, 
was  admitted  to  the  Allegheny  bar  in  1906  and  is  now  practicing  his  pro- 
fession in  Pittsburg.  5.  Jean  L.  6.  \N .  Kennedy,  general  bookkeeper  for  the 
Duquesne  Bank. 

The  death  of  Captain  Bunton,  which  occurred  June  8,  1907,  was  widely 
and  sincerely  mourned  as  that  of  a  public-spirited  citizen,  an  upright  business 
man  and  warm-hearted  and  steadfast  friend,  the  loss  to  his  family  being 
indescribably  great.  Many  tributes  were  paid  to  his  memory,  and  on  the  day 
of  his  death  every  flag  on  the  boats  in  the  harbor  and  all  that  could  be  reached 
on  the  local  rivers  were  placed  at  half-mast.  He  was  survived,  not  only  by  his 
widow  and  children,  but  also  by  a  brother,  William  Bunton,  of  Pittsburg,  and 
three  sisters  :  Mrs.  Sarah  Russell,  of  Kittanning,  Pennsylvania  ;  Mrs.  Elizabeth 
Goodwin,  of  Weedsport,  New  York,  and  Mrs.  Mary  Burker,  of  the  same  place. 

Mrs.  Bunton  is  a  daughter  of  David  L.  Hendrickson,  grandson  of  Colonel 


58  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


David  Hendrickson,  a  Revolutionary  soldier,  and  fifth  in  descent  from  the 
founder  of  the  American  branch  of  the  family  who  emigrated  to  this  country 
from  Holland. 

David  L.  Hendrickson  was  for  twenty  years  captain  of  boats  plyingf  on 
the  lower  rivers,  and  for  two  years  during  the  Civil  war  commanded  a  boat 
in  the  government  service.  In  early  life  he  resided  for  a  number  of  years  in 
McKeesport,  later  moving  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  was  regarded  as  a  very 
wealthy  man  in  the  days  when  one  hundred  thousand  dollars  (the  amount  of 
his  fortune),  or  even  seventy -five  thousand,  was  sufficient  to  constitute  riches. 
In  politics  he  was  a  strong  Republican.  He  and  his  wife  were  members  of  the 
old  Third  United  Presbyterian  church  on  Diamond  street,  Pittsburg. 

David  L.  Hendrickson  married  Margaretta  Park,  and  they  became  the 
parents  of  seven  children,  four  of  whom  died  before  reaching  their  majority. 
The  survivors  are :  Jennie,  widow  of  Isaac  Newton  Bunton ;  Albert,  and 
Emma,  widow  of  Senator  William  Fulton,  of  Denver,  Colorado.  David  L. 
Hendrickson  died  February  lo,  1891,  aged  seventy-one  years.  He  commanded, 
by  his  irreproachable  life,  the  highest  respect  of  all  who  knew  him,  and  it  may 
truly  be  said  of  him  that  he  never  gave  any  member  of  his  family  an  unkind 
word.    His  widow  passed  away  January  18,  1895,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one. 

Mrs.  Hendrickson  was  a  daughter  of  Alexander  Park,  who  emigrated  from 
the  north  of  Ireland  about  1808,  settling  in  Chester,  Pennsylvania,  where 
several  of  his  children  were  born.  He  served  in  the  war  of  18 12,  and  after- 
ward moved  with  his  family  to  Pittsburg,  being  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  that 
city.  He  owned  a  large  amount  of  property,  some  of  which  was  situated  on 
Diamond  street,  near  Wood  street.  He  held  the  office  of  collector  of  the 
Pittsburg  markets  and  for  many  years  served  as  overseer  of  the  poor.  For 
forty  years  he  was  a  member  of  the  Second  United  Presbyterian  church  on 
Sixth  street,  and  during  a  considerable  portion  of  that  time  served  as  elder. 

Alexander  Park  married  Jane  Wright,  who  bore  him  thirteen  children,  of 
whom  the  following  grew  to  maturity:  Nancy,  Rachel,  Eliza,  Joseph,  who 
served  in  the  Mexican  war  and  died  at  the  age  of  thirty  years,  and  Margaretta, 
who  became  the  wife  of  David  L.  Hendrickson. 


WILLIAM  J.  MOORE,  a  well-known  resident  of  Oakland,  Greater  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania,  who  conducts  the  largest  horseshoeing  establishment  in 
that  section  and  who  has  been  prominently  identified  with  all  public  movements 
for  the  advancement  of  the  city  for  more  than  a  decade,  is  of  Scotch-Irish 
descent. 

John  Moore,  father  of  William  J.  Aioore,  was  a  native  of  Ireland,  where 
he  married  Catherine  Henderson  and  had  eight  children,  of  whom  four  came 
to  America  and  settled  in  Pittsburg.  Pennsylvania:  i.  William  J.,  of  whom 
see  forward.  2.  Samuel,  married  Mary  Little,  daughter  of  James  Little.  3. 
Joseph  H.,  married  (first)  a  Miss  Comfort  and  had  two  children;  married 
(second)  Jennie  Gordon  and  had  six  children.  4.  Hamilton,  who  is  unmarried 
and  resides  in  Pittsburg. 

WilHam  J.  Moore,  son  of  John  and  Catherine  (Henderson)  Aloore,  was 
born  near  Belfast,  Ireland,  May  i,  1863.  He  emigrated  to  the  LTnited  States 
in  1880,  and  immediately  went  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  served 
his  apprenticeship  to  the  blacksmithing  trade  with  his  brother.     He  was  in  his 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  59 

employ  for  a  period  of  ten  years,  and  then  commenced  business  for  himself  at 
No.  115  Oak  avenue,  a  property  which  he  subsequently  purchased  and  in  which 
his  business  is  now  (1906)  located.  He  has  one  of  the  most  completely 
equipped  horseshoeing  establishments  in  Greater  Pittsburg,  and  has  the  reputa- 
tion of  being  one  of  the  leading  men  in  his  trade.  He  is  one  of  the  foremost 
business  men  in  general  in  Oakland,  has  been  a  prime  mover  in  all  plans  for  its 
advancement,  and  is  a  firm  believer  in  a  brilliant  future  for  the  place.  He  was 
one  of  the  promoters  and  organizers  of  the  Master  Horseshoers'  National 
Protective  Association,  and  was  elected  secretary  and  treasurer  for  his  first 
term  of  office  in  Cleveland,  Ohio,  July  23,  1892,  and  held  this  office  for  eight 
consecutive  years.  He  has  been  secretary  of  the  Masters'  Horseshoeing  Asso- 
ciation of  Pittsburg  and  Allegheny  for  fourteen  years ;  has  been  secretary  and 
president  of  the  Journeymen  Horseshoers'  Association  of  the  United  States ; 
and  is  president  of  the  Oakland  Board  of  Trade.  Mr.  Moore  is  a  Republican 
in  politics  and  takes  an  unusually  active  part  in  matters  of  public  moment, 
especially  in  the  reform  movement  in  Pittsburg  during  the  last  ten  years.  At 
the  time  of  the  organization  of  the  Citizens'  party  he  was  elected  chairman  of 
the  Fourteenth  ward  and  led  the  party  through  three  successive  victories.  He 
was  the  chairman  of  the  joint  movement  that  elected  John  B.  Larkin  to  the 
office  of  controller  in  1905,  and  chairman  of  the  Civil  party  in  the  recent  cam- 
paign, which  elected  the  full  ward  ticket  and  gave  five  hundred  majority  to  Mr. 
Guthrie.  His  religious  affiliations  are  with  the  United  Presbyterian  church. 
He  is  a  man  of  enterprise,  progress  and  executive  ability,  and  may  be  styled 
a  born  leader. 

Mr.  Moore  married,  in  1895,  Belle  H.  Hainer,  daughter  of  John  and 
Frances  (Ruple)  Hainer,  and  they  have  had  four  children:  William  H.,  born 
in  1896;  Belle  F.,  born  in  1898;  Catherine  M.,  in  1899;  and  John  Hainer,  in 
1903.  Mrs.  Moore's  ancestors  were  residents  of  Washington  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  were  among  the  early  settlers  who  cheerfully  gave  up  life  and 
property  in  defense  of  the  land  of  their  adoption. 


ALBERT  JAMES  CAYWOOD,  merchant  and  broker,  was  born  in  Mar- 
ietta. Ohio,  May  20,  1849.  He  is  the  son  of  William  Caywood,  born  in  1812. 
In  the  early  part  of  William  Caywood's  life  he  was  a  tiller  of  the  soil,  but  later 
was  engaged  as  a  contractor  and  builder.  He  served  in  the  Civil  war  in  the 
One  Hundred  and  Forty-eighth  Ohio  National  Guards.  He  married  Anne 
Henton,  of  Liverpool,  England,  by  whom  was  born  these  children :  John  W., 
Sarah  A.,  Hattie  S.,  George  W.,  Maggie  H.,  Albert  James  (subject),  Elizabeth 
F.  and  Henry  T.    The  father  died  in  1882  and  the  mother  the  same  year. 

Albert  J.  Caywood  was  educated  at  the  common  schools  and  then  taught 
school  for  three  terms.  He  graduated  from  Marietta  College  in  1875,  and  that 
year  came  to  Pittsburg  as  the  manager  of  a  commission  house,  and  remained 
with  it  for  fourteen  years.  In  1893  he  engaged  in  business  for  himself  as  a 
merchandise  broker.  He  is  a  member  of  Grace  Presbyterian  church,  and  was 
made  an  elder  in  1906.  In  1887  he  married  Elizabeth  L.  Brown,  daughter  of 
William  P.  Brown  and  wife  of  Allegheny,  and  to  them  have  been  born :  Alberta 
B.,  born  June  3,  1888;  William  P.,  born  May  30,  1891,  and  Lindsay  P.,  born 
February  19,  1900. 

Mrs.   Caywood's   father,  William   Parks  Brown,  was  born  in   Kittaning, 


6o  A    CENTURY,    AND    A    H^LF    OF 


Pennsylvania,  in  1829.  He  enlisted  in  Company  E,  Twenty-third  Pennsylvania 
Regiment  of  Volunteers,  during  the  Civil  war,  made  a  brave  soldier  in  the 
cause  of  the  Union  and  received  an  honorable  discharge.  He  was  later  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  Allegheny  Post,  No.  128.  He  was 
engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  carriages.  He  married  Ellen  Lindsay,  and  they 
were  the  parents  of  children  as  follows:  Robert  J.,  Elizabeth  L.  and  Charles 
P.  Mrs.  Brown  died  March  6,  1861,  and  afterwards  he  married  Mary  B. 
McLain,  by  whom  three  children  were  born:  Sadie  M.,  Minnie  B.  and  Wil- 
liametta.    The  father  died  November  22,  1902,  and  the  mother  August  15,  1892. 


WILLIAM  C.  WALLY,  a  well-known  contractor  of  Etna,  was  born 
March  26,  1871,  in  Armstrong  county,  Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Thomas  Wally, 
a  native  of  the  same  county,  where  he  followed  the  calling  of  a  farmer. 

William  C.  Wally  grew  up  on  the  farm,  receiving  his  education  in  the  pub- 
lic schools  of  his  native  county.  At  the  age  of  eighteen  he  entered  the  oil 
fields  of  Pennsylvania,  serving  first  as  tool-dresser  and  later  working  at  drill- 
ing rigs.  In  1897  he  left  the  oil  fields  and  went  into  the  contracting  and  drill- 
ing business,  in  which  he  has  since  been  engaged,  having  holdings  of  his  own 
about  Sharpsburg,  to  which  he  also  gives  his  attention. 

He  affiliates  with  Lodge  No.  448,  F.  and  A.  M.,  of  Sharpsburg,  and  Lodge 
No.  932,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  of  Etna.  He  is  a  Democrat 
and  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church. 

Mr.  Wally  married  Emma  Kneis,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  the  following 
children:  William,  born  February  7,  1895;  Marian,  born  March  16,  1897; 
Harry,  born  October  9,  1900;  and  James,  born  October  31,  1905. 

Mrs.  Wally  is  a  daughter  of  Peter  Kneis,  who  was  born  in  Germany,  and 
in  1857  came  as  a  young  man  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  Allegheny 
county.  He  was  a  wagon  maker,  owning  and  operating  a  shop  at  Millvale. 
He  voted  with  the  Republicans  and  was  a  member  of  the  German  Lutheran 
church.  Mr.  Kneis  married  Elizabeth  Hassinger,  and  their  children  were : 
Jacob,  George,  Harry,  Catharine,  Nancy,  Julia,  Anna,  Mary  and  Emma,  wife 
of  William  C.  Wally.  Mr.  Kneis  died  in  February,  1907,  and  is  survived  by 
his  widow. 


DR.  JAMES  K.  M.  PERRINE,  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  November  20, 
1870,  at  Idlewood,  Pennsylvania,  and  is  a  representative  of  an  ancient  family 
of  French  origin,  the  history  of  which  is  traced  through  the  following  genera- 
tions : 

(I )  Daniel  Perrine,  founder  of  the  American  branch  of  the  family,  came 
from  France  about  the  middle  of  the  seventeenth  century.  It  is  not  known 
with  certainty  in  what  part  of  the  colonies  he  found  a  home,  but  from  the  fact 
that  his  grandson  was  a  resident  of  New  Jersey  it  seems  not  improbable  that 
the  race  was  first  planted  there.     He  married  Maria  Thorel. 

(II)  Peter  Perrine,  son  of  Daniel  (I)  and  Maria  (Thorel)  Perrine,  was 
born  in  1667,  and  presumably  lived  in  New  Jersey.     He  married  Ann  Holmes. 

(III)  Henry  Perrine,  son  of  Peter  (II)  and  Anna  (Holmes)  Perrine. 
was  born  in  1700,  and  was  a  resident  of  Cranljerry,  New  Jersey.  He  married 
Martha  Jabs,  of  that  province,  by  whom  lie  had  two  sons :     Joseph,  born  in 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE.  6i 


1/33,  married  :\Iargaret  McFaron  ;  and  William.    Henry  Perrine  died  at  Cran- 
berry in  1753. 

(IV)  William  Perrine,  son  of  Henry  (HI)  and  Martha  (Jabs)  Perrine, 
was  born  in  New  Jersey  and  was  killed  at  Valley  Forge  while  serving  in  the 
Continental  army  under  Washington.     He  married  Ann  van  Rensselaer. 

(V)  Richard  Perrine.  only  surviving  son  of  William  (IV^)  and  Ann  (van 
Rensselaer)  Perrine,  was  born  in  Baltimore  and  there  passed  his  life.  He 
married  Ann  Edmundson,  and  died  in  1822. 

(VIj  Benjamin  Perrine,  son  of  Richard  (V)  and  Ann  (Edmundson) 
Perrine,  was  born  in  18 17,  in  Baltimore.  He  possessed  interests  in  the  mining 
industry  which  obliged  him  to  make  business  trips  to  the  west.  In  1849  he  set 
out  on  one  of  these  journeys  and  is  supposed  to  have  been  killed  by  the  Indians, 
as  he  was  never  again  heard  from.  He  married  Louisa  C.  Bateman,  of  Balti- 
more, and  they  were  the  parents  of  one  child,  Thomas  C. 

(VII)  Thomas  C  Perrine,  only  child  of  Benjamin  (VI)  and  Louisa  C. 
(Bateman)  Perrine,  was  born  December  30,  1848,  in  Baltimore,  and  received 
his  education  at  Newell's  Institute,  after  which  he  took  a  course  of  bookkeeping 
at  Duff's  College.  He  then  engaged  in  the  oil  and  lamp  business  in  Phila- 
delphia, but  after  a  time  sold  out  and  became  a  partner  in  the  firm  of  Edmund- 
son &  Son,  of  Pittsburg,  the  style  being  altered  to  Edmundson  &  Perrine. 
Later  he  became  the  senior  member  of  the  firm.  From  1892  until  his  death  he 
was  president  of  the  Beelington  Steel  &  Iron  Company  of  Mrginia.  He  was  a 
director  in  various  business  enterprises.  His  political  principles  were  those 
advocated  and  supported  by  the  Republican  party.  He  was  a  prominent  mem- 
ber of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  and  for  seventeen  years  served  as 
superintendent  of  the  Sunday-school. 

Mr.  Perrine  married  Sally  J.,  daughter  of  J.  K.  and  Susan  S.  Morange, 
and  they  became  the  parents  of  two  children :  Catherine  E.,  born  December  31, 
1868,  in  Pittsburg,  wife  of  Samuel  N.  Xease,  children,  Sarah  J.  and  Catharine; 
and  James  K.  M.  The  death  of  Mr.  Perrine,  which  occurred  in  Alarch,  1904, 
deprived  the  community  of  a  most  estimable  man  and  worthy  citizen,  devoted 
to  his-  family  and  faithful  in  every  duty. 

(Mil)  James  K.  M.  Perrine,  son  of  Thomas  C.  (VII)  and  Sally  J. 
(Morange)  Perrine,  received  his  primary  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
Pittsburg,  and  was  fitted  for  college  at  W^illard's  Preparatory  School.  From 
the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania  he  passed  to  Hahnemann  Medical 
College,  Philadelphia,  graduating  in  1893  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Med- 
icine. For  six  months  he  engaged  in  general  practice  in  Pittsburg,  and  then 
entered  the  Philadelphia  Polyclinic,  and  after  graduating  there  took  a  special 
course,  in  1894,  in  diseases  of  the  eye,  nose  and  throat.  He  afterward  took 
special  courses  in  Berlin,  Heidelberg  and  Gottingen.  After  his  return  home  he 
opened  an  office  in  Pittsburg,  where  he  has  since  practiced  as  a  specialist  in 
diseases  of  the  eye,  nose  and  throat.  He  was  appointed  eye  surgeon  on  the 
ophthalmological  staff  and  a  member  of  the  Medical  Board  of  the  Homeopathic 
Medical  and  Surgical  Hospital  of  Pittsburg.  He  belongs  to  the  Allegheny 
County  Medical  Society,  and  for  one  year  held  the  office  of  president  of  that 
body.  He  is  a  member  of  Franklin  Lodge,  No.  221,  F.  and  A.  M.,  of  Pitts- 
burg. In  1898  he  was  first  assistant  surgeon  in  the  Seventeenth  Regiment, 
National  Guard,  state  of  Pennsylvania,  and  later  became  second  lieutenant  of 
Company  H,  Eighteenth  Regiment,  National  Guard,  state  of  Pennsylvania.  In 


62  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


1900  he  was  promoted  to  first  lieutenant,  and  in  1902  to  captain,  from  which 
rank  he  resigned  in  October,  1904.  In  the  sphere  of  poHtics  he  is  identified 
with  the  RepubHcans.    He  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church. 

Dr.  Perrine  married,  in  1903,  Laura  Broadhead,  daughter  of  Dr.  Clarence 
C.  and  Laura  V.  (Broadhead)  Rinehart,  of  Pittsburg.  Their  children  are: 
I.  Clarence  R.,  born  September  4,  1903,  and  2.  Virginia  B.,  born  September 
9,  1906. 


OTTO  F.  FREEBING,  who  has  been  identified  with  the  drug  business  for 
almost  twenty  years  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  is  a  descendant  of  an  honored 
family  of  Germany. 

John  Freebing,  father  of  Otto  F.  Freebing,  was  born  in  the  Black  Forest, 
Germany,  and  died  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  1897.  He  emigrated  to 
America  and  moved  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  about  1870,  which  he  thence- 
forth made  his  permanent  home.  He  was  engaged  in  the  iron  business.  He 
married  Augusta  Specht,  who  was  born  in  Rossdorf,  Germany,  and  died  in 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  1897,  and  they  had  children:  Otto  F.,  see  forward; 
Charles,  Bertha,  Frederick,  William,  Emma,  Edward,  Anna  and  Laura. 

Otto  F.  Freebing,  third  child  of  John  and  Augusta  (Specht)  Freebing, 
was  born  in  Newark,  New  Jersey,  September  16,  1865.  He  was  but  a  few 
years  of  age  when  his  parents  moved  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  he 
acquired  his  preparatory  education  in  the  public  schools  of  the  latter  city.  At 
the  age  of  fourteen  years  he  accepted  a  position  as  clerk  in  a  drug  store,  and 
by  diligence  and  faithful  application  to  his  duties,  combined  with  earnest 
study,  rose  rapidly  in  this  profession.  He  commenced  in  this  line  of  business 
for  himself  in  1890,  at  the  corner  of  Park  and  Frankstown  avenues,  and  two 
years  later  built  the  store  in  which  he  carries  on  his  business  at  the  present 
time.  He  has  more  than  a  merely  local  reputation  for  reliability  and  excellent 
service,  as  well  as  being  noted  for  the  pure  quality  of  the  drugs  he  handles.  He 
has  taken  an  active  interest  in  social  and  fraternal  affairs,  and  is  a  member  of 
the  following  organizations:  Ben  Hur  Lodge,  No.  107,  Knights  of  Malta;  J. 
B.  Nicholson  Lodge,  No.  585,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows ;  Protective 
Home  Circle ;  Masonic  Mutual  Aid  Association ;  Leamington  Council,  No. 
1073,  National  Union ;  Lincoln  Tourist  Club,  and  Western  Pennsylvania  Retail 
Druggists'  Association.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Leamington  Presbyterian 
church,  having  been  one  of  the  six  organizers  of  this  institution.  Mr.  Freebing 
married,  in  1892,  Rebecca  Hofer,  a  daughter  of  Michael  Hofer,  and  they  have 
children:     Marion,  born  in  1898,  and  Kenneth,  born  in  1902. 


HENRY  HOWARD  KETTERING.  The  subject  of  this  sketch,  Henry 
Hov/ard  Kettering,  proprietor  of  the  elegantly  equipped  New  Rush  House,  966 
Liberty  avenue,  is  a  descendant  from  one  of  the  oldest  and  most  respected  of 
the  pioneer  families,  who  by  their  skill  and  downright  integrity  have  con- 
tributed a  mite  at  least  toward  making  and  developing  Pennsylvania  into  the 
great  commonwealth  it  is  to-day ;  its  descendants  have,  by  the  liberal  use  of 
brawn  and  skill,  developed  its  pristine  wilderness  into  rich  fields  of  waving 
grain,  where  corn  and  cereals  grow  in  abundance  over  a  wealth  of  mineral 
substance  that  has  made  his  native  county  a  household  word :  it  has  helped 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  63 


develop  its  wonderful  mines  and  figured  occasionally  in  a  dignified  manner  in 
its  politics. 

Mr.  Kettering  was  the  fifth  son  and  seventh  child  of  Adam  and  Eliza 
(Motz)  Kettering,  having  been  born  and  reared  in  Westmoreland  county,  his 
natal  day  being  October  14,  1864.  His  education  was  obtained  in  the  university 
of  the  common  people,  the  Cope  and  Cemetery  schools  of  Hempfield  township 
being  his  alma  mater.  This  historic  township  is  the  place  of  his  nativity,  and 
over  its  broad  acres  he,  in  childhood's  happy  days,  delighted  to  roam.  School 
days  over,  he  returned  to  work  on  the  farm  of  the  parental  ancestor  who  had 
reared  him.  Upon  attaining  his  majority,  however,  guided  presumably  by  the 
star  of  genius,  he  forsook  the  plowshares,  applying  for  and  subsequently  enter- 
ing the  employ  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railway  Company,  first  as  stationary 
engineer,  road  fireman  on  an  engine,  and  eventually  into  the  service  of  the 
Pullman  Car  Company  as  conductor  on  a  swift  train  plying  between  New 
York,  Chicago  and  St.  Louis ;  following  in  the  path  of  rectitude,  he 
developed  an  aptitude  which,  coupled  with  a  stern  and  rugged  honesty,  brought 
him  the  highest  and  worthiest  compliments  the  company  has  ever  given  to  one 
of  its  retiring  employes.  Tiring  of  the  long  trips  over  the  multiplied  highway 
of  steel,  he  sought  and  found  employment  in  a  leading  Pittsburg  hotel,  to  which 
his  broad  experience  and  knowledge  of  men  so  justly  entitled  him.  His  first 
venture  in  this  line  was  in  1890,  when  he  secured  and  filled  to  the  satisfaction 
of  his  various  employers  the  position  of  second  clerk  at  the  Seventh  Avenue 
Hotel,  later  at  Newell's  in  Fifth  avenue,  and  finally  as  proprietor  of  the  Old 
Rush  House,  the  latter  apparently  bringing  out  his  true  merit  and  worth  and 
undeniably  laying  the  cornerstone  for  the  future  successes  that  have  crowned 
his  life's  work. 

As  previously  stated  herein,  Mr.  Kettering  is  sole  proprietor  of  the 
New  Rush  House,  the  incumbency  of  which  hallows  many  pleasant  memories 
even  to  the  oldest  and  newest  of  many  of  the  most  prominent  downtown 
business  men,  and  is  substantial  in  the  commercial  firmament.  It  is  quite 
unnecessary  to  say  that  the  New  Rush  House  caters  to  the  best  of  trade,  for  its 
cuisine,  invariably  par  excellence,  with  its  lobby  always  inviting,  the  furnish- 
ings of  which  are  embellished  with  Mexican  onyx,  oak  and  mahogany, 
together  with  hand  paintings  and  decorations  of  the  highest  type  of  art,  render 
it  attractive  to  its  legions  of  patrons. 

Fraternally  speaking,  and  by  way  of  pardonable  digression,  it  is  to  be  said 
Mr.  Kettering  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  order,  being  a  member  of  Milinor 
Lodge,  No.  287,  F.  &  A.  M.  In  1893  he  received  the  honor  of  being  a  member 
of  the  Pennsylvania  Consistory,  Thirty-second  degree. 

"Harry,"  as  he  is  familiarly  known,  is  a  most  popular  boniface,  having 
among  other  things  the  happy  faculty  of  making  and  maintaining  friends  as 
his  word,  invariably  a  bond,  has  made  his  character  irreproachable. 

Lewis  O.  Kettering,  manager,  and  a  brother,  is  unqualifiedly  a  success. 
His  hearty  greeting  and  warm  hand  shake,  coupled  with  his  acquaintance  with 
men  and  his  broad  knowledge  of  them,  and  his  wide  experience  are  each  a 
formidable  asset.  The  lore  of  his  travels,  never  tirelessly,  but  pleasantly 
related,  is  refreshing  to  his  many  friends  and  the  guests  of  the  house  as  well. 

Herman  P.  Kettering,  by  his  3'ears  of  faithfulness  as  clerk,  has  hundreds 
of  acquaintances  who  applaud  his  consistent  work.  He  is  the  only  one  of  the 
three  brothers  mentioned  that  has  met  his  affinity.     He  is  the  proud  father  of 


64  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Richard    Adam    and    Herman    P.    Kettering,  Jr.,  and  has  a  pretty  home  in 
Carrick  borough. 


CONRAD  G.  SCHAUM,  a  thrifty,  energetic  business  man,  and  a  leading 
merchant  of  Sheridan,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  at  Troy  Plill,  Allegheny,  Penn- 
sylvania, October  4,  1866,  a  son  of  Conrad  and  Catherine  Schaum. 

Conrad  Schaum  (father)  was  born  in  Hesse-Darmstadt,  Germany,  Jan- 
uary I,  1827.  He  received  the  usual  seven  years'  schooling  in  his  native  place, 
and  performed  service  in  the  German  army,  as  is  the  custom  of  young  men  in 
that  country.  When  twenty-one  years  of  age  he  came  to  the  United  States, 
settling  in  Allegheny,  Pennsylvania.  He  accepted  the  position  of  fireman  in 
the  iron  mills  of  Lindsay  &  McCutcheon,  where  he  remained  for  some  time. 
He  then  took  up  his  residence  in  Pittsburg,  and  was  employed  in  the  same  line 
of  work  in  Painter's  Iron  Mills,  which  position  he  held  for  the  long  period  of 
thirty  years,  which  fact  is  an  eloquent  testimonial  of  his  faithfulness  to  duty. 
He  is  an  active  member  of  the  German  Evangelical  church,  and  up  to  the  year 
1906  served  as  a  member  of  its  board  of  trustees. 

Conrad  Schaum  married,  in  England,  in  1856,  Catherine  Luh,  who  bore 
him  the  following  children :  Catherine,  wife  of  John  Smith,  of  Hazlewood, 
Pennsylvania ;  Mary,  wife  of  Caspar  Miller,  a  resident  of  the  Thirty-ninth 
ward ;  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Lewis  Callahan,  of  Tyrone,  Pennsylvania ;  Conrad 
G. ;  Ann,  wife  of  William  Miller,  a  resident  of  the  Thirty-ninth  ward ;  Lydia, 
wife  of  John  Helwick,  of  Osage,  Iowa ;  Frank  A.  W.,  of  Sheridan,  secretary 
of  the  Pennsylvania  Savings  Fund  &  Loan  Association  of  Fourth  avenue ; 
he  married  Rebecca  Plunket.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Schaum  celebrated  their  golden 
wedding  in  1906.     Mr.  Schaum,  despite  his  age,  is  hale,  hearty  and  vigorous. 

Conrad  G.  Schaum  was  six  years  of  age  when  his  parents  moved  to  the 
borough  of  Elliott,  now  the  Thirty-ninth  ward.  His  first  teacher  in  the  schools 
of  Elliott  was  Mrs.  Mattie  Edwards,  who  is  now  the  wife  of  W.  FI.  Speakers, 
one  of  the  well-known  business  men  of  Pittsburg.  He  left  school  at  the  age  of 
thirteen,  at  which  time  he  became  self-supporting,  becoming  a  bottle  boy  in  a 
glass  factory,  his  wages  being  three  dollars  per  week.  He  worked  in  the 
various  departments  of  the  factory  until  seventeen  years  of  age,  at  which  time 
he  was  an  oven  tender.  He  then  accepted  a  position  as  clerk  in  the  grocery 
store  of  W.  H.  Speakers,  under  whose  preceptorship  he  obtained  a  thorough 
knowledge  of  the  business.  He  served  in  this  capacity  for  nineteen  years,  and 
at  the  expiration  of  this  period  of  time,  with  the  capital  saved  from  his  earn- 
ings, embarked  in  the  grocery  business  in  the  building  he  now  occupies.  At 
the  beginning  he  had  but  one  room,  but  his  business  has  increased  so  rapidly 
that  he  now  occupies  three  large  rooms.  Last  year  (1906)  his  business 
amounted  to  thirty-five  thousand  dollars,  and  this  year  the  prospects  are  that  it 
will  reach  a  much  higher  figure.  The  success  which  has  attended  his  efiforts 
has  been  directly  due  to  his  enterprise,  energy  and  determination  to  succeed. 
He  has  steadily  advanced,  step  by  step,  and  now  ranks  among  the  prosperous 
and  influential  men  of  his  city.  He  is  a  staunch  adherent  of  the  principles  of 
the  Republican  party,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows, Heptasophs  and  the  Junior  Order  of  United  American  Mechanics. 

Mr.  Schaum  married,  January  9,  1892,  in  the  West  End  Methodist  Epis- 
copal church,  Mary  E.  Hofer,  daughter  of  Michael  and  Sarah  (Nolder)  Hofer, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  65 


who  celebrated  their  golden  wedding  in  1904.  The  ceremony  was  performed 
by  the  late  Rev.  H.  C.  Beacon.  The  children  of  this  union  are:  Edna  Bernice, 
Nellie  Vera,  Charles  Earle,  Mary  Elizabeth,  Conrad  Glen  and  Clyde  Franklin. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Schaum  are  members  of  the  Sheridan  Methodist  Episcopal 
church,  and  when  the  present  edifice  was  erected  in  1904  he  served  as  a 
member  of  the  building  committee. 


HON.  FREDERICK  HILL  COLLIER,  LL.  D.  Among  the  deceased 
citizens  of  Pittsburg  whose  lives  and  conduct  were  of  such  high  value  that  all 
classes  held  them  in  honor  and  esteem,  was  the  late  Judge  Frederick  H.  Collier. 
He  was  born  at  Millerstown,  Lancaster  county,   Pennsylvania,  February  25, 

1826,  and  died  October  29,  1906.  He  was  the  son  of  Rev.  William  Collier, 
D.  D.,  born  in  Hagerstown,  Maryland,  May  ii,  1803,  who  married  Miss  Sarah, 
daughter  of  Frederick  H.  and  Margaret  (Buckius)  Hill,  born  in  Lancaster 
county,  Pennsylvania,  January  2,  1798.  By  this  union  were  born  the  following 
children:     i.  Frederick  H.,  of  this  notice.     2.  Charles  W.,  born  November  4, 

1827,  at  Millintown,  died  aged  twenty-one  years,  soon  after  he  had  graduated 
from  Columbia  College,  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  on  board  a  ship 
from  California  to  Central  America.  3.  Ann  M.  E.,  born  October  26,  1836, 
at  Alexandria,  Virginia,  married  James  Scott,  of  Steubenville,  Ohio.  4.  William 
S.,  born  July  15,  1859,  at  Brookville,  Alaryland,  died  in  Washington,  District 
of  Columbia,  in  1886. 

William  Collier,  Sr.,  the  subject's  grandfather,  was  born  about  1773,  in 

Berks  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  married  Elizabeth  .     They  were  the 

parents  of  eight  children:  William,  Daniel,  Joseph,  John,  George,  Mary, 
Elizabeth  and  Rebecca.  John  and  George  were  in  the  Civil  war  and  George 
was  killed  in  that  conflict. 

Joseph  Collier,  the  great-grandfather  and  father  of  William,  Sr.,  married 
Miss  Mary  Marx,  whose  father  and  seven  sons  were  in  the  Revolutionary  war 
and  the  most  of  them  were  killed  in  battle  engagements.  Joseph  Collier  and 
wife  were  the  parents  of  three  children :  William  Collier,  Sr.,  Daniel  and 
Mary.  The  Colliers  were  of  English  descent,  while  the  Marx  family  were 
from  Germany  originally. 

Judge  Frederick  H.  Collier,  subject,  son  of  Rev.  William  Collier,  was 
born  February  25,  1826,  and  received  his  education  at  Brookville  Academy, 
near  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  graduating  from  Columbia  College  of 
Washington  with  the  class  of  1849.  He  then  studied  law,  was  admitted  to  the 
bar  in  the  District  of  Columbia,  and  removed  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where 
he  was  admitted  to  the  Allegheny  county  bar,  January  11,  1851,  on  motion  of 
William  M.  Shinn.  He  was  elected  district  attorney  in  1856,  served  three 
years,  and  when  the  Civil  war  came  on  he  raised  the  One  Hundred  and  Thirty- 
ninth  Regiment  of  Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  was  elected  its 
colonel.  He  picked  some  of  the  flower  of  Pittsburg  families,  who  became 
members  of  Companies  D,  G  and  I,  which  companies  were  chiefly  made  up  of 
Pittsburg  and  Allegheny  county  men.  The  regiment  was  organized  at  Camp 
Howe,  near  Pittsburg,  September  i,  1862,  when  the  government  was  still 
attempting  to  recover  from  the  first  Bull  Run  disaster.  Judge  Collier  was 
elected  colonel,  James  D.  Owen,  lieutenant  colonel,  and  W.  H.  Moody,  major 
of  the  regiment.    After  being  ordered  to  the  front  they  received  their  arms  at 


66  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


Harrisburg,  and  at  once  reported  at  Washington,  where  they  were  assigned, 
September  3,  1862,  to  the  painful  duty  of  burying  the  dead  upon  the  recently 
fought  battlefield  of  Bull  Run,  where  they  first  saw  the  real  horrors  of  war. 
The  regiment  was  then  sent  to  join  the  Third  Regiment,  Third  Division,  Sixth 
Army  Corps,  at  the  battle  of  Antietam.  It  was  at  Gettysburg,  however,"  that 
Colonel  Collier  and  his  brave  men  from  Pittsburg  distinguished  themselves, 
especially  when  they  marched  thirty  miles  and  on  July  2,  and  under  General 
Sedgewick,  were  led  into  the  relief  of  the  Union  left,  which  had  all  day  been 
repelling  Longstreet's  entire  force  in  the  celebrated  Peach  Orchard,  defended 
by  General  Sickles,  and  Little  Round  Top,  held  by  General  Sykes.  At  the 
head  of  his  men  Colonel  Collier  was  accidentally  wounded  by  himself  at  the 
close  of  the  engagement.  He  took  part  in  many  fierce  battles,  along  the  Rap- 
pahannock, at  Mine  Run,  Spottsylvania  Courthouse,  Cold  Harbor,  Petersburg 
and  Richmond.  He  was  under  General  Sheridan  at  Winchester,  Fisher's  Hill 
and  Cedar  Creek.  L.ater  he  was  under  Grant  in  the  army  of  the  Potomac, 
and  breveted  brigadier  general  for  gallantry  while  in  action. 

His  eminent  fitness  later  called  him  to  be  detailed  for  special  duty  in  pre- 
siding over  important  court  martial  cases,  where  his  services  were  invaluable 
to  the  government  at  Washington.  His  reports,  which  according  to  military 
rule,  had  to  be  reviewed  by  the  President,  passed  Mr.  Lincoln,  and  without  a 
single  exception  the  justice  was  so  marked  that  they  all  received  approval.  He 
was  a  most  intimate  friend  of  Secretary  Edwin  M.  Stanton,  then  secretary  of 
war,  having  known  him  in  Pittsburg  as  a  member  of  the  bar,  which  acquaint- 
ance was  renewed  at  Washington,  where  he  was  intimately  associated  with  that 
great  cabinet  officer. 

When  Lee  surrendered  to  Grant  at  Appomattox,  General  Collier's  regi- 
ment was  in  front  of  Petersburg  and  participated  in  the  great  events  which 
closed  the  Civil  War.  The  following  article  is  an  extract  from  the  "History 
of  Pennsylvania  Volunteers"  :  "While  the  army  was  lying  in  front  of  Peters- 
burg, Lieutenant  General  Grant  had  received  from  patriotic  citizens  the  sum 
of  four  hundred  and  sixty  dollars,  to  be  presented  to  that  soldier  who  should 
be  the  first  to  plant  the  LTnion  flag  on  the  ramparts  of  Richmond  upon  its 
downfall.  As  Richmond  was  not  taken  by  assault,  but  fell  without  resistance, 
as  the  result  of  the  successful  assault  on  Petersburg  on  the  2d  of  April,  Gen- 
eral Grant  deemed  that  the  donors'  wishes  would  be  best  met  by  dividing  the 
sum  among  the  three  color  sergeants  most  conspicuous  for  gallantry  in  the 
three  corps  of  the  army  most  warmly  engaged  in  the  final  struggle.  He  accord- 
ingly called  in  the  corps  commanders  to  designate  the  men  who  should  be  the 
recipients  of  this  coveted  honor.  General  Wright,  who  commanded  the  Sixth 
Corps,  reported  the  name  of  Sergeant  David  W.  Young,  of  Company  E,  One 
Hundred  and  Thirty-ninth  Pennsylvania  Regiment,  as  most  deserving  in  his 
corps."  Sergeant  David  W.  Young  was  a  member  of  General  Collier's  regi- 
ment. 

Judge  Collier  returned  to  Pittsburg  when  his  military  duties  were  ended 
and  resumed  the  practice  of  law.  H^e  was  of  the  firm  of  Collier,  Miller  & 
McBride,  and  enjoyed  a  large  practice  until  1869,  when  he  was  elected  the 
judge  of  the  court  of  common  pleas  for  the  term  of  ten  years,  and  at  the  end 
of  that  period  was  reelected  in  1879,  1889  and  1899.  Under  the  Constitution 
of  1874  this  court  was  designated  "Court  of  Common  Pleas  No.  i,"  and  so 
remains.     On  the  first  Monday  in  January,  1903,  Judge  Collier  having  been 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  67 


duly  commissioned,  was  qualified  as  president  judge,  in  which  capacity  he 
served  until  his  death.  He  succeeded  Judge  Edwin  H.  Stowe.  Judge  Collier 
received  the  degree  of  "Doctor  of  Laws"  in  1886  from  the  Adrian  (Michigan) 
College.     Collier  township  in  Allegheny  county  was  named  in  honor  of  him. 

In  religious  affiliations  Judge  Collier  was  a  Methodist  Protestant  and  very 
many  years  was  an  active  church  worker.  He  directed  the  music  of  the  church, 
and  in  September  prior  to  his  last  sickness  he  conducted  rehearsal  and  sang 
in  the  choir.  He  was  an  honored  member  of  the  Loyal  Legion  and  the  Union 
Veteran  Legion,  No.  i,  which  body  passed  befitting  resolutions  over  his  demise 
and  took  their  old  flag  to  his  home  to  cover  his  form  in  death. 

No  judge  in  the  civil  or  criminal  branches  of  the  courts  had  a  better 
reputation  for  study  and  learning  on  the  rules  of  evidence,  of  which  he  was  a 
recognized  master.  Patience,  urbanity,  grace,  dignitv  of  deportment  on  the 
bench,  he  displayed  in  a  most  marked  manner.  To  the  younger  members  of 
the  bar  he  was  most  considerate  and  affectionate,  thus  earning  the  title  of 
"Pap  Collier,"  because  of  his  fatherly  treatment.  To  no  lawyer,  old  or  young, 
was  Judge  Collier  ever  known  to  forget  the  dignity  of  his  profession,  but  to 
no  class  of  the  community  did  he  endear  himself  more  than  the  old  comrades 
of  the  Civil  war.  He  retained  his  membership  in  the  Grand  Army  Post  and 
Union  Veteran  Legion,  and  until  prevented  by  age  and  illness  never  failed  to 
march  with  the  ranks  on  the  annual  Memorial  Day  occasions  and  to  strew  the 
graves  of  his  departed  comrades  with  rich  garlands  of  flowers.  During  the 
last  National  Encampment  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  at  Pittsburg 
he  marched  the  entire  long  route  of  the  great  and  imposing  parade. 

In  his  last  years  on  the  bench  he  was  particularly  fond  of  his  old  army 
associations,  and  in  his  appointments  of  court  officers  always  favored  the  old 
soldiers.  One  of  the  largest  camps  of  Sons  of  Veterans  in  the  county  was 
named  for  him.  During  the  last  decade  of  his  life  he  took  great  delight  in 
entertaining  visitors  at  his  beautiful  home  at  Rose  Hill,  where  he  used  to  have 
one  special  seat,  which  overlooked  the  surrounding  country.  On  the  hillside 
about  his  natural  park-home  he  produced  some  of  the  finest  varieties  of  grapes 
grown  in  Pennsylvania. 

Judge  Collier  died  at  five  o'clock  and  fifteen  minutes,  on  the  29th  day  of 
October,  1906.  He  had  been  stricken  with  paralysis  and  had  been  confined  to 
his  house  several  weeks.  He  is  survived  by  three  grandchildren,  Rebekah 
Lindsey,  only  child  of  Charles  W.  and  Eleanor  ]\IcCutcheon  Collier,  and  Fred- 
erick Collier  and  Catherine  King,  children  of  his  daughter.  Elizabeth,  and 
James  H.  McCutcheon. 

Of  his  domestic  relations,  it  may  here  be  stated  that  he  married  Catherine 
King,  of  Georgetown,  District  of  Columbia,  in  1849.  She  was  the  daughter 
of  William  and  Christena  (Goszler)  King.  By  this  union  the  following  chil- 
dren were  born.  i.  Kate.  2.  Sarah  Christine,  who  married  W.  W.  McBride, 
of  Pittsburg ;  she  died  in  1887.  3.  Charles  W.,  of  whom  further  mention  is 
made.  4.  Elizabeth,  married  James  H.  McCutcheon,  and  their  children  are : 
Frederick  C,  Eleanor,  Catherine  (deceased),  and  Elizabeth  (deceased).  5. 
Frances  K.,  died  in  1897.  6.  Frederick,  died  in  1859.  7-  Dasie.  died  in  1887. 
Mrs.  Catherine  (King)  Collier,  the  mother,  was  born  in  1825,  and  died  in 
1905. 

Charles  Wesley  Collier,  son  of  Judge  Collier  and  wife,  was  born  in 
Sharpsburg,   Pennsylvania,   and  graduated   from  the   W^estern   LTniversity  of 


68  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


Pennsylvania,  with  the  class  of  1875.  He  registered  as  a  lawyer  April  22, 
1874,  on  motion  of  Jacob  H.  Miller.  His  preceptors  were  his  father,  Jacob  H. 
Miller,  and  Archibald  McBride.  He  died  in  Allegheny  City,  Pennsylvania, 
November  18,  1882.  The  Bench  and  Bar  of  a  recent  date  has  the  following 
tribute  to  his  character: 

"His  death  was  announced  in  court  on  the  day  of  its  occurrence  by  Jacob 
H.  Miller  and  Marshall  Swartzwelder.  The  death  of  this  young  man  was  a 
sad  stroke  to  his  family  in  many  ways.  The  only  son  of  a  distinguished  lawyer, 
soldier,  citizen,  judge,  he  was  looked  upon  as  the  legitimate  heir  of  at  least 
much  of  his  father's  merits  and  good  name.  He  was  happily  married  and  had 
entered  upon  the  work  of  his  profession  with  all  things  bright  and  promising. 
He  had  a  charming  personality,  was  a  thorough  gentleman,  had  a  just  sense  of 
honor  and  full  of  true  manly  love.  Few  deaths  have  been  more  deplored  than 
that  of  "Charlie'  Collier,  young  in  years  but  ripe  in  goodness." 


ALVIN  FREDERICK  STONER.  a  retired  merchant  of  Wilkinsburg, 
Pennsvlvania,  and  who'  was  closely  identified  with  commercial  interests  for 
manv  vears,  is  a  representative  of  an  old  family  of  the  state,  whose  pioneer 
ancestors  came  from  Germany. 

Frederick  Stoner,  grandfather  of  Alvin  Frederick  Stoner,  was  born  in 
Lancaster  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1769,  and  when  still  very  young  came  to 
Penn  township,  where  in  the  early  part  of  the  nineteenth  century  he  purchased 
a  farm.  He  was  a  blacksmith  by  trade,  but  abandoned  that  occupation  in  favor 
of  agriculture,  in  which  he  was  actively  engaged  until  his  death  in  1835.  He 
married  Barbara  Whitmore,  also  of  German  descent,  born  in  1775  and  died  in 
1861,  and  they  had  children:  Christian,  married  Mary  Stoner;  John,  married 
Elizabeth  Sto'tler ;  Frederick ;  Martha,  married  David  Stotler ;  Jacob ;  Joseph, 
married  Nancy  Stotler ;  David  ;  Susan,  married  Samuel  Bush ;  Abraham  ( see 
forward). 

Abraham  Stoner,  youngest  child  of  Frederick  and  Barbara  (Whitmore) 
Stoner,  was  born  on  the  Stoner  homestead  in  Penn  township,  Allegheny  county, 
Pennsvlvania,  in  the  fall  of  181 1.  His  early  life  was  spent  on  the  home  farm, 
and  he  had  the  adyantages  of  as  good  schooling  as  the  public  schools  of  that 
day  and  section  afforded.  He  assisted  his  father  in  the  cultivation  and  man- 
agement of  the  home  farm  until  1839,  at  which  time  he  removed  to  Wilkins- 
burg and  associated  himself  in  the  general  mercantile  business  with  Hugh 
Boyd.  This  business  was  carried  on  very  successfully  until  1846,  when  the 
partnership  was  dissolved  and  Mr.  Stoner  went  to  Jacksonville,  Westmoreland 
countv,  Pennsvlvania,  where  he  was  in  mercantile  business  and  postmaster  for 
a  period  of  four  years.  He  then  returned  to  Wilkinsburg  and  resumed  his  old 
line  of  business  in  1853,  in  which  he  w^as  engaged  very  profitably  until  his 
death,  which  occurred  March  26,  1891.  Upon  his  return  to  Wilkinsburg  he 
had  erected  a  store  building,  and  in  the  following  year  the  house  at  No.  732 
Penn  avenue,  which  is  in  an  excellent  state  of  preservation,  and  in  which  his 
son  and  daughter  are  residing  at  the  present  time.  He  was  appointed  post- 
master of  Wilkinsburg  by  President  Van  Buren  in  1840  and  served  five  years. 
He  was  reappointed  postmaster  of  Wilkinsburg  in  1864  by  President  Lincoln 
and  held  this  office  for  twenty  years.  He  was  also  at  one  time  treasurer  of 
Sterrett  township,  and  was  one  of  the  most  prominent  men  in  that  section  of 


i 


MRS.  REBECCA  STONER. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  69 

the  state,  having  always  given  his  active  support  to  the  principles  of  the 
Republican  party.  He  was  an  attendant  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  which 
represents  his  faith,  and  enjoyed  the  esteem  and  respect  of  the  entire  com- 
munity. He  married  November  16,  1848,  Rebecca  Little,  born  in  Wilkinsburg, 
Pennsylvania,  December  16,  1821,  and  died  December  6,  1905,  a  daughter  of 
David  and  Christina  (Stattenfield)  Little,  who  were  married  January":,  1806, 
and  had  children  as  follows:  i.  Sarah  Ann,  born  March  5.  1807;  married! 
August  18.  1 83 1,  George  Johnson.  2.  James  Denison,  born  December  2g, 
1808,  was  drowned  as  the  result  of  an  accident  to  the  steamer  "Citizen,"  March 
10,  1831.  3.  Melvina,  born  November  29,  1810;  married,  September  4,  1832, 
Charles  Reynolds.  4.  Eliza,  born  November  19,  1812;  married,  December  15, 
1835,  Lot  b.  Reynolds.  5.  Margaret  Jane,  born  August  9,  1816;  married! 
April  6,  1830,  Rev.  John  Bonner.  6.  David,  born  October  16,  1819;  died 
January  3,  1820.  7.  Rebecca,  mentioned  above.  ■  8.  David,  born  September  16, 
1823.  Abraham  and  Rebecca  (Little)  Stoner's  children  are:  i.  Eulalia,  who 
died  February  2y,  1905,  married  Jonas  R.  Johnson,  and  left  children :  Frederick 
W.  and  Everett  Reed  Johnson.  2.  James  Whitmore,  died  December  19,  1884. 
3.  Marion,  died  September  10,  i860.  4.  Alvin  Frederick,  see  forward  c. 
Lillian  M. 

Alvin  Frederick  Stoner,  third  «on  and  fourth  child  of  Abraham  and 
Rebecca  (Little)  Stoner,  was  born  in  the  house  on  Penn  avenue,  Wilkinsburg, 
Pennsylvania,  in  which  he  is  at  present  residing  with  his  sister,  Lillian  AL  He 
vvas  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  the  township  and  upon  the  completion 
■of  his  education  entered  the  business  of  his  father,  in  due  course  of  time,  in 
1884,  assuming  the  responsibility  of  a  partner.  Upon  the  death  of  his  father 
lie  assumed  entire  control  of  the  business,  and  under  his  able  management  it 
jiourished  until  January,  1902,  when  he  retired  from  active  work  in  the  mer- 
cantile field  and  devoted  his  entire  time  and  attention  tO'  the  management  of  the 
family  estate,  which  had  grown  to  large  proportions.  He  has  erected  a  num- 
ber of  private  residences  and  business  blocks  in  the  borough,  among  them  being 
a  large  building  at  No.  738  Penn  avenue,  which  is  rented  in  apartments  and 
for  business  purposes.  He  is  a  member  of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  of 
Wilkinsburg,  in  which  he  has  been  an  elder  since  1887.  He  is  a  Republican 
in  politics. 

THE  RIGHT  REVEREND  CORTLANDT  WHITEHEAD,  S.  T.  D.. 
Second  Bishop  of  Pittsburg  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  Church,  was  born  in 
New  York,  October  30,  1842.  He  prepared  for  college  at  Phillips  Academy, 
Andover,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1859;  he  entered  Yale  the  same  year,  and 
took  his  A.  B.  in  1863.  His  theological  course  was  taken  at  the  Philadelphia 
Divinity  School,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1867.  He  received  Deacon's  Or- 
ders from  Bishop  Odenheimer,  in  Trinity  church,  Newark,  New  Jersey,  June 
21,  1867,  and  was  ordained  priest  in  St.  Mark's  chapel,  Black  Hawk,  Colorado, 
August  8,  1868,  by  Bishop  Randall.  Devoting  his  early  ministry  to  the  western 
mission  field,  he  served  for  three  years  in  Colorado.  Returning  to  the  east  he 
"became  rector  of  the  Church  of  the  Nativity,  South  Bethlehem,  Pennsylvania, 
187 1 -1882,  and  was  a  deputy  to  the  general  convention  from  the  same  diocese 
in  1877  and  in  1880.  He  received  his  doctorate  in  divinity  from  Union, 
Schenectady,  New  York,  in  1880;  from  Hobart,  Geneva,  New  York,  in  1887; 
and  from  St.  Stephen's,  Annandale,  New  York,  in  1890,  S.  T.  D. 


yq,  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

Bishop  Whitehead  was  consecrated  bishop  of  Pittsburg  in  Trinity  church, 
Pittsburg,  January  25,  1882',  by  Bishops  Stevens,  Bedell,  M.  A.  DeWolfe 
Howe,  Scarborough,  Peterkin,  and  the  Bishop  of  Huron,  Ontario,  Dr.  Helmuth. 

He  was  married  on  July  29,  1868,  to  Charlotte  Burgoyne  King,  of  Rox- 
borough,  Massachusetts.  He  has  five  adult  children,  one  son  and  four 
daughters. 

ANTHONY  SCHILLO,  a  well-known  citizen  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
who  is  now  living  in  retirement  at  No.  3803  Penn  avenue,  in  the  Fifteenth 
ward,  after  many  years  spent  in  active  business  life,  is  a  representative  of  a 
German  family,  as  the  name  would  indicate. 

Anthony  Schillo,  father  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  was  born  in  Prussia, 
Germany,  in  the  Rhine  province  of  Preusen,  in  1813.  In  his  youth  he  was 
apprenticed  to  the  trade  of  moulding,  which  he  learned  thoroughly  in  all  its 
details,  and  in  which  he  was  engaged  in  his  native  land  until  he  emigrated  to 
America  in  1850.  His  first  place  of  residence  was  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
but  at  the  expiration  of  one  year  he  removed  to  Chicago,  Illinois,  where  for  a 
time  he  followed  his  trade,  but  later  established  a  foundry  which  was  known 
as  Schillo,  Cassman  &  Company,  and  of  which  he  was  the  leading  spirit  and 
head  until  his  retirement  from  business  in  1871.  The  business,  however,  is 
still  conducted  under  the  old  firm  name.  Mr.  Schillo  was  a  self-made  man  in 
the  truest  sense  of  the  word,  for  by  his  industry  and  close  attention  to  all  the  de- 
tails of  the  business  he  had  succeeded  in  building  up  he  amassed  a  fortune.  He 
and  his  family  were  members  of  the  Catholic  church.  In  politics  he  was  a  Repub- 
lican, and  he  cast  his  first  vote  for  General  John  C.  Fremont.  His  death 
occurred  in  1884,  and  that  of  his  wife  two  years  later.  He  married,  in  1836, 
in  Prussia,  Gertrude  Kloman,  born  in  1816,  a  sister  of  Andrew  Kloman,  who 
was  prominent  in  the  early  history  of  the  iron  and  steel  industry  in  Pittsburg, 
and  they  had  nine  children,  six  of  whom  lived  to  maturity :  Katherine, 
deceased ;  Margretta,  Anthony,  of  whom  later ;  Elizabeth,  Peter,  deceased,  and 
Mary. 

Anthony  Schillo,  eldest  surviving  son  of  Anthony  and  Gertrude  (Kloman) 
Schillo,  was  born  in  the  province  of  Rhine,  Prussia,  Germany,  September  9, 
1842.  He  was  about  eight  years  of  age  when  he  came  to  this  country  with  his 
parents,  and  his  education  was  acquired  in  the  public  schools  of  Chicago, 
Illinois.  He  went  to  Pittsburg  in  1859,  where  he  entered  the  employ  of  his 
uncle,  Andrew  Kloman,  and  with  him  served  an  apprenticeship  of  three  years, 
and  then  worked  for  him  as  a  journeyman  for  a  period  of  ten  years.  The 
firm  has  now  become  merged  into  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company,  and  Mr. 
Schillo  has  worked  for  it  for  thirty-six  and  one-half  years.  His  service  was  in 
a  variety  of  fields — as  puddler  boss,  assistant  manager  and  roller  boss.  He 
retired  from  business  in  1892,  having  amassed  a  competency  by  his  years  of 
toil,  and  is  now  enjoying  his  life  retired  from  all  active  business  interests.  He 
has  always  been  actively  interested  in  educational  matters,  and  served  on  the 
school  board  of  Pittsburg  for  six  years.  He  is  a  staunch  supporter  of  the 
Republican  party  and  was  elected  assessor  of  tne  Fifteenth  ward  of  Pittsburg 
in  1903,  and  still  (1906)  holds  the  position.  He  and  his  family  are  members 
of  the  Roman  Catholic  church,  in  which  Mr.  Schillo  has  been  the  tenor  singer 
for  forty-three  years. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  71 


He  married,  in  1863,  Elizabeth  Kalchthaler,  born  in  Pittsburg,  a  daughter 
of  John  Kalchthaler,  who  came  to  America  in  1837,  and  was  a  butcher  for 
many  years,  and  was  prominently  identified  with  the  history  of  the  old  Adams 
market.  The  children  of  Mr.  and  ]\Irs.  Schillo  are:  i.  William  A.,  who 
succeeded  to  the  position  of  his  father  in  the  steel  works,  married  Theresa 
Eichenlaub.  2.  Albert  J.,  a  clerk,  married  Mary  Dietz,  and  has  three  children: 
Anthony,  Paul  and  Mercedes.  3.  Theodore  J.,  a  member  of  the  Raweston 
Engraving  Company,  married  Lucy  Dauer,  and  has  one  child,  Gertrude.  4. 
Bertha,  married  John  J.  Dauer,  cashier  of  the  Metropolitan  Trust  Company, 
and  has  children :  Leo  Anthony,  John  Perre,  Earl  Theodore  and  Louisa 
Elizabeth. 


SAMUEL  CLYDE  SCOTT,  of  Sheridan,  serving  in  the  capacity  of  sec- 
retary, treasurer  and  manager  of  The  John  Wade  Lumber  Company,  is  a  native 
of  Burgettstown,  Washington  county,  Pennsylvania,  born  June  i,  1879.  He  is 
a  son  of  John  Lindley  and  Sarah  Elizabeth  (McNary)  Scott,  and  a  grandson 
of  Samuel  Gordon  Scott,  whose  birth  occurred  in  Washington  county,  Penn- 
sylvania. 

John  Lindley  Scott  (father)  was  born  in  Burgettstown,  Washington 
county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1847.  He  attended  the  schools  of  Pittsburg,  and  the 
knowledge  thus  gained  was  supplemented  by  attendance  at  a  business  college 
in  that  city.  His  first  venture  in  business  life  was  in  the  meat  trade,  which  he 
abandoned  in  order  to  engage  in  the  lumber  business  in  Burgettstown,  in  which 
he  achieved  a  well  merited  degree  of  success.  He  married  Sarah  Elizabeth 
McNary,  of  Burgettstown,  born  in  1849,  a  daughter  of  William  McNary,  also 
of  Burgettstown,  who  was  a  carpenter  and  builder,  and  whose  family  consisted 
of  four  other  children,  namely:  Samuel,  a  resident  of  Denison,  Ohio,  married 
a  Miss  Simcox ;  they  were  the  parents  of  three  children.  Amanda,  married  a 
Mr.  Davies  for  her  first  husband,  and  a  Mr.  Stottlemeyer  for  her  second  hus- 
band ;  she  had  two  children,  now  deceased.  Emma,  unmarried,  is  a  milliner 
in  Burgettstown.  Mary  Ellen,  died  in  early  life.  The  children  of  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Scott  were  as  follows:  Willa  Amanda,  born  in  1870,  married  (first) 
Harry  McGregor,  one  child,  Elizabeth,  born  in  1890,  married  M.  L.  Skipps,  of 
Pittsburg;  married  (second)  AL  H.  McCIinik.  three  children:  Mary  Blanche, 
born  in  1898;  Warren  Ford,  in  1900;  Archibald  Scott,  in  1902.  Emma  Elfrida, 
born  in  1872,  died  unmarried,  December  20,  1906,  in  Sheridan.  Annie  Drucilla, 
born  in  1874,  died  unmarried,  ]\Iay  8,  1904,  in  Sheridan.  William  Clare,  born 
June  I,  1879,  unmarried,  a  carpenter  by  trade,  residing  in  Sheridan.  Samuel 
Clyde,  twin  of  \\'illiam,  of  whom  later.  Mrs.  Scott,  the  mother  of  these 
children,  resides  with  her  son,  Samuel  C.  Scott. 

Samuel  C.  Scott  received  a  very  meager  education  in  the  schools  of  his 
native  town.  At  the  age  of  sixteen  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Pennsylvania 
Railroad  as  assistant  agent,  and  continued  as  such  until  he  attained  the  age  of 
nineteen  years.  He  then  removed  to  Sheridan  and  entered  the  employ  of  the 
John  W^ade  Lumber  Company  as  a  clerk,  in  which  capacity  he  served  until  a 
new  company  was  formed,  known  as  the  McPeak,  Wade  &  Scott  Lumber  Com- 
pany, and  he  was  then  elected  secretary,  treasurer  and  manager  of  the 
company,  which  offices  he  is  filling  in  a  creditable  manner  at  the  present  time 
(1907).     The  company  also  have  a  branch  in  West  Liberty,  over  which  ]\Ir. 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Scott  has  control.  His  career  is  an  example  of  what  can  be  accomplished  by 
perseverance  and  energy,  and  it  is  well  worthy  of  emulation.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Sheridan,  and  his  political  allegiance  is 
given  to  the  Democratic  party. 

Mr.  Scott  married,  December  20,  1904,  in  Pittsburg,  Edna  B.  Van  Kirk, 
daughter  of  Samuel  and  Isabelle  (Jackson)  Van  Kirk,  the  former  of  whom 
was  an  engineer  and  resided  in  Millvale,  Pennsylvania,  and  the  latter  a  native 
of  Allegheny,  Pennsylvania.  Mrs.  Scott  only  lived  a  short  time  after  her 
marriage,  passing  away  June  9,  1905,  in  Millvale,  Pennsylvania. 


THE  FETTERMAN  FAMILY  were  originally  from  Germany,  owning 
large  mills  in  Hessen-Darmstadt.  The  American  ancestor  came  to  this  country 
prior  to  the  Revolution  and  settled  on  the  Susquehanna  river,  above  Harris- 
burg,  at  or  near  Lock  Haven,  acquiring  property  and  mills  in  that  section. 
The  Fetterman  homestead  in  Scott  township  has  now  been  in  the  possession 
of  the  family  for  more  than  one  hundred  years.  Members  of  this  family  have 
attained  prominence  in  the  various  professions,  notably  that  of  law,  and  have 
rendered  signal  service  in  defense  of  the  rights  of  their  adopted  country. 

(I)  Washington  Wilfred  Fetterman  married  Hannah  Plumer,  daughter 
of  Nathaniel  Plumer  and  granddaughter  of  Jonathan  Plumer,  whose  ancestors 
came  to  Newburyport,  Massachusetts,  in  1633.  Jonathan  Plumer  came  across 
the  country  early  in  the  eighteenth  century  and  settled  near  where  the  old 
Allegheny  arsenal  stood.  He  was  commissary  to  General  Braddock  in  1755; 
accompanied  General  Forbes  when  Fort  Duquesne  was  taken  in  1758;  and  was 
then  with  General  Bouquet.  Toward  the  latter  part  of  the  century  his  son 
Nathaniel  purchased  a  large  tract  of  land  south  of  Pittsburg,  which  became 
the  Plumer  homestead,  and  on  which  the  three  sons  of  Washington  W.  and 
Hannah  (Plumer)  Fetterman  were  born.  Mrs.  Fetterman  lived  with  her 
father  for  some  years  after  her  marriage.  The  old  house  is  still  standing  and 
is  now  occupied  by  John  Anderson.  The  house  occupied  by  Nathaniel  Plumer 
Fetterman  and  afterwards  by  his  son.  Judge  Charles  Sylvester  Fetterman, 
stands  on  the  opposite  side  of  the  road  just  above  the  Plumer  homestead.  It 
is  called  the  Fetterman  homestead,  and  is  now  occupied  by  the  Mount  Lebanon 
Country  Club.  The  children  of  Washington  W.  and  Hannah  (Plumer)  Fet- 
terman were:  i.  Washington  Wilfred,  born  in  1802.  He  was  admitted  to 
the  bar  in  1822,  and  was  very  prominent  not  only  in  Pittsburg,  but  through- 
out western  Pennsylvania.  He  became  a  convert  to  the  Catholic  faith  after 
his  marriage,  and  donated  the  site  of  old  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  in  Fifth  avenue, 
Pittsburg.  He  owned  from  two  to  four  thousand  acres  of  land  in  West  Vir- 
ginia, and  founded  the  town  of  Fetterman  in  that  state.  His  death  occurred 
in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  December  12,  1838.  He  married,  in  1822, 
Sarah  de  Bulan,  granddaughter  of  Baron  de  Bulan,  who,  until  the  death  of 
Joseph  the  Second  of  Austria,  was  ambassador  to  the  United  States.  They 
had  two  daughters  and  three  sons :  Colonel  Fetterman,  a  member  of  Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers,  died  from  the  effects  of  wounds  received  in  three  years 
of  active  service.  Gilbert  Lafayette  Bulan  had  General  La  Fayette  Bulan  for 
godfather,  he  being  an  intimate  friend  of  the  elder  Fetterman  and  on  a  visit 
to  America  at  the  time  of  the  birth  of  this  child,  in  1824.  He  received  his 
classical  education  in  Mount  St.  Marv's  College,  studied  law  in  the  office  of 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  73 

Judge  Baldwin,  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1850.  He  was  in  partnership 
with  his  uncle.  Nathaniel  Plumer  Fetterman,  for  some  years,  was  prominent 
in  his  profession  and  noted  for  his  ability  as  a  speaker.  He  died  in  1883. 
He  married  M.  Augusta  Gloninger,  of  Baltimore,  Maryland,  and  their  daugh- 
ter, Alice  Grace,  married  John  Leo  Walsh,  of  Pittsburg.  Wilfred  B.  resides 
in  Philadelphia.  Pennsylvania.  2.  Nathaniel  Plumer,  see  forward.  3.  George 
Plumer,  born  in  1807,  was  a  graduate  of  West  Point.  He  was  a  captain  in 
the  regular  army.  He  married  and  had  a  son — William— who  was  also  a 
captain  in  the  regular  army,  and  who  was  massacred  by  the  Indians  at  what 
is  now  called  Fort  Fetterman.  Wyoming.  Both  father  and  son  died  voung. 
4  and  5.    Daughters,  both  deceased. 

(H)  Nathaniel  Plumer  Fetterman,  second  son  and  child  of  Washington 
W^ilfred  and  Hannah  (Plumer)  Fetterman,  was  born  February  4,  1804.  He 
w-as  born  in  the  Plumer  homestead  and  acquired  his  preliminary  education 
preparatory  to  entering  upon  the  study  of  law.  This  he  undertook  in  the 
office  of  his  brother,  Washington  Wilfred,  and  for  many  years  was  a  leading 
member  of  the  bar  of  western  Pennsylvania.  Upon  attaining  his  majority 
he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  August  14,  1825,  and  subsequently  removed  to 
Bedford.  Pennsylvania.  After  a  residence  there  of  several  vears  he  repre- 
sented Bedford  county  in  the  lower  branch  of  the  legislature  for  three  suc- 
cessive years,  about  1828.  To  him  may  be  accredited  the  origin  of  the 
present  common  school  system,  while  through  his  ability  and  perseverance 
the  first  law  inaugurating  ij  in  this  state  was  passed  through  the  legislature. 
At  the  expiration  of  his  third  term  he  was  urged  to  become  a  candidate  for 
congress  from  the  Bedford  district ;  he,  however,  declined  the  honor,  and 
devoted  his  time  and  attention  exclusively  to  the  fulfilment  of  his  professional 
duties.  He  removed  to  Beaver.  Pennsylvania,  in  1830,  residing  there  until 
1849.  then  returned  to  Pittsburg  and  entered  into  a  partnership  w^ith  his 
nephew,  Gilbert  L.  B.  Fetterman.  under  the  firm  name  of  N.  P.  &  G.  L.  B. 
Fetterman.  this  association  continuing  for  several  years.  Mr.  Fetterman 
was  subsequently  a  member  of  the  Pittsburg  bar,  and  attended  also  the  courts 
of  the  neighboring  counties,  participating  in  almost  every  case  of  importance, 
both  civil  and  criminal.  In  the  celebrated  case  of  the  Commonwealth  versus 
Montgomery  et  al.,  for  the  murder  of  Dawson  in  Washington  county,  and 
also  in  the  case  of  the  Commonwealth  versus  Sheets,  for  murder  in  Beaver 
county,  he  was  retained  by  the  commonwealth  and  distinguished  himself  by 
his  learning,  patient  research  and  shrewdness.  Until  the  outbreak  of  the 
Civil  war  he  was  a  member  of  the  Democratic  party  and  one  of  the  leading 
political  orators  in  western  Pennsylvania.  During  the  presidency  of  Jame.«5 
Buchanan  he  was  repeatedly  solicited  to  accept  various  positions  of  trust 
and  honor,  but  he  invariably  declined  both  public  office  and  emolument. 
During  the  war  he  was  a  warm  advocate  of  the  cause  of  the  Union,  acted 
as  a  war  Democrat,  later  joining  the  Republican  party,  of  which  he  became 
an  active  and  influential  member.  He  was  active  in  equipping  soldiers  for 
the  army,  and  gave  two  of  his  sons  as  volunteers  in  the  service  of  the  country, 
they  being  members  of  the  One  Hundred  and  First  Pennsylvania  Regiment. 
He  served  as  chairman  of  the  examining  committee  of  Pittsburg  to  pass 
judgment  upon  all  applicants  for  admission  to  practice  law,  and  in  this  re- 
sponsible position  acted  with  admirable  judgment  and  impartial  discretion. 
He  was  continually  consulted  by  attorneys  from  all  parts  of  the  state  for  his 


74  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

opinion  on  points  of  law.  He  married,  December  28,  1828,  Anna  Dillon, 
daughter  of  Humphrey  Dillon,  of  Bedford.  Pennsylvania,  and  granddaughter 
of  Lord  Dillon,  and  they  had  ten  children. 

(HI)  Hon.  Charles  Sylvester  Fetterman,  son  of  Nathaniel  Plumer  and 
Anna  (Dillon)  Fetterman,  was  born  in  Beaver,  Pennsylvania,  May  19,  1840. 
He  was  eight  years  of  age  when  his  family  removed  to  Allegheny  county, 
and  attended  the  common  schools  of  the  South  Side.  This  was  supplemented 
by  an  academical  course,  during  which  he  was  frequently  commended  for 
his  originality  of  thought.  He  then  took  up  the  study  of  law  under  the  pre- 
ceptorship  of  his  father,  completing  his  studies  in  1864,  and  was  examined 
and  admitted  to  the  Allegheny  bar.  His  industry  and  powers  of  concentra- 
tion of  thought  were  remarkable.  His  rise  was  so  rapid  as  to  excite  much 
comment  from  older  members  of  the  profession.  His  record  was  that  of  a 
man  of  well  balanced  mind  and  great  intellect.  He  was  noted  for  clearness 
and  accuracy  and  for  the  impartiality  of  his  rulings.  During  his  career  on 
the  bench  his  rulings  were  never  reversed  by  the  supreme  court.  He  was 
appointed  to  fill  a  vacancy  on  the  bench  of  common  pleas  court  No.  i,  caused 
by  the  elevation  of  Judge  James  P.  Sterrett,  afterward  chief  justice,  to  th'e 
supreme  court.  Fie  was  nominated  on  the  Republican  ticket  for  the  ensuing 
term,  but  was  defeated.  He  was  again  a  candidate  for  the  bench  in  1891, 
on  the  "Straight  out"  Republican  ticket,  and  was  defeated,  although  he  polled 
twenty  thousand  votes.  Judge  Fetterman  was  assistant  city  attorney  for 
Pittsburg  for  a  number  of  years,  but  declined  a  reappointment,  as  he  wished 
to  give  his  entire  attention  to  his  private  practice.  The  first  vote  of  Judge 
Fetterman  was  cast  for  Lincoln,  and  from  that  time  he  was  a  faithful  and 
active  worker  for  the  Republican  interests.  The  Economite  Society  owed 
much  of  its  prosperity  to  the  efl:'orts  of  Judge  Fetterman.  He  was  the  legal 
adviser  of  the  famous  Father  Henrici  for  many  years,  and  named  one  of  his 
children  for  him.  He  was  president  of  the  Western  Pennsylvania  Historical 
Society  for  some  years,  and  for  a  portion  of  that  time  member  of  the  law 
examining  board.  His  death,  which  was  due  to  heat  prostration,  occurred 
August  17,  1900. 

He  married  (first),  in  1863,  Mary  Douglass,  who  died  in  the  course  of 
a  few  years,  leaving  one  child,  Charles  D.,  now  in  the  internal  revenue  de- 
partment in  Pittsburg.  He  married  (second),  November  17,  1870,  Eliza 
McElroy,  who  died  in  1896,  a  daughter  of  J.  M.  McElroy,  then  superintendent 
of  the  county  home.  They  had  six  children:  Emilie  Blake  (Mrs.  James 
Ernest  Fulton)  ;  Dr.  James  McElroy,  of  Hawthorn,  Pennsylvania;  Agnes  M., 
who  married  Thomas  McCleary  ;  Valeria  J. ;  Robert  D.,  who  died  July  4,  1902 ; 
and  Jacob  Henrici. 


LOUIS  HOBE,  a  well  known  German-American  citizen  of  Pittsburg, 
was  born  August  19,  1865,  in  Luneburg,  Germany,  a  son  of  Karl  Hobe,  a 
native  of  the  same  country,  who  came  to  the  United  States  in  1879  and  settled 
in  Pittsburg,  where  he  engaged  in  business  as  a  butcher.  Mr.  Hobe,  Sr., 
was  twice  married,  his  first  wife  being  Mary  Rancher,  who  bore  him  eight 
children,  three  of  whom  are  living,  Mary.  Charles  and  Louis,  of  whom  later. 
Mrs.  Flobe  died  in  1865,  and  Mr.  Hope,  Sr.,  subsequently  married  Dora 
Miller,  by  whom  he  became  the   father  of  eight  more   children :     Elanora, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  75 


Bertha,  Herman  and  Rudolph  living,  and  four  deceased.  The  death  of  Mr. 
Hobe,  the  father,  occurred  in  1891. 

Louis  Hobe,  son  of  Karl  and  Mary  (Rancher)  Hobe,  received  his  edu- 
cation in  the  schools  of  his  native  town,  and  about  1881  came  to  Pittsburg, 
where  he  has  since  conducted  a  successful  business  as  a  butcher.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Maccabees  and  of  East  Liberty  Lodge  No.  369. 

Mr.  Hobe  married  Catharine  Pfeil,  of  Pittsburg,  January  28,  1892,  and 
they  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  William  E.,  born  April  25, 
1893;  Louis  C.,  born  July  22,  1894;  Walter,  born  January  6,  1897;  Leonard, 
born  March  26,  1898;  Carl  B.,  born  October  16,  1899;  Fredia  S.,  born  August 
9,  1901 ;  Albert  L.,  born  June  22,  1903;  Catharine  J.,  born  March  16,  1905; 
and  Helen  R.,  born  April  27,  1907.  During  his  residence  in  Pittsburg  of 
more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century  Mr.  Hobe  has  not  failed  to  identify  himself 
with  the  best  interests  of  the  community. 


THE  BUHOUP  FAMILY.  The  head  of  this  widely  known  family, 
John  Buhoup,  was  a  native  of  Hesse  Cassel,  Germany.  The  German  spelling 
of  his  name  was  Beauchoupt,  which  in  time  has  become  anglicized  into  the 
present  spelling  and  pronunciation,  Buhoup.  In  1776,  although  only  fifteen 
years  of  age,  he  was  drafted  into  the  army  and  was  among  the  Hessians  sold 
to  the  English  and  sent  to  America  to  assist  in  subduing  the  American  col- 
onists. However,  young  Buhoup  did  not  favor  the  English  cause  and  soon 
deserted,  but  was  captured  and  sentenced  to  be  executed.  By  some  oversight 
his  name  was  not  called.  He  again  deserted,  was  caught  and  again  sentenced 
to  death,  but  on  account  of  his  extreme  youth  was  pardoned.  December  25, 
1776,  he  deserted  a  third  time;  shooting  an  English  officer  in  his  effort  to 
escape,  and  arming  himself  with  the  sword  of  the  slain  man  he  made  his  way 
to  the  Continental  army  and  joined  its  ranks,  serving  under  Washington  until 
the  close  of  the  struggle  for  independence.  He  also  took  an  active  part  in 
the  war  of  181 2,  enlisting  from  Shippensburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  wounded 
and  lost  a  leg.  He  died  at  Lancaster,  Pennsylvania,  at  the^age  of  ninety-eight 
years.  He  married  about  the  year  1800 — his  wife's  maiden  name  being  now 
unknown. 

The  offspring  of  this  union  was  but  one  child,  a  son — John  Buhoup — 
born  May  4,  1802,  at  Shippensburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  died  in  1866.  He 
was  a  man  of  good  education,  well  versed  in  both  the  German  and  English 
languages,  and  attained  a  position  of  influence  and  prominence  in  the  com- 
munity. He  was  a  carpenter  by  trade,  following  that  occupation  through  the 
greater  part  of  his  life,  engaging  in  many  contracts.  He  migrated  west  of 
the  Allegheny  Mountains  in  1837,  coming  to  Pittsburg  and  residing  on  Liberty 
street,  near  the  present  site  of  Union  Station.  In  1848  he  moved  to  Duquesne 
Borough,  which  later  became  the  Eighth  ward  of  Allegheny  City,  where  he 
spent  the  remainder  of  his  life.  He  served  as  burgess,  and  was  three  times 
elected  justice  of  the  peace.  He  was  also  German  interpreter  at  the  .Allegheny 
county  court.  He  was  a  man  of  strong  religious  convictions  and  a  member 
of  the  Winebrenarian  denomination.  His  political  affiliations  were  with  the 
Republican  party,  in  the  organization  of  which  he  took  an  active  part. 

In  1824  Mr.  Buhoup  married  Anna  M.  Barklow,  born  in  1806,  and  died 
in  1881.     She  was  a  granddaughter  of  Nancy  Frey,  whose  maiden  name  was 


76  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

Howard.-  and  who  was  abducted  when  a  child  from  her  home  at  Bristol, 
England,  by  an  English  sea  captain.  He  brought  her  to  America  and  sold 
her  to  servitude  in  Philadelphia.  She  later  married  Michael  Frey,.  of  Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania.  John  and  Anna  M.  Barklow  Buhoup  had  children  as 
follows : 

(i)  Jonathan  W.,  born  1825;  married,  October  4,  1848,  to  Jane  Dick,  of 
Allegheny;  died  1862.  At  the  breaking  out  of  the  Mexican  war  he  joined 
an  Arkansas  cavalry  regiment,  marched  overland  to  the  seat  of  war,  was  in 
several  battles,  was' taken  prisoner,  escaped  through  the  friendly  offices  of  a 
Catholic  priest  and  rejoined  his  regiment,  serving  until  the  end  of  the  war. 
Returning  to  Pittsburg  he  published  an  account  of  his  campaign.  Later  he 
engaged  m  steamboating  on  southern  waters  and  also  ran  a  cotton  plantation. 
He  is  survived  by  his  wife  and  two  daughters. 

(2)  John  L.,  born  1827,  now  living  in  Kansas  City,  Kansas.  He  was 
raised  and  educated  in  Pittsburg,  served  three  years  in  the  Civil  war  in  the 
One  Hundred  and  Second  Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Volunteers.  He  was  or- 
dained a  minister  of  the  Methodist  Protestant  church.  He  married  Susan 
Andrews,  now  deceased,  and  has  five  children  living. 

(3)  Margaret  Ann,  born  August  i,  1830,  died  February  2,  1905.  She 
married  Samuel  D.  Lindsay.  (See  sketch  of  Homer  J.  Lindsay  elsewhere  in 
this  work.) 

(4)  Solomon  W.,  born  January  30,  1833,  died  in  infancy. 

(5)  Katherine  S.,  born  in  1835,  died  in  185 1. 

(6)  Elizabeth  J.,  born  in  1838,  the  wife  of  George  Abel,  resides  in  Pitts- 
burg and  has  three  children  living-. 

(7)  Lucinda,  born  November  15,  1840,  was  educated  in  Pittsburg. 

(8)  Henry  C.,  born  in  1845,  educated  in  Pittsburg.  He  enlisted  at  the 
early  age  of  sixteen  years  in  the  One  Hundred  and  Second  Regiment,  Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers,  in  the  same  company  with  his  brother,  John  L.  He 
served  three  years,  and  was  wounded  at  Chancellorsville.  After  the  war  he 
returned  to  Pittsburg  and  engaged  as  secretary  of  the  Citizens'  Street  Railway 
Company,  and  afterward  became  connected  with  the  McConway-Torley  Com- 
pany. Later  he  became  resident  Chicago  agent  for  this  firm.  Mr.  Buhoup 
is  well  known  in  railroad  circles  through  his  inventions,  among  which  are 
improvements  in  car  couplers,  platforms  and  brake  beams.  He  is  president 
of  the  Pacific  Sugar  Company,  owning  and  operating  extensive  farms  and 
mills  producing  beet  sugar  in  Tulare  and  Kings  counties,  California.  He 
married  Miss  Virginia  Abdill,  of  Chicago.  Mr.  Buhoup  is  a  member  of 
Duquesne  Club,  Pittsburg. 

Lucinda  Buhoup,  the  seventh  child,  was  married  in  1858  to  Henry  Logan 
Hershman.  At  the  commencement  of  the  Civil  war  Mr.  Hershman  enlisted 
as  a  private  in  the  One  Hundred  and  Eighty-eighth  Regiment,  Pennsylvania 
Volunteers.  By  gallant  conduct  he  earned  promotion  to  the  rank  of  orderly 
and  later  to  sergeant.  He  was  killed  at  the  battle  of  Fort  Harrison,  Chapin 
Farm,  Virginia,  September  29,  1864.  Mrs.  Hershman  had  two  children, 
Oliver  S.  and  Anna  E. 

Mrs.  Hershman's  son,  Oliver  S.,  was  born  in  Pittsburg  in  1859.  He  was 
educated  in  the  public  schools,  supplemented  with  home  study  and  reading. 
He  began  his  business  career  in  the  employ  of  the  Pittsburg  Evening  Tele- 
graph.    So  well  and  faithfully  did  he  discharge  the  duties  assigned  him  that 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  y-j 


his  advancement  from  rank  to  rank  was  rapid  until  he  had  successively  at- 
tained the  positions  of  secretary,  treasurer  and  manager  of  the  paper.  He 
gradually  acquired  a  controlling  interest  and  was  in  sole  charge  when  it  was 
consolidated  with  the  Chronicle  and  was  thenceforth  known  as  the  Pittsburg 
Chronicle  Telegraph.  In  1900  Mr.  Hershman  sold  his  interest  in  this  paper 
and  purchased  the  Pittsburg  Press;  a  little  later,  having  bought  the  Daily 
Mezcs,  the  two  papers  were  merged  and  published  under  the  title  of  the  Pitts- 
burg Press,  of  which  Lieutenant-Colonel  Hershman  is  the  leading  spirit.  Dur- 
ing his  many  years"  connection  with  the  public  press,  Colonel  Hershman 
never  sought  public  office;  his  appointment  as  aide-de-camp  on  the  staff  of 
Governor  Edwin  S.  Stuart  was  tendered  him  without  any  effort  on  his  part. 
His  appointment  was  viewed  with  great  satisfaction  by  his  numerous  friends 
and  citizens  of  Pittsburg,  irrespective  of  party.  He  succeeded  his  late  cousin, 
Colonel  Homer  J.  Lindsay,  just  one  day  after  he  had  finished  thirty- four  years 
of  consecutive  newspaper  work.  Colonel  Hershman  is  truly  a  self-made  man. 
His  energy,  determination  and  executive  ability  have  enabled  him  to  make 
his  way  unaided.  He  is  a  member  of  Duquesne,  Union,  University.  Country 
and  Automobile  Clubs  of  Pittsburg.  He  is  also  a  member  of  Grace  Reformed 
church.     Pie  married  Belle  C.  Boyd,  a  daughter  of  William  and  Orpha  Boyd. 

Mrs.  Hershman's  daughter,  Anna  E.,  was  born  and  educated  in  Pittsburg. 
She  is  now  Mrs.  Holman,  of  California.  Her  husband  is  a  prominent  real 
estate  dealer  of  Los  Angeles. 

Mrs.  Hershman,  mother  of  Lieutenant-Colonel  Oliver  S.  Hershman,  is  a 
remarkable  woman.  Eor  more  than  thirty  years  she  resided  on  Mt.  Wash- 
ington, and  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  that  place. 
Since  coming  to  East  End,  however,  she  attends  services  at  the  Presbyterian 
church.  She  is  most  liberal  minded  and  is  ever  ready  to  assist  the  needy  to 
the  full  extent  of  her  power.  She  is  an  entertaining  talker,  and  has  a  fund 
of  interesting  reminiscences  at  her  command.  She  is  greatly  loved  by  young 
and  old  and  is  the  life  of  a  large  circle  o"f  friends.  In  July  of  this  year  (1907) 
she  made  a  trans-Atlantic  trip,  accompanied  by  her  daughter-in-law,  Mrs.  O. 
S.  Hershman,  spending  some  considerable  time  in  England  and  on  the  conti- 
nent, visiting  London,  Paris  and  Berlin  and  spending  some  time  in  Switzer- 
land.    She  also  visited  Hesse  Cassel,  in  Germany,  the  home  of  her  ancestors. 


PHILIP  PAUL,  an  honored  and  esteemed  resident  of  Sheridan,  Penn- 
sylvania, is  a  native  of  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania,  born  December  23, 
1832.     His  parents  were  Lewis  and  Mary  (Pringle)   Paul. 

Lewis  Paul  (father)  was  born  in  Cambria  county,  Pennsylvania.  He  was 
a  farmer  by  occupation,  deriving  therefrom  a  comfortable  livelihood.  He  re- 
mained in  Cambria  county  throughout  his  entire  lifetime,  passing  away  in 
1859,  aged  over  eighty  years.  He  married  Mary  Pringle,  a  member  of  one 
of  the  oldest  families  of  Cambria  county,  a  descendant  of  Philip  and  George 
Pringle,  who  were  bbrn  in  the  eastern  part  of  Pennsylvania,  but  at  an  early 
day  settled  in  the  wilderness  near  what  is  now  known  as  "Pringle  Hill."  The 
Pringles  are  of  Scotch  extraction.  The  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Paul  were : 
Samuel,  who  remained  at  home ;  Mrs.  Settmyers,  of  Johnstown ;  Sallie,  wife 
of  A.  D.  Carpenter,  now  residing  in  Knoxville ;  Susie,  who  married  a  Mr. 
Berkheimer,  now  deceased,  in  Cambria  county,  in  1880;  Polly,  married  Ernst 


78  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

George,  and  both  are  now  deceased;  Lydia,  married  John  Brown,  proprietor 
of  the  Commercial  Hotel  at  Cresson,  Pennsylvania ;  Philip,  of  whom  later. 
Polly  Paul,  aunt  of  Philip  Paul  and  sister  of  Lewis  Paul,  was  murdered  for 
money  at  her  home  in  Cambria  county;  this  was  known  as  the  Houser-Bowser 
murder  trial. 

Philip  Paul  spent  his  life,  up  to  the  time  of  his  marriage,  in  Cambria 
county,  residing  in  an  old  log  cabin.  He  then  settled  at  Smithfield  street  and 
Calvin  avenue.  For  many  years  he  worked  as  a  flagman  on  the  railroad  with 
Andrew  Carnegie,  the  well  known  capitalist.  During  the  Civil  war  he  took 
up  his  residence  in  Pittsburg,  entering  the  employ  of  the  government,  working 
at  breaking  mules  and  driving  supply  teams  between  Pittsburg  and  Wilkins- 
burg,  and  after  the  war  he  was  employed  in  teaming  in  the  city  of  Pittsburg. 
He  removed  to  Sheridan,  same  state,  March  lo,  1879,  ^"d  there  erected  a 
house  for  his  own  use,  in  which  he  now  resides.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church,  a  Democrat  in  politics,  active  in  the  affairs  of  his 
party,  although  he  has  never  held  office,  and  is  respected  by  all  who  have  the 
honor  of  his  acquaintance. 

Mr.  Paul  married,  April  9,  1857,  Annie  Stahl,  born  and  reared  in  Somer- 
set. Somerset  county,  her  birth  occurring  in  the  year  1844.  When  quite  young 
she  came  to  Pittsburg.  She  is  a  daughter  of  John  Stahl,  a  native  of  Somerset 
county,  whose  parents  came  from  Berlin,  Germany.  Mrs.  Paul  was  one  of  a 
family  of  fifteen  children.  The  issue  of  this  marriage  was  four  children, 
namely:  i.  Mary,  married  a  Mr.  Tidball,  of  Remington,  Pennsylvania. 
2.  Annie,  married  Victor  Oltman.  3.  William,  married  Nellie  Clark  and  re- 
sides with  his  mother  at  the  old  home.  4.  George  W.,  of  Ingraham,  Penn- 
sylvania, born  August  15,  1869,  received  his  education  in  the  schools  of  the 
Fifth  ward  of  Pittsburg,  and  also  in  Sheridan.  He  is  a  manufacturer  of 
awnings  and  tents  on  Washington  street,  Pittsburg.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  Ingraham,  and  a  Republican  in  politics.  He 
married  Laura  Gass,  of  New  Brighton,  Beaver  county.  Pennsylvania,  and  they 
have  one  child,  Lewis,  now  (1907)  in  this  third  year. 


DAVID  FRANKLIN  LANE,  who  has  been  connected  with  the  Penn- 
sylvania Railroad  for  the  past  twenty  years  and  now  fills  the  responsible  posi- 
tion of  conductor  on  the  passenger  service,  is  a  representative  of  the  fourth 
generation  of  his  family  in  this  country,  they  tracing  their  earlier  ancestry 
to  Germany. 

Richard  Lane,  great-grandfather  of  David  Franklin  Lane,  was  the  son 
of  John  Lane,  who  came  from  Germany.  (Fifth  generation.)  Richard  Lane 
was  born  January  12,  1759.  in  Pennsylvania,  ancl  died  June  19,  1838.  He 
was  of  German  parents.  Hannah  Morris,  his  wife,  was  born  May  14,  1765. 
in  Pennsylvania,  and  died  February  12.  1840.  They  were  married  November 
9,  1784.  and  their  children  were:  Elizabeth,  born  March  19,  1786,  died  March 
6,  1826;  i;)utton,  born  May  14,  1788,  died  in  1858;  Charlotte,  born  November 
29,  1790;  Mary,  born  April  30,  1793;  Hannah,  born  February  19,  1796,  died 
July  28,  1822;  Jane,  born  September  10,  1797;  Abraham,  born  April  8.  1800, 
died  July  29,  1822,  having  been  accidentally  killed  by  the  falling  of  a  bridge ; 
Susanna,  born  October  29.  1802,  died  November  14.  1885;  she"  married  John 
Cutchall;  Richard,  born  August  25,  1805,  died  May  16,  1807;  Presochia,  born 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  79 


October  22,  1807,  died  August  8,  1884.  Presochia  married  Robert  Madden, 
celebrated  in  Huntingdon  county,  Pennsylvania,  as  a  bridge  builder.  He  was 
one  of  the  first,  if  not  the  first,  to  build  covered  bridges  in  Pennsylvania. 

Button  Lane,  son  of  Richard  Lane,  was  born  in  1788  and  died  about 
1858.  At  the  time  of  the  death  of  his  father  he  inherited,  and  obtained  by 
purchase  from  the  other  heirs,  a  large  share  of  the  family  estate.  In  order 
to  have  this  legally  accomplished  he  w^as  obliged  to  ride  all  the  way  to  Iowa 
on  horseback,  a  trip  full  of  many  dangers  and  hardships  in  those  early  days. 
He  became  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  farmers  in  Huntingdon 
county,  Pennsylvania.  In  politics  he  was  a  staunch  Whig,  and  he  was  a 
consistent  member  of  the  old  school  Baptist  church,  and  a  conscientious  and 
earnest  worker  in  the  interests  of  that  institution.  He  married  (first)  Eliza- 
beth Ramsey  and  had  children :  William  Lane,  who  was  killed  by  a  falling 
tree ;  Richard ;  John ;  Jennie ;  Hannah ;  and  Abraham,  who  was  killed  by  acci- 
dent. His  second  wife  was  Sarah  Stains,  and  they  had  children :  Button, 
Jacob,  Baniel,  Alary  Ann,  Sarah,  Thompson  and  Lemuel.  Button  died  young, 
killed  by  the  falling  of  a  bridge ;  he  was  unmarried.  Baniel  Lane,  born  in 
1828,  married  Belle  Kiler  and  had  children:  An  infant,  deceased;  Barton, 
married  a  Miss  Starr ;  Bavid,  married  Alice  Lane ;  W^illiam,  deceased ;  infant 
twins,  deceased ;  Ninnie,  single ;  Edward,  married  ;  Earl,  married.  Alary  Ann, 
born  in  1832,  married  Professor  James  Xorris,  a  native  of  Rocksdale,  England, 
who  was  in  active  service  during  the  Alexican  war,  and  they  had  children  :  Alice^ 
married  John  Kraus ;  Samuel,  married  Amand  Gutshall ;  Olive,  deceased,  un- 
married;  Sarah,  deceased,  unmarried;  Benjamine,  married  Ann  Bolinger;  Her- 
bert, married  Nin  Lane;  Hiram  Brook,  married  Clemma  Rider.  Thompson 
Lane,  born  in  1830,  married  Elizabeth  Stevens  and  had  children :  Francis, 
Herbert  and  Wesley,  all  married.  Sarah,  born  in  1834,  married  James  Cowan. 
a  celebrated  violinist,  and  had  children :  Jacob,  married  Alalissa  Gutshall ; 
Sarah,  deceased,  unmarried ;  Alary  Ann,  deceased,  unmarried ;  Rodah,  mar- 
ried Hyat  Edwards ;  James,  unmarried ;  Effie,  married  John  Troy ;  Samuel, 
deceased,  married  Aliss  Flasher ;  Perdeda,  married  Alartin  Walter.  Lemuel 
Lane,  born  in  1836,  married  Alary  Ann  Parks  and  they  had  children :  Alex- 
andra, married  Aliss  Hooper ;  Jearldine,  married  John  Hooper ;  Jane,  mar- 
ried a  Air.  Ramsey ;  and  Walter  and  Charles,  unmarried. 

Jacob  Lane,  second  son  and  child  of  Button  and  Sarah  (Stains)  Lane, 
was  born  in  Springfield  township,  Huntingdon  county,  Pennsylvania,  on  the 
old  homestead,  October  25,  1826,  and  died  Becember  28,  1902.  His  educa- 
tion was  acquired  in  the  local  schools,  and  at  the  death  of  his  father  the  family 
estate  passed  into  his  hands,  partly  as  a  matter  of  inheritance  and  partly  by 
purchase  from  the  other  heirs.  This  consisted  of  one  hundred  and  thirty-two 
acres,  and  he  cultivated  it  as  his  father  had  done  before  him.  He  was  very 
successful  as  a  farmer,  and  attained  prominence  in  the  public  afifairs  of  the 
township  and  the  county.  His  interest  in  educational  matters  was  manifested 
by  his  having  served  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  for  many  years  and 
until  his  death.  He  filled  the  office  of  constable  for  twenty  years,  and  also 
served  as  supervisor  for  a  long  period.  He  was  a  man  greatly  respected  by 
all  his  townsmen  for  his  unfailing  integrity  and  fair  dealing  with  all  with 
whom  he  had  business  connections.  It  is  said  of  him  that  there  never  was  a 
lawsuit  against  him  and  that  he  never  brought  suit  against  any  one  throughout 
his  life.     He  was  a  staunch  Republican  in  his  political  affiliations,  and  a  mem- 


8o  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


ber  of  the  Church  of  God.  He  married  Rachel  Wible,  born  in  1836  and 
died  February  26,  1899.  She  bore  him  the  following  named  children: 
I.  Sarah  Jane,  died  in  childhood.  2.  David  Franklin,  see  forward.  3.  But- 
ton A.,  born  August  8,  1863,  married  Elizabeth  Ferrenburg  and  had  children: 
Delmar  F.,  married  Miss  Locke;  Minerva,  married  a  Mr.  Lynn,  and  Jacob 
Brince,  Dessa,  Mary,  Ira,  Fannie,  Lester,  Gertrude,  Myrtle,  Rufas  and  Corbet. 
4.  James  R.,  who  was  an  employe  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company 
and  was  killed  in  a  railway  accident  on  Jacks  Run  Cut,  a  branch  of  the  Penn- 
sylvania Railroad,  March  26,  1899.  He  married  Catherine  Wilkins  and  had 
one  child,  Mary  Martha.  5.  Elizabeth,  married  Frank  Starr,  and  they  had 
children:  Maizy,  Ruth,  Wilmer,  Edith,  Minerva,  James,  Loyd  and  Pauline. 
6.  Professor  Jacob  Grant,  married  Ettie  Cromwell ;  has  had  children :  Clyde, 
James,  deceased,  and  Louis.  7.  Jennie  Bell,  married  Wilson  Brown ;  has 
children :  Arthur  James,  Onetta,  Martha  and  Sheldon.  8.  Dr.  Henry  Clay, 
married  Lottie  Smith ;  has  children :  Wilber  and  Robert  Don.' 

David  Franklin  Lane,  eldest  son  and  second  child  of  Jacob  and  Rachel 
(Wible)  Lane,  was  born  in  Springfield  township,  Huntingdon  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, June  30,  1861.  He  was  reared  on  the  old  homestead,  receiving  his 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  that  section,  and  in  select  schools  at  Orbi- 
sinia  and  Shippensburg,  1885.  He  taught  school  for  six  years,  at  the  same 
time  carrying  on  his  studies  during  the  summer  months,  and  closed  his  last 
term  as  a  teacher  at  Scaffersville,  Huntingdon  county,  in  1887.  He  then  ob- 
tained a  position  as  special  accountant  and  overseer  for  Hoover,  Hughes  & 
Company,  while  they  were  engaged  in  the  construction  of  the  Catholic  Col- 
lege of  Greensburg,  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania.  He  entered  the 
employ  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company  October  25,  1887,  as  brake- 
man  in  the  passenger  service,  retaining  that  position  until  May  10,  1896,  when 
he  was. advanced  to  the  position  cf  conductor,  a  position  he  has  filled  to  the 
satisfaction  of  the  company  for  the  past  twenty  years.  He  is  a  strong  sup- 
porter of  the  principles  of  the  Republican  party,  and  a  member  of  the  Trinity 
Reformed  church  of  Wilkinsburg.  He  is  connected  with  the  following  fra- 
ternal organizations :  Orient  Lodge  No.  590,  P>ee  and  Accepted  Masons,  of 
Wilkinsburg ;  Council  No.  760,  Royal  Arcanum ;  is  past  officer  of  the  Order 
of  Railway  Conductors,  R.  B.  Hawkins  No.  115. 

He  married,  January  19,  1888,  Cora  May  Harnish,  born  October  27,  1863, 
a  daughter  of  Peter  K.  and  Celina  (Wilson)  Harnish,  the  former  born  in 
1834  and  died  in  1897.  He  was  educated  at  Mercersburg  College  and  was  a 
man  of  considerable  literary  attainments.  'He  taught  school  for  a  time  near 
Wilkinsburg  and  subsequently  became  a  farmer  in  New  Valley.  He  had 
children :  Cora  May,  mentioned  above ;  Hayes,  died  young ;  Blair ;  Samuel,, 
died  young;  Sue;  Ida  Bess;  Rachel  M.,  a  trained  nurse  by  profession.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Lane  have  had  children:  Norman  Harnish,  born  June  19,  1899; 
Paul  Vincent,  born  May  30,  1901 ;  David  Olin,  born  August  5,  1905. 


HARRY  CLARKSON  WESTERVELT,  M.  D..  one  of  the  prominent 
and  successful  medical  practitioners  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  April  14,  1867,  ^o" 
of  Abraham,  Jr.,  and  Hannah  (McClatchey)   Westervelt. 

He  was  educated  in  the  F.'ittsburg  schools  and.  University  of  Pennsylvania. 
For  a  number  of  years  he  was  connected  with  the  Northwestern  Mutual  Life 


ABRAHAM  WESTERVELT. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  8i 


Insurance  Company,  of  iVIilwaukee,  Wisconsin,  he  being  the  assistant  manager 
of  the  Pittsburg  branch  of  that  company.  At  the  same  time  he  was  educating 
himself  for  the  medical  profession.  He  graduated  from  the  Pennsylvania  Uni- 
versity with  the  class  of  1898.  During  the  years  of  1898-99  he  was  resident 
physician  and  surgeon  of  the  Cooper  Hospital  of  Camden,  New  Jersey,  after 
which  he  of)ened  an  office  in  Pittsburg  and  is  now  located  in  the  Liberty  Bank 
building,  at  the  East  End.  Dr.  Westcrvelt  is  a  member  of  the  Alumni  Society 
of  the  Universit}^  of  Pennsylvania;  the  Allegheny  County  Medical  Society; 
Pennsylvania  ^Medical  Society ;  Pittsburg  College  of  Physicians,  and  the 
American  ^Icdical  Association.  In  his  church  faith  he  is  Episcopal  and 
affiliates  with  the  Calvary  Episcopal  Church,  at  the  East  End.  where  during  the 
erection  of  the  new  and  magnificent  edifice  he  donated  liberally  in  both  time 
and  means  toward  furthering-  the  work. 

fTe  was  united  in  marriage  November  7,  1900,  to  Erederica  Ballard, 
daughter  of  Frederick  L.  and  Alice  (Walker)  Ballard,  who  arc  also  the  parents 
of  Ellis  A.  Ballard,  an  attorney  of  Philadelphia.  The  two  children  born  to  Dr. 
and  Mrs.  Vv'estervelt  are :  Harriet  Clarkson,  torn  February  10,  1902 ;  Fred- 
erick B..  July  30.  1903. 


JAMES  RITCHIE,  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  James  Ritchie  &  Son, 
of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Ireland,  a  son  of  William  John  Ritchie,  wdio  was 
born  in  Magherafelt,  county  Derry,  whence  he  emigrated  with  his  family  to 
the  United  States.  He  first  spent  three  years  in  Philadelphia,  being  engaged 
in  the  grocery  business,  and  then  came  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  turned  his 
attention  to  the  manufacture  of  packing  boxes. 

William  John  Ritchie  married  Rachel  McCutcheon  and  their  children 
were  :  George  ;  James  ;  William ;  Sarah,  deceased,  wife  of  Wilkins  Lenhart ; 
Mary  A.,  deceased,  wife  of  James  Garrity ;  and  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Thomas 
Nelson.  The  mother  of  these  children  died  on  the  voyage  to  this  country  and 
was  buried  at  sea.  The  father  died  in  1855  in  Pittsburg.  The  sons  all  be- 
came useful  and  capable  business  men  of  Pittsburg,  and  during  the  Civil  war 
all  served  with  distinction  in  the  Union  army.  George  was  lieutenant  of  the 
Hampton  Battery,  and  went  through  the  entire  conflict,  finally  dying  of 
wounds  received  at  the  battle  of  Gettysburg.  William  is  manager  for  Wey- 
man  &  Company,  tobacco  manufacturers,  a  position  he  has  held  for  twenty- 
eight  years. 

James  Ritchie,  son  of  William  John  and  Rachel  (McCutcheon)  Ritchie, 
was  born  in  Ireland,  and  was  six  years  old  when 'brought  by  his  parents  to  the 
United  States.  He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Philadelphia  and 
Pittsburg,  receiving  instruction  in  those  of  the  Third,  Fifth  and  Sixth  wards. 
Deciding  to  be  a  printer,  he  apprenticed  himself  to  J.  McMillan,  a  job  printer 
of  Pittsburg,  for  whom  he  worked  six  years,  when  failing  sight  forced  him 
to  abandon  his  chosen  trade.  Since  1887  he  has  been  actively  engaged  in  the 
lumber  business  in  Mount  Washington,  the  present  style  of  the  firm  being 
James  Ritchie  &  Son.  They  have  offices  and  yards  on  Virginia  avenue,  where 
they  deal  in  a  complete  line  of  lumber  and  building  supplies. 

In  1864  he  enlisted  in  Company  K,  Forty-ninth  Regiment,  Pennsylvania 
V^olunteers,  and  served  until  the  close  of  the  war,  when  he  received  an  honor- 
able discharge.     For  two  terms  he  held  the  office  of  mercantile  appraiser.     He 


82  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


is  a  Republican  and  a  member  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church  of  Mount 
Washington. 

Mr.  Ritchie  married  Anna  EUza  Neely,  and  of  the  seven  children  born  to 
them  three  died  in  childhood:  Alma,  Florence  and  Elizabeth.  Those  living 
are :  Jonathan,  with  the  Penn  Salt  Company  at  Natrona,  Pennsylvania,  mar- 
ried Margaret  Taggart,  of  Allegheny ;  Jennie  Glenn,  wife  of  William  Sherman, 
of  Carrick,  bookkeeper  for  D.  L.  Gillespie;  Mary  Emma,  wife  of  William 
McGahan,  of  Mount  Washington,  government  postal  clerk;  children,  James 
and  Helen ;  and  William,  of  the  firm  of  James  Ritchie  &  Son,  married  Nellie 
Martin,  of  Pittsburg. 

Mrs.  Ritchie  is  the  only  child  of  Jonathan  Neely,  who  was  born  in  Chartiers 
township,  son  of  Watson  and  Martha  Neely,  natives  of  Ireland.  Jonathan 
Neely  in  early  life  was  a  farmer,  but  later  became  actively  identified  with 
Pittsburg  politics,  particularly  in  Mount  W^ashington,  his  home  for  the  greater 
part  of  his  long  life.  For  many  years  he  was  tipstaff  at  the  court  house,  and 
for  a  long  time  held  the  office  of  tax  collector.  He  served  three  terms  as 
county  commissioner  of  Allegheny  "county,  and  in  politics  was  an  ardent  Re- 
publican.    He  was  an  active  member  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church. 

Mr.  Neely  married  Jane  Glenn,  daughter  of  James  Henry,  of  Pittsburg, 
and  they  were  the  parents  of  one  daughter,  Anna  Eliza,  who  became  the  wife 
of  James  Ritchie.  Mrs.  Neely  at  the  ti'me  of  her  death  was  seventy"-one. 
Mr.  Neely  lived  to  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-six,  passing  away  in  the  home 
which  he  had  built  for  himself  manv  vears  before  on  Virginia  avenue. 


JOHN  PAUL.  The  late  John  Paul,  a  resident  of  Mount  Washington 
and  a  successful  merchant  of  Pittsburg,  was  of  Irish  birth  and  parentage. 
His  mother  died  when  he  was  very  young,  and  he  was  afterward  brought  to 
the  United  States  by  his  father. 

John  Paul  was  brought  up  in  the  family  of  the  grandfather  of  Christopher 
Magee,  by  whose  father  he  was  instructed  in  the  hatters'  trade.  Mr.  Paul 
followed  his  trade  for  several  years,  and  then  established  himself  in  the  hat 
and  furnishing  business,  his  store  being  situated  on  Smithfield  street,  and  noted 
as  the  leading  one  of  its  class  in  Pittsburg.  Mr.  Paul  owned  and  personally 
conducted  the  business  until  his  death.  He  served  in  the  common  council 
of  Mount  Washington  and  held  various  other  local  offices.  He  stood  high  in 
the  Masonic  fraternity,  affiliating  with  Lodge  No.  45,  Pittsburg,  and  was  an 
active  worker  in  the  ranks  of  the  Republican  party.  For  many  years  he  was 
a  member  and  trustee  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  Mount  Washing- 
ton and  a  liberal  supporter  of  its  various  departments. 

Mr.  Paul  married,  November  9,  1871,  Elizabeth,  widow  of  Judge  Boggs, 
of  the  noted  family  so  prominent  in  the  earlier  history  of  Mount  Washington. 
Judge  Boggs  died  in  middle  life  without  issue. 

Mr.  Paul  rounded  out  his  full  three  score  and  ten  years  of  usefulness, 
his  death  occurring  in  September,  1902.  He  was  an  able  and  upright  man, 
of  high  principle  and  unblemished  honor,  an  earnest  and  devoted  Christian. 
He  is  buried  in  the  South  Side  cemetery.     He  left  no  children. 

Mrs.  Paul  is  of  English  birth,  a  daughter  of  John  and  Catharine  Holmes, 
who  came  to  Pittsburg  many  years  ago.  They  were  the  parents  of  four 
children :      Hannah,    who    married    Thomas    Hawkins ;    Elizabeth,    widow    of 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  83 

John  Paul;  Catherine,  who  married  Leonatus  Hunter,  of  Boggs  avenue;  and 
John,  of  West  Liberty.  The  beautiful  residence  on  Boggs  avenue  which  was 
purchased  by  Mr.  Paul  has  been  since  his  death  the  home  of  his  widow,  bv 
whom  it  is  maintained  in  all  its  original  comfort  and  attractiveness. 


JOHN  HOWARTH,  a  long-time  resident  of  Pittsburg,  and  a  man  who 
has  worked  his  way  up  to  a  position  of  comfort  and  to  a  place  in  the  govern- 
ment of  his  adopted  city,  was  born  November  13,  1840,  in  Lancashire,  Eng- 
land, a  son  of  James  Howarth,  a  silk  weaver  who  was  brought  up  in  the 
Protestant  Episcopal  church,  but  later  joined  the  Methodist  Episcopal. 

James  Howarth  married  Martha  Battersby,  and  the  following  children 
were  born  to  them :  Mary,  Alice  and  John.  Both  the  daughters  always 
remained  in  their"  native  land.  The  mother  of  the  family  died  in  1842,  and 
the  father  in  August,  1845. 

John  Howarth,  son  of  James  and  Martha  (Battersby)  Howarth,  was 
but  two  years  old  when  he  lost  his  mother,  and  had  not  completed  his  fifth 
year  when  death  deprived  him  of  his  father  also.  He  was  adopted  into  the 
home  of  his  uncle,  James  Heeley,  an  ironworker  of  Staffordshire,  where  he 
learned  to  be  an  expert  machinist  and  millwright.  The  building  of  a  new 
railroad  demolished  the  works  where  he  was  employed,  and  he  came  with  his 
uncle  and  the  latter's  family  to  the  United  States.  October  23^  1863,  they 
landed  in  New  York,  and  thence  proceeded  to  Pittsburg,  he  and  his  uncle 
securing  employment  in  the  shipyards  where  gunboats  were  being  built  for 
the  United  States  government.  There  Mr.  Howarth  remained  two  years, 
being  employed  in  the  construction  of  two  gunboats,  the  "Manyunk"  and  the 
"Umpqua,"  both  of  which  became  famous  in  river  warfare  during  the  Civil 
conflict.  He  then  took  a  trip  west,  and  for  two  years  was  employed  in  rail- 
road shops. 

With  two  exceptions  of  three  months  each,  he  was  for  the  next  eight 
years  with  the  Crescent  (now  the  Pennsylvania)  Tube  Company,  after 
which  for  another  eight  years  he  was  employed  in  the  nut  and  bolt  depart- 
ment of  Jones  &  Laughlin.  He  was  next  appointed  engineer  on  the  Monon- 
gahela  Inclined  Railway,  and  there  for  twelve  years  he  was  continuously 
employed.  A  cool  head  and  steady  nerves  are  necessary  qualifications  for 
the  post,  and  sufficient  evidence  of  Mr.  Howarth's  competence  is  found  in 
the  fact  that  during  his  twelve  years  of  service  he  never  had  an  accident.  In 
1892  he  left  the  Incline  to  become  an  active  member  of  the  firm  of  Minsinger 
Brothers  &  Company,  in  which  for  some  years  he  had  had  a  silent  interest. 
The  firm  operated  stone  quarries  on  Mount  Washington  and  were  manu- 
facturers of  building-brick,  also  doing  some  constructing.  Mr.  Howarth 
was  in  charge  of  the  office  until  1902,  when  he  retired  from  active  life,  and 
now  devotes  his  time  exclusively  to  his  own  private  property  and  to  his  duties 
as  one  of  the  directors  of  the  South  Hills  Trust  Company. 

In  his  hours  of  leisure  he  has  renewed  his  acquaintance  with  books,  and 
has  a  mind  well  stored  with  information  gleaned  therefrom  as  well  as  from 
his  experience  of  men  and  things,  being  an  original  thinker  and  careful 
observer.  Leisure  has  also  afforded  him  an  opportunity  to  travel,  and  he 
has  visited  the  home  of  his  boyhood  in  England,  also  visiting  the  western 
states  of  this  country.     He  is  now  serving  a  term  of  three  years  in  the  select 


84  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

council  of  Pittsburg,  having  been  elected  in  1905  to  represent  the  Thirty- 
second  ward,  which  he  does  faithfully  and  in  the  interests  of  good  govern- 
ment. For  thirty-three  years  he  has  been  a  member  of  St.  John's  Lodge, 
No.  219,  F.  and  A.  M.,  and  he  also  affiliates  with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen,  No.  113.  Politically  he  is  an  ardent  Republican.  He  and  his 
family  are  members  and  attendants  of  Grace  Protestant  Episcopal  church. 

Mr.  Howarth  married,  January  3,  1870,  Elizabeth  Caroline,  born  Jan- 
uary 13,  1848,  in  Pittsburg,  only  daughter  of  Gottlieb  and  Caroline  Minsinger, 
the  familv  being  then  and  now  prominent  in  the  business  circles  of  that  city. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Howarth  have  been  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
William  John,  draughtsman  in  the  office  of  the  registrar  of  deeds,  Pittsburg; 
Mary  Alice,  who  died  at  the  age  of  two  years ;  James  Heeley,  with  Jones  & 
Laughlin,  married  Elizabeth  Weinman,  of  Detroit,  Michigan ;  Caroline,  wife 
of  Samuel  Dyer,  one  daughter,  Helen ;  Samuel  Harper,  bookkeeper  for  the 
Philadelphia  Company;  George  M.,  with  the  Wigman  Lumber  Company. 
Such  of  these  children  as  are  unmarried  reside  with  their  parents. 


WILLIAM  BOEHMER.  The  late  William  Boehmer,  for  many  years 
one  of  Pittsburg's  merchants,  was  born  September  6,  1854,  a  son  of  Fred- 
erick and  Sophia  Boehmer,  and  descended,  as  the  name  of  Boehmer  would 
indicate,  from  German  ancestors. 

William  Boehmer  had  built  up  a  prosperous  commission  business  on 
Liberty  street,  Pittsburg,  where  he  had  for  a  number  of  years  occupied  a 
foremost  place  among  the  merchants  of  the  city.  For  twelve  years  he  served 
his  ward  as  school  director,  being  always  deeply  interested  in  educational 
matters  and  giving  freely  of  his  time  to  the  duties  of  the  ofifice.  He  belonged 
to  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Junior  Order  of  United 
American  Mechanics.  His  political  affiliations  were  with  the  Republicans. 
He  was  a  member  of  the  Mount  Washington  Presbyterian  church,  and  for 
six  years  served  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  school. 

Mr.  Boehmer  married,  March  26,  1891,  Tillie  S.  Mankedick,  and  they 
became  the  parents  of  one  son.  William  F.,  born  August  25,  1893.  Mrs. 
Boehmer  is  a  member  of  the  German  Lutheran  church. 

The  death  of  Mr.  Boehmer  occurred  January  16,  1903,  at  Aiken,  North 
Carolina,  whither  he  had  gone  in  search  of  relief  from  the  dread  disease, 
consumption.  He  was  a  man  of  sterling  integrity  and  of  a  genial,  lovable 
disposition,  which  endeared  him  to  a  large  circle  of  friends.  On  the  day  of 
his  funeral  the  schools  of  Mount  Washington  were  closed  as  a  mark  of  respect 
to  a  valued  friend. 

Mrs.  Boehmer  is  a  daughter  of  Christopher  Mankedick,  who  was  bom 
near  Minden,  Germany,  and  for  many  years  was  a  merchant  tailor  in  Pitts- 
burg, having  his  store  on  Carson  street.  He  later  became  a  cutter  for  Jones 
&  Laughlin,  with  whom  he  remained  until  old  age  overtook  him.  He  was  a 
Republican  and  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church. 

Christopher  Mankedick  married  Wilhelmina  Haslage,  who  was,  like  him- 
self, a  native  of  the  vicinity  of  Minden,  but  whom  he  met  and  married  in 
this  country.  Their  children  were:  Louisa,  deceased;  Emma,  who  married 
John  W.  Peters,  of  Alonongahela  City;  Tillie  S.,  born  September  26,  1856, 
widow  of  William  Boehmer;    Ida  M.,  born  July  11,  1859,  lives  with  her  sis- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  85 

ter,  Mrs.  Boehmer;  and  Clara,  deceased.  Two  other  daughters  died  in 
infancy.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Mankedick,  in  their  old  age,  were  tenderly  cared  for 
in  the  home  of  their  daughter,  Mrs.  Boehmer,  where  they  passed  away,  Mrs. 
Mankedick  dying  April  12,  1904,  and  the  death  of  Mr.  Mankedick  occurring 
December  29  of  the  same  year.  The  age  of  the  former  was  seventy-four  and 
tkat  of  the  latter  seventy-seven. 


JULIUS  G.  WILD,  the  present  representative  of  a  name  which  for 
more  than  forty  years  has  been  a  leading  one  among  the  business  men  of 
Mount  Washington,  was  born  October  12,  1859,  in  Carson  street,  Pittsburg, 
a  son  of  Rudolph  Wild,  who  was  born  in  Germany,  and  in  1865  established 
a  grocery  business  on  the  corner  of  Virginia  and  Shiloh  avenues,  Pittsburg. 
He  subsequently  removed  the  business  to  Cuthbert  and  Virginia  avenues, 
where  he  conducted  it  until  his  death. 

Rudolph  Wild  married  Sophia  Pollar,  and  the  following  are  their  chil- 
dren, all  of  whom  were  born  in  Germany  with  the  exception  of  the  youngest : 
August,  deceased ;  Sophia,  widow  of  Matthias  Weinman,  whose  sketch 
appears  elsewhere  in  this  work ;  Louisa,  wife  of  Jacob  Datz ;  Albert,  of  Haw- 
thorne, Nevada;  Rudolph,  of  Parkersburg,  W^est  Virginia;  Kate,  wife  of 
Henry  Dietrich ;    and  Julius  G. 

Julius  G.  Wild,  son  of  Rudolph  and  Sophia  (Pollar)  Wild,  received  his 
•education  in  the  public  schools  and  early  began  to  assist  in  his  father's  store, 
becoming  in  a  few  years  a  most  valuable  helper.  After  the  death  of  his  father 
he  conducted  the  business  for  several  years  as  his  mother's  representative, 
and  then  purchased  the  interests  of  the  heirs,  thus  becoming  sole  proprietor. 
The  store  was  then  situated  on  the  corner  of  Cuthbert  and  Virginia  avenues, 
but  in  1903  Mr.  Wild  purchased  land  at  the  corner  of  Shiloh  and  Virginia 
avenues,  on  which  he  built  a  brick  store  and  dwelling.  There  he  has  since 
remained,  his  home  and  his  place  of  business  being  situated  on  the  same  corner 
on  which  his  father,  Rudolph  Wild,  established  a  grocery  almost  half  a  cen- 
tury ago.     Mr.  Wild  conducts  a  prosperous  general  grocery. 

He  is  a  Master  Mason  of  St.  John's  Lodge.  No.  19,  F.  and  A.  M.,  of 
Pittsburg,  and  a  member  of  the  German  Evangelical  Protestant  church. 

Mr.  Wild  married,  December  29,  1893,  Lotta.  born  January  29,  1872, 
daughter  of  William  and  Louisa  Haas,  of  West  Liberty.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wild 
are  the  parents  of  two  sons:  Paul,  born  August  5,  1896;  and  Glenn,  born 
April  25,  1 90 1. 


MATTHIAS  WEINMAN.  Among  the  old  Hill  families  there  are  none 
held  in  higher  esteem  than  the  descendants  of  the  late  Matthias  Weinman^ 
one  of  the  early  settlers  and  for  more  than  forty  years  a  resident  of  Pittsburg. 
He  was  of  foreign  birth,  but  held  in  united  devotion  and  loyalty  the  land  of 
his  nativity  and  the  country  of  his  adoption. 

Matthias  Weinman  was  born  in  1827,  in  Wurtemberg,  Germany,  and 
in  1855,  being  then  twenty-eight  years  old,  he  emigrated  to  the  United  States, 
settling  on  Mount  Washington,  where  he  passed  the  remainder  of  his  life. 
He  was  by  trade  a  butcher  and  was  the  proprietor  of  a  meat  market  on 
Virginia  avenue,  which  he  conducted  until  1880.     In  that  year  he  retired  and 


86  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


thereafter  devoted  his  time  to  the  cultivation  of  some  eighteen  acres  of  land 
situated  in  the  town.  This  is  now  largely  built  up,  Southern  avenue  running 
through  the  property.  Mr.  Weinman  was  a  hard-working,  frugal  man,  and 
by  his  industry  and  economy  acquired  a  competence.  He  was  a  Republican 
and  a  member  of  the  German  Presbyterian  church. 

Matthias  Weinman  married,  September  28,  1856,  Sophia  Wild,  and  they 
became  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Charles,  born  September  16, 
1857,  a  meat  dealer  of  Avalon,  married  Lizzie  Leitner,  children,  Otto,  Lillian, 
Norma,  Valeria,  Rence  and  Clarence;  August,  born  March  31,  1859,  pro- 
prietor of  a  m.eat  market  on  Grand  View  avenue,  Duquesne  Heights,  married 
Nettie  Cook,  one  son,  Charles;  Rudolph,  born  October  6,  1865,  a  butcher  of 
Merced,  California;  William,  born  October  2,  1867,  of  Mount  Washington, 
married  Mollie  Klein,  one  child,  William;  Frederick,  born  January  21,  1869, 
of  Mount  Washington;  Mary,  born  August  21,  1871 ;  Rosa,  born  December 
25,  1874,  wife  of  Charles  Mautz,  plumber  of  Duquesne  Heights,  two  children, 
Sophia  and  Helen;  and  Jacob,  born  May  28,  1877.  William,  Frederick  and 
Jacob  compose  the  firm  of  Weinman  Brothers,  brick  manufacturers  and  con- 
tractors of  Mount  Washington.  One  daughter,  Lizzie,  became  the  wife  of 
August  Floto  and  died  aged  thirty-four.  Another  daughter,  Emma,  died  at 
the  age  of  sixteen,  and  five  children  died  in  infancy. 

Mr.  Weinman  ended  his  long,  busy  and  useful  life  August  2t^,  1897, 
leaving  behind  him  the  memory  of  a  good  man  and  a  worthy  citizen.  His 
widow  is  still  a  resident  of  Pittsburg,  _her  unmarried  children  making  their 
home  with  her. 

Mrs.  Weinman  was  born  May  i,  1840,  in  Germany,  a  daughter  of 
Rudolph  and  Sophia  Wild,  and  at  the  age  of  fifteen  came  with  her  parents 
to  the  Cnited  States.  In  1855  they  landed  in  New  York,  but  settled  in 
Pittsburg,  where  Mr.  Wild  conducted  a  grocery  on  Mount  Washington. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wild  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  August,  who 
died  in  Parkersburg,  West  Virginia ;  Sophia,  widow  of  Matthias  Weinman ; 
Louisa,  wife  of  Jacob  Datz ;  Albert,  of  Nevada ;  Rudolph,  of  Parkersburg, 
West  Virginia ;  Kate,  wife  of  Henry  Dietrich,  of  Mount  Washington ;  and 
Julius  G.,  a  grocer  of  Mount  Washington. 


CHRISTIAN  WILBERT,  one  of  the  oldest  residents  on  -The  Hill" 
(Mount  Washington),  where  he  has  resided  and  been  actively  engaged  in 
business  of  various  kinds  during  his  entire  life,  was  born  in  Bavaria,  Germany, 
September  19,  1841,  and  was  but  nine  months  old  when  his  parents  emigrated 
to  the  United  States.  He  is  a  son  of  Peter  and  Katherine  (Ott)  Wilbert, 
who  were  married  in  Bavaria,  where  five  of  their  children  were  born :  P^eter, 
Jr.,  John,  Jacob,  Elizabeth  and  Christian. 

Peter  Wilbert,  Sr.,  was  a  weaver,  and  in  1842  came  to  America,  landing 
in  New  York  on  July  4  of  that  year.  He  came  directly  to  Pittsburg  and 
settled  on  the  Merry  farm,  on  the  Washington  road,  Mount  Washington  town- 
ship, where  he  found  employment  in  the  coal  mines.  He  soon  moved  to 
Mount  Washington,  where  he  died  in  1845.  ^^^  son,  Adam,  and  a  daughter, 
Katherine,  were  born  to  Peter  and  Katherine  (Ott)  Wilbert  after  coming 
to  this  country.  Mrs.  Wilbert  died  in  1858.  Of  their  children,  the  eldest  son, 
Peter,  was  a  miner,  and   died   in   Mansfield    (now   Carnegie),   Pennsylvania, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  '  87 

in  1882.  He  married  Katherine  Rumph  and  had  children:  Katherine 
(Mrs.  Harry  Hymes),  Minnie  (Mrs.  John  Freifold),  Peter,  Jr.,  and  George. 
John,  the  second  son,  was  a  contractor  and  proprietor  of  the  Washington 
Hotel;  he  died  in  1889;  he  married  Katherine  Haas,  and  their  living  children 
are  Mrs.  Fred  Berg,  Mrs.  Robert  Stinson  and  Mrs.  Samuel  Barker.  Jacob, 
the  third  son,  was  a  commission  merchant;  he  married  Elizabeth  Oilman  and 
had  live  sons:  Charles,  Frank,  David  A.  (now  state  senator  from  Hazlewood, 
Twenty-third  ward  of  Pittsburg,  and  the  father  of  the  bill  creating  "Greater 
Pittsburg"),  Harry  and  Albert,  and  one  daughter,  Mrs.  Samuel' Dalley,  of 
Sewickley.  Elizabeth,  the  first  born  daughter,  married  William  Dryer  and 
reared  a  large  family.  Christian,  the  fourth  son,  will  have  further  mention. 
Adam,  the  first  born  in  America,  was  a  hotel  proprietor;  he  married  Regina 
Zeiler  and  died  in  1888;  his  children  were  John,  deceased;  Stella,  Mrs.  Jacob 
Soffell,  Jr. ;  Margaret,  Mrs.  Thomas  GrifQn ;  and  Katherine,  who  resides  with 
her  widowed  mother  at  26.  Natchez  street.  Mount  Washington.  Katherine, 
second  daughter  and  last  child  of  Peter  and  Katherine  (Ott)  Wilbert,  is 
deceased;  she  married  Frank  C.  Wiggins,  and  left  one  son,  Frank,  and  other 
children. 

Christian  Wilbert,  fourth  son  and  fifth  child  of  Peter  and  Katherine  (Ott) 
Wilbert,  as  before  stated,  was  but  nine  months  old  when  the  family  came  to 
Mount  Washington,  where  he  grew  up  and  obtained  his  early  education  in 
the  township  schools.  When  quite  young  he  began  to  work  in  the  coal  mines, 
first  as  a  mule  driver,  but  advancing  until  he  became  a  miner.  He  left  the  mines 
to  work  in  the  Sligo  Rolling  Mills,  and  from  there  became  a  riverman,  serving 
as  firem.an  on  the  steamboats  used  for  towing  purposes.  Leaving  the  river, 
he  next  engaged  in  the  hotel  business  at  the  corner  of  Wyoming  and  Sycamore 
streets.  Mount  W^ashington,  and  later  at  21  Carson  street.  In  1882  he  erected 
the  Hotel  Wilbert,  at  the  corner  of  Shiloh  and  Sycamore  streets,  which  he 
conducted  until  1900,  when  he  transferred  the  business  to  his  son,  William  C. 
Wilbert,  and  retired  from  active  life. 

In  1 86 1  Mr.  W^ilbert  answered  President  Lincoln's  first  call  for  troops 
and  enlisted  in  Company  F,  Seventh  Regiment,  Pennsylvania  "Volunteers,  for 
three  months'  service.  He  returned  home  on  the  expiration  of  this  term  of 
enlistment,  remained  about  one  year,  and  re-enlisted  in  Company  G  (Captain 
Guard),  Eighty-third  Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  Colonel  Irvon  com- 
manding. The  regiment  was  attached  to  the  Army  of  the  Potomac,  and  Mr. 
Wilbert  saw  three  years  of  very  hard  service  with  that  hard-fighting,  sorely 
punished  but  never  discouraged'  and  finally  victorious  army.  He  was  under 
AlcClellan  during  the  seven  days'  battles  before  Richmond,  at  Antietam,  and 
in  several  others  of  the  famous  battles  in  V^irginia  and  Maryland.  He  was 
never  wounded  or  taken  prisoner.  He  holds  membership  in  Post  No.  155, 
G.  A.  R.;  with  the  Odd  Fellows,  the  Order  of  Red  Men  and  with  United 
Workmen.  He  is  a  member  of  the  German  Protestant  church  of  Mount 
Washington. 

Mr"  Wilbert  married,  April  12,  1862,  Mary  Margaret  Seip,  born  in  Pitts- 
burg, June  22,  1840,  a  daughter  of  George  and  Barbara  Seip,  of  Pittsburg. 
Her  father  was  a  veteran  of  two  wars,  and  finally  gave  up  his  life  in  his 
country's  service.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the  Mexican  war  and  a  captain  in 
the  Union  armv  during  the  Civil  war.  He  was  captured  by  the  Confederates 
in  battle  and  taken  to  Libby  prison,  Richmond,  where  he  died  of  starvation 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


and  neglect.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Christian  Wilbert  was  born  one  son,  William  C, 
xA.ugust  12,  1863.  He  was  educated  in  the  Mount  Washington  schools  and  at 
Duff's  Business  College,  Pittsburg.  He  was  for  some  time  a  clerk  in  the 
office  of  the  city  treasurer,  but  in  1900  became  proprietor  of  the  Hotel  Wilbert, 
which  he  still  conducts.  He  married,  October  21,  1900,  Emma  Schlag,  of 
Allegheny.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Order  of  Odd  Fellows;  and  is  financially 
interested  in  the  South  Hills  Trust  Company,  Mount  Washington. 


C.  FREDERICK  VALLOWE,  a  well  known  resident  of  Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania,  who  traces  his  ancestry  to  Germany,  was  prominently  identified 
with  the  ice  industry  in  the  above  mentioned  city  until  his  retirement  from 
active  business  labors  in  1901. 

He  was  born  in  Hanover,  Prussia,  Germany,  November  21,  1841,  and 
after  attending  the  schools  of  his  native  country  for  some  years  came  to  the 
United  States  in  i860,  when  he  was  nineteen  years  of  age.  At  that  time  he 
resided  with  his  uncle,  B.  H.  Succop,  who  was  a  tailor  by  trade,  on  Sixth 
avenue,  on  the  site  of  the  present  Nixon  theater.  Mr.  Vallowe  was  appren- 
ticed to  learn  the  cooper's  trade  with  the  Worderlich  Company,  and  followed 
this  occupation  for  nine  years.  He  then  established  himself  in  the  ice  business, 
under  the  style  of  the  Monongahela  Ice  Company,  then  on  the  South  Side, 
but  in  1884  the  name  was  changed  to  that  of  the  Chautauqua  Lake  Ice  Com- 
pany, and  later  to  the  Consolidated  Ice  Company,  as  it  is  today,  and  of  which 
Mr.  Vallowe  was  the  general  manager.  This  was  the  largest  ice  company  in 
the  city  of  Pittsburg,  and  he  acted  in  the  capacity  of  general  manager  of  the 
company  until  1901,  when  he  retired  to  private  life.  He  is  still  one  of  the 
largest  stockholders,  however,  of  the  company.  He  had  a  beautiful  home 
built  for  himself  in  Knoxville,  and  in  this  he  now  (1907)  lives  and  enjoys  the 
fruits  of  many  useful  and  well  employed  years.  He  and  his  family  are 
members  of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  church.  South  Side,  and  he  has  for  many 
years  been  an  ardent  supporter  of  the  principles  of  the  Republican  party.  He 
cast  his  first  vote  for  Lincoln,  and  for  nine  years  was  assessor  of  the  Twenty- 
fifth  ward  of  Pittsburg. 

Mr.  Vallowe  married,  in  September,  1865,  Dorothea  Langkamp,  born  in 
Hanover,  Germany,  April  11,  1845,  and  came  to  this  country  with  her  parents, 
who  settled  in  Riceville,  Pittsburg.  She  was  the,  daughter  of  Henry  and 
Bernardina  Langkamp,  the  former  a  shoemaker.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Vallowe  have 
had  children:  i.  G.  Henry,  born  in  the  South  Side,  Pittsburg,  July  30, 
1866.  He  was  graduated  from  Duff's  College,  and  for  some  years  was  head 
bookkeeper  in  the  ice  company  of  which  his  father  was  general  manager. 
He  is  now  with  one  of  his  brothers  in  the  wholesale  feed  and  supply  business 
in  Homestead.  He  married  Margaret  Baxmeier,  also  of  South  Side,  and  they 
are  the  parents  of  Clara  E.,  Wilhelmina,  Margaret  and  Ruth.  2.  Frederick,  born 
November  23,  1868,  died  July  12,  1876.  3.  William,  born  March  28.  1872, 
was  also  graduated  from  Dufl's  College.  He  was  for  many  years  engaged  in 
the  drug  business  and  now  lives  retired  with  his  father.  4.  George  R., 
born  February  5,  1874,  was  graduated  from  Duff's  College,  and  is  a  partner 
of  his  brother,  G.  Henry.  He  married  Catherine  Strickel  and  they  have  two 
children,  Frederick  and  Johanna  Louise.  5.  Johanna  F.,  born  January  21, 
1876,  married  John  H.  Slater,  an  undertaker,  and  they  reside  with  her  father. 


JOHN  B.  SANDERSON, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


They  have  children:.  Dorothea,  born  July  i8,  1902;  Herbert  William,  No- 
vember 23,  1903;  and  John  Henry,  January  i,  1907.  Mrs.  Vallowe  died  on 
July  3,  1907,  and  was  buried  in  the  South  Side  cemetery  July  6.  1907. 


JOHN  BROWN  SANDERSON,  deceased,  of  the  firm,  Lare  &  Sanderson, 
Pittsburg-,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  in  county  Down,  Ireland,  in  1820.  His 
parents  lived  and  died  in  Ireland.  He  came  to  the  United  States  after  receiv- 
ing his  educatioft  and  when  he  had  reached  his  majority.  He  settled  in  Pitts- 
burg;, where  he  taught  school  for  several  years,  being  principal  of  the  schools 
in  the  Fifth  ward  of  the  city  and  in  other  schools  also.  Subsequently  he 
formed  the  firm  of  Tate  &  Sanderson  and  they  engaged  in  the  plumbing  busi- 
ness on  Fourth  avenue,  continuing  for  a  number  of  years,  after  which  he  dis- 
posed of  his  interest  in  that  line  of  business  and  with  E.  Lare  formed  the  firm 
of  Lare  &  Sanderson.  They  conducted  the  roofing  business  on  Smithfield 
street,  where  the  Duquesne  Hotel  is  now  located,  and  followed  that  until  his 
death,  which  occurred  at  his  home  in  Allegheny  City  June  11,  1890.  He  was 
successful  in  his  business  operations  and  was  held  in  high  esteem  by  his 
associates  and  the  community  in  which  he  lived.  He  served  as  school  director 
in  Allegheny  City  for  many  years,  being  well  qualified  in  an  educational  point 
of  view  and  as  to  his  executive  abilit}-. 

Mr.  Sanderson  was  united  in  marriage  April  20,  1854,  in  Kinsman,  Trum- 
bull county,  Ohio,  to  Elizabeth  E.  King,  a  native  of  that  place  and  who  was 
the  daughter  of  William  and  Sarah  (McConnell)  King.  Her  paternal  and 
maternal  grandparents  were  pioneers  of  that  section  of  Ohio.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Sanderson  had  no  children.  They  were  both  members  of  the  Third  Presby- 
terian church  of  Pittsburg.  The  wife  remained  in  Allegheny  a  short  tmie  aiier 
the  death  of  her  husband  and  1895  built  her  present  residence  on  South  Negley 
avenue.  East  End,  Pittsburg,  where  she  still  resides. 


THOMAS  WARD,  of  Knoxville,  who  three  years  ago  retired  from 
business  after  more  than  forty  years  of  active  service  in  the  glass  industry 
of  Pittsburg,  was  born  February  22,  1848,  in  East  Birmingham,  South  Side. 
Pittsburg,  son  of  Michael  Ward,  who  was  born  in  1820,  in  Baltimore,  Mary- 
land, and  when  a  young  man  came  to  Pittsburg,  settling  on  the  South  Side. 
On  his  arrival  he  secured  a  position  as  driver  of  P.  Mulvany's  furniture 
wagon,  the  place  of  business  being  situated  on  Third  avenue,  opposite  the 
old  Pittsburg  Bank  and  next  door  to  the  postoffice,  which  at  that  time  was  in 
Mr.  Mulvany's  buildings.  Mr.  Ward  served  in  the  capacity  of  driver  for 
five  vears,  at  the  end  of  which  time  Mr.  Mulvany  purchased  the  interest  of 
Henderson  &  Gains,  leading  glass  dealers  of  New  Orleans.  In  this  enterprise 
Mr.  Mulvany  took  as  a  partner  William  O'Leary,  the  firm  being  known  as 
O'Leary  &  Mulvany.  The  glass-house,  which  was  situated  between  Sixteenth 
and  Seventeenth  streets,  is  now  known  as  the  Mulvany  plant. 

Mr.  Ward  entered  this  factory  as  an  apprentice  and  remained  almost  con- 
tinuously for  twenty-five  years,  advancing  from  place  to  place  until  he  became 
foreman  of  the  factory  and  a  skilled  workman.  He  was  held  in  the  highest 
esteem  by  Mr.  Mulvany  during  this  long  period  of  service,  and  when  the 
latter  died  Mr.  Ward  was  present  at  his  bedside.     He  then  associated  himself 


90 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


with  the  firm  of  Pkmkett  &  Ulam,  whose  factory  was  situated  at  the  head  of 
Fourteenth  street,  and  produced  a  general  Hne  of  blown  ware.  They  continued 
in  business  about  ten  years,  when  reverses  caused  the  closing  of  the  factory 
and  the  partnership  was  dissolved.  Mr.  Ward  then  went  to  Chicago  and 
entered  the  service  of  Evans  &  Hogan,  with  a  view  of  ultimately  getting  con- 
trol of  the  factory,  but  after  a  short  time  came  to  the  conclusion  that  on 
account  of  the  scarcitv  of  fuel  and  the  difficulty  in  securing  skilled  workmen 
glass  could  not  be  manufactured  at  a  profit,  and  returned  to  Pittsburg. 

The  plant  in  this  city  with  which  he  had  formerly  been  connected  had 
been  purchased  by  Voigt,  Ward  &  Company,  and  Mr.  Ward  bought  an  interest 
therein.  The  firm  continued  in  business  five  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time 
the  plant  was  again  seized  by  the  sheriff.  From  that  event  Mr.  Ward  had 
no  connection  with  a  glass-house  beyond  the  management  of  a  furnace  hi 
Maclunery  Hall  in  the  Exposition  building  during  the  first  years  it  was  in 
operation. 

During  his  long  career  in  the  glass  business,  both  as  manufacturer  and 
workman,  he  was  always  thorough  and  exact,  his  good  judgment  as  a  worker 
and  his  fair  dealing  as  a  manufacturer  winning  for  him  the  esteem  of  all  with 
whom  he  came  in  "contact.  In  the  great  affliction  of  blindness,  which  he  was 
for  some  time  called  upon  to  endure,  he  had  the  sympathy  of  thousands.  The 
cause  of  his  blindness  he  believed  to  be  the  intense  heat  and  severe  strain 
to  which  the  eyes  of  a  glassworker  are  subjected.  Neither  advancing  age 
nor  the  loss  of  sight  had  in  the  slightest  degree  weakened  his  force  of  char- 
acter or  diminished  his  cheerfulness.  He  felt  that  in  his  affliction  he  had 
many  causes  for  thankfulness,  the  greatest  of  which  was  his  ability  to  look 
back  upon  a  stainless  record. 

Mr.  Ward  married,  February  6,  1844,  Elizabeth  O'Neal,  who  was  born 
in  1825,  near  Dungannon,  county  Tyrone,  Ireland,  and  they  became  the  parents 
of  fifteen  children,  ten  sons  and  five  daughters.  The  following  survived  him : 
John,  a  glass  manufacturer  of  EUwood,  Indiana;  Michael  A.,  employed  by 
Joseph  Home  &  Company;  Thomas,  of  whom  later;  Patrick,  a  jeweler  of 
Pittsburg;  Mary,  wife  of  James  Thompson,  of  Mount  Oliver;  Ahce,  wife  of 
George  Good,  of  McKeesport ;  Katharine,  a  singer;  and  Edward  A.,  super- 
intendent of  the  city  horses  of  Pittsburg.  Mr.  Ward  closed  his  long  life  of 
usefulness  and  endeavor  October  16,  1896,  aged  seventy-six  years.  He  was  a 
member  of  St.  John's  Roman  Catholic  church. 

Thomas  Ward,  son  of  Michael  and  Elizabeth  (O'Neal)  Ward,  received 
his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city,  and  at  the  age  of  twelve 
years  began  to  work  in  Mulvany's  glass-house,  remaining  until  1861.  From 
that  year  until  1863  he  was  employed  at  the  Adams  Glass  Works  on  Tenth 
street,  after  which  he  worked  two  years  for  his  father  as  night  manager. 
From  1865  to  1877  he  worked  at  glass-blowing  and  then  entered  the  service 
of  Hogan,  Evans  &  Company  in  the  capacity  of  a  glass-blower.  He  was  sent 
by  the  firm  to  Chicago,  but  at  the  end  of  thirteen  months  returned  and  went 
to  work  for  Hogan  &  Shallmer,  glass  manufacturers.  He  had  been  but  ten 
months  with  this  firm  when  he  left  them  in  order  to  associate  himself  with 
his  father  and  Henry  Voigt,  who  had  formed  a  partnership.  After  Mr.  Ward 
had  worked  for  them  six  years  the  firm  failed,  and  he  again  entered  the 
service  of  Hogan  &  Evans,  with  whom  he  remained  nine  years.  At  the  end 
of  that  time   Mr.   Hogan   sold   his   interest   to   MacEetli,   the   firm   becoming 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  91 


MacBeth,  Evans  &  Company.  Mr.  Ward  remained  with  them  four  years 
and  in  1904  retired  from  business. 

He  belongs  to  the  American  Flue  Glass  Union  of  Pittsburg,  and  in  politics 
is  a  Democrat.  He  is  a  member  of  St.  Canice's  Roman  Catholic  church  of 
Knoxville. 

Mr.  Ward  married,  April  22,  1877,  Mary,  born  April,  1850,  daughter  of 
Frank  Fisher,  a  shoemaker  of  the  South  Side,  and  they  have  been  the  parents 
of  the  following  children:  i.  Joseph,  born  January  30,  1878,  glass-blower 
for  MacBeth,  Evans  &  Company,  lives  with  his  parents.  2.  Edward  Francis, 
born  August  2,  1879,  salesman  at  the  Boston  Store,  Pittsburg,  also  lives  with 
his  parents.  3.  Mary  Teresa,  born  August  4,  1881,  wife  of  Lawrence 
Greenawalt,  of  Allentown,  Pittsburg,  bookkeeper  for  the  Independent  Brewing 
Company.  They  have  two  children,  Elizabeth  and  MerCetis.  4  and  5.  Felix 
and  Elizabeth  (twins),  born  June  10,  1883,  of  whom  the  latter  died  February 
14,  1884.  The  former  is  an  electrician  for  the  Nernest  Lamp  Company  and 
lives  at  home,  but  makes  business  trips  to  different  parts  of  the  country. 
6.  Florence  Cornelia,  born  October  20,  1887,  died  June  2,  1888.  7.  Charles, 
born  February  18,  1889,  employed  by  the  Bell  Telephone  Company,  lives  with 
his  parents.     8.     Elizabeth  Josephine,  born  February  4,  1891,  attends  school. 


BENJAMIN  PRITCHARD,  of  Knoxville,  who  was  for  half  a  century 
identified  with  the  glass  industry  of  Pittsburg,  and  is  now  enjoying  in  retire- 
ment the  fruits  of  his  energy  and  thrift,  was  born  December  25,  1838,  in 
North  Wales,  and  when  but  two  years  old  was  brought  by  his  parents  to  the 
United  States.  They  settled  first  in  St.  Louis,  and  it  was  there  that  Mr. 
Pritchard  received  his  early  education.  In  1848  they  moved  to  Pittsburg,  and 
in  the  course  of  time  he  entered  the  glass  works  of  the  Hailrammon  Com- 
pany, where  he  was  employed  until  1877.  He  was  then  for  two  years  foreman 
in  the  glass  works  situated  on  the  corner  of  Water  and  Ross  streets,  North 
Side,  after  which  he  became  a  stockholder  in  the  Ripley  Company,  retaining 
his  interest  until  the  company  consolidated  with  the  United  States  Glass 
Works.  In  these  works  he  held  the  position  of  foreman  until  his  retirement  in 
1905,  and  he  is  still  a  stockholder  in  them. 

In  1863  he  enlisted  in  the  Two  Hundred  and  Second  Regiment,  Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers,  and  served  till  the  close  of  the  war.  Fle  is  a  member  of 
the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  and  adheres  to  the  Republican  party.  He 
was  one  of  the  founders  and  is  now  a  member  of  the  Baptist  church. 

Mr.  Pritchard  married  Elizabeth,  born  in  1844,  daughter  of  Henry  and 
Elizabeth  Watkins,  of  Pittsburg,  and  they  have  been  the  parents  of  the  fol- 
lowing children :  George  Chase,  of  whom  later ;  William,  born  September  23, 
1866,  and  died  in  1894,  was  a  graduate  of  public  schools  and  bookkeeper  in 
the  United  States  Glass  Factory;  Anna,  born  September  19,  1869,  and  a 
graduate  of  public  schools,  is  the  wife  of  William  E.  Clark,  stenographer  and 
assistant  superintendent  at  the  locomotive  works  of  H.  K.  Porter;  Benjamin, 
born  in  1872,  a  graduate  of  public  schools,  and  purchasing  agent  for  the 
Quaker  City  Cut  Glass  Company,  of  Philadelphia,  married  Mabel  Jack,  of 
that  citv,  one  child,  Mabel ;  and  Henry  Clifton,  died  in  youth. 

George  Chase  Pritchard,  son  of  Benjamin  and  Elizabeth  (Watkins) 
Pritchard,   was  born   May   5,    1865.   in    Pittsburg.     He   was   educated   in   the 


92  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

public  schools,  and  has  now  been  for  sixteen  years  manager  of  the  Ripley 
Company,  which  sold  to  the  United  States  Glass  Company,  of  which  he  is 
manager  of  Factory  F.  He  is  a  Republican,  and  a  member  of  the  Fourth 
Avenue  Baptist  church. 

Mr.  Pritchard  married  Jessie  M.,  daughter  of  David  and  Mary  (Albert; 
Brown,  of  Pittsburg,  and  they  have  two  children:  Jessie  Mearl,  born  April  i8, 
1900,  at  school;  and  Grace,  born  September  25,  1903. 


LOUIS  KUEHNEISEN,  of  Knoxville,  who  has  for  twenty-three  years 
lived  in  well-earned  retirement  after  a  career  of  more  than  thirty  years  as  a 
prominent  manufacturer  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  January  14,  1829,  in  Ger- 
many, where  he  received  a  limited  education  and  learned  hat  and  cap  making. 
After  serving  his  time  at  his  trade  he  made  a  tour  of  his  native  land,  and  in 
1849  emigrated  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  New  York  city,  where  he 
followed  his  trade  for  two  years.  In  185 1  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  taking  up 
his  abode  on  the  South  Side,  then  called  Birmingham,  and  now  the  Twenty- 
eighth  ward  of  the  city.  After  working  there  one  year  he  established  a 
manufactory  of  his  own,  which  shortly  became  the  leading  one  in  the  hat  and 
cap  industry  of  Pittsburg.  He  conducted  the  enterprise  until  1884,  when  he 
retired,  turning  the  business  over  to  his  son  Louis,  who  carries  on  the  enter- 
prise in  Carson  street. 

Mr.  Kuehneisen  has  held  the  office  of  assessor,  and  for  fifteen  years 
served  as  school  director  of  the  Twenty-eighth  ward.  His  political  convictions 
are  in  accordance  with  the  principles  of  the  Republican  party.  He  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  German  Lutlieran  church,  and  for  five  years  was  treasurer  of  the 
Ruster  church  of  Birmingham. 

Mr.  Kuehneisen  married  Anna  McGrata  Walker,  a  native  of  Pittsburg, 
and  they  have  been  the  parents  of  the  following  children,  all  of  whom,  with 
the  exception  of  the  eldest,  were  born  in  Pittsburg:  Adolph,  born  in  New 
York  city,  formerly  in  the  retail  hat  and  furnishing  business,  now  retired,  mar- 
ried Etta  Walker;  Carrie,  died  in  youth,  wife  of  Jacob  Nusser;  Edmond, 
also  died  young;  Louis,  who  succeeded  his  father  in  business,  lives  in  Car- 
rick,  married  Bertha  Deulenberg,  of  Pittsburg;  and  Laura,  became  the  wife 
of  Frederick  Hampe.     Both  she  and  her  husband. are  deceased. 

THE  REVEREND  FREDERICK  MARSH  GORDON,  pastor  of  the 
Christian  church  of  Knoxville,  was  born  August  2,  1878,  in  West  Virginia,  a 
son  of  John  E.  Gordon,  who  was  born  in  1844,  in  Virginia,  and  received  a 
common-school  education.  He  came  to  Pennsylvania,  and  while  still  a  youth 
enlisted  in  the  Union  army,  becoming  a  member  of  the  Fifty-third  Regiment, 
Pennsylvania  Volunteers.  After  the  war  he  went  to  West  Virginia,  where 
he  was  employed  as  steward  by  Thomas  Marsh,  who  was  the  owner  of  a 
large  estate,  and  had,  in  his  earlier  life,  been  a  fellbw  laborer  of  Alexander 
Campbell,  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Christian  church. 

Mr.  Gordon  married  Mr.  Marsh's  youngest  daughter  and  settled  on  a 
part  of  the  Marsh  farm,  becoming  in  a  few  vears  steward  of  the  whole  estate. 
Ten  years  after  his  marriage  he  moved  to  Steubenville,  Ohio,  in  order  to 
secure    for   his   children   greater   educational   advantages,   and   from    1882   to 


PITJSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE 


93 


1892  was  engaged  in  mercantile  business  at  that  place.  In  the  latter  year  he 
became  superintendent  of  the  Street  Railway  Company,  a  position  which  he 
retained  until  1896,  when  he  removed  to  Bridgeport,  Ohio,  and  assumed  the 
superintendency  of  the  Bridgeport,  Martinburg  &  Bellaire  Street  Railway 
Company,  which  position  he  still  holds.  He  was  at  one  time  chief  of  police 
of  Steubenville,  and  is  a  strong  Republican. 

John  E.  Gordon  married  Mary,  youngest  daughter  of  Thomas  Marsh, 
and  the  following  children  were  born  to  them:  Louella,  wife  of  John  H. 
Linderman,  of  Steubenville;  Eva,  wife  of  H.  J.  Searman,  of  Albany,  New- 
York;  Allen  T.,  clergyman,  of  Beaver,  Pennsylvania;  Frederick  Marsh; 
Ira  Howard,  a  student  at  Bethany  College,  West  Virginia;  and  Lydia  E., 
who  lives  with  her  parents  at  Kirkwood,  Ohio,  their  present  place  of  abode. 

Frederick  Marsh  Gordon,  son  of  John  E.  and  Mary  (Marsh)  Gordon, 
graduated  from  Stanton  School,  Steubenville,  in  1894,  and  in  1900  graduated 
from  Bethany  College,  West  Virginia.  During  his  college  course  he  had  a 
charge  at  Brilliant,  Ohio,  being  then  the  youngest  licensed  preacher  in  the 
United  States.  After  graduating  he  received  a  call  from  Knoxville,  Pitts- 
burg, and  came  hither  to  take  charge  of  a  congregation  numbering  about 
fifty.  The  church  then  stood  on  Jacunda  street,  but  in  1903,  under  the  leader- 
ship of  Mr.  Gordon,  the  erection  of  a  new  edifice  was  planned,  the  following 
year  the  corner-stone  was  laid  and  in  1905  the  structure  was  completed.  The 
congregation  now  numbers  five  hundred  and  is  one  of  the  largest  in  Knoxville. 

Mr.  Gordon,  in  1905,  matriculated  in  the  Divinity  School  of  Yale  Uni- 
versity, and  graduated  in  the  class  of  1907.  In  the  first  half  of  1908  he  vis- 
ited Egypt  and  Palestine.  He  served  one  year  as  president  of  the  Ministerial 
Association  of  Pittsburg  and  has  been  for  the  last  six  years  secretary  of  the 
Christian  Church  Missionary  Society  of  Pennsylvania.  He  is  a  member  of 
jMontooth  Camp,  No.  104,  Sons  of  Veterans,  and  is  chaplain  of  the  Fourth 
Regiment,  Sons  of  Veterans  Reserves.  He  also  affiliates  with  Commandery 
No.  I,  Knights  Templar,  of  Pittsburg.  In  the  sphere  of  politics  he  aids  with 
his  vote  and  influence  the  principles  indorsed  and  advocated  by  the  Repub- 
lican party. 


JAMES  ANTHONY  GRIFFITH,  a  well-known  real  estate  agent  of 
Pittsburg,  and  one  who  has  contributed  much  toward  the  building  up  of 
Knoxville  and  the  adjoining  boroughs,  was  born  September  20,  1872,  in  the 
city  of  which  he  is  now  a  resident,  a  son  of  Thomas  Griffith,  who  was  born 
in  1837.  He  was  the  son  of  Welsh  parents  who,  when  Thomas  was  two 
years  of  age,  came  to  the  United  States  from  France,  of  which  country  their 
son  was  a  native. 

The  parents  of  Thomas  Griffith  settled  in  Albany,  New  York,  and  it  was 
there  that  he  received  his  education.  His  brothers  subsequently  went  to 
Richmond,  Virginia,  where  he  joined  them  at  the  beginning  of  the  Civil  war 
and  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  nails.  At  the  close  of  the  war  he  came  to 
Pittsburg,  which  was  his  home  for  the  greater  portion  of  his  after  life.  His 
political  adherence  was  given  to  the  doctrines  of  the  Greenbackers.  He  was 
a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church. 

Thomas  Griffith  married  Margaret,  born  January  17,  1845,  ^^i  Cincinnati, 
OJiio,  daughter  of  John  and  Jane  Mitchel,  who  came  from  County  Tyrone, 


94  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

Ireland.  After  the  death  of  Mr.  Mitchel  his  widow  married  Jacob  D.  Gue, 
who  came  from  Brownsville,  Pennsylvania,  with  George  Jones,  founder  of 
the  Jones-Laughlin  Steel  Company.  Mr.  Gue  was  employed  by  the  company 
for  a  period  of  thirty-one  years.  Thomas  and  Margaret  (Mitchel)  Griffith 
were  the  parents  of  seven  children,  of  whom  three  died  in  youth.  The  living 
are:  Catharine  M.,  Ida,  Chester  C.  and  James  Anthony.  The  death  of  Mr. 
Griffith  occurred  in  1903,  at  Leazerville,  West  Virginia,  and  his  widow  now 
resides  at  Beaver  Falls,  Pennsylvania. 

Tames  Anthony  Griffith,  son  of  Thomas  and  Margaret  (Mitchel)  Griffith, 
was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Bellaire,  Ohio,  and  of  Pittsburg,  finish- 
ing at  Duff's  Business  College.  When  a  child  he  went  to  live  with  his  grand- 
mother, Mrs.  Jane  Gue,  with  whom  he  made  his  home  until  he  grew  to  man- 
hood. In  1890  he  was  employed  by  E.  T.  Schaffner  in  the  real  estate  business, 
the  association  remaining  unbroken  for  ten  years.  In  1900  he  opened  an  office 
for  himself,  and  has  since  devoted  his  time  and  energy  to  the  building  up  of 
the  borough  of  Knoxville  and  the  adjoining  boroughs  and  wards  of  Pitts- 
burg.    He  h'as  an  extensive  and  lucrative  business. 

He  belongs  to  Milnor  Lodge,  No.  287,  F.  and  A.  M. ;  Zerubbabel  Chap- 
ter, No.  162,  R.  A.  M.;  Pittsburg  Commandery,  No.  i,  Knights  Templar,  and 
the  Mystic, Shrine;  also  Elite  Lodge,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  the  Protective  Home  Circle, 
the  Royal  Arcanum  and  the  Foresters  of  America.  His  political  affiliations 
are  with  the  Republicans.  He  is  a  trustee  of  the  Maple  Avenue  Baptist 
church,  in  which  he  also  holds  the  office  of  treasurer.  Of  this  church  his 
grandmother,  Mrs.  Gue,  was  a  founder  and  always  a  liberal  contributor  to 
its  work. 

Mr.  Griffith  married,  November  8,  1906,  Eliza  Jane,  born  in  Pittsburg, 
daughter  of  the  late  Joseph  Faloon,  who  was  a  native  of  Ireland. 


JAMES  AUGUSTUS  DORAN.  The  late  James  Augustus  Doran,  a 
lifelong  resident  and  respected  citizen  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  that  city 
December  31,  1849,  a  son  of  Michael  Doran,  who  was  born  November  11, 
1810,  in  London,  England,  and  received  but  a  limited  education.  As  a  boy 
he  was  brought  to  the  LTnited  States  by  his  parents,  who  settled  in  Pittsburg, 
making  their  home  on  Washington  avenue.  His  father  went  into  the  coal 
business,  employing  as  a  teamster  the  boy  Michael,  who  always  continued  to 
work  for  him.  In  politics  Michael  Doran  was  a  strong  Democrat.  He  was 
one  of  the  founders  of  St.  John's  Roman  Catholic  church,  Pittsburg,  serving 
as  a  member  of  the  first  board  of  trustees,  and  continuing  to  hold  the  office 
of  trustee  for  many  years. 

Mr.  Doran  married  Miriam  Theresa  Lafferty,  who  was  born  February 
16,  181 1,  on  Lafferty  Hill,  Baldwin  township,  Pittsburg,  Lafferty  Hill  having 
been  named  in  honor  of  her  parents,  who  were  among  the  first  settlers  of 
that  part  of  the  city.  She  died  in  1903.  aged  ninety-two  years.  Mr.  and 
Mrs;  Doran  became  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  i.  John,  born 
April  10,  1843,  in  Pittsburg,  as  were  all  his  brothers  and  sisters.  He  received 
a  good  education  and  was  clerk  in  the  steel  works  of  Oliver  &  Phillips.  He 
married  Helen  Hartzell,  of  Pittsburg,  and  they  had  one  son,  James.  John 
Doran  died  June  8,  1875.  2.  Mary  Anna,  born' December  19,  1844,  died  July 
19,   1847.     3-    Sarah,  born  August  8.   1846,  died  December  6,   1865,  wife  of 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


95 


Charles  _  Murray.  4.  Margaret,  born  January  8,  .1848,  died  in  November, 
1903,  wife  of  Valentine  Kneib,  of  Pittsburg,  a' heater  in  iron  works.  He  and 
his  wife  were  members  of  St.  John's  Roman  CathoHc  church.  5.  James 
Augustus,  of  whom  later.  6.  Agnes,  born  May  7.  1852,  wife  of  Casper 
Werner,  a  glass-blower  in  the  Pittsburg  Glass  Works. 

James  Augustus  Doran.  son  of  Michael  and  Miriam  Theresa  (Lafferty) 
Doran,  received  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Pittsburg,  and  after  leaving 
school  obtained  employment  in  Dillworth  &  Porter's  nut  and  spike  mill  in  his 
native  city.  ^  After  working  there  for  a  few  years  he  left  in  order  to  learn 
the  moulder's  trade.  This  was  in  1869,  and  after  serving  his  apprenticeship 
he  was  employed  one  year  at  the  iron  works  of  Jones  &  Laughlin.  in  Browns- 
town.  South  Side,  Pittsburg.  He  then  worked  for  a  short  time  in  the  foundry 
of  Robinson  Rhea,  after  which  he  went  to  Lewis'  foundry,  where  he  followed 
his  trade  for  the  remainder  of  his  life. 

He  belonged  to  Company  No.  14.  Pittsburg  Volunteer  Fire  Department, 
South  Side,  and  the  Machinists  and  Moulders^  of  Pittsburg,  also  affiliating 
with  the  Knights  of  Labor  and  St.  John's  Beneficial  Society.  His  political 
principles  coincided  with  those  of  the  Democratic  party.  He  was  a  devoted 
member  of  St.  George's  Roman  Catholic  church.  Allentown,  Pittsburg. 

Mr.  Doran  married.  January  10,  1875,  Mary  Ann  O'Hara,  and  the  fol- 
lowing are  their  children,  all  of  whom  were  born  in  Pittsburg:  i.  Francis 
Michael,  born  October  26,  1875,  received  a  good  education  in  St.  George's 
■Roman  Catholic  school,  and  at  fourteen  entered  the  Oliver  Iron  Works,  where 
he  was  employed  for  three  years.  He  has  since  worked  at  boiler-making 
and  at  different  branches  of  iron  work.  2.  James  Augustus,  born  April  7, 
1879,  educated  in  St.  George's  Roman  Catholic  school,  and  afterward  served 
five  years  as  office  boy  in  the  office  of  Drs.  Robeson.  Day  and  Herrod.  He 
\vas  then  for  four  years  clerk  in  the  Hotel  Henry,  and  has  since  been  with 
the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company,  first  as  a  freight  brakeman.  and  for 
some  time  served  as  assistant  passenger  conductor.  He  is  a  member  of  St. 
George's  Roman  Catholic  church.  3.  Aliriam  Elizabeth,  born  August  i,  1881, 
educated  at  St.  George's  Roman  Catholic  school,  and  now  a  dressmaker  by 
occupation.     These  three  children  reside  with  their  widowed  mother. 

The  death  of  Mr.  Doran,  which  occurred  May  6,  1889,  deprived  his  wife 
and  children  of  an  affectionate  husband  and  father,  his  associates  of  a  faith- 
ful friend  and  comrade,  and  the  community  of  a  worthy  citizen. - 

Mrs.  Doran  is  a  daughter  of  Francis  O'Hara,  who  was  born  in  1816, 
in  County  Antrim,  Ireland,  where  he  obtained  his  education.  He  was  early 
left  an  orphan  and  was  brought  up  by  two  aunts  who,  after  his  school  days 
were  over,  started  him  in  life  as  the  manager  of  a  linen  mill,  which  he  con- 
ducted until  about  the  age  of  twenty-five.  He  then  sold  the  mill  and  emigrated 
to  the  L^nited  States,  settling  in  Pittsburg,  where  he  opened  a  confectionery 
on  Smithfield  street,  next  to  the  building  of  the  Duquesne  Fire  Department, 
his  home  being  on  the  corner  of  Fifth  avenue  and  Smithfield  street.  He  car- 
ried on  the  business  until  1862,  when  he  moved  to  South  Side,  where  he  was 
for  three  years  employed  by  the  city  to  oversee  the  street  lights.  He  then 
served  as  watchman  in  a  cooper's  shop  for  the  remainder  of  his  life. 

Mr.  O'Hara  married  Rose  Maguire,  of  County  Antrim,  Ireland,  and 
their  children  were:  i.  James,  born  November  10,  1850,  in  County  Antrim, 
was  brought  to  the  United  States  by  his  parents  and  worked  in  a  nut  and 


96  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 

spike  factory.  He  lived  with  his  parents  until  his  death,  in  February,  1873. 
2.  Mary  Ann  was  born  November  8,  1852,  on  Penn  avenue.  First  ward, 
Pittsburg,  her  younger  brother  and  sister  being  also  natives  of  that  city. 
She  is  t"he  widow  of  James  Augustus  Doran,  is  a  member  of  St.  George's 
Roman  Catholic  church,  and  resides  with  her  three  children  in  the  Thirty- 
eighth  ward  of  Pittsburg.  3.  Frank,  born  November  2,  1854,  received  a 
good  education  and  worked  as  a  moulder  at  the  Rosedale  foundry.  He  mar- 
ried Ella  Maginley,  of  Pittsburg ;  children  :  Frank,  Anna  May  and  Gilbert. 
4.  Tille,  born  June  30,  1856,  lived  with  her  parents  until  they  died,  and  then 
learned  the  dressmaker's  trade.  She  has  now  retired  and  lives  in  Pittsburg. 
She  has  traveled  extensively,  having  several  times  made  the  tour  of  the  old 
country,  and  has  visited  every  part  of  the  United  States.  Mr.  O'Hara,  the 
father  of  the  family,  died  December  19,  1881,  and  is  buried  in  St.  Mar>  s 
cemetery,  Pittsburg. 

JOHN  NUSBAUMER,  one  of  Pittsburg's  enterprising  3'oung  business 
men,  was  born  November  17,  1880,  in  Pittsburg,  a  son  of  Jacob  Nusbaumer, 
who  was  born  in  1821,  in  Switzerland,  and  received  a  limited  education.  He 
followed  the  carpenter's  trade,  and  also  sold  timber  which  he  purchased  from 
the  government.  In  1864  he  came  to  the  United  States  and  settled  on  the 
South  Side  of  Pittsburg,  where  for  fifteen  years  he  worked  at  his  trade  and 
also  engaged  in  contracting.  In  1884  he  moved  to  Beltzhoover,  now  the 
Thirty-eighth  ward,  and  for  the  remainder  of  his  life  was  engaged  in  the 
dairy  business.  In  politics  he  was  a  strong  Republican.  He  and  his  wife 
were  members  of  the  German  Roman  Catholic  church  of  Allentown,  Pittsburg. 

Jacob  Nusbaumer  married  Amanda  Glasser.  born  in  March,  1840,  in  Ger- 
many, and  they  became  the  parents  of  two  sons,  both  of  whom  were  born  in 
Pittsburg:  John,  born  November  7,  1870,  died  at  the  age  of  three  years; 
and  John  (2).  Jacob  Nusbaumer  died  January  28,  1895,  and  is  survived  by 
his  widow. 

John  Nusbaumer,  son  of  Jacob  and  Amanda  (Glasser)  Nusbaumer,  was 
given  a  good  education,  and,  although  but  a  boy  at  the  time  of  his  father's 
death,  took  charge  of  the  dairy  business  and  conducted  it  until  his  sixteenth 
year.  He  then  sold  out,  learned  the  butcher's  business,  and  when  twenty 
years  old  established  himself  in  that  line  of  industry  in  Chalfont  street.  He 
now  conducts  a  grocery  store  and  butcher's  shop  combined. 

As  a  citizen  he  is  energetic  and  public-spirited,  and  in  politics  he  is  an 
earnest  advocate  of  the  principles  of  the  Republican  party.  He  is  a  member 
of  St.  George's  Roman  Catholic  church.  In  1906  Mr.  Nusbaumer  made  an 
extended  tour  o"f  Europe.    His  home  is  with  his  widowed  mother. 

THE  MITCHELL-ALEXANDER  FAMILY.  Among  the  early  mem- 
bers of  the  Pittsburg  bar  was  John  J.  Mitchell,  whose  son,  John  M.  Mitchell^ 
was  also  prominent  among  the  attorneys-at-law  in  Allegheny  county  until  his 
death.  This  sketch  will  treat  more  especially  of  the  Mitchell  and  Alexander 
family  history,  the  former  having  intermarried  with  the  latter. 

(I)  The  first  of  the  Alitchell  family  to  reside  in  Pittsburg  was  Laurent 
Camille  Michel  (as  the  name,  which  is  French,  was  then  spelled).  This 
family   is  of  pure  French  origin — Michel — and  was  spelled  with  a  soft  "c" 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  97 

sound  and  the  accent  placed  on  the  last  syllable.  The  name  was  changed,  or 
Americanized,  rather,  at  the  close  of  the  War  of  1812,  when  Laurent  Camille 
IMichel  first  came  to  Pittsburg.  He  did  not  intend  to  remain  here  long, 
hence  paid  no  attention  to  being  called  "Mitchell,"  by  which  name  he  was 
ever  afterward  known.  His  great-grandfather  was  Louis  Michel,  of  Mar- 
seilles, France.  His  grandparents  were  both  of  French  nobility.  The  grand- 
father was  named  Lauzare  Rommuel  Michel,  who  married  Lady  Geniveve 
Ferandy,  of  France.  Laurent  Camille  Michel's  father  was  Jacques  Lazure 
Romel  Michel,  born  in  Marseilles,  France,  August  31,  1763,  and  married  Lady 
Marie  Adelaide  Robare,  born  in  the  town  of  Cape  Francis  on  the  western 
part  of  the  Island  of  San  Domingo,  near  what  came  to  be  her  own  plantation, 
August  15,  1780.  She  married  Mr.  Michel  in  Baltimore,  Maryland,  Novem- 
ber 17,  1794;  a  cousin  of  the  bride,  Apuline  Bonaparte,  was  in  attendance  at 
the  wedding  of  Lady  Marie  Adelaide.  The  children  of  this  union  were: 
I.  Emelie  Jacques,  born  in  Baltimore,  Maryland,  October  18,  1795;  died  in 
Charleston,  South  Carolina,  in  185 1.  2.  Camille  Laurent,  born  in  Baltimore, 
Maryland,  July  i,  1797;  died  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  June  14,  1878. 
3.  Apouline,  born  in  Baltimore,  Maryland,  February  17,  1800;  died  in  that 
city  November  2,  1801.  4.  Candede  Louis,  born  March  4,  1802;  died  in 
Mexico.  5.  Alphonso  Lauzre,  born  in  Charleston,  South  Carolina,  July  23, 
1804;  died  in  San  Francisco,  California.  6.  Edmonde  A.,  born  in  Charles- 
ton, South  Carolina,  July  26,  1807;    died  in  New  Orleans  January  12,  1872. 

Laurent  Cammille  Alichel  (now  spelled  Lawrence  Mitchell),  the  first  to 
locate  in  Pittsburg,  at  the  close  of  the  War  of  1812,  was  with  his  father,  who 
was  the  commander  of  the  French  vessel  "Atlanta"  when  it  was  wrecked  ofif 
the  coast  of  Florida,  the  entire  crew  perishing  except  Laurent  and  his  father. 
Later,  and  after  Laurent  had  left  college,  he  entered  the  marine  service,  and 
at  the  breaking  out  of  the  War  of  1812  between  this  country  and  Great  Brit- 
ain, he  served  with  much  distinction  under  Commodore  Isaac  Chauncey,  of 
the  United  States  service,  participating  in  the  engagements  at  Fort  George 
and  Little  York.  He  was  an  eye-witness  to  the  death  of  General  Pike.  Hav- 
ing received  an  honorable  discharge,  he  left  the  city  of  Buffalo  for  New 
Orleans  to  visit  his  parents,  going  by  the  way  of  Erie,  thence  to  Meadville, 
and  down  French  creek  in  a  flatboat  to  Franklin.  From  that  point  he  came 
down  the  Allegheny  river  in  a  barge,  paying  his  passage  by  helping  run  the 
boat.  All  was  then  new  and  wild  in  this  region.  Mr.  Mitchell  used  to  relate 
one  incident  of  this  trip,  in  which  he  was  much  interested :  At  a  point  nearly 
opposite  the  Forty-third  street  of  the  city  of  to-day,  a  large  deer  was  observed 
swimming  across  the  river.  It  became  frightened  at  the  men  and  his  huge 
antlers  became  entangled  in  the  brush,  and  in  this  manner  the-  buck  was  cap- 
tured. It  was  some  time  before  Mr.  Michel  was  permitted  to  complete  his 
trip,  and  while  here  formed  the  acquaintance  of  one  who  caused  his  return 
to  this  section.  He  finally  visited  his  parents  in  the  south  and  returned  to 
Pittsburg  and  subsequently  married  Miss  Mary  Elizabeth  Smythe,  whose 
affections  he  had  won  while  on  his  first  visit  to  the  town  of  Pittsburg.  She 
was  the  daughter  of  a  learned  Scotch-Irishman,  who  had  a  classical  education 
and  was  at  one  time  a  professor  in  the  College  at  Sheffield,  England.  His 
wife  was  Anna  Margaretta,  daughter  of  Simon  Ruffner,  the  well-known  pio- 
neer of  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  of  whose  history  further  mention 
will  be  made. 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


After  his  marriage,  Laurent  C.  Michel  purchased  much  property  in  the 
vicinity  of  Pittsburg,  and  at  one  time  had  three  large  clothing  stores  on  Wood 
street.  His  residence  was  on  Penn  street,  while  he  had  a  summer  place  at 
Perryville.  His  city  residence  was  in  what  was  then  the  choicest  portion  of 
Pittsburg.  After  a  few  years'  residence  here  he  was  commonly  spoken  of  as 
Lawrence  C.  Mitchell,  and  was  indeed  one  ,of  the  city's  most  highly  esteemed 
citizens ;  he  was  associate  judge  at  one  time.  He  died  in  the  eighty-second 
year  of  his  age.  He  was  the  father  of  eleven  children,  four  of  whom  survived 
him:  John  Joseph,  of  whom  later;  Mary  Amelia,  wife  of  Domenic  Ihmsen; 
Katherine  Gold,  a  widow;  and  Mrs.  Annie  E.  (Mitchell)  Alexander,  wife  of 
William  Davidson  Alexander,  of  Allegheny  City,  Pennsylvania. 

(H)  John  J.  Mitchell,  eldest  son  of  the  first  Mitchell  to  settle  in  Pitts- 
burg, was  born  June  9,  1819,  and  always  remained  a  resident  of  Pittsburg, 
dying  at  the  age  of  eighty-three  years  in  1902.  In  many  ways  he  was  a 
remarkable  man.  He  was  educated  at  Mount  Saint  Mary's  College  (Catho- 
lic) of  Emmitsburg,  Maryland,  and  chose  law  for  his  profession;  he  was 
admitted  to  the  bar  of  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1837,  and  followed 
his  profession  for  sixty-five  years  at  Pittsburg,  outranking  all  other  attorneys 
in  point  of  years.  When  but  five  years  of  age  he  was  one  of  the  boys  who 
stood  in  line  and  was  patted  on  the  head  by  General  Lafayette  on  his  visit 
to  this  city  in  1824.  This  was  one  of  the  pleasant  recollections  of  Mr.  Mitch- 
ell's life.  For  many  years  he  was  a  law  partner  of  Judge  Samuel  Palmer, 
and  Attorney  Charles  F.  McKenna  read  law  with  him  in  the  Judge's  ofifice. 
He  resided  in  one  house  for  a  period  of  forty-two  years.  This  house  stood 
where  now  stands  the  great  Frick  Building.  He  was  concerned  in  many 
important  law  cases  and  his  judgment  was  sought  by  many,  especially  the 
younger  members  of  the  bar,  all  of  whom  found  in  him  a  fast  friend.  His 
word  was  as  good  as  his  bond  and  he  took  the  same  care  of  unimportant  cases 
as  he  did  the  more  weighty  ones  entrusted  to  him.  He  had  not  touched  liquor 
since  young  manhood,  and  seldom  smoked  a  cigar,  as  is  noted  in  the  hand- 
some diary  which  he  kept  of  each  day's  doings,  and  in  which  he  made  an  entry 
whenever  he  bought  him  a  cigar.  He  kept  a  copy  of  all  letters  and  date  of 
mailing,  which  in  those  days  was  uncommon. 

He  was  twice  married,  first  to  Miss  Mary  Agnes  Von  Casinove,  of  Swit- 
zerland. At  the  date  of  her  marriage  she  made  her  home  with  her  uncle, 
Archbishop  Hennie,  of  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin.  By  this  union  were  born 
three  children:  i.  John  M.  Mitchell,  who  became  a  prominent  lawyer  in 
Pittsburg,  and  who  died  seven  years  prior  to  his  father.  2.  Lawrence,  who 
died  in  infancy.  3.  Mary  Caroline,  who  married  Attornev  John  Francis 
O'Malley,  of  Pittsburg,  and  their  daughters  are  Mary  Agnes  and  Helen  Mer- 
cides.  For  his  second  wife  Mr.  Mitchell  married  Miss  Marv  E.  Noble,  of 
Sharpsburgh,  Pennsylvania,  who  survived  him,  as  did  some  of  the  sixteen  chil- 
dren born  of  this  second  marriage;  they  are  as  follows:  i.  Annie.  2. 
Charles.  3.  Agnes.  4.  Lawrence.  5.  James.  6.  William.  7.  Nellie.  8. 
Augusta.    9.    Frank.     10.   Amenia.     11.    Harry. 

The  venerable  father  of  this  family  was'  a  devout  Roman  Catholic  and 
was  an  early  altar  boy  at  the  time  of  the  death  of  Reverend  Charles  B. 
McGuire.  and  about  forty  years  ago  made  the  address  at  the  dedication  of  the 
monument  m  St.  Mary's  cemetery  to  the  deceased  priest.  The  honorary  pall- 
bearers at  the  funeral  of  J^Ir.  Mitchell  included  Judge  Thomas  Mellon,  Hon. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  99 

Christopher  C.  Magee  and  the  late  Judge  M.  A.  Atcheson,  of  the  United  States 
circuit  court. 

(Ill)  John  M.  Mitchell,  son  of  John  J.  Mitchell  by  his  first  wife,  and 
the  grandson  of  Lawrence  C.  Mitchell,  who  was  the  first  to  settle  in  Pitts- 
burg, was  born  in  that  city  and  became  an  attorney-at-law,  as  was  his  father. 
He  died  after  he  had  practiced  about  ten  years,  in  1895. 

The  late  Mrs.  Annie  E.  (Mitchell)  Alexander  was  the  daughter  of  the 
progenitor  of  the  family  of  Mitchells  in  Pittsburg,  Laurent  (commonly 
known  as  Lawrence)  Camille  Mitchell.  She  married  William  Davidson 
Alexander,  and  died  at  her  home  in  Crafton,  Pennsylvania,  February  24, 
1906.  The  following  is  concerning  the  Alexander  family  into  which  'she  was 
intermarried : 

This  Alexander  family  are  direct  descendants  from  William  Alexander, 
Earl  of  Sterling,  and  cousin  of  Sir  William  Alexander,  of  England.  Upon 
coming  to  this  country  they  settled  in  several  places :  one  located  in  Virginia ; 
another  in  Kentucky,  and  one  in  Pennsylvania.  The  historical  city  of  Alex- 
andria, Virginia,  was  not,  as  some  suppose,  named  after  Alexandria  in  Egypt, 
but  in  honor  of  the  original  owner  of  the  land  on  which  it  was  laid  out,  in 
1748,  and  soon  incorporated  as  ''Alexandria,"  it  having  first  been  called  Belle 
Haven,  however,  before  this  change  was  made  in  favor  of  the  Alexander 
family,  who  first  claimed  the  land.     The  place  was  incorporated  in  1799. 

(I)  William  Alexander  settled  in  Carlisle,  Cumberland  county,  Penn- 
sylvania. In  1800  he  went  to  Sharon,  Beaver  county.  His  wife  was  Eliza- 
beth Davidson.  One  daughter  of  his  was  Esther,  who  married  Hamilton 
Stuart,  of  Lawrence  county.  Pennsylvania ;  another  daughter,  Margaret,  mar- 
ried Robert  Beacon,  of  Beaver. 

(II)  James  Alexander,  son  of  William  and  Elizabeth  (Davidson)  Alex- 
ander, was  born  in  Sharon,  Beaver  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1804.  James 
Alexander  was  the  first  white  child  born  in  that  section  of  the  country.  The 
log  cabin  in  which  he  was  born  was  the  second  one  erected  west  of  the  mouth 
of  Beaver  creek;  it  stood  near  the  mouth  of  Brady's  Run,  an  historical  spot 
in  the  annals  of  Pennsylvania.  He  came  to  Pittsburg  when  but  sixteen  years 
of  age,  and  was  with  Isaac  Harris,  a  publisher  of  directories,  etc.,  which 
industry  grows  in  value  and  interest  as  the  years  go  by.  He  married  Caroline 
Tuck  in  the  month  of  May,  1833,  in  the  parlors  of  the  old  hotel  that  stood 
where  the  Hotel  Anderson  now  stands.  Brazilla  Alexander,  of  Kentucky, 
was  present  at  the  wedding.  Caroline  Tuck  was  the  daughter  of  Hon.  Wil- 
liam Hallam  Tuck,  L^nited  States  senator  of  Maryland,  and  a  sister  of  the 
venerable  William  Hallam  Tuck  of  that  state.  Caroline  Tuck's  mother  was 
Cave  Alulliken,  and  the  latter  was  a  daughter  of  Richard  and  Mary  Williams. 
Four  of  the  Williams  brothers  were  soldiers  in  the  Revolutionary  war. 

James  Alexander  (II)  was  chosen  a  bookkeeper  for  the  Western  Peni- 
tentiary, which  position  he  ably  filled  for  more  than  thirty  years.  He  resigned 
to  become  cashier  in  the  Pittsburg  postoffice,  which  position  he  relinquished 
to  accompany  his  family  to  Alexandria,  Virginia.  Subsequently  he  was 
employed  in  the  navy  department  at  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  but 
finally  declined  further  appointments  to  public  positions.  In  Allegheny  City 
he  was  especially  known  in  Alethodist  Episcopal  church  circles.  He  held  the 
position  of  recording  steward  in  the  old  South  Commons  church  from  the  date 
of  its  organization  until  his  removal  to  Alexandria,  Virginia.     He  died  at  his 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


home  ill  that  city  in  October,  1880.  He  married  Miss  Caroline-  Tuck,  who 
died  in  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  in  December  1898,  aged  ninety- 
five  years.  His  surviving  children  were:  William  Davidson  Alexander,  of 
whom  further  mention  is  had;  Mrs.  Lydia  Gillis,  wife  of  Commander  H.  C. 
Gillis,  of  the  United  States  Navy,  now  retired  with  the  rank  of  rear  admiral ; 
Mrs.  Julia  Crump ;  James  Alexander,  of  the  navy  department ;  Carrie  T.,  a 
missionary  to  Japan,  who  later  married  Reverend  Theodore  McNair ;  Mary  of 
Washington  city,  wife  of  Captain  Sawyer,  now  of  Boston,  Massachusetts. 

(HI)  William  Davidson  Alexander,  son  of  James  Alexander  (H),  was 
born  April  24,  1834,  and  died  October  6,  1881.  He  obtained  his  education 
at  the  common  schools  and  at  the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania.  He 
read  law  and  studied  medicine,  but  never  practiced  either  profession,  and 
was  for  many  years  a  clerk  or  treasurer  of  the  Pittsburg  postoffice.  After- 
ward he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company  in  its 
transfer  department,  in  which  he  continued  until  his  death.  He  was  reared 
in  the  Methodist  faith  and  in  politics  was  a  Democrat.  He  married  Miss 
Annie  E.  Mitchell,  daughter  of  Laurent  C.  Mitchell,  September  2,  1857, 
and  they  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  i.  Caroline,  died  in 
infancy.  2.  Hallam  Dale,  of  whom  later.  3.  Grace  Caroline,  deceased  at  the 
age  of  thirteen  years,  in  May,  1878.  4.  Edith  Marie  Apouline,  at  home  in 
Grafton,  Pennsylvania.  5.  Annie  Michel  Veronica.  6.  'Blanche  Adelaide 
Robare  (the  last  three  named  were  educated  in  St.  Mary's  Academy  at  Alex- 
andria, Virginia,  under  the  Sisters  of  the  Holy  Cross).  Blanche  married 
George  Kerby,  of  Alexandria,  Virginia,  and  they  have  two  children :  Grace 
Elizabeth  Fielding,  born  in  Grafton,  baptized  in  St.  Philip's  church,  by  Rev- 
erend James  Keeney,  September,  1892;  Alexander  Spottswood,  baptized  in  the 
same  church,  by  Reverend  Regis  Canevin  (now  Bishop),  August,  1894.  7. 
William  Davidson,  of  whom  later.  8.  James  Henry,  at  home,  an  invalid  from 
a  street  car  accident.  The  last  named  was  educated  at  St.  John's  Military 
College,  Alexandria,  Virginia. 

The  mother  of  this  family,  Mrs.  Annie  E.  (Mitchell)  Alexander,  was 
born  February  18,  1838,  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  died  February  24, 
1906,  and  was  the  last  of  the  direct  line  of  one  of  the  oldest  Catholic  families 
in  Pennsylvania.  She  was  the  granddaughter  of  Ann  Margaretta  Ruffner, 
and  the  great-granddaughter  of  Simon  Ruffner,  Jr.  The  latter  named  had 
the  glory  of  giving  to  the  church  the  first  piece  of  property  west  of  the  Alle- 
gheny mountains.  It  was  donated  in  March,  1787,  to  Father  Carroll,  after- 
ward Bishop  of  Baltimore.  When  Father  Couse  and  Father  Bowers  took  up 
the  missionary  work  the  first  masses  were  celebrated  in  Christian  Rufifner's 
house,  the  latter  a  brother  of  Simon  Ruffner. 

Simon  Ruffner  came  from  Mayence,  Germany,  and  was  doubtless  the 
Pennsylvania  ancestor  of  the  family.  He  had  four  sons :  Simon,  George, 
Christian  and  Philip.  Simon  settled  in  the  valley  of  the  Virginias  and  was  a 
noted  hunter  and  pioneer  character.  Ruffner's  Cave,  in  the  beautiful  Shenan- 
doah valley,  was  named  for  him,  as  he  was  lost  in  the  cave  at  one  time  and 
rescued  in  a  half-starved  condition.  He  settled  in  Pennsylvania  between  1745 
and  1755,  about  the  time  Father  Farmer  had  charge  of  the  missions  in  the 
colonies.  He  had  a  son  named  Simon,  who,  about  1787,  with  his  brothers. 
Christian  and  George  Ruffner,  crossed  the  Alleghenies  and  settled  in  West- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


moreland  county,  Pennsylvania.  This  Simon  Ruffner  served  with  Washing- 
ton at  Valley  Forge. 

Mrs.  Annie  E.  (Alitchell)  Alexander's  grandfather,  John  Smythe,  brought 
the  Scotch  blood  into  the  family.  One  of  his  ancestors,  having  been  dispos- 
sessed of  his  estate  by  Cromwell,  learned  the  trade  of  a  blacksmith,  and  after 
the  battle  of  Culloden  shod  Prince  Charlie's  horse  with  the  shoes  backward 
and  thus  contributed  to  his  escape.  Mr.  Smythe  came  to  America  about 
1791,  and  was  very  particular  that  his  name  be  spelled  Smythe  and  not 
"Smith."  He  married  Anna  Margaretta,  daughter  of  Simon  Ruffner,  Jr., 
who  lived  to  a  good  old  age  and  died  in  the  odor  of  sanctity.  They  were 
both  true  Catholics  and  had  children:  i.  Mary,  who  became  the  wife  of  Law- 
rence Michel.  2.  Catherine,  who  married  Nathaniel  McCalley.  3.  John,  the 
only  son.     4.    Susanna,  who  married  James  Blakely. 

James  Blakely  came  from  England  in  1821,  settling  near  Pittsburg.  He 
came  from  Anglo-Danish  stock.  They  were  land  owners  in  Lancashire,  and 
while  not  Catholics,  were  still  loyal  to  the  Stuarts ;  they  lost  much  property 
and  life  in  the  wars  of  those  times.  James  became  a  Catholic  through  much 
reading  and  conviction  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years,  and  brought  his  chil- 
dren up  in  that  faith  and  to  be  loyal  to  their  own  country.  He  was  a  devoted 
friend  of  Bishop  O'Connor,  of  sainted  memory.  Together  they  started  the 
"Brotherhood  of  St.  Joseph,"  of  which  Mr.  Blakely  was  the  first  president, 
and  continued  until  his  removal  to  St.  Mary's,  where  he  died  June  19,  1882', 
and  is  buried  there.  The  date  of  his  birth  was  June  15,  1804.  His  wife, 
Susanna  Smythe,  was  born  September  15,  1804,  and  died  November  12,  1835. 
They  were  married  at  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  June  15,  1827,  each  being 
twenty-three  years  of  age. 

Mrs.  Annie  E.  (^Mitchell)  Alexander  was  educated  by  the  Sisters  of 
jMercy  at  St.  Xavier's  Academy,  Beatty,  Pennsylvania,  and  later  took  private 
instructions  at  home  in  both  music  and  languages,  she  being  very  apt  at  each 
of  these  branches.  She  was  an  excellent  conversationalist  and  spoke  several 
languages  correctly.  Even  to  the  last  years  of  her  life  she  kept  up  with  her 
music  and  devoted  much  time  to  writing.  She  possessed  much  literary  talent 
and  was  a  frequent  contributor  for  papers  and  high  class  magazines.  She, 
too,  was  a  devout  Catholic,  belonging  to  St.  Philip's,  at  Crafton.  Her  funeral 
was  the  first  held  in  the  new  edifice.  Although  on  account  of  her  illness  the 
last  years  of  her  life  she  was  not  permitted  to  attend  mass,  yet  she  took  much 
interest  in  the  work  of  the  church. 

(Ill)  Hallam  Dale  Alexander,  deceased,  son  of  William  D.  and  Annie 
E.  (]\Iitchell)  Alexander,  was  born  in  Allegheny  City,  Pennsylvania,  April 
21,  1859.  In  his  early  youth  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Union  Freight  line 
of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company  and  rose  from  one  station  to  another 
until  eighteen  years  of  age.  In  1877  he  enlisted  in  the  United  States  navy 
as  clerk  to  Rear  Admiral  (then  Captain)  James  H.  Gillis,  commanding  the 
United  States  steamer  "Franklin,"  and  served  until  April,  1879,  when  he 
was  appointed  clerk  to  the  paymaster,  James  A.  Ring,  with  whom  he  remained 
until  December,  1884,  serving  until  1881,  on  board  the  "Portsmouth"  in 
Alaskan  water,  and  later  on  the  "Enterprise"  on  the  North  Atlantic  and 
Asiatic  waters.  In  March,  1885,  he  was  appointed  to  the  United  States 
steamship  "Omaha,"  under  Paymaster  George  H.  Griffing,  and  upon  the 
.arrival  of  the  vessel  at  Hong  Kong,  China,  was  appointed  acting  paymaster 


A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


and  ordered  to  the  United  States  steamship  "Ossipee,"  serving  on  that  vessel 
until  August  6,  1886.  In  October  of  that  year  he  joined  the  United  States 
steamer  "Lancaster"  on  the  South  Atlantic  station.  In  November,  1887,  he 
returned  with  Paymaster  Thompson  on  the  "Trenton,"  which  vessel  had  car- 
ried out  a  new  detail  of  officers  and  men  for  the  "Lancaster,"  and  bringing 
home  those  whose  time  had  expired.  Upon  their  arrival  in  the  New  York 
harbor,  Mr.  Alexander  was  advised  to  take  a  cruise  on  the  "Trenton,"  the 
boat  so  well  known  in  naval  history  as  being  one  of  the  United  States  boats 
which  met  their  awful  fate  in  1889.  He  sailed  on  the  "Trenton"  for  the 
Pacific  station,  in  January,  1888,  and  it  proved  to  be  his  last  voyage.  He  was 
stricken  with  yellow  fever  in  mid-ocean,  while  doing  his  duty  in  caring  for 
one  of  the  fellow-crew.  He  had  been  on  the  flagship  with  Captain  Farquhar 
and  Admiral  Kimberley.  He  received  two  appointments  in  the  pay  corps, 
both  under  Rear  Admiral  John  Lee  Davis,  who  held  him  in  high  esteeni. 
Ability,  promptness  and  faithfulness  in  his  every  known  duty  marked  his 
noble  career,  as  was  attested  by  every  officer,  including  his  superiors  in  rank. 
In  the  language  of  one  of  his  superiors.  "Socially,  he  was  a  gentleman  of  the 
rarest  type  of  manhood ;  his  soul  was  keyed  to  a  commendable  high  sense  of 
honor."'  In  his  home  life  he  shone  in  the  brightest  coloring.  No  mother  ever 
claimed  a  nobler  son ;  no  brother  could  be  truer  and  more  thoughtful  for  the 
care  and  comfort  of  his  brothers  and  sisters. 

He  died  at  8:15  p.  m.,  January  15,  1889,  and  was  buried  that  night  at 
midnight  in  the  waters  of  the  Pacific  ocean.  Under  the  burning  sun  of  the 
torrid  zone,  off  the  coast  of  Panama,  far  from  loving  hands  of  a  tender 
mother,  in  whom  he  seemed  wrapped  up,  with  a  grave  marked  only  by  the 
chart  of  the  ocean,  in  latitude  3'  25"  north,  and  longitude  82'  10"  west,  rests 
his  mortal  remains. 

(Ill)  William  Davidson  Alexander,  son  of  William  D.  and  Annie  E. 
(Mitchell)  Alexander,  was  born  in  Pittsburg  and  educated  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  place,  after  which  he  entered  the  offices  of  the  Penn- 
sylvania Railroad  Company,  and  there  remained  until  about  1893,  when  he 
received  the  appointment  of  assistant  paymaster  in  the  United  States  navy, 
first  going  to  South  American  stations.  He  was  through  the  Spanish-Ameri- 
can war,  and  after  that  ended  was  sent  to  Manila.  On  account  of  his  ill 
health  he  came  back  to  the  hospital  at  San  Francisco,  after  which  he  resigned 
his  place  in  the  navy.  Subsequently  he  was  made  superintendent  of  the 
Pennsylvania  Malleable  Iron  W^orks  at  Pittsburg,  but  is  at  present  residing 
in  Buffalo,  New  York,  where  he  is  the  metallurgist  for  the  Pratt-Lechty  Steel 
Company.  He  was  united  in  marriage  to  Clara  Quadling,  daughter  of  an 
English  navy  officer.  They  have  two  children:  i.  Helen  Elizabeth,  born 
in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  baptized  by  Reverend  Father  Coyne.  2. 
Lucille  Blanche,  born  in  Crafton,  Pennsylvania,  baptized  by  Reverend  Wil- 
liam Kelty. 


PROFESSOR  SAMUEL  ANDREWS,  superintendent  of  the  Pittsburg 
public  schools,  was  born  in  Robinson  township,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, May  25,  1847,  the  fourth  son  of  William  and  Margaret  (Phillips) 
Andrews.  The  father,  William  Andrews,  whose  father  was  Joseph  Andrews, 
was  born  in  Antrim  county,  Ireland,  in  1806,  and  emigrated  to  America  in  1822. 


^^x^^^:^^-;^^-^^^    ^^^^i^-^^t:^^^^-^^^-^-^/ 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  103 

He  and  his  brother  James  were  among  the  earHest  firms  to  engage  in  the  con- 
struction of  railroads  in  Pennsylvania,  their  principal  contract  being  the  grading 
of  the  Pennsylvania  Central  line  from  Philadelphia  to  Pittsburg.  During  the 
latter  years  of  his  life  he  resided  upon  his  farm  in  Robinson  township,  which  is 
now  owned  by  his  son  Samuel.  The  father  died  on  this  farm  in  1890.  He 
married  Margaret,  daughter  of  James  and  Hannah  Phillips,  of  Robinson  town- 
ship, Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania.  The  latter  was  born  in  the  south  of 
Scotland  or  north  of  Wales,  and  died  at  the  age  of  ninety-eight  years.  Their 
seven  children  were  as  follows :  Hannah,  Helen  and  Mary,  who  died  in  their 
childhood;  Mark,  James  Phillips,  Joseph  Phillips  and  Samuel,  the  subject  of 
this  notice.  Mark  Andrews,  the  eldest  son  in  the  family,  spent  his  entire  life 
on  the  old  homestead  farm  which  belonged  to  his  father,  and  there  he  died  in 
1901. 

James  Phillips,  the  second  son,  was  educated  in  Easton,  Pennsylvania,  and 
followed  teaching  for  a  number  of  years ;  he  became  associated  in  business  at 
Mauch  Chunk,  Pennsylvania,  with  Asa  Packer,  formerly  the  governor  of 
Pennsylvania,  but  at  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  he  became  a  member  of  the 
Forty-ninth  Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  died  from  the  effects  of 
wounds  received  at  the  battle  of  the  Wilderness. 

Joseph  Phillips  Andrews,  third  son  of  William  and  Margaret  (Phillips) 
Andrews,  received  his  education  in  Curry  Institute  of  Pittsburg,  and  was  a 
teacher  in  the  public  schools  in  Moon  township  and  in  what  is  now  the  Four- 
teenth ward,  Pittsburg,  for  twenty-one  years.  He  resigned  this  position  to 
become  superintendent  of  highways  and  sewers  in  Pittsburg,  where  he  died  in 
1893. 

Samuel  Andrews,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  the  youngest  son  in  his 
father's  family,  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  his  native  township  until  thirteen 
years  of  age,  when  he  entered  Curry  University,  then  under  the  supervision  of 
the  late  Robert  Curry.  After  graduating  from  this  institution  he  taught  school 
in  Robinson  township  until  1868,  when  he  was  called  to  the  principalship  of  the 
schools  of  Chartiers  township,  now  the  Thirty-ninth  ward  of  Pittsburg.  He 
held  that  position  until  1872,  when  he  took  charge  of  the  Thaddeus  Stevens 
school  in  Pittsburg,  remaining  there  for  fifteen  years,  when  he  became  the 
principal  of  the  Howard  schools,  where  he  remained  until  elected  to  his  present 
position  of  superintendent  of  the  Pittsburg  schools  in  1899. 

Politicallv  Professor  Andrews  is  a  Republican,  and  in  his  church  relations 
is  a  consistent  member  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church.  He  is  prominent 
in  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  numerous  other  societies.  He  now  resides  in  the 
Twentieth  ward  in  Pittsburg,  but  represented  the  Thirty-sixth  ward  in  both 
branches  of  the  council  for  over  a  period  of  fifteen  years.  As  an  advanced 
educator  he  ranks  high  among  the  instructors  of  the  state. 

He  was  united  in  marriage  in  1870  to  Anna  Mary,  daughter  of  James  and 
Elizabeth  (McCurdy)  Bell,  of  Robinson  township.  The  issue  by  this  union  was 
Frank  Leo  Andrews,  who  married  Jennie,  daughter  of  Reuben  and  Katharine 
(Obey)  Reese,  of  Chartiers  township,  and  by  this  union  is  :  ( i )  Samuel  Reese 
Andrews,  (2)   Katharine  Obey  Andrews,  and  (3)  Jean  Reese  Andrews. 


•   JOSEPH  ALBERT  HAYS,  one  of  the  competent  clerks  at  the  offices 
of  the  Union  Switch  and  Signal  Corporation,  was  born  October  19,  1870,  in 


104  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

Allegheny  City,  Pennsylvania.  He  attended  the  Fourth  ward  public  schools, 
and  later  the  Curry  University.  He  usually  votes  with  the  Republican  party, 
except  in  borough  matters,  when  he  takes  an  independent  stand,  voting  for 
the  candidate  he  thinks  is  best  suited  to  fill  the  office.  In  church  membership 
he  is  identified  with  the  Baptist  denomination  at  Wilkinsburg.  He  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Blue  Lodge,  Masonic  order,  and  seeks  to  do  his  share  in  the  various 
societies  to  which  he  belongs. 

Mr.  Hays  was  united  in  marriage  February  27,  1898,  to  Miss  Jennie 
Estella.  daughter  of  George  and  Hannah  (Sherwin)  Van  Horn,  of  Braddock, 
Pennsylvania.  Two  children  bless  their  home:  i.  Margaret  Blanch,  born 
Ma>  27,  1902.    2.  Miriam  Estella,  born  May  23,  1904. 

JOHN  R.  HAYS,  treasurer  of  the  Potter  Title  &  Trust  Company  of 
Pittsburg,  was  born  June  23,  1875,  at  Allegheny  City,  a  son  of  John  and 
Miriam  (Wilkins)  Hays.  John  Hays,  the  father,  was  born  in  Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania,  in  January,  1827,  and  accompanied  his  parents  from  county 
Antrim,  Ireland,  when  but  a  small  boy.  The  family  settled  in  Allegheny  City, 
Pennsylvania,  where  young  Hays  was  reared  and  educated  in  the  schools 
common  to  that  period.  While  still  a  youth  he  learned  the  tobacco  manu- 
facturing trade  and  subsequently  established  himself  in  that  business  in  his 
home  city,  where  he  became  a  successful  tobacco  merchant.  He  built  up  an 
extensive  wholesale  trade  in  tobacco  and  kindred  goods  and  also  conducted 
a  retail  business  as  well.  In  his  political  choice  he  was  a  Republican,  while  in 
his  religious  faith  he  was  of  the  Universalist  belief.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Hays 
were  the  parents  of  the  following  children : 

I.  Mary  Ida,  born  August  5,  1859,  died  in  childhood.  2.  Jane,  born 
November  i,  1861,  married  Joseph  Herron  and  now  resides  in  Montana; 
she  has  had  three  children — Earl,  Miriam  and  John.  3.  James  Grant,  born 
January  11,  1864,  now  an  attorney,  married  Charlotte  Gallagher,  and  they  have 
children— Blanche  G.  and  James,  Jr.  4.  Edmund  Wilkins,  born  July  13, 
1866.  5.  IMiriam  Emily,  born  August  4,  1868,  married  William  Scott,  and 
to  them  have  been  born  daughters — Clara  and  Mary.  6.  Joseph  Albert, 
born  October  19,  1870,  married  Jennie  Van  Home,  and  their  children  are — 
Margaret  and  Miram.  7.  Clara  Bell,  born  August  31,  1872,  married  Frank 
Hartley,  and  their  children  are :  Collin  H.,  Clara  Esther  and  Grace.  8.  John 
R.,  subject.     9.     George  William,  born  July  25,  1878. 

John  R.  Hays,  of  this  notice,  the  eighth  child  in  his  parents'  family,  was 
reared  and  educated  in  Allegheny  City.  After  leaving  the  schoolroom  he 
first  found  employment  at  the  Homestead  Steel  Works,  but  later  went  to 
Montana,  where  he  spent  about  two  years  on  his  sister's  ranch.  He  then 
returned  to  his  native  county  and  entered  the  employ  of  the  Potter  Title  & 
Trust  Company,  in  which  he  now  holds  the  responsible  position  of  manager. 


LEWIS  FUNDIS,  one  of  the  pioneer  merchants  of  the  East  End  district 
of  Pittsburg,  is  another  of  the  Gennan  emigrants  who  has  executed  well  the 
part  of  a  good  citizen  and  successful  business  man  since  his  coming  to  our 
shores  to  build  for  him  a  home,  surrounded  with  prosperity  and  plenty. 

Lewis  Fundis  was  born  January  14,  1832,  at  Baden,  Germany,  and  came 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  105 

to  this  country  in  1848,  landing  at  New  Orleans,  and  from  there  came  direct 
to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  his  first  employment  >vas  as  an  errand  boy 
for  Major  Davis,  with  whom  he  remained  for  four  years  at  the  small  wage's 
of  two  dollars  a  month,  finding  his  own  clothing.  Though  well  grounded  in 
his  studies  before  coming  to  America,  he  found  time  while  in  Major  Davis' 
employ  to  gain  further  knowledge  by  attending  the  public  schools  during  the 
winter  seasons.  He  next  found  employment  with  Luke  P.  Davison,  who  then 
conducted  a  general  store  at  East  Liberty,  where  the  Liberty  National  Bank 
now  stands.  The  business  was,  however,  soon  removed  to  the  corner  of 
Penn  and  Frankstown  avenue,  and  here  Mr.  Fundis  received  his  first  lessons 
in  the  mercantile  business.  He  was  employed  in  that  business  for  five  years, 
the  last  year  acting  as  manager.  In  1857  he  returned  to  Germany  to  visit 
his  parents.  His  father,  who  did  all  in  his  power  to  aid  his  children,  gave 
him  and  another  brother  and  a  sister  then  living  in  this  country  the  sum 
of  three  htmdred  dollars,  with  which  they  united  their  energy  and  started 
in  the  general  mercantile  business  in  a  small  way.  Notwithstanding  they  had 
for  their  competitors  three  large  general  stores  at  East  Liberty,  they  were  in  no 
sense  discouraged,  but  continued  by  hard  and  able  management  to  build  up 
their  business  to  one  of  good  proportions.  From  this  small  beginning  they 
forged  their  way  to  the  front  and  gained  the  confidence  and  credit  of  the 
community,  who  saw  the  young  Germans  were  possessed  of  the  true  spirit  of 
business  enterprise,  and  soon  they  were  placed  on  a  good  financial  footing 
with  others  at  East  Liberty.  This  business  they  carried  on  for  seventeen 
years  and  in  1871  his  energy  and  good  management  placed  him  where  he 
could  retire  from  active  business  relations,  which,  owing  to  ill  health,  he 
decided  to  do.  But  after  four  years,  and  when  his  son,  John  L.  Fundis,  had 
completed  his  education,  Mr.  Fundis  concluded  to  re-engage  in  business, 
taking  his  son  in  with  him.  They  opened  a  gentlemen's  furnishing  store, 
which  was  successfully  carried  on  for  thirty  years.  In  1906  they  retired  from 
active  business  on  accoimt  of  old  age  and  ill  health,  since  which  time  Mr. 
Fundis  has  led  a  life  of  leisure. 

In  politics  Mr.  Fundis  is  an  independent  voter,  seeking  to  ever  support 
the  most  suitable  man.  In  his  religious  faith  he  is  connected  with  the  Pres- 
byterian church. 

Lewis  Fundis,  his  father,  was  a  prosperous  farmer  and  by  trade  a  black- 
smith at  Baden,  Germany;  he  was  the  son  of  John  and  Elizabeth  Fundis. 
Lewis  Fundis,  Sr.,  married  Sophia  Maiers,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  the 
following  children:  John,  Lewis  (subject),  Frederick,  deceased;  Daniel, 
deceased ;  Katharina,  deceased ;  Jacobina,  deceased ;  Fredericka,  married 
Christopher  Strahley ;  and  Annie,  married  Frank  Hartman. 

Lewis  Fundi?,  of  this  notice,  married,  first,  Katharine,  daughter  of  John 
Stark,  of  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  born  1840  and  died  in  1868. 
In  1869  he  married  his  first  wife's  sister,  Annie  EHzabeth  Stark,  who  died  in 
1905.  By  his  first  marriage  he  had  four  children — John,  Annie,  Katharine  and 
Rebecca  Sophia.  Annie  married  Frank  Hartman,  who  have  one  son,  William. 
John  married  Ida  Caldwell,  and  they  have  one  son,  John  Louis.  Katharine 
married  George  P.  Wilkinson,  and  Rebecca  Sophia  married  A.  L.  Watson, 
and  they  have  two  children — Helen  and  June. 

By  Mr.  Fundis'  second  wife  two  daughters  were  born— Emma  Jane,  who 
married  R.  M.  Richards,  and  Ida,  who  died  young. 


io6  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


JAMES  SCOTT,  general  superintendent  of  the  Lucy  and  Isabella  fur- 
naces of  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company,  Pittsburg,  is  an  example  of  the  rise  of 
a  practical  man  fitted  by  early  environment  and  education  to  the  industry 
with  which  he  is  associated.  For  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century  he  has 
been  connected  with  the  famous  furnaces,  of  which  he  has  been  the  general 
superintendent,  and  as  such  is  regarded  as  an  expert  and  a  very  valuable  man 
in  one  of  the  leading  industries  of  the  city. 

Mr.  Scott  was  born  near  Edinburgh,  Scotland,  at  Dalkeith,  in  1850,  son 
of  James  Murray  and  Jessie  (Brown)  Scott.  On  his  maternal  side  he  comes 
of  most  distinguished  ancestors.  His  grandmother,  Margaret  Murray,  was 
the  only  daughter  of  James  Murray  and  Elizabeth  Stevenson.  James  Murray 
was  born  in  the  parish  of  Newbattle,  in  the  county  of  Midlothian,  Scotland,  in 
1738,  and  died  December,  1822.  He  was  the  son  of  James  Murray  and 
Marion  Rice  or  Ryce.  This  James  Murray  was  the  second  son  of  the  Duke 
of  Athol.  In  the  Rebellion  of  1745  he  joined  the  Athol  clan,  under  Murray 
of  Tullicharden,  and  followed  the  fortunes  of  Charles  Stuart  until  the  field  of 
Culloden,  when  with  others  he  fled  and  found  refuge  in  France. 

James  Scott,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  came  from  his  native  land  in 
1873.  His  apprenticeship  was  served  under  his  father  at  the  blacksmith's 
forge  and  later  as  a  machinist  at  the  Paragon  Works  at  Dundas  at  South 
Queens  Ferry.  Upon  his  arrival  in  this  country  he  secured  employment  in 
New  York  as  a  machinist  for  the  first  year  and  from  there  went  to  Ohio, 
where  he  was  employed  by  the  Port  Washington  Iron  &  Coal  Company. 
Two  years  later,  1877,  he  was  employed  at  the  Lucy  Furnaces  at  Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania,  first  as  chief  engineer.  In  1886  he  was  promoted  to  assistant 
superintendent  and  in  1888  was  made  its  general  superintendent,  which  position 
he  still  holds.  Politically  Mr.  Scott  votes  the  Republican  ticket  and  in  his 
church  faith  is  a  Presbyterian. 

In  1876  he  married  Miss  Helen  E.  Johnston,  of  Sterling,  Scotland.  She 
is  the  daughter  of  Captain  George  Johnston  and  wife,  and  was  born  in  India  in 
1854.  The  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Scott  are  as  follows:  Jessie  B., 
married  to  Dr.  Alric  Garland ;  Fannie  Maxwell,  married  to  Dr.  Mller,  one 
daughter ;  James  Murray,  deceased ;  Margaret  Murray ;  Helen  E.,  married  to 
Mr.  Frederick  Fairbanks ;  Elizabeth  B. ;  and  George  J. 


WILLIAM  JEFFERY  SPAHR,  one  of  the  leading  grocers  of  East 
Liberty,  a  part  of  "Greater  Pittsburg,"  is  a  native  of  the  Twentieth  ward  of 
this  city,  born  October  24,  1858,  son  of  Lemuel  and  Elizabeth  (Alexander) 
Spahr.  The  Spahrs  are  from  old  Revolutionary  stock,  the  subject's  great- 
grandfather having  been  a  soldier  in  that  struggle  for  our  national  indepen- 
dence. The  grandfather,  Peter  Spahr,  was  born  at  Carlisle,  Pennsylvania, 
early  in  the  nineteenth  century,  and  moved  from  Carlisle  to  East  Liberty  in 
April,  1826.  He  married  Mary  Elizabeth  Longsdorf,  and  their  children  were 
as  follows :  i .  Jesse,  who  married  twice  and  reared  a  family ;  two  of  his 
children,  Edward  and  Dr.  Clarence  Spahr,  of  Bridgeville,  Pennsylvania,  still 
survive.  2.  Joseph.  3.  Lemuel,  of  whom  more  later.  4.  Ephraim,  mar- 
ried Mary  Woods,  and  their  children  are  Joseph  H.  H.  and  John  B.  McFadden. 
5.     Mary  Elizabeth,  married  Jacob  Doolittle,  of  Carnegie ;  they  have  one  child. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  107 


Jacob  Miller  Doolittle,  born  February  26,  1866.  6.  Anna,  married  a  Mr. 
Scott,  of  Washington,  D.  C. 

Lemuel  Spahr,  the  father,  was  born  March  17,  1823,  on  Ferry  street, 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  He  learned  the  tanner's  trade  and  followed  it  several 
years  on  Penn  avenue,  East  Liberty.  He  sold  the  tannery  business  and 
returned  to  the  old  homestead  on  Ellsworth  avenue,  between  Highland  and 
College  avenues,  which  consisted  of  about  twenty-one  acres.  Here  he  engaged 
in  truck-gardening,  continuing  in  the  same  for  twenty-one  years.  He  married 
Miss  Elizabeth  Alexander,  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Agnes  (Fife)  Alexander, 
of  Bridgeville,  Pennsylvania.  They  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children : 
I.  Amelia  A.,  unmarried.  2.  Elmira,  unmarried.  3.  A.  Josephine,  who 
married  Albert  H.  Ritscher,  and  they  have  children:  Ethel  Spahr,  William 
J.  S.,  Elizabeth  W.,  Albert  Hutter  and  Robert  Coleman.     4.     William  Jeffery. 

William  Jeffery  Spahr  was  educated  at  the  common  and  high  schools  of 
Pittsburg  and  graduated  from  the  commercial  department  of  the  last  named 
school  in  1877.  Having  thus  well  equipped  himself  for  the  duties  of  a 
business  man  he  at  first  worked  in  a  coal  yard,  after  which  he  found  better 
employment  in  a  grocery  store  at  No.  6225  Penn  avenue.  After  being 
employed  there  two  months,  in  the  Dennison  grocery,  he,  in  company  with 
Thomas  E.  Milliken,  March  8,  1880,  bought  out  the  business,  which  they 
conducted  successfully  for  six  years.  At  that  date  Mr.  Spahr  took  the  entire 
business  himself  and  continued  to  operate  it  for  eleven  years  longer.  In 
1897  he  moved  to  more  commodious  quarters  at  No.  61 17  Penn  avenue,  where 
he  now  has  one  of,  if  not  the  largest  grocery  store  in  East  Liberty.  He  is  also 
interested  in  the  firm  of  Spahr  &  Ritscher,  of  which  he  is  a  partner.  The  last 
mentioned  business  is  with  his  brother-in-law,  Albert  H.  Ritscher,  and  was 
organized  in  1893.  Mr.  Spahr  has  been  largely  interested  in  other  affairs  of 
the  city,  being  at  one  time  a  director  in  the  East  End  Savings  &  Trust  Com- 
pany, director  of  the  Board  of  Trade,  and  connected  with  the  Lincoln  Avenue 
Building  &  Loan  Association.  Politically,  Mr.  Spahr  is  an  independent  voter, 
and  in  religious  faith  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church. 

He  was  married,  January  2y,  1887,  to  Miss  Martha  R.  Wattles,  daughter 
of  W.  Warren  and  Martha  Washington  Wattles. 


JAMES  CLARENCE  ADAMS.  The  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
well  known  D.  J.  Kennedy  Coal  Company,  James  C.  Adams,  was  born 
November  25,  1871,  at  Worthington,  Armstrong  county,  Pennsylvania,  son  of 
Joseph  Shields  and  Mary  Emily  (Blaine)  Adams.  The  father  was  born 
March  15,  1840,  on  his  father's  farm  in  Richland  township,  Venango  county, 
Pennsylvania.  The  subject's  grandfather,  William  Adams,  was  born  about 
1802,  and  his  wife,  Mary  Shields,  was  born  in  1805.  William  Adams,  with 
his  brother  James,  came  from  Kishacoquillas.  in  Eastern  Pennsylvania, 
and  settled  in  Armstrong  county,  Pennsylvania.  William,  however, 
remained  there  but  a  short  time  and  then  went  to  Venango  county,  where 
he  engaged  in  farm  pursuits.  His  brothers  and  sisters  were:  i.  James, 
before  mentioned.  2.  John,  removed  to  Indiana.  3.  Samuel,  married  a 
Nesbit.  4.  Nancy,  married  William  Donaldson.  5.  Rachel,  married 
David  Joy. 

The  issue  of  William  and  Mary  (Shields)  Adams  was:     i.     Margaret, 


io8  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


who  married  William  Patton,  and  they  had — Mary  Katharine,  who  mar- 
ried Elliott  Robb.  2.  Sarah  Ann,  married  Charles  McClatchey,  and  their 
children  were:  Mary  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Hiram  Bricker ;  Emma,  wife  of 
Levi  Wilson ;  Albert,  Olive,  deceased ;  Rose,  unmarried.  3.  Nancy, 
married  Edward  Blaine,  and  their  children  were :  Oda,  William,  Shields 
and  Walter.  4.  Rachel,  married  William  Hamilton  Noble,  and  their 
children  were :  Ella,  Rose,  Myrtle,  Jennie,  Nancy  and  Robert  Shields. 
5  and  6.  Elizabeth  and  Mary,  died  young.  7.  Joseph  Shields,  who  is  the 
subject's  father.  8.  James  F.,  married  Miriam  Robinson,  and  their  children 
are :     Lula,  Carrie,  Edward,  Laura,  Howard  and  Emma. 

Joseph  Shields  Adams,  the  seventh  child  of  William  and  Mary  (Shields) 
Adams,  made  farming  his  life  occupation.  Politically,  he  is  a  Republican. 
In  his  religion  he  is  of  the  Presbyterian  faith.  He  married  Mary  Emily, 
daughter  of  James  and  Mai'garet  (Morrison)  Blaine.  Her  father,  James, 
was  the  son  of  James  and  Deborah  (Baird)  Blaine.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph 
Shields  Adams  are  the  parents  of :  i.  William  Edward,  single.  2.  James 
Clarence,  subject.  3.  Frank  Burton,  single.  4.  Walter  Howard,  married 
Janett  Ferguson,  and  their  issue  is  one  daughter,  Marion  Blaine.  5.  Albert 
Leslie.     6.     John  Milton. 

James  Clarence  Adams,  son  of  Joseph  Shields  Adams  and  wife,  was 
educated  in  Armstrong  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  has  eng-aged  in  the  coal 
business  continuously  since  starting  out  in  life.  Politically  he  votes  the 
Republican  ticket  and  in  religious  faith  is  a  Presbyterian. 

He  married,  in  1898,  May,  daughter  of  Professor  L.  P.  Greves,  of 
Pittsburg,  and  by  this  union  two  children  were  born:  i.  Gertrude  Dale, 
born  in  1899.    2.     Russell  Blaine,  born  in  1903. 


NATHAN  FLEMING  HART,  one  of  the  prominent  iron  men  of  the 
Pittsburg  district  in  his  lifetime,  was  born  in  Uniontown,  Fayette  county, 
Pennsylvania,  January  8,  1814,  and  died  April  7,  1883.  He  came  to  Pitts- 
burg in  1833,  his  father  removing  from  Uniontown  that  year. 

Nathan  F.  Hart  entered  the  firm  of  Pennock,  A'litc'hell  &  Company 
in  1842;  in  1847  he,  with  the  late  Joseph  Pennock,  formed  a  partnership 
under  the  firm  name  of  Pennock  &  Hart ;  later  Samuel  L.  Pennock  came 
into  the  firm,  the  name  being  changed  to  Pennock,  Hart  &  Company, 
located  at  what  is  now  Twenty-fourth  and  Railroad  streets,  where  they 
carried  on  a  general  foundry  business.  In  1859  Mr.  Hart  became  the  silent 
partner  in  Mackintosh,  Hemphill  &  Company,  lending  them  his  financial 
aid.  In  1862  the  firm  of  Pennock,  Hart  &  Company  was  dissolved,  and 
after  this  he  devoted  his  time  to  the  interests  of  Mackintosh,  Hemphill  & 
Company,  retiring  from  active  business  in   1878. 

He  was  a  devout  Christian  gentleman,  charitable  and  patient  in  all  of 
his  dealings  with  men,  and,  was  not  ready  to  believe  ill  of  his  fellow-kind. 
He  was  a  member  of  the  Cumberland  Presbyterian  church,  and  at  one  time 
taught  in  its  Sabbath-school.  He  was  the  son  of  Joshua  and  Rachel 
(Fleming)  Hart,  and  had  one  brother  and  three  sisters,  who  were: 
Miranda,  died  unmarried;  Martha,  married  Dr.  W.  S.  Mackintosh:  Wil- 
liam K.,  married  a  daughter  of  Dr.  George  McCook:  and  Elizabeth  B., 
wife  of  Henry  Hays. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  109 

Nathan  F.  Hart  married,  September  30,  1852,  Sarah  Walter  Pcnnock, 
of  the  old  and  well  known  Pennock  family  of  Chester  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania. By  this  union  one  son  was  born,  Pennock  Hart,  treasurer  of  the 
old  firm  of  Mackintosh,  Hemphill  &  Company,  who  survives  his  father, 
and  is  now  residing  with  his  mother  on  Highland  avenue,  East  End, 
Pittsburg. 

iSIrs.  Sarah  Walter  (Pennock)  Hart  was  born  July  19,  1829,  a  daughter 
of  Joel  and  Phebe  (Walters)  Pennock.  Phebe  Walte'rs  was  born  August  8, 
1807,  and  she  married  Mr.  Pennock  in  the  old  London  Grove  Ivfeeting 
House,  Chester  county,  Pennsylvania,  October  15,  1828.  Joel  Pennock, 
father  of  Mrs.  Hart,  was  born  January  i,  1801,  and  came  from  old  Quaker 
stock.  He  was  engaged  in  the  iron  business  many  years  near  Coatesville, 
Pennsylvania  (Laurel  Iron  Works)  ;  also  at  the  Chester  Furnace,  Hunt- 
ingdon county,  Pennsylvania.  He  died  in  1875,  leaving  two  children: 
Sarah,  who  married  Nathan  Hart,  and  Samuel,  born  June  19,  1834,  who 
married  Annie  Hampton,  daughter  of  Judge  Moses  Hampton.  Joel  Pen- 
nock was  the  son  of  Samuel  and  Elizabeth  Underbill,  nee  Johnston  Pen- 
nock.    Samuel  was  born  April  4,  1763,  and  Elizabeth,  February  2,  1763. 

The  American  ancestor  of  the  Pennocks  was  Christopher  Pennock, 
a  native  of  Ireland,  who  settled  in  the  vicinity  of  Primative  Hall,  near 
Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  in  1685;  married  Mary  Collett,  daughter  of 
George  Collett,  oi  Ireland;  he  died  in  Philadelphia,  1701.  He  was  an  officer 
in  the  service  of  King  William  of  Orange,  and  was  at  the  battle  of  the 
Boyne,  1690.  He  had  a  son  Joseph,  who  was  born  in  Ireland,  1677,  and 
was  eight  years  of  age  when  his  people  emigrated  to  America.  Lie  moved 
to  Chester  county,  Pennsylvania,  married  Mary  Lewis,  and  from  them  the 
present  Pennocks  of  this  part  of  the  country  descended. 


SAMUEL  GALEY  was  the  second  child  of  Robert  Galey  and  Margaret 
Rodgers,  who  were  among  the  first  settlers  of  Clarion  county,  Pennsylvania. 
He  was  born  on  August  23,  1852,  in  the  old  log  house  at  Red  Bank  on  the 
Allegheny  river,  seventy-five  miles  above  Pittsburg.  He  was  named  for  his 
grandfather,  Samuel  Rodgers,  who  was  a  member  of  the  Irish  Cavalry.  In 
1865  the  family  moved  to  a  larger  and  better,  farm  located  near  the  Clarion 
creek  and  back  of  Perrysville,  Pennsylvania.  The  farm  was  secured  by  the 
foreclosure  of  a  mortgage. 

There  were  ten  children  in  the  family,  three  of  them,  John,  Tom  and 
Robert  were  step-brothers.  The  other  children  were  William,  James,  Rachel, 
David,  Daniel  and  Laura.  They  each  received  the  best  education  the  com- 
munity afiforded.  while  attending  to  the  numerous  duties  of  the  farm.  The 
clothes  were  made  by  the  mother  of  rough  homespun,  the  flax  for  which  she 
raised  in  her  garden,  and  the  shoes,  which  were  only  used  on  special  occasions, 
were  the  handiwork  qf  the  father. 

Shortly  after  the  family  had  settled  on  this  farm  the  first  great  oil  excite- 
ment came.  Business  men  of  Pittsburg  sent  out  their  agents  or  came  in 
person  to  lease  the  lands  of  the  farmers.  Robert  Galey,  who  had  become 
prosperous  from  the  products  of  his  farm,  drilled  several  wells  on  his  property 
along  the  Clarion  creek,  and  they  proved  to  be  good  producers.  The  drilling 
operations  were  kept  as  secret  as  possible.     One  well  in  particular,  known  as 


xio  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


the  Mellon  well,  is  still  pumping.  Another,  known  as  the  Dexter,  is  still 
pumped  once  a  week  by  horse  power  and  produces  several  barrels  of  fine 
quality  of  oil.  It  is  an  interesting  old  relic,  with  its  squatty  derrick  almost 
overgrown  with  weeds  and  trees.  Good  coal  was  discovered  on  the  farm  and 
the  mining  of  this,  together  with  the  care  of  the  wells  and  the  farm  duties, 
kept  the  whole  family  very  busy,  the  boys  working  night  shift  on  the  wells. 
The  Standard  did  not  exist  then  with  its  pipe  lines,  and  the  oil,  which  at  first 
sold  from  ten  to  sixteen  dollars  a  barrel,  was  shipped  down  the  river  to  the 
refineries  in  Pittsburg  on  a  flatboat.  The  high  prices  for  oil  soon  fell  as  the 
number  of  wells  increased  throughout  the  country. 

About  1875  Samuel  came  to  Pittsburg  to  receive  a  better  education. 
He  made  his  home  with  Judge  Mellon,  on  Negley's  lane,  now  known  as  Negley 
avenue,  in  the  East  End,  and  attended  the  old  public  school  on  Margaretta  and 
Beatty  streets  for  several  years.  He  was  of  a  powerful  build  and  delighted  to 
wrestle.  Next  door  lived  Thomas  A.  Mellon,  the  oldest  son  of  the  Judge. 
Here  he  ijiet  Mary  E.  Drake,  who  was  visiting  her  cousin,  Mrs.  Mellon,  while 
attending  the  school  on  Margaretta  street.  She  was  three  years  his  junior 
and  their  acquaintance  ripened  into  marriage  in  June,  1880,  the  ceremony 
being  performed  in  the  home  where  she  was  visiting. 

About  this  time  there  came  a  report  that  oil  had  been  struck  at  Bradford, 
Pennsylvania.  There  was  a  great  rush  to  the  new  field,  and  Samuel  Galey 
started  thence  with  his  wife.  He  had  saved  several  thousand  dollars  and  bor- 
rowed some  more  from  his  father.  He  and  his  three  brothers  were  among  the 
first  in  the  new  field.  He  secured  some  timber  land  in  a  wild  valley  at  a  little 
place  later  known  as  Haymaker  and  about  ten  miles  from  Olean,  New  York. 
.  Here  he  built  three  little  houses,  in  one  of  which  he  started  housekeeping. 
He  drilled  several  wells  in  the  vicinity  in  partnership  with  his  brothers,  one 
almost  at  his  front  door,  and  they  all  produced  richly.  With  the  profits  thus 
made  more  v/ells  were  drilled  until  seventy-five  or  more  wells  were  producing. 
He  lived  in  this  place  about  three  years  and  had  one  son,  Thomas.  There 
were  many  fortunes  made  in  this  strike,  but  many  lost  it  through  gambling  and 
other  causes.  With  the  business  start  secured  here  he  extended  his  operations 
into  the  Beaver  county  fields,  moving  his  home  to  the  town  of  Beaver  Falls, 
Pennsylvania.  Here  a  son  Frank  was  born.  After  a  year  here  he  again 
moved  to  Negley  avenue,  in  Pittsburg,  and  built  a  house  just  opposite  to  the 
one  in  which  he  had  met  his  wife. 

His  operations  in  the  oil  business  extended  into  the  opening  and  develop- 
ing of  all  the  important  fields  of  the  country,  notably  the  Turkeyfoot,  Cora- 
opolis,  Butler,  W^est  Virginia  and  Ohio  fields.  With  two  of  his  brothers, 
William  and  James,  he  was  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Galey  Brothers.  They 
opened  up  a  particularly  valuable  field  near  Woodsfield,  Ohio,  where  they 
drilled  a  large  number  of  wells.  He  was  a  very  hard  worker  and  exposed 
himself  to  the  elements,  which  caused  the  breakdown  of  his  strong  constitu- 
tion. His  health  first  began  to  fail  on  returning  from  the  Pan-American 
Exposition  in  1900.  His  trouble  was  diagnosed  as  Bright's  disease,  and  real- 
izing he  was  doomed,  his  firm  decided  to  sell  out  their  Ohio  properties.  He 
put  all  his  business  afifairs  in  good  shape,  made  his  will  and  awaited  the  end, 
which  came,  after  much  suffering,  early  Christmas  morning  of  190T  at  the 
age  of  forty-nine  years  and  four  months.  Interment  took  place  in  Beaver 
/cemetery,  where  three  of  his  children  had  preceded  him. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE 


He  was  a  member  of  the  East  Liberty  Presbyterian  church  and  is  sur- 
vived by  his  wife,  sons,  Thomas  and  Frank,  and 'a  daughter,  Dorothy.  In 
his  prime  he  was  about  five  feet  ten  and  one-half  inches  in  height  and 
weighed  one  hundred  and  eighty-eight  pounds.  His  shoulders  were  broad 
and  heavy  and  his  build  stocky.  His  affection  for  his  family  was  unbounded 
and  his  greatest  delight  was  to  play  with  children.  One  of  his  favorite  amuse- 
ments was  to  play  a  joke  on  a  friend.  He  returned  several  times  a  year  with 
his  sons  to  the  old  farm  in  Clarion,  which  was  still  the  home  of  his  brother 
Daniel,  and  they  all  three  turned  loose  in  the  fields  to  help  harvest  or  shock 
the  wheat.  The  walk  from  the  station  to  the  farm  was  about  six  miles,  and 
as  the  boys  generally  gave  out  long  before  the  journey  was  finished,  the 
remamder  was  finished  on  his  back.  He  always  went  around  to  see  the  old 
wells  just  as  though  they  were  old  friends,  climbed  up  on  the  tank,  smelled 
the  oil  or  turned  the  dead  engine  over  a  few  times. 


DANIEL  GALEY  was  the  founder  of  this  family  in  this  country.  He 
was  married  to  Peggy  Fulton  and  had  one  son,  Robert,  born  1812.  He  was 
a  prosperous  Protestant  Irish  farmer,  and  a  native  of  Lower  Casteltown, 
parish  of  Cappaigh.  Kin  Kitt.  county  Tyrone.  Ireland.  On  an  adjoining  farm 
lived  Andrew  Mellon,  the  father  of  Judge  Thomas  Mellon,  who  was  "then  a 
small  lad.  In  1819  the  two  families  emigrated  to  America,  the  voyage  in  a 
small  sailing  ship  consuming  twelve  weeks,  very  severe  storms  having  been 
encountered.  Daniel  Galey  was  very  ill  during  the  trip  and  almost  died. 
They  finally  landed  at  St.  Johns,  New  Brunswick,  and  later  shipped  for  Balti- 
more, Maryland,  arriving  at  that  port  October  i,  1819.  Here  the  two  families 
parted,  the  Mellons  going  west  and  Daniel  obtained  work  from  a  widow  lady 
in  Maryland  as  the  superintendent  of  her  plantation  and  an  overseer  of  her 
slaves.  After  a  few  years  in  Maryland  he  died,  and  his  wife  and  son  moved 
to  Pittsburg,  the  journey  being  made  over  the  old  canal  so  far  as  it  had  been 
built  and  the  remainder  finished  in  one  of  the  old-fashioned  Conestoga  wagons. 
The}-  arrived  in  Pittsburg  about  1820-1  and  bought  a  little  house  on  Wiley 
avenue.  Robert  renewed  his  acquaintance  with  Judge  JMellon,  who  had  come 
to  the  city  from  Plum  township  to  stay  with  him  while  he  studied  law  at  the 
Western  University.  Robert  became  a  fine  practical  blacksmith,  learning  his 
trade  at  the  Morrison  foundry,  where  now  stands  the  Park  Building,  mean- 
while snatching  a  fair  education. 

In  the  early  thirties  the  family  landed  in  the  wilderness,  traveling  by 
wagon,  and  settled  on  Cherry  Run,  Clarion  county.  After  two  years  here  they 
moved  to  Red  Bank,  on  the  Allegheny  river,  where  he  continued  to  live, 
Robert  having  married,  and  his  mother  died  shortly  after  moving  here.  They 
obtained  the  land  for  three  dollars  an  acre,  the  owner  having  received  it  by 
grant.  The  land  was  rich  and  soon  bore  fruit,  but  the  forest  first  had  to  be 
cleared  off  and  a  cabin  built.  There  were  deer  and  bear  in  the  woods  and  it 
was  not  uncommon  for  Indians,  who  had  come  down  the  river  in  canoes,  to 
call  to  beg  or  buy  grain.  The  bitter  border  warfare  between  the  red  and  white 
man  was  still  fresh  in  the  minds  of  the  middle-aged  inhabitants.  Peggy  Fulton 
w^as  small  of  stature  and  very  active  and  intelligent. 

Robert  Galey  was  married  to  Rachel  Spahar.  Their  children  were  as 
follows:      I.  John    PL,    who    married   first   Jennie    Smith.      Their    child    was 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Helen.  After  her  death  he  married  Lillian  Tebbetts.  Their  children  were 
Tebbetts  and  Harry.  2.  Thomas  married  Olive  Yingling.  Their  children 
were  Jesse  and  Clara.  3.  Robert  married  Mary  E.  Banks.  Their  children 
were  George  and  Anna. 

After  the  death  of  his  first  wife,  Robert  Galey  was  married  to  Margaret 
Rodgers,  in  March,  1848.  Their  children  were  as  follows:  i.  William,  mar- 
ried Ida  Nicholas,  died  October  4,  1907.  Their  children  were  Etta  and 
Charlena.  2.  Samuel,  married  Mary  E.  Drake;  died  December  25,  1901. 
Their  children  were:  Thomas,  Frank  and  Dorothy.  3.  James,  married 
Caroline  Snyder.  Their  children  were:  Jean,  Florence  and  Helen.  4. 
Rachel,  married  Thomas  Grant.  5.  Laura,  married  Charles  Farnsworth,  died 
1892.  Their  child  was  Robert.  6.  Daniel,  married  Huldea  Neeley.  7.  David, 
married  Elsa  Dunkel,  died,  and  their  children  were  Laura,  Ruth  and  Rodgers. 

Robert  Galey  was  a  good  and  industrious  farmer  and  educated  his  chil- 
dren to  thrift  and  saving  habits.  Oil  and  coal  were  discovered  on  his  property 
back  of  Perrysville,  Clarion  county,  whence  he  had  moved  after  fourteen  or 
fifteen  years'  residence  in  Red  Bank.  The  oil  he  sent  down  the  river  in 
flatboats  to  Pittsburg,  realizing  a  very  high  price  for  it.  By  this  means, 
together  with  the  products  of  his  farm,  he  accumulated  a  considerable  fortune. 
He  passed  his  last  days  in  Bellevernon,  on  the  Monongahela  river,  where  he 
died  at  the  age  of  eighty-four  in  the  year  1896.  His  wife,  who  is  eighty-seven 
years  of  age,  still  survives  him. 

The  following  are  the  dififerent  ways  the  name  has  been  spelled :  Gayley, 
Gayly,  Gealy,  Gailey  and  Galey. 


THE  RODGERS  FAMILY,  with  a  sketch  of  the  life  of  Margaret  Rodg- 
ers, wife  of  Robert  Galey,  and  dictated  by  her. 

My  great-grandfather,  Oliver  Rodgers.  came  from  England  into  Ireland 
at  the  time  of  the  French  war.  His  occupation  was  that  of  a  calico  inspector. 
He  was  light  complected  and  was  known  as  the  largest  man  physically  in 
England,  being  over  seven  feet  in  height  and  broad  in  proportion.  He  married 
Christina  Johnson  in  Ireland.  Both  he  and  his  wife  died  young,  about  the 
time  powder  was  put  under  the  Parliament  House  in  the  reign  of  King  Wil- 
liam. His  children  were  William,  Nancy,  Molly  and  George,  who  was  my 
grandfather. 

George  Rodgers  was  fair  complected  and  a  finely  built  man.  He  was  a 
farmer  in  county  Donegal,  Ireland.  One  of  his  duties  was  to  help  row  a  big 
six-oared  life  boat  out  to  sea  during  a  storm.  Both  he  and  his  brother  William 
died  young  by  overdoing  themselves  by  hard  work.  His  wife  was  Susan 
Howard,  and  she  lived  to  the  age  of  eighty-nine,  her  death  occurring  at  the 
old  farm  in  Red  Bank,  Clarion  county,  just  after  we  had  settled  there  and 
six  months  after  our  arrival  in  America.  Their  children  were  :  Tom,  Susie, 
Jennie,  Lettie  and  Sam,  who  was  my  father. 

Sam  Rodgers  was  born  and  baptized  at  Linsforth  Episcoplier  in  November, 
1786.  He  was  an  industrious  farmer  and  a  dealer  in  cattle,  by  which  means  he 
saved  considerable  money.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Irish  Cavalry.  For 
thirty  years  he  suffered  with  dyspepsia  and  as  a  result  was  very  weak.  He 
died  November  2,  1852,  having  been  under  the  care  of  old  Dr.  Wallace.  He 
v^as  buried  in  Lawrenceburg,  Clarion  county.     His  wife  was  Margaret  Cook,, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  113 

who  was  small  of  stature  and  healthy.  She  was  born  in  Ireland  in  17 — ,  and 
died  at  the  age  of  sevent5^-two  in  the  old  log  house  on  farm  back  of  Perrys- 
ville.  Their  children  were  Elizabeth,  Susan,  Jane,  Sally,  ]\Iary,  William, 
Letilda,  Rebecca  and  myself. 

I  was  born  December  15,  1821,  at  Faum,  Ireland,  and  was  baptized  there. 
This  place  is  on  the  coast  and  distant  seven  miles  from  Derry.  My  twin  sister 
died  at  an  early  age.  I  went  to  school  in  Ireland  and  can  remember  well  the 
country  and  incidents  of  my  life  there.  In  1831-2,  when  I  was  eleven  years 
old,  we  emigrated  to  America,  where  I  attended  school  for  one  month  more. 

Our  ship  was  named  the  Syrus  Butlow.  She  was  perhaps  one  hundred 
feet  long  and  had  three  masts,  the  middle  one  about  as  great  as  a  linseed 
hogshead.  We  were  towed  out  of  the  harbor  by  a  small  steam  tug  which  did 
not  dare  venture  out  to  the  big  waves.  W^e  children  soon  became  very  ill, 
but  after  a  week  recovered.  We  all  brought  our  own  provisions,  which  con- 
sisted of  meal  and  potatoes.  A  fire  was  built  under  a  great  kettle  mounted 
in  a  swinging  crane  on  the  deck  and  in  this  we  cooked  all  our  food.  Each 
family  had  a  net,  to  which  a  long  string  was  attached.  The  potatoes  were 
held  in  the  net  until  boiled,  while  the  children  took  turns  at  holding  the  string. 
The  captain  had  a  goat  to  furnish  him  with  milk,  but  the  crew  and  ourselves 
used  warm  sweetened  water  on  our  mush. 

We  encountered  two  storms,  one  being  especially  severe.  Three  helms- 
men were  knocked  from  the  helms  in  succession.  The  fourth  man  was  chained 
to  it  and  during  that  operation  the  ship  got  in  the  trough  of  the  sea  and  we 
shipped  three  seas.  The  water  flooded  the  cabins  and  we  thought  all  was  lost, 
but  the  ship  each  time  righted  herself  and  the  crew  finally  got  her  head  on  to 
the  wind.  We  pitied  the  poor  sailors,  who  had  to  climb  all  over  the  rigging 
and  reef  in  or  put  out  sail  accordingly  as  the  captain  ordered.  They  would 
come  down  almost  frozen  to  death  and  while  they  pulled  on  the  ropes  they 
would  sing.  One  young  sailor  named  Isaac  Cruso  was  very  kind  to  me  and  I 
took  him  up  some  warm  brandy  now  and  then  which  my  father  had  brought 
along.  When  nearing  the  end  of  the  journey  he  pierced  my  ears  and  placed 
in  them  a  pair  of  gold  earrings  which,  with  two  exceptions,  when  they  were 
broken,  I  have  not  had  out  for  over  seventy  years.  Our  first  sign  of  land 
was  the  sight  of  birds  and  we  were  each  in  turn  permitted  to  look  through 
the  captain's  spy  glass  and  we  saw  far  in  the  distance  a  narrow  brown  strip. 
One  night  my  father  noticed  that  the  crew  were  constantly  on  the  move  and 
the  next  morning  on  questioning  the  captain  he  was  informed  that  if  he  had 
known  the  conditions  he  would  not  have  slept  much.  The  ship  was  sailing 
between  two  dangerous  Newfoundland  sandbanks  and  had  she  struck  all 
would  have  been  Tost.  We  sailed  south  and  finally  landed  near  Philadelphia, 
where  we  remained  a  week  until  a  canal  boat  transported  us  west.  Our 
journev  from  Ireland  had  taken  fifty-two  days,  but  a  few  years  before  it  had 
taken  more  than  double  that  time.  We  received  word  many  months  later 
that  our  ship  had  encountered  a  storm  on  her  return  journey  and  had  gone 
down  with  all  aboard,  including  the  sailor  who  gave  me  the  earrings. 

V/e  came  over  the  old  canal  from  Philadelphia  to  Hollidaysburg,  which 
was  the  farthest  point  to  which  it  had  been  built.  There  we  hired  a  big  covered 
wagon  pulled  by  six  horses  and  drove  to  Wayne  tOAvnship,  where  we  stopped 
six" months.  We  children  all  ran  along  barefoot  behind  the  wagon.  Father 
traveled  around  seeking  to  select  a  final  home  for  us,  and  we  finally  located 

iv— 8 


114  ^    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

in  Clarion  county.  We  were  greatly  discouraged  and  lived  in  a  sheep  house 
until  we  had  constructed  a  log  house  at  the  mouth  of  the  Clarion  creek,  near 
Freedom.  All  was  wilderness.  The  land  we  bought  from  Sam  Graham  for 
five  dollars  and  twenty  cents  an  acre,  the  money  having  been  saved  in  Ireland. 
Mr.  Graham  was  one  of  the  very  first  settlers  and  had  received  the  land  by 
grant  twelve  years  before.  Deer  and  bear  were  plentiful  and  Mr.  Graham, 
who  was  a  good  hunter,  kept  us  supplied  with  meat.  We  bought  and  planted 
some  wheat,  but  it  proved  to  be  very  poor  and  we  had  a  hard  time.  Our 
threshing  was  all  done  with  a  flail,  with  great  labor,  and  it  would  take  all 
winter  to  thresh  out  the  grain  one  small  barn  held.  We  borrowed  fire  from 
Mr.  Graham's  house,  carrying  it  in  a  shovel,  or  started  the  flame  ourselves  by 
snapping  the  flint  of  an  old  flintlock  musket  on  flax.  No  roads  existed  except 
tree  clearings.  We  sowed  flax,  while  father  made  us  a  loom.  We  thus  made 
our  own  clothes  and  besides  sent  tow  cloth  and  linen  to  Pittsburg  for  sale. 
We  raised  our  own  madder  in  the  garden  with  which  to  die  the  cloth  and 
made  quilts,  table  cloths,  blankets,  etc.  Our  dresses  were  made  of  wool  we 
sheared  from  the  sheep  and  the  boys'  trousers  were  made  from  flax.  When 
I  was  married  I  had  five  homespun  dresses  of  different  colors. 

I  was  married  in  February,  1848,  to  Robert  Galey.  His  father,  Daniel 
Galey  had  been  a  most  intimate  friend  of  my  father  and  family  while  still  in 
Ireland.  The  ceremony  was  very  simple  and  the  honeymoon  was  nothing  but 
hard  work,  fixing  up  my  new  home.  We  first  lived  in  a  cabin  on  Cherry 
Run,  Clarion  county.  Here  my  first  child.  Will,  was  born.  In  April,  1-851, 
we  moved  to  Red  Bank,  now  township,  and  this  was  our  home  for  the  next 
fourteen  or  fifteen  years.  The  following  children  were  born  here :  Samuel, 
James,  Rachel,  Daniel,  David.  My  mother  died  in  this  house  at  the  age  of 
seventy-two.  Ten  days  after  Sam  was  born  word  came  that  my  father  was 
very  ill  at  the  old  home  twenty  miles  away.  My  husband  drove  over  at  once 
and  contrary  to  his  orders  I  harnessed  up  a  horse  and  drove  over  in  a  buggy, 
taking  the  child  with  me.  I  arrived  soon  after  my  husband  and  my  rashness 
caused  him  to  be  a  little  angry.  My  father  was  still  alive  and  he  blessed  us 
all,  including  the  baby.  The  boys  slept  up  under  the  roof,  crawling  up  a 
ladder.  In  1865  we  moved  to  a  new  farm  back  of  Perry sville,  which  we  had 
secured  by  the  foreclosure  of  a  mortgage.  An  incident  happened  in  this  con- 
nection which  caused  me  much  anxiety.  We  had  saved  nine  hundred  dollars 
in  cash  with  which  to  pay  off  this  mortgage  and  I  had  hidden  the  money  in 
an  old  pair  of  shoes.  One  morning  one  of  the  boys  found  these  shoes  and 
was  not  able  to  put  them  on  because  of  the  obstruction.  He  was  shaking 
them  violently  over  the  fire  when  I  recognized  the  shoes,  but  fortunately  the 
money  did  not  fall  out.  I  made  all  the  cloth  to  clothe  my  family  from  the 
products  of  my  own  garden.  For  fifty  cents  I  would  make  a  calico  dress  for 
a  neighbor  or  would  sew  hard  all  week  until  ten  at  night  for  one  dollar. 
Laura  was  born  in  this  home. 

About  this  time  came  the  great  oil  excitement.  My  husband  put  down 
several  wells  which  produced  first  rate.  The  boys  worked  on  them  in  shifts 
and  I  was  kept  busy  preparing  enough  to  eat.  Times  became  easier  now 
and  we  were  able  to  save  considerable  money  and  the  boys  were  starting  into 
business  and  getting  married.  In  April,  1882,  we  decided  to  leave  this  farm 
in  charge  of  Dan,  and  accordingly  we  purchased  a  fine  farm  in  Washington 
countv  near  Eellevernon.     It  was  underlaid  with  valuable  coal.     Our  house 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  115 

was  a  comfortable  brick  structure  and  it  was  here  that  our  last  child,  Laura, 
was  married  in  1889. 

We  moved  to  Bellevernon  a  few  years  later  and  spent  most  of  our  time 
visiting  among  our  children,  but  we  never  failed  to  return  to  the  old  farm  in 
Clarion  county  several  times  a  year.  My  husband  died  in  1896,  at  the  age  of 
eighty-four  years,  having  been  in  poor  health  the  last  few  years  of  his  life. 
He  was  conscious  up  to  the  end  and  endured  no  suffering,  and  was  buried  in 
the  Beaver  cemetery. 

I  would  not  care  to  live  my  life  over  again  if  I  had  to  endure  so  much 
hardship  and  hard  work  as  I  have  done. 

Mrs.  Galey  is  still  in  fair  health,  though  eighty-seven  years  of  age.  She 
has  possession  of  all  her  faculties  and  visits  yet  among  her  children.  She 
spends  her  winters  in  Florida  with  some  of  her  children  and  says  she  is 
awaiting  her  call  with  complacency.  She  has  outlived  four  of  her  children 
who  reached  maturity — Laura,  Dave,  Samuel  and  William.  She  is  a  member 
of  the  Presbyterian  church  in  Bellevernon  and  makes  her  home  with  her 
daughter,  Rachel  Grant,  in  Charleroi,  Pennsylvania. 


THE  HERSHEY  FAMILY.  George  H.  Hershey,  a  prominent  retail 
grocer  of  the  East  End,  Pittsburg,  and  an  active  member  of  the  Board  of 
Trade,  was  born  in  Circleville,  W^estmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  March  10, 
1867,  a  son  of  Jacob  and  Mary  E.  (Ashbaugh)  Hershey.  The  Hersheys  are 
originally  from  Germany  and  the  first  representative  of  the  family  in  this 
country  was  the  Hershey  who  emigrated  from  Germany  and  settled  in  Adams 
county,  Pennsylvania.  He  was  the  great-grandfather  of  the  subject  of  this 
notice.  Among  his  children  was  a  son  named  Jacob,  who  married  Anna  Mc- 
Creary.  Jacob  Hershey.  the  grandfather,  was  born  July  19,  1803.  He  followed 
the  occupation  of  a  farmer  throughout  the  active  years  of  his  career.  He  was 
a  member  of  German  Reformed  church  and  a  Republican  in  politics.  He  was 
twice  married.  His  first  wife's  maiden  name  was  Catherine  Wolet  and  she 
bore  him  four  children:  Rachel,  born  October  5.  1825,  married  Daniel  Beck 
and  they  had  two  children.  Louis,  born  May  i,  1827,  married  Eliza  Cunning- 
ham; he  died  October  9.  1872,  and  his  wife  passed  away  September,  1904. 
Elizabeth,  born  April  4,  1829,  married  David  Sanders  and  they  reared  a  large 
family.  Christopher  C,  born  March  i,  183 1,  married  three  times,  and  was  the 
father  of  a  large  family.  The  second  wife  of  Jacob  Hershey,  whose  maiden 
name  was  Ann  McCrearv,  of  York  county,  Pennsylvania,  bore  him  the  follow- 
ing children:  Rebecca,'bom  March  23,  1833,  married  (first)  James  Saam, 
and  (second)  William  Ford.  Catherine,  born  November  20,  1834,  married 
Robert  Fisher.  Marv,  born  October  3,  1836,  became  the  wife  of  Absalom 
Bowser.  Jacob,  born' February  11,  1839,  mentioned  hereinafter.  Sarah,  born 
August  I,'  1 84 1,  became  the  vvife  of  John  Fulton,  and  they  reside  at  North 
Irwin,  Pennsvlvania.  Lydia,  born  June  25,  1843,  died  December  27,  1865. 
Joseph,  born  August  24.  1845,  died  October  26,  1845.  John,  born  November 
24,  1846,  died  January  7,  1853.  William,  born  February  12,  1849.  Theresa, 
born  March  5,  1852,  died  September  19,  1854.  Jacob  Hershey,  the  father  of 
this  family,  died  May  10,  1872'. 

Jacob  Hershey,  eldest  son  of  Jacob,  and  the  father  of  the  subject,  was 
born   in   Penn  township,   Westmoreland   county,    Pennsylvania,   February    11, 


ii6  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


1839.  He  chose  the  occupation  of  a  firmer  for  his  Hfe  work  and  has  followed 
the  same  in  a  successful  manner.  He  is  a  staunch  supporter  of  the  principles 
of  the  Republican  party  and  has  held  the  office  of  township  supervisor  for  a 
number  of  terms  with  satisfaction  to  his  township.  He  belongs  to  the  German 
Reformed  church  and  is  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
He  has  been  married  twice,  first  to  Mary  Ashbaugh,  born  in  1847,  married  in 
November,  1863,  died  in  1880.  By  this  union  were  born  the  following  children 
to  Mr.  Hershey :  Ida  May,  born  April  27,  1865,  wife  of  Charles  Vial.  George 
H.,  born  March  10,  1867,  subject  of  this  notice.  Charles  B.,  bom  February  18, 
1869,  died  November  3,  1881.  Frank  B.,  born  February  17,  1871,  married  Eva 
Detrich.  Jojin  C,  born  February  19,  1873,  married  Sana  Hammerly.  Mar- 
garet O.,  born  December  25.  1875,  became  the  wife  of  Thomas  Hutchinson. 
Wilbur  F.,  born  May  29,  1877,  married  Linna  Dougherty.  For  his  second 
wife  Mr.  Hershey  married,  April  19,  1883,  Rebecca  Naley,  born  December  30, 
1845,  daughter  of  John  and  Delitha  Naley,  and  one  child  was  born  of  this 
union,  Jacob  Samuel,  who  died  in  infancy. 

George  H.  Hershey,  the  fifth  in  genealogical  line  from  the  German  emi- 
grant, and  the  son  of  Jacob  and  Mary  (Ashbaugh)  Hershey,  was  reared  on  his 
father's  farm  at  Irwin  borough,  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  to  which 
place  his  parents  removed  when  he  was  about  five  years  of  age.  He  attended 
the  common  schools  of  that  town,  after  which  he  began  to  master  the  carpen- 
ter's trade,  serving  an  apprenticeship  with  Robert  Fulton  for  three  years  and 
then  came  to  South  Pittsburg  and  entered  the  employ  of  Scheutte  &  Company, 
with  which  firm  he  remained  for  seven  years,  doing  carpentering  work  in  their 
planing  mill.  In  1895  Mr.  Hershey  abandoned  his  trade  and  engaged  in  the 
grocery  trade.  He  purchased  a  lot  at  the  corner  of  Graham  and  Claybourne 
streets,  and  there  erected  a  store  building.  He  continued  in  this  business  and 
at  this  location  up  to  1904,  when  he  had  completed  his  ninth  year  as  a  successful 
groceryman.  In  1903  he  had  bought  a  business  lot  on  the  corner  of  Center 
avenue  and  Graham  street,  and  there  he  erected  a  fine  four-story  brick  building, 
fifty  by  one  hundred  feet.  On  the  first  floor  he  has  his  grocery  store,  and  there 
is  also  one  of  the  most  fully  up-to-date  drug  stores  on  the  same  floor,  while  the 
upper  floors  are  arranged  for  apartments.  Mr.  Hershey  built  his  present  com- 
modious residence,  on  Graham  street,  at  No.  539,  in  1902.  He  also  has  real 
estate  interests — residence  property — throughout  the  city. 

He  is  a  member  of  the  Friendship  Methodist  Episcopal  church,  and 
formerly  belonged  to  old  Smithfield  Methodist  church,  down  town.  He  has 
always  given  his  full  share  towards  the  upbuilding  of  the  church  of  his  choice, 
and  has  served  as  both  steward  and  trustee.  Being  much  interested  in  the 
growth  arid  development  of  Pittsburg,  he  is  numbered  among  the  members  of 
the  East  End  Board  of  Trade.  He  was  united  in  marriage,  February  27,  1894, 
to  Miss  Kate  M.  New,  born  in  Pittsburg  March  14,  1872,  daughter  of  John  A. 
and  Mary  (Beltz)  New.  (A  history  of  the  New  family  appears  elsewhere  in 
this  work.)  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hershey  are  the  parents  of  one  daughter — Florence 
N.,  born  September  23,  1897,  and  is  now  a  student  of  the  Liberty  public  school. 


THE  NEW  FAMILY.    John  A.  New,  a  retired  business  man  of  Greater 
Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Hesse  Kassel,  Grossenmohr,  Germany,  February  22, 


£:t^,;4v4^^^£^<^ 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  117 

1840,  a  son  of  John  and  Katherine  E.  (Lindner)  New.  The  father  spelled 
the  name  Neu,  but  the  later  generations  spell  it  New. 

John  Neu  (as  he  spelled  it),  the  father,  came  to  America  a  year  later 
than  his  son,  John  A.,  or  in  1858,  with  his  wife  and  son  Christian.  John  Neu 
had  served  in  the  German  army  for  a  period  of  twelve  years.  Upon  arriving 
here  he  rented  a  farm  and  followed  agricultural  pursuits.  After  the  death  of 
his  wife  he  went  to  Canada,  and  there  purchased  a  farm  upon  which  he  put 
many  substantial  improvements.  He  married  again  in  Canada,  a  widow  with 
children,  but  the  particulars  are  not  now  known.  .  He  died  at  the  advanced 
age  of  eighty-five  years.  He  was  of  the  Lutheran  religious  faith  and  a  very 
energetic,  painstaking  man.  By  his  first  marriage  he  had  three  children:  i. 
Anna  Margaret,  who  married  John  H.  G.  Harmeier,  and  they  were  the  parents 
of  ten  children.  2.  John  A.  New,  subject  of  another  section  of  this  sketch. 
3.  Christian,  deceased,  born  in  Germany  and  died  in  1891 ;  he  served  three 
years  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil  war  in  America ;  he  married  and  was 
the  father  of  seven  children.    The  widow  nov/  resides  in  South  Pittsburg. 

John  A.  New  came  to  America  in  the  month  of  April,  1857,  and  at  once 
took  up  the  trade  of  a  baker,  serving  two  years  with  Frederick  Frankenbach. 
He  followed  his  trade,  and  in  1866  engaged  in  business  for  himself  on  the 
South  Side,  Pittsburg.  He  became  the  leading  baker  and  caterer  in  that 
section  of  the  city,  and  there  laid  the  foundation  for  his  fortune,  which  now 
consists  of  good  property  in  both  South  Pittsburg  and  elsewhere  throughout 
the  city.  He  continued  in  the  bakerv  trade  until  1893,  when  he  retired  and 
now  spends  his  time  mostly  in  looking  after  his  real  estate  interests.  He 
■erected  his  present  residence  in  1897.  Politically  Mr.  New  is  a  Republican, 
while  in  church  relations  he  is  a  member  of  the  Evangelical  Association  church 
at  the  corner  of  Center  and  Graham  streets,  to  which  he  has  been  a  liberal 
giver.  He  is  now  a  member  of  the  registration  board  of  the  city  in  the 
Twentieth  ward. 

Mr.  New  was  united  in  marriage.  May  18,  1865,  to  Mary  Beltc,  born  in 
Austria,  and  came  to  America  with  her  parents,  who  located  in  Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania.  Her  father  was  a  miller  by  trade.  She  was  one  of  five  children 
in  the  family.  The  father  died  aged  forty-five  years,  in  1868,  and  the  mother 
passed  away  in  1895,  aged  seventy-two  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  New  are  the 
parents  of  nine  children:  Lizzie  L.,  Emma  M.,  Dr.  Grant  J.  A.,  Kate  M.,  now 
the  wife  of  George  H.  Hershey ;  William  E.,  deceased;  Anna  May,  deceased; 
Harry  G.  A.,  deceased ;  Walter  F.  B.,  employed  by  Jones  &  Laughlin  for  the 
past  five  years  since  graduating  from  commercial  department  of  the  city  high 
school ;  Hilda  S.,  deceased. 

Dr.  Grant  J.  A.  New,  son  of  John  and  Mary  A.  (Beltc)  New,  was  born 
in  South  Pittsburg  and  educated  in  the  public  schools  on  the  South  Side,  at 
Curry's  University  and  the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania,  graduating  in 
1895.  He  was  employed  in  the  South  Side  Hospital  for  a  period  of  sixteen 
months,  since  which  time  he  has  been  attending  to  his  general  practice  on 
Carson  street.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  Lodge  No. 
221  ;  a  member  of  the  Junior  Order  United  American  Mechanics;  and  is 
medical  examiner  of  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees,  No.  62.  Politically  he  is 
a  Republican.  He  is  a  mem'ber  of  the  city  physicians  in  the  department  of 
charity  and  correction.  Dr.  New  is  a  consistent  member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  church,  and  an  upright,  enterprising  citizen. 


ii8  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

He  was  united  in  marriage  August  22,  1900,  by  Rev.  Warren,  to  Mary  A., 
daughter  of  James  and  Winfred   (Richard)   Griffith.     The  issue  is  John  A. 

New  (III).  ,,.-., 

It  may  here  be  stated  that  the  first  member  of  this  family  to  come  to  this 
country  was  Anna  Margaret  Neu,  daughter  of  John  Neu,  and  the  wife  of  the 
late  John  H.  S.  Harmeier.  She  came  some  time  prior  to  1857.  She  now 
resides  at  5510  Claybourn  street,  Pittsburg,  and  is  the  mother  of  ten  children. 

CHALFANT  FAMILY.  John  Chalfant,  the  first,  came  over  in  the  ship 
"Welcome"  with  William  Penn  and  was  given  a  deed  for  six  hundred  and 
fortv  acres  of  land  in  Chester  county.  This  was  in  about  1682.  He  after- 
ward, in  1699,  settled  on  a  tract  of  land  of  two  hundred  and  fifty  acres  in 
Rockland  Manor,  Chester  county,  Pennsylvania,  obtaining  a  warrant  for  it 
October  22,  1701.  John  Chalfant  died  in  August,  1725.  The  sons  were  John 
Chalfant,  Jr.,  the  second,  and  Robert  Chalfant. 

John  Chalfant,  Jr.,  the  second,  married  and  among  other  children  had 
three  sons :   John,  Solomon  and  Robert. 

Robert,  son  of  John  Chalfant,  Jr.,  the  second,  married  Ann  Bentley, 
daughter  of  John  and  Mary  of  Newton,  Chester  county.  Their  issue  was  John, 
the  third,  Marv,  Jane,  Ann,  Robert  and  Elizabeth. 

Henry  Chalfant,  son  of  John  the  third,  married  Eliza  Jackson,  August  5, 
1740,  and'had  nine- children,  the  eldest  of  whom,  Jonathan,  was  born  April  8, 
1743,  and  on  December  24,  1777,  married  Ann  Barnard. 

Ann  Barnard  was  the  daughter  of  Thomas  Barnard,  or  Burnard,  or 
Bernard,  who  was  first  mentioned  in  1701  as  of  West  Marlborough,  and  the 
said  Thomas,  the  father  of  Ann,  died  at  Chester  in  1732.  He  had  married, 
first,  Eliza  Swain,  of  Newark,  New  Jersey,  but  on  her  death  married  Sarah 
Carter,  and  his  daughter  Ann,  by  the  said  Sarah  Carter,  became  the  wife  of  the 
said  Jonathan  Chalfant,  on  December  24,  1777.  Of  this  marriage  of  Jonathan 
Chalfant  and  Ann  Bernard  were  born  nine  children,  viz :  Thomas,  born 
November  2,  1778;  Ann,  born  May  11,  1780;  Jonathan,  born  May  15,  1783; 
Jacob,  born  November  3,  1786;  Annanias,  born  August  24,  1788;  Henry, 
born  May  13,  1792',  and  died  December  14,  1862;  Eliza,  born  October  8,  1794, 
and  died  October  15,  1794;  Eliza,  born  August  25,  1797;  Amos,  born  Decem- 
ber 9,  1799. 

The  said  Henry,  the  sixth  child  of  Jonathan,  was  married  by  the  Reverend 
George  Dufiield,  at  Carlisle,  Pennsylvania,  on  March  27,  1827,  to  Isabella 
Campbell  Weakley.  Isabella  Campbell  Weakley  was  the  daughter  of  Samuel 
Weakley  and  Hetty  Lusk,  and  was  born  January  12,  1801,  and  died  March  4, 
1885.  Henry  Chalfant  and  Isabella  Campbell,  his  wife,  settled  at  Turtle  Creek, 
in  the  county  of  Allegheny,  about  1827,  and  there  founded  the  Pittsburg 
branch  of  this  family.  He  conducted  a  general  store  and  kept  the  postoffice 
and  relay  station  for  the  Pittsburg  and  Philadelphia  stage  coach  line  which 
traversed  the  old  Greensburg  Turnpike.  About  1840  he  moved  to  the  hills 
above  Turtle  Creek  on  the  Greensburg  Turnpike  and  settled  on  a  farm  of  sev- 
eral hundred  acres  about  half  way  between  Wilkinsburg  and  Turtle  Creek, 
on  the  said  turnpike,  where  he  resided  until  his  death,  and  where  also  his 
widow  lived  with  her  son,  Henry  Richard,  and  his  family  until  her  death  in 
1887.     Of  this  marriage  of  Henry  Chalfant  and  Isabella  Campbell  Weakley 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  119 

were  born  the  following  children:  John  Weakley  Chalfant,  bom  December 
13,  1827,  and  died  in  Allegheny  City  December  28,  1898;  William  Barnard 
Chalfant,  born  July  8,  1829,  and  died  August  i,  1830;  Sidney  Alexander 
Chalfant,  born  May  14,  1831,  and  is  now  living  on  Walnut  street,  Twentieth 
ward,  Pittsburg;  Ann  Rebecca  Chalfant,  born  August  8,  1833,  married  Albert 
G.  Miller  in  1874,  and  died  October  17,  1896;  Hetty  Isabella  Chalfant,  born 
April  4,  1835,  and  died  January  30,  1840;  Henry  Richard  Chalfant,  born  July 
25,  1837,  and  died  September  30,  1887;  James  Thomas  Chalfant,  born  May 
18,  1839,  and  died  April  20,  1901  ;  George  Alexander  Chalfant,  born  March 
13,  1841,  and  died  August.  1904;  William  Lusk  Chalfant,  born  August- 3, 
1843,  and  died  April  20,  1895  ;  Albert  McKinney,  born  October  6,  1846,  and 
is  now  living  on  Castleman  street.  Twentieth  ward,  Pittsburg. 

William  Lusk  Chalfant  married,  on  November  4,  1874,  Elizabeth  Ashley 
Pirtle,  and  had  by  her  three  children:  John  Weakley  Chalfant,  Jr.,  born 
September  9,  1875  ;  Lewis  Rodgers  Chalfant,  born  in  1876,  and  died'  in  early 
infancy;  and  Ashley  Pirtle  Chalfant,  born  December  31,  1882,  and  died  on 
May  15,  1895. 

Elizabeth  Ashley  Pirtle  was  a  daughter  of  the  Honorable  Henry  Pirtle 
and  Ann  Rodgers,  of  Louisville,  Kentucky.  Henry  Pirtle  was  judge  of  the 
court  of  chancery  of  Jefferson  county,  Kentucky. 

John  Weakley  Chalfant,  Jr.,  was  married  on  October  2,  1901,  to  Elizabeth 
Gerry  Briggs,  who  was  a  daughter  of  Charles  Calvin  Briggs  and  Mary  Gerry. 
Charles  Calvin  Briggs  was  born  in  Freeport,  Maine,  and  Mary  Gerry  was 
born  in  South  Waterford,  Oxford  county,  Maine.  Charles  Calvin  Briggs 
moved  to  Pittsburg  in  the  early  70s  and  resided  there,  and  Elizabeth  Gerry 
Briggs  was  the  first  child  of  Charles  Calvin  Briggs  and  Mary  Gerry.  Charles 
Calvin  Briggs  died  July  19,  1901,  and  Alary  Gerry  Briggs,  his  wife,  died 
February  18,  1906. 

John  Weakley  Chalfant,  Jr.,  and  Elizabeth  Gerry  Briggs  have  one  child, 
Charles  Briggs  Chalfant,  born  June  26,  1902,  and  resides  in  the  Borough  of 
Edgewood,  a  suburb  of  Pittsburg.  John  Weakley  Chalfant,  Jr.,  is  a  member 
of  the  bar  of  Allegheny  county  and  a  practicing  attorney  in  the  city  of  Pittsburg. 


THE  HEMPHILL  FAMILY.  Among  the  men  of  native  genius  and 
laudable  ambition,  whose  name  will  long  be  referred  to  in  all  parts  of  the 
world,  is  the  late  James  Hemphill,  whose  family  history  forms  the  subject  of 
this  notice.  He  descended  from  one  of  the  old  Pennsylvania  families,  whose 
paternal  ancestors  were  of  the  sturdy  Scotch-Irish  stock  which  has  accom- 
plished so  much  for  western  Pennsylvania  with  the  passing  of  more  than  two 
centuries.  On  his  mother's  side  Mr.  Hemphill  came  from  "Pennsylvania  Ger- 
man" ancestry,  and  on  both  paternal  and  maternal  sides  he  was  from  families 
of  Revolutionary  fame.  He  was  born  at  Mechanicsburg,  Cumberland  county, 
Pennsylvania,  July  22,  1827,  a  son  of  John  and  Ann  (Longsdorf)  Hemphill. 
As  a  great  mechanical  engineer,  steam  engine  inventor  and  builder,  discoverer 
and  constructor  of  numerous  steel  and  iron  furnace  processes,  as  well  as  the 
original  maker  of  railroad  baggage  checks,  his  name  will  always  have  a  promi- 
nent place  on  the  pages  of  commercial  and  industrial  history. 

His  father,  John  Hemphill,  was  a  tailor  by  trade,  and  followed  this  for  his 
livelihood.     He  removed  from  Cumberland  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1846,  to 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


Tarentum,  Allegheny  county,  this  state,  where  he  died  June  i,  1859.  His 
wife,  Ann,  died  in  1879.  Their  children  included:  Sarah  Cox,  of  Oil  City, 
Pennsylvania;  Dorcas  Aker,  of  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania;  James, 
of  this  sketch;  Lydia  Ann,  Mrs.  Rhine,  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania;  Mar- 
garet, Mrs.  Kennedy,  of  Tarentum,  Pennsylvania ;  and  John  W.  Hemphill, 
of  Tarentum,  who  learned  the  tailor's  trade  of  his  father  and  followed  the 
same  until  the  opening  of  the  Civil  war,  when  he  enlisted  as  a  member  of 
Company  A,  Seventy-fourth  New  York  Volunteers,  under  General'  Sickles, 
brigade  commander. 

James  Hemphill  accompanied  his  parents  to  Allegheny  county  in  1846, 
and  came  to  Pittsburg  in  1850,  where  he  died  August  7,  1900.  His  early  life 
was  spent  on  the  farm,  and  when  very  young  he  drove  a  horse  and  cart  used 
in  the  construction  of  the  Cumberland  Valley  Railroad.  He  often  was  pleased 
to  relate  in  after  years  that  while  thus  employed  he  believed  himself  the  "big- 
gest man  on  the  job,"  but  added  that  "as  a  matter  of  fact,  the  well-trained 
horse  he  drove  was  doing  the  whole  business."  In  1847  he  was  apprenticed 
to  Samuel  Black,  later  of  McKeesport,  to  learn  the  blacksmith's  trade.  He 
worked  at  the  forge  for  about  three  years  and  subsequently  acquired  a  good 
knowledge  of  machinery  and  mechanics  in  general.  When  he  first  made  his 
advent  into  Pittsburg  he  had  a  fine,  robust  constitution,  a  clear,  active  mind, 
coupled  with  a  laudable  ambition,  and  practiced  frugal  economy.  He  had  a 
natural  liking  for  mechanics  and  kindred  branches,  and  his  superior  ability 
was  soon  appreciated,  and  he  was  made  assistant  engineer  of  the  Pittsburg 
waterworks,  under  Joseph  French,  one  of  the  best  hydraulic  engineers  of  those 
times,  and  who  was  later  made  superintendent  of  the  waterworks  system,  and 
young  Hemphill  then  became  engineer.  He  followed  this  about  eight  years, 
and  during  this  period  put  in  his  spare  time  studying  mechanical  engineering, 
with  such  success  that  later  in  his  life  he  was  quoted  as  authority  as  an  expert 
in  such  matters  all  over  this  country. 

It  was  while  engaged  in  the  waterworks  that  he  conceived  the  idea  of 
providing  baggage  checks  for  use  by  the  railroads  of  this  country.  He  finally 
perfected  his  plans  and  manufactured  them  on  a  large  scale  for  the  various 
railroad  companies,  thus  realizing  his  first  money  upon  which  he  built  up  his 
goodly  fortune.  He  was  kindly  assisted  and  greatly  encouraged  by  Thomas 
Scott,  of  Pennsylvania  Railroad  fame,  who  at  that  date  was  but  the  division 
superintendent  of  the  Pittsburg  division.  He  always  gave  Mr.  Scott  the 
credit  of  giving  him  his  first  real  financial  start  by  what  he  did  in  the  way  of 
helping  him  to  introduce  the  little  brass  baggage  check,  now  so  universally 
used  in  all  parts  of  the  world. 

In  1856-57  Mr.  Hemphill  invested  some  money  with  others  in  a  small 
machine  shop  business,  which  was  conducted  in  the  tool  house  of  the  then 
abandoned  steel  works  of  Messrs.  McKelvy  and  Blair,  one  of  the  pioneer 
steel  plants  of  Pittsburg.  Within  a  few  years,  however,  he  withdrew  from 
this  firm  and  in  1859  entered  into  partnership  with  Messrs.  W.  S.  Mcintosh 
and  N.  F.  Hart,  at  the  corner  of  Twelfth  and  Pike  streets,  Pittsburg,  devoting 
his  whole  attention  to  that  enterprise,  which  from  the  small  beginning  came 
the  "Ft.  Pitt  Foundry"  of  Mcintosh,  Hemphill  and  Company,  which  concern 
was  incorporated  later  and  became  one  of  the  gigantic  enterprises  of  Pittsburg. 
The  steel  business  of  Greater  Pittsburg  indeed  owes  much  to  the  pluck  and 
genius  possessed  by  Mr.  Hemphill,  for  it  should  be  remembered  that  he  forced 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


to  the  front  the  "blooming  mill,"  by  installing  one  mill  of  this  type  at  the 
Pittsburg  Bessemer  Works,  which  small  plant  grew  in  time  to  be  the  exten- 
sive Homestead  works,  so  well  known  the  world  over  as  being  a  part  of  the 
vast  Carnegie  steel  interests.  He  was  part  owner  in  the  famous  "Carrie" 
furnaces  also.  He  became  an  acknowledged  expert  in  furnace  building  and 
designing,  doing  such  work  for  nearly  all  of  the  great  plants  in  this  country 
in  his  time.  The  United  States  patents  covering  his  claims  of  invention  of 
blast  furnaces  were  numbered  by  the  score,  while  his  patents  along  other  valu- 
able lines  were  very  numerous.  He  was  the  first  person  to  design  and  build 
the  massive  type  of  steam  engines  now  so  common.  On  these  he  employed 
his  patent  slide  valve,  the  superiority  of  which  has  not  been  excelled  in  more 
than  the  half  century  which  they  have  been  in  actual  daily  use.  For  the  same 
length  of  time  has  his  name  stood  at  the  head  of  designers  and  builders  of 
blast  furnaces  and  rolling  mill  machinery,  all  the  offspring  of  his  truly  inventive 
brain. 

Unlike  a  majority  of  men  of  such  genius  and  zeal  in  matters  with  which 
they  have  been  connected,  Mr.  Hemphill  realized  fully  that  as  age  advanced 
no  man  could  perform  the  same  tasks  as  in  youth ;  hence  he  gave  way  to 
vounger  men  to  carry  out  the  details  of  his  work,  he  merely  advising  and  sug- 
gesting as  to  the  best  means  to  be  employed.  So  the  last  years  of  his  eventful 
career  he  spent  in  approving  and  improving  on  the  plans  and  ideas  conceived 
by  younger  men,  thus  saving  his  own  strength  of  both  mind  and  body.  His 
was  a  many-sided  character,  as  was  shown  by  his  success  in  lines  entirely 
foreign  to  the  business  for  which  he  had  been  trained  in  his  youth.  In  1893, 
as  an  example,  when  the  Western  Pennsylvania  National  Bank  was  established, 
he  became  its  president,  and  no  little  strength  was  given  that  institution  by 
his  being  at  the  helm.  His  sense  of  justice  and  business  honor  was  ever  as 
greatlv  manifest  in  his  make-up  as  were  his  inventive  and  mechanical  gifts, 
and  to  this  has  been  ascribed  the  fact  that  in  all  his  years  of  business,  in  the 
employment  of  hundreds  of  men.  he  was  never  hampered  by  reason  of  a  strike 
among  his  own  workmen. 

As  has  well  been  remarked  by  one  of  his  contemporaries : 

"He  was  a  man  of  strong  principles  and  excellent  judgment,  which 
caused  him  to  be  sought  after  as  an  arbitrator  and  appraiser  in  many  important 
controversies  and  adjustments.  He  was  at  all  times  much  interested  in  young 
engineers,  and  was  never  so  happy  as  when  advising  and  materially  aiding 
them  to  develop  their  original  ideas  and  perfect  their  inventions.  His  nature 
was  kindly  and  domestic  and  all  of  his  love  centered  in  his  home  circle.  He 
was  retiring,  never  seeking  praise  or  distinction,  and  his  kindly  social  qualities 
brought  him  many  close  friends  who  have  reason  to  long  remember  his  sterling 
qualities  of  character." 

He  was  public-spirited  and  was  good  counsel  on  the  city  board,  where  he 
served  with  distinction.  After  a  painful  illness  he  died  of  neuritis  on  Tues- 
day, August  7,  19CK),  and  was  buried  in  Home  wood  cemetery. 

Mr.  Hemphill  was  united  in  marriage,  in  1849,  to  Elizabeth  Frink,  of 
Rome,  New  York,  who  died  in  January,  1879,  ^"d  was  survived  by  the  follow- 
ing children:  i.  Newton  A.,  born  March  9,  1853;  married,  in  1874.  Mary 
McMillen,  daughter  of  Hugh  and  Jennie  (Nicholson)  McMillen.  and  they  are 
the  parents  of:   James,  Elizabeth  B.  and  Marie  N.  Hemphill.     2.    William  A. 


122  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 

married  Annie  Marshall  of  Pittsburg.  3.  Katherine,  Mrs.  W.  A.  Hoeveler 
(see  Hoeveler  sketch).  4.  Alice,  Mrs.  George  R.  W.  Baum  (see  Baum 
sketch.     5.  Horace  F.,  married,  and  is  living  in  Philadelphia. 

FREDERICK  M.  JOHNS.  Among  the  business  men  who  are  promi- 
nently identified  with  the  hardware  trade  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  we  may 
mention  the  name  of  Frederick  M.  Johns,  whose  store  is  located  at  No.  7242 
Mount  Vernon  street,  in  that  city.  He  is  of  the  first  generation  of  his  family 
to  have  been  born  in  this  county,  his  ancestors  having  been  of  an  old  and 
honored  family  of  Wales. 

Richard  Johns,  father  of  Frederick  M.  Johns,  was  born  in  Cardiff,  Wales, 
and  emigrated  to  the  United  States.  Here  he  very  successfully  followed  the 
blacksmith's  trade,  which  he  had  learned  in  his  native  land,  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  in  1894.  He  married  Hester  Brown,  who  died  in  1896,  and 
they  had  children:  EHzabeth,  deceased;  Katherine,  married  a  Mr.  Marquis; 
Mary,  married  an  Augermyer  ;  Laura,  married  a  Mr.  Wallace  ;  Grace,  married 
Mr.  Brown;  Harry;  NelUe,' married  Mr.  Miller;  Frederick  M.  (see  forward). 

Frederick  M"  Johns,  son  of  Richard  and  Hester  (Brown)  Johns,  was 
torn  in  Pulaski,  Lawrence  county,  Pennsylvania,  September  23,  1873.  He 
was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  in  Mount  Academy,  Ohio,  and  upon 
the  completion  of  his  education  taught  school  for  one  year.  He  went  to  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania,  in  1890,  having  obtained  a  position  in  a  hardware  store, 
and  retained  this  for  a  period  of  seven  years.  He  then  went  to  Homewood 
and  established  himself  in  the  same  line  of  business,  and  has  carried  this  on 
verv  successfully  since  that  time.  He  is  noted  throughout  the  city  for  his 
sterling  integrity  and  reliable  business  qualities.  He  married  Gertrude  Armi- 
tage,  daughter  of  James  Armitage,  of  Coltsville,  Ohio,  and  they  have  children : 
Russell,  born  October  30,  1899;  Victor  V.,  born  March  28,  1902;  Gladys  G., 
born  November  16,  1903. 


OSWALD  WERNER.  Oswald  Werner,  head  of  the  dyeing  establish- 
ment of  Oswald  Werner  &  Sons,  which  is  the  largest  and  oldest  concern  of 
its  kind  in  the  western  part  of  the  state  of  Pennsylvania,  is  a  son  of  Lebrecht 
and  Elinora  Christiana  (Emerich)  Werner,  both  natives  of  Saxony,  Germany. 
The  Emerichs  are  counted  among  the  wealthiest  families  of  that  section  of 
Germany. 

Oswald  Werner  was  born  in  Saxony,  Germany,  October  16,  1835,  and 
emigrated  to  the  United  States  in  1853.  He  settled  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsyl- 
vania, and,  being  enterprising  and  ambitious,  took  the  first  employment  that 
came  to  his  hand.  This  was  on  a  farm  not  far  from  the  city,  and  during  the 
three  months  he  was  employed  there  he  acquired  a  fair  working  knowledge  of 
the  English  language.  He  then  obtained  a  position  in  the  finishing  department 
of  a  tannery.  He  had  served  an  apprenticeship  to  the  dyeing  trade  in  his 
native  country,  and  his  next  position  was  in  the  dyeing  establishment  of  W^il- 
liam  W..  Neeper,  where  he  remained  for  a  period  of  nine  years.  He  then 
determined  to  establish  himself  in  this  line  of  business,  and  in  1864  opened  an 
establishment  on   Fourth  avenue,  between   Market  and   Ferry   streets,   where 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  123 


he  carried  on  a  successful  business  until  1869.  His  reliable  and  excellent 
work  had  brought  him  such  an  increased  trade  that  it  was  necessary  for  him 
to  seek  larger  and  more  commodious  quarters,  and  he  purchased  a  large  plot 
of  ground  in  Penn  avenue,  erected  suitable  buildings  thereon,  and  removed  his 
business  to  that  place.  Thirty  years  later  he  removed  to  Bryant  street.  East 
End,  where  he  now  has  extensive  working  space,  between  St.  Clare  and  Mellon 
streets,  and  in  addition  has  a  large  stable.  Although  Mr.  Werner  has  retired 
from  active  participation  in  the  actual  work  of  the  concern,  he  still  retains 
his  connection  with  it.  It  is  now  carried  on  under  the  firm  name  of  Oswald 
Werner  and  Sons,  and  by  his  two  sons,  John  and  Oswald  H.,  and  gives 
employment  to  eighty-five  hands. 

]\Ir.  Werner  married,  in  1859,  Katrina  Stadler,  and  they  have  had  nine 
children,  seven  of  whom  grew  to  mature  years:  i.  Augusta  A.  2.  John.  3. 
Emma  K.    4.    Oswald  H.     5.    Katrina  R.    6.    Anna.     7.    Stella  B. 


WILLIAM  FLINN.  Ex-State  Senator  William  Flinn,  of  Pittsburg, 
was  born  May  26,  185 1,  in  Manchester,  England,  son  of  John  Flinn,  who  emi- 
grated the  same  year  to  the  United  States  and  settled  in  Pittsburg.  From  the 
time  of  his  arrival  until  1896  he  was  a  resident  of  the  Sixth  ward,  but  in  the 
year  mentioned  moved  with  his  family  to  the  Nineteenth  ward. 

William  Flinn  received^  common-school  education  and  after  leaving  school 
learned  the  trades  of  brass  finisher  and  gas  and  steam  fitter.  He  is  now  a 
member  of  the  firm  of  Booth'  &  Flinn,  Limited,  general  contractors,  and 
belongs  to  the  board  of  directors  of  the  Colonial  Trust  Company.  In  1877  he 
was  elected  a  member  of  the  board  of  fire  commissioners  of  Pittsburg.  He 
was  elected  to  the  house  of  representatives  for  the  sessions  of  1879  ^"d  1881. 
and  in  the  years  1884,  1888,  1892,  1896,  1900  and  1902  he  served  as  a  dele- 
gate to  the  Republican  national  convention.  For  eighteen  years  he  was  chair- 
man of  the  Republican  city  executive  committee. 

In  1890  he  was  elected  to  the  state  senate,  was  re-elected  in  1894,  and  in 
November,  1898,  was  honored  with  a  third  election.  He  was  the  author  of 
the  first  Greater  Pittsburg  bill  ever  introduced  in  the  legislature,  and  was  one 
of  those  largely  instrumental  in  bringing  about  the  consolidation  of  the  cities 
of  Pittsburg  and  Allegheny.  Nor  is  it  only  as  a  legislator  that  he  has  served 
his  home  city,  but  as  a  private  citizen  his  active  interest  and  his  influence  have 
ever  been  devoted  to  its  welfare  and  advancement.  On  March  7,  1892,  he 
resigned  public  office  and  retired  to  private  life,  intending  thenceforth  to 
devote  his  time  to  the  management  of  his  business  interests. 

Mr.  Flinn  married  Nancy  Galbraith,  of  Pittsburg,  and  they  are  the  par- 
ents of  the  following  children:  George  H.,  Ralph  E.,  W.  Arthur,  A.  Rex, 
Mary  S.  and  Edith  G. 

George  H.  Flinn,  eldest  child  of  William  and  Nancy  (Galbraith)  Flinn, 
is  actively  connected  with  many  of  the  business  enterprises  of-  Pittsburg, 
among  them  the  Beechwood  Improvement  Company.  He  is  secretary  and 
treasurer  of  the  Booth-Flinn  Company,  Limited,  contractors,  and  is  a  member 
of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  Colonial  Trust  Company.  George  H.  Flinn 
married  Clara  Louise,  daughter  of  D.  C.  Negley,  and  their  family  consists  of 
two  children:    Clara  Louise  and  George  H. 


124  ^    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

EDWARD  ACKER,  at  present  one  of  Pittsburg's  enterprising-  business 
men,  was  born  June  4,  1840,  at  Phillipsburg  (now  Monaca),  Beaver  county, 
Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Edward  Acker,  who  was  born  at  Fulta,  Saxony,  Ger- 
many, and  came  to  this  country  in  the  ,first  half  of  the  nineteenth  century. 
He  settled  at  Phillipsburg,  where  he  practiced  medicine  and  established  a 
water-cure  sanitarium  which  for  many  years  was  known  as  the  Phillipsburg 
Water-Cure. 

Dr.  Acker  married  Mary  Ann,  born  at  Freeport,  Pennsylvania,  daughter 
of  David  Hoover,  and  their  children  were:  Emil,  married  in  Cincinnati; 
Edward,  of  whom  later;  Josephine,  wife  of  Plenry  Bimber,  has  children; 
George,  Marie,  Karl  and  Edward;  Armine,  went  to  Indiana  and  there  mar- 
ried;^ Henry;  and  Robert,  who  died  in  infancy.  Dr.  Acker,  the  father,  died, 
aged  forty-one  years,  in  Phillipsburg,  where  he  had  resided  continuously 
since  his  arrival  in  this  country. 

Edward  Acker,  son  of  Edward  and  Mary  Ann  (Hoover)  Acker,  came  to 
Pittsburg  in  1859,  at  the  age  of  nineteen,  and  began  his  business  career  by  serv- 
ing an  apprenticeship  to  the  tinner's  trade.  Upon  the  expiration  of  his  time 
he  entered  the  service  of  a  Mr.  Dorflinger,  and  later  became  connected  with 
John  Demler,  with  whom  he  remained  one  year. 

Upon  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  the  Seventy-seventh 
Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  and  served  until  after  the  termination  of 
the  conflict.  His  regiment,  being  attached  to  the  Army  of  the  Cumberland, 
participated  in  all  the  great  battles  and  engagements  except  Chickamauga. 
He  was  twice  wounded  and  once  taken  prisoner,  being  confined  for  five  months 
with  many  others  at  Parole  Camp  Chase  until  finally  exchanged.  His  regi- 
ment, being  ordered  to  Texas  at  the  close  of  the  war,  in  anticipation  of  trouble 
with  Erance  over  Mexico,  was  one  of  the  last  to  be  disbanded,  and  he  served 
in  all  fours  years  and  three  months.  At  the  end  of  that  time  has  was  hon- 
orably discharged  with  the  rank  of  sergeant. 

At  the  close  of  the  war  he  again  worked  at  his  trade,  being  employed  by 
John  Demler  and  the  firm  of  Brown  &  Graham.  In  1871  he  moved  to  East 
Liberty  and  established,  in  partnership  with  Peter  Forsythe,  a  house-furnish- 
ing and  hardware  business.  After  the  dissolution  of  his  connection  with  Mr. 
Forsythe  he  was  successively  associated  in  this  enterprise  with  Harry  Crozer 
and  Henry  Carr.  Eventually  he  took  charge  of  the  whole  business  and  has 
successfully  conducted  it  up  to  the  present  time.  Although  now  sixty-seven 
years  of  age,  he  is  to  be  found  every  day  at  his  office.  As  an  instance  of  the 
frugality  which  has  formed  a  large  element  in  his  financial  success  may  be 
mentioned  the  fact  that  he  was  one  of  the  few  who  served  through  the  Civil 
war  and  saved  money  from  their  pay,  the  compensation  in  Mr.  Acker's  case 
never  amounting  to  more  than  twenty  dollars  a  month. 

He  is  a  member  of  Union  Veteran  Legion,  Camp  No.  i  ;  Duquesne 
Lodge,  No.  546,  F.  and  A.  M. ;  Pittsburg  Chapter,  No.  i.  Knights  Templar; 
Consistory,  Scottish  Rite  and  Shrine  (Syria  Temple).  In  poHtics  he  is  an 
ardent  Republican  and  was  a  member  of  the  Blaine  or  Americus  Club. 

Mr.  Acker  married  Mrs.  Alice  EHzabeth  (Kleinf elder)  Leslie,  and  the 
following  children  have  been  born  to  them :  Lotta,  deceased ;  Edward  C. ; 
Frances,  deceased ;  and  Alice  G.  Edward  C.  Acker,  the  only  son.  is  in  busi- 
ness with  his  father.  He  married  Grace  Davis,  by  whom  he  has  one  son, 
Edward  James  Potter  Acker. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  125 


THE  ALLERTON  FA^IILY.  Among  the  Pittsburg  families  who  have 
the  distinction  of  being  able  to  trace  their  ancestry  in  a  clear,  undisputed, 
direct  line  to  the  band  of  Pilgrims  who  came  over  in  the  "Mayflower,"  is  the 
Allerton  family,  whose  male  descendants  have  been  prominent  in  the  affairs 
of  the  city  for  many  years,  and  one  of  whom,  Orville  Hurd  Allerton,  is  still 
a  resident  of  the  place.     The  genealogical  line  is  as  follows : 

I.  Isaac,  who  was  the  American  ancestor.  2.  Isaac.  3.  Isaac.  4.  John. 
5.  Isaac.  6.  Reuben,  the  subject's  great-grandfather.  7.  Samuel  W.,  the 
grandfather.  8.  Orville  Hurd,  Sr.,  the  father.  9.  Orville  Hurd,  Jr.,  the 
subject. 

(I)  Isaac  Allerton,  who  came  in  the  "Mayflower,"  left  but  one  son,  who 
remained  in  New  England,  viz.:  Isaac  (11),  and  he  in  turn  left  Isaac  (HI), 
born  in  New  Haven,  Connecticut,  and  Willoughby,  born  in  Virginia.  Isaac 
(I)  was  born  in  New  Haven,  1655,  ^^^  became  the  progenitor  of  all  the 
Allertons  of  later  generations.  His  descendants  may  be  embraced  into  three 
branches:  those  of  Rhode  Island  being  one  branch,  from  John  (V);  the 
New  York  branch  descending  from  Isaac  (V),  and  the  New  Jersey  branch, 
from  Zachariah  (V). 

The  exact  time  and  place  of  the  birth  of  Isaac  (I)  is  not  at  this  time 
known  to  his  descendants  in  this  country.  He  was  of  an  old  and  honorable 
family  of  mixed  Saxon  and  Danish  descent  that  had  been  for  many  centuries 
located  in  the  southeastern  part  of  England.  He  was  certainly  born  between 
the  vears  of  1583  and  1585,  and  resided  in  London  for  some  time  prior  to  his 
removal  to  Holland,  in  1609,  when  he  was  about  twenty-six  years  old,  and 
was  thirty-seven  when  he  came  to  Plymouth,  Massachusetts.  It  is  supposed 
that  he  was  the  son  of  Edward  and  Rose  (Davis)  Allerton.  He  is  generally 
admitted  to  have  been  the  wealthiest  of  all  the  Pilgrims,  and  was  among  the 
few  who  had  the  prefix  of  "Mr."  attached  to  his  name,  which  at  that  day  indi- 
cated that  he  was  of  a  superior  family,  or  respectability.  No  one  in  the  whole 
Leyden  colonv  was  more  efficient  and  eminently  useful  in  all  their  preparations 
for  departure  to  America  than  he.  When  he  sailed  he  had  four  children,  all 
born  in  Holland:  Bartholomew,  Remember  and  Mary  came  with  their  par- 
ents in  the  "Mayflower,"  while  Sarah  remained  behind  to  come  later  with 
an  aunt. 

Isaac  Allerton  was  the  fifth  to  sign  his  name  to  the  celebrated  "Compact," 
John  Carver,  William  Bradford  and  two  more  only  preceding  him.  His  son- 
in-law,  Degory  Priest,  was  the  twenty-ninth  to  affix  his  signature  to  the  docu- 
ment, which  had  but  forty-one  names  attached  to  it. 

In  September.  1621,  a  party  of  ten  men  went  by  water  to  view  and 
explore  the  countrv  at  what  is  now  known  as  Boston  harbor;  also  to  get 
acquainted  with  the'  Indians  in  that  locality.  The  first  headland  at  Nantucket 
was  named  "Point  Allerton,"  which  name  it  still  retains.  In  the  autumn  of 
1626  Mr.  Allerton  was  sent  by  the  colony  to  England  for  the  purpose  of  obtain- 
ing supplies  upon  which  to  subsist.  By  a  contract  made,  the  entire  trade  of  the 
colonv  was  bound  to  William  Bradford,  Edward  Winslow  and  Isaac  Allerton 
for  the  period  of  six  years.  The  men  named  assumed  the  little  colony's  indebt- 
edness of  twenty-four  hundred  pounds,  they  also  agreeing  to  furnish  the 
colony  with  "fiftv  pounds  worth  of  hoes  and  shoes." 

Like  most  of  his  descendants,  Isaac  Allerton  (I)  was  a  man  of  quick 
temper  and  apt  to  resent  an  afifront,  and  acted  largely  on  his  impulses.     He 


126  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


was  just  and  fair  at  all  times,  however.  In  1634  his  trading  house  was  taken 
bv  the  p-rench  and  Indians  and  burned,  as  was  also  its  contents.  In  1635, 
on  account  of  the  liberality  of  his  religion,  he  was  notified  to  leave  Marble- 
head,  which  he  did.  From  1636  to  1646  he  lived  at  New  Amsterdam,  where 
he  engaged  in  coasting  and  dealing  in  tobacco,  having  a  warehouse  at  East 
River,  near  the  present  Maiden  Lane,  New  York  city.  He  made  many  voy- 
ages to  Virginia  and  the  West  Indies.  Governor  Winthrop  wrote  of  him 
in  1643: 

"Three  ministers  which  were  sent  to  Virginia  were  shipwrecked  on  Long 
Island.  Mr.  Allerton,  of  New  Haven,  being  there  took  great  pains  and  care  of 
them  and  provided  them  with  a  very  good  pinace  and  all  things  necessary." 

In  1646  he  became  a  permanent  resident  of  New  Haven,  Connecticut, 
where  he  spent  the  remainder  of  his  days,  having  built  for  himself  "a  grand 
house  on  the  Creek  with  Four  Porches,"  as  the  record  reads.  He  died  aged 
about  seventy-five  years,  in  1659,  and  was  buried  in  the  old  burying-ground 
at  New  Haven,  Connecticut,  but  no  monument  ever  marked  his  grave,  as  was 
the  case  in  many  other  instances  of  the  worthy  Pilgrims,  the  reason  ascribed 
being  that  at  that  time  all  gravestones  had  to  be  shipped  from  the  Old  World 
and  were,  necessarily,  expensive. 

He  was  thrice  married,  first  to  Mary  Norris,  of  Newbury,  England, 
November  4,  161 1  ;  she  died  February  25,  1625.  He  married  his  second  wife, 
Fear  Brewster,  in  1626,  and  she  died  December  12,  1634.  She  was  the  daugh- 
ter of  Elder  William  Brewster,  who  came  over  on  the  ship  "Ann"  in  1623. 
She  was  a  woman  of  pleasing  appearance  and  of  a  pious  disposition.  For  his 
third  wife  he  married  Johanna  (maiden  name  unknown),  and  she  died  at 
New  Haven,  Connecticut,  in  1682.  By  his  first  marriage  he  had  children, 
born  at  Leyden,  Holland :  Bartholomew,  Remember,  Mary  and  Sarah.  By 
his  second  wife  he  had  Isaac  (H),  born  1630. 

(II)  Isaac  Allerton  was  born  at  Plymouth,  Massachusetts,  1630 ;  gradu- 
ated at  Harvard  College,  1650,  being  in  the  seventh  class  to  graduate  from 
that  institution.  He  accompanied  his  father  on  his  numerous  sea  voyages  to 
the  West  Indies  and  Virginia.  He  married  "Elizabeth,"  and  resided  at  New 
Haven.  His  wife  died  in  about  1660.  He  then  settled  in  Westmoreland 
county,  Virginia,  where  he  was  a  justice  of  the  peace  and  held  other  offices. 
He  was  a  major  in  1675,  second  in  command  to  John  Washington,  of  V^ir- 
ginia,  against  the  Indians ;  was  also  a  member  of  the  house  of  burgesses.  He 
died  in  Westmoreland  county,  Virginia,  in  1702.  The  children  born  to  Mr. 
Allerton  were:  Elizabeth,  born  September  27,  1653;  Isaac,  born  July  11, 
1655;  and  Sarah,  born  about  1660.  By  his  second  wife  he  was  the  father  of 
two  daughters,  one  named  Frances,  and  a  son  named  Willoughby. 

(III)  Isaac  Allerton  was  born  in  New  Haven,  Connecticut,  July  11, 
1655.  He  finally  located  at  or  near  Norwich.  Connecticut,  but  he  died  in 
Rhode  Island,  where  his  son  John  had  settled.  He  was  a  farmer  all  his  days 
and  also  handled  produce.  He  was  a  quiet  man,  not  caring  for  publicity.  He 
served  in  some  of  the  New  England  Indian  wars.  His  children  were :  John, 
born  1685;  Jesse,  born  1686;  Isaac,  born  a  few  years  later,  as  was  his  brother 
Thomas. 

(IV)  John  Allerton  was  born  at  New  Haven,  Connecticut,  in  1685.  He 
married  and  moved  to  Norwich,  Connecticut,  in  1712;  was  a  selectman  in 
1 72 1,   removed   to  Rhode  Island  in   1739   and   in    1741    resided   in  Coventry, 


PITTSBURG    AXD    HER    PEOPLE  127 


Rhode  Island,  where  he  died  in  1750.  He  married  "EHzabeth,"  by  whom  was 
born  the  following  children :  Esther,  Sarah,  Mary,  John,  Richard,  Isaac,  Eliza- 
beth, Anna  and  Jonathan. 

(V)  Isaac  Allerton  was  born  at  Norwich,  Connecticut,  August  15,  1725. 
But  little  is  known  of  his  history  besides  that  he  was  a  farmer.  He  was  a  tall 
man  and  had  some  local  prominence  as  an  athlete.  Before  the  Revolutionary 
war  he  was  possessed  of  much  wealth,  but  by  exchanging  his  produce  to  supply 
the  Continental  army,  taking  his  pay  in  paper  money,  he  lost  nearly  all  he 
had  accumulated.  Seeking  to  retrieve  his  fortune,  he  moved  to  Amenia, 
Dutchess  county,  New  York,  in  1792,  and  died  there  December  26,  1807.  He 
had  in  his  possession  many  relics  of  the  war  for  national  independence,  includ- 
ing a  broad-axe  with  which  was  hewed  the  logs  for  the  first  building  erected 
by  the  Pilgrim  fathers ;  also  a  fuzee-gun  captured  from  an  old  Indian  warrior. 
He  married  .Lucy  Spaulding,  by  whom  was  born:  Jonathan,  AHce,  Sarah, 
Daniel  and  Reuben.  The  wife  died  in  1813,  aged  eighty-six  years,  and  was 
buried  beside  her  husband  at  Amenia,  Dutchess  county.  New  York. 

(VI)  Reuben  Allerton  was  born  at  Canterbury,  Connecticut,  December 
25.  1753-  He  received  an  excellent  education;  studied  medicine  and  became 
a  noted  physician  and  surgeon,  beginning  his  practice  about  1777.  He  entered 
the  colonial  army  as  surgeon  of  Colonel  Hopkins'  regiment  in  1777.  The 
instruments  which  he  used  are  still  in  the  possession  of  the  family.  He  died 
at  Amenia,  New  York.  In  Sharon.  Connecticut,  in  1778,  he  married  Lois 
Atherton,  born  1757,  at  Newton,  New  Jersey.  Their  children  were:  Cor- 
nelius, Polly,  Lucy,  Samuel  Waters,  Amaryllis,  Mira,  Milton  Barlow. 

(VH)  Samuel  Waters  Allerton  was  born  in  Amenia,  Dutchess  county. 
New  York,  December  5,  1785.  He  studied  medicine  and  intended  to  take  the 
practice  in  which  his  father  had  been  so  successful,  but  he  soon  abandoned 
the  notion  and  engaged  in  the  tailoring  trade,  vv-hich  he  learned,  and  became 
a  merchant  tailor  and  conducted  a  country  store.  In  1828  he  was  one  of  the 
promoters  of  a  woolen  factory,  but  with  the  Democratic  reduced  tariff  measure 
enacted  in  1833,  he  with  nearly  all  others  engaged  in  like  business  was  finan- 
cially ruined.  The  mills  once  prosperous  stood  as  so  many  monuments  to  the 
folly  of  such  a  political  party  measure.  He  then  went  to  Dubuque  county, 
Iowa,  hoping  to  regain  what  he  had  lost,  but  after  two  years  in  that  new 
country  he  was  smitten  with  dumb  ague  and  returned  to  his  former  home. 
He  was  deputy  "sheriff"  of  Dutchess  county.  New  York,  for  three  years,  and 
in  1842  moved  to  Yates  county  of  that  state,  where  he  rented  a  farm,  and  in 
1848  purchased  one  in  Wayne  county.  New  York,  where  he  died.  He  w^as  a 
very  industrious  man — never  let  a  moment  slip  by  idly.  He  reared  his 
children  to  believe  that  true  religion  consisted  in  "Love  to  God  and  good  will 
to  all  men."  Lie  was  a  Universalist  in  his  religious  faith,  although  a  trustee 
in  the  Presbyterian  church  at  Amenia  at  one  time.  He  was  a  man  of  sterling- 
qualities,  full  of  good  deeds  and  integrity.  He  died  like  a  ripened  sheaf  when 
aged  ninetv-nine  vears  and  eight  months.  The  date  of  his  death  was  August 
10,  1885.    '  '  ■  . 

March  26,  1808,  he  married  Hannah  Hurd,  born  1788.  at  South  Dover. 
She  was  the  daughter  of  Ebenezer  and  Rebecca  (Phillips)  Hurd.  Her  father 
was  an  extensive  cattle  drover  and  was  known  widely  throughout  New  York 
state  as  "Uncle  Eb."  He  took  large  droves  of  cattle  overland  to  the  New 
Y^ork   markets,   returning   with   the   pay   for   them   packed   away   in   his   huge 


128  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 

saddle-bags.  He  had  many  business  dealings  with  Henry  Astor,  brother  of 
the  New  York  dry  goods  prince,  John  Jacob  Astor.  He  was  the  son  of  Daniel 
Hurd,  of  Connecticut,  who  married  Betsy  Allen,  of  Vermont,  a  cousin  of 
Colonel  Ethan  Allen.  The  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Samuel  Waters 
Allerton  were:  Cornelia,  born  March  26,  1809;  Amaryllis,  born  January  i, 
1812;  Henry  Reuben,  born  December  25,  1814;  Orville  Hurd,  born  April  17, 
1817;  Amanda  H.,  born  July  15,  1818;  Byron,  born  September  20,  1822; 
Rebecca  H.,  born  September  28,  1824;  Lois  J.,  born  January  26,  1826;  Samuel 
Waters,  born  May  26,  1828. 

(Vni)  Orville  Hurd  Allerton,  the  subject's  father,  was  born  at  Amenia, 
Dutchess  county,  New  York,  April  17,  181 7.  At  the  age  of  ten  years  he  began 
life's  active  career  by  working  in  a  comb  factory,  which  trade  he  designed  to 
learn,  but  a  few  months  later  his  life  was  turned  in  another  channel  by  his 
employer  selling  out  and  moving  away.  He. then  worked  lor  a  time  on  a 
farm, 'doing  what  a  lad  of  his  tender  years  could,  for  which  he  received  the 
sum  of  three  cents  a  'day.  He  had  an  uncle,  who  was  chiefly  engaged  in  buying 
and  driving  to  the  New  York  markets  large  droves  of  fat  cattle,  and  when 
Orville  was  but  eleven  years  old  he  had  him  leave  school  and  help  him  drive 
his  droves  the  distance 'of  one  hundred  miles  to  New  York  City,  but  on  the 
first  trip,  and  when  only  out  about  twenty  miles,  he  became  very  homesick 
and  could  not  be  induced  to  go  farther  on  the  long  journey.  He  turned  face 
homeward  and  covered  the  whole  distance  following  behind  two  men  on  horse- 
back who  were  going  part  way.  He  hurried  on  and  arrived  at  home  the  same 
evening,  having  averaged  five  miles  an  hour  for  the  four  hours.  This  trait  of 
his  character  was  always  a  predominating  one  in  his  life — he  dearly  loved  his 
own  home  and  its  hallowed  influences. 

From  time  to  time  he  assisted  "in  driving  stock  to  New  York,  always 
having  to  trudge  along  on  foot.  He  received  twenty-five  cents  a  day  for  his 
services  and  his  steamboat  fare  to  Poughkeepsie,  thirty  miles  from  his  home, 
and  this  distance  on  his  return  trips  he  always  walked,  unless  fortunate  enough 
to  find  teamsters  going  his  way.  Up  to  fourteen  years  of  age  he  was  educated 
at  the  district  schools,  at  the  select  school  of  Dr.  Leonard  and  the  Amenia 
Seminary. 

At  the  age  of  thirteen  he  commenced  to  clerk  in  a  store  at  Nassau,  New 
York,  and  later  at  Dover  Plains,  New  York.  Subsequently  he  went  to  Elmira, 
New  York,  and  clerked  in  a  drug  store.  In  1839  he  went  to  Dubuque,  Iowa, 
where  he  had  a  brother,  Henry  Allerton,  who  was  a  farmer,  living  out  but 
twenty  miles.  He  made  his  way  by  a  fearful  perilous  voyage  over  the  great 
lakes  to  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  by  stage  two  hundred  miles  to  Dubuque,  and 
from  there  made  the  twenty  miles  on  foot.  There  he  was  to  clerk  in  a  store 
in  which  the  chief  stock  of  merchandise  was  plug  tobacco,  clay  pipes  and 
whisky.  Five  weeks  was  a  sufficient  time  for  him  'midst  such  surroundings, 
and  at  the  end  of  that  period  he  retraced  his  steps  to  his  native  state.  He 
went  to  Elmira,  New  York,  and  was  engaged  as  clerk  and  bookkeeper  for 
about  twelve  years,  this  giving  him  a  practical  business  schooling,  which  was 
the  real  foundation  for  the  success  he  finally  achieved. 

In  1842  he  went  to  Newark,  New  York,  where  he  began  the  rnercantile 
business  in  earnest  and  continued  for  twenty-five  years.  After  thirty-seven 
years  of  indoor  work  he  found  it  necessary  to  change  on  account  of  his  health, 
and  so,  in  1868,  he  accepted  a  position  tendered  him  by  his  brother,  Samuel  W. 


€) 


^^Z^^^-^^ 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


29 


Allerton,  as  superintendent  of  the  Pennsylvania  Central  Stock  Yards  at  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania.  It  was  a  place  of  more  than  ordinary  responsibility,  but 
the  compensation  was  equal  to  the  labor  and  so  he  continued  for  seventeen 
years,  when  he  retired,  after  having  been  fifty-four  years  engaged  in  active 
business  pursuits.  He  retired  to  a  beautiful  home  at  Newark,  New  York, 
where  he  also  owns  a  well  improved  farm  of  one  hundred  and  sixty  acres. 
This  is  but  a  fragment  of  the  sum  he  was  enabled  to  accumulate  in  his  long 
career.  He  made  many  good  investments,  including  western  railroad  stocks, 
and  numerous  deals  of  a  purely  legitimate  nature.  His  measure  of  success  in 
life  was  mainly  due  to  his  order,  care,  promptness,  and  integrity  of  character. 
He  is  an  able  writer  and  speaker,  always  being  logical  in  his  conclusions  and 
concise  in  his  expression. 

On  January  15,  1845,  Air.  Allerton  married  Eliza  Adelaide  Dean,  of 
Dresden,  Yates  county,  New  York,  who  was  a  natural  self-taught  painter  of 
portraits  and  landscape  scenes,  although  she  never  cultivated  her  artistic  tend- 
encies to  any  great  extent.  It  has  been  said  of  her:  "As  a  wife,  no  more  true, 
noble  or  trustworthy  heart  ever  beat  in  human  breast."  The  children  which 
came  to  bless  this  union  are  as  follows:  Clarence,  born  in  1849,  ^^^^  aged  nine 
months;  Orville  Hurd,  born  October  3,  185 1. 

(IX)  Orville  Hurd  Allerton,  subject,  was  born  October  3,  1851,  at 
Newark,  New  York,  and  received  his  education  at  the  Newark  Academy  and 
a  business  training  at  Poughkeepsie,  New  York,  and  Elmira,  of  that  state. 
From  1873  to  1884  he  was  a  live  stock  shipper  from  points  in  the  west  to  the 
New  York  markets.  During  the  last  named  year  he  succeeded  his  father  as 
live  stock  agent  for  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company.  He  resigned  this 
position  in  1904.  In  1886  he  made  a  tricycle  tour  extending  through  England, 
Scotland,  Wales  and  France. 

Politically  Mr.  Allerton  is  a  supporter  of  the  Republican  party.  In 
January,  1907,  he  was  elected  president  of  the  Board  of  Trade  of  Pittsburg. 

He  was  married,  June  3,  1874,  to  Miss  Ida  C.  Leggett,  daughter  of 
John  T.  and  Susan  (Cronise)  Leggett,  of  Newark,  New  York.  The  children 
by  this  union  are:  Ida  Mav,  born  April  17,  1882;  Edith  Marie,  born  January 
II,  1887. 


WILLIAM  PORE,  now  retired  from  active  business  life,  but  for  many 
years  connected  with  the  firm  of  GrafT,  Hugus  &  Company,  foundrymen  of  the 
city  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  W^estmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  October  4, 
1832,  the  son  of  Adam  and  Margaret  (Lobingier)  Pore.  Adam  Pore  was 
born  in  1783,  and  was  a  farmer  of  Westmoreland  county,  where  he  was  the 
owner  of  several  large  farms.  This  was  one  of  the  pioneer  families  of  the 
county.  Adam's  sons,  with  the  exception  of  William,  the  subject,  all  followed 
agricultural  pursuits. 

William  Pore  received  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  his  native 
county  up  to  the  year  he  was  ten  years  of  age,  when  he  went  forth  into  the 
world  to  do  for  himself.  He  began  his  successful  career  by  working  in  a  store 
at  Weaver's  old  stand.  Mount  Pleasant  township,  Westmoreland  county,  Penn- 
sylvania. He  remained  there  about  two  years,  when  he  went  to  the  county  seat 
town,  Greensburg,  where  he  was  employed  by  Louis  Trauger  for  three  years. 
In  February,  185 1,  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  taking  a  situation  in  the  dry  goods 
iv— 9 


130  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

house  known  as  the  Bee  Hive,  where  he  was  employed  one  year,  after  which  he 
entered  the  large  dry  goods  house  of  W.  &  D.  Hugus,  at  Fifth  avenue  and 
Market  street.  In  1856  he  took  a  position  as  bookkeeper  in  the  foundry  business 
of  Graff  &  Company,  successors  to  Grafif,  Reiseinger  &  Graff.  This  was  later 
changed  to  Graff  &  Hugus,  and  in  1863  Mr.  Pore  became  one  of  the  partners 
in  the  concern,  when  the  firm  name  was  changed  to  Graff,  Hugus  &  Company. 
He  continued  there  until  1879,  when  he  severed  his  connection  with  the  firm  and 
retired  from  active  business  life.  Since  that  date  he  has  occupied  his  time  at 
managing  his  estate  and  buying  and  selling  property. 

Mr.  Pore  has  for  a  dozen  or  more  years  been  very  active  in  church  work 
in  the  Lutheran  church,  holding  at  this  period  the  office  of  treasurer  of  the 
Pittsburg  Lutheran  Synod,  G.  S.  He  is  the  only  surviving  member  of  the  firm 
of  Graft',  Plugus  &  Company,  which  was  among  the  pioneer  concerns  of  this 
line  of  industry  in  Pittsburg. 

He  married  Anna  Mary  Graft',  daughter  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth  Graff, 
who  was  born  March  12,  1837.     (See  Graff  sketch.)     She  died  June  29,  1891. 


JOSEPH  ROBB,  who  was  the  American  ancestor,  emigrated  from  County 
Down,  Ireland,  in  the  year  1730,  and  settled  in  Pennsylvania,  together  with 
his  wife  and  three  sons :   John  Robb,  Sr.,  William  and  Andrew  Robb. 

(II)  John  Robb.  Sr.,  son  of  Joseph  Robb,  bought  a  farm  about  six  miles 
from  what  is  now  called  Lancaster,  Pennsylvania,  on  Octorara  creek.  He  mar- 
ried Miss  Barbara  McKnight,  a  young  woman  of  that  vicinity.  To  them  were 
born  ten  children :  William,  John,  James,  Andrew,  David,  Joseph,  Samuel. 
Moses,  Isabella  and  Nancy.  They  were  all  members  of  the  Reformed  Presby- 
terian church.  In  1775  John  Robb,  Sr.,  and  his  son  John  came  to  Pittsburg, 
which  was  then  a  mere  village,  intending  to  buy  a  farm  near  by  and  remove 
to  western  Pennsylvania.  They  examined  several  farms  on  Chartier's  creek 
and  finally  viewed  a  farm  belonging  to  Andrew  Walker  on  Robinson's  Run, 
a  tributary  to  Chartier's  creek,  about  a  mile  north  of  what  is  now  McDonald, 
on  the  Pittsburg,  Cincinnati,  Chicago  and  St.  Louis  Railroad.  They  did  not 
purchase  the  farm  at  this  time,  but  sometime  later  went  back  to.  the  farm  and 
entered  into  articles  of  agreement  with  Mr.  Walker  for  the  purchase  of  the 
farm,  containing  about  four  hundred  acres,  and  commenced,  among  many 
trials  and  tribulations  on  account  of  the  depredation  of  the  Indians,  to  build 
a  home  and  clear  and  fence  a  portion  of  the  land.  So  dangerous  were  the 
Indians  at  that  time,  especially  at  night,  that  they  were  compelled  to  return 
in  the  evening  after  their  day's  work  to  one  of  the  two  forts  in  that  part  of  the 
country,  one  of  which  was  located  at  what  is  now  Gregg's  Station  on  the 
Panhandle  railroad,  then  called  Fort  Riddle,  and  the  other  one.  called  Fort 
Little,  near  Venice,  in  what  is  now  Washington  county,  then  Monongahela 
county,  Virginia. 

Many  times  the  Indians  were  in  the  woods  upon  this  farm  while  the  two 
Johns  were  at  work  preparing  to  remove  their  family  there.  All  of  this  farm, 
although  divided  into  three  parts,  is  in  the  Robb  name  to  this  day,  and  there 
has  never  been  a  mortgage  or  a  judgment  against  any  portion  of  it  since  the 
original  purchase  money  mortgage  was  paid  off,  about  the  year  1800. 

(Ill)  John  Robb,  Jr.,  son  of  John  Robb,  Sr.,  was  born  in  1758  and  died 
in  1849.     I'"'  Ji-^ne,   1776,  he  enlisted  in  the  army  of  the  Revolution  and  was 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  131 

an  ensign  under  Washington.  He  was  with  the  army  when  they  crossed  the 
Delaware  and  pushed  on  to  Trenton,  where  they  had  a  very  important  battle 
and  returned  upon  the  night  of  the  same  day.  We  do  not  know  how  long  he 
was  in  the  service,  but  it  was  at  least  a  year.  Returning  home,  the  family  pro- 
ceeded to  make  themselves  a  fairly  comfortable  home  and  farm  where  there 
was  little  but  woods  and  Indians  when  the  family  first  moved  west  of  the 
Alleghenies.  John  Robb,  Sr.,  divided  his  farm  into  three  parts,  one  of  which 
he  gave  to  his  son  John,  containing  one  hundred  and  seventy-six  acres,  another 
to  his  son  James,  containing  one  hundred  and  fifteen  acres,  and  another  to  his 
son  Joseph,  containing  one  hundred  and  twenty  acres.  Each  of  these  men 
remained  upon  the  portions  of  the  farm  allotted  to  them  during  their  lives. 
Aside  from  the  three  sons  of  John  Robb,  Sr.,  among  whom  his  farm  was 
divided,  their  other  brothers  and  sisters  married  and  went  to  other  parts  of 
the  state  of  Pennsylvania  and  into  Ohio  to  seek  their  fortunes.  John  Robb, 
Jr.,  about  the  year  1790,  married  Jane  Kelso,  who  prior  to  that  time,  with  a 
young  lady  cousin  of  hers,  had  ridden  on  horseback  all  the  way  from  Big 
Spring  in  the  eastern  part  of  the  state  and  took  up  their  abode  at  Rev.  Dr. 
Riddles,  of  Fort  Riddle,  mentioned  heretofore.  Jane  Kelso  was  born  in  1766 
at  Big  Spring  and  died  in  1866  on  the  farm  allotted  to  her  husband,  John 
Robb,  Jr.  To  these  parents  were  born  eleven  children,  eight  boys  and  three 
girls — John,  "George,  William,  James,  Andrew,  David,  Mark,  Joseph,  Jane, 
Elizabeth  and  Isabella. 

By  the  will  of  John  Robb,  Jr.,  the  farm  given  him  by  his  father  was  de- 
vised to  Mark  Robb,  who  was  born  in  1807,  and  lived  there  his  entire  life, 
until  his  death  in  1892.  Mark  was  married  to  Jane  Scott  Donaldson,  in  1838, 
and  to  these  parents  were  born  four  sons :  John  S.  Robb,  attorney  at  the 
Allegheny  county  bar;  Andrew  D.  Robb,  a  merchant:  Joseph  K..  Robb,  a 
farmer,  and  James  McB.  Robb,  a  clerk.  Upon  the  death  of  Mark  Robb,  his 
farm  descended  to  his  two  sons,  John  S.  Robb  and  James  McB.  Robb,  and 
the  sons  of  Andrew  D.  Robb,*  Joseph  having  died  without  issue  prior  to  the 
death  of  his  father.  The  farm  is  now  owned  by  John  S.  Robb,  James  McB. 
Robb,  Harry  W.  Robb  and  John  S.  Robb,  Jr.,  who  bought  the  interest  of 
Mark  A.  Robb,  son  of  Andrew  D.  Robb,  shortly  after  the  death  of  Mark  Robb. 
James  Robb,  the  third  son  of  John  Robb,  and  he  to  whom  his  father  devised 
a  portion  of  the  farm  which  he  had  bought  from  Andrew  Walker,  married 
Elizabeth  Kelso.  They  had  three  sons  and  one  daughter.  This  James  Robb 
devised  to  his  son  James  the  portion  of  the  old  farm  which  his  father  had 
given  him.  This  James  Robb  married  Ellen  Henry.  They  had  three  sons 
and  three  daughters.  The  farm  was  willed  by  him  to  his  three  sons,  James 
H.,  William  and  George.  James  and  William  and  the  heirs  of  George  (de- 
ceased) still  own  all  of  their  grandfather's  farm  except  thirty  acres  which  was 
bought  by  Joseph  W.  Robb,  son  of  Ebenezer  Robb,  who  was  a  son  of  Joseph 
Robb,  to  whom  about  one  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  the  original  farm  was 
willed  by  John  Robb,  Sr. 

(IV)  Joseph  Robb,  son  of  John  Robb,  Jr.,  was  born  in  1776  and  lived 
his  entire  lifetime,  until  his  death,  aged  ninety,  on  the  farm  before  mentioned. 
He  married  Mary  Sturgeon,  born  in  1778,  and  died  October  14,  1832,  and 
they  had  a  family:  Ebenezer,  William,  Joseph,  Robert  S.,  Joseph  W.  and 
Mary  E. 


132  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

ROBERT  S.  ROBB,  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Hostetter  Company 
of  Pittsburg,  forms  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  but  much  concerning  the  Robb 
family,  from  which  he  has  descended,  will  also  appear  in  this  connection. 
From  the  American  ancestor  down  to  the  subject  the  genealogical  line  is  as 
follows : 

(I)  Joseph  Robb. 

(II)  John  Robb,  Sr. 

(III)  John  Robb,  Jr.,  son  of  the  founder. 

(IV)  Joseph  Robb,  son  of  John  Robb,  Jr. 

(V)  Ebenezer  Robb,  son  of  Joseph  Robb. 

(VI)  Robert  S.  Robb,  son  of  Ebenezer  Robb. 

William  Penn  having  obtained  a  grant  from  Charles  II,  in  i68i,  for  the 
land  now  known  as  Pennsylvania  (Penn's  Woods),  founded  the  city  of  Phila- 
delphia in  1682,  which  city  was  practically  all  of  Pennsylvania  during  the 
colonial  period.  The  inducements  offered  by  Penn  to  attract  settlers  upon  this 
grant  were  of  such  a  character  as  to  attract  the  attention  of  emigrants  from 
England,  Scotland,  Ireland,  Wales  and  the  Continent  generally,  and  especially 
Scotland  and  the  north  of  Ireland,  and  it  is  not  surprising  to  find  the  Robbs 
coming  in  families  consisting  of  fathers  and  sons  and  in  groups  of  families, 
seeking  new  homes  in  the  new  land. 

It  should  be  remembered  at  the  outset  that  Philadelphia  was  the  only  city 
in  Pennsylvania  of  any  importance  in  the  early  years  of  1700,  and  that  all 
emigrants  would  probably,  after  landing  at  that  point,  diverge  toward  the 
most  available  and  most  attractive  places  open  for  settlement.  Consequently 
we  find  a  number  of  settlements  by  the  Robbs  in  Chester,  Lancaster  and  Cum- 
berland counties.  The  earliest  mention  of  the  Robb  fam.ily  in  Pennsylvania 
is  under  the  date  of  1725,  when  Henry  Robb,  of  Germantown  (Philadelphia), 
a  weaver  "by  trade,  in  1738  appeared  as  a  witness  to  the  signing  of  a  will  of 
one  of  his  neighbors ;  he  seems  to  have  removed  to  Cheltenham,  Philadelphia, 
now  Montgomery  county,  where  he  resided  in  1746,  where  an  executor  of  the 
will  of  one  George  Trout  executed  a  deed  for  some  property  in  this  capacity. 

(V)  Ebenezer  Robb,  son  of  Joseph  and  Mary  (Sturgeon  )  Robb,  was  born 
on  the  old  homestead  in  1810.  and  died  in  1884.  Squire  Robb,  as  he  was 
always  addressed,  possessed  more  than  ordinary  attainments.  He  served  as 
a  justice  of  the  peace  for  many  years,  and  took  great  interest  in  the  affairs  of 
his  community.  He  had  a  strong  will  and  a  positive  character,  with  a  high 
sense  of  honor,  and  was  noted  for  his  great  integrity.  He  was  a  devout  and 
zealous  member  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church,  serving  many  years  as  an 
elder,  both  in  the  Robinson  and  McDonald  churches.  Politically  he  was  an 
old-line  Whig.  The  old  farm  consisted  of  one  hundred  and  fifty  acres,  upon 
which  stood  a  log  house,  but  in  his  day  he  built  a  new  one  and  materially 
improved  the  place.  It  is  still  in  the  family.  He  married  Eliza  Wallace,  born 
in  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  about  sixty-seven  years  of  age 
at  her  death.  She  was  the  daughter  of  Robert  Wallace.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Ebenezer  Robb  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  i.  Joseph,  died 
young.  2.  William,  died  young.  3.  Robert  S.  (subject).  4.  Joseph  W.,  of 
Washington,  Pennsylvania.  5.  Mary  E.,  wife  of  Joseph  Reynolds,  of  Mc- 
Donald, Pennsylvania,  whose  daughter  is  Mary. 

(VI)  Robert  S.  Robb,  son  of  Ebenezer  and  Eliza  (Wallace)  Robb,  was 
born  August  24,  1841,  and  received  his  education  at  the  public  schools  of  his 


(kd^,  /2/J/;a> 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  133 

native  township  in  Washington  county,  Pennsylvania.  At  the  age  of  seven- 
teen years  he  went  to  Mansfield,  Pennsylvania,  and  attended  the  Carnegie 
Academy,  where  he  took  a  preparatory  course,  and  in  1861  entered  Jefferson 
•College,  graduating  in  1864.  He  then  came  to  Pittsburg  and  read  law  in  the 
office  of  Kirkpatrick  &  Mellon,  and  was  about  to  be  admitted  to  the  bar  when 
his  eyesight  failed  and  he  was  totally  blind  for  three  months.  Having  to 
abandon  the  cherished  notion  of  pursuing  his  profession,  he  returned  to  his 
•old  home  in  Washington  county  and  remained  on  the  farm.  Prior  to  this,  and 
during  his  college  term  in  1863,  he  was  drafted  and  was  mustered  into  the 
Union  army,  but  paid  three  hundred  dollars  for  a  substitute  and  returned  to 
college,  and  after  he  completed  his  college  course  he  volunteered,  serving  on 
detached  duty  with  the  rank  of  orderly  sergeant  with  a  corporal's  guard,  and 
was  stationed  at  the  Union  Station  of  the  Pennsylvania  railroad  on  Liberty 
street,  Pittsburg,  to  take  charge  of  the  Rebel  prisoners  being  sent  to  Dayton, 
Ohio.  After  serving  six  months  the  regiment  to  which  he  belonged  was  hon- 
orably discharged  at  Camp  Howe.  He  came  to  Pittsburg  about  1866  and 
followed  mercantile  pursuits  a  few  years,  and  in  1872  entered  the  employ  of 
Hostetter  &  Smith  as  a  clerk,  and  has  been  constantly  in  the  employ  of  the 
company  (now  the  Hostetter  Company)  ever  since.  He  is  now  secretary  and 
treasurer.  Politically  Mr.  Robb  is  a  supporter  of  the  Republican  party,  but 
has  never  aspired  to  official  position.  He  is  of  the  United  Presbyterian  church 
faith  and  profession.  When  a  youth  he  walked  four  miles  to  attend  the  old 
Robinson  church,  and  after  he  came  to  Allegheny  City  he  united  with  the 
Third  United  Presbyterian  church,  known  as  Ridge  Avenue  church.  He  was 
a  trustee  and  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  school  for  over  ten  years.  He  was 
appointed  a  member  of  the  general  assembly  and  was  secretary  of  a  committee 
to  revise  pastoral  and  Bible  songs  of  both  the  church  and  Sunday  school. 
About  1889  he  severed  his  connection  with  this  church  and  became  a  member 
of  the  Westminster  Presbyterian  church,  and  was  chosen  treasurer  of  the 
building  committee  for  the  erection  of  the  new  church  on  Buena  Vista  street. 
He  was  also  a  member  of  the  session  and  board  of  trustees.  In  1894,  on 
account  of  his  removal  to  North  Craig  street,  Pittsburg,  he  became  a  member 
of  Bellfield  Presbyterian  church,  where  he  is  a  member  of  the  board  of  trustees, 
as  well  as  interested  in  the  work  of  the  Sunday  school.  Mr.  Robb  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Sons  of  the  Revolution,  being  eligible  through  both  the  paternal 
and  maternal  branches  of  the  family. 

He  was  married  first  to  Miss  Emma  S.  Boyd,  daughter  of  Alexander 
Boyd  and  wife.  Mrs.  Robb  was  born  about  1842  and  died  September  2,  1904. 
By  this  union  were  born  children,  but  none  lived  to  maturity.  For  his  second 
wife  Mr.  Robb  married  Mrs.  Mary  Persohn,  whose  father  was  the  master 
mechanic  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company's  shops  at  Steubenville,  Ohio. 
The  Persohn  familv  are  of  old  Huguenot  stock. 


JOHN  VALENTINE  STOER,  an  honored  and  respected  citizen  residing 
at  No.  309  Edgewood  avenue,  Edgewood  Park,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  an  honorably  discharged  veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  descends  from  an 
lionored  family  of  Germany. 

Peter  Stoer,  grandfather  of  John  Valentine  Stoer,  was  a  resident  of 
Nuremburg,  Bavaria,  and  had  a  number  of  children.     Three  of  them,   who 


134 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


emigrated  to  America,  bore  the  names :  John  J.,,  see  forward ;  Margaret,  mar- 
ried Henry  Senft;  and  Sophia,  married  John  Lang. 

John  J.  Stoer,  son  of  Peter  Stoer,  was  born  in  Nuremburg,  Germany,  m 
1811,  and  came  to  this  country  in  1839,  settHng  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania. 
He  was  by  trade  a  carpenter  and  his  first  position  was  with  George  A.  Berry, 
and  later  he  took  charge  of  the  powder  magazine  on  Black  Horse  Hill,  where 
he  was  employed  until  1845.  In  the  great  conflagration  of  that  year  the  build- 
ing in  which  he  resided  was  the  one  in  which  the  fire  originated,  and  he  lost 
everything.  He  then  went  to  Riceville,  where  he  resumed  his  work  as  a  car- 
penter, and  the  following  year  built  a  house  at  the  corner  of  McGee  and 
Gibbon  streets  and  started  in  the  grocery  business,  which  he  later  sold.  He 
then  purchased  a  plot  of  ground  consisting  of  one  acre  and  a  half  at  Oakland, 
and  erected  the  building  which  is  now  ( 1908)  occupied  by  the  Keely  Institute. 
Soon  afterward  he  retired  from  active  labor  and  took  up  his  residence  on 
Squirrel  Hill,  where  he  had  acquired  a  property  of  fourteen  acres,  and  on 
which  he  resided  until  his  death  in  1896.  He  was  a  member  of  the  city  council 
for  two  terms,  and  was  a  strenuous  opposer  of  the  water  bond  bill.  During 
the  Civil  war  he  was  a  member  of  the  sanitary  commission  organized  to  care 
for  the  widows  and  orphans  of  the  soldiers  who  fell  during  the  struggle.  He 
was  also  president  of  the  school  board  for  two  terms.  In  politics  he  was  a 
stalwart  Republican.  His  religious  affiliations  were  with  the  German  Lu- 
theran church,  and  he  was  for  many  years  a  trustee  and  active  worker  in  the 
interests  of  that  institution.  He  married  Charlotte  Sophia  Grau,  and  they 
had  children:  i.  John  F.,  of  Philadelphia,  who  married  Susanna,  maiden 
name  unknown,  and  has  two  sons,  Walter  and  Frederick.  2.  John  Valentine, 
see  forward.  3.  Louisa,  married  Charles  T.  Ebdy  and  has  children:  John, 
Lottie  and  Charles.  4.  George,  deceased.  5.  John  J.,  Jr.,  married  Margaret 
Mugle ;  has  children,  Frederick  and  Herbert,  the  latter  a  naval  cadet  at  An- 
napolis.    6.   Charlotte  Sophia,  married  J.  H.  Launer, 

John  Valentine  Stoer,  second  son  and  child  of  John  J.  and  Charlotte 
Sophia  (Grau)  Stoer,  was  born  in  the  old  Eighth  ward  of  Pittsburg,  Penn- 
sylvania, December  28,  1846.  His  early  years  were  spent  in  his  native  city 
and  he  was  there  educated  in  the  pubHc  schools.  While  still  a  mere  lad,  in 
1861,  he  enlisted  in  Company  K,  Ninth  Pennsylvania  Cavalry,  Colonel  E.  C 
Williams  and  Captain  Jones  commanding.  He  was  wounded  at  Bacon  Creek, 
Kentucky,  after  a  service  of  twelve  months,  and  spent  three  months  in  the  hos- 
pital. As  soon  as  he  was  sufficiently  recovered  he  re-enlisted,  this  time  in  the 
Negley  Cavalry,  under  Colonel  Negley.  After  considerable  active  service  with 
this  troop  he  again  enlisted  in  Company  F,  Captain  Graham.  With  the  excep- 
tion of  the  time  spent  in  the  hospital  Mr.  Stoer  was  in  active  service  through- 
out the  progress  of  the  war,  and  was  an  active  participant  in  some  of  the 
most  important  engagements,  among  them :  Chickamauga,  Pittsburg  Landing, 
Nashville  and  Fort  Donelson.  He  received  an  honorable  discharge  Septem- 
ber 15,  1865,  and  returned  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the  grocery 
business  until  1876,  when  he  started  in  the  hotel  business  on  Fifth  avenue.  He 
made  a  very  successful  venture  of  this  line  of  business,  from  which  he  retired 
in  1903  and  removed  to  Edgewood,  where  he  has  since  resided.  He  has  served 
three  terms  as  a  member  of  the  school  board  of  the  city,  and  is  at  present  a 
member  of  the  board  of  health  of  Edgewood.     He  gives  his  strong  support  to 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  135 


the  Republican  party,  and  is  a  member  of  the  J.  C.  Hull  Post  No.  157,  G.  A. 
R.,  of  Pittsburg. 

He  married,  in  the  fall  of  1867,  Caroline  Hauch,  daughter  of  Nicholas 
Hauch,  of  Pittsburg,  and  they  have  one  daughter,  Annie,  born  June  2,  1868, 
widow  of  August  Giesemann.  She  resides  with  her  father  and  is  the  mistress 
of  his  beautiful  home. 

Another  member  of  the  family  is  Miss  Clara  Gartner,  who  came  into  the 
family  when  she  was  fourteen  years  of  age.  She  was  born  in  Westphalia 
Dortmund,  Germany,  September  27,  1871,  a  daughter  of  Herman  and  Fred- 
erika  (Von  Apen)  Gartner.  Her  mother  came  to  Pittsburg  from  Germany 
with  her  five  children — Clara,  Herman,  Lizzie,  Emma  and  Freda — September 
26,  1882.  After  the  death  of  her  mother  in  1885,  Clara  came  to  the  Stoer 
home,  and  ever  since  has  been  a  loved  and  cherished  inmate.  Mr.  Stoer  is  a 
great  traveler,  both  in  America  and  abroad,  and  is  frequently  accompanied  by 
his  daughter  and  Miss  Gartner. 


THE  PEABODY  FAMILY.  This  ancient  family,  which  numbers  among 
its  representatives  George  L.  Peabody,  of  Pittsburg,  traces  its  origin  from 
John  Paybody  (as  the  name  was  originally  spelled),  who  was  born  about  1590, 
in  England,  and  about  1635  emigrated  to  the  American  colonies.  From  him 
are  descended  all  in  this  country  who  bear  the  name  of  Peabody,  however 
varied  in  orthography. 

(I)  John  Paybody  married,  in  England,  Isabel  ,  and  their  chil- 
dren were:  Thomas,  of  whom  there  is  no  record;  Francis,  born  1614,  married 
Mary  Foster,  of  Ipswich,  died  February  19,  1697-8;  William,  of  whom  later; 
and  Annis,  who  became  the  wife  of  John  Rouse,  who  is  mentioned,  with 
William  Paybody,  as  one  of  the  original  proprietors  of  Little  Compton  (orig- 
inally Seaconet).  John  Paybody,  the  emigrant,  died  in  1667,  in  Bridgewater, 
and  was  survived  by  his  wife. 

(II)  William  Paybody,  son  of  John  (I)  and  Isabel  Paybody,  was  born 
1619-20  and  married  Elizabeth  Alden,  who  was  the  first  white  female  child 
born  in  this  country  after  the  landing  of  the  Pilgrims.  She  was  the  daughter 
of  John  Alden  and  Priscilla  Mullins,  the  story  of  whose  courtship  and  mar- 
riage has  been  imperishably  embalmed  by  Longfellow  in  "The  Courtship  of 
Miles  Standish."  William  Paybody  and  Elizabeth  Alden  were  the  parents 
of  the  following  children:  John,  born  October  4,  1645,  died  November  17, 
1669;  Elizabeth,  born  April  24,  1647,  wife  of  John  Rodgers;  Mary,  born  1648, 
married,  1669,  Edward  Southworth;  Mercy,  born  January  2,  1649,  married, 
1671,  John  Simmons;  Martha,  born  February  24,  1650,  married,  1677,  Samuel 
Seabury;  Priscilla,  born  January  15,  1653,  wife  of  the  Reverend  Ichabod  Wis- 
wall;  Sarah,  born  August  7,  1654,  married,  1680,  John  Coe;  Ruth,  born  June 
2"^,  1658,  wife  of  Benjamin  Bartlett,  Jr.;  Rebecca,  born  October  16,  1660, 
married,  1680.  William  Southworth;  Hannah,  born  October  15,  1662,  married, 
1683,  Samuel  Bartlett;  William,  of  whom  later;  and  Lydia,  born  April  3,  1667. 
William  Paybody,  the  father,  died  in  Little  Compton  December  3,  1707. 

(III)  William  Paybody,  son  of  William  (II)  and  Elizabeth  (Alden) 
Paybody,  was  born   November  24.   1664,  and  was  twice  married.     His  first 

wife  was  Judith ,  born  1669,  and  their  children  were :    Elizabeth,  born 

April  18,  1698,  married,  ]\Iay  9,  1716,  Edward  Gray;  John,  born  February  7, 


136  A    CENTURY   AND   A   HALF    OF 

1700,  married,  February  7,  1723,  Rebecca  Gray,  and  died  January  12,  1766; 
William,  of  whom  later;  Rebecca,  born  February  29,  1704,  wife  of  the  Rev- 
erend Joseph  Fish,  died  October  27,  1783;  Priscilla,  born  March  4,  1706,  wife 
of  Gideon  Southworth,  died  1727-8;  Judith,  born  January  23,  1708,  married, 
May  21,  1728,  Benjamin  Church;  Joseph,  born  July  26,  1710;  and  Mary,  born 
April  4,  1712,  died  September  14,  1766.  The  mother  of  these  children  died 
July  28,  1714.  By  the  second  wife  of  William  Paybody  he  had  one  son, 
Benjamin,  born  November  25,  1717,  probably  died  young.  The  death  of 
William  Paybody,  the  father,  occurred  September  17,  1744. 

(IV)  William  Paybody,  son  of  William  (III)  and  Judith  Paybody,  was 
born  February  21,  1702,  and  between  the  years  1741  and  1744  moved  to  North 
Stonington,  where  he  purchased  a  farm  of  two  hundred  and  fifty  acres,  on 
which  he  and  many  of  his  family  are  buried.  William  Paybody  married,  in 
Little  Compton,  July  30,  1724,  Jerusha  Star,  and  their  children  were:  Rachel, 
born  June  i,  1725,  wife  of Stoddard;  Thomas,  of  whom  later;  Han- 
nah, born  December  3,  1729,  wife  of Chester;  William,  born  April 

16,  1733;  Lydia,  born  January  7,  1735,  wife  of  Lodowick  Miner;  Samuel,  born 
August  31,  1738;  Lemuel,  born  July  12,  1741,  died  August  16,  1759;  James 
and  Mary  (twins),  born  December  14,  1745,  died  single  1826. 

(V)  Thomas  Paybody,  son  of  William  (IV)  and  Jerusha  (Star)  Pay- 
body,  w^as  born  November  3,  1727,  and  married,  August  16,  1761,  Ruth  Bab- 
cock,  born  1735,  by  whom  he  was  the  father  of  the  following  children:  Ruth, 
born  February  7,  1762,  wife  of  Daniel  Smith;  Jerusha,  born  April  28,  1763; 
William,  born  July  22,  1764,  married,  December  17,  1795,  Polly  Holmes; 
Lydia,  born  February  28,  1766,  wife  of ■. — -  Williams;  Rebecca,  born  Janu- 
ary 29,  1768,  wife  of  Elijah  Wattles;  Thomas,  born  April  12,  1769,  died  May 
3,  1853;  Susannah,  born  April  12,  1770,  wife  of  Jonas  Chapman;  Benjamin, 
of  whom  later;  Amy,  born  February  22,  1774,  died  June  6,  1775;  John,  born 
August  28,  1775,  died  April  14,  1803;  Lucy,  born  June  26,  1777,  wife  of  John 
Coates ;  Lemuel,  born  December  20,  1778;  Joseph,  born  April  i,  1781 ;  and 
(perhaps)  Mary,  wife  of  Ebenezer  Williams.  Mrs.  Paybody,  the  mother  of 
this  family,  died  October  6,  181 3,  and  the  death  of  Thomas  Paybody,  the 
father,  occurred  March  24,  18 15. 

(VI)  Benjamin  Paybody,  son  of  Thomas  (V)  and  Ruth  (Babcock) 
Paybody,  was  born  April  29,  1772,  and  was  the  owner  of  the  farm  in  North 
Stonington,  Connecticut,  on  which  is  situated  the  old  Peabody  cemetery  where 
his  great-grandfather  and  the  following  generations  are  interred.  This  estate 
is  still  in  the  possession  of  the  Peabodys.  Benjamin  Paybody  married,  Novem- 
ber 13,  1796,  Abigail  Holmes,  born  1779,  and  their  children  were:  Ben- 
jamin, born  June  16,  1797;  George  Washington,  of  whom  later;  Abigail,  born 
February  17,  1801,  died  August  22,  1830;  John,  born  May  24,  1803;  William 
Pitt,  born  July  24,  1805  ;  Giles  Henry,  born  September  25,  1807 ;  Rebecca,  born 
in  1810.  Mrs.  Paybody  died  November  30.  181 1,  and  Mr.  Paybody  subse- 
quently married  Martha  Packham,  born  1789,  who  bore  him  the  following 
children:  Francis  S.,  born  April  29,  1815;  Martha  E.,  born  April  24,  1819; 
Mary,  born  May  2,  1822 ;  Fanny  A.,  born  June  29,  1825  ;  Nancy,  born  Septem- 
ber 5,  1827;  and  James  Alden,  born  May  30.  1830.  The  death  of  Mrs.  Pay- 
body  occurred  May  13,  1848,  and  Mr.  Paybody  survived  until  January  7,  1867, 
when  he  passed  away,  in  his  ninety-fifth  year. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  137 


(VII)  George  Washington  Peabody,  son  of  Benjamin  (VI)  and  Abigail 
(Holmes)  Paybody,  was  born  January  25,  1799,  and  in  1823  removed  to 
Ohio,  where  he  passed  the  remainder  of  his  Hfe.  He  married  Cynthia,  born 
1805,  daughter  of  Ohver  Hehiie,  of  Wilkes  Barre,  Pennsylvania,  and  their 
children  were:  Sarah  Delia,  born  March  10,  1824,  married,  May  10,  1845, 
Timothy  Banning,  and  died  January  25,  1865;  Benjamin  Holmes,  of  whom 
later,  and  Melinda  Eunice,  born  April  10,  1833,  married,  December  27,  1854, 
Newton  J.  Swezey.  Mrs.  Peabody  died  July  27,  1853,  ^"d  the  death  of  Mr. 
Peabody  occurred  August  27,  1858.  Both  are  buried  in  East  Gustavus  ceme- 
tery, Ohio. 

(Vni)  Benjamin  Holmes  Peabody,  son  of  George  Washington  (VH) 
and  Cynthia  (Helme)  Peabody,  was  born  September  21,  1825,  and  received 
the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine  from  what  is  now  the  Cleveland  Medical 
College.  He  married,  May  25,  1849,  Mary  Anna,  daughter  of  Asahel  and 
Dency  (Crosby)  Banning,  of  East  Gustavus,  Ohio,  and  they  were  the  parents 
of  two  children,  George  Lee,  of  whom  later,  and  Mary. 

(IX)  George  Lee  Peabody,  son  of  Benjamin  Holmes  (VIII)  and  Mary 
Anna  (Banning)  Peabody,  was  born  July  21,  1851,  has  engaged  in  several 
business  enterprises,  and  is  chiefly  occupied  in  paving  and  building,  being  a 
pioneer  in  the  erection  of  tall  re-enforced  steel  concrete  fireproof  structures. 
Since  his  marriage  he  has  resided  in  Pittsburg. 

Mr.  Peabody  married  Marion,  daughter  of  George  A.  and  Mary  Augustus 
(Sperry)  Griswold,  of  East  Gustavus,  Ohio,  and  their  family  consists  of 
the  following  children :  Mary  Louise,  Helen  A.,  and  George  Lee,  of  whom 
later. 

(X)  George  Lee  Peabody,  son  of  George  Lee  (IX)  and  Marion  (Gris- 
wold) Peabody,  received  his  preparatory  education  at  Shady  Side  Academy 
and  is  now  (1907)  pursuing  a  course  of  study  preliminary  to  entering  Cornell 
University. 

Mary  Louise  Peabody.  eldest  daughter  of  George  Lee  and  Marion  (Gris- 
wold) Peabody,  is  the  wife  of  Earle  R.  Marvin,  and  has  three  children:  Mar- 
ion, Sylvester  S.  and  Martha. 


McCLURE  FAMILY.  The  progenitor  of  this  family  in  America  was 
James  jNIcClure  (I),  who  was  born  in  Antrim  county,  Ireland,  and  emigrated 
to  this  country,  settling  in  Snowden  township,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, in  1839,  and  there  followed  farming  for  an  occupation.  In  his  native 
country  he  had  married  Eliza  Thompson,  born  in  that  country  and  by  whom  he 
had  seven  children,  five  born  in  Ireland,  and  who  accompanied  their  parents 
to  America.    They  were  as  follows : 

(I)  John,  who  died  unmarried,  aged  fifty-seven  years.  2.  Robert,  who 
married  and  moved  to  the  state  of  Washington,  where  he  died  in  19c  5.  3. 
Margaret,  who  married  John  McQuiston,  of  Pittsburg,  and  had  two  children : 
John,  a  physician  of  Pittsburg,  married  Miss  Ida  Wadsworth ;  Marion  mar- 
ried Joseph  Bowman,  and  to  them  has  been  born — Genevra  and  Charles.  4. 
Martha,  who  married  William  Shaw,  and  they  had  two  children — Ida  G.,  who 
married  J.  P.  Bailey,  by  whom  she  had  Annaclare,  Martha,  Addison  and  James. 
The  other  child  is  William  James  Shaw,  an  architect  of  Pittsburg.  5.  Wil- 
liam lames,  born  March  22,  1836,  died  March  9,  1878,  married.  May  i,  1868, 


138  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

in  Venango  county,  Pennsylvania,  Margaret  Zuver,  born  in  New  Wilmington, 
Lawrence  county,'  Pennsylvania,  April  4,  1844,  the  daughter  of  Joseph  and 
Nancy  (Blair)  Zuver.  He  was  born  in  New  Jersey  in  1804  and  died  in  1882. 
Nancy  Blair  was  born  near  Wilmington,  Pennsylvania,  in  1806,  and  died  Au- 
gust 2,  1888.  They  were  the  parents  of  nine  children,  and  Margaret  (Mrs. 
William  James  McClure)  was  the  seventh  child.  Joseph  Zuver  was  a  car- 
penter and  bridge  builder  and  built  many  bridges  in  and  near  Lawrence 
county. 

(II)  William  James  McClure  and  his  wife,  Margaret  (Zuver)  McClure, 
were  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  i.  Eliza,  born  January  21,  1869, 
now  assistant  principal  in  the  Twenty-seventh  ward  schools.  2.  Joseph,  born 
September  29,  1870,  unmarried.  He  attended  law  school  at  Michigan  Univer- 
sity and  is  now  practicing  law  in  the  city  of  Pittsburg.  3.  James,  born  May 
23,  1872,  married  Edith,  daughter  of  W.  E.  and  Robina  (Lindsay)  Duncan, 
whose  only  child  is  Robina  Margaret.  James  McClure  (II)  is  a  graduate 
of  Princeton  College  with  the  class  of  1897,  and  is  now  engaged  in  the  gen- 
eral insurance  business  at  Pittsburg,  of  the  firm  of  Little  &  McClure.  4. 
William  C,  born  June  7,  1874,  attended  law  school  at  the  Michigan  Univer- 
sity, and  now  practices  at  Pittsburg.  He  married  Elizabeth  N.  Woodside,  and 
their  child  is  Elizabeth  N.  5.  John  B.,  born  March  9,  1880,  at  McKeesport; 
he  married  Jennie  G.  Scott.  6.  Blaine,  born  September  10,  1881,  at  Pittsburg, 
is  unmarried  and  resides  in  Oklahoma,  where  he  is  engaged  in  the  mercantile 
business.  7.  Margaret,  born  in  Pittsburg.  April  16,  1884,  now  a  teacher  in 
ward  Twenty-three  of  Pittsburg,  being  in  the  department  of  domestic  science. 
8.  Helen,  born  in  Pittsburg,  April  3,  1890,  now  attending  Pittsburg  high 
school.  The  first  four  of  this  family  were  born  in  Venango  county,  Penn- 
sylvania. 

William  James  McClure,  father  of  this  family,  was  reared  on  a  farm,  ob- 
tained his  education  at  the  public  schools  and  at  an  early  age  began  teaching 
school,  continuing  for  some  time.  He  went  to  Venango  county  during  the  oil 
excitement  and  there  taught  for  a  short  period  at  Oil  City.  He  also  served 
as  county  superintendent  of  schools  in  Venango  county  for  one  term  of  three 
years.  Subsequently  he  removed  to  McKeesport,  where  he  taught,  and  from 
there  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  was  made  principal  of  the  Morse  Schools 
in  the  Twenty-fifth  ward.  He  continued  there  for  eighteen  years,  giving 
the  best  of  his  time  and  talents  towards  the  work  of  education.  He  resigned 
in  1897,  one  year  before  his  death. 

Of  the  two  children  born  to  James  McClure  and  wife  (the  American 
progenitors  of  the  family),  in  this  country — Isaac  and  Elizabeth — the  follow- 
ing is  an  account : 

(II)  Isaac  McClure  married  Laura  Baker  and  they  now  reside  at  Cin- 
cinnati. Ohio.  They  have  three  children — Mary,  who  married  a  Mr.  Lansdale ; 
Florence,  who  married  Frank  Kirschner,  of  Chicago,  and  Robert,  of  Chicago. 

(II)  Elizabeth  McClure  married  Samuel  J.  Heath,  and  to  them  were  born 
eight  children,  as  follows:  i.  William  S.,  who  married  Rebecca  Guthrie, 
by  whom  was  born  four  children — Helen,  Earl  S.,  OHve,  Elizabeth.  2.  Harry 
H.,  who  married  Martha  Gilmore,  whose  children  are — Edna,  Margaret  and 
Joe.  3.  Malvern,  who  married  W.  B.  Chamberlain,  whose  children  are — 
Edith,  May  and  Samuel.     4.  Rev.  Samuel,  who  married  Belle   McCormick. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


139 


5.  Elizabeth  Eleanor,  who  married  Dr.  J.  M.  Davis,  by  whom  was  born 
Wilder  and  Samuel  Davis.  6.  Alalcom,  who  married  Mabel  Mowry.  7. 
Estella,  unmarried.    8.     Dr.  Edmund  P.,  unmarried. 


LAWRENCE  OEFFNER,  a  well  known  resident  of  Homestead,  Alle- 
gheny county,  Pennsylvania,  at  present  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  in- 
surance business,  and  formerly  identified  with  a  number  of  business  enter- 
prises, is  a  representative  of  the  second  generation  of  the  Oeffner  family  in  the 
United  States,  and  traces  his  ancestry  to  Germany,  where  the  family  was 
highly  respected. 

John  Frederick  Oeffner,  father  of  Lawrence  Oeft'ner,  was  born  in  Unter- 
winterbach,  Bavaria,  Germany,  March  14,  1824.  During  the  political  disturb- 
ances of  1848  m  that  country  Mr.  Oeft"ner  decided  to  come  to  America  with  his 
wife  and  infant  daughter.  They  settled  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  what  was 
then  called  Lawrenceville  or  Bayardstown,  and  for  a  time  he  was  employed  in 
a  planing  mill.  He  had  the  misfortune,  however,  to  lose  his  hand  while  thus 
employed,  and  was  obliged  to  abandon  this  occupation.  He  engaged  in  the 
newspaper  business,  which  he  followed  for  about  a  period  of  twelve  years. 
During  the  Civil  war  he  was  the  owner  of  the  steamboat  "Greenback,"  which 
plied  for  two  years  on  the  Monongahela  and  Ohio  rivers,  and  was  sunk  shortly 
after  the  close  of  the  war  while  hauling  a  fleet  of  coal  boats.  Mr.  Oeffner  mar- 
ried, in  Germany,  Anna  Margaret  Twentier,  born  in  Shemsdorf,  Germany, 
September  16,  1826,  and  they  had  children:  i.  Margaret,  born  in  Germany, 
married  William  Farquhar,  had  children :  John,  Frank,  Ellis,  Allen,  Nettie 
and  Ross.  2.  Lawrence,  see  forward.  3.  John  G.,  born  in  old  Fort  Pitt, 
was  justice  of  the  peace  in  Homestead  for  two  terms.  He  died  suddenly 
June  28,  1893.  He  married  Laura  Hawthorne  and  had  children:  Lawrence, 
Maud,  Sadie,  Laura,  Eva  and  John.  4.  Barbara,  born  in  185 1,  died  in  infancy. 
5.  Anna,  who  died  January  2,  1889,  married  John  Briggs.  6.  Mary  married 
Christopher  Ross  and  had  children :    Edwin,  deceased,  Ellsworth  and  Walter. 

7.  Lizzie  married  George  Ross  and  had  children :  Edna,  Carl  and  Llewella. 

8.  Emma,  who  died  January  25,  1895,  married  Harry  Beck  and  has  one  child, 
Alargaret.  9.  Peter  J.,  born  July  22,  1865,  married  Emma  Evans,  and  had 
children :  Joseph,  Abiram.  Ethel  and  Oliver.  10.  William  married  and  had 
children  :  Marie,  Sherman  and  Clyde,  now  of  Jefferson,  Ohio.  The  father  was 
killed  by  accident  on  the  P.  M.  K.  &  S.  Railroad  track  on  March  13,  1893.  The 
mother  died  October  19,1882. 

Lawrence  Oeffner,  eldest  son  and  second  child  of  John  Frederick  and 
Anna  Margaret  (Twentier)  Oeff"ner,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
in  what  was  then  called  Lawrenceville,  May  18,  1849.  -^^  ^  very  early  age  he 
began  assisting  his  father  in  selling  and  delivering  papers  at  the  corner  of 
Smithfield  street  and  Fifth  avenue,  at  the  same  time  working  for  Fleming 
&  Brothers  on  Wood  street,  manufacturers  of  McLean's  Liver  Pills  and 
Vermifuge.  During  the  progress  of  the  Civil  war,  when  the  rumor  came  of 
the  approach  of  the  Confederate  army,  3-oung  Oeffner  assisted  in  the  digging 
of  trenches  on  the  farm  of  Mr.  Winebiddle  and  on  Mount  Oliver,  but  these 
precautions  proved  unnecessary.  Subsequently  Mr.  Oeffner  learned  the  irade 
of  brass  moulding,  but  ill  health  compelled  him  to  abandon  this.  He  then 
worked  in   succession   at   the   following  places  and  at  these   various   occupa- 


T40  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


tions:  With  Lewis,  Oliver  &  Phillips,  and  assisted  John  Phillips,  a  member 
of  the  firm,  to  place  the  cast-iron  feather  decorations  on  one  of  the  large  smoke- 
stacks, and  also  drape  the  building  in  black  at  the  time  of  the  assassination  of 
President  Lincoln,  remaining  with  this  firm  for  eight  years ;  for  some  time 
with  the  Atlantic  Glass  Company ;  the  Enterprise  Glass  Company,  which  failed, 
owing  to  the  panic  of  1873,  and  the  works  shut  down ;  Wormser,  Meyers 
&  Company,  of  Pittsburg,  buying  oil  barrels  and  making  contracts  for  the 
purchase  of  the  same,  and  he  then  took  up  the  selling  of  oil  for  himself,  and 
continued  this  for  twenty-two  years,  when  he  was  given  a  six  months'  notice 
by  the  Standard  Oil  Company  to  quit.  But  he  was  in  business  seven  years 
after  this,  then  sold  his  interest  to  the  Lytle  &  Pears  Company.  He  then 
became  general  agent  for  the  L.  Hoster  Brewing  Company,  a  position  he  held 
until  1892,  when  he  established  himself  in  his  present  line  of  business,  real 
estate  and  insurance,  in  Homestead,  in  which  he  has  made  a  decided  success. 
His  political  affiliations  are  with  the  Republican  party  and  he  has  filled  a 
number  of  public  offices  with  credit  to  himself  and  advantage  to  the  community, 
having  been  a  school  director  in  the  early  days  of  Mifflin  township.  He  was 
school  director  in  1886-7;  ]^^'^^^  of  the  election  board,  and  delegate  to  Re- 
publican conventions.  He  is  a  member  of  Franklin  Lodge  No.  221,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Duquesne  Chapter  No.  193,  and  Pittsburg  Com- 
mandery  No.  i ;  Homestead  Turn  and  Gesang  Verein  "Eintracht,"  a  German 
singing  society  of  which  Mr.  Oefifner  was  one  of  the  incorporators ;  formerly 
a  member  of  the  United  American  Mechanics ;  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows ;  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  and  Fraternal  Bankers  of 
America,  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  He  and  his  family  are  members  of  the 
German  Lutheran  church. 

Mr.  Oeft'ner  married.  May  30,  1873,  Catherine  Beam,  born  November  2, 
1851,  daughter  of  John  and  Margaret  (Weaver)  Beam,  of  South  Side,  Pitts- 
burg, and  they  have  had  the  following  named  children:  i.  Charles  J.,  born 
March  15,  1874,  resides  in  Alliance,  Ohio.  His  wife  was  Margaret  Aiken, 
of  Alliance,  Ohio,  and  they  have  one  child,  Margaret.  2.  George  W.,  born 
January  8,  1876,  resides  in  Bergholz,  Ohio.  He  married  Mary  Twaddle.  3. 
Nellie  B.,  born  October  31,  1877,  married  Myron  Mason,  deceased,  resides 
in  Homestead,  and  has  children:  Walter  and  Elizabeth  Thelma.  4.  Stella 
M.  E.,  born  December  11,  1879,  married,  October  28,  1898,  Frederick  Gluck, 
deceased ;  resides  in  Homestead.  5.  Elizabeth  E.,  bom  December  2,  1882, 
married  George  W.  Fishell ;  resides  in  Homestead.  6.  Lawrence  O.,  born 
October  17,  1886,  resides  in  Homestead.  7.  Nora  E.,  born  November  27, 
1889,  resides  in  Homestead. 


THE  GRAFF  FAMILY.  The  earliest  account  of  the  ancestors  of  Henry 
Graff  in  possession  of  the  family  is  near  the  opening  of  the  seventeenth  cen- 
tury. Jacob  Graff,  who  lived  near  Mannheim,  Germany,  had  three  sons,  the 
eldest  of  which  came  to  America  and  settled  near  Lancaster,  Pennsyl- 
vania. The  second  son  was  born  in  1736,  married  February  23,  1762,  and  died 
in_  1802.  A  daughter,  Barbara,  born  May  31,  1744,  married,  March,  1767, 
Nicholas  Grann,  and  their  heirs  ar«  still  living  as  small  farmers  near  Neuwied. 
Germany.  It  is  also  known  that  Peter  Grafif  lived  on  the  Unkerhap  and 
married  Elizabeth  EUenberger,  and  that  they  had  children  as  follows :    James, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  141 


born  1764,  died  November  15,  1824;  Daniel,  born  1767,  died  1809,  unmarried. 

The  Lancaster  county  (Pennsylvania)  records  mention  a  Sebastian  Graff, 
who  died  in  1791  and  had  been  prominent  in  the  affairs  of  the  city  of  Lancaster. 
He  must  have  been  the  son  of  Jacob  Graff,  who  came  to  America  and  settled 
near  that  place.  In  the  same  records  are  the  names  of  Hans,  Sebastian,  George, 
Henry  and  John  Graff,  who  must  have  been  sons  of  Sebastian  Graft'.  On  his 
way  to  Germany  in  1816  Henry  Graff,  son  of  John,  of  Westmoreland  county, 
was  taken  sick  and  remained  with  his  cousin  in  Lancaster  county,  Pennsylvania, 
until  his  recovery.  This  numerous  and  well-known  family,  which  for  three 
generations  has  been  represented  in  Pittsburg,  was  founded  in  this  country 
by  Henry  Graff,  a  native  of  Germany,  whose  home  was  at  Neuwied,  on  the 
Rhine.  During  the  latter  half  of  the  eighteenth  century  he  emigrated  to  this 
country  and  was  considerable  of  a  property  owner.  He  married  Mary  Frudt, 
born  1742,  and  their  issue  was:  i.  John,  of  whom  later.  2.  Paul,  born 
1765,  died  young.  3.  Katherine,  born  1767.  4.  Susannah,  born  1768.  5. 
Elizabeth,  born  1770.  (All  of  whom  died  young.)  6.  Jacob,  born  1772, 
died  1849.  at  Neuwied.  7.  Peter,  born  1775,  died  1842.  8.  Elizabeth  (sec- 
ond of  this  name),  born  1778,  died  1840.     9.  Margaret,  born  1784,  died  1846. 

(H)  John  Graff,  son  of  Henry  and  Mary  (Frudt)  Graff,  was  born  in 
1763,  in  Germany,  and  in  1783  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  on  a  farm 
near  Pleasant  Valley,  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania.  He  married  Bar- 
bara Baum,  and  had  issue:  i.  Henry,  of  whom  later.  2.  Mary,  born  Sep- 
tember 4,  1795,  died  December  4,  1833.  3.  Sarah,  born  May  3,  1797,  died  Sep- 
tember 15,  1850.  4.  William,  born  October  i,  1798,  died  November  18, 
1882.  5.  John,  born  August  3,  1800,  died  January  31,  1835.  6.  Margaret, 
born  May  3,  1802,  died  March  24,  1885.  7.  Joseph,  born  October  13,  1804, 
died  October  13,  1804.  8.  Elizabeth,  born  January  7,  1807,  died  May  19, 
1888.  9.  Peter,  born  May  27,  1808,  died  April  9,  1890.  10.  Jacob,  born 
September  5,  1810,  died  December  9,  1886.  11.  Matthew,  born  August  23, 
1812.  died  July  22',  1902.  12.  Paul,  born  May  31,  1815,  died  August  25,  1898. 
John  Graft',  the  father  of  this  family,  died  December  31,  1818. 

(HI)  Henry  Graff,  son  of  John  and  Barbara  (Baum)  Graff,  was  born  in 
1794,  and  died  September  9,  1855.  On  September  19,  1820,  he  married  Eliza- 
beth Lobinger,  who  was  born  April  3,  1800,  and  died  July  19,  1869.  Both  are 
buried  in  the  Allegheny  Cemetery.  The  birthplace  of  this  Henry  Graff  was  on 
the  old  farm  near  Pleasant  Valley,  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania.  From 
the  time  he  was  old  enough  until  he  was  twenty  years  of  age  he  assisted 
his  father  on  his  farm.  After  the  death  of  his  grandfather,  Henry  Graff,  of 
Germany,  his  father  gave  him  power  of  attorney  and  sent  him  over  there 
to  receive  his  share  of  the  estate.  He  returned  just  before  his  father's  death, 
which  occurred  December  31,  18 18.  Before  leaving  Germany  he  purchased 
a  great  number  of  farming  utensils,  including  hay-forks,  shovels,  spades,  cut- 
ting knives  and  scythes,  these  articles  being  then  scarce  and  of  high  price  in 
this  country.  He  sold  these  at  a  good  profit,  thus  giving  proof  of  his  innate 
business  ability. 

Among  the  articles  which  came  as  heirlooms  from  the  estate  were  tea 
and  tablespoons  of  solid  silver  and  a  valuable  clock,  which  played  a  number  of 
tunes  and  struck  the  quarter,  half  hour  and  hours.  It  was  the  ''Grandfather" 
style  of  clock,  and  is  said  to  have  been  ancient  when  purchased  in  1760  by 
Henry  Graff,  the  founder.     It  and  the  spoons  still  remain  in  the  family. 


142  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

In  1822  Henry  Graff  began  his  business  career  by  opening  a  country 
store  in  Pleasant  Valley.  His  goods  had  to  be  hauled  from  Philadelphia  and 
Baltimore,  and  as  it  took  several  weeks  to  transport  them  the  shipment  was 
both  tedious  and  expensive.  He  remained  eleven  years  at  Pleasant  .Valley, 
and  while  there  taught  the  business  to  his  brothers,  Peter  and  Matthew.  The 
business  prospered,  and  in  order  to  give  his  brothers  an  interest  in  it  he  ex- 
tended it  and  placed  his  brother,  Peter,  in  the  small  village  of  New  Derry, 
where  he  continued  several  years  and  met  with  success.  He  then  sold  out 
and  located  at  Blairsville,  Pennsylvania,  in  Indiana  county.  Henry  then 
sold  his  Pleasant  Valley  store  to  John,  his  brother,  and  removed  to  Blairsville, 
where  he  and  Peter  formed  a  partnership  and  traded  under  the  firm  name  of 
Henry  and  Peter  Graff.  This  change  was  made  about  the  year  1833,  and  they 
did  a  very  extensive  business  and  were  prosperous ;  they  built  a  large  grain 
house  on  the  Conemaugh  river,  in  the  town.  A  year  or  two  afterward 
Matthew  was  given  an  interest  in  the  business. 

In  1836  Henry  and  Peter  Graff  commenced  transportation  by  railroad  and 
canal  from  Philadelphia  and  Baltimore  to  Pittsburg  and  the  west.  Their  line 
was  called  the  Union  Transportation  Line,  the  canal  and  railway  being  owned 
by  the  state  of  Pennsylvania.  Merchandise  was  carried  by  rail  to  Columbia, 
then  by  canal  boats  to  Hollidaysburg,  then  by  rail  over  the  Alleghany  Moun- 
tains to  Johnstown  and  from  there  by  canal  to  Pittsburg,  a  distance  of  one 
hundred  and  three  miles. 

About  this  time  Peter  Graff  moved  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  attended  to 
the  receiving  of  the  merchandise.  In  a  year  or  two  the  forwarding  business 
increased  so  rapidly  and  Henry  Graft"  himself  moved  to  Pittsburg,  where, 
thenceforth,  he  and  Peter  gave  their  whole  attention  to  the  extensive  business 
interests.  A  year  later  Henry  Graff  began  the  manufacture  of  iron,  an 
instance  of  foresight  which  was  justified  by  the  success  of  the  undertaking. 
He  continued  the  transportation  business  until  1853,  when  the  state  sold  the 
canal  to  the  railroad  company.  A  Pittsburg  newspaper  said  he  was  the  lead- 
ing citizen  and  most  active  and  successful  commission  merchant  and  iron 
manufacturer  of  the  city.  He  was  also  instrumental  in  starting  all  of  his 
sons  in  business  before  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1855.  He  was  a  member 
of  the  Lutheran  church  and  a  most  liberal  giver  to  the  same.  He  also  gave 
a  large  contribution  to  the  seminary  at  Gettysburg. 

He  married,  September  19,  1820,  Elizabeth  Lobinger,  born  April  3, 
t8oo,  and  their  children  were:  i.  John,  born  January  14,  1822,  died  un- 
married November  11,  1901.  2.  Christopher  L.,  born  October  2,  1823,  died 
February  15,  1898.  3.  Priscilla  Sophia.  4.  William.  5.  Alexander  C, 
born  November  10,  1828,  died  March  7,  1894,  unmarried,  at  Craig,  Colorado. 
6.  Thomas  J.  7.  Matthew.  8.  Anna  Mary,  born  March  12,  1837,  married, 
first,  John  Kirkpatrick;  second,  William  Pore,  by  which  union  there  was  no 
issue  and  she  died  June  29,  1891.  9.  Elizabeth,  born  April  29,  1842,  died 
January  19,  1855.  Henry  Graft',  the  father,  died  in  1855,  and  his  widow 
passed  away  July  19,  1869,  and  both  were  buried  in  the  Allegheny  Cemetery, 
Pittsburg. 

(IV)  Christopher  Graft,  the  second  child  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth  (Lob- 
inger) Graft,  born  October  2,  1823,  married,  May  15,  1858,  Arabella  Blackmore, 
born  April  7,  1839.  Mrs.  Graft  died  April  16,  1866,  and  the  death  of  Mr. 
Graft  occurred  February  15,  1897.    Their  children  were:     i.     William  Henry. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  143 


born  August  7,  1859,  married  Lillian  Imhofif.  2.  John  C,  born  August  18, 
1861.  3.  Elizabeth  L.,  born  January  24.  1864,  wife  of  Dr.  William  Mc- 
Kelvy,  of  Breckenridge,  Colorado.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  McKelvy  were  the  parents 
of  the  following  children :  James  Boyd,  born  June  18,  1893 ;  Mary,  born 
October  28,  1895,  died  October  29,  1895  ;  Mary  Elizabeth,  born  July  26,  1897, 
and  Grafif,  born  August  2t„  1902,  died  August  27,  1902. 

(IV)  Priscilla  Sophia  Graff,  daughter  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth  (Lobing- 
er)  GraiT,  born  ]\Iarch  31,  1825,  married  Paul  Hugus,  and  had  the  following 
children:  Henry  Graff,  born  April  3,  1847,  married  Anne  Harrison,  and  has 
two  children,  James  H.  and  Mary  A.;  Edward  Reed,  born  August  22,  1848, 
married  Nancy  Coleman  Doak,  has  one  daughter,  Emily  Trevilla ;  Anna  Mary, 
born  February  17,  1850,  wife  of  R.  H.  Negley,  has  two  sons,  Paul  H.  and 
Edward  C. ;  and  John  C,  born  July  29,  1855,  died  young.  Mrs.  Hugus  died 
January  14,  1901. 

(IV)  William  Graff,  son  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth  (Lobinger)  Graff,  was 
born  December  27,  1826,  married  Missouri  I.  Coffin,  and  their  children  are: 
James  Coffin  and  William  (twins),  died  in  infancy;  Elizabeth  B.,  Anna  Mary 
and  Isabell,  born  February  5,  1872,  died  October  24,  1874. 

(IV)  Thomas  Graff,  son  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth  (Lobinger)  Graff, 
w-as  born  October  26,  1832:  married,  June  25,  1863,  Agnes  C.  Dixon,  born 
August  17,  1847.  Mr.  Graff'  died  April  21,  1890.  His  children  were:  i. 
John  D.,  born  June  i,  1864,  died  January  28,  1902;  he  married  Elizabeth  Cam- 
eron Wray.  2.  Henry  L.,  born  June  16,  1865,  married  Carrie  Paisley;  has 
one  child,  Louise,  born  May  3,  1895.  3.  Bennet,  born  March  5,  1867,  of 
Denver.  4.  Paul  Hugus,  born  June  29,  1869,  married  Sylvia  Packard ;  has 
two  children.  5.  Thomas  Ewing,  born  August  21,  1871.  6.  Joseph  Way, 
born  May  25,  1873.  7-  Maud.  8.  Matthew  Addison,  born  August  2^, 
1876,    deceased.     9.     Agnes    Dixon,   born   June    11,    1878,   married,    October 

18,  1899,  Eugene  Murray,  and  they  have  two  children. 

(IV)  Matthew  Graff",  son  of  Henry  and  Elizabeth  (Lobinger)  Graff, 
was  born  November  31,  1834;  married,  November  3,  1862,  Jane  Addison, 
born  in  1839,  and  died  January  i,  1880.    The  death  of  Mr.  Graff  occurred  May 

19,  1896.  Their  children  were:  i.  Henry  Addison.  2.  Harriet  IngHs.  3. 
Mary  K.  4.  William  Addison.  5.  Benjamin  D.  6.  Richmond.  7.  Fran- 
cis Erskine. 

(V)  Harriet  Inglis  Graff,  eldest  daughter  of  Matthew  and  Jane  (Addi- 
son) Graff",  married,  April  30,  1889,  Robert  R.  Singer,  and  they  have  two 
children,  John  Addison  and  Jane. 

Jane  Addison,  wife  of  Matthew  Graff,  was  a  granddaughter  of  Al- 
exander Addison,  a  descendant  of  the  father  of  Joseph  Addison,  of  the  "Spec- 
tator." Alexander  x^ddison  was  born  in  1758,  in  Morayshire,  Scotland,  and 
although  of  English  descent  was  most  decidedly  a  Scotchman  in  his  cast  of 
mind.  He  received  a  very  thorough  education,  in  1775  graduating  from  the 
University  of  Aberdeen,  and  in  1777  received  the  degree  of  Alaster  of  Arts. 
Studying^  divinity,  he  was  licensed  to  preach  in  1781.  To  his  many  attain- 
ment's he  added  a  very  perfect  knowledge  of  Hebrew,  French  and  Italian  lan- 
guages. In  1787  he  emigrated  to  America,  and  in  1791  was  appointed  a  judge, 
which  office  he  held  until  1803,  when  he  was  deposed  in  consequence  of  an 
impeachment  for  high  treason.  This  charge  was  due  to  the  political  intrigues 
of  the  times.     So  liighlv  was  Alexander  Addison  esteemed  by  his  contempo- 


144  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


raries  that  Aaron  Burr,  when  impeached  for  high  treason,  selected  him  for 
his  counsel,  a  responsibility  which  Judge  Addison  was  unable  to  assume. 
He  married,  at  the  home  of  General  Gurney,  September  25.  1786,  Jean  Grant, 
born  July  24,  1763,  and  their  children  were:  John,  born  July  19,  1787,  died 
July  30.  1787;  Elizabeth,  born  August  22,  1788;  Ann,  born  February  2,  1791, 
died  October  6,  1855;  James,  born  January  10,  1793,  died  December  8,  1795; 
John  (2),  born  January  24.  1795;  Mary,  born  June  27,  1797,  died  April, 
1822' ;  Alexander,  born  September  10.  1799,  died  February,  1822;  William, 
of  whom  later;  Jane,  born  January  4,  1804,  and  Francis,  born  February  7, 
1807,  died  young.  Alexander  Addison,  the  father,  died  in  1807,  his  death 
being  an  irreparable  loss  to  his  family  and  friends. 

William  Addison,  son  of  Alexander  and  Jean  (Grant)  Addison,  was 
born  December  28,  1801,  and  received  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine. 
He  married  Harriet  Inglis,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren:  Jane,  born  May  11,  1839,  wife  of  Matthew  Graff;  Eliza,  born  Janu- 
ary 26.  1841  :  Frances,  born  January  30,  1843;  Alexander,  born  December 
24.  1844,  died  in  Germany  June  10,  1867;  Emmeline,  born  October  23,  1846, 
and  William,  born  October  13,  1849,  died  about  1888.  The  death  of  Wil- 
liam Addison,  the  father,  occurred  about  March  26,  1862. 


WELLINGTON  CHANCY  MILLER,  D.  D.  S.,  who  has  been  engaged 
in  the  practice  of  dentistry  for  a  number  of  years,  resides  in  Homestead, 
Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  is  a  descendant  of  a  family  which  has 
been  resident  in  the  state  of  Pennsylvania  for  a  number  of  generations.  Its 
first  settlement  was  in  Adams  county. 

John  S.  Miller,  grandfather  of  Wellington  Chancy  Miller,  was  a  farmer 
of  Bedford  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  a  stanch  supporter  of  the  Demo- 
cratic party. 

Peter  Stearn  Miller,  son  of  John  S.  Miller,  was  born  in  Bedford  county, 
Pennsylvania,  and  also  followed  the  occupation  of  farming.  He  served  in 
the  Union  army  in  the  Civil  war  as  a  member  of  the  Ninety-second  Penn- 
sylvania Regiment,  and  while  thus  engaged  contracted  typhoid  fever,  from 
the  effects  of  which  he  died  in  August,  1865.  He  married  Mary  Hammer, 
also  born  in  Bedford  county,  and  they  had  children:  i.  Rev.  Rufus  P.,  born 
August  3.  i860.  He  resides  at  present  in  Philipsburg,  Center  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  was  for  thirteen  years  pastor  of  the  Presbyterian  church  at 
Homestead,  and  since  1901  has  been  pastor  of  the  church  at  Philipsburg. 
He  was  educated  in  the  Soldiers'  Orphan  School  at  Andersonburg,  Perry 
county,  Pennsylvania ;  the  preparatory  school  in  New  Paris,  Bedford  county, 
Pennsylvania;  was  graduated  from  the  Otterbein  University,  Westerville, 
Ohio,  in  1884;  attended  the  Dayton  Theological  Seminary;  and  graduated 
from  the  Western  Theological  Seminary  of  Allegheny  in  the  spring  of  1888, 
after  which  he  located  in  Homestead.  He  married  Lydia  K.  Ressler,  of  West- 
erville, Ohio,  and  had  children :  Alice  Lillian ;  Edwin,  deceased ;  and  Mary 
Emily.  2.  Wellington  Chancy  (see  forward).  3.  WiUiam  Henry,  born  Octo- 
ber 31,  1863.  was  also  educated  in  Andersonburg,  and  upon  the  completion  of 
his  education  went  to  Johnstown,  where  he  resides  at  the  present  time.  He 
married  Jessie  Wagner,  of  Johnstown,  and  had  children :  George,  deceased ; 
George  Wagner ;    Mary  Frances ;   Jessie,  and  Alfred.     He  has  been  variously 


}rz^<U^j~rL^ 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  145 


employed  with  the  Cambria  Iron  Company  and  mercantile  houses  of  that 
city,  at  present  being  manager  of  the  Johnstown  Baking  Company. 

Wellington  Chancy  Miller,  D.  D.  S.,  second  son  and  child  of  Peter  Stearn 
and  Alary  (Hammer)  Miller,  was  born  in  Napier  township,  Bedford  county, 
Pennsylvania,  October  11,  1861.  He  was  educated  at  Andersonburg  until 
he  had  attained  the  age  of  sixteen  years,  then  spent  two  years  working  on  a 
farm.  He  was  in  the  employ  of  the  Cambria  Iron  Company  at  Johnstown, 
Pennsylvania,  and  of  the  Missouri  Pacific  Railroad  Company  at  Atchison, 
Kansas,  and  in  1885  entered  the  University  of  Maryland  in  Baltimore,  where 
he  studied  dentistry  and  was  graduated  in  March,  1887.  He  immediately 
began  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  Atchison,  Kansas,  in  association  with 
Dr.  William  H.  Schulz,  and  remained  with  him  until  June,  1889,  then  for 
about  one  year  was  in  the  office  of  Dr.  George  T.  Gay,  of  Peoria,  Illinois. 
At  this  time  he  went  to  Homestead  to  pay  a  visit,  and  while  there  established 
himself  in  the  practice  of  his  profession.  He  remained  until  1898,  when  he 
returned  to  Peoria  and  formed  a  partnership  with  Dr.  George  T.  Gay,  and 
remained  with  him  until  1902,  when  the  partnership  was  dissolved.  He  again 
took  up  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  Homestead  in  that  year,  and  has  con- 
tinued in  it  up  to  the  present  time,  having  acquired  a  .large  and  lucrative 
practice. 

Dr.  Miller  married,  October  11,  1894,  Mary  Clarissa  Means,  daughter  of 
Robert  Shearer  and  Eliza  Ann  (]\IcRoberts)  Means,  of  Miffiin  township,  and 
granddaughter  of  Nathan  Means,  of  the  same  place.  Nathan  Means,  deceased, 
was  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Mifflin  township,  coming  from  Paxtang,  Penn- 
sylvania, with  his  mother  and  brothers,  John,  James  and  Joseph,  and  settled  in 
Mifflin  township,  near  Lebanon  Church. 

WILLIAM  ALEXANDER  HUDSON.  The  Hudson  family  in  America 
has  always  been  identified  with  the  learned  professions  and  the  world  of  letters. 
Such  is  its  history  in  A^irginia,  New  York  and  Pennsylvania,  especially. 

Attorney  William  A.  Hudson,  of  this  notice,  is  an  eminent  lawyer  of  what 
may  be  termed  the  old  school  of  gentlemen,  whose  broad,  far-seeing  intellec- 
tuality has  none  of  the  superficial  in  its  makeup.  He  is  a  native  of  Virginia, 
and  a  direct  descendant  of  that  most  celebrated  character.  Chief  Justice  Mar- 
shall, and  is  otherwise  connected  with  some  of  the  best  families  of  the  Old 
Dominion  state,  his  direct  ancestors  having  been  identified  with  Virginia  for 
more  than  two  hundred  years.  _ 

William  Alexander  Hudson  is  the  son  of  James  W.  and  h.lizabeth  (Abra- 
ham) Hudson.  He  was  born  in  Staunton,  Virginia,  August  20,  1850.  His 
parents  were  both  natives  of  Virginia,  and  the  father  was  an  extensive  planter. 
James  W.  Hudson  and  wafe  were  the  parents  of  six  children,  as  follows:  (i) 
Theodosia  A.,  wife  of  John  E.  Hamilton,  of  Staunton,  Virginia;  (2)  Adella 
A.,  wife  of  Robert  Hunter,  of  Staunton,  Virginia;  (3)  MolUe,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  twenty-six  years  ;  (4)  Wyclifife  Y.,  who  died  in  youth  ;  (5)  Eliza- 
beth, who  died  young,  and  (6)  W.  A.,  the  subject.  The  father  died  in  1871, 
and  the  mother  in  1855. 

William  Alexander,  the  sixth  child  in  his  father's  family,  was  carefully  pre- 
pared for  a  higher  education  at  the  schools  of  his  native  locality.  He  selected 
law  as  his  life  profession,  and  in   1873  was  graduated  from  the  University 

iv— 10 


146  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

of  Virginia  with  high  honors,  having  also  attended  Roanoke  College,  Salem, 
Virginia.  Immediately  after  his  graduation,  having  been  admitted  to  the  bar, 
he  began  his  active  practice,  which  soon  assumed  large  proportions.  He  saw, 
however,  that  it  was  wise  to  locate  in  a  larger  field  than  he  was  then  in,  hence, 
he  came  to  Pittsburg  in  1891,  where  his  success  has  been  all  that  any  professional 
man  could  desire.  The  date  of  his  admission  to  the  Allegheny  county  bar  was 
September,  1891,  and  later  he  was  admitted  to  the  courts  of  the  state,  the 
federal  supreme  and  superior  courts.  Before  leaving  Virginia,  and  in  1883, 
his  name  was  presented  to  the  Legislature  of  his  native  state  for  election  as 
judge  of  the  common  pleas  court,  which  office  was  unsought  by  him,  yet,  al- 
though he  had  more  than  a  dozen  competitors,  he  received  eighty-nine  out  of  the 
ninety-one  Democratic  votes  cast  on  the  first  ballot.  He  served  with  dignity 
and  justice  until  his  term  expired,  when  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  has 
since  taken  a  prominent  position  in  the  Pennsylvania  bar. 

Wliile  Judge  Hudson  has  attended  to  a  general  law  practice,  his  special 
attention  has  been  turned  toward  commercial  and  corporation  law  cases.  Many 
of  the  largest  corporations  have  retained  him  for  their  counsel.  By  1891  his 
practice  had  so  increased  that  he  deemed  it  wise  to  form  a  partnership,  and 
selected  Mr.  Howley,  of  Pittsburg,  as  his  partner,  the  firm  being  styled  Hudson 
&  Howley,  who  make  a  specialty  of  suits  against  corporations,  in  which  role 
they  have  achieved  much  eminence.  He  devotes  his  whole  energy  to  his  pro- 
fession, and  when  not  busily  engaged  in  actual  practice  he  spends  his  time 
largelv  in  the  reading  of  legal  publications,  thus  keeping  abreast  with  the  ever 
changing  conditions  of  the  profession  to  which  he  is  so  greatly  attached. 

On  May  12,  1875,  Judge  Hudson  married  Miss  Ida  Florence  Rector, 
daughter  of  Samuel  aUd  Annie  (Hatcher)  Rector,  of  Loudoun  county,  Vir- 
ginia. Mrs.  Hudson  died  May  i,  i8g8,  aged  forty-six  years.  The  children  by 
this  union  were:  (i)  Rector,  (2)  W.  A.,  Jr.,  (3)  James  Percy,  (4)  Ida  Flo- 
rence, (5)  Welby,  (6)  Magill  Fauntleroy,  (7)  Elizabeth,  (8)  John,  and  (9) 
Thomas  Davis. 


.  JOHN  SCOTT  WENDT,  of  the  law  firm  of  McCleave  &  Wendt,  Pitts- 
burg, was  born  at  New  Brighton,  Beaver  county,  Pennsylvania,  March  29, 
1868,  a  son  of  Christian  I.  Wendt,  M.  D.     His  genealogical  line  is  as  follows : 

(I)  Frederick  Wendt,  his  great-great-grandfather,  emigrated  from 
Hanover,  Prussia,  after  the  Revolutionary  war  in  this  country  and  prior  to 
1800,  settling  for  a  short  time  in  New  York,  after  which  he  came  to  Pitts- 
burg and  was  employed  by  James  O'Hara  in  his  glass  works.  Later  he, 
with  several  other  gentlemen,  among  them  William  Eichbaum  and  Christian 
Ihmsen,  established  the  Birmingham  Glass  Company,  at  what  was  then 
Birmingham,  now  known  as  the  South  Side,  Pittsburg.  In  this  enterprise  he 
was  very  successful  and  continued  at  the  business  until  his  death,  acquiring  a 
large  amount  of  South  Side  real  estate,  and  was  identified  in  various  enterprises. 
He  first  married  Charlotte  Eichbaum,  a  sister  of  William  Eichbaum,  and,  after 
her  death,  Nancy  Gates,  of  Hagerstown,  Maryland,  a  niece  of  General  Horatio 
Gates,  by  whom  he  had  several  children,  including  Frederick,  Jr.,  the  subject's 
grandfather. 

(II)  Frederick  Wendt,  Jr.,  son  of  Frederick,  Sr.'(I),  was  born  in  Bir- 
mingham (now  South  Side),  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  1799,  and  died  April 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  147 


22,  1848.  He  succeeded  his  father  in  the  glass  business  and  continued  in  the 
manufacture  of  glassware  throughout  his  life.  He  married  Miss  Almira  Tay- 
lor Brock,  a  relative  of  General  Brock,  of  the  English  army,  and  to  them  were 
born  two  children,  the  place  of  their  birth  being  South  Side,  Pittsburg,  and 
their  names  are:  i.  Almira,  who  married  John  W.  Patterson  (see  Patterson 
family  sketch).    2.    Christian  I.,  the  subject's  father. 

(HI)  Christian  I.  W'endt,  M.  D.,  was  the  son  of  Frederick  Wendt,  Jr., 
and  was  also  born  in  Birmingham  (South  Side),  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in 
1840.  He  practiced  medicine  in  Beaver  county,  and  represented  his  district 
in  the  state  legislature,  having  been  elected  as  the  Republican  candidate  in 
1875.  He  was  prominent  in  the  affairs  of  Beaver  county.  He  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Agnes  Scott,  daughter  of  John  Scott,  who  was  associate  judge 
in  Beaver  county  and  quite  prominent  in  his  part  of  the  state,  and  who  was 
descended  from  James  Scott,  of  Roxburghshire,  Scotland,  who  emigrated  to 
Pennsylvania  during  the  Revolutionary  war  and  settled  in  Pittsburg  for  a 
short  time,  and  afterwards  moved  down  the  Ohio  river  and  settled  on  land 
acquired  by  him  on  the  Broadhead  Road  in  Beaver  county.  He,  John  Scott, 
married  Mary  Walker,  who  was  a  granddaughter  of  William  Ewing  and 
Isaac  Walker,  both  early  settlers  in  Robinson  township,  Allegheny  county. 
Christian  I.  Wendt  died  in  1883,  aged  forty-two  years;  his  widow  still  sur- 
vives and  resides  at  New  Brighton,  Pennsylvania.  The  children  by  this  union 
were:  i.  John  Scott.  2.  Edwin  F.,  assistant  engineer  on  the  Pittsburg  & 
Lake  Erie  Railroad,  who  is  tmmarried  and  lives  in  New  Brighton,  Pennsyl- 
vania. 3.  Charles  I.,  M.  D.,  a  graduate  of  Hahnemann  Medical  College  of 
Philadelphia,  who  is  now  a  practicing  physician  in  Pittsburg.  4.  Almira, 
unmarried,  resides  at  New  Brighton  with  her  mother.  These  children  were 
all  born  at  New  Brighton,  Pennsylvania. 

( I\^ )  John  Scott  Wendt,  subject,  after  receiving  a  good  education  in 
the  public  high  school  at  New  Brighton,  Pennsylvania,  entered  Geneva  Col- 
lege, from  which  he  graduated  with  the  degree  of  B.  A.  in  1887.  He  then 
chose  law  for  his  profession  and  studied  in  Pittsburg  under  William  R.  Blair, 
Esq.,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Allegheny  county  bar  in  1890.  Since  then  he 
has  practiced  in  Pittsburg;  from  1897  to  1904  he  was  associated  with  D.  T. 
Watson  and  Johns  McCleave,  in  the  practice  of  law;  in  1904  he  formed  a  part- 
nership with  Johns  McCleave,  under  the  firm  name  of  McCleave  &  Wendt, 
which  firm  is  counsel  for  the  Baltimore  &  Ohio  Railroad  Company  and  do  a 
general  law  business  at  this  date.  Mr.  Wendt  is  unmarried,  is  a  member  of 
the  University  Club,  Union  Club,  Pittsburg  Country  Club,  Oakmont  Country 
Club,  and  in  politics  is  an  independent  Republican. 


ADOLPH  KOENIG,  M.  D.  Dr.  Adolph  Koenig,  of  Edgewood,  physi- 
cian and  editor,  was  born  October  30,  1855,  at  Wiggiswyl,  canton  of  Berne, 
Switzerland,  son  of  Christian  Koenig  and  grandson  of  Bendicht  Koenig. 

Bendicht  Koenig  (grandfather)  was  born  in  the  canton  of  Berne,  Swit- 
zerland, 1758,  and  died  there  in  1798.  He  was  a  landholder,  and  passed  his 
life  as  a  farmer.  He  met  his  death  when  the  passage  of  Napoleon's  armies 
across  the  Alps  was  heroically  but  vainly  opposed  by  the  valiant  Swiss.  He 
married  Elizabeth  Knuchel  and  their  children  were:  Bendicht;  Jacob;  Nik- 
laus,  a  physician ;   Christian,  of  whom  later ;   Elizabeth;   Anna  Maria. 


148  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

Christian  Koenig  (father),  son  of  Bendicht  and  Elizabeth  (Knuchel) 
Koenig,  was  born  in  1796,  in  Wiggiswyl,  canton  of  Berne,  Switzerland.  In 
1856  he  emigrated  to  the  United" States,  settling  at  Tarentum,  Allegheny 
county,  Pennsylvania.  In  his  native  country  he  had  been  a  prominent  farmer 
and  tile  head  man  of  his  village,  and  after  his  emigration  continued  to  devote 
himself  to  agriculture.  When  the  old  Brackenridge  tract  of  land  was  broken 
upon  into  lots  and  sold,  Christian  Koenig  made  the  first  purchase,  becoming 
the  owner  of  one  hundred  and  seventy-six  acres,  on  which  he  erected  a  dwell- 
ing and  farm  buildings.  In  1873,  shortly  before  his  death,  he  sold  this  prop- 
erty and  moved  to  Colorado.  On  coming  to  this  country  he  gave  his  allegiance 
to  the  Republican  party,  and  during  the  war  was  a  strong  Abolitionist.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  Evangelical  Reformed  Lutheran  church. 

Christian  Koenig  married  Magdalena  Iseli,  who  bore  him  the  following 
children :  i.  Christian,  died  in  infancy.  2.  Jacob,  the  first  of  the  family  to 
come  to  this  country;  he  settled  in  Pittsburg,  and  in  i860  was  killed  by  an 
accident  in  a  stone  quarry  near  Tarentum.  He  married  Adaline  Mullet,  by 
whom  he  had  one  daughter,  who  became  the  wife  of  George  E.  Metz,  of 
Brooklyn,  New  York,  and  the  mother  of  three  children :  Maurice,  Albert  and 
Isabel  Metz.  3.  Nicholas,  deceased.  4.  Christian  II,  served  throughout  the 
Civil  war,  attaining  the  rank  of  second  lieutenant.  He  moved  west,  married 
Mrs.  Cecile  Blanc,"and  is  now  living  in  Golden,  Colorado.  5.  Anna,  deceased; 
was  wife  of  Jacob  Baldinger,  of  Allegheny  City;  children:  Emil  Robert, 
married  Clara  Mutzig,  one  son,  Allan;  Louisa,  wife  of  Julius  Stayert,  of  Bal- 
timore, one  daughter,  Agnes ;  Carl  F.,  married  Tillie  Oesterle,  one  daughter, 
Janet;  Eda.  6.  Rudolph,  deceased;  married  Emma  Schuepbach ;  children: 
Clara  Elizabeth,  Frank  Rudolph,  Edward  Frederick,  Harry  Adolph,  Charles 
Raymond,  Mary  Alice,  deceased;  Herman  Walter  and  Ralph  Albert.  Mrs. 
Koenig  resides  in  Colorado.  7.  Frederick,  deceased;  married  (first)  the 
widow  of  his  brother  Jacob;  married  (second)  Elizabeth  Schuepbach.  Chil- 
dren by  first  marriage  :  Louisa,  Rosa,  deceased ;  by  second  marriage  :  Charles 
Alfred,  John  Albert,  William  Frederick,  Emma  Cecelia,  George  Christian, 
Frederick  Herman,  Elizabeth  Ida  and  Samuel  Adolph.  8.  Mary,  married 
Andrew  Yost,  two  children :  Carl  and  Anna ;  they  reside  in  Colorado.  9. 
John,  deceased ;  married  Ida  Willard ;  children :  Carl  E.,  Anna  E.,  Rose  A., 
James  V.,  Lena  I.,  Catharine  M.  and  Alfred  A.  10.  Rosina,  deceased;  was 
wife  of  James  Coffield,  also  deceased ;  children :  Louise,  John,  George,  Emma, 
Ahce,  Roy,  Elsa  and  Eunice.  11.  Godfrey,  married  Kitty  Parish;  children: 
Laura,  deceased;  Arthur,  Alfred  Christian,  Myrtle,  Frederic,  deceased;  Clar- 
ence, Eva  and  Alice,  deceased.  12.  Adolph,  of  whom  later.  Christian  Koenig, 
the  father  of  this  large  family,  died  November  27,  1873. 

Adolph  Koenig,  son  of  Christian  and  Magdalena  (Iseli)  Koenig,  was  one- 
half  year  old  when  brought  by  his  parents  to  this  country,  and  until  the  age 
of  eighteen  lived  on  a  farm  near  Tarentum,  receiving  his  early  education  in 
the  common  schools  and  at  the  Tarentum  Academy.  After  leaving  school  he 
entered  the  medical  department  of  the  University  of  Louisville,  Kentucky, 
and  subsequently  studied  at  Bellevue  Hospital  Medical  College,  New  York, 
receiving  from  the  latter  institution  in  1879  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine. 
In  1897  the  honorary  degree  of  Doctor  of  Pharmacy  was  conferred  upon  him 
by  the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania.  After  graduating  he  spent  one 
year  as  interne  in  the  Western  Pennsylvania  Hospital,  and  in  1880  went  to 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  149 


•California  with  the  intention  of  practicing  in  San  Francisco,  but  at  the  end 
of  two  months  returned  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  has  been  actively 
•engaged  in  practice  ever  since.  He  has  no  specialty,  but  devotes  himself  to 
the  general  practice  of  medicine. 

In  December,  1886,  Dr.  Koenig  aided  in  the  establishment  of  the  "Pitts- 
burg Medical  Review,"  and  for  five  years  was  one  of  its  staff  of  editors.  In 
1892  he  became  its  sole  editor  and  publisher,  and  in  1905  turned  it  over  to  the 
Medical  Society  of  the  State  of  Pennsylvania,  the  periodical  having  been  trans- 
formed, in  June,  1897,  into  the  "Pennsylvania  Medical  Journal,"  the  official 
organ  of  the  Medical  Society  of  the  State  of  Pennsylvania.  After  his  resigna- 
tion as  editor  in  1905  Dr.  Koenig  accepted  the  less  arduous  office  of  associate 
editor  on  the  staff  of  "The  Journal,"  which  office  he  still  holds.  From  1885 
to  1905  Dr.  Koenig  was  Professor  of  Materia  Medica  and  Botany  and  is  now 
Professor  Emeritus  in  the  Pittsburg  College  of  Pharmacy,  where  he  also  fills 
the  chair  of  physiology.  From  1880  to  1895  he  was  one  of  the  visiting  physi- 
cians of  the  Pittsburg  Free  Dispensary,  and  since  1893  has  been  a  director  of 
that  institution.  For  nearly  twenty  years  he  was  visiting  physician  of  the 
Roselia  Alaternity  Hospital  and  Foundling  Asylum,  and  since  1904  has  been 
a  member  of  the  medical  staff  of  the  Allegheny  General  Hospital.  In  1897 
he  was  president  of  the  Allegheny  County  JMedical  Society;  in  1905  president 
of  the  Medical  Society  of  the  State  of  Pennsylvania,  and  has  twice  been  presi- 
dent of  the  Western  Pennsylvania  Botanical  Society.  Since  1905  he  has  been 
a  member  of  the  advisory  board  of  the  Department  of  Health  of  the  State  of 
Pennsylvania.  His  office  is  in  the  Westinghouse  Building,  Pittsburg.  From 
1880  to  1903  he  lived  and  had  his  office  in  the  Fourth  ward  of  Pittsburg,  but 
in  the  latter  year  moved  with  his  family  to  the  suburb  of  Edgewood,  where 
he  purchased  the  old  Reiter  residence,  in  which  he  now  resides.  While  a  resi- 
dent of  the  Fourth  ward  he  held  the  office  of  school  director,  and  is  to-day  a 
member  of  the  school  board  of  Edgewood. 

Dr.  Koenig  has  been  twice  married,  his  first  wife  having  been  Fanny 
McFarland  Low,  daughter  of  Thomas  and  Frances  (Sears)  Low,  of  Charlton. 
New  York,  who  died  in  1890.  His  second  wife  is  Mary  Beatrice,  daughter  of 
John  and  Maria  (Blakemore),  Jeffcoat,  of  England,  and  they  have  been  the 
parents  of  the  following  children:  i.  Adolphus,  born  September  6,  1896.  2. 
Eugene  Jeffcoat,  April  3.  1898.  3.  Rhoda  Victoria,  June  29,  1899.  4.  Beatrice 
Iseli,  November  24,  1900.  5.  Olivia,  Februar}-  25,  1902.  6.  Frances  Mary, 
July  23,  1903.  7.  Evangeline  Angliae  et  Helvetiae,  October  12,  1904.  8. 
Theodore  Roosevelt,  February  21,  1906.  9.  Christian,  February  23,  1907, 
died  February  23,  1907.     10.   Arthur  Rudolph,  January  23,  1908. 

WILLIAM  DANIEL  PETERSON.  The  late  WiUiam  Daniel  Peterson, 
for  many  years  a  well-known  farmer  of  the  vicinity  of  Pittsburg,  his  native 
city,  was  born  April  20,  1835,  in  what  was  formerly  known  as  Limetown,  now 
the  South  Side,  son  of  John  Peterson. 

John  Peterson  was  born  in  Pennsylvania,  and  during  a  large  part  of  his 
life  was  engaged  in  the  sawmill  and  coal  business.  He  afterward  moved  to 
Elizabethtown"^  where  he  purchased  a  farm  of  about  two  hundred  acres  and 
became  a  prominent  and  successful  farmer,  his  farm  being  still  in  the  posses- 
sion of  his  descendants.     He  was  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist  Epis- 


150  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 

copal  church,  and  for  thirty-five  years  served  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday- 
school. 

John  Peterson  married  Mary  Huston  and  the  following  children  were 
born  to  them:  i.  John,  deceased,  married  Elizabeth  Corey,  and  had  two  sons, 
Harry  and  James.  2.  James,  died  unmarried.  3.  William  Daniel,  of  whom 
later.  4.  Elizabeth,  widow  of  Mark  Borland,  merchant  of  Monongahela 
City."  5.  Charles,  married  Helen  Duer.  6.  Kramer,  whose  wife's  given  name 
was  Hetty. 

William  Daniel  Peterson,  son  of  John  and  Mary  (Huston)  Peterson,  was 
brought  up  on  the  South  Side,  receiving  his  education  in  the  public  schools, 
and  after  leaving  school  was  for  a  time  the  assistant  of  his  father  in  the  man- 
agement of  the  home  farm.  At  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in 
Company  C,  One  Hundred  and  Second  Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Volunteer 
Infantry,  and  on  May  30,  1863,  was  made  second  lieutenant  of  the  same  com- 
pany and  mustered  into  service.  He  participated  in  the  following  battles: 
Williamsburg,  Virginia;  Fair  Oaks,  Virginia;  ChantiUy;  Antietam;  Fred- 
ericksburg; Chancellorsville ;  Gettysburg;  Rappahannock  Station,  Virginia; 
Mine  Run,  Virginia;  battles  of  the  Wilderness;  Spottsylvania ;  Cold  Har- 
bor, and  Petersburg.  He  was  wounded  at  Williamsburg  May  5,  1862.  He 
was  honorably  discharged  at  Charleston,  South  Carolina,  September  3,  1864, 
at  the  expiration  of  his  term  of  service. 

After  the  war  he  lived  for  a  time  at  Baton  Rouge,  moving  thence  to  New 
Orleans,  where  for  about  twelve  years  he  engaged  in  the  coal  business.  He 
then  sold  out  and  returned  to  the  vicinity  of  Pittsburg,  purchasing  a  farm 
above  McKeesport,  and  for  the  remainder  of  his  life  devoted  himself  to  agri- 
culture. His  political  principles  were  those  upheld  by  the  Republican  party, 
and  he  was  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church. 

Mr.  Peterson  married,  August  22,  1867,  Mary  O.  Packer,  and  they 
became  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Frank  N.,  born  August  30, 
1868;  William  Edgar,  born  December  9,  1869;  Mary  Electa,  born  February 
9,  1872,  wife  of  James  Wright ;  John  William,  born  September  3,  1873,  ''tar- 
ried Lony  Baker,  children,  Ella  May  and  Clifford  Wilson ;  George  Washing- 
ton, born  September  24,  1874;  Mark  Borland,  born  October  30,  1877;  Eliza- 
beth Corinne,  born  September  4,  1879,  died  January  3,  1905,  wife  of  Ralph 
Albright;  Seward  Hays,  born  September  19,  1882;  and  Charles  Hubert,  born 
August  16,  1888. 

Mr.  Peterson  died  February  6,  1892,  in  the  prime  of  life,  having  not  yet 
completed  his  fifty-seventh  year.  He  left  an  honorable  record,  both  as  a 
soldier  and  a  citizen,  and  was  deeply  and  sincerely  mourned  by  his  family  and 
friends. 

Mrs.  Peterson  is  a  daughter  of  Captain  Wilson  S.  and  Electa  (Corbet) 
Packer,  a  granddaughter  of  Job  Packer  and  a  great-granddaughter  of  James 
and  Charity  (Bye)  Packer,  whose  children  were:  Job,  of  whom  later;  Giul- 
ielma,  wife  of  Robert  Wilson ;  Lydia,  wife  of  George  Wilson ;  Levi,  married 
Ann  Crawford;  Hannah,  wife  of  Moses  Packer;  Hulda,  wife  of  Issard 
Condon ;   and  Sarah,  wife  of  Abel  Green. 

Job  Packer,  son  of  James  and  Charity  (Bye)  Packer,  married  Orpha 
Wilson,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  a  son,  Wilson  S.,  and  two  other 
children. 

Captain  Wilson  S.  Packer,  son  of  Job  and  Orpha  (Wilson)  Packer,  was 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  151 


born  in  Clarion  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  there  received  his  education.  For 
many  years  he  was  captain  on  a  Mississippi  river  steamboat,  afterward  settling 
in  Braddock  as  one  of  the  pioneers  of  the  place. 

Wilson  S.  Packer  married  Electa  Corbet,  and  the  following  children 
were  born  to  them :  Sharpley,  married  Maria  Such,  children,  William,  Flora, 
Edna,  John,  James,  Mary  and  George,  deceased ;  Mary  O.,  born  June  6,  1845, 
widow  of  William  Daniel  Peterson ;  Loretta,  deceased ;  Olive,  married,  first, 
Bert  Carvy,  and  second,  Harvey  Sampson,  children  by  first  marriage,  Bert, 
Olive  and  Lily,  by  second  marriage,  J\Ierle,  Hannah  and  George ;  Lily,  wife 
of  Seward  B.  Hays,  one  son,  Seward ;  and  Wilson,  married  Elmira  McLaugh- 
lin, children,  John  and  Electa. 


KENNEDY  FAMILY.  It  is  now  about  sixty  years  since  this  family 
was  planted  in  Pittsburg,  where  at  the  present  day  it  numbers  among  its 
representatives  Thomas  Alexander  Scott  Kennedy,  train  director  at  the  Pitts- 
burg terminal  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad.  Mr.  Kennedy  was  born  May  7, 
1868,  at  McKeesport,  son  of  John  Kennedy  and  grandson  of  Michael  Ken- 
nedy, who  was  a  native  of  the  north  of  Ireland  and  by  trade  a  blacksmith. 

Michael  Kennedy  emigrated  to  the  United  States  at  some  period  during 
the  first  quarter  of  the  nineteenth  century,  and  married  Mary  Balph,  by  whom 
he  became  the  father  of  a  son,  John,  mentioned  below. 

John  Kennedy,  son  of  Michael  and  Mary  (Balph)  Kennedy,  was  born 
in  1831,  in  Armagh,  near  Blairsville.  His  mother  dying  while  he  was  an 
infant,  he  was  cared  for  until  five  years  old  by  two  maiden  ladies  of  the 
name  of  Rice,  and  afterward  lived  one  year  with  his  father  in  Johnstown. 
From  that  time  until  the  age  of  sixteen  he  was  reared  by  an  uncle,  Michael, 
at  Columbus,  Ohio,  part  of  the  time  being  spent  at  school  in  Pittsburg. 

At  sixteen  he  obtained  work  with  the  engineers  who  were  then  surveying 
for  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company,  which  was  extending  its  lines  west 
of  the  Alleghanies,  and  later  was  employed  for  a  year  as  compositor  by  one 
of  the  Pittsburg  daily  papers.  He  was  then  again  employed  as  rodman  by 
Mr.  Seabrook,  during  the  latter's  surveys  for  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Com- 
pany near  Pittsburg. 

In  1854  he  obtained  employment  with  that  company  as  brakeman  in  the 
passenger  service  and  worked  in  that  capacity  on  the  first  through  train  from 
Pittsburg  to  Altoona,  which  ran  in  July  of  the  same  year.  He  was  subse- 
quently promoted  to  the  position  of  passenger  conductor,  in  which  capacity 
he  served  (with  the  exception  of  two  years,  when  he  was  in  the  service  of  the 
Baltimore  &  Ohio  Railroad  Company)  until  1887.  He  was  then  moved  to 
the  trainmaster's  ofifice,  where  he  remained  until  he  reached  the  age  of  retire- 
ment required  by  the  company,  withdrawing  as  one  of  the  oldest  and  most 
valued  men  in  their  service. 

In  earlv  life  he  was  a  Democrat,  but  in  later  years  became  a  Republican. 
He  was  baptized  in  the  Roman  Catholic  faith,  but  never  became  a  member  of 
any  church. 

Mr.  Kennedy  married,  January  22,  1852,  Priscilla,  daughter  of  Joseph 
Allshouse  and  granddaughter  of  Henry  AUshouse,  who  came,  it  is  supposed, 
from  a  place  on  the  banks  of  the  Rhine  and  settled  with  his  brother  in  North- 
ampton county  some  time  prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war.     Soon  after  the 


152  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

commencement  of  hostilities  he  enHsted  in  what  was  called  the  "Associators," 
and  served  in  the  battle  of  Long  Island.  He  was  numbered  among  the  killed, 
wounded  and  missing,  but  was  actually  taken  prisoner  by  the  British  and  held 
in  captivity  for  about  a  year  and  a  half.  He  afterward  re-enlisted  in  a  com- 
pany from'  the  northern  part  of  Northampton  county. 

After  the  war  he  crossed  the  Alleghanies  and  settled  just  north  of  the 
present  town  of  Jeannette,  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  on  a  tract  of 
three  hundred  acres,  presumably  a  grant  from  the  government  in  compensa- 
tion for  his  military  services.  At  his  death  this  land  went  out  of  the  Alls- 
house  name.  In  the  'tens  and  'twenties  he  was  a  member  of  the  Pennsylvania 
legislature,  serving  in  all  fifteen  years  and  spending  two  terms  in  the  senate. 
He  was  in  his  day  one  of  the  most  prominent  Democratic  leaders  of  West- 
moreland county.  It  was  said  by  his  colleagues  and  constituents  that  he 
organized  the  Pennsylvania  legislature,  and  further,  that  he  was  one  of  the 
founders  of  the  Democratic  party.  His  wife  was  Marie  Kunkel,  and  their 
son  Joseph  was  the  father  of  Mrs.  Kennedy.    Henry  Allshouse  died  in  1836. 

Joseph  Allshouse,  son  of  Henry  and  Marie  (Kunkel)  Allshouse,  was  born 
in  1795,  and  began  life  as  a  farmer,  assisting  his  father  in  the  management  of 
the  homestead  near  Greensburg.  In  1843  he  came  to  Wilkinsburg.  where  he 
opened  a  hotel  known  to  old  residents  as  the  Seven  Mile  Run.  This  hostelry 
he  conducted  during  the  remainder  of  his  life.  He  married  Anna  Marie 
Minuno,  and  their  daughter  Priscilla  became  the  wife  of  John  Kennedy. 
The  death  of  Joseph  Allshouse  occurred  in  i860. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Kennedy  became  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: I.  Mary  Balph,  deceased.  2.  Joseph,  married  Ida  Kiehl ;  children: 
Curtis,  married  Jennie  Reed,  one  son,  Reed  Curtis  Kiehl;  and  Charles  Kiehl. 
Joseph  Kennedy  and  wife  are  both  deceased.  3.  Annie,  wife  of  Samuel 
McKelvy ;  children :  Russell,  married  Miss  Beale ;  Pauline ;  and  Harold, 
deceased.  4.  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Dr.  J.  C.  Lemmer,  one  daughter,  Mary.  5. 
Sarah  W.,  wife  of  I.  M.  Porter,  one  son,  John  K.  6.  Thomas  Alexander 
Scott,  of  whom  later.  7.  Charles,  died  in  childhood,  8.  John  V.,  married 
Annie  Still.  9.  Lottie  K.  10.  Clara,  wife  of  J.  Scott  Beckwith.  John  Ken- 
nedy, the  father  died  December  6,  1901. 

Thomas  Alexander  Scott  Kennedy,  son  of  John  and  Priscilla  (Allshouse) 
Kennedy,  was  brought  up  in  Wilkinsburg  and  received  his  education  in  the 
local  schools.  In  1885  he  entered  the  service  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad 
Company,  beginning  as  a  messenger  boy.  In  the  course  of  time  he  was 
advanced  to  the  position  of  telegraph  operator,  and  subsequently,  through  suc- 
cessive promotions,  attained  his  present  position  of  train  director  at  the  Pitts- 
burg terminal.  In  the  sphere  of  politics  Mr.  Kennedy  adheres  to  the  Repub- 
lican party,  aiding,  to  the  best  of  his  ability,  the  men  and  measures  advocated 
by  the  organization. 


LEWIS  H.  McCROSKEY,  for  many  years  identified  with  the  planing 
mill  industry  in  the  state  of  Pennsylvania,  and  at  present  the  proprietor  of  a 
fancy  goods  store  in  Wilkinsburg,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  is  a  repre- 
sentative of  the  third  generation  of  his  family  in  this  country,  they  having 
come  from  Ireland. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  153 


The  paternal  grandfather  of  Lewis  H.  McCroskey  was  a  native  of  Ire- 
land, and  emigrated  to  this  country  about  the  beginning  of  the  nineteenth 
century.     He  married  Elizabeth  Weise,  who  was  a  native  of  Germany. 

Henry  McCroskey,  their  son,  was  born  in  Cumberland  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, in  1807,  and  died  there  in  1850.  His  education  was  acquired  in  the 
schools  of  his  native  county,  and  at  a  suitable  age  he  was  apprenticed  to  learn 
the  carpenter's  trade,  a  calling  with  which  he  was  identified  throughout  his 
life.  He  was  a  stanch  supporter  of  the  Whig  party,  and  shortly  prior  to  his 
death  was  elected  justice  of  the  peace.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Winebrene- 
rian  church,  known  at  the  present  time  as  the  Church  of  God.  He  married 
Adeline  McCann,  and  had  children:  Lewis  H.  (see  forward);  Calvin,  died 
young ;  Emma,  married  Henry  Carpenter,  of  Harrisburg,  Pennsylvania ;  Agnes, 
married  Lee  Croft,  of  Butler  county.  Pennsylvania ;  Addie,  married  St.  John 
Waddell,  an  attorney-at-law  of  Memphis,  Tennessee. 

Lewis  H.  McCroskey,  eldest  child  of  Henry  and  Adeline  (]\IcCann) 
McCroskey,  was  born  at  Lisburn,  Cumberland  county,  Pennsylvania,  August 
24,  1836.  He  resided  under  the  parental  roof  until  he  had  attained  the  age  of 
fifteen  years,  attending  the  public  schools  of  the  coufity,  and  then  went  to 
Philadelphia  to  pursue  his  studies  still  further.  The  crowded  condition  of  the 
schools  in  that  city  and  the  limited  facilities  they  possessed  made  it  impossible 
to  attain  the  object  for  which  he  had  come,  although  he  was  unremitting  in 
his  endeavors  in  this  direction  for  a  whole  year.  He  therefore  abandoned  his 
original  design  and  found  employment  in  the  planing  mill  of  his  uncle,  William 
A.  McCann.  There  he  remained  for  a  period  of  six  years,  learning  this  busi- 
ness in  all  its  details,  and  then  went  to  Williamsport,  Pennsylvania,  in  the 
interests  of  his  uncle,  who  had  established  a  branch  in  that  town.  Mr.  McCros- 
key was  in  charge  of  this  until  i860,  when  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  and  two  years 
later  enlisted  in  Company  A,  One  Hundred  and  Twenty-third  Regiment, 
Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  Colonel  Clark  commanding.  He  participated  in  a 
number  of  actions,  among  them  being  the  battles  of  Antietam  and  Fredericks- 
burg. He  received  an  honorable  discharge  at  the  expiration  of  nine  months 
and  returned  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  engaged  in  the  planing  mill  business. 
At  first  he  was  in  partnership  with  James  Douglas,  and  later  with  James  A. 
Johnson.  After  many  years  of  profitable  business  he  sold  his  interests  in  1894 
and  removed  to  the  borough  of  Wilkinsburg,  where  he  established  the  fancy 
goods  store  in  Franklin  avenue  which  he  is  conducting  successfully  at  the 
present  time.  His  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  denomination,  and 
for  nine  years  he  was  trustee  and  for  two  years  treasurer  of  the  East  End 
Presbyterian  church.  He  is  commander  of  Post  No.  117,  Grand  Army  of  the 
Republic. 

He  married,  in  1864,  Isabella  McKee,  daughter  of  David  and  Frances 
McKee. 

JOSIAH  JiVMES  DLTER,  president  and  general  manager  of  the  Duer 
Spring  &  Manufacturing  Company,  is  a  representative  of  an  old  family  of  this 
country. 

Josiah  Allen  Duer,  father  of  Josiah  James  Duer,  was  born  August  31, 
1817,  and  died  December  12,  1889.  His  early  business  occupation  was  driving 
the  stages  between  Baltimore,  Maryland,  and  Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  but 


154  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

later  he  engaged  in  farming,  with  which  he  was  occupied  successfully  until  his 
death.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church  in  Murrysville,  Penn- 
sylvania, and,  although  a  stanch  supporter  of  the  principles  of  the  Democratic 
party,  took  no  active  part  in  the  political  afifairs  of  his  township  or  county. 
He  married,  March  27,  1845,  Martha  Glendenning,  who  died  August  i,  1904, 
and  they  had  children:  Catherine  H.,  married  Andrew  Moore;  William  P., 
married' Emma  R.  McElroy ;  John  G.,  married  Martha  Long;  Mary  E.,  mar- 
ried Josiah  Long;  Jonathan,  married  Susan  Ludwig;  Margaret  E.,  unmar- 
ried ;  Jeremiah  B.,  married  Olive  Summerhill ;  and  Josiah  James,  concerning 
whom  see  forward. 

Josiah  James  Duer,  fifth  son  and  eighth  and  youngest  child  of  Josiah 
Allen  and  jMartha  (Glendenning)  Duer,  was  born  near  Murrysville,  West- 
moreland county,  Pennsylvania,  April  15,  1864.  He  was  educated  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  town,  and  also  in  the  Laird  Institute  of  the  same  place. 
Upon  the  completion  of  his  education  he  assisted  his  father  in  the  management 
and  cultivation  of  the  home  farm  until  he  had  attained  his  majority,  when  he 
started  out  in  the  world  to  establish  himself.  His  first  occupation  was  that  of 
teaching,  but  after  a  time  he  abandoned  this  in  favor  of  a  mercantile  life.  He 
held  a  position  for  a  time  in  a  general  store  in  Murrysville,  and  from  thence 
went  to  East  End,  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  commenced  a  grocery 
business.  He  sold  this  after  a  time  very  profitably  and  accepted  a  position 
with  Carnegie  Brothers  &  Company.  He  resigned  this  at  the  end  of  five  years, 
and  for  some  years  was  connected  with  various  other  iron  and  steel  manufac- 
turing concerns.  He  then  became  the  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  American 
Spiral  Spring  &  Manufacturing  Company,  later  disposing  of  his  interests  in 
this  company,  and,  October  i,  1905,  organized  the  J.  J.  Duer  Spring  Works, 
and  commenced  operations  at  Twenty-sixth  street  and  Liberty  avenue,  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania.  This  concern  was  incorporated  December  31,  1906,  under 
the  name  of  the  Duer  Spring  &  Manufacturing  Company,  with  office  and 
works  at  McKee's  Rocks,  Pennsylvania.  The  success  of  this  undertaking  is 
mainly  due  to  the  energy  and  executive  ability  of  the  able  president  and  gen- 
eral manager,  whose  name  heads  this  sketch.  Mr.  Duer  is  Republican  in  his 
political  affiliations,  but  has  never  sought  to  hold  public  office.  He  is  a  con- 
sistent member  of  the  Homewood  Presbyterian  church,  and  also  of  Leetonia 
Lodge,  No.  401,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  Leetonia.  Ohio. 

He  married,  May  14,  1890,  at  Murrysville,  Pennsylvania,  Elnora  Thomp- 
son, born  September  21,  1865,  at  President,  Venango  county,  Pennsylvania,  a 
daughter  of  William  McLain  and  Susanna  (Haslett)  Thompson,  and  grand- 
daughter of  Margaret  (Hays)  Thompson,  who  was  a  cousin  of  General  Alex- 
ander Hays.  Susanna  (Haslett)  Thompson  was  a  daughter  of  James  Haslett, 
whose  father  and  one  brother  were  the  only  survivors  of  the  Haslett  family 
which  was  massacred  by  the  Indians  at  their  settlement  near  the  present  site 
of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  Elnora  (Thompson)  Duer  was  educated  in  the 
public  schools  of  Dempseytown,  Venango  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  in  the 
Laird  Institute  at  Murrysville.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Duer  have  had  children:  i. 
Lenna  Romayne,  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  December  20,  1891.  She 
married  Robert  Edgar  Long,  who  is  a  press  representative,  and  resides  in 
Washington,  District  of  Columbia.  2.  Carrie  Gail,  born  in  Leetonia,  Ohio, 
April  19,  1896,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Pittsburg. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER  PEOPLE  v  155 

JAMES  G.  STORER,  auditor  of  the  Pennsylvania  Water  Company  in 
Wilkinsburg,  and  prominently  identified  with  the  public  affairs  of  that  com- 
munity, is  a  member  of  a  family  which  has  been  resident  in  the  state  for  some 
generations. 

Thomas  Storer,  grandfather  of  James  G.  Storer,  was  a  farmer  in  Wash- 
ington county,  Pennsylvania,  and  owned  a  fine  farm  near  what  is  now  known 
as  Coal  Valley.  He  married  Elizabeth  Holcraft,  daughter  of  that  historical 
personage  known  as  /'Tom  the  Tinker,"  who  took  a  leading  part  in  the  famous 
Whiskey  Insurrection.  He  was  one  of  the  farmers  who  operated  a  still,  and 
so  was  a  strenuous  opponent  to  the  increased  tax  placed  upon  whiskey  by  the 
government.  The  old  Holcraft  dwelling  is  still  to  be  seen,  but  the  still  no 
longer  exists,  and  the  property  has  passed  into  other  hands.  Richard  and 
Elizabeth  (Holcraft)  Storer  had  thirteen  children,  among  them  being:  Rich- 
ard, Frank,  William,  Rev.  Thomas  (see  forward),  Jane  and  Elizabeth.  The 
remains  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Storer  are  buried  on  the  old  farm  in  Washington 
county,  Pennsylvania. 

Rev.  Thomas  Storer,  son  of  Richard  and  Elizabeth  (Holcraft)  Storer, 
was  born  on  the  family  homestead  in  1825.  He  attended  the  public  schools  of 
that  district  and  later  went  to  the  medical  college  in  Cincinnati,  from  which  he 
was  graduated  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  He  practiced  the  med- 
ical profession  for  a  time  and  then  took  up  the  study  of  theology  and  was 
ordained  a  minister  in  the  Methodist  church.  He  was  at  various  times  pastor 
of  congregations  in :  Butler,  Pennsylvania ;  West  Elizabeth,  Pennsylvania ; 
Alliance,  Ohio ;  Freedom,  Pennsylvania ;  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania ;  and, 
lastly.  Mount  Pleasant,  where  his  death  occurred  in  1891.  During  the  prog- 
ress of  the  Civil  war  he  was  chaplain  of  the  One  Hundred  and  Thirty-fourth 
Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  Colonel  Matthew  Quay  commanding,  and  he  was 
a  member  of  ]\Iount  Pleasant  Post,  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  He  married 
Margaret  N.  Morgan,  daughter  of  Captain  Morgan,  who  was  prominent  in  the 
militia,  and  lies  in  the  old  Mingo  cemetery  in  Washington  county.  Their  chil- 
dren were:  James  G.  (see  forward)  ;  Enos  K.,  lives  in  Kansas;  Dr.  Frank, 
married  Cora  Strickler ;    Elizabeth,  and  Ella. 

James  G.  Storer,  eldest  child  of  Rev.  Thomas  and  Margaret  N.  (Mor- 
gan) Storer,  was  born  at  Gastonville.  Washington  county,  Pennsylvania, 
3klarch  28,  1852.  His  early  years  were  spent  there  and  he  received  his  educa- 
tion in  the  local  public  schools  and  the  Mount  Union  College,  Ohio.  He  was 
employed  by  the  Adams  Express  Company  in  Pittsburg  for  a  period  of  eighteen 
years,  and  in  1882  removed  to  Wilkinsburg.  He  was  elected  borough  clerk  of 
Wilkinsburg  and  held  that  office  for  four  years.  He  then  entered  the  employ 
of  the  Pennsylvania  Water  Company  in  Wilkinsburg,  as  secretary  and  auditor, 
and  holds  that  position  at  the  present  time.  He  was  elected  justice  of  the 
peace  in  1907,  to  take  the  place  of  Samuel  Crechman,  deceased.  His  political 
support  is  given  to  the  Republican  party,  and  he  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist 
church.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Pennwood  Club ;  is  a  member 
of  Beta  Lodge,  No.  647,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons ;  member  of  the  Improved 
Order  of  Heptasophs  :  and  an  honorary  member  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the 
Republic.  He  married  Ida  Stattenfield,  deceased,  and  they  had  one  child, 
Eugene,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  medical  department  of  the  Western  Univer- 
sity of  Pennsylvania.  Ida  (Stattenfield)  Storer  was  descended  from  Jacob 
Stattenfield,  who  was  a  son  of  Baron  Stattenfield,  and  resided  in  Germantown 


156  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

at  the  time  of  the  Revolutionary  war.  Jacob  married,  1778,  Christina  Bretz, 
daughter  of  Jacob  and  Christina  Bretz,  and  they  had  children:  Christina, 
Mary  Tacy,  Lewis  (see  forward),  John  and  x^nnie. 

Lewis  Stattenfield,  son  of  Jacob  and  Christina  (Bretz)  Stattenfield,  was 
engaged  in  the  tobacco  business  and  migrated  to  Wilkinsburg,  where  he  opened 
a  tobacco  store  in  Penn  avenue.  He  married  Elizabeth  McClure,  of  Mifflin 
township,  and  had  children:  Joseph  (see  forward)  ;  Lewis,  who  married  Miss 
Harlbaugh ;  James,  married  Mary  McClure ;  Mary,  married  Samuel  Chad- 
wick  ;  Catherine,  died  young  ;  Margaret,  married  James  Jack  ;  Elizabeth,  mar- 
ried Ferdinand  Miller ;   and  Synthetia,  unmarried. 

Joseph  Stattenfield,  eldest  child  of  Lewis  and  Elizabeth  (McClure)  Stat- 
tenfield, was  born  June  15,  1818,  and  died  April  24,  1885.  He  was  a  carpenter 
by  trade,  but  for  many  years  was  employed  as  engineer  on  the  river  steam- 
boats. He  purchased  the  property  of  his  father  in  Penn  avenue,  afterward 
selling  it  to  Dr.  Pershing.  He  was  a  Democrat  in  politics  and  a  member  of 
the  Presbyterian  church.  He  married  Mary  Jane  Hamilton,  daughter  of  Wil- 
liam and  Betsey  (Samson)  Hamilton,  who  had  other  children:  Frank  deceased, 
and  Katherine  Ven. 


WALTER  L.  SMITH,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Wilkinsburg,  Penn- 
sylvania, is  of  a  family  which  has  shown  its  patriotism  and  devotion  to  their 
country  in  war  as  well  as  in  the  gentler  arts  of  peace. 

Joel  Smith,  grandfather  of  Walter  L.  Smith,  was  one  of  the  early  settlers 
in  Preston  county.  West  Virginia,  and  received  a  grant  of  five  hundred  acres 
of  land  from  the  government.  He  married  Anna  Snyder  and  reared  a  large 
family. 

Calvin  C.  Smith,  son  of  Joel  and  Anna  (Snyder)  Smith,  was  born  in 
Preston  county.  West  Virginia,  September  30,  1846,  and  acquired  as  good  an 
education  as  the  schools  of  that  time  and  locality  afforded.  He  was  appren- 
ticed to  learn  the  carpenter's  trade,  which  he  followed  for  some  time,  and  then 
removed  to  Connellsville.  Pennsylvania,  where  he  engaged  in  business  as  a 
contractor  and  builder.  Fie  carried  on  this  line  of  business  very  successfully 
until  1891,  when  he  retired  from  active  work.  At  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil 
war  he  enlisted  in  the  Sixth  Regiment,  West  Virginia  Volunteers,  served  with 
distinction  four  years,  and  was  honorably  discharged  with  the  rank  of  corporal 
at  the  close  of  the  great  struggle.  He  was  an  active  participant  in  many  of 
the  important  battles  of  the  war:  Piedmont,  June  5,  1864;  Lynchburg,  June 
17.  1864;  Monocacy,  July  9,  1864;  Sickles'  Ferry,  July  18,  1864;  Winchester, 
July  20-24,  1864;  Martinsburg,  July  25,  1864;  Halltown,  August  24,  1864; 
Opequan,  September  19,  1864;  Fisher's  Hill,  September  22,  1864;  and  Cedar 
Creek,  October  19,  1864.  He  was  long  held  a  prisoner  of  war,  being  captured 
at  Oakland,  Maryland,  February  28,  1862,  and  was  paroled  at  New  Market. 
May  15,  1863.  He  was  an  orderly  at  headquarters  for  Lieutenant  Meigs,  chief 
engineer,  Department  of  West  Virginia,  from  August,  1863,  until  the  death  of 
that  officer  at  Martinsburg,  West  Virginia,  July  25,  1864. 

He  married  Mary  A.  Crawford,  daughter  of  Colonel  James  G.  and  Rachel 
(Guthrie)  Crawford,  the  former  born  in  Philadelphia,  and  served  in  the  Civil 
war  with  honor  as  an  officer  in  the  volunteer  force.  Calvin  and  Mary  A. 
(Crawford)  Smith  had  children:     i.   Virginia  E.,  married  J.  E.  Herbert,  had 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  157 


children :  Mary  A.,  Ida  M.,  Alverda,  Alice,  Gladys  and  Florence.  2.  Albert 
J.,  married  Mary  Watson,  had  children :  Clay,  Elinor  and  Mary.  3.  Walter 
L.  (see  forward).  4.  Ida  Mav,  married  Charles  Shank,  has  children:  Herbert, 
Earl  and  Mabel. 

Walter  L.  Smith,  second  son  and  third  child  of  Calvin  and  Mary  A. 
(Crawford)  Smith,  was  born  at  Brandonville,  Preston  county,  West  Virginia, 
February  2,  1872.  He  was  very  young  when  his  parents  removed  to  Connells- 
ville,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  was  educated  in  the  public  schools.  The  first 
step  in  his  business  career  was  as  clerk  in  a  drug  store  in  Ligonier,  Pennsyl- 
vania, where  by  strict  economy  and  diligence  he  saved  a  sufficient  sum  of 
money  to  enable  him  to  enter  the  pharmaceutical  department  of  the  Western 
University  of  Pennsylvania,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  highest 
honors  of  his  class  in  1897.  He  then  associated  himself  with  F.  D.  Saupp, 
J.  S.  Anderson,  H.  L.  Greer  and  William  Hayden,  and  organized  the  Physi- 
cians' Supply  Company,  with  business  quarters  at  Penn  avenue  and  Seventh 
street.  jMr.  Smith  sold  out  his  interest  in  this  enterprise  to  F.  D.  Saupp  in 
1900,  and  engaged  in  the  drug  business  independently  at  No.  3705  Fifth  ave- 
nue, Pittsburg,  until  his  main  store  at  Wood  street  and  Franklin  avenue, 
Wilkinsburg,  should  be  finished.  He  then  removed  the  first  mentioned  busi- 
ness to  Tioga  and  Wood  streets,  and  carried  on  business  in  both  stores  until 
1907,  when  he  sold  the  Tioga  store  to  E.  J.  Kelley.  His  business  in  the  main 
store  in  Wilkinsburg  increased  so  rapidly  that  the  original  space  devoted  to  it 
was  entirely  inadequate,  and  to  accommodate  the  increased  demand  upon  his 
resources  he  associated  with  E.  B.  Milligan  and  C.  H.  Bangs,  of  Boston,  Massa- 
chusetts, forming  a  corporation.  They  purchased  the  adjoining  property  and 
added  the  space  thus  gained  to  the  original  store.  Subsequently  Mr.  Smith 
took  over  the  stock  owned  by  E.  B.  Milligan,  and  is  now  the  owner  of  more 
than  two-thirds  of  the  original  capitalization  of  fifty  thousand  dollars.  The 
store  is  equipped  in  the  most  modern  and  up-to-date  style  in  every  particular, 
and  has  special  departments  devoted  to  ice  cream,  soda  water  and  confectionery 
and  candies.  The  remarkable  success  attending  this  undertaking  is  largely  due 
to  the  determination  and  executive  ability  of  Mr.  Smith.  Although  taking  no 
active  part  in  the  political  afifairs  of  the  city,  he  is  a  stanch  supporter  of  the 
Republican  party. 

He  married,  October  19,  1897,  Blanche  Marie  Ambrose,  daughter  of  J.  W. 
and  Anna  (Beltz)  Ambrose,  and  they  have  one  child,  J.  Ambrose. 


EDWARD  REGINALD  WALTERS.  M.  D.  Dr.  Edward  R.  Walters, 
among  the  leading  general  medical  practitioners  of  the  city  of  Pittsburg,  Penn- 
sylvania, as  well  as  prominent  in  the  municipal  affairs  of  the  city,  was  born  in 
King's  Lane,  Engiand.  December  20,  1869,  son  of  James  Smith  and  Harriet 
Ann  (Dov;)  Walters,  he  being  one  of  the  three  children  born  to  them.  This 
is  a  family  of  physicians,  each  generation  for  many  before  the  subject  having 
had  its  noted  doctors  among  its  members. 

(I)  Edward  S.  Walters,  the  grandfather,  was  a  prominent  physician,  as 
well  as  his  ancestors  for  two  hundred  years  preceding  him,  and  are  noted  in 
medical  works. 

(II)  James  Smith  Walters,  M.  D.,  son  of  Edward  S.  and  Sarah  (Smith) 
Walters,  was  born   in   Stafifordshire,   England,   in    1844  and  graduated   from 


158  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Guy's  Hospital,  London,  England.  Following  his  graduation  he  practiced  as 
an  assistant  to  Dr.  McKenzie  in  Cheadle,  Staffordshire,  also  assistant  to  Dr. 
Woodward  in  King's  Lane.  In  1870  he  emigrated  to  America,  locating  at 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  built  up  a  large  and  very  successful  prac- 
tice. He  died  November  8,  1900.  He  was  a  Republican  in  his  political  views 
and  in  religion  an  Episcopalian.  He  married  Miss  Harriet  Ann  Dow,  born 
in  King's  Lane,  December  21,  1844.  She  is  the  daughter  of  Edward  and 
Mary  (Millington)  Dow,  still  survives  and  resides  with  the  subject  of  this 
notice.  The  issue  by  this  union  was :  (i)  Fanny  H.,  now  the  wife  of  Dr.  C.  W. 
Moffitt,  a  prominent  physician  of  Boston,  Massachusetts;  (2)  Edward  R.,  of 
this  notice;  (3)  Harry  G.,  deceased. 

(HI)  Dr.  Edward  R.  Walters  received  his  education  at  the  public  schools 
and  in  a  preparatory  school  directed  by  Professor  Denniston.  In  the  spring  of 
1887  he  went  west,  spending  some  eighteen  months  in  the  states  of  Nebraska, 
Colorado,  Wyoming  and  Montana,  during  which  time  he  was  employed  on 
horse  and  cattle  ranches.  After  thus  broadening  his  scope  of  knowledge  he 
returned  to  Pittsburg,  where  for  a  short  time  he  was  in  the  employ  of  the  con- 
tracting firm  of  Booth  &  Flinn.  He  then  traveled  abroad,  spending  a  year  and 
a  half  with  an  uncle,  a  paper  maker,  in  Saint  Gaudans,  France,  who  is  a  manu- 
facturer of  fine  tissue  and  cigarette  papers.  While  there  the  subject  studied 
the  art  of  making  paper,  but  he  finally  determined  upon  the  study  of  medi- 
cine and  returned  to  Pittsburg,  after  a  brief  sojourn  in  England,  arriving  in 
his  old  Pittsburg  home  in  the  spring  of  1891.  He  then  took  up  the  study  of 
medicine  with  his  father,  and  later  entered  the  Hahnemann  Medical  College,  of 
Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania.  In  the  spring  of  1894,  following  his  graduation, 
he  formed  a  partnership  with  his  father,  practicing  under  the  firm  name  of 
J.  S.  &  E.  R.  Walters,  which  partnership  existed  several  years,  when  the 
subject's  increasing  practice  demanded  all  of  his  attention  and  he  withdrew 
from  the  firm.  He  established  an  office  in  the  Liberty  National  Bank  building 
and  subsequently  located  at  his  present  office,  No.  280  Shady  avenue.  He  has 
been  very  successful  as  a  practitioner,  today  enjoying  an  almost  enviable  pro- 
fessional reputation. 

Politically,  Dr.  Walters  is  a  Republican  and  has  long  been  active  in  party 
work  and  has  held  numerous  official  positions.  In  February,  1904,  he  was 
elected  a  member  of  the  select  council  of  Pittsburg,  and  April  2,  1906,  was 
elected  president  of  the  select  council.  Prior  to  1904,  he  had  been  a  mem- 
ber of  the  executive  committee  for  the  twentieth  ward  of  his  city  for  ten 
years,  and  was  its  chairman  for  six  years. 

He  was  united  in  marriage  October  28,  1896,  to  Miss  Katherine  A.,  daugh- 
ter of  Owen  Brady  and  wife,  of  Philadelphia.  Her  father  is  president  of 
the  Easton  McMann  Transportation  Company,  of  that  city.  Dr.  Walters  and 
wife  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  (i)  John  Edward;  (2)  and 
(3)  twins  Edward  R.,  Jr.,  and  Katherine  A.;  (4)  Mary  Harriett. 


GEORGE  MEYER,  JR.,  the  present  manager  of  the  Brunswick-Balke- 
Collender  Company,  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio, 
June  16,  1 86 1,  a  son  of  George  and  Rose  (Huber)  Meyer.  George  Meyer  was 
born  in  Bavaria,  Germany,  and  emigrated  to  this  country  about  1848,  settling 
at  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  where  he  engaged  in  the  merchant  tailoring  business.     He 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  159 


carried  on  this  business  for  a  number  of  years,  becoming  a  prominent  citizen 
of  that  city  and  financially  interested  in  many  business  enterprises  there.  He 
finally  retired  from  active  business  affairs,  a  wealthy  man.  In  politics  he  was 
a  stanch  defender  of  Republican  party  principles,  and  became  a  leader  of  the 
German-American  element  of  his  adopted  city.  He  never  held  but  one  public 
position,  that  of  superintendent  of  markets,  but  was  ever  an  active  factor  in 
his  political  party.  He  possessed  a  fine  voice  and  was  greatly  interested  in  the 
singing  societies  of  Cincinnati,  belonging  to  the  Pioneer  Singer  Society  and 
the  Central  Turn  Verein.  During  the  Civil  war  Mr.  Meyer  served  in  the  Ninth 
Regiment.  Ohio  \'olunteers,  enlisting  for  three  years.  He  served  his  term  of 
enlistment  and  received  his  honorable  discharge  in  1864.  He  was  a  member 
of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  and  died  at  the  age  of  sixty-three  years, 
in  1893.  George  and  Rose  (Huber)  Meyer  were  the  parents  of  three  chil- 
dren: I.  Emma,  who  married  Frederick  Cooke,  now  deceased,  of  California. 
2.  Rose,  unmarried.  3.  George.  Jr.,  was  reared  in  Cincinnati,  where  he 
obtained  his  education  at  the  public  schools.  He  began  his  business  career  in 
a  machine  shop,  but  soon  thereafter  began  clerking  for  James  L.  Haven  & 
Company,  manufacturers  of  agricultural  implements  and  hardware  goods. 
Later  he  was  employed  by  Perrin,  Gaft"  &  Company,  dealers  in  hardware.  In 
1879  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Brunswick-Balke-Collender  Company, 
makers  of  and  dealers  in  billiard  room  goods.  With  this  company  Mr.  Meyer 
has  been  connected  ever  since,  and  is  now  the  Pittsburg  manager,  having  been 
promoted  to  this  position  in  1884. 

For  many  years  he  has  been  prominent  in  the  Order  of  Elks  of  Pittsburg, 
holding  for  two  years  the  office  of  exalted  ruler  in  Lodge  No.  11 ;  also  for 
four  years  was  an  officer  in  the  grand  lodge  of  the  United  States.  He  belongs 
to  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  of  Pittsburg,  the  Heptasophs  and  Central  Turn 
Societies.  Politically  he  affiliates  with  the  Republican  party.  In  1900  he 
removed  to  Edgewood  Park,  where  he  purchased  a  handsome  property  and  a 
dwelling  at  the  corner  of  Braddock  and  Hutchinson  avenues. 

George  Meyer,  Jr.,  married  Elizabeth  Katherine  Durr,  daughter  of  Frank 
and  Elizabeth  (Fisher)  Durr.  The  father  of  Mrs.  Meyer  was  killed  in  the 
Civil  war.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Meyer  have  had  one  son,  George  Meyer  (third), 
who  married  Jean  Miller,  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  T.  Miller,  of  Pittsburg. 


THE  POLLOCK  FA^IILY,  of  which  Doctor  William  F.  Pollock,  of 
South  Side,  Pittsburg,  is  a  descendant,  is  one  well  known  in  Pennsylvania  his- 
tory. The  ancestor  of  the  family  in  America  was  Edwin  Pollock,  born  in 
County  Down,  Ireland,  and  was  educated  for  the  ministry,  but  to  avoid  enter- 
ing the  army  in  his  native  country  his  relatives  smuggled  him  over  in  a  vessel 
to  America.    He  died  here  while  his  son  James  C.  was  but  a  small  boy. 

(II)  James  C.  Pollock  was  educated  at  the  rate  school  common  in  the 
days  before  1835,  in  Chester  county,  Pennsylvania.  After  his  father's  death 
his  mother  married  Frank  Aulthouse,  of  Chester  county,  and  later  young  Pol- 
lock accompanied  his  stepfather  to  Washington  county,  Pennsylvania,  coming 
over  the  Alleghany  mountains  in  a  covered  wagon  in  which  was  the  family  and 
all  of  their  household  goods.  The  stepfather,  Aulthouse,  was  a  farmer,  and 
died  in  Washington  county,  Pennsylvania.    James  C.  Pollock  began  life's  work 


i6o  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


as  a  stage  driver  on  the  old  National  Pike,  from  Monongahela  City  to  Robbs- 
town,  Pennsylvania,  and  later  was  a  teamster  in  Monongahela  City.  In  1834 
he  married  Eliza  Carney,  a  native  of  Ireland,  and  they  were  the  parents  of 
Dr.  William  F.,  now  a  practicing  physician  of  Pittsburg.  The  mother  of  this 
son  died  in  1841,  and  the  father,  February  23,  1843,  married  Julia  Ann  Croner, 
born  June  7,  1817,  in  Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania,  daughter  of  Abraham 
and  Elizabeth  (Brown)  Croner,  by  whom  was  born  the  following  children: 
Joseph  H. ;  Elizabeth  L. ;  James  D. ;  Margaret  and  Sarah  M.,  deceased.  In 
1844  the  family  moved  from  Monongahela  City  to  Cross  Creek  township  and 
then  to  Burgettstown,  where  the  father  conducted  the  old  Keystone  Hotel. 
From  there  they  removed  to  Florence  and  conducted  a  hotel  at  that  point, 
which  was  on  the  stage  road  from  Pittsburg  to  Steubenville,  Ohio.  Subse- 
quently he  purchased  a  farm  in  Hanover  township,  Washington  county,  Penn- 
svlvania,  and  in  1885  moved  to  a  good  residence  a  quarter  of  a  mile  out  of 
the  borough  of  Florence,  while  his  two  sons  operated  his  farm.  He  began 
life's  battle  as  a  poor  boy,  but  by  his  frugal  management  has  accumulated  a 
handsome  property,  including  many  fine  houses.  In  his  politics  Mr.  Pollock 
is  a  Democrat  and  has  held  such  offices  as  jury  commissioner,  constable,  regis- 
ter and  assessor.     He  retired  from  the  active  labors  of  life  in  1890. 

(Ill)  Doctor  William  F.  Pollock,  eldest  son  of  James  C.  Pollock,  by  his 
first  marriage,  was  born  at  Monongahela  City,  Pennsylvania,  March  24,  1840. 
His  early  life  was  passed  mostly  on  the  farm,  and  he  was  given  his  primary 
tuition  in  the  township  schools.  He  attended  the  Burgettstown  Academy,  and 
when  he  determined  on  the  medical  profession  began  his  studies  in  the  office 
of  Dr.  McCarroll,  of  F"lorence.  He  entered  Michigan  University  at  Ann  Arbor 
and  later  graduated  from  the  Cleveland  Medical  College,  Cleveland,  Ohio. 
Dr.  Pollock  began  the  practice  of  his  profession  at  New  Manchester,  the  county 
seat  of  Hancock  county.  West  Virginia,  where  he  remained  two  years.  He 
then  practiced  for  a  time  in  Washington  county,  Pennsylvania,  until  1872. 
In  that  year  he  settled  in  Pittsburg.  Pennsylvania,  and  here  for  thirty-five 
years  he  has  been  continuously  with  offices  on  Carson  street,  never  having 
moved  them  from  the  block  between  Nineteenth  and  Twentieth  streets.  He 
pursues  a  general  line  of  practice  and  has  acquired  great  skill  in  relieving 
suffering.  His  practice  is  large  and  he  has  acquired  in  these  thirty-five  years 
hosts  of  friends,  an  unblemished  reputation  and  substantial  pecuniary  reward. 
His  term  of  service,  thirty-five  years  of  continuous  practice,  is  only  equaled 
by  one  other  physician  of  the  South  Side.  Dr.  Pollock  holds  membership  in 
various  medical  bodies,  including  the  Allegheny  and  Pennsylvania  Medical 
Societies  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  He  is  a  member  of  Monon- 
gahela Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Duquesne  Chapter,  R.  A.  M.,  and  Commandery 
No.  I,  K.  T. 

He  married,  June  9,  1863,  at  Florence,  Pennsylvania,  Reuemah  Jane, 
daughter  of  William  J.  and  Margaret  Potts.  They  had  one  child,  who  died  in 
infancy. 

Dr.  Pollock  is  chairman  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  South  Side  Pres- 
byterian church,  wdiere  he  and  Mrs.  Pollock  are  regular  attendants.  During 
the  later  years  of  a  busy  and  useful  life,  stirred  by  the  conditions  in  his  ward, 
the  Doctor  joined  heartily  in  the  cause  of  political  reform.  He  aids  greatly  ia 
securing  better  conditions  for  his  city.    He  is  a  lifelong  Democrat. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  i6] 


MATTHEW  SLINGER  METCALFE,  a  well-known  real  estate  agent 
of  Pittsburg,  was  born  December  25,  1857.  in  Iowa,  son  of  William  Metcalfe 
and  grandson  of  John  Metcalfe,  who  was  born  in  1789,  in  Wensley  Dale, 
Yorkshire,  England.  He  received  but  little  education,  and  when  a  young  man 
learned  the  trade  of  a  stone  mason,  which  he  followed  all  his  life.  He  was  a 
man  of  independent  character,  and  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
church. 

John  ]\Ietcalfe  married  Margaret  Slinger,  born  in  1793,  in  Bishop  Dale, 
Yorkshire,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  the  following  children,  all  of  whom 
were  born  in  England:  i.  Anthony,  born  August  22,  1820,  died  at  the  age  of 
sixteen.  2.  Elizabeth,  born  December  2,  182 1,  came  in  1843  to  the  United 
States,  and  settled  in  Pittsburg,  where  her  husband,  Francis  Robinson,  of  Eng- 
land, passed  his  life  as  a  farmer.  3.  John,  born  April  11,  1824,  marble  cutter, 
came  in  1847  to  the  United  States.  He  married  Mary  Hogue,  of  England,  and 
they  were  the  parents  of  six  children.  4.  William.  5.  Edward,  born  Decem- 
ber, 1827,  farmer,  came  to  this  country  in  1845,  and  settled  in  Pittsburg,  now 
lives  in  Boone,  Iowa.  6.  Mary,  born  January  13,  1830,  fatally  burned  at  the 
age  of  ten  years.  7.  Thomas,  born  May  5,  183 1,  came  in  1843  to  the  United 
States,  and  all  his  life  followed  the  calling  of  a  miner.  He  married  Eleanor 
Jones,  of  Pittsburg,  and  died  February  22,  1906,  aged  seventy-five.  8.  Alice, 
born  May  6,  1833,  wife  of  James  Hunter,  of  Pittsburg.  9.  Mathew  S.,  bom 
April  6,  1835,  came  in  1845  to  the  United  States  and  settled  with  his  brothers 
in  Pittsburg.  He  was  for  years  a  miner,  and  is  now  janitor  of  Hazel  wood 
school.  He  served  two  terms  of  enlistment  in  the  army.  He  married  Catharine 
Seeman,  a  native  of  Germany.  10.  Jane,  born  July  17,  1838,  came  to  Pitts- 
burg, and  is  now  the  wife  of  Edward  Jones,  a  retired  miner.  John  Metcalfe, 
the  father  of  this  large  family,  died  at  the  age  of  seventy-five. 

William  Metcalfe,  son  of  John  and  Margaret  (Slinger)  Metcalfe,  was 
born  April  20,  1826,  in  Yorkshire,  and  enjoyed  but  few  advantages  of  educa- 
tion. In  1843  he  emigrated  to  the  United  States  and  settled  in  Minersville, 
now  the  Thirteenth  ward  of  Pittsburg.  For  sixty  years  he  followed  the  calling- 
of  a  miner,  but  has  now  retired,  and  makes  his  home  with  his  son.  For  two 
years  he  was  a  councilman  of  Pittsburg  and  for  four  years  served  as  school 
director  of  the  Thirty-eighth  ward.  His  first  presidential  vote  was  cast  for 
Buchanan,  but  he  has  since  been  a  strong  Republican.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  Washington  avenue. 

Mr.  Metcalfe  married  Sarah  S.,  born  November  19,  1824,  on  the  shores  of 
Long  Island  Sound,  daughter  of  \Mlliam  and  Catharine  Murray,  of  New  York, 
the  former  born  September  6,  1800,  and  the  latter  June  4,  1803.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Metcalfe  had  the  following  children,  all  of  whom  were  born  in  Pittsburg: 
Catharine,  born  October  22,  1854,  died  in  youth;  John,  born  March  7,  1856, 
died  May  18,  1876;  Matthew  Slinger;  Elizabeth,  born  October  9,  1859,  wife  of 
John  Patterson,  children,  John,  Harry  and  Annie;  Francis  G.,  born  May  5, 
1863,  carpenter,  married  twice,  first  wife  Pearl  Gregg,  who  died  in  1891,  sec- 
ond wife  Hattie  Duval,  children,  Myrtle  and  Francis ;  and  Penolla  S.,  born 
March  22,  1865.  died  March  6.  1886. 

Matthew  Slinger  Metcalfe,  son  of  William  and  Sarah  S.  (Murray)  Met- 
calfe, was  two  years  old  when  his  parents  moved  to  Pittsburg,  and  he  received 
a  good  education  in  the  schools  of  that  city.     At  twelve  years  old  he  began 
to  work  at  the  coal  shaft,  and  was  employed  there  until  the  age  of  twenty, 
iv— 11 


i62  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


when  he  entered  the  plate  and  sheet  department  of  the  mills,  where  he  worked 
steadily  for  twenty-two  years.  In  1900  he  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business, 
which  he  carries  on  at  the  present  time,  his  office  being  situated  in  the  Thirty- 
eighth  ward.  For  seven  years  he  has  served  as  a  school  director  of  his  ward. 
He  belongs  to  Elite  Lodge,  No.  842,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  of  Pittsburg.  He  and  his 
wife  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church,  in  which  he  has  held  for 
several  years  the  office  of  steward,  also  serving  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday- 
school. 

Mr.  Metcalfe  married  Sarah  A.,  born  February  4,  1862,  daughter  of  George 
and  Nancy  A.  Fisher,  of  Pittsburg,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  two  sons,  both 
of  whom  live  at  home  with  their  father  and  mother :  George,  born  March  23, 
1883,  clerk  in  the  Pittsburg  postoffice ;  and  ^Matthew  Slinger,  born  September 
30,  1892,  in  school. 


GEORGE  ROBINSON  CREIGHTON.  Prominent  among  the  highly 
esteemed  and  enterprising  business  men  of  the  city  of  Grafton,  Pennsylvania, 
is  George  R.  Creighton,  a  native  of  Shousetown,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, born  August  2,  1854,  son  of  John  and  Elizabeth  (Harper)  Creighton, 
and  grandson  of  John  and  Nancy  (MacMillan)  Creighton. 

John  Creighton  (grandfather)  was  born  in  the  north  of  Ireland  in  1773, 
died  at  Shousetown,  Pennsylvania.  1861,  aged  eighty-eight  years.  In  early 
manhood  he  emigrated  to  the  United  States,  locating  for  a  short  time  at  Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania,  but  subsequently  removed  to  Allegheny  county,  by  way 
of  the  old  stage  and  canal  route,  and  was  among  the  first  settlers  of  Shouse- 
town. He  purchased  a  farm  on  what  was  known  as  "Flaugherty's  Run,"  near 
Shousetown ;  the  old  homestead  is  still  in  the  possession  of  his  descendants,  and 
the  old  log  house  is  still  intact.  Fie  was  one  of  the  most  respected  men  of  the 
community,  his  influence  being  always  felt  on  the  side  of  right  and  justice. 
He  was  of  the  old  Scotch  Presbyterian  stock,  and  took  an  active  interest  in  the 
affairs  of  the  Old  Scottsville  church.  His  wife,  Nancy  (MacMillan)  Creighton, 
born  about  1779,  and  died  1863,  aged  eighty- four  years,  bore  him  the  following 
children,  all  of  whom  are  deceased:  i.  James,  of  Ohio.  2.  John  (see  for- 
ward). 3.  William,  of  Beaver  county,  Pennsylvania.  4.  Martha,  wife  of 
Lewis  McCartney.     5.    Margaret,  wife  of  Robert  Morgan. 

John  Creighton  (father)  was  born  in  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania, 
December  12',  1813,  and  died  June  7,  1876.  He  was  educated  in  the  schools  of 
Shousetown,  Pennsylvania.  In  early  life  he  gave  his  attention  to  agricultural 
pursuits ;  later  he  served  an  apprenticeship  at  the  trade  of  boat  building  in 
the  boat  yards  at  Shousetown,  which  he  followed  for  a  number  of  years ;  he 
then  moved  on  a  farm  near  Clinton,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  and 
after  a  residence  of  fifteen  years  there  sold  his  farm  and  moved  to  Clinton, 
where  he  purchased  the  piece  of  property  on  which  he  resided  for  the 
remainder  of  his  life.  Mr.  Creighton  and  his  family  were  regular  attendants 
of  the  United  Presbyterian  church ;  their  mode  of  traveling  back  and  forth 
was  on  horseback,  the  older  children  riding  at  the  back  and  the  younger 
children  in  front  of  their  parents. 

John  Creighton  married  Elizabeth  Harper,  born  March  5,  181 2,  and  died 
April  14,  1890,  daughter  of  John  and  Margaret  (MacMillan)  Harper,  of  Scotch 
origin,  John  Harper  being  among  the  early  settlers  in  this  countr}^  from  Scot- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  163 


land.  Eleven  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Creighton,  namely:  i. 
John,  died  in  infancy.  2  and  3.  Two  infants,  who  died  in  infancy.  4.  John 
T.,  a  prominent  carriage  manufacturer  of  Canton,  Ohio ;  married  Sarah 
Walkup  has  two  children:  John,  Jr.,  and  Luella,  deceased.  5.  David  Harper, 
died  June  12,  1900,  aged  sixty-two  years;  he  was  a  carpenter  and  contractor 
in  Clinton,  Pennsylvania;  married  ]\Iissouri  Vandivourt,  four  children:  Ed- 
ward, Maud,  Everett  and  Avilla.  6.  Margaret,  married  (first)  Dr.  William 
Henry,  two  children:  John  H.  and  Nettie  Henry;  married  (second)  Jacob 
Ladshaw,  deceased ;  Mrs.  Ladshaw  and  her  children  reside  at  Clinton,  Penn- 
sylvania. 7.  Andrew,  resident  of  Allegheny  City,  is  a  dealer  in  horces; 
married  Margaret  Witherow,  three  children :  James,  Lyda  and  Alfreda, 
deceased.  8.  Robert  Pollock,  of  Ashtabula,  Ohio ;  married  (first)  Jennie 
Coates ;  (second)  Bianca  Brown;  one  daughter,  Blanche.  9.  William,  a 
farmer  of  Washington  county,  Pennsylvania;  married  (first)  Bessie  Johnston, 
who  bore  him  three  children:  Ulysses,  John  and  George;  married  (second) 
Mahala  Custer,  two  children:  Bessie  and  Mary.  10.  Matilda,  wife  of  Joseph 
Gordon,  one  daughter.  Lyda ;  family  resides  in  Washington  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania.    II.  George  Robinson,  see  forward. 

George  Robinson  Creighton  spent  his  boyhood  in  Clinton,  Allegheny 
county,  and  attended  the  public  schools  thereof,  acquiring  a  practical  education. 
In  young  manhood  he  went  to  Alliance,  Ohio,  and  learned  the  trade  of  coach 
painter  in  the  shops  of  his  brothers,  John  and  Robert  P.  Creighton.  At  the 
expiration  of  three  years  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  worked  at 
his  trade  for  the  firm  of  Workman  &  Davis  on  Penn  avenue.  At  the  death  of 
his  father  he  went  to  Clinton  in  order  to  look  after  the  interests  of  his  mother, 
and  there  lived  and  followed  his  trade  for  three  years.  He  then  entered  the 
employ  of  the  Imperial  Coal  Company  as  a  clerk  in  their  store  at  Imperial, 
Pennsylvania,  and  three  years  later  entered  the  employ  of  the  firm  of  Joseph 
Walton  &  Company  at  Elizabeth,  Pennsylvania,  performing  clerical  work  for 
two  years.  He  then  went  to  Cliff  Mines,  Allegheny  county,  where  he  engaged 
in  mercantile  business  for  two  years,  and  during  this  time  he  secured  the 
establishment  of  a  postofifice  and  was  appointed  the  first  postmaster.  In  Feb- 
ruary, 1889,  he  sold  his  business  and  removed  to  Allegheny  City,  where  he 
took  the  management  of  a  mercantile  business,  conducting  the  same  for  two 
years.  He  then  engaged  in  insurance  business  with  the  Metropolitan  Insurance 
Company,  as  an  agent,  and  later  was  appointed  assistant  superintendent  and 
subsequently  superintendent  at  Bloomington,  Illinois.  Accompanied  by  his 
family  he  moved  thither  and  had  charge  of  the  office  and  business  of  the  com- 
pany for  seven  months ;  he  was  then  transferred  to  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  where 
he  remained  four  years ;  was  then  transferred  to  Allegheny  City,  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  remained  until  1904,  when  he  tendered  his  resignation.  He  then 
accepted  a  position  with  the  Real  Estate  Trust  Company  of  Pittsburg,  and  a 
year  later  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  on  his  own  account.  In  addition 
to  this  line  he  represents  many  of  the  best  fire  insurance  companies,  including 
the  Allegheny  National  and  Philadelphia  companies.  Mr.  Creighton  has  been 
a  resident  of  Grafton  borough  since  1904,  where  he  has  erected  an  office  build- 
ing in  addition  to  his  other  interests.  He  is  a  member  of  the  First  United 
Presbyterian  church  of  Grafton,  a  member  of  the  session,  treasurer  of  the  mis- 
sionary funds  and  a  teacher  in  the  Sunday-school. 

Mr.  Creighton  married,  April  18,  1877,  Sadie  E.  Adams,  born  in  Beaver 


i64  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 

county,  Pennsylvania,  Fehruary  19,  1856,  daughter  of  Alexander  M'.  and 
Harriet  (Quinn)  Adams.  Their  children  are:  i.  Ella  Virginia,  born  Feb- 
ruary 20,  1878.  married  Morton  P.  Wilson,  a  graduate  of  Leland  Stanford 
University,  California,  and  a  mechanical  engineer  with  the  Westinghouse 
Company!  They  are  the  parents  of  one  child,  Marjorie,  born  February  20,. 
1905;  the  family  reside  at  Crafton.  2.  Beulah  Lee,  born  May  5,  1882,  wife 
of  William  R.  Phillips,  a  graduate  of  Pennsylvania  State  College,  now  a  civil, 
engineer,  with  headquarters  at  Youngstown,  Ohio.     They  reside  at  Crafton. 

HIRAM  EDMUND  FRIESELL.  Mathias  Friesell,  the  American  pro- 
genitor of  the  family,  was  born  in  Bohemia.  When  three  years  of  age  his 
family  fled  to  Prussia,  owing  to  persecution  of  Protestants  in  his  native  coun- 
try. In  1795  he  came  to  America,  settling  near  New  Bethlehem,  Pennsylvania, 
and  in  1810  removed  to  Pittsburg.  He  was  a  man  of  remarkable  physical 
strength,  and  served  under  Frederick  the  Great.  He  followed  the  occupation; 
of  a  stonemason,  being  an  expert  workman.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Lutheran 
church.  He  married  Mary  Magdalena  Shafer  (spelling  not  certain),  who 
came  from  Bavaria  or  Prussia  to  America  in  1787;  she  was  a  member  of  the 

Evangelical  Lutheran  church.     Their  children  were :     Molly,  married 

Hartman ;  Peggy,  married  Jacob  Gass ;  William,  see  forward ;  John,  a  moulder 
by  trade;  Mathias,  a  blacksmith  by  trade,  died  at  Wheeling,  West  Virginia; 
Henry,  a  moulder  by  trade. 

William  Friesell,  son  of  Mathias  and  Mary  M.  (Shafer)  Friesell,  was 
born  near  Harrisburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  1803,  and  accompanied  his  parents  to 
Pittsburg  in  1810,  living  in  what  was  known  as  Birmingham.  He  had  the 
reputation  of  being  the  best  shoemaker  in  Pittsburg,  many  customers  coming 
from  one  hundred  miles  distant,  which  was  certainly  an  evidence  of  his  skill 
in  that  line.  He  was  an  elder  in  the  First  German  church  of  Pittsburg,  Sixth 
avenue  and  Smithfield  street,  in  which  he  was  marred  in  1829  to  Anna  Eliza- 
beth Henrici,  who  was  a  daughter  of  Lewis  Henrici,  who  came  to  America 
from  Bavaria  in  1825  owing  to  religious  persecutions.  She  was  a  sister  of 
Jacob  Henrici,  the  leader  of  the  Economite  Society,  which  for  many  years 
prospered  under  his  excellent  management  a  few  miles  west  of  Pittsburg. 
Their  children  were :  William,  killed  in  the  war  of  the  Rebellion.  John,  died 
in  1893;  was  the  owner  of  West  Point  Foundry,  Penn  avenue,  near  the  Point, 
and  together  with  his  brother  Jacob,  see  forward,  enjoyed  the  reputation  of 
being  the  most  skillful  iron  moulders  in  Pittsburg.  Jacob,  of  whom  later, 
Peter,  deceased ;  was  a  moulder  by  trade.  Mary,  married  Hiram  A.  Alter. 
Margaret,  married  Michael  Kistler.  W^illiam  Friesell  (father)  died  in  1877, 
aged  eighty-four. 

Jacob  Friesell,  son  of  William  and  Anna  E.  (Henrici)  Friesell,  was  born 
on  Greensburg  Pike,  near  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  1834.  He  received 
a  country  school  education,  was  a  moulder  and  musician,  a  Lutheran  in  re- 
ligion, a  Republican  in  politics,  and  served  three  years  and  three  months  during 
the  Civil  war.  He  married  Margaret  Jane  McClaren,  born  in  1840,  in  Alle- 
gheny county,  near  Sharpsburg,  daughter  of  Hugh  and  Jane  (Morrow) 
McClaren.  Hugh  McClaren  was  born  in  Ireland,  1807,  was  a  farmer  and 
machinist,  and  came  to  the  United  States  in  1824.  He  was  the  son  of  John 
and   Margaret    (McClelland)    McClaren;    his   father   was   a   landowner    and 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  165 


country  gentleman  in  Ireland,  and  was  killed  by  being  thrown  from  his  horse 
while  riding  to  hounds  about  the  year  1824.  Jane  (Morrow)  McClaren,  born 
1818,  on  the  Morrow  Farm,  Westmoreland  county,  near  Murrysville,  was  the 
daughter  of  John  Morrow,  born  in  1780,  in  the  north  of  Ireland,  came  to 
America  in  1785,  locating  in  Westmoreland  county,  near  Murrysville,  and 
Frances  (Mc\\'illiams)  Morrow,  born  at  Alurrysville,  Pennsylvania,  1788, 
daughter  of  John  AlcWilliams,  who  kept  the  old  hotel  in  Alurrysville.  Mr. 
jNTcWilliams  was  one  of  the  oldest  settlers  of  Westmoreland  county,  coming 
there  from  Ireland  prior  to  1788.  He  died  at  the  advanced  age  of  ninety.  His 
wife  was  Frances  Moore,  reputed  in  the  family  archives  to  be  "a  Scotch  laird's 
daughter."  Children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Friesell :  Frederick  Charles,  born  in 
1867  in  Vancouver,  Washington,  graduated  from  Allegheny  high  school,  and 
graduated  from  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania,  1898,  with  the  degree  of 
Doctor  of  Dental  Surgery.  He  was  professor  of  histology  and  bacteriology  in 
the  dental  department  of  W^estern  University  of  Pennsylvania.  He  married 
Elizabeth  B.  Patterson,  of  Murrysville,  Pennsylvania.  Hiram  Edmund,  of 
whom  later.  Clara  Elizabeth,  a  graduate  of  Indiana  State  Normal,  married 
James  Dodds,  electrical  engineer,  Indiana,  Pennsylvania.  Aimee  Winifred, 
graduate  of  Pittsburg  high  school,  received  the  degrees  of  Bachelor  of  Arts 
and  Master  of  Arts  at  W'estern  University  of  Pennsylvania;  married  Hugh 
Lee  Fullerton,  electrical  engineer,  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  Frank  McClaren, 
born  1880,  Allegheny,  Pennsylvania,  received  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts 
in  Oregon  University,  1906;  he  spent  several  years  in  travel  and  exploration 
in  the  western  states  and  Mexico.  His  most  noted  trip  was  the  exploration 
of  the  Grand  Canon  of  the  Colorado  in  Arizona,  through  which  he  and  one 
companion  passed  in  a  boat,  spending  several  months  on  the  trip  and  facing 
death  many  times. 

Hiram  Edmund  Friesell,  second  child  of  Jacob  and  Jane  (McClaren) 
Friesell,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  November  10,  1873.  His  educa- 
tion was  secured  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Allegheny  City  and  for  a 
brief  period  at  the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania.  He  graduated  from 
the  Pennsylvania  College  of  Dental  Surgery  (Philadelphia)  in  1895,  receiving 
the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Dental  Surgery.  Subsequently  he  practiced  dentistry 
in  Pittsburg.  In  1903  he  became  connected  with  Western  University  of 
Pennsvlvania  as  professor  of  histology  in  the  dental  department,  and  in  1904 
was  elected  dean  of  the  Dental  College  and  professor  of  operative  dentistry, 
which  position  he  still  occupies.  At  the  time  of  his  election  to  the  deanship 
he  was  the  youngest  dean  of  a  dental  college.  In  1906  he  was  elected  to  the 
professorship  of  operative  dentistry  and  dental  pathology  'in  the  dental  depart- 
ment of  the  Western  Reserve  University,  Cleveland,  Ohio,  and  at  the  earnest 
solicitation  of  the  authorities  of  that  institution  served  also  for  that  year  in 
the  office  of  dean,  being  for  that  period  dean  of  two  dental  colleges.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  dental  staff  of  the  Pittsburg  Free  Dispensary,  and  is  interested 
in  numerous  dental  charities.  He  is  the  author  of  numerous  papers  of  scien- 
tific and  professional  nature,  and  was  for  several  years  editor  of  a  dental 
journal.  He  holds  membership  in  Psi  Omega  Fraternity,  of  which  he  has  been 
a  supreme  councilor  and  grand  recorder  for  over  twelve  years;  Pittsburgh 
Dental  Society;  Duquesne  Alumni  Chapter,  Psi  Omega;  Odontological  So- 
ciety of  Western  Pennsylvania;  Pennsylvania  State  Dental  Society;  National 
Dental  Association:  American   Medical  Association,  section  of  Stomatology; 


i66  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


National  Institute  of  Dental  Pedagogics;  National  Association  of  Dental 
Faculties ;  The  Archselogical  Institute  of  America ;  Duquesne  Lodge,  No.  546, 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  was  past  master  in  1906;' Pittsburg 
Chapter  and  Pennsylvania  Consistory,  in  which  he  has  attained  the  thirty- 
second  degree.  Dr.  Friesell  attends  the  United  Presbyterian  church.  His 
political  tendencies  are  Republican,  but  he  has  never  sought  or  held  office. 
The  great  physical  strength  of  the  founder  of  the  family  has  been  a  noticeable 
characteristic  of  most  of  his  descendants.  Dr.  Friesell  and  his  brothers  have 
maintained  a  foremost  place  in  the  amateur  athletic  history  of  Allegheny  county 
for  almost  two  decades,  having  won  prizes  in  many  national  competitions. 

Dr.  Friesell  married,  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  August  25,  1898,  Esther 
Hutchison,  born  August  21,  1879,  daughter  of  Daniel  and  Lily  M.  Hutchison. 
Children:  Dorothy  Marion,  born  June  12,  1899,  in  Pittsburg;  Charles 
Edmund,  born  June  5,  1905,  in  Pittsburg. 


CHRISTOPHER  PASSAVANT  LINHART,  of  Wilkinsburg,  passenger 
conductor  on  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad,  was  born  April  10,  1856,  in  Pittsburg, 
son  of  Wilkins  Linhart,  and  grandson  of  Christopher  Linhart,  who  was  born 
at  old  Fort  Duquesne,  now  Pittsburg,  and  was  by  trade  a  bricklayer  and  stone- 
mason. He  subsequently  engaged  in  business  as  a  contractor,  one  of  the 
buildings  which  he  erected  being  the  old  "Brimstone"  Methodist  Episcopal 
church  on  the  corner  of  Smithfield  and  Seventh  avenues.  He  married  Martha 
Brindle.  and  they  became  the  parents  of  one  son,  Wilkins,  of  whom  later. 

Wilkins  Linhart,  son  of  Christopher  and  Martha  (Brindle)  Linhart,  was 
born  May  9,  1833,  near  Whitehall,  Allegheny  county,  and  was  for  many  years 
engaged  in  the  wholesale  flour  business  on  Liberty  street.  He  afterward 
turned  his  attention  to  contracting,  building  and  real  estate,  purchasing  consid- 
erable property  on  what  is  known  as  Duquesne  Heights,  on  which  he  erected 
many  residences,  selling  them  at  a  profit.  He  is  now  real  estate  agent,  expert 
and  appraiser  for  the  Pittsburg  Bank  for  Savings,  the  People's  Savings  and 
Trust  Company,  and  was  elder  in  the  Presbyterian  church  for  years.  He  is  a 
Republican  in  politics,  and  served  as  a  school  director  for  many  years. 

Mr.  Linhart  married  Sarah  Richey,  and  they  have  been  the  parents  of 
the  following  children :  Christopher  Passavant,  of  whom  later ;  George,  mar- 
ried Alice  Jackson ;  Jennie,  wife  of  James  Bald,  deceased ;  William,  married 
Bessie  Johnson,  of  Tampa,  Florida ;  Harry  Daggart,  a  physician,  of  California ; 
Arthur,  deceased,  judge  of  Porto  Rico ;  Margaret,  deceased ;  Nellie,  deceased, 
wife  of  Frank  Livingston,  one  son,  Gilbert,  the  youngest ;  Bessie,  at  home ; 
Wilkins,  died  in  infancy;  and  Walter,  married  Hannah  Young. 

Christopher  Passavant  Linhart,  son  of  Wilkins  and  Sarah  (Richey)  Lin- 
hart, was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Pittsburg  and  at  Murrayville 
Academy.  On  completing  his  studies  he  went  into  business  with  his  father,  in 
connection  with  whom  he  later  purchased  a  tobacco  plantation  which  they 
successfully  cultivated  for  three  years.  At  the  end  of  that  time  Mr.  Linhart, 
junior,  obtained  employment  with  the  Chesapeake  &  Ohio  Railroad  Company, 
but  not  long  after  found  work  more  to  his  taste  in  the  construction  of  the  Lake 
Erie  Railroad,  having  charge  of  the  stone  construction  bridge,  under  the 
direction  of  Mr.  Quincy.  When  the  work  was  completed  he  was  employed  on 
the  railroad  as  fireman  and  engineer.     In  1878  he  entered  the  service  of  the 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  167 

Pennsylvania  Railroad  as  passenger  brakeman,  later  becoming  conductor, 
which  position  he  has  now  held  for  many  years.  In  1890  he  moved  to 
Wilkinsburg. 

^e  belongs  to  the  Railway  Conductors'. Veteran  Association  of  the  Penn- 
sylvania Railroad,  the  Old  Reliable  Association  of  Conductors,  and  Com- 
mandery  No.  48,  Knights  Templar,  also  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order 
of  Elks.  He  is  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason,  affiliating  with  Lodge  No.  546, 
East  Liberty,  treasurer  of  Chapter  No.  285,  a  Shriner,  Syrian  Temple,  and  a 
charter  member  of  the  Eastern  Star.  He  is  a  staunch  Republican  and  a 
member  of  the  Presbyterian  church. 

Mr.  Linhart  married,  April  7,  1886,  Blanche,  daughter  of  the  later  William 
H.  and  Margaret  (McLean)  De  Vore.  A  sketch  of  Mr.  De  Vore  appears  on 
another  page  of  this  work.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Linhart  are  the  parents  of  one  son, 
Lawrence,  who  is  a  doctor  surgeon  and  a  specialist. 


LEROY  BERNHARDT  MILLER,  M.  D.  The  branch  of  the  Miller 
family  of  which  Dr.  Leroy  B.  Miller,  of  South  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  is  a 

worthy  representative,  was  founded  in  the  United  States  by  Miller, 

a  native  of  Gresa,  Germany,  and  died  at  the  age  of  seventy-five  years.  He  was 
a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church,  a  staunch  Republican,  and  a  loyal  citizen 
of  his  adopted  country.  His  wife,  Ernestina  Miller,  bore  him  five  children, 
namely:  Eli,  deceased,  was  the  wife  of  John  Butte;  Christina,  wife  of  Benja- 
man  Brosi ;  Wilhelmina,  wife  of  John  Crouch ;  J.  Benjamin,  of  Washington, 
Pennsylvania ;  John  Ernest,  see  forward. 

John  Ernest  Miller  was  born  in  Germany  August  31,  1840.  He  was  five 
years  of  age  when  his  parents  emigrated  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania.  He  attended  the  schools  under  the  management  of  the 
German  Lutheran  church  and  the  public  schools  of  South  Pittsburg.  In  early 
manhood  he  secured  employment  in  the  glass  works,  but  later  entered  the 
employ  of  the  firm  of  Jones  &  Laughlin,  where  he  served  an  apprenticeship  at 
the  machinist  trade,  after  which  he  returned  to  the  glass  works  and  was  em- 
ployed in  the  mould  and  pattern  department.  He  subsequently  went  to 
Steubenville,  Ohio,  where  he  was  employed  for  a  number  of  years.  Upon  his 
return  to  Pittsburg  he  entered  the  employ  of  George  Duncan  &  Sons,  serving 
as  designer  and  pattern  maker,  and  later  became  a  member  of  the  firm,  and  at 
the  present  time  (1907)  is  a  member  of  the  Duncan  &  Miller  Glass  Company 
of  Washington,  Pennsylvania.  Mr.  Miller  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church, 
member  of  the  order  of  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  a  Republican  in 
politics,  serving  as  school  director.  He  has  taken  an  active  interest  in  educa- 
tional affairs,  using  his  influence  to  further  its  cause. 

John  E.  Miller,  married,  at  Steubenville,  Ohio,  1867,  EHzabeth  D.  Bair, 
born  at  Steubenville,  September  23,  1847,  daughter  of  Charles  and  Margaret 
Bair.  The  children  of  this  marriage  were:  i.  Emma,  died  in  childhood.  2. 
Edna,  died  at  the  age  of  twelve  years.  3.  Clarence  M.,  of  Washington,  Penn- 
sylvania. 4.  Loretta  D.,  wife  of  Thomas  H.  Lewis,  mother  of  two  children: 
Delorain  and  Alice.  5.  Carl,  died  in  infancy.  6.  Zuleima  E.,  wife  of  George 
B.  McCutchen,  mother  of  one  daughter,  Helen  D.  7.  Leroy  Bernhardt,  see 
forward.     8.  John  E.,  Jr.,  of  Washington,  Pennsylvania.     9.  Victor  D.,  of 


i68  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


Washington.  lo.  Margaret  E.,  died  in  infancy,  ii.  Catherine  E.,  at  home. 
12.  Lora  EHzabeth,  at  home. 

Dr.  Leroy  Bernhardt  Miller  received  his  preparatory  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  South  Pittsburg  and  Washington,  Pennsylvania.  He  then 
took  a  two-years'  preparatory  course  in  Washington-Jefferson  College,  enter- 
ing in  1898  and  graduating  therefrom  in  1902.  He  then  became  a  student  in 
Jefferson  Medical  College,  and  received  his  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine  in 
the  class  of  1906.  During  his  school  and  college  days  he  had  four  years' 
experience  in  the  drug  business,  thereby  gaining  a  practical  knowledge  of  that 
line.  After  his  graduation  he  returned  to  South  Pittsburg,  spending  about  a 
year  as  resident  physician  of  St.  Joseph's  Hospital,  and  April  i,  1907,  opened 
his  present  offices,  which  are  equipped  with  the  latest  appliances  for  the  prac- 
tice of  his  chosen  profession.  He  is  in  receipt  of  a  large  and  constantly 
growing  practice,  and  is  held  in  the  highest  esteem  by  patients  and  members 
of  his  profession,  also  by  his  fellow  citizens.  His  office  is  located  at  2120 
Carson  street.  South  Pittsburg.  He  is  a  member  of  St.  Mark's  Episcopal 
church,  Monongahela  Lodge,  No.  269,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  is  a 
staunch  Republican  in  politics. 

Dr.  Miller  married,  January  22,  1908,  Florence  Huxley,  daughter  of  John 
and  Selina  Huxley,  of  Vandegrift. 


THOMAS  GRAHAM  HAMILTON,  an  electrical  engineer  of  Pittsburg, 
was  born  in  Ireland  December  21,  1871,  son  of  John  and  Sarah  Jane  Hamilton. 
The  father  was  born  in  county  Tyrone,  Ireland,  in  1845,  ^^^  ^^^^  i^i  1884,  in 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  He  was  the  son  of  Moses  and  Jane  (Hazelton) 
Hamilton,  of  the  north  of  Ireland. 

Thomas  G.  Hamilton  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Pittsburg  and 
at  the  Lehigh  University  at  South  Bethlehem,  where  he  took  the  electrical 
course  and  graduated  therefrom  in  1895.  He  then  found  employment  with 
the  Citizens'  Traction  Cable  Company,  of  Pittsburg,  with  whom  he  remained 
until  its  consolidation  and  the  founding  of  the  Consolidated  Traction  Company, 
and  continued  with  the  new  corporation  until  its  completion  of  the  electric 
system,  when  in  company  with  the  first  chief  engineer  he  went  to  Havana, 
Cuba,  and  superintended  the  construction  of  several  trolley  and  steam  rail- 
roads. He  now  occupies  the  position  of  assistant  engineer  of  the  New  Castle, 
Pittsburg  &  Harmony  Railroad,  and  the  New  Castle  street  railway.  In  politics 
he  votes  the  Republican  ticket.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  church.  He 
married  Mildred,  daughter  of  David  L.  and  Frances  (Hall)  Davis,  of  Waynes- 
burg,  Wayne  county,  Pennsylvania.  By  this  union  one  child  was  born — John 
Leet  Hamilton. 


MONONGAHELA  HOUSE.  Concerning  the  history  of  the  Mononga- 
hela House  it  may  be  stated  that  this  is  one  of  the  old  landmarks  in  Pittsburg 
and  all  western  Pennsylvania,  and  is  known  from  one  end  of  the  land  to  the 
other,  having  a  history  running  back  to  the  "thirties,"  arid  is,  indeed,  replete 
with  historic  events  connected  with  it. 

The  original  hotel,  built  on  the  site  of  the  present  one,  was  erected  in 
1839-40,  and,  as  appears  from  the  newspaper  account  of  that  day  which  carried 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  169 

its  business  card,  it  contained  two  hundred  and  ten  rooms;  covered  an  area 
of  one  hundred  and  twenty  by  one  hundred  and  sixty  feet,  and  was  located 
at  the  foot  of  Smithfiekl  street,  corner  of  Front  and  Smithfield.  It  was  built 
by  James  Crossan,  who  had  been  proprietor  of  the  old  Exchange  hotel,  of  Pitts- 
burg. Its  card  announced  that  it  was  "beautifully  located  on  the  banks  of  the 
Monongahela  river,  convenient  to  the  steamboat  landing."  It  was  a  splendid 
building  for  those  days  and  believed  to  be  superior  to  any  in  Pennsylvania, 
and  scarce  equalled  in  the  United  States,  outside  New  York.  According  to 
the  Pittsburg  Manufacturer,  of  that  date,  it  was  destroyed  by  fire  at  the  time 
of  the  great  conflagration  of  April  10,  1845,  which  devastated  the  heart  of 
the  city.  It  was  rebuilt  and  opened  again  March  5,  1847,  by  Messrs.  James  and 
John  McD.  Crossan.  It  was  reopened  under  the  most  favorable  circumstances 
and  has  ever  enjoyed  the  best  of  patronage.  What  is  now  the  Monongahela 
wharf  was  then  largely  given  up  to  the  building  and  loading  of  flatboats,  upon 
which  floated  the  products  of  the  country  and  carried  to  southern  ports.  Trav- 
elers on  their  way  from  the  west  and  southwest  to  Philadelphia  and  other 
eastern  cities  rested  at  the  Monongahela  House  before  taking  the  stage  coach 
across  the  Alleghanies.  Here  General  George  Rogers  Clarke  and  old  Hickory 
Jackson  were  both  among  the  honored  visitors  in  the  early  days,  and  have  left 
reference  to  the  activity  of  the  community  in  their  published  letters.  It  was 
then  one  of  a  chain  of  a  few  finely  equipped  hotels  in  this  country.  This  line 
of  hostelries  commenced  with  the  Astor,  of  New  York  city,  and  included  the 
Monongahela  House,  of  Pittsburg ;  the  Gait,  of  Louisville,  Kentucky ;  the 
Planters,  of  St.  Louis ;  the  St.  Charles,  of  New  Orleans,  and  old  Continental, 
of  Philadelphia.  The  marble  floors  of  the  Monongahela  House  have  echoed 
to  the  tread  gf  many  a  celebrated  personage,  both  home  and  foreign.  Here 
Charles  Dickens  stopped,  and  mentions  it  in  one  of  his  books ;  King  Edward 
VII.,  when  he  visited  America  as  the  Prince  of  Wales,  stopped  here  October  2, 
i860,  and  was  escorted  from  the  old  Pennsylvania  station  and  there  made  to 
feel  at  home.  August  i,  1849,  President  Zachariah  Taylor  visited  Pittsburg 
and  was  met  at  Turtle  Creek  and  escorted  in  twelve  miles  by  Attorney  General 
Cornelius  Darragh  and  others,  and  finally  conducted  to  the  parlors  of  the  Monon- 
gahela House,  where  a  welcoming  speech  was  delivered  by  the  polished  Pitts- 
burg orator,  W^alter  Forward.  President  Lincoln  visited  the  city  February  14, 
1 86 1,  and,  after  a  greatly  belated  train  from  the  west,  finally  brought  his  family 
through  a  blinding  rainstorm  to  the  doorway  of  this  famous  old  hotel,  being 
carried  through  an  almost  irrepressible  crowd  of  waiting  people  at  nine  o'clock 
in  the  evening.  He  went  in  at  the  Smithfield  entrance,  and  was  greeted  as  "Our 
New  President,"  "Old  Abe,"  "The  Rail  Splitter,"  etc.  He  made  two  speeches 
— one  from  a  chair  in  the  office  and  one  from  the  balcony,  midst  a  tumultuous 
applause.  It  was  estimated  that  ten  thousand  people  were  present  in  and  about 
the  building  to  get  a  glimpse  of  the  man  from  the  west  who  had  recently  been 
elected  president  and  who,  as  the  sequel  proved,  was  to  be  a  rnartyred  man 
within  four  years. 

The  famous  band  of  Abolitionists,  which  met  in  the  old  Shakespeare  hall 
back  in  the  early  fifties  to  organize  a  new  political  party,  were  guests  of  this 
hotel,  and  in  one  of  its  rooms  Salmon  P.  Chase  and  David  N.  White,  then  editor 
of  the  Gazette,  met  and  decided  to  make  a  general  call  for  a  convention,  look- 
ing to  such  an  organization,  which  was  accomplished;  so,  really,  the  birth- 
place of  the  Republican  party  was  at  this  room  within  the  Monongahela  House. 


170 


A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


Secretaries  Edward  M.  Stanton,  the  Lovejoys  and  Horace  Greeley  stopped 
here,  and  the  latter's  scrawl  of  a  signature  can  be  found  on  its  guest  register 
today.  In  later  years  General  U.  S.  Grant  was  a  guest  here,  and  in  1869,  on  his 
trip  of  September  14  and  15,  being  accompanied  by  his  wife  and  two  children, 
occupied  the  best  rooms  within  this  hotel,  and  upon  being  pressed  to  speak 
to  the  assembled  throng,  in  his  modest  way  merely  came  to  the  balcony  and 
tipped  his  hat  and  smiled.  He  spent  many  hours  in  and  about  the  office  chat- 
ting with  friends  and  admirers.  Generals  Sherman  and  Sheridan  were  also 
frequent  guests.  General  Benjamin  F.  Butler  was  registered  here  when  he 
came  to  Pittsburg  to  address  the  first  reunion  of  the  Civil  war  veterans,  and 
a  second  time  when  in  1884  he  was  a  presidential  candidate.  These,  with 
such  men  as  Hon.  James  G.  Blaine,  have  all  registered  and  been  welcomed 
at  the  Monongahela  House,  and  while  all  have  passed  from  earthly  scenes, 
the  hotel  has  been  improved  and  remodeled  and  is  still  the  same — only  much 
more  modern  and  perfect — and  is  the  headquarters  for  many  great  banquets 
and  conventions  of  state  and  national  character.  It  was  here  that  in  1887  the 
National  Bankers'  Association  met  and  for  the  first  time  got  the  proper  con- 
ception of  the  great  financial  strength  of  Pittsburg  and  its  giant  banking  in- 
stitutions. In  the  old  banquet  hall  (which  is  now  double  the  size)  was  held  the 
National  Convention  of  American  Hardware  Men  in  1899,  which  brought  to 
Pittsburg  the  leading  men  in  this  trade  from  all  parts  of  the  country,  and  at 
which  was  formulated  plans,  rules  and  phrases  still  employed  in  the  hardware 
trade  of  America.  A  year  later  the  Brickmakers'  Association  of  the  United 
States  met  within  this  hall  of  banqueting  and  formed  their  union.  About  the 
same  date  the  leading  coal  producers  met  and  transacted  important  business, 
bringing  about  the  uniformity  of  scale  prices  in  this  country.  The  annual 
glass  odiibit  of  America  is  held  here,  lasting  many  weeks  and  at  which  are 
displayed  all  the  new  designs  in  glassware  to  be  sold  by  the  wholesale  trade 
the  following  year,  prizes  being  offered  for  the  finest  specimen.  Here  the  an- 
nual business  meetings  of  great  industries,  such  as  iron,  glass,  coal,  etc.,  are 
held,  and  the  guests  have  the  freedom  of  the  house.  The  National  Hotel  Keep- 
ers' Association  met  here  in  May,  1888,  in  its  ninth  session. 

Since  this  hotel  has  undergone  radical  changes  in  its  remodeling  during  the 
year  1907  it  'has  come  to  be  second  to  none  in  Greater  Pittsburg.  Its  banquet 
hall  is  thirty  feet  wide  by  one  hundred  and  sixty-eight  feet  long,  and  easily 
accommodates  fully  fifteen  hundred  persons.  By  the  underwriters  it  is  pro- 
nounced as  near  fireproof  as  it  is  possible  to  ci^nstruct  a  building.  Besides, 
the  cit\-*  engine  company  has  a  station  located  near  the  rear  of  the  hotel,  and 
in  case  of  emergency  this  could  be  brought  into  requisition,  making  the  prop- 
erty absolutely  safe.  The  ladies'  parlors  and  ladies'  and  gentlemen's  restau- 
rants on  the  first  floor  are  models  of  exquisite  taste  and  rare  beauty,  while 
the  scenery  along  the  river  front,  looking  toward  Mount  Washington  across 
the  waters  of  the  sweeping  A^lonongahela,  is  indeed  one  of  picturesque  beauty. 
Tt  matters  not  what  state  or  city  one  chances  to  be  in  and  talk  of  hotels  the  trav- 
eler always  finds  the  popularity  of  the  Monongahela  House  to  be  one  and  the 
same,  and  it  is  growing  with  the  passing  years. 

The  property  is  now  owned  by  D.  F.  Henry,  who  also  owns  the  Hotel 
Henry,  of  Pittsburg.  It  has  been  recently  remodeled  and  refurnished  under 
the  direction  of  the  present  manager,  J.  B.  Kelley,  a  hotel  man  of  much  ex- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  171 


perience,  who  has  made  this  noted  old  hostelry  landmark  a  success  in  every 
particular  and  it  ranks  high  among  the  best  in  Greater  Pittsburg,  sustaining  the 
high  reputation  it  has  had  for  more  than  three  score  years. 


FRANCIS  MORTIMER  JOHNSTON,  tax  assessor  for  the  Nineteenth 
ward  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  December  4,  1843,  i^^  Wilkins  township,  Allegheny 
county,  a  son  of  John  Johnston  and  grandson  of  Charles  Johnston,  who  was 
of  Scotch-Irish  stock  and  in  1795  emigrated  to  the  United  States.  He  settled 
first  at  what  was  known  as  the  ''Neck,"  on  the  banks  of  the  Monongahela  river, 
where  the  Duquesne  Steel  Works  are  now  situated.  Pie  became  the  father 
of  one  son,  John. 

John  Johnston,  son  of  William  Johnston,  was  brought  to  this  country  by 
his  parents  when  a  child,  and  on  reaching  manhood  moved  to  the  vicinity  of 
WMlkinsburg,  where  he  purchased  land  and  engaged  in  farming.  For  many 
years  he  was  the  proprietor  of  a  public  house  on  the  old  Northern  Pike,  which 
in  those  days  was  the  route  traversed  by  the  famous  old  Conestoga  wagons. 
He  became  one  of  the  prominent  men  of  the  township  and  county,  and  about 
1840  was  elected  county  commissioner,  having  previously  held  other  minor 
offices,  among  them  that  of  school  director.     Politically  he  was  a  Democrat. 

John  Johnston  was  twice  married,  his  first  wife  being  Margaret  Long,  by 
whom  he  had  the  following  children:  Charles  Boyd,  born  January  21,  1815; 
James,  born  November  12,  1816;  Matthew  Long,  born  January  24,  1820; 
Rebecca  Jane  Carothers,  born  September  10,  1822;  John  McAfee,  born  Feb- 
ruary 25,  1824;  Hannah  Eliza,  born  February  14,  1826;  William  Kirkland, 
born  August  20,  1828 ;  Sarah  Nancy,  born  October  31,  1831 ;  and  George,  born 
February  5,  1834.  The  second  wife  of  John  Johnston  was  Anna  Parkinson, 
whom  he  married  in  June,  1839,  ^"^  who  bore  him  two  sons:  Benjamin  Hara, 
born  July  28,  1840;  and  Francis  Mortimer,  of  whom  later.  John  Johnston, 
the  father,  lived  to  a  ripe  old  age,  passing  away  May  7,  1871. 

Francis  Mortimer  Johnston,  son  of  John  and  Anna  (Parkinson)  Johns- 
ton, grew  up  in  Wilkins  township,  receiving  his  education  in  the  local  schools. 
In  youth  and  early  manhood  he  assisted  his  father  in  the  management  of  the 
homestead  farm,  becoming  a  skilled  agriculturist.  Later,  upon  the  death  of 
his  father,  he  inherited  the  estate,  which  he  cultivated  until  about  1887.  In 
that  year  he  sold  the  property  and  moved  to  East  Liberty,  Pittsburg,  where 
he  was  for  a  few  years  engaged  in  the  hardware  business,  after  which  he  be- 
came associated  in  the  capacity  of  treasurer  with  the  Keystone  Paint  &  Color 
Company.  In  1902  he  sold  his  interest  in  that  concern  and  embarked  in  the 
real  estate  business. 

In  1904  he  was  appointed  county  ward  assessor  to  finish  an  uncompleted 
term  and  speedily  demonstrated  his  fitness  for  the  office.  When  the  board  of 
assessment  and  revision  of  taxes  was  organized  he  was  elected  assessor  for  the 
Nineteenth  ward  of  Pittsburg  for  a  term  of  three  years.  In  the  sphere  of  pol- 
itics he  staunchly  supports  the  principles  and  interests  of  the  Republican  party. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  Sixth  United  Presbyterian  church  of  Pittsburg. 

Mr.  Johnston  married  Isabella  J.,  daughter  of  Henry  and  Isabella  (Pat- 
terson) Reiter,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  two  children,  Sarah  Isabella  and 
Emma  Roberta. 


172  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

REV.  SAMUEL  WESLEY  DAVIS,  a  clergyman  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  denomination,  and  well  known  in  the  mission  work  among  the  for- 
eign population  in  the  great  coke  regions  of  western  Pennsylvania,  was  born 
November  9,  1839,  in  Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania. 

(I)  John  Davis,  great-grandfather  of  Rev.  Samuel  W.  Davis,  was  a 
resident  of  Bensalem  township,  Bucks  county,  Pennsylvania,  from  whence, 
after  several  changes,  he  removed  to  Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania,  near 
Salisbury  where  he  died  and  was  buried.  He  married  Rebecca  Davenport, 
September  24,  1769,  and  among  their  children  were:  Betsy,  Benjamin,  of 
whom  later;  John,  a  soldier  of  the  war  of  1812;  William,  a  blacksmith  in 
Chester  county,  Pennsylvania ;  Reese ;  Abner,  went  to  Freeport,  Ohio,  and 
became  a  local  Methodist  preacher ;  a  daughter  who  married  a  Mr.  Flick ;  a 
daughter  who  married  a  Mr.  Heaton ;  Lorena,  who  married  and  moved  to 
Chester  countv,  Pennsylvania ;  Olivia,  who  also  married  and  moved  to  Chester 
county. 

•  (II)  Benjamin  Davis,  second  child  and  eldest  son  of  John  and  Rebecca 
(Davenport)  Davis,  was  born  in  Bucks  county,  Pennsylvania,  August  14,  1770. 
He  was  reared  in  that  part  of  the  country.  He  learned  the  trade  of  millwright 
and  also  conducted  furnaces.  He  was  married  by  the  Rev.  N.  Greer,  in  Ches- 
ter county,  Pennsylvania,  to  Elizabeth  Barker,  born  April  15,  1774,  daughter 
of  Henry  and  Eleanor  (Caldwell)  Barker.  Henry  Barker  was  a  resident  of 
Chester  county,  Pennsylvania,  was  a  captain  in  the  Revolutionary  war  and 
served  at  the  battle  of  Brandywine,  and  is  buried  at  the  Brandywine  Manor 
meeting  house.  His  wife,  Eleanor  (Caldwell)  "Barker,  was  the  daughter  of 
Joseph  Caldwell.  Benjamin  and  Elizabeth  (Barker)  Davis  were  the  parents 
of  the  following  children:  i.  Rebecca,  born  December  22,  1800,  married,  July 
15,  1817,  Matthew^  P.  Brown,  and  their  children  were:  Nancy  J.,  born  July 
25,  1818;  Elizabeth,  September  26,  1819;  John  W.,  November  4,  1821 ;  Benja- 
min, March  7,  1823;  Joseph,  July  9,  1825;  Ohvia,  March  9,  1828;  Henry, 
October  24,  1830;  Rebecca,  August  15,  1833;  Mary  K.,  November  11,  1835; 
W^illiam  P.,  February.  4,  1837;  Francis  M.,  February  5,  1841.  2.  Benjamin, 
born  1806,  died  in  North  Carolina,  July  20,  1838.  3.  Joseph  B.,  of  whom 
later.  4.  John,  born  January  13,  1810.  married  (first)  Catharine  Shehee,  chil- 
dren: George  and  INIargaret ;  married  (second)  Margaret  Brallier,  children: 
Augustus  C,  a  soldier  in  the  Civil  war ;  Almira,  Joseph,  Elizabeth,  Nora,  Ellen 
and  Jennie.     5.  EHza,  died  young.    6.  Nancy,  died  young. 

(Ill)  Joseph  B.  Davis,  second  son  of  Benjamin  Davis,  was  born  in 
Dauphin  county,  Pennsylvania,  February  22,  1808.  He  removed  to  Somerset 
county,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  was  a  cattle  merchant,  sending  stock 
over  the  mountains  to  eastern  Pennsylvania.  He  owned  land  in  Upper  Turkey- 
Foot  township,  Somerset  county,  and  was  a  prominent  man  in  the  community 
in  which  he  resided.  In  the  spring  of  1861  he  removed  to  Maryland,  where  he 
purchased  a  grazing  farm  near  Oakland,  Garrett  county,  whereon  he  resided 
up  to  his  death,  which  occurred  in  Oakland,  September  14,  1890.  He  was  a 
devoted  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church,  and  a  Whig  and  Repub- 
lican in  politics.  He  married,  June  5,  1830,  Sarah  McMillen,  born  October  4, 
1810,  died  November  28,  1905,  at  Oakland,  Maryland,  daughter  of  John  and 
Nancy  (Patrick)  McMillen.  John  McMillen  was  born  in  Dauphin  county. 
Pennsylvania,  July  19,  1764.  He  located  in  Somerset  county  in  1790,  was  a 
prosperous  farmer,  a  justice  of  the  peace,  and  an  official  member  of  the  Meth- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  173 


odist  Episcopal  church.  He  and  his  wife  were  the  parents  of  children :  John 
K.,  born  May  26,  1795;  James,  December  19,  1798;  Jane,  December  30,  1800; 
Eleanor,  July  23,  1802;  William,  December  24,  1804;  Samuel  E.,  November 
12,  1807;  Sarah,  October  4,  1810,  mentioned  above;  Margaret,  November  25, 
1813;  Mary,  April  15,  1820.  John  McA/Iillen  died  February  i,  1856.  and  his 
wife  March  25,  1854,  aged  seventy-seven  years.  The  parents  of  Joseph  B.  and 
Sarah  (McMillen)  Davis  were  all  professing  Christians  and  members  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  church. 

Children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Davis:  i.  Ann,  born  1831,  married  John 
Harned,  had  one  son,  Joseph,  a  pharmacist.  2.  Simon,  born  October  4,  1832, 
died  in  childhood.  3.  John  M.,  born  January  26,  1835,  a  merchant  in  Oakland, 
Maryland,  a  local  Methodist  preacher,  and  one  of  the  founders  of  Mountain 
Lake  Park,  a  noted  Christian  summer  resort  near  Oakland.  He  married 
Eleanor  Philson,  of  Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  had  children  :  Charles 
S.,  a  merchant;  William  C,  deceased,  who  was  a  minister  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  church ;  John  Wesley,  a  merchant.  4.  Elizabeth,  born  February  8, 
1837,  died  in  childhood.  5.  Samuel  Wesley,  of  whom  later.  6.  Sarah  Jane, 
married  M.  L.  Scott,  now  deceased. 

(IV)  Rev.  Samuel  Wesley  Davis  was  reared  in  Somerset  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  obtained  his  primary  education  at  the  common  and  select  schools 
in  that  county,  and  received  instruction  in  advanced  studies  from  the  Rev. 
T.  H.  Wilkenson.  In  1856-57-58,  during  the  regular  school  terms  of  four 
months,  he  served  as  teacher  of  adjacent  public  schools,  and  in  1859  was  teacher 
for  a  term  of  five  months  in  Bruceton,  Preston  county,  Virginia.  In  186 1  he 
was  a  student  for  two  terms  at  Allegheny  College,  Meadville,  Pennsylvania. 
Favored  with  the  instruction  and  influence  of  Christian  parents  and  ministers 
of  the  gospel  who  were  frequent  visitors  at  his  home,  and  impressed  by  the 
services  of  the  sanctuary,  he  was  converted  in  early  youth  and  began  to  realize 
his  call  from  God  to  the  ministry.  At  the  solicitation  of  the  church  he  made 
application  and  July  19,  1862,  received  license  as  a  local  preacher  in  the  Meth- 
odist Episcopal  church.  November  9,  1862,  he  became  assistant  of  the  Rev. 
Franklin  Ball,  preacher  in  charge  of  the  Kingwood  circuit,  West  Virginia 
conference,  Methodist  Episcopal  church.  In  1863  he  became  a  member  of  the 
conference  and  was  returned  as  junior  to  the  same  circuit  with  the  Rev.  Ash- 
ford  Hall  as  preacher  in  charge.  The  circuit  included  Kingwood,  the  county 
seat,  and  other  appointments,  seventeen  in  all,  which  were  increased  to  twenty, 
and  during  this  period  there  were  two  hundred  and  seventy-five  additions  to 
the  membership. 

His  next  appointment  was  in  Marshall  county.  West  Virginia,  among  the 
hills  at  Fish  Creek.  After  one  year  at  that  place  he  was  sent  to  Weston, 
county  seat  of  Lewis  county,  and  after  two  years  was  removed  to  Clarksburg, 
county  seat  of  Harrison  county,  West  Virginia.  He  remained  there  three 
years  and  was  appointed  at  Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  and  stationed  at  the 
Thomson  church.  Wheeling  Island.  He  was  next  transferred  to  the  Pittsburg 
conference  and  stationed  at  Myersdale,  Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania.  In 
the  economy  of  the  church  after  three  years  he  was  transferred  and  made 
pastor  of  the  congregation  in  Uniontown.  At  the  close  of  the  pastoral  term 
in  Uniontown,  in  "1878,  he  accompanied  Mr.  E.  J.  Stone,  his  father-in-law,  and 
sons,  J.  T.  and  E.  L.  Stone,  and  J.  C.  Thomas  in  a  seven-months'  tour  in  the 
east,  which  included  various  countries  of  Europe,  also  Egypt  and  the  Holy 


174  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


Land.  His  next  charge  was  Bellevernon,  in  Fayette  county,  then  Mount 
Pleasant,  in  Westmoreland  county.  Succeeding  these  he  was  pastor  for  two 
years  at  Homestead,  five  years  at  the  Coursin  Street  appointment,  McKeesport. 
two  years  at  the  Walton  church,  Pittsburg,  and  two  years  at  the  Jefferson 
Avenue  church  in  Washington,  Pennsylvania. 

He  was  then  assigned  to  the  Coke  Mission  in  the  interest  of  the  foreign 
population  in  the  coke  regions  of  western  Pennsylvania,  of  which  he  has  been 
successful  as  pastor  and  superintendent  for  the  last  thirteen  years.  Property 
for  the  Mission  was  purchased  in  ]\Iount  Pleasant,  Westmoreland  county, 
March  28,  1900,  at  a  cost  of  $2,500.  The  building  is  a  substantial  brick  of  two 
stories,  containing  four  large  rooms.  The  location  of  this  property  is  most 
favorable,  on  a  fine  elevation  on  a  thoroughfare,  near  the  railroad  depots  and 
adjacent  to  the  Standard  Coke  Works.  One  room  on  the  first  floor  is  occupied 
by  Mrs.  Anna  Xavratil,  the  first  Bohemian  convert,  with  her  son  and  grandson, 
and  her  four  orphan  grandchildren,  and  thus  under  the  care  of  this  intelligent 
and  worthy  Christian  woman  there  is  already  the  germ  of  a  self-supporting 
orphanage,  suggesting  an  institution  which  in  that  place  would  surely  accom- 
plish great  and  lasting  good.  Another  room,  tastefully  decorated,  seated  with 
chairs  and  supplied  with  a  vocalion  by  Andrew  Carnegie,  is  devoted  to  public 
worship.  It  has  an  increasing  and  spiritual  membership,  and  with  more  than 
one  hundred  adherents  among  adult  men  and  women  foreign  born.  The 
Sunday-school,  organized  in  August,  1898,  with  an  attendance  now  of  one 
hundred,  largely  Bohemian,  Slav  and  Polish,  the  girl's  sewing  school,  devoted 
also  to  religious  instruction,  the  Saturday  Evening  Bible  class,  and  the  class 
on  Monday  evening  for  instruction  by  the  pastor,  are  all  well  provided  for.  It 
is  free  from  debt.  A  comfortable  parsonage  also  has  been  provided  in  the 
same  locality  and  is  the  residence  of  the  Bohemian  pastor,  Joseph  Donat.  A 
Home  for  Alissionaries  and  young  women  of  foreign  nationality  in  training 
for  mission  work  is  located  in  Uniontown,  county  seat  of  Fayette  county.  It 
was  purchased  October  13,  1906,  for  $5,500,  A.  J.  Cochran  contributing  $500, 
Mrs.  Sarah  B.  Cochran  $500,  and  A.  Gaddis  $150,  after  which  Lloyd  G. 
McCrum  assumed  the  mortgage  indebtedness  of  $4,000. 

In  spite  of  his  advancing  years  and  arduous  labors  during  forty-five  years, 
Rev.  Mr.  Davis  is  still  earnestly  at  work  and  enjoys  the  prosecution  of  his 
noble  Christian  undertaking,  saving  the  foreigners.  During  his  terms  of 
pastoral  service  churches  have  been  erected  in  Clarksburg  and  Wheeling,  West 
Virginia,  and  in  Myersdale,  Ursina,  Uniontown,  McKeesport  and  in  Several 
other  towns  in  the  coke  region  in  Pennsylvania.  The  self-sacrificing  labors  of 
this  truly  noble  man  have  extended  over  nearly  half  a  century,  and  the  influ- 
ence for  good  cannot  be  estimated  this  side  of  the  eternal  world. 

Mr.  Davis  married,  March  12,  1872,  Mary  C.  Stone,  daughter  of  E.  J.  and 
Elizabeth  C.  (Thomas)  Stone,  of  Wheeling,  West  Virginia.  They  have  been 
blessed  with  the  following  children:  Anna  May,  who  died  young;  Alfred 
Cookman,  an  official  of  the  Pennsylvania  railroad  lines  west  of  Pittsburg; 
Elizabeth  Stone,  a  home  missionary;  James  Edward,  died  young;  Wilbur  M., 
died  young  ;  Mary  Eleanor  ;  Sarah  Blanche. 


JAMES  HORNER,  who  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  oldest  living 
inhabitant  of  the  borough  of  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  there  April 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  175 

I,  1833,  in  a  house  then  standing  on  the  present  site  of  the  First  National 
Bank.  This  was  the  first  frame  house  in  the  borough,  which  was  at  that  time 
called  McNairstown,  after  a  great-uncle  of  Mr.  Horner's  mother,  Colonel 
Dumming  McNair,  a  member  of  the  state  senate,  and  at  one  time  a  candidate 
for  congress. 

(I)  The  first  Horner  of  which  there  seems  to  be  any  authentic  account 
is  James  Horner,  born  in  Allen  township,  Northampton  county,  Pennsylvania, 
in  1710,  and  died  1793.  He  married  Jean  Kerr,  born  in  1713  and  died  in 
1763,  being  killed  by  the  Indians  at  the  Craig  settlement  during  the  Selon 
massacre,  and  is  buried  in  the  Allen  township  burying  ground.  She  was  the 
first  white  woman  killed  in  the  settlement. 

James  Horner  was  a  member  of  Captain  Bennett's  company  of  Northamp- 
ton Light  Dragoons  in  1777,  and  fought  in  the  Revolutionary  war.  Subse- 
quently he  is  mentioned  as  judge  of  the  county,  in  1782.  His  children  were: 
James,  the  grandfather  of  the  subject  of  this  memoir;  John;  Hugh;  and  a 
daughter  who  married  into  the  McNair  family. 

(H)  James  Horner,  son  of  James  and  Jean  (Kerr)  Horner,  was  born  in 
Allen  township,  Northampton  county,  Pennsylvania,  June  4,  1759.  The 
Horner  family  are  of  Scotch-Irish  ancestry,  the  first  member,  it  is  believed, 
having  come  to  x\merica  in  1706,  landing  at  Chester,  Delaware  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  soon  settled  in  Allen  township,  Northampton  county  of  the  same 
state.  When  nineteen  years  of  age,  James  Horner  went  into  the  Revolution- 
ary service,  and  was  made  captain  of  the  Mountain  Rangers,  serving  from 
1778  to  1783.  In  1786  he  came  to  Pittsburg  and  became  a  justice  of  the  peace 
for  Allegheny  county.  Upon  coming  to  Pittsburg  he  bought,  for  the  sum  of 
sixty  guineas,  a  piece  of  property  on  Market  street,  extending  along  it  from 
Second  avenue  to  Third  avenue  for  a  distance  of  three  hundred  feet.  This 
property  today  (1907),  is  worth  a  fabulous  sum  of  money.  Here  pioneer 
Horner  erected  buildings  and  carried  on  a  large  tannery  and  harness-making 
establishment.  This  land  was  inherited  by  his  children  and  subsequently  sold. 
He  retired  from  active  business  pursuits  and  moved  to  Wilkinsburg,  where 
he  purchased  a  tract  of  three  hundred  acres  of  land,  situated  on  the  Franks- 
town  road,  and  on  which  land  he  built  a  substantial  residence,  and  there  re- 
mained with  his  family  until  1800,  when  he  removed  to  what  is  now  the 
borough  of  Wilkinsburg,  and  there  erected  him  a  new  house,  the  same  being 
the  first  frame  structure  in  the  vicinity.  It  was  situated  on  what  is  now  the 
corner  of  Wood  street  and  Penn  avenue.  The  old  homestead  house  on  Frank- 
lin road  stood  until  1907,  when  it  was  demolished  to  make  way  for  modern 
improvements. 

In  this  connection  may  be  related  an  incident  showing  the  supreme  gen- 
erosity of  Mr.  Horner's  character.  Like  many  another  land  owner  at  that 
time  he  owned  slaves — fifteen  in  all — one  of  whom,  a  big  negro  named  "Jack." 
who  had  long  been  a  faithful  and  trusted  servant,  and  used  to  carry  the  farm 
produce  to  market  to  Pittsburg,  was  coveted  by  one  of  Mr.  Horner's  neigh- 
bors, a  large  land  owner.  Lie  tried  in  many  ways  to  entice  him  away  from 
his  master,  and  finally  ofifered  the  large  sum  of  seven  hundred  dollars  to  pur- 
chase him  outright.  When  Mr.  Horner  found  the  negro  wished  to  leave  him 
he  refused  to  sell  him.  saying  he  would  rather  not  "traffic  in  human  flesh," 
and  gave  him  his  freedom.  The  deed  of  his  emancipation  is  now  in  the 
possession  of  his  grandson,  James  Horner,  of  this  sketch.     The  good  slave 


176  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

did  not  enjoy  his  freedom  long,  however,  for  he  was  soon  found  dead  and 
hidden  in  a  dump  of  trees  on  an  adjoining  estate.  His  would-be  purchaser 
was  charged  with  the  murder,  but  escaped  from  justice  by  removing  from 
the  country,  but  subsequently  returned,  not  until  the  death  of  Squire  Horner, 
however,  which  occurred  May  20,  1824. 

Mr.  Horner  married  Mary  McNair,  born  in  Cumberland  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, Tune  13,  1770,  and  died  in  Wilkinsburg  September  16,  1818.  She 
was  the  daughter  of  David  and  Annie  (Dunning)  McNair.  Annie  Dunning 
was  'a  daughter  of  Colonel  Robert  Dunning,  who  was  colonel  of  the  Second 
Regiment  in  1747-48,  during  the  French  and  Indian  war.  He  died  in  Cum- 
bertand  August  i,  1750.  James  and  Alary  (McXair)  Horner  w^ere  the 
parents  of  the  following  children:  i.  David,  unmarried.  2.  John,  of  whom 
further  mention  is  made.  3.  Dr.  James  D.  4.  Jane  AlcCrea.  5.  Sarah,  wife 
of  James  Kellv.    6.  Ann,  who  married  William  Davis, 

(HI)  John  Horner,  second  son  of  James  and  Mary  (McNair)  Horner, 
was  born  at  the  old  family  homestead  on  Frankstown  road  in  1793.  He 
obtained  his  elementary  education  at  home  and  later  attended  college  at 
Washington  and  Canonsburg.  Flaving  completed  his  studies  he  learned  the 
druggists  business,  and  in  1820  engaged  in  business  with  Thomas  Cleland. 
They  conducted  a  store  in  a  log  cabin  at  the  corner  of  Market  and  Third 
avenue,  in  Pittsburg.  Here  they  continued  to  operate  for  a  number  of  years. 
Later  he  engaged  in  the  lime  business,  employing  four  four-horse  teams  to 
haul  lime  to  the  Pittsburg  market.  Upon  his  giving  up  the  drug  business  he 
removed  to  Wilkinsburg  and  occupied  the  old  homestead,  his  father  then 
being  deceased.  In  1840  he  was  elected  justice  of  the  peace,  which  office,  then 
one  of  much  importance,  he  held  for  about  fifteen  years.  In  1853  he  was 
elected  clerk  of  the  courts  of  Allegheny  county,  in  w^hich  capacity,  he  served 
for  two  terms,  being  succeeded  by  General  Thomas  Rowley.  About  this  date 
his  health  began  to  fail  him  and  he  was  compelled  to  retire  from  all  active 
labors,  public  and  official.  He  possessed  many  sterling  qualities  of  head  and 
heart ;  w^as  the  soul  of  integrity  and  zealous  in  every  enterprise  for  the  better- 
ment of  society.  In  politics  he  was  an  uncompromising  Republican.  He  died 
in  1867,  aged'  seventy-four  years.  June  7,  1832,  he  had  married  Mary  M. 
Davis,  born  December  12,  1806,  at  Pittsburg,  and  died  February  9,  1887.  She 
was  the  daughter  of  John  and  Mary  (McGonigal)  Davis.  Her  father  was 
born  at  Tinicum,  Bucks  county,  Pennsylvania,  August  25,  1764,  and  died  at 
Meadville,  February  27,  1839.  Mary  AIcGonigal  was  born  at  C^arlisle,  Penn- 
sylvania, April  23,  1771,  and  died  at  Pittsburg  in  1818.  The  children  born 
to  John  and  Mary  (Davis)  Horner,  were  as  follows:  i.  James.  2.  John 
Davis.  3.  William  Henry,  who  died  young.  4.  George  Kennedy,  died  young. 
5.  Mary  G.,  died  young.  6.  Matilda  Graham,  unmarried.  7.  Ellen  McGon- 
igal, wife  of  John  McKelvy.  8.  Eliza  McNair,  who  married  Franklin  M. 
Gordon,  now  deceased. 

Franklin  M.  Gordon,  deceased  husband  of  Eliza  McNair  (Horner)  Gor- 
don, was  born  at  Baltimore,  JMaryland,  about  1837,  son  of  John  and  Maria 
Gordon.  When  a  mere  child  he  accompanied  his  parents  to  Pittsburg,  w^here 
he  w^as  reared  and  educated.  At  the  age  of  fifteen  years  he  was  employed  as 
a  clerk  in  a  store  in  Pittsburg,  and  w4ien  he  reached  his  twentieth  year  was  a 
partner  in  the  same  business  house.  Subsequently  he  engaged  in  the  insurance 
business,  and  still  later  was  tendered  and  finally  accepted  the  position  of  cashier 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  177 


in  the  People's  National  Bank,  which  office  he  held  with  much  credit  for  a 
term  of  eighteen  years,  and  to  the  time  of  his  death  in  1883.  He  was  a  highly 
successful  business  man  and  at  the  date  of  his  death  was  the  owner  of  a  fine 
home  situated  upon  a  charming  fifteen-acre  plot  of  ground  near  Swissvale.  Mr. 
Gordon  married  Miss  Eliza  McNair  Horner. 

(IV)  James  Horner,  the  eldest  child  of  John  and  Mary  M.  (Davis) 
Horner,  born  April  i,  1833,  was  reared  in  the  borough  of  Wilkinsburg  where 
he  obtained  his  education  in  the  first  school  house  provided  in  the  borough ; 
this  house  stood  at  the  corner  of  Wallace  and  Center  streets.  Later  he  at- 
tended the  Allegheny  College  at  Meadville,  Pennsylvania,  the  period  being 
from  185 1  to  1853,  inclusive.  After  completing  his  studies  he  acted  as  clerk 
for  his  father,  who  then  was  holding  public  office.  In  1856  he  went  west  and 
engaged  in  a  general  merchandising  business  in  Minnesota,  at  the  thriving 
city  of  St.  Peter.  In  1858,  however,  he  returned  to  his  native  state  for  the 
purpose  of  marrying,  after  which  he  with  his  bride  went  back  to  Minnesota. 
While  residing  in  that  state  he  was  elected  and  served  three  terms  as  county 
treasurer  for  Nicholas  county.  At  the  time  of  the  great  Sioux  Indian  up- 
rising and  massacre  in  that  part  of  Minnesota,  in  the  month  of  August,  1862, 
Mr.  Horner  served  well  the  part  of  a  citizen-soldier  in  defending  the  little 
inland  town  of  New  Ulm,  which  was  completely  surrounded  by  the  blood- 
thirsty Sioux.  Four  years  later,  in  1866,  he  returned  to  Pennsylvania  and 
conducted  an  extensive  mercantile  business  until  1898,  when  owing  to  ill 
health  he  retired  from  all  active  work.  While  his  store  was  located  in  the 
city  of  Pittsburg,  he  continued  to  hold  his  residence  at  Wilkinsburg,  of  which 
borough  in  1899  he  was  elected  burgess,  serving  three  years. 

He  married  Margaret  S.,  daughter  of  John  and  Salome  (Atkinson)  Mc- 
Farland,  of   Meadsville,   Pennsylvania.     The   issue   by   this   marriage   is:      i. 

John   McFarland,   married  to  Minnie  — .     2.  Frank  Kennedy,   who 

died  young.  3.  Georgia  Davis,  who  now  resides  with  her  parents,  on  Hill 
avenue,  Wilkinsburg. 

Mrs.  Horner's  grandmother,  Margaret  Foster  Stewart,  made  the  flag  that 
floated  proudly  from  the  masthead  of  Commodore  Perry's  flagship  at  the  naval 
battle  of  Lake  Erie. 


CHARLES  A.  MANNING,  a  retired  hotel  keeper  of  Pittsburg,  was 
born  in  this  citv,  in  what  was  then  called  Pitt  township,  on  the  Fourth  street 
road,  now  Fifth  avenue,  March  13,  1840,  son  of  William  and  Jane  (Clair) 
Manning.  The  father  was  born  in  county  Clare,  Ireland,  and  emigrated  to 
this  country  in  1837,  settling  in  Pittsburg.  By  trade  he  was  a  nail-maker  and 
forged  the  nails  by  hand.  He  continued  this  work  many  years.  He  com- 
menced with  a  Mr.  Craig  on  Wood  street.  In  the  fifties  he  engaged  in  the 
grocery  trade  on  Webster  street,  where  he  carried  on  a  successful  business 
until  1869,  when  he  retired.  The  date  of  his  birth  was  1805  and  of  his  death, 
1877.    He  married  Miss  Jane  Clair,  bv  whom  was  born  the  following  children : 

1.  William,  who  married  and  had  three  sons— Albert,  Charles  and  William. 

2.  Charles  A.,  subject.     3.  James,  who  married  Miss  Downs  and  they  had — 
Thomas.     4.  Albert.     5.  James.     6.  Jennie. 

Charles  A.  Manning,  second  child  of  William  and  Jane  (Clair  Manning), 
began  the  active  duties  of  life  when  a  mere  youth  by  working  around  a  brick- 


178  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

yard,  but  as  soon  as  he  had  the  opportunity  he  learned  the  trade  of  a  stove- 
plate  moulder,  continuing  in  such  work  until  1867,  when  he  engaged  in  the 
oyster  business,  which  he  carried  on  with  great  success  until  1875,  when  he 
opened  the  hotel  known  far  and  near  as  the  Manning  House,  which  he  con- 
ducted in  a  successful  manner  and  by  which  he  was  enabled  to  retire  from 
active  work  in  1881,  when  he  sold  his  hotel  for  a  good  figure. 

In  politics  he  is  an  Independent  and  has  served  on  both  the  common  and 
select  councils  of  the  city  of  Pittsburg  and  is  one  of  the  charter  members  of 
East  End  Republican  Club.  In  church  faith  Mr.  Manning  adheres  to  that  of 
the  Catholic  faith. 

He  was  united  in  marriage  in  1866  to  Miss  Maria  Cuhn,  by  whom  one 
son  was  born — Charles  Allinder,  deceased. 


GEORGE  HENRY  STOEBENER,  the  oldest  retail  shoe  merchant  in 
East  Liberty,  and  one  of  the  oldest  in  the  City  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Alle- 
gheny City  September  8.  1853,  a  son  of  Henry  and  Annie  C.  (Miller)  Stoe- 
bener.  He  comes  of  sturdy  German  ancestry.  His  grandfather,  George 
Stoebener,  came  from  the  Eatherland  in  1839  and  settled  at  Pittsburg,  where 
he  engaged  in  the  cabinet  making  business.  Prior  to  the  organization  of  the 
Pittsburg  police  force  he  served  as  night  watchman  for  a  time.  He  married 
and  hadthree  children:  Henry,  George,  and  a  daughter  who  married- a  Mr. 
Kreuder.  both  of  whom  are  now  deceased. 

Henrv  Stoebener,  the  father,  was  a  shoemaker,  and  was  in  the  employ 
of  Mr.  Schmertz  for  some  years,  and  was  his  foreman  at  his  shoe  store  at  No. 
505  Penn  avenue.  He  later  opened  a  shoe  store  of  his  own  at  No.  501  Penn 
avenue.  In  1873,  foreseeing  the  rapid  growth  of  East  End,  he  removed  his 
business  to  No.  6222  Frankstown  avenue,  East  Liberty,  where  the  business  is 
still  conducted  by  his  son,  George  Henry  Stoebener,  the  subject  of  this  notice. 
Henry  Stoebener  was  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  a  Knight 
Templar. 

He  married  Annie  C.  Miller,  by  whom  was  born  the  following  children: 
William,  who  lives  on  a  farm  near  Tarentum,  Pennsylvania;  Emma  F.  and 
Anna  M.  (twins),  and  George  Henry,  mention  of  whom  follows. 

George  Henry  Stoebener  was  educated  at  the  public  schools  of  Pittsburg, 
to  which  place  his  parents  removed  from  Allegheny  City  soon  after  his  birth. 
He  also  had  good  private  instruction.  He  intended  to  gain  a  liberal  education 
and  entered  the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania,  but  on  account  of  de- 
fective eyesight  did  not  complete  his  studies.  After  leaving  school  he  engaged 
in  the  shoe  "business  with  his  father,  and  in  1876  took  entire  charge  of  the 
business,  which  he  is  still  successfully  operating. 

January  i,  1877,  he  was  married  to  Miss  Flora  May,  daughter  of  William 
and  Rebecca  Robinson,  of  Pittsburg.  Their  children  are  as  follows  :  i.  Henry 
William.  2.  George  Viock.  3.  Edna  Florence.  4.  Dorothy  Margaret.  His 
two  sons  are  associated  with  him  in  his  business. 


IRVIN  REDPATH,  a  retired  business  man  and  capitalist  of  Greater 
Pittsburg,  was  born  June  20,  1827,  on  a  farm  near  Gerty's  Run,  in  what  is 
now  a    part    of    Allegheny    City,    Pennsylvania,    son    of    Thomas  ,and    Jane 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  179 

(Woods)  Redpath.  His  father,  Thomas  Redpath,  was  born  in  Ireland  March 
6,  1789,  and  emigrated  to  America  in  181 2,  just  at  the  outbreak  of  the  war 
with  England.  The  first  work  he  obtained  was  helping  to  build  the  fortifica- 
tions which  were  then  being  erected  for  the  defense  of  New  York  harbor. 
From  New  York  he  moved  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  As  that  was  before 
there  was  any  means  of  travel  otherwise  he  walked  the  entire  distance  from 
New  York  to  Pittsburg,  and  being  a  man  of  great  strength  he  did  not  seem 
fatigued  at  the  journey.  He  soon  found  employment  in  a  grocery  store,  where 
he  remained  some  time  and  saved  enough  from  his  earnings  to  engage  in 
business  for  himself,  which  he  did,  and  eventually  owned  two  stores  on  Dia- 
mond street,  where  he  handled  large  stocks  of  both  dry  goods  and  groceries. 

Soon  after  coming  to  Pittsburg  he  married  Miss  Jane  Woods.  By  this 
union  were  born  the  following  children:  i.  Robert,  unmarried.  2.  Ann  Jane, 
married  George  Lee,  and  they  reared  a  large  family  of  children.  3.  Thomas, 
Jr.,  who  married  Margaret  Whitesides,  and  they  have  two  daughters.  4. 
William,  married  Annie  Fetter.  5.  John  W.,  married  Annie  Fullerton.  6. 
Irvin,  the  subject.  7.  George,  who  died  young.  8.  Henry-Homer,  married 
Sarah  Marshall.  9.  Lucinda  Frances,  who  married  John  Kennedy,  whose  son 
is  John  R.  Kennedy.    The  father  died  in  1867  and  the  mother  in  1875. 

Irvin  Redpath,  subject,  the  sixth  child  in  his  parents*  family,  was  reared 
in  Pittsburg,  receiving  such  education  as  was  then  obtainable,  and  when  young 
went  to  work  with  his  father  in  the  store,  where  he  continued  for  twenty  vears. 
After  this  he  led  somewhat  of  an  adventurous  life.  He  went  to  CaHfornia 
when  that  country  was  yet  in  an  unsettled  condition.  He  joined  a  filibustering 
expedition,  headed  for  Southern  California,  under  the  leadership  of  Colonel 
Walker,  and  went  through  many  hair-breadth  escapes  and  dangers  untold. 
Much  of  the  time  they  met  with  great  hardship,  especially  for  the  lack  of  food 
— at  times  almost  starving.  On  returning  to  Los  Angeles  he  went  in  the  butch- 
ering business.  He  was  also  deputy  sherifi^.  After  a  varied  and,  on  the  whole, 
a  successful  sojourn  in  the  far  west,  he  returned  to  his  native  state.  While 
en  route  and  at  Philadelphia  he  was  taken  ill  with  that  dread  disease — cholera 
— but  recovered  after  a  mild  attack.  After  he  had  finally  gotten  settled  in 
Pittsburg,  he  engaged  in  the  paper  hanging  and  painting  business,  but  not 
long  after  this  he  believed  he  saw  a  more  rapid  way  to  accumulate  wealth  and 
went  into  the  diamond  trade,  in  which  he  achieved  great  success.  This,  to- 
gether with  more  recent  real  estate  dealings,  has  made  him  one  of  the  foremost 
men  of  means  in  East  Liberty. 

Mr.  Redpath  married  his  cousin.  Miss  Jane  Woods,  a  daughter  of  WilHam 
Woods  and  wife.  She  was  born  January  14,  1829.  and  died  March  15.  1897. 
By  this  union  the  following  children  were  born :  William  Thomas,  born  March 
13,  1846;  Henry  Homer,  born  May  30,  1847;  Lucinda  Jane  and  Emma  (twins), 
born  December  3.  1848,  died  February  23,  1849.  ^"d  April  2y,  1850,  re- 
spectively; Alice,  born  June  22,  1850,  married  Frederick  Fisher  and  they  have 
three  children:  Harry-Irvin  (who  is  married  and  has  one  child),  Howard 
and  Winfield  Scott.  The  youngest  of  Mr.  Redpath's  children  was  Lucinda 
F.,  who  died  April  4,  1853. 


JOSEPH  Gx\NSTER,  one  of  the  oldest  surviving  hotel  men  of  the  city 
of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Loraine,  Germany,  which  was  formerly  a  French 


i8o  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


province,  December  13,  181 7,  and  emigrating  to  this  country,  came  direct  to 
Pittsburg  in  1838,  at  the  age  of  twenty  years.  His  first  employment  in  this 
country  was  in  a  blacksmith's  shop.  He  continued  to  follow  the  blacksmith's 
trade  until  1847,  when  he  opened  a  hotel  in  East  Liberty,  Allegheny  county, 
called  the  "Johnson  House."  After  remaining  there  one  year  he  returned  to 
Pittsburg  and  established  himself  in  the  hotel  business  on  grounds  where  now 
stands  the  Pennsylvania  station,  and  there  continued  until  1851,  when  he  again 
opened  a  hotel  on  Penn  avenue,  East  Liberty.  In  1862  he  purchased  a  piece  of 
property  situated  on  Penn  and  Frankston  avenues,  which  in  1881  he  sold  for 
twenty-eight  thousand  dollars,  and  then  retired  from  active  business  operations. 
Mr.  Ganster  was  married  in  1847  in  Pittsburg  and  became  the  father  of 
the  following  children:  i.  Nicholas.  2.  John.  3.  Peter.  4.  Harry.  5. 
Lilly. 

CARL  W.  HENRY  SCHWEITZER,  PH.  G.,  who  is  engaged  in  the 
retail  drug  business  on  Hamilton  avenue,  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Pittsburg, 
November  2,  1882,  being  a  son  of  Henry  and  Emilie  (Hess)  Schweitzer,  of 
New  Castle.  He  obtained  his  education  in  the  public  and  high  schools  in  this 
city,  graduating  from  the  former  at  the  age  of  thirteen,  and  completed  his 
academical  and  commercial  courses  at  the  Western  University  of  Pennsylvania, 
from  which  institution  he  graduated  as  a  pharmacist  in  1905,  at  the  age  of 
twenty-two.  His  parents  were  humbly  fixed  and  he  worked  his  way  through 
the  college.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Maccabees,  Iron  City  Lodge 
No.  279,  holding  a  high  office  in  the  same.  In  June,  1905,  he  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Agnes  M.  Geyer,  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  E.  Geyer,  of 
Elysian  avenue,  East  End,  Pittsburg. 

Mrs.  Schweitzer's  father,  Henry  Brandt  Schweitzer,  was  born  in  New 
Castle,  Pennsylvania,  April  20,  1859,  and  came  to  Pittsburg  in  1879,  engaging 
in  the  drug  business.  In  1880  he  was  married  to  Emilie  Hess,  of  New  Castle, 
by  which  union  were  born  the  following  children:  i.  Floyd  L.,  born  Novem- 
ber 21,  1888.  2.  Ethel  Catherine,  born  September  6,  1894.  The  father  died 
at  Cambridge  Springs,  Pennsylvania,  June  8,  1906.  At  one  time  he  owned 
three  stores,  of  which  one  is  now  owned  by  his  son  William.  In  1903  William 
purchased  the  remaining  store  and  the  partnership  of  Hess  &  Schweitzer  was 
formed  and  continued  with  success  for  two  years.  In  November,  1905,  he 
purchased  the  remaining  portion  of  his  partner  and  conducted  it  under  his 
father's  and  own  management  until  the  death  of  his  father  in  1906.  He  has 
held  several  good  positions,  one  as  purchasing  agent  for  Cruikshank  Brothers 
Company,  dealers  in  preserves  and  pickles,  one  of  the  largest  firms  in  this  part 
of  the  state.  He  left  them  to  engage  in  the  drug  business.  By  faith  he  is  a 
Lutheran,  taking  his  letter  at  the  age  of  fourteen.  His  father-in-law  is  a  Ma- 
son, ranking  among  the  foremost  in  this  part  of  the  state.  Mr.  Schweitzer  has 
traveled  a  great  deal,  having  visited  the  greater  part  of  his  own  country  and 
Canada. 

REV.  MATHISON  JAMES  MONTGOMERY.  The  late  Rev.  Math- 
ison  James  Montgomery,  who  for  nearly  half  a  century  ministered  to  Methodist 
Episcopal  churches  in  Pittsburg  and  its  vicinity,  was  born  October  31,  1825, 
in  county  Tyrone,  Ireland,  son  of  William  Montgomery  and  grandson  of  John 
Montgomery. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  i8i 


William  Montgomery,  son  of  John  Montgomery,  came  in  1829  to  the 
United  States,  settling  in  Armstrong  county,  where  he  acquired  land  near 
Manorville,  and  became  one  of  the  prominent  farmers  of  the  county.  William 
Montgomery  married,  in  Ireland,  Mary  Breden,  and  among  their  children 
were  the  following:  William,  deceased,  married,  second,  Neil  Beissinger; 
Hugh,  died  unmarried ;  Thomas,  deceased,  married  Mary  Shumaker,  children, 
Ellis,  a  physician  of  the  East  End,  Ida,  Lulu  and  Sarah ;  Elizabeth,  deceased, 
wife  of  John  McLaughlin,  children,  John,  William,  Jennie,  Mary;  Mary,  died 
unmarried ;  and  Mathison  James,  of  whom  later. 

Mathison  James  Montgomery,  son  of  William  and  Mary  (Breden)  Mont- 
gomery, was  brought  up  in  Armstrong  county,  receiving  his  education- in  the 
local  schools.  Later  he  studied  for  the  ministry  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
church,  and  for  more  than  forty  years  was  a  preacher  of  the  gospel,  having 
various  charges  in  the  Pittsburg  Conference.  For  three  years  he  was  pastor 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  of  Wilkinsburg,.  and  the  last  ten  years  of 
his  life  were  passed  in  that  borough,  in  the  welfare  and  advancement  of  which 
he  always  took  an  active  interest. 

Mr.  Montgomery  married  Anna,  daughter  of  Henry  and  Christianna 
(Heater)  Kinter,  of  Indiana  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  granddaughter  of  John 
Kinter,  a  soldier  of  the  Revolution  and  captain  in  the  war  of  1812.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Montgomery  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  William  Henry, 
physician,  married  Lola  Owens,  children,  Mathison  James  and  Emma  Louise ; 
Bertie,  died  in  childhood;  Edward  J.,  physician;  Charles  Thomas,  married 
Mary  Ludwick,  of  Wilkinsburg,  children,  Jane,  Charles  Thomas  and  Richard ; 
Anna;  Mary,  died  in  infancy;  Martha  Louise ;  and  Lillie  Walter. 

Mr.  Montgomerv  died  August  13,  1900,  leaving  the  memory  of  a  useful 
and  self-sacrificing  life.  He. was  an  eloquent  and  gifted  preacher,  beloved  by 
his  congregation  and  sincerely  respected  by  his  fellow  citizens. 

TAMES  C.  GROGAN,  prominent  in  the  commercial  circles  of  Pittsburg, 
was  born  T"ne  8,  1852,  in  that  city,  which  has  been  and  still  is  his  home  and 
the  scene  of  his  business  activities. 

His  father,  Thomas  Grogan,  was  born  near  Dublin,  Ireland,  and  after  re- 
ceiving his  education  learned  the  blacksmiths'  trade.  He  came  to  the  United 
States,  settling  first  in  the  east  and  subsequently  removing  to  Pittsburg,  where 
he  lived  an  industrious  and  honorable  life.  He  purchased  a  beautiful  farm  in 
Ohio,  with  the  intention  of  making  it  his  home,  but  never  moved  from  Pitts- 
burg, He  was  a  Democrat  in  politics,  and  an  active  member  of  St.  Patrick's 
Roman  Catholic  church.  He  married,  in  his  native  land,  Mary  Collins,  and 
they  became  the  parents  of  eight  children.  Mr.  Grogan  at  the  time  of  his  death 
was  about  fifty-eight  vears  of  age.  ^  „.     ^    ^  .      , 

James  C.  Grogan,  son  of  Thomas  and  Mary  (Collms)  Grogan,  received 
his  education  in  parochial  schools  and  in  the  high  school,  which  was  then 
conducted  by  the  Roman  Catholic  church.  He  began  his  business  career  by 
entering  the  service  of  Henrv  Richardson  &  Co.,  jewelers,  with  whom  he  ac- 
quired a  thorough  knowledge  of  the  business  in  all  its  branches,  mechanical 
and  manao-eriar  In  the  course  of  time  Mr.  Richardson  died,  and  the  firm 
became  L."  Mcintosh  &  Co.,  under  whom  Mr.  Grogan  still  held  the  position 
for  which  his  assiduity  and  ability  had  well  fitted  him. 


i82  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


In  1878,  upon  the  death  of  Mr.  Mcintosh,  Mr.  Grogan  formed  a  partner- 
ship with  A.  Merz,  which  continued  until  1886,  when  Mr.  Grogan  purchased 
his  partner's  interest  and  continued  the  business  alone  until  1892.  In  that 
year  Mr.  Grogan,  associating  with  himself  a  number  who  had  been  among  his 
employes,  organized  a  company  which  was  incorporated  under  the  laws  of 
the  state  of  Pennsylvania,  under  the  corporate  title  of  J.  C.  Grogan  &  Co.,  with 
Mr.  Grogan  as  president  and  manager.  Since  this  organization  was  eitected 
the  company  has  conducted  the  most  extensive  high  class  jewelry  establish- 
ment in  the  state,  and  enjoys  a  peculiarly  local  prestige  as  probably  the  oldest 
house  in  its  line  in  the  city,  tracing  its  history  for  a  period  of  upwards  of 
eighty  years,  and  its  success  in  recent  days  is  acknowledgedly  due  in  largest 
degree  to  the  executive  ability,  as  well  as  the  practical  qualifications,  of  Mr. 
Grogan,  whose  name  is  widely  known  and  who  is  recognized  as  having  con- 
tributed to  a  degree  not  to  be  estimated  to  the  building  up  of  the  jewelry  busi- 
ness in  the  country  at  large.  The  products  of  his  house  are  known  through- 
out the  entire  country,  and  are  only  of  the  highest  types  of  the  manufactur- 
ers' art. 

Mr.  Grogan  is  the  owner  of  a  large  tract  of  land  in  the  Nineteenth  ward, 
and  upon  which  he  built  in  1880  his  present  residence.  He  is  a  member  of  St. 
Paul's  Roman  Catholic  church  and  a  liberal  contributor  to  its  support,  as  well 
as  to  many  other  worthy  causes. 

He  married  ]\Iarie  Juana,  daughter  of  John  and  Rose  (Gallen)  Herry- 
man.    Mrs.  Grogan  is  a  native  of  Cuba  and  of  Spanish  extraction. 


WILLIAM  J.  BAUGHMAN,  deceased,  was  a  well-known  and  enterpris- 
ing business  man  of  .Pittsburg,  and  at  his  death  was  an  extensive  dealer  in 
builders'  supplies.  He  was  a  native  of  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania, 
born  in  183 1.  His  father,  Peter  Baughman,  was  a  farmer  and  distiller  in  that 
county,  and  married  Elizabeth  Lenhart.  They  were  both  of  Pennsylvania 
German  stock,  and  came  from  one  of  the  eastern  counties  of  Pennsylvania. 
Their  children  were:  i.  Katherine.  2.  William  J.  (subject).  3.  Nathaniel. 
4.  Isabella.     5.  Sarah.     6.  Annie.     7.  Margaret.     8.  Hiram.     9.  Mary. 

William  J.  Baughman,  after  receiving  what  education  he  could  in  the 
schools  of  his  county,  w-as  employed  first  as  a  driver  on  one  of  the  Conestoga 
wagons  and  subsequently  took  a  position  at  Pittsburg  with  one  of  the  firms 
engaged  in  the  lime  business.  In  1857  he  embarked  in  the  same  line  of  business 
on  his  own  account,  being  assisted  by  his  wafe  until  his  death,  when  she  carried 
it  on  successfully  until  1901,  when  she  disposed  of  it.  The  date  of  Mr.  Baugh- 
man's  death  was  December  22,  1887. 

He  married  Miss  Ann,  daughter  of  John  and  Mary  (Matthews)  Mills, 
of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  John  Mills  was  born  in  Buckinghamshire,  England, 
and  came  to  America  in  1830,  settling  at  Pittsburg.  For  many  years  he  was 
engaged  in  the  brick  business,  and  after  the  great  fire  of  1845  furnished  the 
brick  for  the  rebuilding  of  the  city,  including  the  Monongahela  House  and 
many  other  large  structures.  In  1848  he  removed  to  East  Liberty,  continuing 
the  business  at  Dallas.  While  the  Pennsylvania  railroad  was  building  its  lines 
into  Pittsburg  he  furnished  the  brick  for  the  construction  of  the  tunnels.  In 
1871  he  retired  from  all  active  business,  and  at  his  death  in  1892  was  the  owner 
of  considerable  real  estate  in  East    Liberty.     He    was    a    man    possessed    of 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  183 

sterling  qualities,  "his  word  being  as  good  as  his  bond."  His  wife,  Mary,  died 
in  i860;  by  her  he  had  two  daughters  and  one  son.  The  issue  was  as  follows: 
I.  Eliza,  deceased,  who  married  William  Glew  and  had  six  children:  William, 
Mary,  Jennie,  Martha,  Thomas  and  Ida.  2.  Ann.  3.  John,  died  July  8,  1907, 
who  married  Nellie  Mason,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  Cora,  married  to 
Joseph  Letzkiss ;  Thomas  and  Charles. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  J.  Baughman  were  the  parents  of  the  following 
children:  i.  Charles  E.,  married  Jennie  Gash,  whose  daughter  is  Jeannette, 
and  they  live  in  Chicago.  2.  Mary  E.,  deceased,  married  C.  E.  Smith,  and  had 
issue:  Charles,  Anna  M.,  Clara  M.,  William,  Cora  and  Virginia.  3.  Ger- 
trude I.,  unmarried.  4.  Clara  E.,  deceased.  5.  William  O.,  married  Nellie 
Cunningham.  6.  Cora  M.,  married  Floyd  L.  House,  and  the  issue  by  their 
union  is  Guy  B.,  Harry  A.,  Melvin,  Curtis,  Jeannette  and  Charles.  7.  John 
M.,  single.  8.  Augustus  A.,  married  Mrs.  Fagan,  by  whom  was  born  one  child, 
Ann  Mills.     9.  Stuart  M.,  single.     10.  Roland  H.,  single.     11.  George. 

THE  BIGHAM  FAMILY.  A  notable  character  in  the  public  life  of 
Pittsburg,  who  with  voice  and  pen  was  always  active  in  the  promotion  and 
encouragement  of  any  and  every  movement  tending  to  develop  the  higher  life 
or  advance  the  material  interests  of  the  community,  was  the  Hon.  Thomas 
James  Bigham,  born  near  historic  Hannastown,  Westmoreland  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, at  the  residence  of  his  grandfather,  James  Christy,  February  12,  1810. 
His  parents,  Thomas  Bigham,  born  April  18,  1784,  died  October  31,  1809, 
and  Sarah  Christy,  born  October  27,  1785,  died  August  6,  181 1,  who  were 
married  April  4,  1809,  were  farming  people  of  Scotch-Irish  ancestry  and  Rev- 
olutionary stock  on  both  sides. 

The  name  of  Bigham  is  a  corruption  or  changed  form  of  Bingham,  and 
as  far  as  known  the  Binghams  and  Bighams  in  this  country  are  derived  from 
the  same  north  of  Ireland  family  and  supposed  to  be  descendants  of  Sir  John 
de  Bingham,  who  came  over  with  William  the  Conqueror,  was  knighted  for 
his  valiant  services  and  allotted  estates  near  Sheffield,  Yorkshire,  England. 
One  of  these  Binghams  (Thomas),  according  to  tradition,  about  1480  emi- 
grated from  Sheffield  to  the  north  of  Ireland,  and  there  founded  that  branch 
of  the  family  which  seems  so  fully  represented  in  this  country.  Be  that  as  it 
may,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  upon  comparison  of  family  histories,  consid- 
ered himself  akin  to  the  Binghams  of  Philadelphia  and  Ohio,  the  Bighams  of 
Adams  and  Mercer  counties,  Pennsylvania,  and  many  other  Bighams  and 
Binghams  throughout  the  country. 

His  father  having  died  before  his  birth  and  his  mother  so  soon  thereafter, 
Thomas  J.  Bigham  was  brought  up  by  his  maternal  grandparents  and  went 
through  the  experiences  common  to  farmers'  boys  at  that  period,  without  any 
educational  advantages  save  the  short-term  country  district  school  in  the  win- 
ter, and  the  long,  all-day  Sunday  preaching  which  the  Covenanters  of  that  day 
so  thoroughly  appreciated.  Naturally  bright,  ambitious,  and  possessed  of  an 
unusually  retentive  memory,  he  read  everything  that  came  within  his  reach, 
and  what  he  read  or  heard  rarely  passed  from  his  memory,  so  that  he  soon 
became  locally  noted  for  his  fund  of  information  and  his  ability  in  recital.  His 
one  great  desire  was  a  college  education,  and  feeling  himself  qualified  he  en- 
deavored, before  reaching  his  majority,  to  induce  his  grandfather  to  use  for 


i84  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 

this  purpose  a  small  sum  of  money  left  by  his  father,  but  without  result,  as  the 
grandfather,  a  good,  sensible  man,  considered  the  money  much  better  expended 
m  setting  him  up  at  farming,  and  absolutely  refused  to  squander  it  upon  edu- 
cation. Upon  coming  of  age,  however,  he  took  his  little  patrimony,  which, 
added  to  what  he  was  able  to  earn  by  working  during  vacations,  tutoring,  etc., 
proved  sufficient  to  carry  him  through  a  full  course  at  Jefferson  College,  Can- 
onsburg,  where  he  graduated  with  honors  in  the  class  of  1834.  During  his 
course  at  college  he  distinguished  himself  by  a  readiness  of  speech,  quickness 
of  wit,  power  of  repartee,  earnestness  of  purpose,  and  fund  of  general  infor- 
mation which  led  to  his  frequently  being  called  upon  to  uphold  the  honors  of 
his  college  in  debate,  and  in  the  course  of  events  being  dubbed  "Thomas  Jef- 
ferson Bigham,"  a  sobriquet  which  stuck  to  him  during  life,  and  is  supposed 
by  a  majority  of  his  associates  to  have  been  his  proper  name.  After  gradua- 
tion he  taught  school  at  Harrisburg  for  a  year,  during  the  winter  delivering 
a  course  of  lectures  upon  scientific  subjects.  The  following  year  he  came  to 
Pittsburg,  where  he  continued  to  teach  and  lecture,  and  at  the  same  time  took 
up  the  study  of  law,  was  admitted  to  the  Allegheny  county  bar,  September  4, 
1837,  and  became  associated  in  practice  with  Judges  Veach  and  Baird,  old 
time  lawyers  of  distinction,  later  with  W.  O.  Leslie,  as  Bigham  and  Leslie, 
and  about  1870  with  his  oldest  son,  Joel  L.  Bigham,  as  T.  J.  Bigham  and  Son. 
In  the  disastrous  fire  of  April  10,  1845,  both  office  and  lodgings  were  de- 
stroyed, and  he  lost  his  entire  office  furnishings,  library  of  law,  scientific  and 
general  works,  notes,  papers  and  memoranda. 

December  30,  1846,  he  married  Maria  Louisa  Lewis,  daughter  of  Dr. 
Joel  Lewis,  a  member  of  one  of  the  oldest  and  most  prominent  families  of  the 
state,  and  in  1849  '^uilt  a  substantial  residence  upon  a  wooded  knoll  on  his 
wife's  property  on  Mt.  Washington,  south  of  the  city,  where  the  family  have 
resided  ever  since.  Mrs.  Bigham  was  a  granddaughter  of  Major  Abraham 
Kirkpatrick,  a  Virginia  officer  in  the  Revolutionary  army,  who  was  paymaster 
at  Fort  Pitt,  located  here  permanently  at  the  close  of  the  war,  and  with  Gen. 
John  Neville,  his  brother-in-law,  was  a  conspicuous  figure  in  upholding  federal 
authority  during  the  so-called  "Whiskey  Insurrection"  of  1794.  Major  Kirk- 
patrick purchased  in  March,  1794,  from  John  Penn,  Jr.,  and  John  Penn,  heirs 
of  William  Penn,  farms  10  and  11  in  the  Manor  of  Pittsburg,  south  of  the 
Monongahela  river,  containing  seven  hundred  and  fourteen  acres  and  com- 
prising the  territory  known  locally  as  Mt.  Washington  and  Duquesne  Heights. 
After  his  death  this  property  was  divided  among  his  three  children,  Eliza  M., 
wife  of  Christopher  Cowan,  taking  the  easterly  portion,  Amelia  L.,  wife  of 
Judge  Charles  Shaler,  the  westerly  portion,  and  Mary  Ann,  wife  of  Dr.  Joel 
Lewis,  the  middle  part,  which  subsequently  was  divided  between  her  children, 
Abraham  Kirkpatrick  Lewis,  who  died  November  10,  i860,  and  Maria  L. 
Lewis,  later  Mrs.  Bigham. 

Mrs.  Bigham  was  distinguished  for  her  charm  of  manner,  warm  impulses, 
strong  religious  convictions  and  life-long  efforts  to  uplift  and  improve  the 
moral,  intellectual  and  spiritual  tone  of  all  within  the  sphere  of  her  influence. 
Her  work  among  the  young,  in  the  various  ladies'  societies,  the  Sanitary  Com- 
mission during  the  war,  Grace  church  and  Sunday-school,  and  in  the  estab- 
lishment and  management  of  the  Mt.  Washington  Free  Library  and  Reading 
Room  Association,  which  resulted  finally  in  its  place  being  taken  by  a  Branch 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  185 


Carnegie  Library,  will  not  soon  be  forgotten  by  the  community  in  which  and 
for  which  she  lived  and  labored. 

Mr.  Bigham  was  prominent  in  the  political  affairs  of  the  state,  even  more 
than  he  was  as  a  lawyer,  and  soon  became  one  of  the  most  widely  known  citi- 
zens of  Pittsburg.  He  had  too  much  taste  and  aptitude  for  public  affairs  to 
be  content  in  the  narrower  w^alks  of  professional  life.  His  strong  voice  and 
clear  annunciation  made  him  easily  heard,  and  his  well-stored  mind,  genius  for 
statistics,  power  of  repartee,  ready  wit,  unfailing  good  humor  and  sunshiny 
disposition  added  much  to  his  popularity  as  an  off-hand  speaker,  and  brought 
him  into  constant  demand  at  all  public  gatherings,  where  his  presence,  his 
voice,  and  his  utterances  combined  to  render  him  prominent  among  the  men 
of  his  day  and  made  him  a  leader  in  political  affairs.  His  wonderfully  retentive 
memory  enabled  him  to  carry  and  recall  the  history  of  political,  financial  and 
industrial  affairs  so  readily  that  he  earned  the  sobriquets  "Old  Statistics"  and 
the  "Sage  of  Mount  Washington."  Frequently  he  was  compared  to  famous 
"Bill"  Allen  of  Ohio,  on  account  of  his  vocal  powers.  For  so  many  years  was 
he  called  upon  to  read  the  returns  election  nights  to  the  crowds  at  Republican 
headquarters  that  he  came  to  be  regarded  as  one  of  the  features  of  an  elec- 
tion, and  it  was  difficult  for  any  one  else  to  hold  the  stage.  His  announce- 
ments of  returns  w^ere  always  accompanied  by  a  running  fire  of  comments  and 
comparisons  from  memory  with  former  figures  which  gave  a  very  fair  idea 
of  the  trend  of  results.  So  earnest  and  emotional  did  he  become  that  his  very 
appearance,  as  he  came  forward  with  each  report,  would  indicate  its  nature 
before  it  was  read,  and  the  crowd  would  take  the  cue  accordingly.  In  politics 
he  was  a  Whig,  Abolitionist,  original  Fremonter,  and  steadfast  Republican. 
He  became  widely  known  as  an  Abolitionist  at  a  time  when  that  cause  was  not 
popular,  and  not  only  aided  with  his  tongue  and  pen,  but  for  years  maintained 
at  his  home  on  Mt.  W'ashington  a  place  of  refuge  for  the  footsore  fugitive 
slaves  escaping  from  their  masters,  called  in  the,  vernacular  of  those  days  a 
"Station  of  the  Underground  Railway."  The  nurse  for  his  two  oldest  chil- 
dren, born  in  1847  and  1851,  w^as  a  black  girl,  Lucinda  by  name,  who  never 
went  outside  the  house  by  daylight  and  always  fled  to  the  attic  whenever  a 
stranger  was  reported  in  sight. 

In  1844  Mr.  Bigham  was  elected  to  the  House  of  Representatives  and 
served  from  1845  to  "1848,  1851  to  1854,  1862  to  1864,  and  in  the  senate  from 
1865  to  1869,  serving  upon  the  ways  and  means,  railroads  and  canals,  judi- 
ciary, and  other  important  committees.  He  was  always  recognized  as  a  sound, 
capable  and  judicious  legislator,  and  was  the  author  of  some  of  our  most  im- 
portant laws.  Among  them  may  be  named  the  married  woman's  act  of  1848, 
the  general  railroad  law  of  1867,  and  the  acts  extending  the  municipal  powers 
of  the  city  of  Pittsburg,  known  as  the  consolidation  acts  of  1867  and  1869. 
His  attention  was  early  directed  to  the  financial  and  revenue  system  of  the 
commonwealth,  and  he  drafted  and  promoted  the  passage  of  many  of  the  laws 
imposing  taxation  upon  corporations  to  raise  the  needed  revenue  for  the  main- 
tenance of  the  state  government  and  the  removal  of  the  tax  for  state  purposes 
upon  land.  He  was  a  member  of  many  commissions  appointed  under  state 
authority  at  dift'erent  times  to  investigate  and  report  upon  matters  affecting 
the  public  interest  and  welfare.  The  appointment  of  commissioner  of  statis- 
tics of  the  state  of  Pennsylvania,  which  office  he  filled  from  1873  to  1875,  was 


[86  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


tendered  him  by  Governor  Hartranft,  not  as  a  political  reward,  but  as  a  recog- 
nition of  his  great  ability  and  attainments  especially  directed  toward  the  indus- 
trial, manufacturing,  agricultural,  mining  and  mercantile  interests  of  this  great 
state,  and  the  reports  made  by  him  have  always  been  considered  of  special 
value.  Few  citizens  of  the  state  have  shown  more  devotion  to  its  interests 
than  has  he.  In  1851  he  was  elected  to  the  board  of  managers  of  the  Penn- 
sylvania Reform  School,  to  which  for  many  years  he  had  been  a  contributor, 
and  continued  to  act  in  that  capacity  until  disabled  by  the  infirmities  of  age. 
He  was  the  founder  and  chief  supporter  of  Grace  Episcopal  church,  Mt.  Wash- 
ington, which  grew  out  of  a  mission  Sunday-school  started  by  him  and  his 
wife  in  1849,  ^^""^  ^'^^  carried  on  almost  wholly  at  their  expense  for  many 
years,  until  it  became  a  flourishing  congregation.  He  was  the  proprietor  for 
years  of  the  Commercial  Journal,  and  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Pittsburg 
Commercial,  both  now  merged  with  the  Pittsburg  Gasette,  and  was  identified 
with  all  the  public  enterprises  of  his  day.  From  1878  to  1882  he  was  a  mem- 
ber of  the  councils  of  the  city  of  Pittsburg,  where  his  industry  and  energy  in 
looking  after  every  measure  introduced,  that  it  might  be  strictly  for  the  public 
good,  made  him  a  notable  figure,  and  rendered  many  meetings  of  that  body 
lively  and  interesting.  Mr.  Bigham  devoted  much  time  to  scientific  and  his- 
torical studies  throughout  his  entire  life.  His  favorite  historical  researches 
were  connected  with  the  annals  of  the  state  of  Pennsylvania,  and  especially  of 
the  western  settlements.  Many  valuable  contributions  from  his  pen  have  been 
published  and  are  familiar  to  those  who  have  given  attention  to  the  subjects 
treated.  His  work  is  characterized  by  large  natural  ability,  patient  industry 
in  research  in  the  field  to  which  his  tastes  attracted  him,  and  sound  and  dis- 
criminating judgment  in  all  matters,  particularly  those  of  public  concern. 
Socially  he  was  frank  and  entertaining,  and  very  instructive  in  conversation, 
but  decided  in  his  views,  into  the  expression  of  which  he  carried  the  enthu- 
siasm which  attends  thorough  conviction  and  an  earnest  nature.  Brusque  in 
manner,  with  little  regard  for  outward  appearances,  but  of  a  generous  nature 
and  kindly  disposition,  with  his  wit  and  bright  conversation,  he  was  very 
companionable  and  always  formed  the  center  of  an  interested  group. 

His  death  occurred  November  9,  1884,  and  he  was  laid  to  rest  in  the  Alle- 
gheny Cemetery,  of  which  he  was  in  1844  one  of  the  charter  members,  and 
the  first  secretary  of  the  corporation.  He  was  survived  by  his  wife,  Maria  L. 
Bigham,  who  died  October  14,  1888,  and  the  following  children :  Joel  L.  Big- 
ham,  born  November  6,  1847;  married  Sarah  Davis,  November  14,  1872,  and 
died  January  20,  1892;  was  a  lawyer  of  recognized,  ability.  He  is  represented 
by  his  two  sons,  Thomas  J.,  in  the  Episcopal  ministry,  born  March  23,  1875, 
and  Joel  Lewis,  of  the  U.  S.  Navy,  born  February  28,  1877.  Kirk  O.  Bigham, 
born  March  17,  185 1,  unmarried,  is  a  member  of  the  Allegheny  County  Bar 
and  for  many  years  represented  the  Thirty-second  ward  in  city  councils. 
Mary  A.,  born  March  29,  1854;  was  married  April  7,  1885,  to  Melville  L. 
Stout,  and  Eliza  A.,  born  January  31,  1857,  died  June  23,  1902,  unmarried, 
who  was  noted  for  her  warm-heartedness  and  love  for  children. 

Kirk  O.  Bigham  and  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stout,  with  their  children,  are  still 
living  in  the  picturesque  old  homestead  among  the  forest  trees,  surrounded 
by  the  lands  inherited  through  three  descents  from  their  great-grandfather, 
the  greater  part  of  which  they  still  own. 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  i8; 


EDMUND  J.  WILKINS,  one  of  Wilkinsburg's  retired  business  men. 
was  born  August  i6,  1842,  in  Allegheny  City,  a  son  of  Edmund  Wilkins,  who 
was  born  September  3,  1812,  in  Langport,  England,  youngest  of  a  family  of 
thirteen  children. 

Edmund  Wilkins  was  a  marble-cutter  by  trade,  and  in  1833-34  came  to 
the  United  States,  settling  in  Pittsburg.  With  him  came  John  Chislett,  who 
afterward  became  a  famous  architect  and  first  superintendent  of  the  Allegheny 
cemetery.  They  formed  a  partnership  and  went  into  the  marble  business, 
which  they  made  extensive  and  profitable  for  many  years,  the  partnership 
being  dissolved  on  Mr.  Chislett's  assuming  charge  of  the  cemetery.  Mr.  Wil- 
kins then  took  as  a  partner  Matthew  Lawton,  who  was  at  that  time  one  of  the 
most  talented  musicians  of  Pittsburg.  The  association  lasted  but  a  short  time, 
and  Mr.  Wilkins  thereafter  carried  on  the  business  by  himself.  The  old  city 
directory  of  1847  gives  his  marble-yard  address  as  Wood  street,  between  Vir- 
gin alley  and  Sixth  street.  So  successful  was  he  that  in  1852  being  then  but 
forty  years  old,  he  was  able  to  retire  from  all  active  business,  after  which  he 
made  frequent  trips  to  his  birthplace  in  England. 

In  spite  of  his  English  origin,  or  rather  because  of  it,  he  was  pre-emi- 
nently an  American  in  all  things.  In  his  earlier  days  he  was  a  Whig  in  pol- 
itics, and  in  after  years  a  staunch  Republican,  as  well  as  an  ardent  advocate  of 
abolition.  In  religious  belief  he  was  a  Baptist,  and  at  one  time  a  member  of 
the  old  Sandusky  street  church  in  Allegheny,  in  which  he  was  an  active 
worker,  serving  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday-school. 

]\Ir.  W'ilkins  was  twice  married.  By  his  first  wife,  Mary  Ann  Canter- 
bury, he  bad  the  following  children :  Miriam,  born  May  25,  1836,  widow  of 
John  Hays,  children,  James  G.,  Jennie,  wife  of  Joseph  Herron,  of  Montana, 
Edward,  Miriam,  wife  of  William  Scott,  Joseph,  Clara,  wife  of  Frank  Hartly, 
John  R.  and  George;  Josephine,  born  May  4,  1838,  died  May  13,  1871,  wife  of 
William  C.  Brown ;  Alary,  died  in  infancy ;  Edmund  J.,  of  whom  later ;  and 
John  Clarkson,  died  young.  By  his  second  wife,  Mary  Ann  Wainwright,  he 
became  the  father  of  three  sons  and  one  daughter :  Joseph  Wainwright,  mar- 
ried Frances  Kendall,  children,  Joseph,  Mary,  Henry  and  Francis;  Harriet  E., 
died  young ;  Reuben  and  James,  both  of  whom  died  early  in  life. 

Edmund  J.  Wilkins,  fourth  child  and  eldest  son  of  Edmund  and  Mary 
Ann  (Canterbury)  Wilkins,  was  reared  partly  in  Allegheny  City  and  partly 
in  Lawrenceville,  now  within  the  limits  of  Pittsburg.  He  attended  the  public 
schools  and  later  the  Penn  Institute.  His  first  work  was  in  the  grocery  busi- 
ness with  William  Smith,  after  which  he  was  employed  for  a  time  by  William 
France  in  the  same  line  of  business.  When  only  sixteen  years  old  he  went  to 
Iowa,  and  for  several  terms  acted  as  the  instructor  of  a  school.  Soon  after 
the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted,  October  8,  1861,  in  the  Hampton 
Independent  Battery  F,  and  served  for  three  years,  receiving  an  honorable 
discharge  October  24,  1864,  with  the  rank  of  corporal.  He  was  with  his  bat- 
tery in  all  the  battles  and  engagements  in  which  it  participated,  among  which 
were  the  following:  Winchester,  Bull  Run,  Chancellorsville,  South  Moun- 
tain and  Gettysburg. 

After  completing  his  term  of  enlistment  he  returned  to  Pittsburg,  and  for 
the  next  eleven  years  engaged  in  the  coal  business.  During  this  time  he  was 
deputy  sheriff  under  John  H.  Herss,  and  clerk  in  the  county  comptroller's 
office  under  Henry  Warner,  later  serving  under  George  Alexander  and  for  a 


CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


short  time  with  Josiah  Speer.  In  1875  he  moved  to  the  Twenty-second  ward 
and  went  into  the  grain  business,  which  he  carried  on  successfully  until  1885, 
when  he  retired.  In  1892  he  moved  to  Wilkinsburg,  where  he  has  since  con- 
tinued to  reside. 

He  is  a  member  of  Major  Long  Post,  G.  A.  R.,  and  the  Veteran  Legion, 
No.  I,  also  affiliating  with  Davidge  Lodge,  No.  374,  F.  and  A.  M.,  of  AUe- 

ghenv. 

Mr.  Wilkins  married  Elizabeth  Ross,  daughter  of  Henry  J.  and  Letitia 
(Waddell)  Grenet,  and  they  have  been  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Mary,  wife  of  Peter  Young,  children,  Edmund  W.,  Mary  W.,  Elizabeth  W. 
and  Josephine  W. ;  Frank  Samuel,  died  young;  Elizabeth  A.,  wife  of  William 
I.  Erans,  children,  Erskine  W.,  Alice  L.,  Elizabeth  and  CorneUa;  Edmund, 
•died  young ;  John  H.,  married  Catharine  Clarey ;  Letitia  Josephine,  and  Alice 
Irene. 


WILSON  J.  RUGH,  M.  D.,  well  and  favorably  known  as  a  surgeon  and 
general  medical  practitioner  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  who  resides  at  No. 
Ill  Park  avenue  in  that  city,  is  a  representative  of  one  of  the  old  families  of 
the  state  of  Pennsylvania. 

John  M.  Rugh,  father  of  Dr.  Wilson  J.  Rugh,  was  born  in  Westmore- 
land county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1812.  He  was  prominently  identified  with  the 
agricultural  interests  of  that  county  during  his  entire  life,  and  died  in  1890. 
He  married  Mary  B.  Wilson,  of  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  they 
had  children:  Wilson  J.,  see  forward,  Michael  J.,  Benjamin  F.  and  Martha 
Jane.    Mrs.  Rugh  died  1901. 

Wilson  J.  Rugh,  eldest  child  of  John  M.  and  Mary  B.  (Wilson)  Rugh, 
was  born  in  Bell  township,  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  March  24, 
1848.  He  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  and  the  Millersville 
State  Normal  School,  and  then  taught  school  for  three  terms.  He  entered  the 
Capital  University  for  three  years  in  1869,  then  took  up  the  study  of  medicine 
in  Columbus  Medical  College,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1877.  He 
immediately  established  himself  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  Westmore- 
land county,  remaining  there  for  eight  years,  and  removed  to  Pittsburg  in 
1885.  Here  he  soon  gained  the  confidence  of  a  large  class  of  patients,  and  he 
is  highly  esteemed  in  the  medical  fraternity  as  well.  He  has  served  as  surgeon 
of  the  Pittsburgh  Railway  Company  for  a  number  of  years.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  county,  state  and  national  medical  associations,  and  is  supreme  treasurer 
of  the  Knights  of  Malta  of  the  continent. 

He  married  (first)  Nancy  E.  Hine,  daughter  of  Simon  Hine,  and  had 
■children :  Frank  E.,  Bertha  May  and  Nancy  E.  Mrs.  Rugh  died  in  May, 
1884,  and  he  married  (second)  Elizabeth  Kuhns,  daughter  of  John  H.  Kuhns. 


WILLIAM  HAAS,  for  many  years  identified  with  the  grocery  business  in 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  now  living  retired  from  active  business  responsi- 
bilities, is  a  member  of  an  honored  family  of  Germany,  and  a  representative 
of  the  second  generation  in  America. 

Lewis  Haas  was  born  in  Germany  August  10,  1809,  and  emigrating  to 
the  United  States  in  1831,  settled  in  Pittsburg.  Pennsylvania,  where  he  found 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  189 

employment  with  Perry,  the  leading  boot  and  shoe  maker  on  Wood  street. 
Later  he  established  himself  in  the  tin  and  hardware  business  on  Penn  avenue, 
which  he  operated  successfully  until  1868,  when  he  retired  from  active  business. 
He  w^as  a  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows,  William  Tell  and  Redmen  fraternal 
orders  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1895.  His  political  support  was  given 
to  the  Democratic  party,  and  he  was  a  member  of  the  old  German  Lutheran 
church.  Smithfield  street.  He  married  Doretta  Kehlbach,  also  a  native  of 
Germany,  who  died  November  25,  1876,  and  they  had  children:  I,  Doretta, 
married  George  Haviser,  later  deceased,  and  had  children:  George,  Henry, 
Caroline,  wife  of  William  Steinbach ;  and  Tilly,  deceased.  2.  Caroline,  mar- 
ried Henry  Herr,  of  Alliance,  Ohio,  formerly  connected  with  the  Morgan 
Engineering  Company.  3.  Lewis,  born  February  15,  1842,  died  in  1875,  mar- 
ried Alary  Till,  and  had  children :  George,  and  two  who  died  in  childhood. 
Lewis  enlisted  for  three  months'  service  under  Colonel  Rowley  in  the  Thir- 
teenth Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  and  reenlisted  in  the  One  Hundred 
and  Second  Regiment,  and  served  until  the  close  of  the  war.  4.  William,  see 
forward.     5.  Henry,  born  in  1848,  died  aged  twenty-two  years,  unmarried. 

William  Haas,  second  son  and  fourth  child  of  Lewis  and  Doretta  (Kehl- 
bach) Haas,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  September  10,  1845.  His 
early  education  was  acquired  in  the  old  Franklin  school  in  the  Sixth  ward,  and 
he  was  a  young  lad  when  he  entered  upon  his  business  career,  his  first  employ- 
ment being  with  the  J.  K.  Moorehead  Novelty  Company.  On  August  31,  1869, 
he  enlisted  in  Company  E,  Sixth  Pennsylvania  Heavy  Artillery,  which  was 
recruited  in  Pittsburg,  Colonel  Barnes  commanding,  and  at  the  end  of  one 
year's  service  he  received  an  honorable  discharge,  June  13,  1865.  He  returned 
to  Pittsburg,  where  he  took  a  course  at  Duff's  Business  College,  in  order  to 
better  equip  himself  for  his  business  career.  For  two  years  he  held  the  position 
of  clerk  with  Stamm  &  Illig,  and  after  one  year  spent  in  traveling  through  the 
western  states  he  entered  the  employ  of  Smith,  Johnson  &  Colvin,  wholesale 
grocers,  as  shipping  clerk.  Soon  afterward  he  engaged  in  the  grocery  business 
for  himself,  taking  a  store  in  Forbes  street.  He  conducted  a  profitable  retail 
business  for  a  number  of  years,  retiring  in  1888  and  removing  with  his  family 
to  Wilkinsburg,  where  he  resided  for  a  period  of  two  years.  After  two  years 
of  this  inactivity  his  natural  energy  asserted  itself  and  he  returned  to  Forbes 
street,  where  he  resumed  the  grocery  business.  At  the  expiration  of  four  years 
he  again  retired,  and  since  that  time  has  devoted  much  time  and  attention  to 
real  estate  matters,  in  which  he  has  made  many  successful  deals.  He  is  a 
staunch  supporter  of  the  principles  of  the  Republican  party,  and  represented 
the  Sixth  ward  of  Pittsburg  in  the  common  council  in  1 880-1,  when  he  made 
himself  conspicuous  by  his  strenuous  opposition  to  the  "Marginal  road"  meas- 
ure. He  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  church,  but  since  coming  to  Edgewood 
attends  with  his  family  the  Presbyterian  church  of  that  place.  The  family 
reside  at  130  Beech  street.  Edgewood. 

Mr.  Haas  married,  December  2.  1869,  Mary  D.  Poellot,  a  daughter  of 
Peter  and  Barbara  (Herschman)  Poellot,  both  natives  of  Germany,  and  they 
have  had  children :  Charles  Z.,  a  grocer  in  Wilkinsburg,  Pennsylvania,  mar- 
ried Eugenie  Boegel;  Bertha  E.  and  Nellie  A.,  at  home.  He  married,  second, 
Anna  B.  Poellot,  a  sister  of  his  first  wife,  and  their  children  are:  Walter  E. 
and  Ralph  A. 


I90  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

WILLIAM  DAVID  LOW.  As  an  example  of  steadfast  and  faithful 
devotion  to  the  interests  of  those  for  whom  he  labors  it  would  be  difficult  to 
find  a  name  more  suitable  than  that  which  heads  this  sketch.  William  David 
Low  is  a  descendant  of  one  of  those  sturdy  old  family  of  settlers  in  New. 
England  whose  habits  of  thrift  and  industry  and  conscientious  performance  of 
duty  have  been  handed  down  to  their  posterity,  and  which  have  helped  so 
materially  in  building  up  the  prosperity  of  this  country. 

James  Humphrey  Low.  father  of  William  David  Low,  was  born  in  Lon- 
donderry, New  Hampshire,  in  1818.  He  was  extensively  engaged  in  the  lumber 
trade  and  was  a  successful  man  of  business.  He  married  EHza  Haines  and  had 
children:  George  A.,  born  in  1844;  Martha  A.,  born  in  1844,  died  in  1857; 
William  David,  see  forward;  Robert  P.,  born  in  1850,  died  in  1887;  Mary,  born 
in  1854,  died  in  1855 ;  and  Isabella  H.,  born  in  1857. 

William  David  Low,  son  of  J.  H.  and  Eliza  (Haines)  Low,  was  born  in 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  April  20,  1847.  He  received  a  good  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  his  native  city,  and  at  a  suitable  age  entered  upon  a  business 
career.  His  first  position  was  as  clerk  in  the  shoe  store  of  George  Albree,  but 
for  the  last  twenty-eight  years  he  has  been  in  the  employ,  as  clerk,  of  the 
United  States  Steel  Company,  where  his  efficient  work  and  faithful  perform- 
ance of  the  duties  which  fall  to  his  share  meet  with  due  appreciation.  He  has 
devoted  much  time  and  attention  to  military  affairs,  having  been  one  of  the 
organizers  and  the  first  lieutenant  of  Company  F,  Fourteenth  Regiment,  Na- 
tional Guard  of  Pennsylvania,  for  eleven  years,  and  first  lieutenant  of  Company 
E  for  three  years.  For  many  years  he  has  been  an  honored  member  and  active 
worker  in  St.  James'  Memorial  church. 

He  married  Mary  Fisher,  daughter  of  John  Fisher,  and  they  have  chil- 
dren:  William  D.,  Jr.,  Helen  D.,  Vincent  F.,  who  died  in  1889;  Marian  H., 
and  Florence,  who  married  a  Mr.  McGahan,  and  died  December  i,  1897.  Mr. 
Low  is  a  member  of  the  following  named  lodges :  Star  of  Liberty  Castle,  No. 
102,  A.  O.  K.  of  M.  C. ;  Post  Pitt  Lodge,  No.  170,  K.  of  P.;  C.  D.  Freeman 
Lodge,  No.  1036,  I.  O.  O.  F. ;  Homewood  Lodge,  No.  378,  Knights  of  Malta ; 
Bruston  Circle  Lodge,  No.  389,  P.  H.  C. ;  Martha  Washington  Lodge,  No.  i, 
D.  of  N. ;  Adelaide  Nicholson  Lodge,  No.  186,  D.  of  R. ;  Pittsburg  Chapter, 
No.  268,  R.  A.  M. ;  Homewood  Lodge,  No.  635,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  Pittsburg 
Chapter,  No.  39,  O.  E.  S. 


ROWLAND  ARMSTRONG  BALPH,  the  well-known  attorney-at-law 
of  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Allegheny  City  January  7,  185 1,  son  of  Benjamin 
King  and  Sarah  (Armstrong)  Balph.  The  grandfather  on  the  paternal  side 
was  James  Balph,  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  181 2- 14,  and  a  farmer  of  Butler 
county,  Pennsylvania,  his  farm  lying  about  five  miles  from  the  town  of  Butler. 
Here  he  erected  the  home  in  which  his  children  were  all  born  and  which  sub- 
sequently descended  to  his  youngest  son,  Joseph  Balph.  James  Balph  married 
Mary  King  and  their  children  were:  i.  Eli.  2.  Margaret,  wife. of  Joseph 
Graham.  3.  John.  4.  James.  5.  William.  6.  Alexander.  7.  Susan.  8. 
Benjamin  K.     9.  Joseph. 

Benjamin  King  Balph  was  born  on  the  old  homestead  in  Butler  county, 
Pennsylvania,  and  was  reared  on  the  farm.  He  obtained  his  education  in  the 
common  schools  of  his  township.     Later  he  came  to  Allegheny  City  and  be- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  191 

came  a  contractor  and  builder.  He  married  Sarah  Armstrong,  by  whom 
children  were  born:  i.  Emma,  wife  of  Robert  Ray,  first,  and  secondly  of 
Thomas  W.  McCune.  2.  Harriet  Newell,  who  married  Austin  M.  Woodworth. 
3.  Rowland  A.  4.  James,  who  married  Mary  Rose.  5.  John,  who  married 
Martha  Cassidy,  both  deceased.  6.  Benjamin,  deceased.  7.  Elizabeth,  de- 
ceased.   8.  Lawrence,  deceased.    The  last  two  died  young. 

Rowland  A.  Balph  was  reared  in  Allegheny  City,  where  he  received  his 
primary  education  at  the  public  schools.  Later  he  attended  Westminster  Col- 
lege, graduating  in  1872,  after  which  he  began  the  study  of  law  with  the  firm 
of  Gill,  Hall  &  Hay.  He  was  admitted  to  t^he  Allegheny  county  bar  April  22, 
1874,  and  immediately  began  the  practice  of  his  profession,  which  he  has  fol- 
lowed ever  since.  He  practices  in  United  States  courts  and  Pennsylvania  su- 
preme court.  In  1878  he  formed  a  partnership  with  his  brother,  James  Balph, 
for  general  practice  of  law,  the  firm  being  now  known  as  R.  A.  &  James 
Balph,  with  offices  in  the  Park  Building.  In  1883  ^e  removed  to  Wilkinsburg, 
where  he  built  his  present  home  at  901  Hill  avenue.  He  was  the  prime  mover 
and  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  borough  of  Wilkinsburg.  At  first  he  met 
with  much  opposition  from  the  older  inhabitants,  but  after  a  long  contest  and 
tedious  delays  the  borough  organization  was  effected,  after  a  decree  had  been 
handed  down  by  the  supreme  court.  He  was  one  of  the  charter  members  of 
the  Masonic  lodge  at  Wilkinsburg,  and  the  first  master  of  Orient  lodge,  R.  A. 
M.  Politically  Mr.  Balph  is  a  Republican  and  in  religion  is  a  member  of  the 
First  Presbyterian  church,  of  which  he  is  an  elder.  He  is  chairman  of  the 
musical  committee  of  the  church  and  a  teacher  in  the  adult  Bible  class  of  the 
Sunday-school.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  and  the  first  president  of  Penn- 
wood  Club. 

•  Mr.  Balph  has  been  twice  married,  first  to  Hester  Rankin,  daughter  of 
Rev.  James  Rankin,  deceased,  by  which  union  was  born  Jean  A.,  Rowland 
Pollock  and  Hester  Isabel.  He  married  (secondly)  Isabel  W.  Ewing,  daugh- 
ter of  William  G.  Ewing,  of  Dayton,  Ohio. 


CHARLES  SUMNER  EVANS,  D.  D.  S..  who  has  been  a  leader  in  the 
dental  profession  of  Greater  Pittsburg  for  the  past  twelve  years,  was  born  in 
Warren  county,  Pennsylvania,  July  22,,  1868,  son  of  Stephen  Hadley  and  Eve- 
hn^  (Magill)  Evans.  This  family  is  of  Welsh  descent,  the  founder  coming  to 
America  as  earlv  as  1770,  settling  in  Lancaster  county,  Pennsylvania.  The 
subject's  father,  Stephen  H.  Evans,  furnishes  the  following  sketch  of  the  fam- 
ily, compiled  from  the  best  information  he  can  obtain,  coupling  with  it  a  sketch 
of  his  own  career  as  found  in  a  work  on  leading  citizens  of  his  judicial  dis- 
trict : 

"Stephen  Hadley  Evans,  among  the  capitalists  of  Warren  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, who  have  obtained  their  wealth  not  by  inheritance,  but  by  their  own 
exertions  alone,  stands  out  prominently  among  the  prosperous  men  of  western 
Pennsylvania.  He  is  a  prosperous  and  thoroughly  progressive  farmer  and  a 
noted  breeder  of  fine  Jersey  cattle,  and  a  retired  merchant.  He  was  born  De- 
cember 8,  1838,  in  Cochranton,  Crawford  county,  Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Peter 
Evans  and  a  grandson  of  Walter  Evans. 

"Walter  Evans  was  of  Welsh  descent  and  the  earliest  facts  known  of  him 
are  that  he  was  both  a  farmer  and  a  cooper  of  Lancaster  county,  Pennsylvania. 


192  A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 

His  children  were:  Jacob,  William,  Peter  (the  father  of  Stephen  H.  Evans), 
John,  Samuel,  George,  Joseph,  Henry,  Elizabeth,  Polly,  Julia,  Catherine  and 
Susan. 

"Peter  Evans  was  born  October  5,  1804.  in  Lancaster  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, where  when  grown  to  manhood  he  learned  the  trade  of  a  boat  builder 
and  followed  his  trade  in  Chautauqua  county.  New  York.  In  1830,  in  a  large 
canoe  which  he  had  built,  Mr.  Evans  brought  his  family,  which  consisted  of  his 
wife  and  one  child,  down  the  Allegheny  river  to  Franklin,  and  then  by  pushing 
and  pulling  the  canoe  up  French  creek,  he  succeeded  in  getting  to  Cochranton. 
There  he  bought  fifty  acres  of  wild  land  covered  with  white  oak  timber  and 
built  a  rude  log  cabin  for  the  accommodation  of  his  family.  He  then  began 
the  arduous  task  of  clearing  and  cultivating  the  land,  which  cost  him  but  three 
dollars  per  acre.  After  living  there  many  years,  engaged  in  farming  and  lum- 
bering, he  sold  his  farm  and  retired  to  Tidioute  in  1876,  where  his  death  oc- 
curred in  1882.  He  was  united  in  marriage  with  Elsie  Hadley,  a  daughter  of 
Stephen  Hadley,  a  well-to-do  farmer  of  Chautauqua  county,  New  York.  Elsie's 
mother  died  young  and  she  was  reared  by  her  mother's  sister,  Mrs.  George  W. 
Fenton,  the  mother  of  ex-Governor  Reuben  E.  Fenton.  Mrs.  Evans  was  born 
in  1 8 10  and  survived  her  husband  but  one  year,  passing  away  in  1883.  The 
following  are  their  children:  Henry  H.,  Elizabeth,  George  W.,  Walter  C, 
Stephen  H.  and  Ellen. 

"Stephen  H.  Evans  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  native  place,  after 
which  he  was  a  student  at  the  Meadville  Academy.  He  then  went  to  Tidioute 
in  1859,  to  study  medicine  with  Dr.  Charles  Kemble.  In  the  meantime  he 
taught  school  in  the  Joseph  Magee  district ;  also  teaching  classes  in  penman- 
ship. After  closing  his  schools  in  April,  i860,  being  desirous  of  taking  a  little 
trip  and  being  offered  a  place  on  a  raft  down  the  Allegheny  river  to  Pittsburg, 
he  readily  accepted  the  opportunity  and  was  soon  started  on  his  journey.  When 
at  Pittsburg  the  raft  was  attached  to  three  others  to  be  run  down  the  Ohio 
river  to  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  and  he  continued  his  journey  to  Maysville,  Ken- 
tucky, where  he  visited  his  brother,  Walter,  who  was  a  teacher  there.  His 
return  trip  was  accomplished  by  a  steamer  to  Cincinnati,  by  railroad  to  Erie, 
and  thence  by  stage  to  Meadville  and  Tidioute. 

"In  August,  1862,  Air.  Evans  enlisted  in  the  Union  army,  and  was  elected 
second  lieutenant  of  Company  F,  One  Hundred  and  Forty-fifth  Pennsylvania 
Volunteer  Regiment,  under  Colonel  H.  L.  Brown.  The  fourth  day  after  being 
mustered  into  the  regiment  at  Erie,  Pennsylvania,  the  regiment  was  taken  in 
box-cars  to  Chambersburg.  Pennsylvania,  thence  to  Antietam,  where  with  the 
strength  of  one  thousand  men  they  supported  a  battery.  The  next  day  after 
the  Antietam  battle  his  regiment  buried  the  bodies  of  five  hundred  Confeder- 
ates. After  this  they  marched  to  Harper's  Ferry,  and  there  camped  on  Bolivar 
Heights  for  a  month  and  afterward  marched  up  the  Shenandoah  valley,  where 
they  were  engaged  in  many  battles  and  skirmishes.  Among  the  most  important 
battles  in  which  Mr.  Evans  participated  was  the  engagement  of  Fredericks- 
burg, Virginia,  where  the  Union  army  met  with  heavy  losses,  his  company  and 
regiment  losing  over  50  per  cent.  After  that  with  his  company  he  did  light 
services  and  picket  duty  until  he  was  smitten  with  fever  and  was  compelled  to 
resign,  receiving  his  discharge  March  31,  1863. 

"Shortly  after  his  return  home  President  Lincoln  appointed  him  post- 
master at  Tidioute,  in  which  capacity  he  served  for  ten  years.  During  this  time 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE 


193 


Tidioute  received  an  oil  boom  and  the  office  was  changed  from  a  fifth  to  a 
first  class  office,  while  a  similar  change  took  place  in  the  salary.  At  first  he 
was  only  paid  three  hundred  and  thirty  dollars  per  year,  but  at  the  close  of  his 
administration  three  thousand  two  hundred  dollars  were  paid  and  two  addi- 
tional clerks  required  to  dispose  of  the  business. 

"In  1865  Mr.  Evans  became  associated  with  W.  R.  Dawson  in  the  mer- 
cantile business,  continuing  for  eleven  years.  He  then  sold  his  entire  interest 
to  Mr.  Dawson,  Mr.  Evans  wishing  an  outdoor  life  for  himself  and  also  for  his 
sons.  He  then  purchased  one  hundred  and  fifty  acres  of  woodland  adjoining 
the  town  of  Tidioute.  After  clearing  about  seventy-five  acres,  he  built  two 
tenement  houses  and  two  large,  modern  barns.  Being  a  lover  of  fine  stock, 
Mr.  Evans  next  turned  his  attention  to  stock  raising  and  purchased  .for  that 
purpose  some  fine  registered  Jersey  cattle.  Since  then  he  has  devoted  nearly 
all  of  his  time  and  attention  to  that  line  of  business,  and  the  reputation  of  his 
stock  has  spread  throughout  the  United  States.  He  has  shipped  over  one  hun- 
dred head  of  Jerseys  to  different  parts  of  this  country,  having  sent  two  car 
loads  direct  to  Texas,  and  a  similar  shipment  to  West  Virginia,  realizing  in 
return  from  fifty  dollars  to  five  hundred  dollars  a  head. 

"Mr.  Evans  was  twice  married.  His  first  wife  was  Emeline  Magill, 
daughter  of  Rev.  Arthur  Magill.  She  died  in  1864  at  about  the  age  of  twenty- 
three  years,  leaving  one  son,  Harry,  now  a  resident  of  Liberal,  Kansas,  where 
he  owns  five  thousand  acres  of  land,  and  like  his  father  raises  fine  cattle.  For 
his  second  wife  Mr.  Evans  married  in  1865,  Evaline  Magill,  daughter  of 
Charles  Magill,  of  Warren  county,  Pennsylvania.  Five  children  blessed  this 
union,  but  a  son  and  daughter  died  in  infancy  and  three  sons  have  grown  to 
manhood,  and  are  named  as  follows  :  Charles  Sumner,  Arthur  BHss  and  Wal- 
ter Clyde.  Arthur  B.  graduated  from  the  Meadville  Commercial  College  and 
the  Rochester  Business  University.  Walter  Clyde  was  formerly  a  student  at 
Grove  City  College  and  afterwards  a  private  in  Company  F,  Fifteenth  Penn- 
sylvania Infantry,  during  the  war  with  Spain. 

"The  father,  Stephen  H.  Evans,  among  other  enterprises  has  been  an  oil 
operator.  Politically  he  is  a  staunch  Republican  and  has  served  as  city  coun- 
cilman. He  has  been  a  devout  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church 
since  he  was  thirteen  years  of  age.  He  has  served  as  steward,  trustee,  etc., 
in  that  church.  He  is  a  member  and  also  past  grand  of  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows,  and  a  past  master  of  Temple  Lodge,  No.  412,  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons.  He  has  served  four  years  as  adjutant  of  Colonel  George  A. 
Cobham  Post.  No.  311,  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic." 

Dr.  Charles  Sumner  Evans,  son  of  Stephen  H.  and  Evaline  (Magill) 
Evans,  began  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Tidioute,  Warren  county, 
Pennsylvania,  and  graduated  from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1885.  He 
was  chosen  valedictorian  of  his  class.  For  a  time  he  worked  on  his  father's 
farm,  and  when  twenty-one  years  of  age  went  to  Springfield,  Ohio,  where  he 
was  engaged  in  the  florist's  business  for  about  three  years.  He  then  closed  out 
and  in  the  autumn  of  1892  went  to  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  and  entered  the 
University  of  Pennsylvania,  where  he  pursued  a  full  course  in  dentistry  and 
graduated  from  that  institution  in  1895,  having  been  elected  president  of  his 
class.  Leaving  college  he  came  direct  to  Pittsburg  and  at  once  opened  an  of- 
fice at  the  corner  of  Center  and  Highland  avenues,  where  he  has  built  for 
himself  a  splendid  professional  reputation  and  enjoys  a  lucrative  practice  in 
iv— 13 


194 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


dental  surgery.  He  belongs  to  the  Pennsylvania  State  Dental  Society ;  is  a 
member  of  the  Odontological  Society  of  Western  Pennsylvania ;  Hailman 
Lodge,  No.  321,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  the  Royal  Arcanum.  Po- 
litically he  affiliates  with  the  Republican  party.  He  is  interested  in  various 
business  enterprises. 

He  was  married,  December  22,  1898,  by  Rev.  A.  D.  Carlisle,  pastor  of  the 
Tabernacle  Presbyterian  church,  to  Miss  Bessie  I.  Morton,  of  Pittsburg,  born 
October  12,  1880.  She  is  the  daughter  of  William  and  Mary  I.  Morton.  Dr. 
Evans  and  wife  are  the  parents  of  two  children:  i.  Charles  Morton,  born 
October  12,  1900.  2.  Dorothy,  born  June  21,  1903,  died  December  7,  1905. 
The  family  reside  at  the  corner  of  Baum  street  and  Euclid  avenue,  East  End, 
Pittsburg. 


ALEXANDER  C.  LOHR.  a  retired  contractor  and  builder  and  for  many 
years  a  resident  of  the  borough  of  Wilkinsburg,  was  born  April  8,  1835,  in 
Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania,  a  son  of  Samuel  and  Hannah  (Studebaker) 
Lohr.  His  paternal  grandfather,  Jacob  Lohr,  was  a  native  of  Lancaster 
county,  Pennsylvania,  and  in  the  latter  part  of  the  eighteenth  century  moved 
to  Somerset  county,  where  he  settled  and  became  a  prosperous  and  wealthy 
farmer,  owning  well  improved  farms  in  that  county.  In  politics  he  was  a 
Whig.  He  married  Christena  Coker  and  became  the  father  of  the  follow- 
ing children :  Samuel,  Michael,  who  married  a  Miss  Wilt ;  Emanuel,  who 
married  a  Miss  Berkeybile;  Valentine,  who  married  a  Miss  Wolfert ;  Joseph, 
George  Daniel,  who  married  a  Miss  Grissy ;  Jacob,  who  married  ^a  Miss  Fry. 

Samuel  Lohr,  eldest  son  of  Jacob  Lohr,  was  born  on  the  old  homestead  in 
Somerset  comity,  Pennsylvania,  Christmas  day,  1803,  and  was  reared  on  his 
father's  farm,  consisting  of  one  hundred  acres,  and  which  later  he  inherited. 
He  followed  farm  life  like  his  forefathers.  He  was  an  enthusiastic  Whig  in 
politics.  He  married  Hannah  Studebaker,  by  whom  the  following  children 
were  born:  (i)  Jacob,  who  married  Rosanna  Berkey;  (2)  Eliza,  died  young; 
(3)  Mary,  wife  of  Joseph  Plough;  (4)  Alexander  C.,  of  whom  later  mention 
will  be  made;  (5)  Elizabeth,  who  married  Noah  Myers;  (6)  Lovinia,  wife 
of  Benjamin  F.  Valentine;  (7)  Nancy,  who  married  Matthew  M.  Roberts; 
(8)  Samuel,  Jr.,  who  married  Elizabeth  Drury. 

Alexander  C.  Lohr  was  reared  on  his  father's  farm  in  Somerset  county, 
Pennsylvania,  acquiring  his  education  at  the  local  schools.  Until  he  reached 
his  majority  he  assisted  his  father  on  the  farm.  In  1858  he  went  to  Ligonier, 
Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  learned  the  carpenter's  trade. 
He  remained  there  four  years  and  then  moved  to  Allegheny  county,  where 
he  worked  two  years  at  Braddock  as  foreman  for  Jacob  H.  Jones.  On  February 
14,  1864,  he  enlisted  as  a  member  of  the  Seventy-seventh  Pennsylvania  Volun- 
teers and  was  mustered  out  of  the  Luiited  States  service  at  Victoria,  Texas, 
December  6,  1865,  being  finally  and  honorably  discharged  at  Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania,  January  15,  1866.  He  then  returned  to  Wilkinsburg,  where  he 
commenced  operations  as  a  builder  and  contractor,  with  office  at  No.  119 
Collins  avenue.  East  Liberty.  He  continued  in  that  business  up  to  189^,  when 
he  retired  from  active  work.  He  was  tax  collector  from  1877  to  1881  and 
constable  for  Wilkins  township  before  it  was  organized  into  a  borough.  He 
is  a  staunch  supporter  of  the  principles  of  the  Republican  party,  and  in  his 


^//^an^c4x:4  ro      ^-cT^^ 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE 


195 


earlier  years  was  very  active  in  all  party  work.  He  attends  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  church,  to  which  he  has  always  been  a  liberal  supporter.  At  one 
time  Mr.  Lohr  was  an  extensive  contractor  and  builder,  operating  in  East 
End,  Wilkinsburg  and  Pittsburg.  In  the  last  named  place  he  erected  manv 
of  the  fine  residences  and  business  houses.  He  was  then  one  of  the  leaders 
in  building  in  the  city.  He  belongs  to  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  being 
a  member  of  AlcPherson  Post  Xo.  117.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Odd  Fel- 
lows fraternity,  J.  B.  Nicholson  Lodge  No.  585,  East  End.  and  has  attained 
the  highest  degree  in  that  order,  that  of  High  Chief  Patriot;  also  a  member 
of  the  order  of  Elks,  Wilkinsburg  Lodge,  577 ;  of  the  Mystic  Chain,  East  End, 
and  was  a  member  of  Knights  of  Pythias  five  years  and  was  treasurer  of  that 
body. 

He  was  united  in  marriage  February  9,  1871,  to  Caroline  Lacock,  daughter 
of  John  and  Margaret  (McClean)  Lacock.  By  this  union  two  children  were 
born — Lida  and  Eva,  both  of  whom  died  young. 


ROBERT  McKINLEY.  Among  the  brick  manufacturers  of  Pittsburg 
is  Robert  McKinley,  who  was  born  in  Derry  county,  Ireland,  February  2, 
1830,  and  came  to  Brownstown,  Pennsylvania,  July  4,  1833,  with  his  parents. 
The  father  was  John  McKinley,  born  in  Ireland,  and  came  to  America  as 
above  indicated  in  July,  1833.  He  engaged  in  brick  making.  He  married 
Isabella  Anderson,  by  whom  was  born:  Margaret  J.,  Martha,  Samuel,  Robert, 
Alexander  and  Eliza.     The  father  died  in  1834,  and  the  mother  in  i860. 

Robert  McKinley,  of  this  notice,  was  educated  in  the  comraon  schools  and 
then  moved  to  what  was  called  Croghanville  (now  Twelfth  ward)  and  en- 
gaged in  the  manufacture  of  brick.  In  1861  he  moved  to  Bloomfield  and  later 
to  Brushton,  where  he  and  his  sons  are  still  in  the  brick  business.  He  was 
elected  a  member  of  the  city  council.  Mr.  McKinley  married  Margaret, 
daughter  of  Conrad  Claver,  of  Pittsburg,  and  to  them  were  born  the  follow- 
ing children:  i.  Samuel,  was  elected  a  select  councilman  in  1906.  He  has 
been  secretary  of  the  Odd  Fellows  Lodge  No.  883  for  fourteen  years,  and  a 
member  for  twenty-five  years ;  for  twenty-two  years  a  member  of  Bainbridge 
Council  128,  Junior  Order  United  American  Mechanics,  and  member  of 
Crescent  School  Board  of  the  Forty-sixth  ward,  formerly  Sterrett  tcwnship, 
for  twelve  years.  2.  William  C,  an  ex-sheriff  of  the  county.  3.  Robert,  as- 
sistant chief  of  the  Pittsburg  fire  department.  4.  Isabella  A.  5.  Charles, 
all  living,  and  Freemont,  who  died  in -1856;  James,  who  died  in  1868;  and 
Margaret,  who  died  in  1870. 


LUKE  BABE  DAVISON.  The  late  Luke  Babe  Davison,  for  many 
years  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  Wilkinsburg,  was 
JDorn  October  29,  1819,  in  the  old  McMullen  homestead,  in  Wilkins  township, 
son  of  Thomas  Davison,  who  was  a  native  of  the  north  of  Ireland  and  of 
Scotch-Irish  descent. 

Thomas  Davison  received  an  excellent  education  in  the  old  country,  and 
in  1819  emigrated  to  the  LTnited  States,  landing  in  Philadelphia,  whence  he 
proceeded  to  Pittsburg.  He  engaged  in  teaching,  also  conducting  a  small 
general  store,  and  became  a  highly  respected  citizen.     He  invested  his  money 


196  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 

intelligently  and  soon  found  himself  the  possessor  of  what  was  at  that  time 
esteemed  a  considerable  fortune  in  land  and  personal  property.  For  twenty- 
five  years  he  filled  the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace.  In  politics  he  was  a  Whig, 
and  later  became  an  ardent  supporter  of  the  Republican  party.  He  was  an 
elder  in  the  old  Beulah  church  and  an  intimate  friend  and  co-worker  of  its 
pastor,  the  Reverend  James  Graham. 

Thomas  Davison  was  twice  married,  his  first  wife  being  Mary  Babe,  who 
was,  like  himself,  a  native  of  the  north  of  Ireland,  and  the  descendant  of 
Scotch-Irish  ancestors.  They  were  married  before  coming  to  this  country, 
and  became  the  parents  of  five  children,  the  only  one  who  reached  maturity 
being  Luke  Babe,  of  whom  later.  After  the  death  of  his  wife  Mr.  Davison 
married  Rebecca  Turner,  who  bore  him  the  following  children :  Mary  A., 
died  in  infancy  ;  Rebecca  J.,  wife  of  Robert  Reed,  of  Newcastle ;  Mary :  Mar- 
garet R.,  wife  of  John  Cochran ;  John  S.,  married  Elizabeth  Torrance ;  Matilda 
C. ;  Catharine  T.,  and  Thomas  K.,  married  Alice  Clark.  Thomas  Davison, 
the  father  of  the  family,  died  in  1874. 

Luke  Babe  Davison,  son  of  Thomas  and  Mary  (Babe)  Davison,  was 
brought  up  in  Wilkins  township  and  at  East  Liberty,  obtaining  his  education 
in  the  local  schools  and  at  the  Western  LTniversity  of  Pennsylvania.  On  com- 
pleting his  studies  he  engaged  in  mercantile  business  in  Pittsburg,  in  partner- 
ship with  his  father,  and  when  the. latter  retired  carried  on  the  business  by 
himself  until  1858.  In  that  year  he  moved  to  Wilkinsburg  and  there  opened  a 
general  store. 

During  President  Lincoln's  first  administration  he  was  appointed  post- 
master and  filled  that  office  until  1862,  when  he  was  elected  justice  of  the 
peace,  being  re-elected  in  1867  and  1872.  In  1888,  owing  to  impaired  health, 
he  retired  from  all  active  labor.  In  politics  he  was  a  strong  Republican  and 
an  active  worker  for  the  interests  of  that  party.  While  residing  in  East  Lib- 
erty he  was  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  and  on  moving  to  Wilkins- 
burg joined  the  old  Beulah  church,  later  becoming  a  charter  member  of  the 
First  Presbyterian  church  of  Wilkinsburg,  of  which  he  was  always  a  liberal 
supporter  and  in  which  for  many  years  he  served  as  trustee. 

Mr.  Davison  married,  in  1850,  Nancy  J.,  daughter  of  Samuel  and  Eliza- 
beth (Allison)  McCosh,  and  the  following  children  were  born  to  them: 
Thomas,  deceased;  John  Milton,  (married,  first,  Caroline  A.  Myler,  second, 
Emma  B.  Young,  by  first  marriage,  one  daughter,  Kathryn  Myler)  ;  Elizabeth 
M. ;  Clara  Cary,  and  Samuel  ]\IcCosh,  deceased. 

Mr.  Davison  died  May  19,  1893,  at  his  home  in  Wilkinsburg.  It  might 
truly  be  said  of  him  that  his  conduct  was  always  marked  by  perfect  upright- 
ness in  all  the  relations  of  life  and  that  his  character  was  one  of  unblemished 
integrity.  In  all  matters  concerning  the  welfare  of  the  community  he  was 
a  prime  and  energetic  mover.  For  instance — in  the  spring  of  1874  when  Wil- 
kinsburg was  voted  out  of  the  city,  Mr.  Davison,  in  order  to  keep  the  school 
open  until  the  end  of  June — himself  paid  the  whole  teaching  force.  While  a 
business  man  he  influenced  largely  and  beneficially,  by  his  discernment  and 
enterprise,  the  commercial  interests  of  the  places  in  which  he  resided.  Upon 
many  occasions  he  manifested  a  praiseworthy  willingness  to  assist  by  friendly 
counsel  and  pecuniary  aid  those  less  fortunate  than  himself.  As  a  public  offi- 
cer he  was  without  reproach,  seeking  only  the  public  good,  regardless  of  profit 
or  popularity.    The  loss  of  such  a  man  to  his  family,  his  friends  and  the  com- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  197 


munity  at  large,  it  is  impossible  to  estimate,  but  his  memory  is  an  inspiration 
to  those  who  come  after  him. 


MATTHEW  HENRY  HENNING,  of  Wilkinsburg,  division  superin- 
tendent of  the  People's  Natural  Gas  Company,  was  born  February  18,  1853,  on 
the  homestead  in  Wilkins  township,  son  of  Samuel  Henning  and  grandson  of 
John  Henning,  a  native  of  Ireland  who  came  to  this  country  about  the  begin- 
ning of  the  nineteenth  century.  He  settled  in  Wilkins  township  and  pur- 
chased a  tract  of  land  one  hundred  and  fifty  acres,  which  he  brought  into  a 
state  of  cultivation.    This  farm  is  still  in  the  family  name. 

John  Henning  was  twice  married,  his  first  wife  being  Matilda  Gill  and  his 
second  Jane  Deary.  By  the  first  wife  he  had  two  sons :  Matthew  and  Samuel. 
Matthew  was  thrice  married,  and  by  his  first  wife  had  one  son,  John.  By  his 
second  wife  he  had  no  children,  and  by  his  third,  Martha  Ross,  he  had  the 
following :  Eliza  Ann,  wife  of  Thomas  Addenbrook ;  Clara  J.,  Mary,  Martha 
E.,  Ida,  Sadie,  Alatthew,  deceased,  and  Wilbert,  married  Belle  Creighton. 

Samuel  Henning,  son  of  John  and  Matilda  (Gill)  Henning,  was  born  in 
1810,  and  was  reared  on  the  farm,  receiving  his  education  in  the  schools  of  his 
day.  For  some  time  he  assisted  his  father  in  the  management  of  the  farm,  and 
on  the  latter's  death  inherited  the  estate.  He  continued  to  cultivate  the  soil 
until  1887,  when  he  retired  from  all  active  labor  and  moved  to  Wilkinsburg, 
where  he  owned  property.  In  politics  he  was  a  Republican  and  at  one  time 
held  the  office  of  tax  collector  of  the  township.  For  more  than  forty  years  he 
was  a  member  and  elder  of  the  Reformed  Presbyterian  church,  and  was  a 
charter   member   of   the   Wilkinsburg   Reformed   Presbyterian   church. 

Samuel  Henning  married  Elizabeth  Ann,  daughter  of  John  and  Jane 
Dodds,  and  the  following  were  their  children :  Matilda  Jane,  who  died  Octo- 
ber 9,  1906 ;  Annie  E.,  married  Dr.  E.  O.  Anderson,  children,  Wilbur,  William 
O.,  Frank  E.,  Raymond  H.  and  Helen  A. ;  John  Dodds,  married  Mary  Ster- 
ritt,  children,  Samuel,  Carl  and  Helen ;  Matthew  Henry,  of  whom  later ;  Mary 
Margaret,  Josiah  Francis,  married  Stella  Lysinger,  one  daughter,  Dorothy; 
Melissa  Belle,  wife  of  S.  R.  Wills ;  Olevia  Alartha,  wife  of  Hugh  H.  Hervey, 
one  daughter,  Elizabeth ;  Emily  S.,  wife  of  \N.  A.  Minteer,  children,  Elizabeth, 
Eleanor,  Wendell  H.  and  Stanley  A.,  the  two  last  named  deceased.  Samuel 
Henning,  the  father,  died  October  6,  1892,  and  the  mother  died  March  28, 
1896. 

Matthew  Henry  Henning,  son  of  Samuel  and  Elizabeth  Ann  (Dodds) 
Henning,  was  brought  up  on  the  farm,  receiving  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  the  township  and  at  the  Newell  Institute  of  Pittsburg,  where  he 
studied  civil  engineering.  After  completing  his  studies  he  was  employed  by 
John  McHenry,"  city  engineer  of  Allegheny  City,  and  later  returned  to  work- 
on  the  home  farm,  afterward  purchasing  an  adjoining  farm,  which  he  culti- 
vated until  1885.  In  that  year,  when  the  People's  Natural  Gas  Company  was 
organized,  he  entered  their  service  and  has  remained  with  them  up  to  the  pres- 
ent time,  occupying  various  positions  until  he  reached  that  of  division  superin- 
tendent, with  headquarters  at  Wilkinsburg,  which  he  still  retains.  He  is  a 
director  in  the  Wilkinsburg  Real  Estate  Trust  Company. 

In  politics  he  is  a  Republican,  taking  an  active  part  in  local  affairs,  having 
served  for  several  years  as  a  member  of  the  county  executive  committee,  and 


198  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 

for  the  last  fifteen  years  as  a  member  of  the  school  board,  during  which  time 
he  has  served  for  six  years  as  secretary  of  the  board.  He  is  a  charter  member 
of  the  Second  United  Presbyterian  church  and  a  member  of  the  Session.  He 
is  an  active  worker  in  the  interests  of  the  church  and  for  the  last  seventeen 
years  has  served  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday-school. 

Mr.  Henning  married,  in  1876,  Minnie  E.,  daughter  of  Henry  H.  and 
Caroline  (Clemson)  Harman,  and  the  following  children  have  been  born  to 
them :    Harry  H.  H.,  Ralph  Romaine,  Mary  Belle  and  Reubent  Vincent. 


PETER  C.  WAGNER,  of  Sharpsburg,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  February 
2,  1829,  in  Prussia,  Germany.  In  1849,  while  still  a  young  man,  he  came  to 
the  United  States,  settling  in  Allegheny,  where  he  began  working  at  the  trade 
he  had  mastered  in  his  native  country — shoemaking.  He  opened  a  shop  and 
store  for  the  sale  of  the  product  of  his  hand-made  work  and  two  years  later, 
on  account  of  room,  was  obliged  to  move,  and  then  located  in  the  brick  build- 
ing at  the  corner  of  Main  and  Thirteenth  streets,  where  he  did  a  prosperous 
business,  employed  a  large  number  of  workmen,  and  continued  there  until 
187 1,  when  the  machine-made  goods  of  New  England  and  the  east  drove  hand- 
made work  almost  from  the  markets  of  the  country.  He  therefore  opened  a 
regular  shoe  store.  In  1883  he  was  obliged  to  seek  larger  quarters,  moving 
this  time  to  a  point  on  ]\Iain,  below  Ninth  street,  where  he  remained  until 
1890,  when  he  retired.    He  died  January  i,  1892. 

He  was  a  director  of  the  Farmers'  and  Mechanics'  Bank  from  its  incep- 
tion, and  was  the  treasurer  and  a  director  in  the  Sharpsburg  and  Etna  Fire 
Insurance  Company  from  1873  to  1881.  He  helped  with  his  own  hands  and 
spade  to  dig  the  trenches  for  fortifications  at  Morning  Side  Road  when  Gen- 
eral Robert  E.  Lee,  Confederate  leader,  was  expected  to  enter  the  city  of 
Pittsburg  during  the  Civil  war  period.  Politically  Mr.  Wagner  was  a  Dem- 
ocrat and  espoused  the  Catholic  faith. 

He  was  united  in  marriage,  in  1852,  at  St.  Mary's  church,  Allegheny,  to 
Elizabeth  Bourged,  of  Allegheny,  a  native  of  Germany,  born  January  10,  1831, 
and  came  to  this  country  at  the  age  of  two  years.  She  died  April  i,  1886.  The 
children  by  this  marriage  union  were  as  follows:  i.  Mary  S.,  born  in  1853, 
unmarried  and  at  home.  2.  John  H.,  born  March  i,  1856,  married  Mary 
Schramm.  3.  EHzabeth,  born  March  14,  1858;  she  entered  the  Sacred  Heart 
Convent,  Buffalo,  New  York,  and  is  known  to  the  world  as  Sister  M.  Brigitta. 
4.  Peter  C,  the  subject  of  this  memoir.  5.  Amelia,  born  October  5,  1862,  is 
unmarried  and  at  home.  6.  Sylvester  N.,  born  February  25,  1865,  married 
Catherine  Glauber.  7.  Leo  J.,  born  June  9,  1867,  married  Henrietta  Jehle.  8. 
Martha  R.,  born  in  1872,  unmarried  and  at  home. 

Concerning  the  present  whereabouts  of  members  of  this  family  it  can  be 
stated  that  Peter  C,  second  son  of  Peter  Wagner,  the  founder  of  the  family  in 
this  country,  was  born  at  Sharpsburg,  Pennsylvania,  August  17,  i860,  and 
married  Alice  (Derby)  O'Leary,  November  8,  1888.  Six  children  were  the 
fruit  of  this  union:  i.  Alice  M.,  born  January  18,  1891.  2'.  Mercedes  J.,  born 
December  18,  1892.  3.  Mary  E.,  born  May  6,  1895.  4.  Peter  C,  born  Sep- 
tember 21,  1900.  5.  Josephine  A.,  born  March  18,  1902.  6.  Margaret  A., 
born  May  7,  1905.  The  father  was  educated  at  the  parochial  and  public 
schools  of  Sharpsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  graduated  from  Duff's  Business  Col- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  199 


lege  in  1878.  He  remained  at  home  with  his  father  until  1879,  and  then  en- 
gaged with  Mr.  G.  W.  Tilghman  in  the  clothing  business.  In  1881  he  engaged 
with  Spang,  Chalfant  &  Company  as  assistant  bookkeeper  and  shipping  clerk. 
Later  he  returned  to  Mr.  Tilghman's  store,  in  which  he  had  worked  and  re- 
mained two  years,  when  he  was  appointed  assistant  postmaster  under  Mr. 
Casey  at  Sharpsburg.  In  1887  he  came  to  Homestead  and  opened  a  clothing 
store  with  Mr.  Tilghman,  the  firm  being  Tilghman  &  Wagner.  In  1888  he 
purchased  the  business  and  conducted  it  alone  until  1895,  when  he  took  his 
brother,  L.  J.  Wagner,  as  his  partner,  but  in  1899  bought  him  out  and  has 
operated  alone  since  that  date.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus, 
Duquesne  Council,  Pittsburg,  No.  264,  the  C.  M.  B.  A.,  Branch  No.  70,  of 
Homestead,  and  he  has  held  the  office  of  secretary  of  this  branch  for  sixteen 
years.  He  also  holds  a  membership  in  the  Knights  of  St.  George,  No.  18,  of 
Homestead,  and  belongs  to  the  Brotherhood  of  Elks,  No.  650,  Homestead.  He 
was  one  of  the  incorporators  of  the  Homestead  Savings  Bank  and  Trust  Com- 
pany, as  well  as  one  of  the  directors  and  the  treasurer  of  the  Ammity  Land 
Company,  and  president  of  the  Business  Men's  Association,  both  of  Home- 
stead. He  belongs  to  St.  Mary  Magdalene's  Catholic  church  and  in  politics  is 
an  independent  voter. 


ALFRED  TOMKINS,  a  resident  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  engaged  in 
the  business  of  building  heating  furnaces  and  also  concrete  work,  is  known 
throughout  the  country  for  the  reliability  of  his  work,  and  is  the  first  member 
of  the  Tomkins  family  to  have  taken  up  his  residence  in  this  country,  his 
ancestry  having  been  English. 

John  Tomkins,  father  of  Alfred  Tomkins,  was  a  native  of  England,  in 
which  country  and  in  Wales  his  entire  life  was  spent.  For  the  greater  part  of 
his  life  he  was  engaged  in  contracting  for  the  sinking  of  shafts  for  mines,  etc., 
in  England  and  Wales,  and  it  was  under  his  supervision  that  some  of  the  most 
important  mine  shafts  were  sunk.  Among  them  were  the  "Risker  Mines,"  this 
name  being  given  to  them  because  of  the  great  danger  attached  to  the  sinking 
of  the  shafts  and  the  working  of  the  mines.  Explosions  in  them  were  numer- 
ous by  reason  of  the  accumulations  of  gas,  and  the  loss  of  life  attending  them 
was  great.     Mr.  Tomkins  married  Catherine  Jones,  also  a  native  of  England. 

Alfred  Tomkins,  son  of  John  and  Catherine  (Jones)  Tomkins,  was  born 
in  Stockton,  county  Durham,  England,  February  27,  1868.  He  was  a  student 
at  the  public  schools  of  that  town  until  he  had  attained  the  age  of  twelve  years 
and  was  then  apprenticed  to  learn  the  trade  of  brick  masonry.  He  followed 
this  for  a  period  of  thirteen  years,  in  the  meantime  attending  night  school  in 
order  to  acquire  a  good  education,  for  which  he  was  very  eager  and  which  was 
an  excellent  equipment  for  his  future  business  career.  He  emigrated  to  the 
United  States  in  1891,  settling  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  took  up 
his  trade  of  brick  masonry  and  followed  this  for  about  two  years.  Owing  to 
a  strike  which  was  then  in  progress  he  abandoned  this  and  accepted  a  position 
as  engineer,  and  later  became  "foreman  of  the  Linden  Steel  Company,  a  posi- 
tion he  filled  very  efficiently  and  which  gave  him  considerable  insight  into  the 
deficiencies  of  the  heating  furnaces  in  use  at  the  time.  At  the  end  of  two 
years  he  established  himself  in  business  in  a  small  way,  and  invented  an  im- 
proved heating  furnace,  a  specimen  of  which  he  built  in  No.  3  mill  of  the 


20O  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


Oliver  Tin  Mills.  So  satisfactory  was  this  to  the  firm  that  they  had  all  their 
mills  equipped  with  the  Tomkins  Improved  Heating  Furnaces,  and  it  was  but  a 
short  time  before  other  mills  became  aware  of  the  decided  advantages  offered 
by  this  >style  of  furnace  and  it  was  generally  adopted,  not  only  in  the  state  of 
Pennsylvania,  but  in  West  \'irginia  and  Canada,  and  its  fame  is  constantly 
growing.  The  best  testimonial  to  its  excellence  is  the  fact  that  Mr.  Tomkins 
employs  no  solicitors  to  exploit  his  invention,  but  the  orders  come  pouring  in 
as  the  furnace  becomes  more  generally  known.  In  addition  to  building  these 
furnaces  Mr.  Tomkins  is  engaged  to  a  considerable  extent  in  concrete  work, 
and  has  erected  more  than  one  hundred  dwelling  houses.  He  is  also  the 
inventor  of  a  machine  for  hoisting  materials,  which  is  intended  for  buildings 
to  convey  material  to  the  different  floors,  such  as  brick,  mortar,  cement, 
beams,  lumber,  etc.,  and  the  engine  can  also  be  used  to  drive  concrete  mixers, 
circular  saws,  or  other  machinery  before  or  after  the  elevator  or  conveyor  are 
put  in  use;  the  engine  having  a  large  sized  belt  or  pulley  wheel  for  this 
work.  He  is  also  the  inventor  of  a  hot  water  car  heating  system  for  auto- 
mobiles, using  the  cooling  waters  from  the  water  jacket  of  engines  to  heat 
car.  His  business  is  a  prosperous  and  growing  one,  and  he  has  the  respect  of 
the  entire  business  communit} .  He  is  a  member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks.  He  married,  April  19,  1886,  Ellen  Lings,  daughter  of 
Thomas  Lings,  of  county  Durham,  England,  and  they  have  had  a  number  of 
children,  of  whom  six  died  in  infancy.  May  died  December  23,  1906,  at  the 
age  of  twelve  years ;  and  those  now  living  are :  Beatrice,  Violet,  Elsie,  Nellie 
and  Alfred. 


WILLIAM  CAL\'ERLEY.  foreman  of  the  brass  department  of  the 
Ruud  Manufacturing  Company,  is  a  native  of  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania, 
born  January  24,  1863,  a  son  of  Walter  and  Eleanor  (Christie)  Calverley. 
The  father  was  born  in  Leeds,  England,  the  great  manufacturing  city  of  that 
country,  and  was  a  merchant.  He  married  Eleanor  Christie,  by  whom  were 
born  these  children:  Mary  (Calverley)  Harris;  Emma  (Calverley)  Yant, 
wife  of  N.  D.  Yant,  Senior,  member  of  the  N.  D.  Yant  &  Company,  structural 
iron  manufacturers,  of  Allegheny,  Pennsylvania ;  Charles  G.  Taylor,  who  is 
a  son  by  second  marriage,  and  is  at  present  assistant  purchasing  agent  for  the 
Westinghouse  Manufacturing  Works.  The  father  died  in  1863  and  the  mother 
in  1898.  Walter  Calverley  enlisted  in  a  Pennsylvania  volunteer  company 
during  the  Civil  war  and  suft'ered  the  amputation  of  a  leg,  dying  a  few  days 
after  returning  home  from  that  cause.  His  widow  afterward  married  Jackson 
Taylor,  and  their  children  were:  Charles  G.,  born  in  1871,  and  Harry,  born 
in  1869,  and  died  in  1872. 

William  Calverley,  subject,  was  educated  at  the  Allegheny  public  schools 
and  learned  the  machinist  trade  in  Pittsburg  at  the  locomotive  works.  For 
a  term  of  nine  years  he  was  employed  by  the  Westinghouse  Air  Brake  Com- 
pany's works  and  for  ten  years  was  with  the  Shook-Anderson  Manufacturing 
Company.  He  is  one  of  the  promoters  of  the  Steamboat  Manufactory.  In 
1903  he  had  charge  of  the  Ruud  Manufacturing  Company  and  is  now  foreman 
of  the  brass  department  there. 

He  has  been  identified  with  McKinley  Lodge,  No.  318,  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  for  nineteen  years.     He  has  been  elected  a  member  of  the  Brushton 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


School  Board,  and  in  1905  was  elected  president  of  the  Board.  Since  1903 
he  has  been  a  member  of  the  city  committee,  a  member  of  the  ward  executive 
committee  for  five  years,  and  is  now  chairman  of  the  district  association. 

In  1889  Mr.  Calverley  married  Ida  Waechter,  daughter  of  George 
Waechter.  By  this  union  two  children  were  born — Walter  Raymond,  born 
July  31,  1890,  and  Emma  Margaret,  born  August  18,  1905.  Walter  is  at 
present  attending  the  Pittsburg  High  School  as  a  member  of  the  third  year. 


HARRY  P.  HARBAUGH,  one  of  the  four  hundred  traveling  salesmen 
employed  by  the  great  pickling  and  preserve  works  of  the  H.  J.  Heinz  Com- 
pany, of  the  North  Side,  was  born  in  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania, 
November  5,  1869.  After  being  thoroughly  educated  in  the  schools  of  Pitts- 
burg he  was  with  the  Vienna  Yeast  Company  for  about  three  years  and  in 
1890  went  to  work  with  the  Heinz  Pure  Food  Preserving  Company,  which 
is  his  present  occupation.  He  is  largely  mterested  in  the  building  improve- 
ments of  Brushton  and  has  just  completed  five  nice  residences. 

He  is  a  member  of  the  .Masonic  order,  Dallas  Lodge,  No.  508.  He  was 
united  in  marriage  to  Elizabeth,  daughter  of  W.  L.  Stewart,  of  Homestead, 
Pennsylvania,  who  was  born  in  McKeesport,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  a  car- 
penter and  contractor.  He  married  Amanda  Rankin,  by  whom  were  born 
Elizabeth  (Mrs.  Harbaugh),  Mame,  Jennie  (Stewart)  Hunter  and  Bart  R. 
The  father  died  in  1902  and  the  mother  in  1907. 

(For  an  account  of  Mr.  Harbaugh's  parentage  the  reader  is  referred  to 
the  sketch  of  their  son,  John  A.  Harbaugh,  in  this  work.) 


JOHN  TOMER  CYPHERS,  who  was  the  well  known  and  faithful 
employe  of  the  Pittsburgh  Stock  Yards  for  more  than  a  third  of  a  century, 
was  born  in  Plumb  township,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  January  3, 
185 1,  son  of  John  and  Emily  (Tomer)  Cyphers.  The  father  was  born  Feb- 
ruary 9,  1821,  in  Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  for  thirty-three 
years  was  the  superintendent  of  the  horse  barns  at  the  Pittsburgh  Stock  Yards. 
He  died  in  February,  1898.  He  married,  first.  Miss  Emily  Tomer,  by  whom 
were  born :  lohn  T..  subject :  Sarah,  deceased ;  Nancy,  who  married  a  Mr. 
Denholm ;  Adam  H. ;  Philip  E. ;  Maggie.  The  mother  of  these  children  died 
in  1867  and  later  he  married  Lizzie  Borland,  by  whom  he  had  the  following 
children:  George  W.  D.,  William  B.,  Annie,  deceased,  and  Charles.  Lizzie 
(Borland)   Cyphers  died  in  1888. 

John  T.  Cyphers,  son  of  John  and  Emily  (Tomer)  Cyphers,  received  a 
common  school  education,  after  which  he  went  into  the  Pittsburgh  Stock 
Yards  as  an  employe  under  his  father,  who  was  there  for  so  long  a  time. 
But  the  subject  proved  a  valuable  man  for  the  place  and  remained  a  year 
longer  than  his  father  had  served.  After  leaving  the  stock  yards  Mr.  Cyphers 
was  collector  for  E.  F.  Rusch  and  came  to  East  Liberty  to  reside  in  1862.  He 
removed  to  Homewood  November  i,  1902,  and  engaged  in  the  hotel  business. 

He  is  a  member  of  the  Pittsburg  Brotherhood  of  Elks,  Lodge  No.  11; 
J.  B.  Nicholson  Lodge,  No.  585,  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows ; 
and  the  Royal  Arcanum  Lodge.  No.  276;  also  Pittsburg  Encampment  No.  2. 
Politically  Mr.  Cyphers  is  a  Republican. 


202  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


September  lo,  1872,  he  was  married  to  Emma  N.,  daughter  of  WilHam 
Woolslair  and  wife,  of  Pittsburg.  Their  children  are :  Cora  May,  born  July 
19,  1874;  Mildred,  born  October  11,  1875;  William  J.,  born  February  16, 
1878;  Laura,  born  October  3,  1879,  and  died  in  1880;  Harry  S..  born 
December  20.  1882;  and  Dorothy  L.,  born  February  9,  1898. 


GEORGE  WILLIAM  KETTENBURG,  deceased,  for  many  years  en- 
gaged in  the  plumbing  business  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  who  served 
his  country  faithfully  and  well  during  the  Civil  war,  represented  the  second 
generation'  of  his  family  in  this  country,  they  tracing  their  ancestry  to  the 
old  family  of  Kettenburgs  in  Hessen  Cassel. 

William  D.  Kettenburg,  father  of  George  William  Kettenburg,  was  born 
in  Hessen  Cassel,  Germany,  during  the  year  1800,  and  emigrated  to  the  United 
States  in  1832.  He  settled  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  purchased  a 
piece  of  property  in  Penn  avenue  near  Eleventh  street.  He  is  said  to  have, 
been  the  first  locksmith  of  any  experience  in  the  city,  and  made  the  locks  and 
keys  for  the  old  courthouse  and  jail.  His  business  was  an  extensive  one  for 
those  times,  and  he  was  noted  for  his  strict  honesty  and  for  his  liberality  in 
church  and  secular  matters.  He  was  of  a  kind  and  genial  disposition  and 
greatlv  respected  in  the  community.  In  politics  he  was  a  Whig,  but  affiliated 
and  was  a  staunch  supporter  of  the  Republican  party  when  that  body  came 
into  existence.  His  religious  faith  was  that  of  the  Methodist  church,  and 
he  was  a  charter  member  of  the  First  German  Methodist  church  in  Pittsburg, 
and  a  trustee  for  twenty  years  prior  to  his  death,  which  occurred  February  16, 
1870.  He  married  Mary  Hasenjaeger,  of  Pittsburg,  born  February  7,  18 15, 
died  December  11,  1865,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  children:  (i)  George 
William,  see  forward;  (2)  Henry,  born  about  1842,  died  July,  1874.  He  was  a 
soldier  during  the  Civil  war  and  was  a  prisoner  at  Andersonville ;  (3)  Charles 
D..  born  1844.  died  March  14,  1889.  He  also  served  during  the  Civil  war.  Mar- 
ried Charlotte  Myers  and  had  children,  Walter  and  William ;  (4)  William, 
died  in  childhood;  (5)  Mary  Jane,  married  Charles  Fisher,  who  was' killed 
during  the  railroad  riots  of  1877;  (6)  William,  resides  in  the  west;  (7)  Ma- 
tilda, married  Henry  Scheidler,  deceased;  (8)  Emma,  died  in  childhood;  (9) 
Edward,  unmarried;  (10)  Emma,  married  Philip  Steuhler,  has  children — 
Myrtle,  Minnie  and  Mary. 

George  William  Kettenburg,  eldest  child  of  William  D.  and  Mary  (Ha- 
senjaeger) Kettenburg,  was  born  in  the  Ninth  ward  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
August  21,  1840.  Fle  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  supplemented 
his  education  by  assiduous  home  study,  as  he  was  from  his  earliest  years  an 
eager  reader  of  all  good  literature.  He  was  apprenticed  to  learn  the  locksmith's 
trade,  and  at  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  enlisted,  on  his  twenty-first  birthday, 
from  Beaver  county.  Pennsylvania,  in  Company  C,  Sixty-third  Regiment, 
Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  Colonel  Hayes  commanding,  First  Division,  Third 
Corps,  Army  of  the  Potomac.  He  served  the  full  term  of  three  years,  was 
promoted  to  lieutenant,  and  received  his  honorable  discharge  in  1864  with  the 
rank  of  captain.  He  took  part  in  all  the  battles  and  engagements  in  which  his 
regiment  participated.  L^pon  the  completion  of  his  military  service  he  trav- 
eled extensively  through  the  eastern  states  and  then  returned  to  Pittsburg, 
where  he  engaged  in  the  plumbing  business  in   1870,  in  Penn  avenue,  near 


^^^^^-^^t^^^^t^^<,  ^^Az>t>-?--^ 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  203 

Eleventh  street,  and  carried  this  on  successfully  until  his  death,  which  occurred 
March  24,  1892'.  In  January,  prior  to  his  death,  he  had  removed  to  Edge  wood 
with  his  family,  where  he  had  built  the  comfortable  and  commodious  home  at 
336  Locust  street  now  occupied  by  his  widow  and  children.  Like  his  father, 
he  was  a  stalwart  Republican  and  an  active  worker  in  the  interests  of  that 
party.  He  amassed  a  considerable  fortune,  which  he  invested  very  profitably 
in  real  estate  holdings.  He  was  a  firm  believer  in  the  doctrines  of  the  Meth- 
odist church,  though  he  was  not  an  active  worker  in  religious  affairs.  He 
was  a  man  of  many  sterling  qualities  and  his  death  was  deeply  and  sincerely 
regretted. 

He  married,  January  10,  1866.  Mary  Louisa  Beinecke,  daughter  of  William 
and  Elizabeth  (Wiethorn)  Beinecke,  and  they  had  children:  (i)  Ida  Elizabeth, 
unmarried  ;  (2  )  George  W.,  electrical  engineer.  He  married  Amelia  Eyth,  and 
has  had  children:  John  E.,  deceased;  George  W.,  deceased;  John  R. ;  George 
W. ;  Julia,  and  Ella.  (3)  William,  died  in  infancy;  (4)  Ella  L.,  died  in  1906, 
married  Harry  E.  Giberson. 


WILLIAM  F.  PANKE,  one  of  Pittsburg's  enterprising  and  stirring  con- 
tractors and  builders,  was  born  in  the  city  of  Louisville,  Kentucky,  June  9, 
1864,  son  of  Charles  L.  Panke  and  wife,  natives  of  Germany  and  America, 
respectively.  The  father  was  born  in  1829  and  by  trade  was  a  tanner.  He 
emigrated  to  this  country  in  1856  and  married  Charlotte  Schulte.  Their 
children  were,  aside  from  the  subject,  Fred,  Henry,.  Minnie  (Mrs.  Lutz), 
Mary  (Mrs.  Scharria),  John,  Charles.  George,  x^nnie  (Mrs.  Hess)  and  Lottie. 

The  subject  of  this  notice  obtained  his  education'  in  the  public  schools, 
after  which  he  obtained  employment  in  a  woolen  mill,  where  he  remained  for 
about  six  years.  Fie  then  mastered  the  carpenter's  trade,  and  in  time  became 
a  contractor,  which  line  of  work  he  pursued  for  eighteen  years  in  his  native 
state.  He  moved  to  Pittsburg  on  Alarch  25,  1900,  since  which  date  he  has 
followed  the  same  business  here  and  has  met  with  merited  success. 

Politically  Mr.  Panke  is  a  supporter  of  the  Republican  party,  while  in 
his  religious  faith  is  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  persuasion. 

July  16,  1891,  he  was  united  in  marriage  to  Emma,  daughter  of  John  and 
Margaret  Miller,  of  Louisville,  Kentucky.  By  this  union  were  born  Emma 
May  Panke,  June  27,  1892,  and  Edith  Margaret  Panke,  born  April  11,  1896. 


REV.  GEORGE  WILSON  CHALFANT,  D.  D.,  who  has  retired  from 
the  pastorate,  is  descended  from  a  Quaker  family  which  emigrated  from 
Chalfant,  St.  Giles,  England,  with  William  Penn  and  settled  in  Philadelphia. 
He  was  born  in  Fayette  county,  Pennsylvania,  March  29,  1836.  He  graduated 
from  Jefiferson  College,  Canonsburg,  Pennsylvania,  in  the  year  1856.  He 
took  up  the  study  of  law  for  a  short  time,  but  resigned  this  in  favor  of  theology, 
completing  his  course  at  the  Western  Theological  Seminary.  He  was  licensed 
to  preach  by  the  Presbytery  of  Saltsburg  in  i860,  and  his  first  pastorate  was 
at  Mechanicsburg,  Cumberland  county,  Pennsylvania,  of  which  he  took  charge 
in  April,  1861.  One  and  a  half  years  later  he  was  appointed  chaplain  of  the 
One  Hundred  and  Thirtieth  Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Regiment,  in  which  he 
served  until  after  the  battle  of  Fredericksburg.     In   1863  he  accepted  a  call 


204  A    CEXTURV   AXD    A    HALU    OF 

to  Bridgeport  and  Martins  Ferry,  Ohio,  where  he  remained  until  called  to 
Pittsburg  in  the  spring  of  1881,  in  order  to  organize  the  Park  Avenue  Presby- 
terian church,  and  continued  in  charge  as  pastor  for  twenty  years,  retiring  in 
1901.  In  1898  he  and  his  wife  visited  Japan  and  China,  spending  several 
months  with  their  children  in  the  latter  country.  The  following  year  he  was 
elected  moderator  of  the  Synod,  Pennsylvania.  The  honorary  degree  of  Doctor 
of  Divinity  was  conferred  upon  him  by  Lafayette  College.  In  addition  to 
the  Park  Avenue  church  he  has  been  largely  interested  in  organizing  ten 
churches  in  the  Pittsburg  Presbytery  and  one  in  the  city  of  Mexico,  besides 
special  work  for  two  winters  in  St.  Louis.  He  has  also  secured  the  education 
of  some  twenty  young  men,  most  of  whom  have  entered  the  ministry. 

He  married  Sarah  E.  Moore,  daughter  of  William  Moore,  of  Saltsburg, 
Pennsylvania,  and  their  children  are  as  follows : 

1.  Rev.  William  Parker  Chalfant,  graduated  at  Lafayette  College,  1881, 
and  Western  Theological  Seminary.  For  over  twenty  years  he  has  been  a 
missionary  of  the  Presbyterian  church  in  Shantung  province.  North  China. 

2.  Rev.  Frank  Herring  Chalfant,  D.  D.,  graduated  at  Lafayette  College, 
1881,  engaged  in  legal  ^^•ork  for  a  few  years  and  is  now  a  missionary  of  the 
Presbyterian  church  in  Wei  Hsien,  North  China.  He  is  the  author  of  a 
volume  on  the  History  of  the  Chinese  Language,  published  by  the  Carnegie 
Institute. 

3.  George  Newton  Chalfant,  Lafayette  College,  1884,  engaged  as  a 
civil  and  mining  engineer  for  three  years.  He  was  admitted  to  the  Allegheny 
county  bar  in  1889  and  is  now  practicing  law  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania. 

4.  Rev.  Charles  Latta  Chalfant,  graduate  of  Lafayette  College,  is  a 
Presbyterian  minister,  pastor  of  the  Madison  Avenue  Presbyterian  church,  of 
Cleveland,  Ohio,  of  the  Presbyterian  church  of  Ashtabula,  Ohio,  and  now 
pastor  of  Grace  Presbyterian  .church,  St.  Louis,  Missouri. 

5.  Mary  B.,  wife  of  Rev.  U.  S.  Greves,  pastor  of  the  Forty-third  Street 
Presbyterian  church,  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania. 

6.  Edward  Chambers  Chalfant,  graduate  of  Lafayette  College  and  Pitts- 
burg Law  School,  was  admitted  to  the  Allegheny  county  bar  in  1898.  He  is 
now  practicing  law  in  Pittsburg  and  is  prominently  identified  with  many  public 
interests  there.     He  married  Frances  O'Hara  Barr. 


WILLIAM  H.  DUMBAUGH.  a  well  known  citizen  of  Pittsburg,  Penn- 
sylvania, who  resides  at  628  Homewood  avenue,  in  that  city,  is  one  of  the 
most  enterprising  and  progressive  business  men  in  that  section,  and  is  ever 
ready  to  take  up  his  due  share  of  public  responsibility.  His  father  was  born 
in  Butler  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1844.  He  was  engaged  in  farming  and 
was  closely  identified  with  agricultural  interests  throughout  his  life.  He 
married  Louise  Stultz,  who  died  in  1903,-  and  they  had  children:  Jacob  E., 
William  H.,  of  whom  see  forward,  Christina,  deceased,  Manuel  J.,  Harry  N., 
Sidney  J.,  deceased,  Joseph,  deceased,  Clara  A.,  Eva,  Clarence  and  Arthur. 

William  H.  Dumbaugh,  second  son  and  child,  was  born  near  Harmony, 
Butler  county,  Pennsylvania,  December  3,  1869.  His  education  was  acquired 
in  the  public  schools  of  the  district  and  in  the  academy  at  Petersville.  His 
first  venture  in  business  life  was  as  clerk  in  a  general  store  in  Harmony,  and 
he  then  came  to  Pittsburg  in  1889.     Here  he  served  in  the  capacity  of  clerk 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  205 

for  six  years,  and  in  1895  came  to  Home  wood  and  established  himself  in  his 
present  business,  in  which  he  has  been  decidedly  successful.  He  is  very 
popular  socially  as  well  as  in  business  circles,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Home 
Circle,  and  of  Homewood  Conclave  No.  601.  He  is  also  consistent  member 
of  the  Homewood  Avenue  Presbyterian  church.  He  married  Sue  E.  Mc- 
Conaghey,  daughter  of  William  McConaghey,  of  Pittsburg,  and  they  have 
children:  Grace  C,  born  November  9,  1898;  Elizabeth  L.,  born  March  11, 
1900. 

CHARLES  ALEXANDER  WARFIELD,  of  Pittsburg,  was  born  April 
27,  1854,  in  Howard  county,  Maryland,  his  father  and  grandfather  having 
both  borne  the  name  of  Charles  Dorsey  Warfield.  His  great-grandfather, 
in  honor  of  whom  he  was  named,  was  Dr.  Charles  Alexander  Warfield,  who 
is  linked  in  the  history  of  Maryland  with  one  of  the  most  thrilling  and  ro- 
mantic episodes  in  the  annals  of  opposition  to  the  tea-tax.  The  Warfield 
family  was  founded  in  this  country  by  Richard  Warfield,  who  came  in  1660 
from  Berkshire,  England,  and  settled  in  the  province  of  Maryland.  His  grand- 
son, Azel  Warfield,  married  Sarah  Griffith. 

Charles  Alexander  Warfield,  eldest  son  of  Azel  and  Sarah  (Griffith) 
Warfield,  was  born  December  14,  1751,  in  Anne  Arundel  county,  Maryland, 
and  it  was  in  his  young  manhood  (being  but  a  year  after  his  marriage)  that 
the"  incident  which  has  rendered  him  historically  famous  occurred.  Dr.  War- 
field,  who  is  also  remembered  as  Major  Warfield,  during  the  memorable  days 
of  October,  1774,  called  the  members  of  his  club  around  him,  and  led  them, 
on  horseback,  from  the  uplands  which  now  constitute  Howard  and  Mont- 
gomery counties  through  the  lowlands  of  Anne  Arundel  county  and  into 
Annapolis.  They  rode  by  day  and  without  disguise,  although  on  their  hats 
was  engraved  the  legend,  "Liberty  or  Death."  On  arriving  at  Annapolis 
they  rode  to  the  front  of  the  residence  of  Anthony  Stewart,  who  was  the 
owner  of  the  brig  "Pegg\'  Stewart,"  and  who  had  paid  the  tax  on  the  obnoxious 
tea  with  which  his  vessel  was  laden.  Captain  Hobbs,  who  was  one  of  the 
party,  has  handed  down  the  following  account  of  Dr.  Warfield's  actions  and 
words : 

Commanding  his  companions  to  draw  up  in  line  before  the  house,  he  ad- 
dressed JVIr.  Stewart  in  the  following  words :  "You  will  either  go  with  me 
and  apply  the  torch  to  your  own  vessel,  or  hang  before  your  own  door."  His 
manner,  though  courteous,  conveyed  the  impression  that  acceptance  of  the 
former  proposition  would  be  the  safer  course,  and  Dr.  Warfield  stood  beside 
Mr.  Stewart  when  the  latter  applied  the  torch. 

Dr.  \\'arfield  married  Elizabeth,  daughter  of  Major  Henry  Ridgley,  and 
their  children  were :  Ann,  wife  of  Samuel  Thomas ;  Harry  R.,  attorney-at- 
law  of  Baltimore ;  Peregrine ;  Gustavus ;  Charles  Dorsey ;  Elizabeth,  wife  of 
Richard  Snowden ;  and  Louisa,  who,  after  the  death  of  Elizabeth,  became 
the  second  wife  of  Richard  Snowden.  Peregrine  and  Gustavus  were  physi- 
cians. 

Charles  Dorsey  Warfield  was  born  April  4,  1780,  in  Howard  county, 
Maryland,  and  was  engaged  in  mercantile  pursuits.  He  married,  in  January, 
1823,  Ruth  H.,  born  February,  1794,  widow  of  Caleb  Dorsey  and  daughter 
of  Philemon  Griffith,  colonel  of  the  Maryland  Rifles  during  the  war  of  the 
Revolution.     Mr.  and  Mrs.  Warfield  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 


2o6  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


dren  :  Sarah  Ann ;  Charles  Dorsev.  of  whom  later ;  Alexander ;  and  Philemon 
Hammond.  Charles  Dorsev  Warfield,  the  father,  died  May  30,  1852,  and  his 
widow  passed  away  in  August,  1854. 

Charles  Dorsey  Warfield,  son  of  Charles  Dorsey  and  Ruth  H.  Griffith 
(Dorsey)  Dorsey,  was  born  November  9,  1830,  in  Bushy  Park,  Howard 
county,  Maryland,  and  for  many  years  served  as  school  director.  He  was  a 
staunch  Democrat  and  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church. 

Charles  Dorsey  Warfield  married.  May  17,  1853,  Isabella,  born  Febru- 
ary 21,  1832,  daughter  of  Dr.  Gustavus  and  Mary  (Thomas)  Warfield,  of 
Long-wood,  Howard  county,  Maryland,  who  were  married  in  1810.  Dr.  Gus- 
tavus Warfield  died  August  8,  1866,  in  his  eighty-fourth  year,  and  his  wife, 
who  was  born  March  15,  1793,  died  January  18,  1884.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  War- 
field  were  the  parents  of  eight  children:  Charles  Alexander,  of  whom  later; 
Gustavus,  born  December  13,  1855;  Mary  Emma,  born  September  27,  1857; 
Henry  Ridgley,  born  September  12.  1859,  died  May  19,  1865  ;  Eugenia  Grey, 
born  August  4,  1861,  died  September  30,  1864;  Peregrine,  born  January  16, 
1864;  Harry  Ridgley,  born  November  8.  1869;  and  Arthur,  born  October 
3,  1871.  Mr.  Warfield,  the  father,  died  August  19,  1896,  and  the  death  of 
Mrs.  Warfield  occurred  October  9,  1904. 

Charles  Alexander  Warfield,  son  of  Charles  Dorsey  and  Isabella  (War- 
field)  Warfield,  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native 
county  and  at  public  school  No.  15,  Baltimore.  He  was  engaged  in  the  roll- 
ing mill  industry  until  1890,  being  successively  employed  in  the  mill  of  the 
Baltimore  &  Ohio  Railroad  Company  at  Cumberland,  in  the  Abbott  Iron 
Works,  Baltimore,  and  in  the  National  Rolling  Mill,  McKeesport.  Since 
1890  he  has  been  connected  with  the  Electric  Hotel,  of  which  he  is  now  the 
owner  and  manager. 

He  belongs  to  the  Sons  of  the  Revolution,  the  I.  O.  O.  P.,  the  Knights 
of  Pythias,  the  Homeless  Twenty-six  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order 
of  Elks,  and  in  politics  is  a  Democrat.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian 
church. 

Mr.  Warfield  married,  April  26,  1893,  Minerva  C.  Borlin,  and  they  are 
the  parents  of  one  daughter:  Caroline  Isabella,  born  December  3,  1894. 

Mrs.  Warfield  is  a  daughter  of  James  and  Hannah  Borlin,  of  Greens- 
burg.  James  Borlin  was  born  January  19,  1820,  and  in  early  life  was  a  tanner 
and  a  dealer  in  live-stock,  taking  droves  of  horses  and  cattle  to  the  eastern 
markets  before  the  railroads  which  now.  facilitate  their  transportation  were 
built.  He  was  proprietor  of  hotels  in  Greensburg,  Chicago,  McKeesport  and 
Pittsburg.  In  1877  he  was  elected  sherifif  of  Westmoreland  county.  'His 
death  occurred  September  26,  1899. 


JOHN  DAVID  SWEENEY,  a  leading  contractor  and  builder  of  Pitts- 
burg, was  born  February  9,  1859,  in  Tyler  county,  West  Virginia,  son  of 
Daniel  Sweeney,  who  was  also  born  in  West  Virginia,  and  combined  the 
callings  of  miller,  millwright  and  surveyor,  also  dealing  extensively  in  lum- 
ber. He  was  a  staunch  Democrat.  He  married  Mary  Anna  Wells,  of  West 
Virginia,  and  their  children  were:  Laura,  born  in  1852,  died  December  31, 
1906,  wife  of  William  W.  Patton,  of  Orange,  California,  children,  Chalmers 
D.,  Lesta,  Daniel  C,  Florence,  Harry,  Carl,  Mabel  and  Olive;  EH  Absalom, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  207 


born  March  19,  1854,  married  October  19,  1892,  Anna  Louise,  daug-hter  of 
Nicholas  and  Elizabeth  (Bandi)  Bandi,  of  New  Martinsville,  West  Virginia; 
James  N.,  born  in  1856;  Thomas,  who  died  aged  sixteen  years;  John  David, 
of  whom  later;  Oliver  C,  married  Alice  McCoy,  of  Pereley,  Tyler  county, 
West  Virginia,  children,  Howard,  Elsie,  Pauline,  Myron  and  Eli  Absalom; 
and  Amanda  Ruffner.  James  N.,  third  child  and  second  son  of  this  family, 
married  Anna  Smith,  of  West  Virginia,  children,  Rodney,  Mollie,  Florence 
and  Homer.  Mrs.  Sweeney  died  in  1891,  and  within  a  reasonable  time  Mr. 
Sweeney  married  Belle  Barrett,  of  Tyler  county,  West  Virginia,  children, 
Louise  Inez,  Irene,  Harry,  Lillie  and  Ruby.  Mrs.  Sweeney,  the  mother,  died 
May  2,  1901. 

John  David  Sweeney,  son  of  Daniel  and  Mary  Anna  (Wells)  Sweeney, 
received  his  preparatory  education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  neighborhood, 
passing  thence  to  the  Fairmont  (West  Virginia)  Normal  School,  and  after- 
ward entering  the  University  of  Morgantown,  W>st  Virginia.  For  twelve 
years  he  was  principal  of  the  normal  school  of  Athens,  Mercer  county.  West 
Virginia,  and  in  1901  came  to  Pittsburg,  where  he  has  since  been  engaged  in 
the  general  contracting-  and  building  business.  For  one  term  he  represented 
the  people  of  his  native  county  in  the  legislature.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic 
fraternity  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  and  in  politics  affiliates  with  the  Demo- 
crats.    He  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church. 

Mr.  Sweeney  married,  December  25,  1893,  Mary  Maud  Reid,  and  they 
are  the  parents  of  four  children:  Mary  Louise,  born  October  12,  1894;  Maud 
Ethel,  born  September  25,  1896;  Anna  Wilson,  born  July  22,  1901  ;  and  Vir- 
ginia Ruth,  born  September  18,  1903.  Mrs.  Sweeney  is  a  daughter  of  Will- 
iam Albert  Reid,  who  during  the  Civil  war  served  as  Captain  of  Company  A, 
Seventeenth  Virginia  Cavalry,  participating  in  many  battles,  among  them 
those  of  Gettysburg  and  Lookout  Mountain.  He  married  Phoebe  Louise 
Hare,  and  their  children  were :  Walter  Scott,  married  Catharine  Hardy, 
children,  Inez  and  Gladys ;  Mary  Maud,  wife  of  John  David  Sweeney ;  Rupert, 
died  in  infancy;  and  Minnie,  wife  of  Edward  French,  of  the  vicinity  of  Paris- 
burg,  Virginia,  children,  William  Edward,  John  Reid,  Harriet  Louise  and 
Frances. 

DAVID  FOULK  COLLINGWOOD,  whose  varied  interests  in  the  city 
of  Pittsburg  make  him  a  leading  representative  man  thereof,  and  who  has 
been  an  earnest  promoter  of  general  improvements,  encouraging  any  object 
which  he  considers  to  be  for  the  public  good,  was  born  September  29,  1862, 
in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  son  of  William  and  Maria  L.  (Foulk)  Colling- 
wood. 

William  Collingwood  (father)  was  born  September  23,  1812,  in  the  vil- 
lage of  Addison,  Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania.  His  parents  removed  to 
Pittsburg  the  following  year,  locating  in  the  Seventh  ward,  where  William 
attended  the  subscription  schools.  In  1853  he  established  a  fire  insurance 
agency  at  307  Wood  street,  known  as  Loomis  &  Collingwood,  which  was  in 
existence  until  September,  1885,  when  Mr.  Loomis  retired,  and  the  firm  name 
became  Collingwood-  &  Son.  William  Collingwood  continued  in  that  busi- 
ness very  successfully  until  his  death,  which  occurred  November  6,  1902,  a 
period  of  almost  half' a  century.  He  served  for  several  years  as  a  director  of 
the  public  schools  of  the  Seventh  ward,  Pittsburg,  rendering  therein  efficient 


2o8  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


service.  He  was  a  staunch  Republican  in  politics.  He  married,  November, 
1861,  Maria  L.  Foulk,  daughter  of  David  A.  and  Elizabeth  (Hartman)  Foulk, 
of  Pittsburg,  and  ten  children  were  the  issue:  David  Foulk,  see  forward; 
Lewis  W.,  Fannie  R.,  Robert  L.,  Clements  B.,  George  J.,  Anna  D.,  deceased; 
Mary  L.,  Howard  D.  and  Loy  H.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Collingwood  were  mem- 
bers of  the  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Wilkinsburg. 

David  F.  Collingwood  attended  the  public  schools  of  the  Seventh  and 
Eighth  wards  of  Pittsburg,  and  upon  the  conclusion  of  his  studies  engaged 
in  "the  fire  hisurance  business  with  his  father,  being  admitted  to  the  firm  in 
September,  1895,  and  this  line  he  still  continues,  with  offices  at  No.  248  Fourth 
avenue,  Pittsburg.  In  politics  he  affiliates  with  the  Republican  party  on  na- 
tional issues.  On  November  4,  1902,  Mr.  Collingwood  was  elected  treasurer 
of  Allegheny  county  for  a  term  of  three  years,  on  the  Citizens'  Fusion  ticket, 
in  which  capacity  he  served  with  credit.  He  is  a  director  in  the  Keystone 
National  Bank  of  Pittsburg,  director  of  the  Union  Electric  Company,  trustee 
of  the  Dollar  Savings  Bank,  trustee  of  the  Braddock  General  Hospital,  presi- 
dent of  the  Pennsylvania  State  Association  of  Fire  Insurance  Agents,  mem- 
ber of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  and  the  Pittsburgh  Club.  He  also  attained 
great  prominence  in  Free  Masonry,  being  a  member  of  Crescent  Lodge  No. 
576,  Free  and  Accepted  IMasons,  of  which  he  is  a  past  master ;  Shiloh  Royal 
Arch  Chapter,  No.  257,  of  which  he  is  a  past  high  priest ;  Tancred  Command- 
ery,  No.  48,  Knights  Templar,  and  a  member  of  Pennsylvania  Consistory,  An- 
cient Accepted  Scottish  Rite,  in  which  he  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree. 
He  has  also  been  honored  with  the  thirty-second  degree,  September,  1906, 
and  is  a-  Sovereign  Grand  Inspector  General  of  the  Supreme  Council  of  the 
Northern  Masonic  Jurisdiction  of  the  United  States. 

Mr.  Collingwood  married.  September  23,  1890,  Mary  E.  Kirkpatrick, 
daughter  of  the  late  Allen  Kirkpatrick,  who  was  one  of  the  largest  wholesale 
grocers  of  Pittsburg,  and  whose  death  occurred  February  20,  1890.  The 
children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Collingwood  are  Rebecca  Bell  and  Allen  Kirk- 
patrick. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Collingwood  are  members  of  the  Calvary  Presbyterian 
church  of  Braddock. 


JOHN  DOTTERWEICH,  who  has  been  for  nearly  a  quarter  of  a  cen- 
tury a  resident  of  Pittsburg,  and  has  long  been  numbered  among  the  city's 
successful  business  men,  was  born  June  24,  1862,  in  Vorra,  Bavaria,  Ger- 
many, son  of  John  Dotterweich,  also  a  native  of  Bavaria,  where  he  was  born 
in  1820,  and  where  he  followed  the  calling  of  a  farmer.  He  married  Kuni- 
gunda  Soldner,  and  the  following  children  were  born  to  them :  Kunigunda, 
Sebastian,  Adam,,  Thorathea,  Margaret,  George,  Elizabeth,  Wilhelm,  John,  of 
whom  later;  Michael,  John  Michael,  and  Anna.  The  mother  of  these  chil- 
dren died  in  1875,  and  the  father  passed  away  in  August,  1896. 

John  Dotterweich,  son  of  John  and  Kunigunda  (Soldner)  Dotterweich, 
received  his  education  in  the  public  schools,  and  on  reaching  manhood  emi- 
grated to  the  United  States.  In  1883  he  came  to  Pittsburg,  and  in  1893  estab- 
lished himself  in  the  baking  business,  which  he  still  continues  and  in  which 
he  has  been  extremely  successful. 

Mr.  Doterweich  married,  in  1892,  Fanny  Spitzerberger,  a  native  of  Ba- 
varia, and  they  have  been  the  parents  of  the  following  children :    Maria,  born 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  209 

in  1893,  died  in  1894;  Paulina,  born  in  1895;  John,  born  in  1897;  George, 
born  in  1899;  Anton,  born  in  1901,  died  in  1903;  Francis,  born  in  1904;  and 
Maria  Alagdalena,  born  in  1907. 

ANDREW  HARCUM,  justice  of  the  peace  and  a  member  of  the  poHce 
force  of  Greater  Pittsburg,  was  born  in  Liberty  avenue,  Pittsburg,  Pennsyl- 
vania, November  12,  1846,  son  of  Samuel  and  Hannah  M.  (Kane)  Harcum. 
The  father  was  born  in  Coal  Lane,  Pittsburg,  in  1822,  and  was  one  of  the 
pioneer  glass  manufacturers  of  the  South  Side.  The  children  born  to  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Samuel  Harcum  were  as  follows :  John,  Sarah  J.,  Andrew,  Elizabeth, 
Hiram  and  Samuel.  The  father  died  January  25,  1854.  His  wife  died  Janu- 
ary 18,  1905. 

The  subject's  grandfather,  also  named  Samuel  Harcum,  was  born  in 
Alaryland  and  was  a  sailor  in  Commodore  Perry's  fleet  during  the  battle  of 
Orleans,  and  was  discharged  from  service  in  1825. 

Andrew  Harcum,  of  this  notice,  the  son  of  Samuel  Harcum  (second), 
was  educated  at  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city  and  when  but  fourteen 
years  of  age  he  ran  away  from  his  home  and  accompanied  the  First  Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry  Reserves.  He  returned  after  the  second  fight  at  Bull  Run  and 
enlisted  in  1863  in  Knapp's  Battery  of  Pennsylvania,  served  three  months  and 
then  re-enlisted  in  the  Fourteenth  Pennsylvania  Cavalry,  from  which  he  was 
discharged  August  11,  1865.  After  his  return  home  he  entered  the  mills  in 
Pittsburg  as  a  "roller."  In  1871  he  was  appointed  on  the  city  police  force 
and  reappointed  for  two  terms.  In  1902  he  was  elected  a  justice  of  the 
peace,  which  position  he  still  holds. 

He  married,  in  1869,  Sarah,  daughter  of  John  and  Catherine  Gosley,  by 
whom  was  born  the  following  children :  Amelia  A.  Russell,  Gertrude  Shop- 
pener  and  Sarah,  who  died  at  the  age  of  three  years,  in  1882. 


TPIOMAS  CRONIN,  president  of  the  Thomas  Cronin  Company,  general 
contractors  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  is  a  representative  of  the  second  gen- 
eration of  his  family  in  this  country. 

Patrick  Cronin,  father  of  Thomas  Cronin,  was  a  native  of  county  Cork, 
Ireland,  and  made  his  initial  visit  to  this  country  about  1822.  He  lived  in 
Vermont  about  twenty  years,  returned  to  Ireland,  where  he  married  and  lived 
for  four  years,  whence  he  came  again  to  the  United  States.  He  lived  in 
Boston.  Alassachusetts,  for  a  short  time,  then  settled  in  Brighton,  in  the  same 
state,  where  he  resided  until  his  death.  He  was  a  farmer  and  gardener  by 
occupation,  and  he  and  his  family  were  members  of  the  Catholic  church.  He 
married  Jane  Linehan,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  ten  children,  of  whom  five 
died  in  infancy.  Those  who  lived  to  attain  maturity  were:  Thomas,  see 
forward ;  John,  who  went  west  and  was  not  again  heard  from,  and  it  is  pre- 
sumed that  he  is  dead ;  Mary,  deceased,  married  Martin  O'Hara ;  Jane,  married 
William  Cashman ;  Theresa,  married  Peter  Dowding. 

Thomas  Cronin,  only  surviving  son  of  Patrick  and  Jane  (Linehan)  Cronin, 
was  born  in  Brighton,  Massachusetts,  September  5,  1849.  He  was  educated 
in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  town  and  at  the  early  age  of  fourteen  years 
he  commenced  his  business  career.  He  accepted  any  employment  that  came 
to  his  hand  that  he  was  able  to  do  and  finally  drifted  into  the  business  of 


A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


stock  dealing,  in  which  he  met  with  considerable  success.  However,  during 
the  general  financial  depression  which  swept  over  the  country  in  1873  he 
abandoned  this,  and  in  the  following  year  went  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  found  employment  at  the  Keystone  Bridge  Works.  Later  he  was 
appointed  on  the  police  force  and  made  a  gallant  and  honorable  record  for 
seven  years.  He  then  resigned  and  engaged  in  the  business  of  teaming  for 
a  period  of  about  eight  years,  then  formed  a  partnership  with  M.  O'Herron 
m  the  general  contracting  line,  doing  business  under  the  firm  name  of  Cronin 
&  O'Herron.  This  partnership  was  dissolved  at  the  expiration  of  eleven 
years,  and  Mr.  Cronin  then  organized  the  contracting  firm  of  which  he  is  the 
president  at  the  present  time.  His  son  John  is  the  vice-president,  and  John 
Wallace  is  secretary  and  treasurer.  They  undertake  all  kinds  of  contract 
work  and  employ  about  three  hundred  hands.  Mr.  Cronin  is  also  the  sole 
proprietor  of  the  Birmingham  Supply  Company,  which  deals  in  all  kinds  of 
builders'  materials ;  he  is  a  stockholder  in  the  South  Hill  Trust  Company  and 
the  Iron  Gloss  &  Savings  Bank.  He  and  his  family  are  members  of  the 
Catholic  church.  He  married,  November  15,  1879,  Julia  McConnell,  daughter 
of  Nicholas  and  Alice  (Cavanaugh)  McConnell,  and  they  had  nine  children, 
four  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  Those  now  living  are:  John,  mentioned 
above  ;  Alice  ;  Harry,  manager  of  the  Birmingham  Supply  Company ;  Nicholas ; 
Jane. 

THE  VILSACK  FAMILY.  In  the  development  of  every  city  there 
are  always  some  men  who  stand  out  more  prominently,  in  some  one  or  more 
role  of  activity,  than  others,  and  such  was  the  character  of  Jacob  Vilsack  and 
his  sons,  who  have  been  intimately  associated  with  the  growth  of  Greater  Pitts- 
burg during  all  the  years  intervening  since  1835,  when  the  father  came  to  thi> 
country  from  Germany.  He  was  born  in  Carsruhe,  Baden,  and  was  a  car- 
penter by  trade.  Lie  came  to  Pittsburg  while  yet  a  young  man.  For  a  number 
of  years  he  followed  his  trade  successfully,  but  finally  saw  a  more  independent 
and  congenial  life  as  a  farmer.  He  purchased  a  farm  in  Shaler  township, 
Allegheny  county,  where  he  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life,  dying  at  the  age 
of  sixty  years.  He  married  a  German  woman,  or  rather,  one  born  in  Alsace, 
in  what  was  then  France,  but  now  a  part  of  Germany.  Her  name  was  Catharine 
Farmarie  and  she  emigrated  to  this  country  when  a  young  lady  and  here 
married  Mr.  Vilsack.  Their  children  were  as  follows :  ( i )  George,  who  mar- 
ried and  left  four  children — Mary,  Joseph,  Lena  and  Annie.  (2)  Elizabeth, 
deceased,  who  married  Wendal  Kraus,  of  Shaler  township.  He  was  engaged 
in  the  ice  business  for  a  number  of  years,  but  is  now  a  prosperous  merchant 
at  Etna,  Pennsylvania ;  their  children  are — Leopold,  August,  Catherine,  Wil- 
liam, Lena,  John  and  George.  (3)  Leopold,  of  whom  a  sketch  will  be  found 
hereinafter.  (4)  Catherine,  married  Anthony  Shoemaker,  who  for  a  number 
of  years  was  one  of  the  leading  merchants  of  Woodsfield,  Monroe  county, 
Pennsylvania,  but  now  leads  a  retired  life  on  the  old  Vilsack  homestead  in 
Shaler  township.  Their  children  are — Elizabeth,  Anthony,  Jr.,  ]\Iichael,  Bar- 
bara, Edward,  Leo  and  Catharine. 

(II)  Leopold  Vilsack,  third  child  of  Jacob  and  Catharine  (Farmarie) 
Vilsack,  the  American  ancestors  of  the  family,  was  born  March  3,  1838,  at 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  attended  the  public  schools  in  Sharpsburg  and 
Saint    Philomena,    at   what   was    formerly   known    as    Bayardstown ;    the   old 


//y ///■// 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE 


school  building-  is  still  standing-  and  in  use.  He  commenced  his  active  career 
in  the  Bennett  Brewery,  at  the  corner  of  Seventeenth  and  Liberty  streets,  in 
1855,  and  three  years  later  had  an  interest  in  the  business,  being  associated 
with  Edward  Frauenheim,  John  Miller  and  August  Hoeveler.  Later,  Messrs. 
Frauenheim  and  Vilsack  purchased  the  interest  of  the  other  partners,  when 
the  firm  was  styled  Frauenheim  &  Vilsack,  operating  the  Iron  City  Brewery, 
afterward  incorporated  and  known  as  the  Iron  City  Brewing  Company.  These 
gentlemen  associated  with  them  their  sons,  Aloysius,  E.  J.  and  A.  A.  Frauen- 
heim, and  E.  J.  and  J.  G.  Vilsack.  The  business  was  thus  headed  until  merged 
with  the  Pittsburgh  Brewing-  Company,  with  L.  Vilsack  as  president  of  the 
Iron  City  Brewing-  Company,  when  the  consolidation  took  place.  At  this  date 
(1907)  Mr.  Vilsack  is  a  large  stockholder,  vice-president  and  one  of  the 
directors  in  the  company.  He  is  also  president  of  the  Epping-Carpenter  Com- 
pany, manufacturers  of  pumping  machinery.  He  was  one  of  the  pioneers  in 
this  business  at  Pittsburg,  having  been  connected  with  it  since  1885.  He  was 
also  associated  with  the  Aliquippa  Steel  Company  at  Aliquippa,  Pennsyl- 
vania, until  it  was  merged  into  the  Crucible  Steel  Company  of  America.  His 
son,  J.  G.  Vilsack,  was  president  of  the  company  when  the  merger  took  place. 
Leopold  Vilsack  is  also  president  of  the  Vilsack-Martin  Company,  makers  of 
ornamental  iron  work,  situated  on  Thirty-second  street  and  Penn  avenue.  He 
is  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Allegheny  Plate  Glass  Company,  one  of  the 
modern-day  enterprises  of  Greater  Pittsburg,  located  on  the  Allegheny  river, 
near  Hite  Station.  He  is  also  identified  with  numerous  banking  institutions 
and  financial  concerns.  He  is  the  vice-president  of  and  leading  stockholder 
of  the  German  National  Bank,  and  president  of  the  East  End  Savings  and 
Trust  Company  at  Penn  avenue,  near  Sheridan,  East  End.  He  is  interested 
in  insurance  companies,  being  the  director  of  the  National  Union  Fire  Insurance 
Company  and  the  City  Insurance  Company,  also  a  director  of  the  Ohio  River 
Improvement  Company.  He  is  one  of  the  largest  real  estate  holders  in  the  city, 
having  made  extensive  and  numerous  purchases  within  the  last  few  years. 

Politically  Mr.  Vilsack  is  a  supporter  of  the  Democratic  party,  and  in 
his  religious  faith  is  a  Catholic.  He  is,  a  member  of  the  board  of  trustees  of 
St.  Paul's  Cathedral  and  was  appointed  by  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Regis  Canevin 
as  one  of  the  building  committee  for  the  direction  of  the  construction  of  the 
Cathedral  at  Bellfield.  He  is  also  on  the  boards  of  St.  Paul's  Orphan  Asylum, 
at  Idlewood,  St.  Joseph's  Protectory  for  Boys  at  Wylie  avenue  and  Vine  street, 
Pittsburg,  and  St.  Francis'  Hospital.  He  was  one  of  the  originators  of  the 
Columbus  Club  and  is  still  an  honored  member  of  the  same. 

Mr.  Vilsack  has  always  taken  a  deep  interest  in  all  that  would  tend  to  ad- 
vance the  financial,  social  and  educational  interests  of  his  native  city  and  the 
commonwealth  in  which  it  is  situated.  His  successful  business  career  has  not 
made  him  sordid  and  unmindful  of  his  fellow  men.  His  charities  and  true 
benevolences  have  extended  far  and  near. 

He  was  married  in  1863  to  Miss  Dorothy  Blank,  of  Etna,  Pennsylvania. 
They  were  the  parents  of  thirteen  children,  nine  sons  and  four  daughters, 
all  born  in  Pittsburg  and  all  surviving  but  one.    They  are  as  follows : 

I.  Edward  J.,  unmarried,  and  lives  in  Shaler  township,  this  county,  where 
he  bought  a  one  hundred  and  sixty-acre  tract  of  land,  which  he  has  converted 
into  a  model  farm  and  upon  which  he  raises  stock  and  carries  on  general 
farming  pursuits.     It  is  among  the  best  farm  properties,  in  point  of  value  as 


A    CENTURY   AND   A    HALF    OF 


well  as  up-to-date  improvements,  within  Allegheny  county.  It  is  located  on 
the  old  Butler  road.  His  maiden  aunt,  Miss  Mary  Blank,  his  mother's  sister, 
resides  with  him.  He  is  superintendent  of  the  Iron  City  Brewery,  one  of  the 
branch  plants  of  the  Pittsburgh  Brewing  Company ;  a  director  of  the  Penn- 
sylvania National  Bank ;  director  of  the  Sterritt-Thomas  Foundry  Company,, 
and  a  director  of  the  East  End  Savings  and  Trust  Company,  and  the  Pennsyl- 
vania National  Bank. 

2.  Joseph  G.  Vilsack,  second  son  in  the  family  of  Leopold  Vilsack,  was 
born  in  Pittsburg,  and  married  Stella  Brennen,  a  daughter  of  John  Brennen 
and  wife.  By  this  union  the  issue  was  John  Edward,  Louise  Marie,  Dorothy 
Claire,  Joseph  G.,  Jr.,  and  Kenneth  Frank.  The  father  of  these  children, 
Joseph  G.  \'ilsack,  was  also  admitted  as  a  partner  in  his  father's  brewing 
business,  and  after  the  companies  were  consolidated  he  continued  for  a  time, 
but  soon  associated  himself  with  the  Aliquippa  Steel  Company,  and  was  its 
president  wiien  it  merged  with  the  Crucible  Steel  Company  of  America,  when 
he  became  the  secretary  of  the  Ohio  River  Improvement  Company ;  also  asso- 
ciated as  secretary  of  the  Lutz  &  Schramm  Company ;  secretary  of  the  Vilsack- 
Martin  &  Company,  ornamental  iron  manufacturers ;  and  is  also  a  director  in 
the  Sterritt-Thomas  Foundry  Company,  and  vice-president  of  the  East  End 
Savings  and  Trust  Company. 

3.  Nettie  M.  was  born  in  Pittsburg  and  married  Edward  J.  Frauenheim,. 
and  they  are  the  parents  of  Dorothy,  Edward  F.,  Walter,  Regina,  Norman^ 
William  and  Richard.     (For  Frauenheim  sketch  see  elsewhere  in  this  work.) 

4.  Leopold  W.,  born  February  6,  1872,  was  educated  at  St.  Vincent's 
College,  and  later  was  connected  with  the  Marshall  Kennedy  Milling  Com- 
pany, later  known  as  the  Pittsburgh  Milling  Company,  as  its  salesman.  He 
remained  with  them  several  years,  and  in  1893  engaged  in  the  jewelrv  business, 
establishing  the  firm  of  L.  W.  Vilsack  &  Company,  located  on  Fifth  avenue. 
Politically  Mr.  Vilsack  is  a  Democrat.  He  married,  October  6,  1895,  in  Pitts- 
burg, Nellie  M.  Vetter,  daughter  of  John  Vetter  and  wife.  The  issue  by  this 
marriage  is  Leo,  Virginia,  Pauline,  Mercedes  and  Robert. 

5.  William  W.  Vilsack  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  is  unmarried  and  is  now  in 
the  wholesale  liquor  business  at  Braddock,  Pennsylvania. 

6.  August  A.  Vilsack,  born  February  11,  1876,  is  twin  brother  of  Anthony 
J.  He  was  educated  in  his  native  city  and  in  the  Canisius  College,  Buffalo, 
New  York,  and  then  entered  the  Pennsylvania  National  Bank  as  a  messenger, 
which  position  he  held  until  the  German  National  Bank  was  organized,  when 
he  was  made  its  teller.  Later  he  became  assistant  cashier,  which  position  he 
still  retains.  Some  years  ago  he  became  interested  in  the  Hobensack  Drug 
Company,  as  a  partner  in  the  business.  Later  he  purchased  the  whole  business 
and  took  his  twin  brother  in  as  his  partner.  In  1905  the  business  was  incor- 
porated as  the  Vilsack  Drug  Company,  of  which  August  A.  Vilsack  is  president 
and  Anthony  J.  secretary  and  treasurer.  He  married,  September  5,  1899, 
Annie  Lauinger,  by  whom  four  sons  were  born — Hubert  Anthony,  Francis 
Lauinger,  Augustine  A.,  Jr.,  and  Edward  Eugene.  Mr.  Vilsack  is  a  member 
of  the  Americus  and  German  Club  of  Pittsburg,  and  of  the  Benevolent  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks. 

7.  Anthony  J.  Vilsack,  twin  and  brother  of  August  A.,  was  born  February 
II,  1876,  and  is  now  his  brother's,  Edward  J.  Vilsack,  assistant  at  the  plant 
of  the  Iron  City  Brewing  Company.     He  was  educated  at  Canisius  College, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  213 

Buffalo,  New  York,  and  at  St.  Mary's  Institute,  at  Emmitsburg,  Maryland. 
He  then  associated  himself  with  the  Aliquippa  Steel  Company,  and  was  its 
secretary  and  treasurer  up  to  the  time  of  its  merging  with  the  Crucible  Steel 
Company  of  America,  when,  in  a  short  time,  he  became  assistant  superintendent 
of  the  Iron  City  Brewing  Company,  which  position  he  still  holds.  He  is  also 
.associated  with  his  twin  brother,  August  A.,  in  the  drug  business,  incorporated 
in  1905  as  the  Vilsack  Drug  Company.  He  is  the  secretary  and  treasurer  of 
the  same,  while  his  brother  is  president  of  the  company.  September  12,  1899, 
he  married  Veronia  Lovingston,  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  By  this  union  the  issue 
is  one  child,  Howard  J.  Vilsack. 

8.  Kathryne  Vilsack,  born  in  Pittsburg,  is  unmarried. 

9.  Ollie  Vilsack,  born  July  2,   1880,  unmarried,  and  is  now  teller  at  the 
East  End  Savings  and  Trust  Company. 

10.  Mercedes  Vilsack.  married  Robert  Maloney,  and  thev  have  one  child— 
Kathryne. 

11.  Maurice  Vilsack,  born  May  10,  1884,  is  now  a  clerk  at  the  Epping- 
Carpenter  Company.    He  is  unmarried. 

12.  Carl  Vilsack,  born  April  27,  1887,  attended  Georgetown  University 
at  Washington,  and  graduated  from  the  classical  course  in  1907. 


THE  LAUGHLIN  FAMILY  of  Greater  Pittsburg  has  been  from  a 
very  early  day  one  of  much  importance  in  the  industrial  and  social  develop- 
ment of  the  city.  They  are  of  that  sturdy  Scotch-Irish  people  who  have  been 
noted  in  the  early  history  of  western  Pennsylvania  for  their  sterling  qualities 
of  both  head  and  heart. 

The  first  member  of  this  family  to  emigrate  to  America  was  Alexander 
Laughlin,  whose  father  and  brothers  and  sisters  came  about  ten  years  later. 
Alexander  will  be  mentioned  at  length  later  in  the  history  of  the  family. 

(I)  James  Laughlin  was  the  progenitor  of  the  family  which  settled  in 
America.  He  was  a  Scotch-Irishman,  who  was  a  well-to-do  farmer  near 
Belfast,  Ireland,  and  after  his  wife  died  he  was  persuaded  to  emigrate  to  this 
country,  where  his  son  Alexander  had  made  himself  a  home.  He  came  to 
Baltimore,  Maryland,  with  his  son  James  and  two  daughters,  and  they  soon 
found  their  way  to  Pittsburg.  This  was  in  1829,  and  here  he  pursued  farming 
on  a  place  which  he  purchased  in  what  is  now  East  Liberty,  until  his  death. 

(II)  Alexander,  eldest  son  of  the  progenitor  of  the  American  family, 
was  born  in  county  Down,  Ireland,  in  November,  1790,  and  came  to  America 
in  1819,  settling  at  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  formed  a  partnership 
with  Francis  G.  Bailey,  engaging  in  the  provision  and  grocery  business. 
Later  Mr.  Laughlin  bought  out  his  partner  and  conducted  the  business 
alone  until  about  1829,  when  his  brother,  with  the  remainder  of  the  family 
except  his  mother,  who  had  died  in  Ireland,  came  to  America  and  became 
associated  with  Alexander,  and  they  engaged  in  the  pork-packing  business 
T)oth  at  Pittsburg  and  at  Evansville,  Indiana.  This  business  prospered  and 
was  thus  conducted  until  1835,  when  the  firm  was  dissolved.  Alexander  then 
built  a  store  and  warehouse  at  Pittsburg  at  the  corner  of  Canal  and  Etna 
streets.  Later  he  added  the  lumber  business  to  his  other  operations,  and  occu- 
pied the  whole  square  bounded  by  Eleventh  and  Twelfth  streets  on  the  one 
side   and   Pike   and   Etna   streets   on   the   other.      It   was   the  most   extensive 


214  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


establishment  in  Pittsburg  at  that  date.  He  also  acted  as  the  agent  for  the 
Peach  Bottom  Slate  Quarries,  having  control  of  all  the  territory  west  of  the 
Allegheny  mountains^  In  1850  Mr.  Laughlin  bought  out  the  Stewardson 
Furnaces  of  Armstrong  county,  Pennsylvania,  and  a  firm  known  as  Laughlin 
&  Phillips  was  formed.  In  time  Mr.  Laughlin  purchased  his  partner's  interest, 
after  which  he  conducted  the  business  alone  during  the  remainder  of  his  life. 
He  was  connected  with  many  of  the  financial  enterprises  of  western  Pennsyl- 
vania and  the  city  of  Pittsburg.  He  was  a  director  of  the  Bank  of  Pittsburg, 
the  old  Ninth  Street  Bridge  and  the  Western  Hospital  of  Pennsylvania.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  F"irst  Presbyterian  church  of  Pittsburg,  in  which  he 
served  as  an  elder  until  his  death  in  1867.  March  27,  181 7,  he  married  Mary 
Ann  Bailey,  in  county  Down,  Ireland.  By  this  union  the  issue  was  ten 
children,  all  deceased. 

(II)  James  Laughlin,  son  of  the  emigrant  and  a  brother  of  Alexander 
Laughlin,  just  mentioned,  was  born  March  i,  1806,  near  Portaferry,  county 
Down,  Ireland.  He  received  his  education  at  Belfast,  Ireland,  which  was  not 
far  distant  from  his  birthplace.  After  leaving  school  he  assisted  his  father  in 
taking  care  of  his  estate  until  his  twentieth  year  of  age  was  passed,  when  his 
mother  died  and  the  family  came  to  America.  Upon  his  arrival  here  James 
Laughlin  entered  into  partnership  with  his  brother  Alexander,  who  had  been 
here  in  advance  of  the  remainder  of  the  family  several  years.  The  two 
brothers  conducted  a  provision  store  at  Pittsburg,  and  a  branch  at  Evansville, 
Indiana,  of  which  James  had  charge.  At  that  point  they  carried  on  a  pork- 
packing  house  and  James  spent  his  winter  months  there,  having  to  make  the 
journey  on  horseback  or  by  stage,  it  taking  two  or  more  weeks  to  make  the 
trip,  owing  to  the  condition  of  the  roads  and  the  weather.  This  partnership 
was  dissolved  in  1835,  and  James  Laughlin  continued  the  business,  the  Indiana 
branch  being  in  charge  of  his  tried  and  fellow  countryman,  Samuel  Orr,  who 
later  became  his  partner  in  the  business  of  conducting  a  general  merchan- 
dising store  as  well  as  the  iron  trade  at  Evansville.  This  business  relation 
existed  about  two  years.  Mr.  Laughlin  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the 
Fifth  Avenue  Savings  Bank  and  in  1852  was  elected  its  president.  This 
institution  was  succeeded  by  the  Pittsburgh  Trust  Company  and  organized 
under  a  charter  from  the  State  of  Pennsylvania  July  12,  1853.  Five  years 
later  that  charter  was  succeeded  by  the  First  National  Bank  of  Pittsburgh. 
A  charter  under  the  new  bank  was  obtained  by  them,  but  the  old  officers 
were  retained.  It  was  this  association  which  took  advantage  of  the  national 
banking  act  of  April  11,  1863,  and  was  the  fifth  national  bank  to  be  estab- 
lished in  the  United  States  and  the  first  one  in  Allegheny  county.  Mr. 
Laughlin  was  its  first  president. 

In  1857  he  retired  from  the  provision  business  and  turned  his  attention 
toward  the  manufacture  of  iron,  which  had  then  become  the  most  important 
industry  of  the  city  of  Pittsburg.  Mr.  Benjamin  F.  Jones  had  a  small  mill 
on  the  present  site  of  the  Jones  &  Laughlin  Steel  Plant's  works  and  Mr. 
Laughlin  became  associated  with  Mr.  Jones,  and  the  firm  of  Jones  &  Laughlin 
was  formed.  This  firm  soon  took  front  rank  in  the  production  of  iron.  In 
i860  they  formed  the  firm  of  Laughlin  &  Company  and  engaged  in  making 
pig  iron,  which  was  then  a  new  industry  for  Pittsburg.  They  brought  the 
rich  ores  from  Lake  Superior  and  this  firm  became  the  owners  of  the  Eliza 
Furnaces.     The  steel  and  iron  industry  being  treated  in  the  general  history 


PITTSBURG   AND   HER   PEOPLE  215 

volume  of  this  work  it  will  be  sufficient  to  say  that  after  many  changes  in 
the  iron  and  steel  business  in  1900  the  Jones  &  Laughhn  Steel  Company  was 
formed  and  is  one  of  the  greatest  commercial  industrial  powers  in  the  world 
today.  Mr.  Laughlin  remained  a  member  of  this  firm  until  his  death.  He 
was  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Pittsburgh,  which  he  helped  to 
organize,  and  was  connected  with  it  until  his  death.  He  was  in  point  of 
service  one  of  the  oldest  bankers  of  Pennsylvania.  At  a  special  meeting  held 
by  the  bank  directors  soon  after  his  death  they  declared  in  way  of  a  resolu- 
tion that: 

"We  bear  testimony  that  in  all  of  our  personal  and  business  relations 
with  Mr.  Laughlin,  extending  over  a  period  of  thirty  years,  we  have  found  in 
him  a  true  type  of  successful  American  bankers,  readily  grasping  opportuni- 
ties, difficulties  and  dangers  of  extended  financial  operations,  meeting  all  ques- 
tions with  extraordinary  freedom  from  all  personal  bias  or  prejudice,  keeping 
pace,  even  in  advancing  years,  with  liberal  and  progressive  principles  of 
finance  and  business   intercourse,  yet  always  just  in  hTs  business   relations." 

While  Mr.  Laughlin  had  no  natural  liking  for  public  office  holding  he 
did  consent  to  serve  on  the  select  council  of  his  city  at  one  time,  but  repeatedly 
declined  other  places  of  public  trust. 

His  religious  affiliations  were  with  the  First  Presbyterian  church  of  Pitts- 
burg, of  which  he  was  one  of  the  oldest  members  and  a  most  liberal  supporter. 
In  him  the  Western  Theological  Seminary  ever  had  a  warm  friend,  he  serving 
as  one  of  the  trustees  and  was  the  president  of  the  board  of  the  same  until  his 
death.  He  was  one  of  the  incorporators  of  the  Western  Pennsylvania  Institute 
for  the  Deaf  and  Dumb,  located  at  Pittsburg,  and  was  one  of  its  trustees 
from  its  foundation  until  his  death.  He  also  took  a  deep  interest  in  the  higher 
education  of  women  and  founded  the  Pennsylvania  Female  College,  and  was  its 
first  president  and  gave  generously  toward  its  maintenance  as  long  as  he  lived. 
Being  in  full  sympathy  with  his  hundreds  of  workmen,  he  never  had  trouble 
on  account  of  labor  strikes,  he  using  his  men  even  as  though  they  were  of 
his  own  household. 

At  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  September  10,  1837,  Mr.  Laughlin  was 
united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Ann  Irwin,  daughter  of  Boyle  Irwin,  Esquire,  by 
which  union  there  was  born  one  daughter  and  four  sons. 

Their  second  son,  Irwin  Boyle  Laughlin,  died  at  Nice,  France,  in  1871. 
He  was  born  December  2r,  1840,  and  was  associated  with  the  firm  of  Jones 
&  Laughlin  until  his  death.  He  married,  in  1870,  Mary,  daughter  of  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  John  Bissell,  Esquire,  of  Pittsburg,  by  whom  the  issue  was  Mary 
Irwin  Laughlin.  The  other  sons  of  James  Lausfhlin  and  wife  were:  Henry 
Alexander,  George  McCully  and  James,  all  residents  of  Pittsburg,  of  whom 
mention  will  be  made  in  this  notice.  The  only  daughter  was  Eliza  Irwin 
Laughlin,  who  married,  June  14,  1883,  Major  Duncan  Clinch  Phillips,  -now 
of  W'ashington,  District  of  Columbia. 

(HI)  Francis  B.  Laughlin,  son  of  Alexander  and  Mary  Ann  (Baily) 
Laughlin,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  December  31,  1835,  and  there 
received  his  education  at  the  public  schools,  after  which  he  entered  the 
employ  of  his  father,  and  later  became  identified  with  him  in  all  of  his  enter- 
prises. Upon  the  death  of  his  father  the  Stewardson  Furnaces  were  merged 
into  the  F.  B.  &  A.  Laughlin  Company,  which  was  continued  for  several 
years.     Subsequently  F.  B.  Laughlin  helped  to  organize  and  incorporate  the 


2i6  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


Solar  Carbon  Company  in  Pittsburg,  and  this  was  later  merged  into  the 
National  Carbon  Company,  when  Mr.  Laughlin  retired  from  active  business. 
He  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Point  Breeze  Presbyterian  church  and  a 
member  at  the  time  of  his  death.  Politically  he  was  always  a  Republican. 
He  died  August  9,  1905.  Of  his  domestic  relation  it  may  be  said  that 
April  27,  1858,  he  was  united  in  marriage,  in  Vincennes,  Indiana,  to  Margaret 
Burtch,  a  native  of  that  place  and  the  daughter  of  William  and  Mary 
(Hannah)  Burtch.  The  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Laughlin  were  as 
follows:  I.  Mary  B.,  died'  young.  2.  Alexander  Baily,  now  deceased,  left 
one  child — Clothilda.  3.  Margaret  B.,  married  first  John  Allison,  by  whom 
one  child  was  born,  John  Allison,  Jr.,  and  secondly  she  married  Robert 
Somers  Marshall,  by  whom  there  was  no  issue.  4.  P.  Burtch,  died  young. 
5.  Frank  M.,  deceased,  married  Annie  Jenkinson  and  had  Richard  J., 
Francis  B.  and  William  H.    6.  Henry  M.,  unmarried. 

(HI)  Henry  Alexander  Laughlin,  eldest  son  of  James  and  Ann  (Irwin) 
Laughlin,  was  born  at  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  December  12,  1838.  He 
graduated  from  Brown  University  in  i860  and  the  following  year  entered  the 
firm  of  Jones  &  Laughlin,  Limited,  and  Laughlin  &  Company,  Limited,  he 
being  general  manager  and  chairman  of  the  last  named  company,  which  was 
a  pioneer  in  the  mining  of  rich  ores  in  the  Lake  Superior  district,  and  smelting 
the  same  with  Connellsville,  Pennsylvania,  coke  at  Pittsburg.  He  has  been 
identified  with  the  marvelous  growth  of  the  iron  and  steel  industry,  which  has 
made  Greater  Pittsburg  famous  the  world  over.  He  also  became  interested 
largely  in  the  Pittsburg  &  Lake  Angeline  Iron  Mining  Company,  of  Michigan. 
Mr.  Laughlin  is  a  member  of  the  Duquesne  Club  of  Pittsburg  and  the  New 
York  Yacht  Club.  Fie  is  a  member  of  the  Sons  of  the  American  Revolution, 
his  maternal  ancestors  having  served  in  the  struggle  for  national  independence. 

He  married,  first,  September  10,  i860,  Alice  Ben  Denniston,  who  died 
in  1873.  She  was  the  granddaughter  of  the  late  John  Thaw,  Esq.,  of  Pitts- 
burg. The  surviving  children  of  this  union  are :  James  B.,  Anne  Irwin  and 
Rev.  Edward  R.  Laughlin.  Mr.  Laughlin  married  the  second  time,  in  1876, 
Mary  B.  Reed,  of  Washington,  Pennsylvania.     No  issue  by  this  union. 

(Ill)  Major  George  McCully  Laughlin,  son  of  James  and  Ann  (Irwin) 
Laughlin,  was  borri  October  21,  1842,  at  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  He 
received  an  excellent  education  at  the  private  schools  of  his  native  city  and 
then  attended  Washington-Jefferson  College  and  was  a  member  of  the  class 
which  designed  to  graduate  in  1863,  but  prizing  peace  and  freedom  higher 
than  any  educational  or  financial  interest,  Mr.  Laughlin  left  his  college  studies 
at  the  close  of  his  junior  year  and  enlisted  as  a  volunteer  in  the  Union  cause. 
He  was  mustered  in  as  a  private  soldier,  but  was  immediately  commissioned 
by  the  governor  of  Pennsylvania  as  a  second  lieutenant  of  Company  E,  One 
Hundred  and  Fifty-fifth  Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Infantry.  He  began  his 
military  career  August  i,  1862,  and  continued  without  interruption,  honorably 
discharging  his  duties  until  the  surrender  of  Lee  to  Grant  at  Appomattox. 
He  was  promoted  to  first  lieutenant  and  on  the  death  of  Captain  Sackett  suc- 
ceeded the  latter  in  command  of  the  company,  receiving  a  commission  as 
captain  of  the  same.  He  was  in  all  the  engagements  of  the  Army  of  the 
Potomac  from  Antietam  to  Appomattox.  His  last  year  of  service  was  on 
detached  duty  as  a  member  of  the  staff  of  Major-General  Charles  Griffin,  who 
was  placed  in  command  of  the  Fifth  Army  Corps  by  General  Sheridan  during 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  217 

the  battle  of  Five  Forks,  and  continued  on  the  staff  until  the  close  of  the 
war.  General  Griffin  was  one  of  the  three  generals  selected  by  General 
Grant  to  arrange  the  details  of  the  surrender  of  Lee's  army  to  Grant,  and 
Captain  Laughlin  accompanied  him  as  his  personal  aide.  He  was  therefore 
present  and  witnessed  the  meeting  of  Lee  and  Grant  at  the  McLean  House 
at  Appomattox,  where  the  full  terms  of  the  surrender  were  made  and  agreed 
upon.  Captain  Laughlin  was  breveted  major  by  the  war  department  for 
distinguished  services  at  the  battle  of  Quaker  Roads,  Mrginia,  and  was 
mustered  out  at  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  Tn  June,   1865. 

Without  any  delay  he  engaged  with  the  house  of  Jones  &  Laughlin  in  the 
iron  and  steel  industry  at  Pittsburg,  which  he  continued  to  follow  during  all 
the  years  from  that  date  until  now.  In  recognition  of  his  patriotism  and 
his  business  ability  no  less  than  for  his  scholarship  and  personal  character- 
istics, the  trustees  of  Washington  and  Jefferson  College  conferred  on  him 
the  degree  of  Master  of  Arts,  the  same  as  though  he  had  completed  his 
course  and  been  a  graduate  instead  of  shouldering  his  musket  when  the 
nation  was  in  need  of  brave,  self-sacrificing  men. 

Major  Laughlin  is  a  member  of  the  Duquesne,  the  Pittsburg  and  L'nion 
Clubs,  as  well  as  the  Pittsburg  Golf  Club.  He  is  also  connected  with  the 
Arts  Club  of  New  York  City.  At  home  he  is  numbered  among  the  members 
of  the  Loyal  Legion,  the  Sons  of  the  Revolution,  the  Grand  Army  of  the 
Republic  and  the  Pittsburg  Manufacturers'  Club.  In  his  religious  belief  he 
is  a  Presbyterian,  belonging  to  Shady  Side  church  of  that  denomination. 
He  is  connected  with  some  of  the  most  important  financial  institutions  of  the 
city  in  which  he  lives,  being  president  of  the  Keystone  Bank  of  Pittsburg  and 
a  director  of  the  Pittsburg  Trust  Company. 

November  16,  1865,  he  was  married  to  Miss  Isabel  B.,  daughter  of  Judge 
William  McKannan  of  the  L^nited  States  Circuit  Court,  of  Washington, 
Pennsylvania.  The  children  born  of  this  union  are:  i.  Irwin  B.  2. 
George  M.,  Jr.,  and  Thomas  K..  all  of  whom  were  associated  with  the  Jones 
&  Laughlin  Steel  Company  until  January  i,  1904,  when  Irwin  B.  Laughlin 
was  appointed  secretary  to  the  United  States  minister  at  Japan  under  Honor- 
able Lloyd  Griscomb.  Mrs.  George  M.  Laughlin,  the  mother,  died  December 
5,  1891.^ 

(III)  James  Laughlin,  youngest  son  of  James  and  Ann  (Irwin) 
Laughlin,  and  a  brother  to  Major  Laughlin,  was  born  June  18,  1847,  "^^  the 
city  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  there  graduated  from  the  private  school 
and  from  Princeton  College  in  1867.  He  became  associated  with  the  man- 
agement of  the  Laughlin  Company  and  of  the  Jones  &  Laughlin  Company, 
steel  and  iron  works,  of  Pittsburg,  with  which  industry  he  is  still  connected, 
the  various  companies  having  merged  into  one.  i\side  from  his  interests  in 
this  corporation  he  is  a  director  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Pittsburg  and 
is  a  trustee  of  Princeton  University.  He  belongs  to  Duquesne  Club  of 
Pittsburg,  the  University  and  Yacht  Clubs  of  New  York,  and  the  Sons  of  the 
Revolution. 

Mr.  Laughlin  was  united  in  marriage,  February  10,  1870,  to  Sidney, 
daughter  of  John  H.  Page,  Esq.,  of  Pittsburg.  Their  children  are:  i. 
Martha  Page.     2.  Leila  Irwin.     3.  John  Page.     4.  Henry  Hugart.     5.  James. 

(IV)  James  B.  Laughlin,  son  of  Henry  A.  Laughlin,  was  born  August 
20,   1864,  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  there  received  his  education,  after 


2i8  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


whkh  he  entered  the  employ  of  Langhhn  &  Company  at  Eliza  Furnaces, 
Pittsburg,  where  he  remained  until  the  firm  was  merged  into  the  Jones  & 
Laughlin  Steel  Company,  when  he  became  its  treasurer,  which  office  he  is 
still  holding.  He  is  also  a  director  in  the  South  Side  Trust  Company  and 
vice-president  of  the  same.  He  married  Clara  Young,  of  Pittsburg.  Their 
three  children  are:  Ledlie,  Henry  and  Alice.  Mr.  Laughlin  is  a  member  of 
the  Duquesne  Club  and  other  societies. 

(IV)  Reverend  Edward  R.  Laughlin,  son  of  Henry  A.  Laughlin  (HI), 
was  born  November  6,  1870,  and  obtained  his  early  education  at  the  Shady 
Side  Academy  in  Pittsburg,  and  prepared  for  college  at  Lawrenceville,  New 
Jersey.  He  finally  entered  Princeton  College  and  graduated  from  that  insti- 
tution with  the  class  of  1894.  Shortly  after  his  graduation  he  was  ordained 
minister  in  the  Presbyterian  church  and  has  had  a  charge  in  Philadelphia 
for  several  years.  He  married  j\Iary  Wilson,  of  Philadelphia,  by  whom  one 
child  is  born — Ethel,  born  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania. 


WILLL\AI  L.  JONES,  a  well  known  citizen  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
now  residing  at  No.  116  Lang  avenue,  in  that  city,  was  for  many  years 
closely  identified  with  the  wholesale  drug  business  of  the  state,  and  served 
with  braverv  during  the  Civil  war.  He  is  descended  from  an  old  and  honored 
family  of  Pennsylvania. 

Rees  Jones,  father  of  William  L.  Jones,  was  born  in  Philadelphia,  Penn- 
sylvania, in  1776.  During  the  entire  active  years  of  his  life  he  was  extensively 
engaged  in  the  tobacco  business.  His  death  occurred  in  1850.  He  married 
Catherine  Hubbard,  deceased,  and  they  had  children :  Paul,  Catherine,  Ellen, 
David,  Lydia,  William  L.,  of  whom  see  forward,  Marcus,  Mary  and  George. 

William  L.  Jones,  third  son  and  sixth  child  of  Rees  and  Catherine  (Hub- 
bard) Jones,  was  born  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  March  i,  1830,  in  the 
Frankstown  Road,  on  the  site  of  the  present  Pittsburg  Hospital.  His  educa- 
tion was  acquired  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city,  and  upon  attaining 
a  suitable  age  he  engaged  in  farming.  He  was  thus  occupied  until  1865, 
when  he  established  himself  in  the  wholesale  drug  business,  which  he  con- 
ducted on  an  extensive  scale  until  he  retired  from  active  business  life  in  1880. 
He  enlisted  in  the  Seventy-fourth  Regiment  of  Missouri  in  1861  and  held  the 
rank  of  captain  of  Company  G.     After  serving  with  bravery  he  resigned  in 

1863.  He  is  a  member  of  Hailman  Lodge,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
also  of  Commandery  No.  i.  Knights  Templars.  He  is  a  man  of  intelligence 
and  refinement,  devoting  much  time  to  reading,  and  entertaining  liberal 
minded  views  on  all  questions  of  the  day.  He  married  Mary  Lang,  daughter 
of  Henry  Lang,  and  has  had  children :  Henry,  William,  Kate,  Rees,  Lydia, 
Edward,   jMary,  who  married   a   ]\Ir.   Armstrong,  and   Matilda,  who   died  in 

1864.  >\Irs.  Jones  died  in  1888. 

^  GEORGE  McCLELLAN  HALL,  whose  sudden  recent  death  was  a  great 
shock  and  a  source  of  sincere  regret  in  Homestead,  Pennsylvania,  was  one  of 
the  foremost  business  men  of  the  town,  interested  in  many  enterprises  and  a 
prominent  member  of  the  council. 

John  Hall,  grandfather  of  George  McClellan  Hall,  the  first  of  this  branch 
of  the  Hall  family  of  whom  we  have  any  definite  record,  w^as  one  of  the  first 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE  219 

settlers  at  Poke  Run,  near  New  Texas,  Pennsylvania.  He  was  the  owner  of 
a  large  tract  of  land  in  that  section  which  became  the  family  homestead.  He 
married  and  had  children:  James,  see  forward;  William;  Samuel;  John; 
and  two  daughters,  one  of  whom  married  a  Mr.  Crosier. 

James  Hall,  son  of  John  Hall,  was  born  at  Poke  Run,  Pennsylvania, 
about  1806,  on  the  homestead  farm.  He  followed  the  occupation  of  farming 
all  his  life  and  later  settled  in  Patten  township.  He  died  on  the  old  home- 
stead January  18,  1886.  He  married  Evelyn  Brown,  daughter  of  William 
and  Evelyn  (Hively)  Brown,  of  Jersey,  England,  and  they  had  children: 
I.  William,  resided  in  Turtle  Creek.  He  married  Agnes  Giles  and  had  chil- 
dren: Wilbert,  Lewella,  Carrie  and  Curtis.  Both  sons  were  in  the  United 
States  army  in  the  Philippines,  were  wounded  and  died  there,  and  their  bodies 
were  brought  to  this  country.  2.  John,  resided  in  Thompson's  Run.  He 
married  (first)  Margaret  Martin,  had  children:  Sadie,  Jane  and  Frank.  He 
married  (second)  Annie  Parks,  had  children:  Frank,  Myrtle,  George  and 
Myrtle.  3.  James,  resided  in  Chicago,  Illinois,  where  he  died.  He  married 
Maria  Martin  and  had  children :  ]\largaret,  James,  Thomas,  Morris,  William, 
Elmer  and  Harry.  4.  Samuel,  married  Olive  Smith  and  had  one  child,  Harry. 
5.  Henry,  a  steel  worker,  died  from  the  effects  of  severe  burns  received  in 
the  mills,  and  is  buried  at  Milton,  Patten  township.  6.  Albert,  married  and 
had  children :  William,  John  and  several  others.  7.  Robert,  married  Jennie 
Kilpatrick,  and  had  several  children.  8.  George  McClellan,  see  forward. 
9.  Thomas,  married  Jennie  Silvens  and  had  five  children.  10.  Hiram,  mar- 
ried Alary  Riddle  and  had:  Mamie,  Harry,  Walter,  Ralph  and  others.  11. 
Ellen,  married  John  Swissallen  and  had  seven  children.     12.  Joseph,  deceased. 

George  IMcClellan  Hall,  eighth  son  and  child  of  James  and  Evelyn 
(Brown)  Hall,  was  born  in  Monroeville,  Pennsylvania,  September  15,  1862. 
He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  that  section  and  then  commenced 
to  assist  his  father  in  the  cultivation  of  the  home  farm,  with  which  work  he 
was  occupied  until  he  had  attained  his  seventeenth  year.  He  then  went  to 
Turtle  Creek,  where  he  was  apprenticed  to  learn  the  carpenter's  trade  with 
Mr.  Lenhart.  At  the  end  of  three  years  he  came  to  Homestead,  where  he 
followed  his  trade  until  he  was  twenty-five  years  old,  and  then  branched  out 
into  the  contracting  business,  with  which  he  was  associated  for  a  period  of 
ten  years.  He  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  and  the  operation  of  a  planing 
mill  in  1899,  i-mder  the  firm  name  of  George  M.  Hall,  continuing  this  alone 
until  1905,  when  he  took  in  as  partners  Messrs.  Kinley,  Morgan,  Bridinger, 
Becker  and  Flecker,  with  the  idea  of  relieving  himself  of  some  of  the  care 
and  attention  which  the  many  details  of  his  extensive  business  required. 
This  partnership  was  in  existence  at  the  time  of  his  death.  Mr.  Hall  was 
also  closely  identified  with  a  number  of  other  important  business  enterprises, 
among  which  may  be  mentioned :  President  and  treasurer  of  the  Nonpareil 
Stone  &  Brick  Company ;  treasurer  of  the  Empire  Gold  Mining  Company ; 
stock  and  office  holder  and  also  director  in  the  Homestead  Supply  Company ; 
member  of  the  Lincoln  Realty  Company ;  president  of  the  Homestead  Savings 
&  Trust  Company;  formerly  a  director  of  the  Homestead  National  Bank; 
member  of  the  Board  of  Trade :  borough  treasurer  for  a  period  of  seven 
years,  and  president  of  the  school  board.  His  political  affiliations  were  with 
the  Republican  party,  and  he  was  a  member  of  the  common  council  at  the 
time  of  his  death.     He  was  a  consistent  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church 


220  A    CENTURY   AND    A    HALF    OF 


and  a  liberal  contributor  to  all  church  and  charitable  undertakings.  He  was 
a  man  of  sound  judgment  and  keen  business  foresight,  and  his  counsel  was 
sought  by  many.  His  fraternal  connections  were  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Royal  Arcanum.  His  death,  which  occurred  Feb- 
ruarv  25,  1906,  was  a  sudden  one,  he  being  in  his  office  attending  to  business 
matters  when  he  was  stricken.  He  was  taken  to  his  home,  where  he  expired 
after  a  lapse  of  a  few  hours. 

He  married,  June  i.  1887,  Margaret  Hursh,  born  in  Westmoreland  county 
in  1870,  a  daughter  of  L.  B.  and  Agnes  (Gibbons)  Hursh.  of  Irwin,  West- 
moreland county,  Pennsylvania,  who  were  the  parents  of  children:  i.  Mar- 
garet, mentioned  above.  2.  Albert,  married  Nora  Colligan.  had  children : 
Audrey,  Lebbish  and  George.  3.  William,  married  Gallic  O'Neil,  had  one 
son,  Neil.  Joseph  Hursh,  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Hall,  a  resident  of  Irwin. 
Pennsylvania,  was  a  soldier  during  the  war  of  the  Revolution.  He  was 
wounded,  sent  home,  and  died  in  Irwin  six  weeks  thereafter.  He  married 
Christina  McKelvy  and  they  had  children :  L.  B.,  see  forward ;  and  Joseph, 
served  in  the  army  during  the  Civil  war,  L.  B.  Hursh,  son  of  Joseph  and 
Christina  (McKelvy)  Hursh,  enlisted  three  times  during  the  progress  of  the 
Civil  war  and  served  the  full  limit  of  time.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hall  had  children: 
Eva,  born  February  8,  1888;  Olive  Lacea,  born  December  2,  1890;  Georgia, 
born  September  7,  1894,  died  at  the  age  of  four  years;  Jessie,  twin  of  Georgia; 
Clayton,  born  May  15,  1900. 


GEORGE  W.  GILES,  a  prosperous  and  influential  citizen  of  Munhall, 
Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  for  many  years  holding  the  office  of  justice 
of  the  peace,  and  successfully  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  insurance  busi- 
ness, traces  his  ancestry  to  England. 

William  Giles,  grandfather  of  George  W.  Giles,  was  a  native  of  Mon- 
mouthshire, England,  whence  he  removed  with  his  family  about  1824  to  Wales. 
Ten  years  later  he  emigrated  with  his  family  to  the  United  States,  settling 
at  Six  Mile  Ferry,  where  he  was  engaged  in  coal  mining.  He  married,  in 
Monmouthshire.  England.  Edith,  family  name  unknown,  also  a  native  of 
England,  and  they  had  children:  i.  John,  deceased,  was  a  coal  operator  at 
Braddock.  Pennsylvania.  He  married  and  had  children :  John,  Jr.,  deceased ; 
George,  residing  in  Colorado ;  Agnes,  married  William  Hall  and  resides  in 
Turtle  Creek ;  James  ;  Mary ;  and  Ella,  deceased.  2.  Thomas,  deceased,  resid- 
ed at  McKeesport,  Pennsylvania.  He  married  and  had  children.  3.  Maria, 
married  John  Zirckel  and  resides  in  Pittsburg.  Pennsylvania.  4.  Mary  Ann, 
deceased.  5.  George.  Sr.,  see  forward.  6.  James,  resides  in  Greene  county, 
Pennsylvania.     7.  William,  Jr.,  resides  in  Mifflin  township,  Pennsylvania. 

George  Giles,  Sr.,  third  son  and  fifth  child  of  William  and  Edith  Giles, 
was  born  in  Monmouthshire,  England,  in  1824,  and  died  in  Haysboro,  Alle- 
gheny county,  Pennsylvania,  February  19,  1872.  He  is  buried  in  Franklin, 
now  Homestead,  cemetery.  He  was  about  ten  years  of  age  when  he  came 
to  this  country  with  his  parents,  and  at  a  suitable  age  was  apprenticed  to 
learn  the  blacksmith's  trade,  an  occupation  he  followed  all  his  life.  He  was 
a  stanch  supporter  of  the  Republican  party,  and  his  religious  affiliations  were 
vvith  the  Methodist  church,  in  which  he  held  the  office  "of  trustee.  He  mar- 
ried  Harriet   B.   Dougherty,   born   in   Butler   county,    Pennsylvania,    in    1824, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE 


daughter  of  John  and  Anna  (Rhodes)  Dougherty,  who  were  the  parents  of 
the  following  named  children:  i.  Anna,  married  Andrew  Gardner,  and 
they  resided  in  California  and  are  both  deceased.  2.  John,  deceased.  He 
was  a  blacksmith,  married  a  Miss  Rhodes,  and  resided  in  McKeesport,  Penn- 
sylvania. 3.  Harriet  B.,  mentioned  above.  4.  William,  deceased,  resided  in 
AIcKeesport.  5.  Margaret,  married  John  Bishop,  and  in  1877  removed  to 
Westmoreland  county,  Pennsylvania,  where  they  were  engaged  in  farming. 
Both  are  now  deceased.  George  and  Harriet  B.  (Dougherty)  Giles  were 
the  parents  of  children:  i.  Charles  C,  was  formerly  right-of-way  agent  for 
the  Central  District  Printing  and  Telegraph  Company  of  Pittsburg,  and  is 
now  superintendent  of  the  electrical  department  of  the  Monongahela  First 
Pool  Gas  and  Coal  Company.  He  resided  for  some  years  in  Pennsylvania, 
West  Mrginia  and  Ohio,  and  now  has  his  permanent  residence  in  Willock 
Station,  Pennsylvania.  2.  Emma  J. ;  married  Frederick  Lynch,  a  coal  shipper 
on  the  ]\Ionongahela  river,  and  resides  at  Glenvvood  Station,  Twenty-third 
ward,  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  They  have  several  children.  3.  Margaret 
Ann  was  connected  for  many  years  with  the  Home  Missionary  Society  in  the 
Holy  Land,  Texas,  etc.,  and  now  (1907)  resides  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsyl- 
vania. 4.  Harriet  Eva  resides  in  Willock  Station,  Pennsylvania.  5.  George 
W.,  see  forward.  6.  Ada  A.  married  William  Jack,  foreman  of  the  coal  mines 
of  the  Monongahela  First  Pool  Coal  Company,  and  resides  in  Willock  Sta- 
tion, Pennsylvania.  They  have  children :  Frank,  who  was  graduated  from 
the  Pittsburg  Academy  and  is  at  present  employed  in  the  store  of  the  Monon- 
gahela First  Pool  Coal  Company:  and  Ralph,  a  student  at  the  Pittsburg 
Academy.  7.  Laura  L.,  married  John  Beam,  an  electrician,  and  resides  at 
Hazelwood,  Twenty-third  ward  of  Pittsburg.  They  have  children :  Harry 
and  Florence.  8.  Ira  H.,  born  at  Hope  Church,  Pennsylvania,  October  30, 
1868.  He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools,  and  at  the  age  of  fourteen  years 
entered  the  grocery  business  of  Joseph  Mort,  in  his  native  town,  remaining 
in  this  employment  for  a  period  of  four  years.  He  then  entered  the  service 
of  the  Plomes'tead  Steel  Works,  and  was  thus  occupied  until  the  strike  of  1S92, 
when  he  abandoned  this  line  of  business.  His  next  occupation  was  as  station- 
ary engineer  for  the  Harrison  Gas  Coal  Company  of  Pittsburg,  a  position  ne 
resigned  at  the  expiration  of  two  years  in  favor  of  one  with  the  Central  Dis- 
trict Printing  and  Telegraph  Company  as  lineman.  At  the  end  of  one  year 
he  was  advanced  to  the"  rank  of  chief  locator,  and  when  the  engineering  de- 
partment was  organized  he  was  transferred  to  this  department  as  field  en- 
gineer, and  at  the  end  of  four  years  was  advanced  to  the  rank  of  chief  field 
engineer,  a  position  he  holds  at  the  present  time.  His  political  affiliations  are 
with  the  Republican  party,  and  when  the  borough  was  incorporated  in  1902 
he  was  elected  as  councilman  to  serve  a  term  of  one  year ;  was  re-elected  in 
1903  to  serve  a  term  of  three  years,  and  upon  the  expiration  of  this  in  1906 
^v-as  again  elected  for  another  three  years'  term.  He  and  his  wife  are  mem- 
bers of  the  ]\Iethodist  Episcopal  church  of  Haysboro.  He  is  connected  with 
the  following  organizations:  Member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  of  Haysboro  for  about  seventeen  years,  has  been  past  grand  master 
and  representative  to  the  Grand  Lodge  at  Harrisburg  and  Williamsport ;  mem- 
ber of  the  Amalgamated  Association  of  Iron  and  Steel  Workers  of  Home- 
stead :  member  of  the  Junior  Order  of  United  American  Mechanics  of  Home- 
stead;  member  of  the  National  Union  of  Allegheny;  president  of  the  Inde- 


222  A    CENTURY   AKD    A    HALF    OF 


pendent  Fire  Company  of  Haysboro.  He  married,  February  13,  1888,  Anna 
Liippold,  daughter  of  Matthias  and  Susan  (Sembower)  Luppold,  the  latter 
born  in  Somerset  county,  Pennsylvania.  Matthias  Luppold  was  born  in  Ger- 
many, emigrated  to  America,  and  was  employed  as  a  construction  foreman. 
He  was  killed  at  Munhall  on  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  in  1902,  and  was 
buried  in  Homestead  cemetery.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ira  H.  Giles  were  the  parents 
of  children:     Edna;  Charles;  Howard;  Mildred;  Viola;   Kenneth,  deceased. 

George  W.  Giles,  second  son  and  fifth  child  of  George  and  Harriet  B. 
(Dougherty)  Giles,  was  born  at  Six  Mile  Ferry,  now  Haysboro,  Allegheny 
county,  Pennsylvania,  December  24,  i860.  He  was  educated  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  town,  in  the  Twenty-eighth  ward  public  school  of  Pitts- 
burg, and  was  graduated  from  the  high  school.  At  the  age  of  fourteen  years 
he  entered  upon  his  business  career,  in  which  he  has  been  eminently  success- 
ful. His  first  position  was  with  I.  D.  Risher,  in  his  native  town,  with  whom 
he  remained  for  two  years,  then  held  a  position  as  clerk  of  the  grocery  store 
of  Joseph  Mort,  of  the  same  town,  and  at  the  end  of  nine  years  removed  to 
Homestead.  Here  he  established  himself  in  the  real  estate  and  insurance 
business,  in  which  his  reliability  and  many  sterling  qualities  have  gained  for 
him  an  enviable  business  reputation.  He  has  always  been  a  stanch  supporter 
of  the  principles  of  the  Republican  party,  and  has  done  all  in  his  power  to 
further  the  interests  of  that  body.  Pie  was  appointed  justice  of  the  peace  in 
1897  to  fill  a  vacancy  caused  by  resignation  in  Mifflin  township,  and  in  the 
spring  of  the  following  year  was  elected  for  a  term  of  five  years.  In  1901 
Munhall  borough  was  organized  from  a  part  of  Mifflin  township  and  Mr. 
Giles  then  held  his  commission  of  justice  of  the  peace  from  that  borough,  and 
was  elected  to  another  term  of  five  years  in  1903.  He  and  his  family  are 
members  of  the  Methodist  church  and  he  is  connected  with  the  following 
named  organizations :  Was  a  member  for  fourteen  years  and  is  now  past 
master  of  Homestead  Lodge  No.  582,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Order  of 
Masons  of  Homestead;  member  of  Pittsburg  Commandery  No.  i,  Knights 
Templar;  past  officer  of  Magdala  Lodge  No.  991,  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows;  member  of  Magdala  Encampment  No.  228,  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows:  member  of  Boaz  Council  No.  814,  Royal  Arcanum. 

He  married,  March  24,  1891,  Mary  Frances  McCurdy,  born  January  19, 
1866,  daughter  of  Robert  and  ]\Iartha  (Eicher)  McCurdy,  of  Louden,  Penn- 
sylvania. Robert  McCurdy  was  a  private  during  the  Civil  war,  and  while  in 
service  contracted  a  fever  which  caused  his  death  shortly  after  the  close  of 
the  war.  His  widow  resides  in  Homestead.  They  had  two  children:  Mrs. 
Giles,  and  a  son  who  died  in  infancy.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  W.  Giles  have 
had  children :  Ruth  McCurdy,  born  August  4,  1897 ;  George  W.,  Jr.,  January 
28,  1900 :  and  Robert  Hamilton,  August  2,  1904. 


THE  RE  A  FAMILY.  Among  the  old  time  families  of  Greater  Pitts- 
burg is  that  of  the  Reas.  The  first  member  of  this  family  of  which  there 
is  any  definite  account  of  in  Pennsylvania,  is  General  John  Rea,  who  was  born 
near  Chambersburg,  Franklin  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1775.  Lamb  in  his 
Biographical  Encyclopjedia  states  that,  "John  Rea  was  in  the  Revolutionary 
war ;  served  as  a  States  representative  in  Pennsylvania  several  years,  and  was 
elected  on  the  Democratic  ticket  from  the  Chambersburg  district  to  the  Eighth, 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  223 

Ninth,  Tenth  and  Eleventh  Congresses — 1803-1811;  defeated  in  1810  and 
1812;  elected  to  the  Thirteenth  Congress  in  1813  and  died  at  Chambersburg, 
February  6,  1829."  It  is  also  known  that  he  served  in  the  war  of  1812-14. 
He  married  Elizabeth  Culbertson,  daughter  of  Colonel  Samuel  Culbertson,  of 
Revolutionary  fame.     By  this  union  were  born  the  following  children : 

1.  Samuel,  born  in  1808,  near  Chambersburg,  Franklin  county,  Pennsyl- 
vania, died  in  Pittsburg  in  1878.  He  was  one  of  the  original  members  of 
the  First  Presbyterian  church,  Dr.  Herron  being  the  pastor.  He  was  always 
interested  and  closely  identified  with  the  work  of  this  denomination.  In  his 
early  life  he  was  connected  with  and  helped  to  organize  the  Union  Boat  Line, 
which  operated  both  canal  and  river  boats  before  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad 
entered  Pittsburg.  He  was  from  the  organization  of  the  Peoples  National 
Bank  of  Pittsburg  its  president  for  many  years.  Was  also  identified  with 
the  Pittsburg  City  Life  Insurance  Company,  and  had  other  large  business 
interests.  He  retired  from  the  above  lines  of  pursuit  and  engaged  in  the  oil 
producing  business  with  others,  and  as  a  result  lost  his  goodly  fortune  by  the 
fault  of  others,  but  was  always  held  in  high  esteem  for  his  personal  integrity. 
He  married  Elizabeth  McKee,  of  Blairs  Gap,  Blair  county,  Pennsylvania, 
daughter  of  Guy  Carleton  McKee.  By  this  union  were  born  four  children, 
who  grew  to  maturity  as  follows :  Anna,  who  married  Professor  J.  E.  Ayers, 
now  residing  near  Denver,  Colorado,  and  they  have  three  children,  Joseph  H., 
Eleanor  C.  and  Lucy  E. ;  John  A.,  who  lives  in  California  and  married  Kath- 
erine  Ford,  by  whom  was  born,  Florence,  James  C.  and  Katherine  E. ;  Doctor 
James  C,  who  died  unmarried;  Mary  Laughlin,  who  married  Henry  Clinton 
Ayers.  now  deceased,  leaving  two  children,  Elizabeth  Rea,  who  married  Gra- 
ham C.  Wells,  and  has  one  child,  Clinton  Ayers ;  Eleanor  Sharlurne. 

2.  John  Rea,  ]\I.  D.,  married  Hannah  Laughlin,  daughter  of  Alexander 
Laughlin,  whose  family  sketch  appears  elsewhere  in  this  work.  They  were 
the  parents  of  three  children :  Samuel,  who  married,  and  the  issue  is,  Mar- 
jorie  Dorothy;  Mary  Ann,  who  died  unmarried;  Elizabeth,  who  married 
Edward  Simonds,  of  New  Orleans,  Louisiana. 

3.  James  D.  Rea,  who  married  Ruth  Blair  Moore,  of  Blair  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  their  children  are:  Jane  M.,  who  died  unmarried;  Thomas  B., 
who  married;  Samuel  Rea,  who  is  the  second  vice-president  of  the  Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad  Company  and  married  Mary  Black  of  Pittsburg  and  has 
children.  George  and  Ruth. 

4.  William  Rea,  of  whom  later. 

5.  Charles  Rea  (only  surviving  child)  married  Elizabeth  Cochran  and  had 
children:  Charles  S.,  who  married  Irene  Palmer;  Louise,  who  married  Rev. 
Walter  Wilson,  and  thev  have  three  children,  Katherine  E.,  Charles  and 
Ruth  R.  ' 

(II)  William  Rea.  fourth  child  of  General  John  Rea,  was  born  in  Frank- 
lin county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1820,  and  married  Matilda  Robinson,  daughter 
of  William  C.  Robinson ;  she  was  a  native  of  Pittsburg.  They  had  two  chil- 
dren:  William  H.,  who  married  Mary  Childs  of  Pittsburg,  daughter  of  Col- 
onel James  H.  Childs  and  wife,  Mary  Howe.  The  issue  by  this  union  was. 
James  Childs.  Majorv  and  Marrianne.  Henry  Robinson  Rea.  who  married 
Edith  Oliver,  daughter  of  Henry  W.  Oliver.  They  have  two  children,  Edith 
Anne  and  Henrv  Oliver. 

William  Rea,  the  father,  came  to  Pittsburg  in   1837,  and  was  first  em- 


224 


A    CENTURY    AXD    A    HALF    OF 


ployed  with  the  Pennsylvania  Canal  Company  in  its  transportation  depart- 
ment, but  subsequently  he  engaged  in  the  commission  business.  Later  he  be- 
came a  member  of  the  firm  of  Robinson,  Rea  &  Company,  and  was  connected 
with  their  iron  foundry  until  his  death  in  1892.  He  was  also  a  director  in 
the  Merchants  and  Mechanics  Bank,  the  Peoples  Savings  Bank  and  of  the 
Homewood  Cemetery.     He  was  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  church. 


COLONEL  FRANK  K.  PATTERSON,  special  agent  for  the  Royal 
Insurance  Company,  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  was  born  in  Fawn,  now  Har- 
rison, township,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  in  1848 ;  son  of  John  and 
]\Iary  (Cowan)  Patterson.  He  is  the  great-grandson  of  Robert  Patterson, 
whose  history,  with  that  of  his  descendants,  is  traced  below. 

(L)  Robert  Patterson,  born  in  Ireland  October  14,  1763,  died  August  14, 
1833 ;  emigrated  from  the  north  of  Ireland  to  America  about  1785,  and  set- 
tled at  what  is  now  Munhall  Station,  on  a  farm.  Later  he  purchased  the  land 
now  known  as  the  John  Turner  farm,  on  Squirrel  Hill,  Pittsburg;  there  he 
continued  farming  for  a  livelihood.  He  married  Isabella  Brisbin,  born  July 
10.  1768,  and  died  December  3,  1832,  daughter  of  Captain  John  Brisbin,  who 
commanded  Company  B,  of  the  Third  Pennsylvania  Line,  during  the  Revolu- 
tionary war,  and  died  in  1821,  and  was  buried  in  the  Paxtang  burying-ground 
at  Plarrisburg.  Pennsylvania.  Robert  and  Isabella  (Brisbin)  Patterson  had 
nine  children,  as  follows:  i.  Alary,  born  March  21,  1790,  died  May  13,  1855. 
2.  John  (subject's  grandfather),  born  February  20,  1792,  died  at  his  home 
on  Squirrel  Hill,  May  13,  1852.  3.  Elizabeth,  born  March  18,  1794,  died 
July  9,  1872,  at  the  home  of  her  niece,  Mrs.  Mary  Chadwick,  Squirrel  Hill. 

4.  James",  born   May  8,    1796,  moved  to   Indiana,   date  of  death  unknown. 

5.  Isabella,  born  December  18,  1798,  died  at  home  in  East  Liberty,  September 
14,  1S89.  6.  .Samuel,  born  June  24,  1801,  died  in  Ohio  in  April,  1855.  7. 
Nancy,  born  December  4,  1804,  died  in  July,  1870.  8.  William,  born  June  8,. 
1806,  no  record  of  death.    9.  Jane,  born  July  17,  1808,  date  of  death  unknown. 

(II)  John  Patterson,  eldest  son  of  the  emigrant  Robert  Patterson  (I), 
was  horn  on  his  father's  farm  before  named  as  situated  on  Squirrel  Hill,  Pitts- 
burg, where  he  succeeded  his  father  in  farm  pursuits,  which  he  followed  all 
his  life.  He  married  Mary  Oldfield,  born  in  Adams  county,  Pennsylvania, 
and  they  were  the  parents  of  three  sons  and  four  daughters,  as  follows : 
I.  Robert.  2.  John.  3.  George,  who  is  still  hving  (1907).  4.  Eliza.  5.  Isa- 
belle.  6.  Mary,  who  is  still  a  survivor  and  the  widow  of  Joseph  Chadwick. 
7.  Nancy. 

(III)  John  Patterson,  father  of  Frank  K.  Patterson  and  son  of  John 
Patterson  (II),  was  born  February  24,  1822,  on  the  farm  on  which  his  grand- 
father had  settled,  and  there  he  also  followed  farm  life  until  the  spring  of 
1857,  when  he  removed  to  a  farm  which  he  had  purchased  in  Plum  township, 
where  he  engaged  in  farming  during  the  remainder  of  his  life,  dying  in  De- 
cember, 1903.  He  married  Mary  Cowan,  daughter  of  Robert  Cowan,  whose 
farm  was  located  near  where  the  Schenley  Hotel  now  stands,  and  where  Mrs. 
Patterson  was  born.  John  Patterson  and  his  wife,  Mary  Cowan,  were  the 
parents  of  five  children,  including  the  subject,  three  sons  and  two  daughters, 
all  born  in  Harrison  township,  Allegheny  county,  Pennsylvania,  except  the 
youngest,  who  was  born  in  Plum  township  of  the  same  county.     These  chil- 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER    PEOPLE  225 

dren  were:  i.  Alary,  deceased  (unmarried).  2.  Frank  K.,  of  this  notice. 
3.  John  H.,  of  Los  Angeles.  4.  Robert  W.,  deceased.  5.  Belle  M.,  wife  of 
Robert  Chesney,  of  Coraopolis. 

(IV)  Frank  K.  Patterson,  second  child  of  John  Patterson  (III)  and  his 
wife,  Mary  (Cowan)  Patterson,  received  his  ediication  in  the  country  schools 
of  Plum  township,  Allegheny  county,  and  ^vhile  still  a  youth  entered  upon 
the  military  career  which  forms  an  important  part  of  the  record  of  his  life. 
The  military  records  disclose  the  following  facts  concerning  his'  able  service : 

He  enlisted,  February  12,  1864,  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years,  in  Battery 
H.,  Third  Regiment  of  Pennsylvania  Artillery;  and  was  honorably  discharged 
July  25,  1865.  He  became  a  private  in  Parson's  Zouaves  (afterwards  Com- 
pany H,  of  Fourteenth  Infantry  Regiment),  August  27,  1870;  a  private 
in  punc  Karns  Rifles  August  21,  1872;  appointed  captain  and  aide-de-camp, 
Third  Brigade,  Eighteenth  Division,  October  14,  1873;  major  and  aide-de- 
camp. Ninth  Division,  August  19,  1874;  to  major  and  quartermaster.  Ninth 
Division,  December  2g,  1875 ;  mustered  out  on  the  reorganization  of  guard, 
June  12,  1878;  appointed  brigade  inspector.  Second  Brigade,  April  6,  1887,  to 
rank  from  February  19,  1887;  re-appointed  brigade  inspector,  February  6, 
1892 ;  appointed  captain  and  aide-de-camp.  Second  Brigade,  November  26, 
1895;  major  and  ordnance  officer,  June  13,  1896;  re-appointed  January  26, 
1897  ;  commission  expired,  June  7,  1898;  re-appointed,  June  15,  1898;  to  general 
inspector  of  rifle  practice,  January  30,  1899;  re-appointed,  February  24,  1903, 
and  again  re-appointed,  February,  1907. 

Upon  reaching  manhood  Colonel  Patterson  engaged  in  the  hardware 
business  at  Freeport,  Pennsylvania,  for  a  period  of  about  three  years,  and 
then  engaged  in  the  insurance  business  until  1884,  when  he  was  appointed 
special  agent  for  the  Royal  Insurance  Company,  which  position  he  is  still 
holding  in  a  successful  manner. 

He  is  a  member  of  the  Pittsburg  Board  of  Trade,  and  belongs  to  the 
Sons  of  the  American  Revolution  and  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  He 
is  identified  with  the  East  Liberty  Presbyterian  church. 

Colonel  Patterson  has  been  twice  married.  His  first  wife  was  Sadie  E. 
Magill,  born  in  Freeport,  Pennsylvania,  a  daughter  of  Dr.  Thomas  and  Eliza- 
beth Magill,  and  their  children  were:  i.  Mary  E.,  for  a  number  of  years 
teacher  of  languages  in  the  Pittsburg  public  schools,  died  in  September,  1903, 
aged  twenty-nine.  2.  Hattie,  wife  of  E.  N.  Gillespie,  of  Robertson,  Illinois. 
3.  Thomas  Magill,  unmarried,  special  agent  for  the  Girard  Insurance  Com- 
pany, Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  The  mother  of  these  children  died  in  Free- 
port  in  1883,  and  Colonel  Patterson  subsequently  married  Alice  Mahaffey,  of 
Mahaffey,  Clearfield  county,  Pennsylvania,  daughter  of  Robert  and  Mary 
Mahafifey,  to  whom  were  born  the  following  children:  i.  Catharine.  2.  Mar- 
garet. 3.  Frances,  who  died,  aged  five  years.  Colonel  Patterson  is  now  a 
resident  of  the  Twentieth  ward,  Pittsburg,  living  at  432  Graham  street. 


HENRY  WISSER  CORWIN,  now  one  of  Pittsburg's  successful  fire 
insurance  agents,  but  for  many  years  intimately  connected  with  mechanical 
pursuits,  was  born  at  Mount  Hope,  Orange  county,  New  York,  January  2j, 
1827,  and  there  attained  his  majority,  coming  to  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
in   1844.     He  learned  the  pattern-makers  trade  with  William  J.   Totten,  an 


226  A    CENTURY    AND    A    HALF    OF 


uncle.  When  Mr,  Totten  operated  these  works  they  were  styled  the  Fort 
Pitt  Works.  Mr.  Corwin  remained  with  him  a  few  years,  went  to  Nashville, 
Tennessee,  returning  in  i860,  and  in  1866  was  engaged  with  what  was  then 
the  Totten  Company  and  was  made  superintendent  of  the  pattern-making 
department,  at  which  he  continued  until  1901.  Mr.  Corwin  then  retired  from 
the  business  and  at  present   (1907)   is  following  the  fire  insurance  business. 

He  attends  the  Christ  ]\Iethodist  Episcopal  church,  corner  of  Liberty 
avenue  and  Center  street.  On  May  10,  1851,  he  married  (first)  Sarah  E. 
Brown,  who  died  jNIay  11,  1854,  the  mother  of  two  children:  i.  Ella,  born 
April  I,  1852;  married  Charles  Lewis,  both  now  deceased;  their  issue  was 
one  child,  Etta,  a  teacher  in  the  Seventeenth  ward  of  Pittsburg.  2.  Lydia, 
who  died  in  infancy.  For  his  second  wife,  Mr.  Corwin  married  Martha  Jane 
Beson,  born  in  Tennessee.  By  this  union,  four  children  were  born:  i.  Henry 
P.,  who  died  in  infancy.  2.  William  Beson,  now  of  Washington,  District  of 
Columbia,  a  patent  attorney.  3.  Carrie  Robinson,  married  Harry  E.  Wilson. 
4.  Harry  McKendree,  who  has  charge  of  the  patent  department  in  the  office 
of  Bakewell  &  Byrnes,  attorneys,  of  Pittsburg;  married  Bessie  Rosenberger. 

Of  Mr.  Corwin's  ancestry  it  may  be  stated  in  this  connection  that  the 
first  of  the  family  name  to  come  to  America  was  ]\Iatthias  Corwin. 

(I)  Matthias  Corwin  was  probably  born  in  England  about  1590  or  1600, 
and  died  September  12,  1658.  He  married  Margaret  IMorton,  by  whom  was 
born  three  children :  John,  Martha  and  Theoplus. 

(H)  John  Corwin,  son  of  the  English  emigrant,  is  mentioned  among  the 
first  families  of  New  Haven,  Connecticut.  Later  he  settled  in  Long  Island ; 
he  was  a  prominent  man  of  his  day  in  public  offices.  He  was  born  1630  and 
died  September  25,  1702.  He  married  Mary,  daughter  of  Charles  Glover, 
February  4,  1658;  she  died  prior  to  1690.  The  issue  by  such  union  was: 
John,  Matthias,  Samuel,  Sarah,  Reuben,  Hannah,  Abigail  and  Mary.  He 
bought  land  at  Oyster  Pond  and  Aquebougue.  He  was  admitted  as  a  freeman 
of  Connecticut  for  Southold,  1662,  and  his  name  appears  on  the  census  list 
for  the  year  1698. 

(HI)  John  Corwin,  son  of  John  (II)  and  Mary  (Glover)  Corwin,  and 
known  as  Captain  John,  was  born  in  1663  and  died  December  13,  1729.  He 
married  before  1698.  Their  children  were  six  in  number:  Benjamin,  John, 
David,  Sarah,  Elizabeth  and  Hester. 

(lY)  David  Corwin,  son  of  Captain  John  (III),  was  born  about  1705, 
not  later  than  1710,  and  died  before  1782.  He  married  Deborah  Wells,  1732 ; 
she  was  born  in  1717  and  died  November  24,  1798.  Their  children  were  six 
in  number,  named  as  follows :  David,  Joshua,  Joseph,  Phinneas,  Eli,  Annie 
and  perhaps  another  daughter.  He  moved  to  Orange  county.  New  York, 
probably  before  or  at  the  opening  of  the  Revolutionary  war.  He  was  buried 
at  Middletown  in  that  county.  He  was  a  freeholder  of  Southold  in  1737  and 
his  name  was  written  "Curwin." 

(V)  Joshua  Corwin,  son  of  David  Corwin  (IV),  was  born  on  Long 
Island,  New  York,  Alarch  25,  1735,  or  March  26,  1733,  and  died  July  6, 
1812.  He  married  Anna  Paine  May  i,  1755,  at  Southold;  she  was  born 
September  6,  1733,  and  died  April  4,  1781.  For  his  second  wife  Joshua  Cor- 
van  married  Rhoda  Davis,  widow  of  a  Mr.  Emerson.  Joshua  had  the  fol- 
lowing children:  Joshua,  Peter,  David,  Abner,  Annie,  Joseph,  John,  Jemima 
and  Benjamin.     In   1775  he  signed  .an  engagement  to  support  congress.     In 


PITTSBURG    AND    HER   PEOPLE 


227 


1776  his  name  appears  on  a  census  list.  He  lived  near  Mount  Hope  and  re- 
moved to  Orange  county,  New  York,  during  or  soon  after  the  close  of  the 
Revolutionary  struggle. 

(VI)  Abner  Corwin,  son  of  Joshua  Corwin  (V),  was  born  March  3, 
1760,  and  died  in  1838.  He  married  Sarah  Overton,  February  28,  1782.  Their 
issue  was :     Seth,  John,  Joshua,  David  and  Jemima. 

(VH)  David  Corwin,  son  of  Abner  Corwin  (VI),  was  born  at  Mnunt 
Hope,  New  York,  July  18,  1799,  and  died  September  26,  1839.  He  married 
Hester  Totten,  of  Mount  Hope,  October  4,  1817 ;  she  was  born  December  10, 
1799,  a  daughter  of  John  Totten  (born  August  5,  1770,  and  died  October 
13,  1864)  and  Lydia  Jacks,  born  October  2,  1771 ;  died  March  i,  1848,  her 
home  being  at  Morr